Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 2018두60380

Revocation of Disapproval of Average Wage Correction and Non-Payment of Insurance Benefit Difference [A Case Concerning the Method of Calculating Average Wage as the Basis for Insurance Benefits Under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) Where a Worker Who Worked at Multiple Workplaces Was Diagnosed with Pneumoconiosis (진폐) After Retirement]평균임금정정불승인및보험급여차액부지급처분취소[여러 사업장에서 근무하다 퇴직한 후 진폐 진단을 받은 경우 산업재해보상보험법상 보험급여의 산정기준이 되는 평균임금을 계산하는 방법이 문제된 사건]

Decided2023. 06. 01. Court대법원Case remanded (worker's position substantially upheld; lower court judgment reversed and case sent back for reconsideration)
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

This Supreme Court (대법원) decision addresses how to calculate the average wage (평균임금) used as the basis for industrial accident insurance benefits when a worker is diagnosed with an occupational disease such as pneumoconiosis after retirement. The Court held that the period between the worker's retirement date and the date of diagnosis confirmation must be excluded from the average wage calculation, and that for workers who worked at multiple workplaces, the calculation should be based on the retirement date from the last workplace that has a substantial causal relationship with the occupational disease and is closest in time to the diagnosis confirmation date.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA worker who had worked at multiple workplaces before retiring was later diagnosed with pneumoconiosis (진폐) and disputed how his average wage should be calculated for industrial accident insurance benefits.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court ruled that the period from retirement to diagnosis confirmation must be excluded from the average wage calculation, and that the calculation should be based on the retirement date from the last workplace causally linked to the occupational disease.
  • LessonWhen an occupational disease is diagnosed after retirement, average wage should be calculated only using the actual working period, ensuring the worker's true standard of living is properly protected under the insurance benefit system.
Issues
  • Whether the period from the retirement date to the date of diagnosis confirmation should be excluded from the average wage calculation period when an occupational disease is diagnosed after retirement
  • How to determine the reference retirement date for calculating average wage when a worker retired after working at multiple workplaces
Key reasoning

The average wage system (평균임금 제도) exists to accurately reflect a worker's actual living wage and thereby guarantee their ordinary standard of living. Because the post-retirement period does not reflect the worker's actual wage-earning activity, it must be excluded from the average wage calculation period. Where a worker has been employed at multiple workplaces before being diagnosed with an occupational disease, the relevant reference point should be the retirement date from the last workplace among those with a substantial causal relationship to the onset of the disease that is closest in time to the date of diagnosis confirmation. This approach ensures that the average wage genuinely reflects the worker's real economic circumstances at the time most relevant to the disease's development.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

The former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (amended in its entirety by Act No. 8373 on April 11, 2007; hereinafter “former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act”) provides that insurance benefits such as temporary layoff benefits and disability benefits are to be calculated by applying the average wage (Articles 41, 42, etc.), and defines average wage as the average wage under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법) (Article 4, Item 2). Article 19(1) of the former Labor Standards Act (amended in its entirety by Act No. 8372 on April 11, 2007) defines average wage as the amount obtained by dividing the total amount of wages paid to the worker during the three months preceding the date on which the cause for calculation arose by the total number of days in that period. Article 2(1) of the former Enforcement Decree of the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법 시행령) (amended in its entirety by Presidential Decree No. 20142 on June 29, 2007) provides that certain periods, such as the period during which a worker was on leave for medical treatment of an occupational injury, and the wages paid during such periods, are to be excluded from the period and total wage amount used as the basis for calculating average wage.

Considering that the purpose of the average wage system is to guarantee a worker’s ordinary standard of living by faithfully reflecting the worker’s living wage, and that the cause for calculating average wage, such as the occurrence of an occupational disease, arises from work performed in the course of duties while the employment relationship was in existence, when calculating the average wage that serves as the basis for insurance benefits under the former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act in a case where the diagnosis of an occupational disease is confirmed after the worker’s retirement, the period from the worker’s date of retirement until the date on which the cause for calculating average wage arises—that is, the date the diagnosis is confirmed—must be excluded from the average wage calculation period. If the period thus excluded from the average wage calculation period is three months or longer, the average wage must be calculated by treating the retirement date, which is the first day of the excluded period, as the date on which the cause for calculating average wage arose, and the amount so calculated, after being adjusted for increase or decrease pursuant to Article 38(3) of the former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, must be treated as the average wage serving as the basis for calculating the worker’s insurance benefits.

Meanwhile, where a worker who worked at multiple workplaces retires and is thereafter diagnosed with an occupational disease such as pneumoconiosis, and the average wage is to be calculated, the retirement date that serves as the basis therefor means, in principle, the date of retirement from the last of the workplaces—among those workplaces where the worker performed work having a proximate causal relationship with the onset or aggravation of the occupational disease—that is closest in time to the date the diagnosis of the occupational disease was confirmed.

Full text (English, AI translation) 13,339 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellee] Plaintiff 1 and 1 other (Attorney Byun Hee-sam, counsel for the plaintiffs)
[Defendant, Appellant] Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service
[Judgment Below] Seoul High Court Decision 2018Nu44458 decided September 20, 2018

[Order]

The judgment below is reversed, and the case is remanded to the Seoul High Court.

[Reasoning]

The grounds of appeal are examined.

1. Course of the Case
According to the reasoning of the judgment below and the record, the following facts may be found.

A. Plaintiff 1
1) Plaintiff 1 worked as a coal-mining assistant worker at the ○○ Mining Office of the Korea Coal Corporation from September 28, 1979 to March 31, 1984, a period of approximately 4 years and 6 months, and worked as a rock driller at the tunnel construction site of (Company Name 1 omitted) from October 16, 1992 to October 18, 1992, a period of 3 days, before retiring due to an occupational accident.
2) Plaintiff 1 received an initial pneumoconiosis diagnosis on December 1, 2006, and as a result of a detailed pneumoconiosis examination, was determined to have "Pneumoconiosis Type 1, normal cardiopulmonary function" and received a disability grade 13 determination.
3) The Defendant designated the ○○ Mining Office of the Korea Coal Corporation as the workplace for applying Plaintiff 1's average wage and paid insurance benefits accordingly.

B. Plaintiff 2
1) Plaintiff 2 worked as a tunneling worker at (Company Name 2 omitted) from June 1, 1973 to November 1, 1989, a period of approximately 16 years and 5 months, and worked as a rock driller at the tunnel construction site of (Company Name 3 omitted) from August 4, 1992 to August 19, 1992, a period of 16 days, before retiring due to an occupational accident.
2) Plaintiff 2 received an initial pneumoconiosis diagnosis on September 29, 1997, and as a result of a detailed pneumoconiosis examination, was determined to have "Pneumoconiosis Type 2, moderate cardiopulmonary impairment," and received a disability grade 3 determination.
3) The Defendant designated (Company Name 2 omitted) as the workplace for applying Plaintiff 2's average wage and paid insurance benefits accordingly.

C. The Disposition at Issue in This Case
Plaintiff 1 asserted that the average wage should be calculated using (Company Name 1 omitted) as the applicable workplace, and Plaintiff 2 asserted that the average wage should be calculated using (Company Name 3 omitted) as the applicable workplace, and accordingly filed claims with the Defendant for correction of the average wage and payment of the difference in insurance benefits. However, the Defendant issued a disposition disapproving the correction of the average wage and refusing to pay the difference in insurance benefits, on the grounds that, among others, the above workplaces could not be regarded as the workplaces that were the main cause of the Plaintiffs' pneumoconiosis.

2. Relevant Legal Principles
The former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (Act No. 8373, before its full amendment on April 11, 2007; hereinafter the "Industrial Accident Insurance Act") required that the amount of insurance benefits such as temporary disability benefits and disability benefits be calculated by applying the average wage (Articles 41, 42, etc.), and provided that the average wage means the average wage under the Labor Standards Act (Article 4, Item 2). Article 19(1) of the former Labor Standards Act (before its full amendment by Act No. 8372 on April 11, 2007) defines the average wage as the amount obtained by dividing the total amount of wages paid to the worker during the three months prior to the date on which the cause for calculation arose by the total number of days in that period, and Article 2(1) of the former Enforcement Decree of the Labor Standards Act (before its full amendment by Presidential Decree No. 20142 on June 29, 2007) provides that certain periods, such as the period during which a worker was on leave for medical treatment for an occupational injury, and the wages paid during such periods, shall be excluded from the period and the total amount of wages used as the basis for calculating the average wage. Considering that the purpose of the average wage system is to guarantee the ordinary standard of living by accurately reflecting the worker's living wage, and that the cause for calculating the average wage, such as the occurrence of an occupational disease, arises from work performed during the existence of the employment relationship due to the work itself, when calculating the average wage that serves as the basis for insurance benefits under the Industrial Accident Insurance Act after an occupational disease diagnosis is confirmed following a worker's retirement, the period from the worker's retirement date until the date on which the cause for calculating the average wage arose, i.e., the date the diagnosis was confirmed, must be excluded from the average wage calculation period. If the period to be excluded from the average wage calculation period is three months or more, the retirement date, which is the first day of the excluded period, shall be deemed the date on which the cause for calculating the average wage arose, and the average wage shall be calculated on that basis; the amount thus calculated, after being adjusted upward or downward pursuant to Article 38(3) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, shall be used as the average wage serving as the basis for calculating the worker's insurance benefits (see Supreme Court Decision 2005Du2810 decided April 26, 2007). Meanwhile, when a worker who has worked at multiple workplaces retires and is subsequently diagnosed with an occupational disease such as pneumoconiosis, and the average wage is to be calculated, the retirement date that serves as the basis for such calculation should, in principle, mean the date of retirement from the last workplace, among those workplaces where the worker performed work having a substantial causal relationship with the occurrence or aggravation of the occupational disease, that is closest in time to the date the occupational disease diagnosis was confirmed. The specific reasons are as follows.

A. In the case of an occupational disease such as pneumoconiosis, which develops from long-term exposure to hazardous factors and has a latency period, there are not a few workers who are diagnosed with the disease only after retiring from the workplace that caused the disease, and some of them work at workplaces unrelated to the occupational disease in the interim. The workplace that caused the occupational disease is generally a place where the worker worked for a long period, so it can be seen that the wage level there appropriately reflects the worker's living wage. If the average wage were calculated based on wages received at a workplace that did not cause the occupational disease merely because that workplace is close in time to the diagnosis, then even among workers who worked at the same workplace and contracted the occupational disease, the workplace serving as the basis for calculating the average wage could differ depending on the incidental circumstance of which workplace the worker happened to work at immediately before the occupational disease diagnosis. Such a result would run counter to the purpose of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, which is to provide fair compensation for occupational accidents.

B. An occupational accident means an injury, disease, physical disability, or death of a worker that occurs due to the work performed by the worker in the course of performing his or her duties (Article 4, Item 1 of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act), and the existence of a substantial causal relationship between the work and the accident is a requirement for the payment of insurance benefits under the Industrial Accident Insurance Act (see Supreme Court en banc Decision 2017Du45933 decided September 9, 2021). The system of compensating occupational accidents based on the average wage was introduced in the original enacted Labor Standards Act and came to be provided for in the Industrial Accident Insurance Act; under the Labor Standards Act, accident compensation is compensation paid by an employer, based on the average wage received at the relevant workplace, for an accident arising from work at that workplace. Although the Industrial Accident Insurance Act does not expressly require a substantial causal relationship between the occupational accident and the workplace serving as the basis for calculating the average wage, in light of the content and history of the industrial accident compensation insurance system as described above, it is reasonable, in order to ensure appropriate and fair compensation for occupational diseases such as pneumoconiosis, to use as the basis for calculating the average wage the workplace where the worker performed work having a substantial causal relationship with the occurrence or aggravation of the occupational disease.

C. Interpreting the law in this manner does not result in insufficient protection for workers who have suffered occupational accidents. This is because, even if a worker retired from the last workplace having a substantial causal relationship with the occupational disease well before the date of the occupational disease diagnosis, the final average wage is calculated by applying the wage fluctuation rate of workers in the same occupation, up to the date of the occupational disease diagnosis, to the average wage calculated based on that retirement date, pursuant to the average wage adjustment provisions of Article 38(3) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act.

D. Where, due to special and incidental circumstances, the wages included in the calculation of the average wage are markedly less or more than in the ordinary case, such wages cannot be used as they are as the basis for calculating the average wage (see Supreme Court en banc Decision 97Da5015 decided May 12, 1999). Accordingly, where it is recognized that a worker's work capacity declined due to continuous exposure to the hazardous factor causing the occupational disease, resulting in a markedly lowered wage level at the last workplace, that wage amount cannot be used as the basis for calculating the average wage. However, where this is not the case, the wage amount received at the last of the workplaces where the worker performed work having a substantial causal relationship with the occurrence or aggravation of the occupational disease would most accurately reflect the worker's living wage, and therefore calculating the average wage on that basis accords with the purpose of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, which requires insurance benefits to be calculated according to the average wage.

3. Determination
Examining the facts found above in light of the foregoing legal principles: it is true that the rock-drilling work performed by the Plaintiffs at the construction sites of (Company Name 1 omitted) and (Company Name 3 omitted), respectively, constituted work involving exposure to hazardous factors of pneumoconiosis, such as dust. However, Plaintiff 1 worked at (Company Name 1 omitted) for only 3 days, and Plaintiff 2 worked at (Company Name 3 omitted) for 16 days. Plaintiff 2 had previously performed coal-mine tunneling work at (Company Name 2 omitted) for over 16 years, involving severe exposure to dust, and at the time he was diagnosed with pneumoconiosis, five years after retiring from (Company Name 3 omitted), his pneumoconiosis had already progressed to a considerable degree. Given these circumstances, the court below should not have regarded each of the above workplaces as the workplace that caused the pneumoconiosis merely on the ground that rock-drilling work can generally be a cause of pneumoconiosis; rather, it should have determined whether the rock-drilling work performed by the Plaintiffs at each of the above workplaces had a substantial causal relationship with the occurrence or aggravation of the Plaintiffs' pneumoconiosis, by comprehensively considering the content of the work performed by the Plaintiffs at each of the above workplaces, the period of employment, the degree of exposure to hazardous factors, the time interval until the pneumoconiosis diagnosis, and the degree of pneumoconiosis diagnosed, among other factors.

Contrary to this, the court below determined that the average wage should be calculated based on the wages the Plaintiffs received at each of the above workplaces, solely on the ground that it could not be concluded that the rock-drilling work had no effect on the Plaintiffs' pneumoconiosis. The judgment below erred by misapprehending the legal principles concerning the method of calculating the average wage under the Industrial Accident Insurance Act and by failing to conduct the necessary examination, thereby affecting the conclusion of the judgment.

4. Conclusion
The judgment below is reversed, and the case is remanded to the court below for further hearing and determination. This Judgment is rendered in accordance with the unanimous opinion of the Justices participating in the decision, as set forth in the Order.

Justice Ahn Cheol-sang (Presiding Justice), Roh Jeong-hee, Lee Heung-gu (Justice in Charge), Oh Seok-jun

【판결요지】

구 산업재해보상보험법(2007. 4. 11. 법률 제8373호로 전부 개정되기 전의 것, 이하 ‘구 산재보험법’이라 한다)은 휴업급여, 장해급여 등의 보험급여 지급액을 평균임금을 적용하여 산정하도록 하면서(제41조, 제42조 등), 평균임금은 근로기준법에 의한 평균임금을 말한다고 규정하고 있다(제4조 제2호). 구 근로기준법(2007. 4. 11. 법률 제8372호로 전부 개정되기 전의 것) 제19조 제1항은 평균임금을, 산정사유 발생일 이전 3개월간 근로자에게 지급된 임금의 총액을 그 기간의 총일수로 나눈 금액이라고 정의하고 있는데, 구 근로기준법 시행령(2007. 6. 29. 대통령령 제20142호로 전부 개정되기 전의 것) 제2조 제1항은 업무상 재해에 대한 요양을 위하여 휴업한 기간 등 일정한 기간과 그 기간에 지급된 임금을 평균임금 산정기준이 되는 기간과 임금 총액에서 제외한다고 규정하고 있다. 평균임금 제도의 취지는 근로자의 생활임금을 사실대로 반영함으로써 통상적인 생활수준을 보장하려는 것인 점, 업무상 질병의 발생과 같은 평균임금 산정사유는 근로관계 존속 당시 업무 수행 중 업무가 원인이 되어 발생한 것이라는 점 등을 고려하면, 근로자가 퇴직한 후 직업병 진단이 확정되어 구 산재보험법에 따른 보험급여의 산정기준이 되는 평균임금을 산정할 때에는 근로자의 퇴직일 이후 평균임금 산정사유 발생일, 즉 진단 확정일까지의 기간은 평균임금 산정기간에서 제외하여야 한다. 만일 평균임금 산정기간에서 제외되는 기간이 3개월 이상인 경우에는 그 제외되는 기간의 최초일인 퇴직일을 평균임금 산정사유 발생일로 보아 평균임금을 산정하고, 그렇게 산정된 금액에서 구 산재보험법 제38조 제3항의 규정에 따라 증감을 거친 금액을 근로자의 보험급여 산정기준이 되는 평균임금으로 하여야 한다. 한편 근로자가 여러 사업장에서 근무하다 퇴직한 후 진폐 등 직업병 진단이 확정되어 평균임금을 산정할 때 그 기준이 되는 퇴직일은, 원칙적으로 직업병의 발병 또는 악화와 상당인과관계가 있는 업무를 수행한 사업장들 중 직업병 진단 확정일에 가장 가까운 마지막 사업장에서 퇴직한 날을 의미한다.

【참조조문】

구 산업재해보상보험법(2007. 4. 11. 법률 제8373호로 전부 개정되기 전의 것) 제4조 제2호(현행 제5조 제2호 참조), 제41조(현행 제52조 참조), 제42조(현행 제57조 참조), 구 근로기준법(2007. 4. 11. 법률 제8372호로 전부 개정되기 전의 것) 제19조 제1항(현행 제2조 제1항 제6호 참조), 구 근로기준법 시행령(2007. 6. 29. 대통령령 제20142호로 전부 개정되기 전의 것) 제2조 제1항

【참조판례】

대법원 2007. 4. 26. 선고 2005두2810 판결(공2007상, 792)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 4,647자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 피상고인】 원고 1 외 1인 (소송대리인 변호사 변희삼)

【피고, 상고인】 근로복지공단

【원심판결】 서울고법 2018. 9. 20. 선고 2018누44458 판결

【주 문】

원심판결을 파기하고, 사건을 서울고등법원에 환송한다.

【이 유】 상고이유를 판단한다.

1. 사건의 경위

원심판결 이유와 기록에 의하면 다음 사실을 알 수 있다.

가. 원고 1

1) 원고 1은 1979. 9. 28.부터 1984. 3. 31.까지 약 4년 6개월간 대한석탄공사 ○○광업소에서 채탄보조공으로 근무하였고, 1992. 10. 16.부터 1992. 10. 18.까지 3일간 (회사명 1 생략)의 터널신설 공사현장에서 착암공으로 근무하다가 업무상 사고로 퇴직하였다.

2) 원고 1은 2006. 12. 1. 최초 진폐 진단을 받고, 진폐정밀진단 결과 ‘진폐병형 제1형, 심폐기능 정상’으로 판정받아 장해등급 13급 결정을 받았다.

3) 피고는 대한석탄공사 ○○광업소를 원고 1의 평균임금 적용사업장으로 결정하여 보험급여를 지급하였다.

나. 원고 2

1) 원고 2는 1973. 6. 1.부터 1989. 11. 1.까지 약 16년 5개월간 (회사명 2 생략)에서 굴진공으로 근무하였고, 1992. 8. 4.부터 1992. 8. 19.까지 16일간 (회사명 3 생략)의 터널신설 공사현장에서 착암공으로 근무하다가 업무상 사고로 퇴직하였다.

2) 원고 2는 1997. 9. 29. 최초 진폐 진단을 받고, 진폐정밀진단 결과 ‘진폐병형 제2형, 심폐기능 중등도장해’로 판정받고, 장해등급 3급 결정을 받았다.

3) 피고는 (회사명 2 생략)을 원고 2의 평균임금 적용사업장으로 결정하여 보험급여를 지급하였다.

다. 이 사건 처분

원고 1은 (회사명 1 생략)을, 원고 2는 (회사명 3 생략)을 각 적용사업장으로 하여 평균임금을 산정하여야 한다고 주장하면서 피고에 평균임금 정정 및 보험급여차액 청구를 하였으나, 피고는 위 사업장들은 원고들의 진폐증 발병에 주된 원인이 된 사업장으로 볼 수 없다는 등의 이유로 평균임금 정정 불승인 및 보험급여 차액 부지급처분을 하였다.

2. 관련 법리

구 산업재해보상보험법(2007. 4. 11. 법률 제8373호로 전부 개정되기 전의 것, 이하 ‘산재보험법’이라 한다)은 휴업급여, 장해급여 등의 보험급여 지급액을 평균임금을 적용하여 산정하도록 하면서(제41조, 제42조 등), 그 평균임금은 근로기준법에 의한 평균임금을 말한다고 규정하고 있다(제4조 제2호). 구 근로기준법(2007. 4. 11. 법률 제8372호로 전부 개정되기 전의 것) 제19조 제1항은 평균임금을, 그 산정사유 발생일 이전 3개월간 그 근로자에게 지급된 임금의 총액을 그 기간의 총일수로 나눈 금액이라고 정의하고 있는데, 구 근로기준법 시행령(2007. 6. 29. 대통령령 제20142호로 전부 개정되기 전의 것) 제2조 제1항은 업무상 재해에 대한 요양을 위하여 휴업한 기간 등 일정한 기간과 그 기간 중에 지급된 임금을 평균임금 산정기준이 되는 기간과 임금 총액에서 제외한다고 규정하고 있다. 평균임금 제도의 취지는 근로자의 생활임금을 사실대로 반영함으로써 통상적인 생활수준을 보장하려는 것인 점, 업무상 질병의 발생과 같은 평균임금 산정사유는 근로관계 존속 당시 업무 수행 중 업무가 원인이 되어 발생한 것이라는 점 등을 고려하면, 근로자가 퇴직한 후 직업병 진단이 확정되어 산재보험법에 따른 보험급여의 산정기준이 되는 평균임금을 산정할 때에는 근로자의 퇴직일 이후 평균임금 산정사유 발생일, 즉 진단 확정일까지의 기간은 평균임금 산정기간에서 제외하여야 한다. 만일 평균임금 산정기간에서 제외되는 기간이 3개월 이상인 경우에는 그 제외되는 기간의 최초일인 퇴직일을 평균임금 산정사유 발생일로 보아 평균임금을 산정하고, 그렇게 산정된 금액에서 산재보험법 제38조 제3항의 규정에 따라 증감을 거친 금액을 그 근로자의 보험급여 산정기준이 되는 평균임금으로 하여야 한다(대법원 2007. 4. 26. 선고 2005두2810 판결 참조). 한편 근로자가 여러 사업장에서 근무하다 퇴직한 후 진폐 등 직업병 진단이 확정되어 평균임금을 산정할 때 그 기준이 되는 퇴직일은, 원칙적으로 그 직업병의 발병 또는 악화와 상당인과관계가 있는 업무를 수행한 사업장들 중 직업병 진단 확정일에 가장 가까운 마지막 사업장에서 퇴직한 날을 의미한다고 보아야 한다. 구체적인 이유는 다음과 같다.

가. 진폐와 같이 유해 요소에 장기간 노출되어 발병하고 잠복기가 있는 직업병의 경우 질병에 원인을 제공한 사업장에서 퇴직한 후 비로소 질병을 진단 받는 근로자가 적지 않고, 그중 일부는 그 사이에 직업병과 관련이 없는 사업장에서 근무하기도 한다. 직업병에 원인을 제공한 사업장은 대체로 근로자가 장기간 근무하였던 곳이므로 그 임금수준이 근로자의 생활임금을 적정하게 반영하고 있다고 볼 수 있다. 진단 시점과 가깝다는 이유만으로 직업병에 원인을 제공하지 않은 사업장에서 받은 임금을 기초로 평균임금을 산정하도록 한다면, 동일한 사업장에서 근무하다 직업병에 걸린 근로자들 사이에서도 그 직업병 진단 직전에 근무한 사업장이 어디인지라는 우연한 사정에 따라 평균임금 산정의 기준이 되는 사업장이 달라질 수 있는데, 이러한 결과는 업무상 재해에 대한 공정한 보상이라는 산재보험법의 목적에 어긋난다.

나. 업무상 재해는 근로자의 업무수행 중 업무에 기인하여 발생한 근로자의 부상, 질병, 신체장해 또는 사망을 의미하고(산재보험법 제4조 제1호), 업무와 재해 사이의 상당인과관계의 존재는 산재보험법에 의한 보험급여의 지급요건이 된다(대법원 2021. 9. 9. 선고 2017두45933 전원합의체 판결). 평균임금을 기준으로 업무상 재해를 보상하는 제도는 제정 근로기준법에서 도입되어 산재보험법에 규정되기에 이르렀는데, 근로기준법상 재해보상은 사용자가 사업장의 업무로 인하여 발생한 재해에 대하여 그 사업장에서 지급받은 평균임금을 기초로 보상하는 것이다. 산재보험법은 업무상 재해와 평균임금 산정기준이 된 사업장 사이에 상당인과관계가 있을 것을 명시적으로 요구하고 있지 않지만, 위와 같은 산업재해보상보험 제도의 내용과 연혁 등에 비추어 보면, 진폐 등 직업병에 대한 적절하고 공정한 보상이 이루어질 수 있도록 직업병의 발병 또는 악화와 상당인과관계가 있는 업무를 수행한 사업장을 평균임금 산정의 기준으로 삼는 것이 합리적이다.

다. 이렇게 해석하여도 업무상 재해를 입은 근로자의 보호에 미흡함이 생긴다고 볼 수는 없다. 근로자가 직업병 진단일 훨씬 전에 직업병과 상당인과관계가 있는 최종 사업장을 퇴직하였더라도 산재보험법 제38조 제3항의 평균임금 증감 규정에 따라 그 퇴직일을 기준으로 산정한 평균임금에 동일 직종 근로자의 임금변동률을 직업병 진단일까지 적용하여 최종적인 평균임금을 산정하기 때문이다.

라. 평균임금 산정 시 특수하고 우연한 사정으로 인하여 평균임금에 산입되는 임금이 통상의 경우보다 현저하게 적거나 많을 경우에는 이를 그대로 평균임금 산정의 기초로 삼을 수 없으므로(대법원 1999. 5. 12. 선고 97다5015 전원합의체 판결 참조), 근로자가 직업병의 원인이 된 유해 요소에 지속적으로 노출됨에 따라 업무 능력이 저하되고 그 결과 마지막 사업장에서의 임금수준이 현저하게 낮아졌다고 인정되는 경우에는 그 임금액은 평균임금 산정의 기초로 삼을 수 없다. 그러나 그렇지 않은 경우라면 근로자의 생활임금을 가장 사실대로 반영하는 것은 그 직업병의 발병 또는 악화와 상당인과관계가 있는 업무를 수행한 사업장들 중 최종 사업장에서 지급받은 임금액일 것이므로 이를 기초로 평균임금을 산정하는 것이 평균임금에 따라 보험급여를 산정하도록 한 산재보험법의 취지에 부합한다.

3. 판단

앞서 본 사실관계를 위 법리에 비추어 살펴본다. 원고들이 각각 (회사명 1 생략), (회사명 3 생략)의 공사현장에서 수행한 착암업무가 분진 등 진폐의 유해 요소에 노출되는 작업에 해당하기는 한다. 그러나 원고 1이 (회사명 1 생략)에서 근무한 기간은 3일뿐이고 원고 2가 (회사명 3 생략)에서 근무한 기간은 16일이다. 원고 2는 그 전에 (회사명 2 생략)에서 16년 넘게 분진에 심하게 노출되는 탄광 굴진업무를 수행하였고 (회사명 3 생략)에서 퇴직한 후 5년이 지나 진폐 진단을 받을 당시에는 이미 진폐가 상당한 정도로 진행된 상태였다. 사정이 이와 같다면, 원심으로서는 착암업무가 일반적으로 진폐의 원인이 될 수 있는 업무라는 사정만으로 위 각 사업장을 진폐의 원인 사업장으로 볼 것이 아니라, 원고들이 위 각 사업장에서 수행해 온 업무의 내용과 근무기간, 유해 요소에 노출된 정도, 진폐 진단일까지의 시간적 간격 및 진단된 진폐의 정도 등을 종합하여 위 착암업무가 원고들의 진폐의 발병 또는 악화와 상당인과관계가 있는 업무에 해당하는지를 판단하였어야 한다.

원심은 이와 달리 위 착암업무가 원고들의 진폐에 영향을 주지 않았다고 단정할 수 없다는 이유만으로 원고들이 위 각 사업장에서 받은 임금을 기초로 평균임금을 산정하여야 한다고 판단하였다. 원심의 판단에는 산재보험법상 평균임금 산정방법 등에 관한 법리를 오해하고 필요한 심리를 다하지 않음으로써 판결에 영향을 미친 잘못이 있다.

4. 결론

원심판결을 파기하고, 사건을 다시 심리·판단하도록 원심법원에 환송하기로 하여, 관여 대법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 안철상(재판장) 노정희 이흥구(주심) 오석준

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2020누64387 · 서울고등법원 0001-01-01
평균임금정정및보험급여차액지급처분취소
#2
2022구단62003 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
평균임금정정불승인및보헙급여차액부지급처분취소
#3
2023누35274 · 서울고등법원 0001-01-01
평균임금정정불승인등처분취소
#4
2007구합3026 · 울산지방법원 0001-01-01
평균임금결정처분취소
#5
2023구단51475 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
평균임금정정불승인 및 보험급여차액 부지급처분

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)