Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 2021다203135

Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)구상금

Decided2025. 03. 13. Court대법원The Supreme Court reversed the lower court's decision and remanded the case for retrial, ruling in favor of the employer's argument that the reimbursement calculation was flawed.
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

This case involved an industrial accident where a cargo transport business association, as a joint tortfeasor, sought reimbursement from an employer who had subscribed to industrial accident insurance (산재보험). The Supreme Court ruled that before claiming reimbursement, it must first be determined whether the association paid compensation exceeding its own share of the total damages—which must include the industrial accident insurance benefits (산재보험급여) already received by the injured worker. Because the lower court failed to factor in these insurance benefits when calculating the total damages, the Supreme Court reversed the decision and sent the case back for further review.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA cargo transport association, jointly liable for a worker's industrial accident, sought reimbursement from the worker's employer without properly accounting for insurance benefits already paid to the worker.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court sent the case back, ruling that industrial accident insurance benefits must be included when calculating each party's fair share of total damages.
  • LessonWhen seeking reimbursement in industrial accident cases involving multiple responsible parties, all forms of compensation—including insurance benefits—must be factored into the total damage calculation before determining who owes what.
Issues
  • Requirements for a joint tortfeasor to exercise a right of reimbursement (구상권) - specifically, whether payment exceeded their own share of liability
  • Proper method for calculating total damages, including industrial accident insurance benefits (산재보험급여)
  • Scope of the Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service's (근로복지공단) subrogated right to claim damages against third parties
Key reasoning

Under Korean law, when multiple parties are jointly liable for a tort (공동불법행위), one party can only seek reimbursement (구상권) from another responsible party if they paid more than their own fair share of the total damages owed to the victim. The 'total damages' in this calculation must include any industrial accident insurance benefits the injured worker received, since these benefits are considered part of the compensation for the harm suffered. The lower court incorrectly calculated the reimbursement amount without accounting for these insurance benefits, which constitutes a misapplication of the law. This error meant the lower court's recognition of the reimbursement claim was based on an incomplete and inaccurate damage calculation.

Full text (English, AI translation) 12,201 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellee] Korea Trucking Association (Law Firm Moak, Attorney Lee Min-ho, Counsel for the plaintiff)
[Defendant, Appellant] ○○○ Co., Ltd. (Kim & Sung LLC, Attorney Lim Dong-guk, Counsel for the defendant)
[Judgment Below] Jeonju District Court Decision 2020Na1663 decided December 23, 2020

[Order]

The judgment below is reversed, and the case is remanded to the Jeonju District Court.

[Reasoning]

The grounds of appeal (including the supplementary brief on grounds of appeal submitted after the deadline, to the extent it supplements the grounds of appeal) are examined.

1. Relevant Legal Principles

A. Scope of the Right of Indemnity of One Joint Tortfeasor or Its Insurer

Joint tortfeasors bear an improper joint and several obligation vis-à-vis the obligee, but in the internal relationship among the joint tortfeasors, there exists a certain allocation of liability shares. Where one of the joint tortfeasors has discharged more than its own share of liability and thereby secured the joint discharge of the obligation, it may exercise a right of indemnity against the other joint tortfeasors in proportion to their respective shares of liability. Therefore, in order for a joint tortfeasor to have a right of indemnity, it is not necessarily required that the tortfeasor compensate the victim for the entirety of the damage, but it must have paid compensation exceeding its own share of liability (see Supreme Court Decision 2005Da28426, decided February 9, 2006). The same applies where an insurer or a mutual aid business operator, under an insurance contract or mutual aid contract concluded with one of the joint tortfeasors, pays damages to the victim in the form of insurance proceeds or the like, and thereby exercises a right of indemnity against the other joint tortfeasors (see Supreme Court Decision 92Da4871, decided January 26, 1993).

B. Scope of Exemption from Civil Liability for Damages of an Employer Enrolled in Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance

Under Article 80(2) of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법, hereinafter the “Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act”), where an injured worker who is a beneficiary receives insurance benefits under industrial accident compensation insurance (hereinafter “industrial accident insurance”) from the Korea Workers’ Compensation and Welfare Service (hereinafter the “Service”) for the same cause, the employer enrolled in the industrial accident insurance is exempted from liability for damages under the Civil Act or other statutes to the extent of that amount. This provision is premised on the fact that insurance benefits under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act perform a function overlapping with civil damages in terms of compensating for loss, and provides that the employer’s civil liability for damages is exempted to the extent of the amount of insurance benefits received by the beneficiary for the same cause. Here, for the requirement of “the same cause” to be satisfied, there must exist a complementary relationship between the items of damage that are the subject of the insurance benefits and the items of damage that are the subject of the civil damages, and between the person entitled to the insurance benefit claim and the person entitled to the civil damages claim (see Supreme Court en banc Decision 2008Da13104, decided May 21, 2009, etc.).

C. Scope of the Service’s Subrogation of the Right to Claim Damages Against a Third Party

Where an industrial accident occurs due to the joint tort of an employer enrolled in industrial accident insurance and a third party, the scope within which the Service may subrogate the injured worker’s right to claim damages against the third party is limited to the amount, among the insurance benefits, corresponding to the third party’s share of liability, capped at the amount of damages owed by the third party. Accordingly, the Service cannot subrogate the injured worker as to the amount, among the insurance benefits, corresponding to the injured worker’s own share of comparative negligence, and ultimately bears that amount itself on behalf of the injured worker. Even where the injured worker claims damages against the enrolled employer or the third party on the ground of their joint tort, if the injured worker’s own negligence contributed to the occurrence of the damage, the amount of damages must be calculated by the so-called “deduction-then-comparative-negligence” method, whereby the insurance benefits are first deducted from the damage amount that is of the same nature as the insurance benefits, and comparative negligence is applied thereafter. However, where, as above, an industrial accident occurs due to joint tort and the Service subrogates the injured worker’s right to claim damages against the third party, the Service may not subrogate and exercise the right to the extent of the amount corresponding to the share of liability of the employer enrolled in industrial accident insurance, for reasons including the purpose of judicial economy in preventing circular indemnity litigation. Therefore, the Service, applying the “deduction-then-comparative-negligence” method, must first deduct from the insurance benefits the amount corresponding to the injured worker’s share of comparative negligence, and then further deduct from the damage amount to be compensated to the injured worker the amount corresponding to the enrolled employer’s share of liability, and may subrogate the injured worker’s right to claim damages against the third party only as to the remaining difference (see Supreme Court en banc Decision 2021Da241618, decided March 24, 2022, etc.).

2. Judgment of the Court Below

The court below, for the reasons stated in its judgment, upheld the judgment of the first instance court, which recognized the exercise of the right of indemnity to the extent of a total of KRW 159,392,704 and delayed damages thereon—being the portion exceeding 80%, which is the Plaintiff’s own share of liability, of the amount the Plaintiff paid to the injured worker, etc., in accordance with the result of the judgment in Seoul Central District Court Case No. 2017Na42899 (hereinafter the “related damages case”) brought by the injured worker against the Plaintiff. In doing so, the court below rejected all of the Defendant’s arguments: (i) that the total industrial accident insurance benefits of KRW 238,629,450 that the injured worker had already received from the Service should be first deducted from the Defendant’s share of liability, and (ii) that, since the Service cannot seek indemnity to the extent of the amount corresponding to the share of liability of the employer enrolled in industrial accident insurance when exercising its right of indemnity against a third party, the Plaintiff’s exercise of the right of indemnity against the Defendant should likewise be limited in the same vein.

3. Judgment of the Supreme Court

However, the judgment of the court below is difficult to accept for the following reasons.

A. Calculation of the Injured Worker’s Total Damages and Whether the Plaintiff Paid in Excess of Its Own Share of Liability

As set out in the legal principles above, in order for the Plaintiff, which paid mutual aid proceeds to the injured worker (the victim) pursuant to a mutual aid contract concluded with one of the joint tortfeasors, to claim indemnity against the Defendant, the employer enrolled in industrial accident insurance, in accordance with the internal ratio of liability among the joint tortfeasors, the Plaintiff must have discharged more than its own share of liability, among the total damages to be compensated to the injured worker, thereby securing the joint discharge of the obligation. Here, the total damages to be compensated to the injured worker must include, in addition to the amount determined by the judgment in the related damages case, the amount corresponding to the remaining portion of the industrial accident insurance benefits paid by the Service to the injured worker, after excluding the amount corresponding to the injured worker’s own share of comparative negligence. Therefore, if the Plaintiff’s share of liability is calculated based on the total damages to be compensated to the injured worker, there is substantial room to conclude that the Plaintiff did not pay in excess of its own share of liability.

B. The Portion of the Defendant’s Liability from Which the Defendant Is Exempt from the Duty of Indemnity

Even if the Defendant owes a duty of indemnity to the Plaintiff in accordance with the internal ratio of liability, the scope thereof is limited to the Defendant’s own share of liability. According to the legal principles set out above and the record, the portion of the damages that the injured worker is to be compensated by the Defendant, the enrolled employer, pursuant to statute, corresponding to the Defendant’s share of liability for negligence, is in a complementary relationship with the corresponding portion of the industrial accident insurance benefits paid by the Service to the injured worker, in terms of the items of damage and the person entitled to the claim for damages, and there is room for it to perform an overlapping function in terms of compensating the injured worker for loss. Therefore, if the Service paid industrial accident insurance benefits to the injured worker for the same cause, the portion of those industrial accident insurance benefits corresponding to the Defendant’s share of liability for negligence must be deemed to exempt the Defendant from liability for damages or from the duty of indemnity, pursuant to Article 80(2) of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, not only in relation to the injured worker but also in relation to the Plaintiff, who asserts a duty of indemnity based on the internal share of liability among joint tortfeasors on the ground of damages owed to the injured worker.

C. The Scope of Indemnity Against the Defendant Among the Amount the Plaintiff Paid in Discharge of Its Indemnity Obligation to the Service

Even where an industrial accident occurs due to the joint tort of the employer enrolled in industrial accident insurance and a third party, in accordance with the legal principles set out above, as to the amount, among the insurance benefits paid by the Service, corresponding to the injured worker’s own share of comparative negligence, and as to the amount, among the damages to be compensated to the injured worker, corresponding to the enrolled employer’s share of liability, the injured worker’s right to claim damages cannot be subrogated or made the subject of indemnity, and the Service alone ultimately bears these amounts. Therefore, even if the Plaintiff discharged a portion of its indemnity obligation to the Service concerning part of the industrial accident insurance benefits, the portion that the Service was originally to bear, as described above, cannot be included in an amount exceeding the Plaintiff’s internal share of liability, and likewise cannot be the subject of indemnity against the Defendant, the enrolled employer.

D. Sub-conclusion

Nevertheless, the court below, without further examining and determining whether the Plaintiff paid in excess of its internal share of liability or whether the Defendant is exempt from its share of liability, determined the Defendant’s duty of indemnity and its scope solely on the basis of the amount awarded by the judgment in the related damages case. As argued in the Defendant’s grounds of appeal, the court below erred by misunderstanding the legal principles concerning Article 80(2) of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act and by failing to conduct the necessary examination, thereby affecting the judgment.

4. Conclusion

The judgment below is reversed, and the case is remanded to the court below for further examination and determination, and it is so decided by the unanimous opinion of the Justices participating in this decision, as stated in the Order.

Justice Shin Suk-hee (Presiding Justice), Justice Noh Tae-ak (Justice in charge), Justice Seo Kyung-hwan, Justice Noh Kyung-pil

【참조조문】

[1] 민법 제425조 제1항, 제760조 제1항

[2] 산업재해보상보험법 제80조 제2항

[3] 산업재해보상보험법 제87조 제1항

【참조판례】

[1] 대법원 1993. 1. 26. 선고 92다4871 판결(공1993상, 849), 대법원 2006. 2. 9. 선고 2005다28426 판결(공2006상, 390) / [2] 대법원 2009. 5. 21. 선고 2008다13104 전원합의체 판결(공2009상, 844) / [3] 대법원 2022. 3. 24. 선고 2021다241618 전원합의체 판결(공2022상, 753)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 4,130자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 피상고인】 전국화물자동차운송사업연합회 (소송대리인 법무법인 모악 담당변호사 이민호)

【피고, 상고인】 ○○○ 주식회사 (소송대리인 법무법인(유한) 금성 담당변호사 임동국)

【원심판결】 전주지법 2020. 12. 23. 선고 2020나1663 판결

【주 문】

원심판결을 파기하고, 사건을 전주지방법원에 환송한다.

【이 유】 상고이유(제출기간이 지난 상고이유보충서 등은 이를 보충하는 범위 내에서)를 판단한다.

1. 관련 법리

가. 공동불법행위자 1인 또는 그 보험자의 구상권 행사 범위

공동불법행위자는 채권자에 대한 관계에서는 부진정연대채무를 지되, 공동불법행위자들 내부관계에서는 일정한 부담부분이 있다. 공동불법행위자 중 1인이 자기의 부담부분 이상을 변제하여 공동의 면책을 얻게 하였을 때에는 다른 공동불법행위자에게 그 부담부분의 비율에 따라 구상권을 행사할 수 있으므로, 공동불법행위자가 구상권을 갖기 위해서는 반드시 피해자의 손해 전부를 배상하여야 할 필요는 없으나 자기의 부담부분을 초과하여 배상하여야 한다(대법원 2006. 2. 9. 선고 2005다28426 판결 참조). 이는 공동불법행위자 중의 1인과 체결한 보험계약이나 공제계약에 따라 보험자나 공제사업자가 피해자에게 손해배상금을 보험금액 등으로 지급함으로써 다른 공동불법행위자에게 구상권을 행사하는 경우에도 마찬가지이다(대법원 1993. 1. 26. 선고 92다4871 판결 참조).

나. 산업재해보상보험 가입 사업주의 민사상 손해배상책임의 면제 범위

산업재해보상보험법(이하 ‘산재보험법’이라 한다) 제80조 제2항에 따르면, 수급권자인 재해근로자가 동일한 사유에 대하여 근로복지공단(이하 ‘공단’이라 한다)으로부터 산업재해보상보험(이하 ‘산재보험’이라 한다)에 따른 보험급여를 받으면 산재보험 가입 사업주는 그 금액의 한도 안에서 민법이나 그 밖의 법령에 따른 손해배상의 책임이 면제된다. 이는 산재보험법에 따른 보험급여가 손실전보의 측면에서는 민사상의 손해배상과 상호 중복되는 기능을 수행하고 있음을 전제로, 수급권자가 동일한 사유로 지급받은 보험급여 금액의 한도 안에서 가입 사업주의 민사상 손해배상책임을 면제한다고 규정한 것이다. 여기서 동일한 사유에 해당하려면 보험급여의 대상이 된 손해와 민사상 손해배상의 대상이 된 손해의 항목 및 보험급여 수급권과 민사상 손해배상채권의 귀속주체 사이에 상호보완적 관계가 존재하여야 한다(대법원 2009. 5. 21. 선고 2008다13104 전원합의체 판결 등 참조).

다. 공단의 제3자에 대한 손해배상청구권 대위 범위

산업재해가 산재보험 가입 사업주와 제3자의 공동불법행위로 인하여 발생한 경우, 공단이 재해근로자의 제3자에 대한 손해배상청구권을 대위할 수 있는 범위는 제3자의 손해배상액을 한도로 하여 보험급여 중 제3자의 책임비율에 해당하는 금액으로 제한된다. 따라서 공단은 보험급여 중 재해근로자의 과실비율에 해당하는 금액에 대해서 재해근로자를 대위할 수 없고 재해근로자를 위해 위 금액을 종국적으로 부담한다. 재해근로자가 가입 사업주와 제3자의 공동불법행위를 원인으로 가입 사업주나 제3자를 상대로 손해배상을 청구하는 경우에도, 그 손해 발생에 재해근로자의 과실이 경합된 때에는 보험급여와 같은 성질의 손해액에서 먼저 보험급여를 공제한 다음 과실상계를 하는 이른바 ‘공제 후 과실상계’ 방식으로 손해배상액을 산정하여야 한다. 다만 위와 같이 공동불법행위로 산업재해가 발생하여 공단이 제3자를 상대로 재해근로자의 손해배상청구권을 대위하는 경우에는, 순환적인 구상소송을 방지하는 소송경제적인 목적 등에 따라 공단은 제3자에 대하여 산재보험 가입 사업주의 과실비율 상당액은 대위 행사할 수 없다. 그러므로 공단은 ‘공제 후 과실상계’ 방식에 따라 보험급여에서 재해근로자의 과실비율 상당액을 공제한 다음, 여기서 다시 재해근로자가 배상받을 손해액 중 가입 사업주의 과실비율 상당액을 공제하고 그 차액에 대해서만 재해근로자의 제3자에 대한 손해배상청구권을 대위할 수 있다(대법원 2022. 3. 24. 선고 2021다241618 전원합의체 판결 등 참조).

2. 원심의 판단

원심은 그 판시와 같은 이유로, 재해근로자가 원고를 상대로 제기한 서울중앙지방법원 2017나42899호 사건(이하 ‘관련 손해배상사건’이라 한다)의 판결 결과에 따라 원고가 재해근로자 등에게 지급한 금액 중 원고의 부담부분인 80%를 초과하여 지급한 부분 합계 159,392,704원 및 이에 대한 지연손해금의 범위에서 구상권의 행사를 인정한 제1심판결을 그대로 유지하였다. 그러면서 원심은, 재해근로자가 공단으로부터 먼저 지급받은 산재보험급여 합계 238,629,450원을 피고의 부담부분에서 우선 공제해야 하고, 공단이 제3자에 대하여 구상권을 행사할 때 산재보험 가입 사업주의 과실비율 상당액은 구상할 수 없으므로 같은 취지에서 원고의 피고에 대한 구상권 행사가 제한되어야 한다는 피고의 주장을 모두 받아들이지 아니하였다.

3. 대법원의 판단

그러나 원심의 판단은 다음과 같은 이유로 받아들이기 어렵다.

가. 재해근로자의 전체 손해액 산정과 원고의 자기 부담부분의 초과 배상

앞서 본 법리와 같이 공동불법행위자 중 1인과 체결한 공제계약에 따라 피해자인 재해근로자에게 공제금을 지급한 원고가 산재보험 가입 사업주인 피고에 대하여 공동불법행위자의 내부적 부담비율에 따른 구상금을 청구하기 위해서는 재해근로자가 배상받을 전체 손해액 중 자기의 부담부분 이상을 변제하여 공동의 면책을 얻게 하였어야 한다. 여기서 재해근로자가 배상받을 전체 손해액에는 관련 손해배상사건의 판결 결과에 따른 금액 외에도 공단이 재해근로자에게 지급한 산재보험급여 중 재해근로자의 과실비율에 해당하는 금액을 제외한 나머지 부분에 해당하는 금액이 포함되어야 한다. 따라서 재해근로자가 배상받을 전체 손해액을 기준으로 원고의 부담부분을 산정하면 원고가 부담부분 이상을 변제하지 않았다고 볼 여지가 크다.

나. 구상책임이 면제되는 피고의 책임 부분

피고가 원고에 대하여 내부적 부담비율에 따른 구상의무가 있다고 하더라도 그 범위는 피고의 부담부분에 한정된다. 앞서 본 법리와 기록에 따르면, 재해근로자가 가입 사업주인 피고로부터 법령에 따라 배상받을 손해 중 피고의 과실비율에 상당하는 부분은 공단이 재해근로자에게 지급한 산재보험급여의 해당 부분과 손해의 항목 및 손해배상채권의 귀속주체 사이에 상호보완적인 관계에 있어 재해근로자에 대한 손실전보 측면에서 상호 중복되는 기능을 수행할 여지가 있다. 따라서 공단이 재해근로자에게 동일한 사유로 산재보험급여를 지급하였다면, 그 산재보험급여 중 피고의 과실비율 상당 부분은 산재보험법 제80조 제2항에 따라 재해근로자에 대한 관계에서는 물론 재해근로자에 대한 손해배상을 이유로 공동불법행위자 내부적 부담부분의 구상의무를 주장하는 원고에 대한 관계에서도 피고의 손해배상책임 또는 구상책임이 면제된다고 보아야 한다.

다. 원고의 공단에 대한 구상금 변제액 중 피고에 대한 구상 범위

산업재해가 산재보험 가입 사업주와 제3자의 공동불법행위로 인하여 발생한 경우에도, 앞서 본 법리에 따라 공단이 지급한 보험급여 중 재해근로자의 과실비율에 해당하는 금액 및 재해근로자가 배상받을 손해액 중 가입 사업주의 과실비율에 해당하는 금액에 대하여는 재해근로자의 손해배상청구권을 대위 또는 구상할 수 없고 이는 공단이 종국적으로 부담할 뿐이다. 따라서 원고가 공단에 대하여 산재보험급여 중 일부에 관한 구상의무를 이행하였더라도, 위와 같이 원래 공단이 부담할 부분은 원고의 내부적 부담부분 이상의 변제에 포함시킬 수 없고, 마찬가지로 가입 사업주인 피고에게 구상할 수도 없다고 보아야 한다.

라. 소결론

그럼에도 원고의 내부 부담부분 초과 변제 여부나 피고의 부담부분 면제 여부를 추가로 심리·판단하지 않은 채 관련 손해배상사건의 판결 금액만을 기준으로 피고의 구상의무 및 그 범위를 판단한 원심에는 피고의 상고이유 주장과 같이 산재보험법 제80조 제2항에 관한 법리 등을 오해하여 필요한 심리를 다하지 않음으로써 판결에 영향을 미친 잘못이 있다.

4. 결론

원심판결을 파기하고 사건을 다시 심리·판단하도록 원심법원에 환송하기로 하여, 관여 대법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 신숙희(재판장) 노태악(주심) 서경환 노경필

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2018다260732 · 대법원 2018-12-28
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
#2
2020다229260 · 대법원 2020-09-24
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
#3
2025다210218 · 대법원 2026-04-09
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
#4
97가합20022 · 서울지법 남부지원 1998-04-01
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
#5
89다카22487 · 대법원 1990-02-23
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)