Workbear재주넘는곰
부산지방법원 2013구단2406

Revocation of Non-Approval of Medical Care Benefits (요양불승인처분취소)요양불승인처분취소

Decided1. 01. 01. Court부산지방법원Employer/Insurer (Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service) won; the worker's claim was dismissed.
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

A pharmacy employee suffered neck and shoulder injuries when a medicine box fell on him at work, later being diagnosed with cervical cord injury and quadriplegia, and filed for industrial accident compensation. The Busan District Court upheld the non-approval decision, finding that the worker's condition stemmed from a pre-existing degenerative disease—ossification of the posterior longitudinal ligament (후종인대골화증)—rather than the workplace incident, and that no substantial causal link with his job duties was proven.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA pharmacy worker was injured when a medicine box fell on him, later being diagnosed with cervical spinal cord damage and quadriplegia.
  • OutcomeThe court upheld the denial of workers' compensation, ruling the injury was mainly caused by a pre-existing degenerative spinal condition, not the workplace accident.
  • LessonWorkers seeking industrial accident compensation must clearly prove that their job duties, not underlying health conditions, caused the injury.
Issues
  • Whether a substantial causal relationship exists between a workplace accident and an employee's pre-existing degenerative disease
  • Which party bears the burden of proving the causal link between work duties and the resulting injury
Key reasoning

Under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법), a work-related injury requires proof of a substantial causal relationship (상당인과관계) between the employee's duties and the injury suffered. The burden of proving this causal link rests with the worker claiming compensation. In this case, the court found that the plaintiff's cervical spinal cord damage was primarily attributable to an underlying degenerative condition—ossification of the posterior longitudinal ligament—rather than the workplace accident itself. Because the plaintiff failed to sufficiently demonstrate that his duties caused or significantly contributed to the injury, the court ruled that the agency's denial of medical care benefits was lawful.

Full text (English, AI translation) 9,342 chars

[Order]

1. The plaintiff's claim is dismissed.
2. Litigation costs shall be borne by the plaintiff.

[Purport of Claim]

The disposition of non-approval of medical care benefits rendered by the defendant against the plaintiff on February 4, 2013 shall be revoked.

[Reasoning]

1. Background of the instant disposition

A. While performing pharmaceutical sales assistance work at ○○ Pharmacy located at (address omitted), Yongho-dong, Nam-gu, Busan, on March 26, 2012, the plaintiff asked a pharmaceutical company employee who had visited the pharmacy to take down medicine from a display shelf that was out of the plaintiff's reach. While the employee was taking the medicine down, a box of Cheongsimhwan pills next to it fell and struck the plaintiff's neck and shoulder (hereinafter "the instant accident"). Thereafter, the plaintiff developed weakness in the upper extremities and was diagnosed with cervical spinal cord injury between the 4th and 6th cervical vertebrae and quadriplegia (hereinafter "the instant injury/illness"), and applied for medical care benefits.

B. In response, the defendant rendered a decision denying the application for medical care benefits (hereinafter "the instant disposition") on the ground that the plaintiff's condition was a symptom caused by ossification of the posterior longitudinal ligament, a disease unrelated to work, and a degenerative disease judged to have low work-relatedness, such that proximate causation between the work and the disease could not be recognized.

[Basis of recognition] Undisputed facts, each entry in Evidence Nos. 1, 2, and 3 (Eul), and the overall purport of the pleadings

2. Determination as to the legality of the instant disposition

A. The plaintiff's argument
The plaintiff argues that, having never suffered from any neck-related disease before, the instant injury/illness developed after the instant accident, and therefore constitutes an occupational accident. The plaintiff further argues that even if a degenerative disease existed, the plaintiff, who was already in poor health due to myelitis, hypertension, etc., continuously overworked, and in addition, the instant injury/illness developed as a result of bending the waist and neck to move medicine boxes and using the neck to arrange and take down medicine from high shelves. Therefore, proximate causation is recognized between the plaintiff's work and the occurrence of the instant injury/illness, and the instant disposition, which is based on a different premise, is unlawful.

B. Relevant statutes
As stated in the attached sheet.

C. Facts recognized

1) Details of the plaintiff's work
A) The plaintiff joined ○○ Pharmacy on March 17, 1997 and performed pharmaceutical sales assistance work. Working hours were from 10:00 to 22:30, with one hour each for lunch and dinner, and no separately designated rest time.

B) The plaintiff mainly stood while selling medicine, and sat in a chair when there were no customers. When pharmaceutical sales representatives brought medicine boxes into the pharmacy, the plaintiff opened the boxes and arranged the goods, and sometimes tilted her neck backward when taking down items located high up. The plaintiff performed the task of carrying, for about 1 to 2 hours a day, boxes of 100 drink bottles that were somewhat inconvenient to lift alone, over a distance of about 10 meters.

2) Details of the plaintiff's treatment
The plaintiff was first diagnosed with myofascial pain syndrome, etc. at ○○ Oriental Medicine Clinic on April 17, 2012, and received treatment at ○○○ Neurology Clinic, ○○○ Hospital, and other institutions. On June 11, 2012, the plaintiff received treatment for cervical radiculopathy at ○○○○ Hospital, underwent surgery on the 4th-5th and 5th-6th cervical vertebrae on June 20 of the same year, and while receiving treatment at ○○○○○ Rehabilitation Medicine Clinic on June 28, 2012, was diagnosed with the instant injury/illness.

According to the initial medical record from ○○○○ Hospital, it is stated that the plaintiff had myelitis and was unable to walk, had complained of weakness in the left upper extremity for several months, and the symptoms worsened five days prior to the point where the plaintiff could not raise the left arm; the plaintiff was hospitalized one day prior at Busan ○○○ Hospital and received steroid treatment, showing slight improvement, but visited the emergency center at this hospital seeking treatment there.

3) Medical opinions

A) Opinion of the plaintiff's attending physician (○○○○○ Rehabilitation Medicine Clinic)
The plaintiff's left upper extremity muscle weakness progressed from around March 2012, and cervical spinal cord injury (4th-6th cervical vertebrae) was confirmed through examination at ○○○○ Hospital, for which surgery was performed. Thereafter, the plaintiff was hospitalized at this clinic due to continued weakness in the upper extremity muscles, weakness in both lower extremities, and gait disturbance. Manual muscle testing showed markedly severe nerve root weakness at the left C5 and C6 levels, and worsening spasticity of the gastrocnemius muscle in the lower extremities.

B) Opinion of the advisory physician at the defendant's original disposition branch
According to the results of the MRI scan of the plaintiff's cervical spine taken on June 14, 2012, degenerative lesions including multiple cervical disc herniations, ossification of the posterior longitudinal ligament, and myelopathy were observed, which correspond to pre-existing conditions unrelated to work.

C) Opinion of the advisory physician of the defendant's ○○ branch
The plaintiff, having worked as a pharmacy sales assistant for approximately 15 years, was diagnosed with cervical spinal cord injury, etc. around June 2012. Considering the nature of the work, the degree of workload on the cervical spine is judged to be low, and given that the MRI shows marked ossification of the posterior longitudinal ligament and myelopathy due to degenerative changes, it is difficult to recognize a relationship between the work and the instant injury/illness.

D) Opinion of the ○○○○○ Disease Adjudication Committee
The plaintiff's condition is considered to be a symptom caused by ossification of the posterior longitudinal ligament, a disease unrelated to work. The form of work involved arranging medicine and carrying heavy items (about 100 drinks), and the instant injury/illness is judged to be the plaintiff's naturally progressing disease, with low work-relatedness; considering the intensity of the work as well, it is judged to be a degenerative disease with low work-relatedness.

[Basis of recognition] Each entry in Evidence Nos. 4 through 10 and Evidence No. 11-1 through 6 (Eul), and the overall purport of the pleadings

D. Determination

"Occupational accident" as referred to in Article 5, Item 1 of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) means an injury, disease, disability, or death of an employee arising from the employee's work in the course of performing that work; accordingly, there must be proximate causation between the work and the occurrence of the accident, and in such cases, the party asserting the causal relationship between the employee's work and the accident bears the burden of proving it (see Supreme Court Decision 2001Du7725, decided February 5, 2002; Supreme Court Decision 2006Du8204, decided January 31, 2008, etc.).

Upon examination, the entries in Evidence Nos. 2, 6, and 7 alone are insufficient to recognize that the instant injury/illness developed as a result of the instant accident or the plaintiff's continuous overwork or work duties, and there is no other evidence sufficient to recognize this. Rather, in light of the following circumstances discernible from the facts recognized above: ① If, as the plaintiff argues, this were a traumatic cervical spinal cord injury, the point at which symptoms of a traumatic cervical spinal cord injury appear—in a person who already had spinal stenosis of the cervical vertebrae and who sustains an injury in which the neck is extended backward, momentarily striking the spinal cord located directly behind—should be immediate, with symptoms from nerve damage appearing right away; however, the plaintiff's first hospital visit after the instant accident is confirmed to be April 17, 2012, when the plaintiff was treated for myofascial pain syndrome at ○○ Oriental Medicine Clinic, making it difficult to view the cervical spinal cord injury as having arisen from the instant accident; ② the initial medical record from ○○○○ Hospital states that the plaintiff had myelitis and had difficulty walking, confirming that the plaintiff had suffered from myelopathy in the past; and ③ according to the results of the cervical spine MRI taken of the plaintiff, marked findings of ossification of the posterior longitudinal ligament and myelopathy due to degenerative changes are confirmed—it is difficult to conclude that the instant injury/illness newly developed as a result of the instant accident, or that a pre-existing condition rapidly worsened beyond its natural course. Accordingly, the plaintiff's above argument is without merit.

3. Conclusion

Therefore, the plaintiff's claim is without merit and is hereby dismissed, and it is so ordered as stated in the Order.

Judge [Judge 1]

【주문】·【이유】 전문 3,476자 · 펼쳐 보기

【주문】1. 원고의 청구를 기각한다.

2. 소송비용은 원고가 부담한다.

【청구취지】피고가 2013. 2. 4. 원고에 대하여 한 요양불승인처분을 취소한다.

【이유】1. 이 사건 처분의 경위

가. 원고는 2012. 3. 26. 부산 남구 용호동 이하생략에 있는 ○○약국에서 약품판매 보조업무를 수행해 오던 중 약국을 방문한 제약회사 직원에게 손이 닿지 않는 약품진열장에 있는 약을 내려달라고 했는데 그 직원이 약품을 내리다가 옆에 있던 청심환 약상자가 떨어져 원고의 목과 어깨를 충격하는 사고(이하 '이 사건 사고'라고 한다)를 당한 후 상지 근력약화 증상이 발생하여 경수 제4번 내지 제6번간 경수손상 및 사지마비(이 하 '이 사건 상병'이라고 한다)의 진단을 받고 요양급여를 신청하였다.

나. 이에 대하여 피고는 원고의 질환은 후종인대골화증에 의한 증상으로 업무와는 무관한 질병이고, 업무관련성이 낮은 것으로 판단되는 퇴행성 질환이므로, 업무와 질병 간의 상당인과관계과 인정되지 아니한다는 이유로 요양급여신청을 불승인하는 결정(이하 '이 사건 처분'이라고 한다)을 하였다.

[인정근거] 다툼 없는 사실, 을 제1, 2, 3호증의 각 기재, 변론 전체의 취지

2. 이 사건 처분의 적법 여부에 대한 판단

가. 원고의 주장

원고는 평소 목 관련 질환을 전혀 앓지 않다가 이 사건 사고 이후 이 사건 상병이 발병한 것이므로 위 상병은 업무상 재해에 해당하며, 가사 퇴행성 질환이 있었다고 하더라도 원고의 경우 평소 척수염과 고혈압 등으로 건강이 좋지 않은 상태에서 지속적으로 과로를 했을 뿐 아니라 약품박스를 옮기기 위해 허리와 목을 굽히고 높은 진열대에 있는 약품을 정리하고 내리느라 목을 사용함으로써 이 사건 상병이 발병한 것이므로 원고의 업무와 이 사건 상병의 발생 사이에 상당인과관계가 인정됨에도 이와 다른 전제에 선 이 사건 처분은 위법하다고 주장한다.

나. 관계법령

별지 기재와 같다.

다. 인정사실

1) 원고의 작업내역

가) 원고는 1997.3. 17. ○○약국에 입사하여 약품판매 보조업무를 수행하였는데, 근무시간은 10:00부터 22:30까지이고, 점심식사시간과 저녁식사시간이 각 1시간씩 주어지며, 휴식시간은 따로 정해져 있지 않다.

나) 원고는 주로 서서 약품판매를 하며, 손님이 없는 경우 의자에 앉아 있고, 약품영업사원이 약품박스를 약국 안까지 가져다주면 박스를 개봉하여 물품을 진열하며, 높은 곳에 위치한 물건을 꺼낼 때 목을 뒤로 젖히기도 한다. 원고는 혼자서 들기가 약간 불편할 정도의 100개들이 드링크박스를 약 10미터 정도 운반하는 작업을 하루 1 내지 2 시간 정도 수행한다.

2) 원고의 치료내역

원고는 2012. 4. 17. 근막통증증후군 등으로 ○○한의원에서 최초 진단을 받고 ○○○신경과의원, ○○○병원 등에서 치료를 받았고, 2012. 6. 11. ○○○○병원에 경추부에 대한 신경뿌리병증으로 치료를 받다가 같은 해 6. 20. 경추 제4-5번 및 제5-6번에 대한 수술을 받았으며, 2012. 6. 28. ○○○○○재활의학과의원에서 치료를 받던 중 이 사건 상병을 진단받았다.

원고의 ○○○○병원 초진기록에 의하면, 원고는 척수염이 있어 걷지 못하던 분으로 수개월 전부터 흰쪽 상지의 위약감을 호소하였으나 5일 전부터 증상이 심해지면서 왼쪽 팔을 올릴 수 없을 정도로 진행되어 1일 전 부산○○○병원에 입원하여 스테로이드를 투여하고 증상이 약간 호전되었지만 본원에서의 진료를 원하여 응급센터로 내원 하였다고 기재되어 있다.

3) 의학적 소견

가) 원고 주치의 수견(○○○○○ 재활의학과의원)

원고는 좌측 상지의 근력약화가 2012. 3.경부터 진행되어 ○○○○병원에서 시행한 검사상 경수손상(경수 제4 - 6번)이 확인되어 수술을 받았으며, 이후에도 지속적인 상지 근육의 근력저하, 양하지 근력저하, 보행 장애가 있어 본원에 입원하였다. 도수 근력 검사장 좌측 경추 제5번, 제6번의 신경근 위약이 매우 현저한 상태이며, 하지의 하퇴삼두근의 경직악화 소견을 보인다.

나) 피고 원처분지사 지문의 소견

원고의 경추부에 비한 2012. 6. 14.자 MRI 촬영결과에 의하면, 퇴행성 병변인 다발성 경추간판탈출증, 후종인대골화증, 척수병증이 관찰되는데, 이는 업무와는 무관한 기존증에 해당한다.

다) 피고 ○○ 지문의 소견

원고는 약국 판매보조원으로 약 15년간 종사하던 사람으로 2012. 6.경 경수손상 등으로 진단받은 자로 작업내용을 볼 때 경추부의 업무부담 정도는 낮은 것으로 판단되고 MRI상 퇴행성 변화에 의한 후종인대 골화증 및 척수증 소견이 현저한바, 업무와 이 사건 상병 사이의 환련성을 인정하기 어렵다.

라) ○○○○○질병판정위원회 소견

원고의 질환은 후종인대의 골화증에 의한 증상으로 업무와는 무관한 질병으로 사료되며, 근무형태는 약품의 진열, 중량물(드링크 100개 정도) 운반업무 등인데, 이 사건 상병은 원고의 자연경과적 질환으로 판단되고 업무관련성은 적으며, 작업 강도를 고려할 때도 작업관련성은 낮은 것으로 판단되는 퇴행성 질환이다.

【인정근거】 을 제4 내지 10호증, 제11호증의 1 내지 6의 각 기재, 변론 전체의 취지

라. 판단

산업재해보상보험법 제5조 제1호에서 말하는 '업무상의 재해'라 함은 근로자가 업무 수행 중 그 업무에 기인하여 발생한 근로자의 부상질병장해 또는 사망을 뜻하는 것이므로 업무와 재해의 발생 사이에는 상당인과관계가 있어야 하고, 그 경우 근로자의 업무와 재해 사이의 인과관계에 대해서는 이를 주장하는 측에서 입증하여야 한다(대법원 2002. 2. 5. 선고 2001두7725 판결, 대법원 2008. 1. 31 2006두8204 판결 등 참조).

살피건대, 이 사건 상병이 이 사건 사고로 인해서 발병한 것이거나 원고의 지속적인 과로나 업무로 인하여 발병한 것인지에 대해서는 제2, 6, 7호증의 각 기재만으로는 이를 인정하기에 부족하고, 달리 이를 인정할만한 증거가 없고, 오히려 위 인정사실에서 알 수 있는 다음과 같은 사정, 즉 ① 원고의 주장대로 외상성 경수손상이라면, 외상성 경수 손상 시에 암상증상이 나타나는 시점은 경추 뼈에 척추 협착증이 있던 사람이 목이 뒤로 신전되는 손상을 받을 때 순간적으로 바로 뒤에 있는 경수를 쳐서 즉시 신경손상에 의한 증상이 나타나야 하는데, 이 사건 사고 이후 원고의 최초 병원 내원 시점은 ○○한의원에서 근막통증증후군으로 치료를 받은 것으로 확인되는 2012. 4. 17.이므로 이 사건 사고로 인하여 경수손상이 발병하였다고 보기는 어려운 점, ② ○○○○병원 초진기록에는 원고가 척수염이 있어 잘 걷지 못하던 분으로 기재되어 있어 원고는 과거부터 척수병증을 앓아왔음이 확인되는 점, ③ 원고에 대한 경추부 MRI 촬영결과에 의하면, 원고의 경우 퇴행성 변화에 의한 후종인대 골화증 및 척수증 소견이 현저한 것으로 확인되는 점 등에 비추어 보면, 이 사건 상병은 이 사건 사고가 원인이 되어 새로이 발병한 것이라거나 기존 증상이 자연경과 이상으로 급격히 악화되었다고 보기 어려우므로, 원고의 위 주장은 이유 없다.

3. 결론

그렇다면, 원고와 청구는 이유 없으므로 이를 기각하기로 하여 주문과 같이 판결한다.

판사 판사1

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2017구단79809 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
#2
2010구단286 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
#3
2020구단21597 · 부산지방법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
#4
2021구단291 · 대전지방법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
#5
2009구단3426 · 부산지방법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)