Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 2005두12091

Revocation of Disposition Adjusting and Paying Survivor Benefits and Funeral Expenses유족급여및장의비조정지급처분취소

Decided2008. 02. 01. Court대법원Worker (bereaved family) won
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

After a worker died in a work-related traffic accident, the issue arose as to whether it was lawful for the Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service to deduct from the industrial accident insurance benefits (산재보험급여) the amount that the bereaved family had already provisionally received from auto insurance. The Supreme Court ruled that deducting the provisional payment while the scope of civil damages liability had not yet been finally determined was unlawful. This decision reinforces worker protection by preventing gaps in compensation for losses.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA worker died in a work-related traffic accident, and his family received a provisional payment from auto insurance before receiving industrial accident insurance benefits.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court held that deducting the provisional auto insurance payment from the industrial accident insurance benefits was unlawful because the civil damages liability had not yet been finally determined.
  • LessonEmployers and insurers must wait until civil damages liability is clearly fixed before offsetting provisional payments against industrial accident compensation, to avoid leaving injured workers or their families under-compensated.
Issues
  • The requirements under the Civil Act for deducting civil damages compensation when the Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service determines insurance benefits
  • The proper method for adjusting between provisional payments received under auto insurance and industrial accident insurance benefits
  • The lawfulness of a disposition deducting industrial accident insurance benefits before the scope of civil damages liability has been finally determined
Key reasoning

For the Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service to deduct other damage compensation amounts from industrial accident insurance benefits, the nature and scope of the amount subject to deduction must be clearly and finally determined. Deducting a provisional payment made under a provisional execution (가지급) of an auto insurance claim, before the civil damages liability itself has been finally fixed, is improper because it risks leaving a gap in the compensation owed to the worker's family. The Court emphasized that such premature deductions undermine the purpose of the industrial accident compensation system, which is to ensure full and timely compensation for work-related harm. Therefore, the deduction disposition made before the damages liability was finalized was deemed unlawful.

Full text (English, AI translation) 10,073 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellee]

[Defendant, Appellant] Korea Workers' Compensation & Welfare Service

[Judgment Below] Daejeon High Court Decision 2003Nu1545 decided August 25, 2005

[Order]

The appeal is dismissed. The costs of appeal are to be borne by the Defendant.

[Reasoning]

The grounds of appeal are examined.

Considering together Articles 14(3), 38(2), 50, 51, and 88 of the former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (Act No. 8373, before the full amendment of April 11, 2007; hereinafter the "Industrial Accident Insurance Act"), even a person who satisfies the requirements for payment of insurance benefits prescribed by the Industrial Accident Insurance Act and is thus entitled to receive insurance benefits, i.e., a so-called beneficiary, does not acquire a concrete benefit claim merely by satisfying such requirements; rather, a concrete benefit claim arises only when the Korea Workers' Compensation & Welfare Service ("the Service") makes a decision on the insurance benefits pursuant to the beneficiary's claim for insurance benefits. Since the Service's decision on insurance benefits is thus a disposition that forms and determines the existence and scope of the concrete benefit claim, when the Service, pursuant to Article 48(3) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, deducts from the calculated insurance benefits "money or goods equivalent to the insurance benefits under the Industrial Accident Insurance Act that the beneficiary has received for the same cause under the Civil Act (민법) or other statutes" and thereby makes a decision on insurance benefits, the existence and scope of the concrete benefit claim must likewise be determined in that process. In order to make such a determination, even where the beneficiary has received money or goods for the same cause as the occupational accident under the Civil Act or other statutes, it must be clearly established, in a definite state, not only whether such money or goods are of a kind that may be deducted from the industrial accident insurance benefits, but also the scope of the amount that may be deducted.

According to the record, the following facts are established: Nonparty 1, an employee of the insured under the comprehensive automobile insurance for business use (hereinafter "the instant automobile insurance") issued by Samsung Fire & Marine Insurance Co., Ltd. (hereinafter "Samsung Fire") covering the vehicle involved in this case, died as a result of a traffic accident occurring in the course of business operations involving the said vehicle. Under the terms of the instant automobile insurance policy, Bodily Injury Liability Coverage II ("대인배상 II"), which covers amounts exceeding the coverage limit of Bodily Injury Liability Coverage I ("대인배상 I," corresponding to the compulsory liability insurance amount under the Automobile Compensation for Accident Damage Act (자동차손해배상보장법)), contains an exemption clause (hereinafter "the instant exemption clause") providing that "no compensation shall be paid with respect to an employee of the insured who is liable for damages, if such employee is eligible to receive compensation for injury under the Industrial Accident Insurance Act." The Plaintiffs, who are the parents of Nonparty 1, filed a claim for damages against Samsung Fire and obtained a first-instance judgment with a declaration of provisional execution awarding damages totaling KRW 175,915,135, including lost earnings of KRW 131,915,135 and funeral expenses of KRW 2,000,000; pursuant to the provisional execution based on that judgment, the Plaintiffs provisionally received KRW 60,000,000 out of the awarded amount, which corresponds to the limit of the compulsory liability insurance amount under Bodily Injury Liability Coverage I. Thereafter, upon the Plaintiffs' claim for industrial accident insurance benefits on the ground of the said occupational accident, the Defendant calculated the insurance benefits payable to the Plaintiffs under the Industrial Accident Insurance Act as a lump-sum survivors' compensation of KRW 47,450,000 and funeral expenses of KRW 5,638,130 (hereinafter "the instant industrial accident insurance benefits"), and then, pursuant to Article 48(3) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, deducted from the instant industrial accident insurance benefits the amount converted, in accordance with the Enforcement Decree of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, from the above provisionally paid amount, and made a decision on insurance benefits (hereinafter "the instant disposition") to pay KRW 3,978,500 as lump-sum survivors' compensation and KRW 3,638,130 as funeral expenses. It is also established that, as of the close of argument in the court below, the said damages claim lawsuit was pending on appeal, in which the existence and scope of the liability for damages under Bodily Injury Liability Coverage II were being disputed in connection with, among other things, the validity of the instant exemption clause.

Meanwhile, the purpose of the instant exemption clause under Bodily Injury Liability Coverage II of the instant automobile insurance policy is properly construed as follows: with respect to damages arising from an occupational accident occurring in the labor relationship between an employer and an employee, the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법), which governs labor relations, prescribes various compensation liabilities of the employer, and the industrial accident insurance system is established under the Industrial Accident Insurance Act to secure such compensation liabilities; accordingly, with respect to damages suffered by an employee injured in a work-related automobile accident that is subject to industrial accident insurance, such damages are to be compensated through industrial accident insurance, and to the extent that compensation is possible through industrial accident insurance, such damages are intended to be excluded from the scope of Bodily Injury Liability Coverage under automobile insurance, whose purpose is to cover liability for damages owed to third parties (see Supreme Court en banc Decision 2003Da2802 decided March 17, 2005).

According to this construction, if there is a portion of the damages to be compensated by Samsung Fire under Bodily Injury Liability Coverage II that can be covered by the instant industrial accident insurance benefits, then, absent special circumstances, that portion is to be exempted from Samsung Fire's liability for damages pursuant to the instant exemption clause and is instead to be covered by the Defendant's industrial accident insurance benefits. However, if it were permissible, pursuant to Article 48(3) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, to deduct from the Defendant's industrial accident insurance benefits—which thus cover the damages under Bodily Injury Liability Coverage II—the insurance money paid by Samsung Fire as damages under Bodily Injury Liability Coverage I, then the portion of damages so deducted, despite being excluded from Samsung Fire's liability under Bodily Injury Liability Coverage II pursuant to the instant exemption clause, would also be excluded from the Defendant's industrial accident insurance benefits, thereby creating a gap in the compensation for damages to that extent. Therefore, such a deduction produces a clearly unjust result for the Plaintiffs and cannot be permitted.

In light of the foregoing legal principles and factual findings, at the time of the instant disposition, the existence and scope of the damages under Bodily Injury Liability Coverage II exceeding the instant industrial accident insurance benefits were being disputed in the said damages claim lawsuit; if the final and conclusive judgment in that lawsuit recognizes all or part of such damages under Bodily Injury Liability Coverage II, then, to the extent that such damages can be covered by the instant industrial accident insurance benefits, Samsung Fire's liability for damages would be exempted accordingly. Accordingly, it would not be permissible, pursuant to Article 48(3) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, to deduct the above provisionally paid amount (paid as damages under Bodily Injury Liability Coverage I) from the portion of the industrial accident insurance benefits that covers the damages under Bodily Injury Liability Coverage II; such a deduction would be permissible only with respect to the portion of the industrial accident insurance benefits remaining after covering the damages under Bodily Injury Liability Coverage II, if any.

As such, whether the above provisionally paid amount may be deducted from the instant industrial accident insurance benefits, and the scope of the amount that may be deducted, could only be determined after awaiting the final and conclusive judgment in the said lawsuit and ascertaining the amount of damages under Bodily Injury Liability Coverage II recognized therein; consequently, at the time of the instant disposition, this matter was in a state incapable of clear determination. Nevertheless, the Defendant determined the existence and scope of the concrete benefit claim arising for the Plaintiffs by deducting from the instant industrial accident insurance benefits the above provisionally paid amount, notwithstanding that the permissibility and scope of such deduction were unclear; therefore, the instant disposition is unlawful.

In the same vein, the court below's determination that the instant disposition was unlawful and its order revoking the disposition are justifiable and may be upheld, and there is no error of law, such as a misapprehension of the legal principles concerning the interpretation of Article 48(3) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, as alleged in the grounds of appeal.

Therefore, the appeal is dismissed, and the costs of appeal are to be borne by the losing party. This judgment is rendered as set forth in the Order by the unanimous opinion of the Justices participating in the decision.

Presiding Justice Park Il-hwan
Justice Park Si-hwan (Justice in charge)
Justice Kim Neung-hwan

【참조조문】

[1] 구 산업재해보상보험법(2007. 4. 11. 법률 제8373호로 전문 개정되기 전의 것) 제14조 제3호, 제48조 제3항

[2] 구 산업재해보상보험법(2007. 4. 11. 법률 제8373호로 전문 개정되기 전의 것) 제48조 제3항

【주문】·【이유】 전문 3,572자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 피상고인】

【피고, 상고인】 근로복지공단

【원심판결】 대전고법 2005. 8. 25. 선고 2003누1545 판결

【주 문】

상고를 기각한다. 상고비용은 피고가 부담한다.

【이 유】상고이유를 본다.

구 산업재해보상보험법(2007. 4. 11. 법률 제8373호로 전문 개정되기 전의 것, 이하 ‘산재보험법’이라 한다) 제14조 제3호, 제38조 제2항, 제50조, 제51조, 제88조의 규정을 종합하면, 산재보험법이 규정한 보험급여의 지급요건에 해당하여 보험급여를 받을 수 있는 자, 이른바 수급권자라고 할지라도 그 요건에 해당하는 것만으로 바로 수급권자에게 구체적인 급여청구권이 발생하는 것이 아니라 수급권자의 보험급여 청구에 따라 근로복지공단이 보험급여에 관한 결정을 행함으로써 비로소 구체적인 급여청구권이 발생한다고 할 것이다. 이와 같이 근로복지공단의 보험급여에 관한 결정은 구체적인 급여청구권의 존부 및 범위를 형성·확정하는 처분이므로, 근로복지공단이 산재보험법 제48조 제3항에 의하여 ‘수급권자가 동일한 사유로 민법 기타 법령에 의하여 받은 산재보험법의 보험급여에 상당한 금품’을 그 산정된 보험급여에서 공제하여 보험급여에 관한 결정을 함에 있어서도 그 구체적인 급여청구권의 존부 및 범위가 확정되어야 할 것인데, 이를 확정하기 위하여는 수급권자가 업무상 재해와 동일한 사유로 민법 기타 법령에 의하여 금품을 받았다 하더라도 그것이 산재보험급여에서 공제할 수 있는 금품인지 여부는 물론 그 공제할 수 있는 범위까지 명확하게 확정된 상태에 있어야 할 것이다.

기록에 의하면, 삼성화재해상보험 주식회사(이하 ‘삼성화재’라고 한다)의 업무용 자동차종합보험(이하 ‘이 사건 자동차보험’이라 한다)에 가입된 이 사건 차량의 운행으로 발생한 업무상 교통사고로 인하여 그 피보험자의 피용자인 소외 1이 사망한 사실, 이 사건 자동차보험약관의 대인배상 II에서는 자동차손해배상보장법상의 책임보험금에 해당하는 대인배상 I의 보상한도를 넘는 금액을 그 보상의 범위로 정하면서, “배상책임이 있는 피보험자의 피용자로서 산재보험법에 의한 재해보상을 받을 수 있는 사람에 대하여는 보상하지 아니한다”는 면책조항(이하 ‘이 사건 면책조항’이라 한다)을 둔 사실, 소외 1의 부모인 원고들은 삼성화재를 상대로 손해배상청구소송을 제기하여 일실수입 131,915,135원, 장례비 2,000,000원 등을 포함한 합계 175,915,135원의 손해배상액이 인용된 가집행선고부 제1심판결을 선고받고 위 판결에 기한 가집행으로 위 인용금액 중 대인배상 I의 책임보험금 한도액인 60,000,000원을 가지급받은 사실, 그 후 피고는 위 업무상 재해를 사유로 한 원고들의 산재보험급여 청구에 대하여, 원고들이 산재보험법에 의하여 지급받을 수 있는 보험급여로 47,450,000원의 유족보상일시금 및 5,638,130원의 장의비(이하 ‘이 사건 산재보험급여’라고 한다)를 산정한 다음, 산재보험법 제48조 제3항에 의하여 이 사건 산재보험급여에서 위 가지급금의 산재보험법 시행령에 따른 환산금액을 공제하여 유족보상일시금으로 3,978,500원, 장의비로 3,638,130원을 지급하는 보험급여에 관한 결정(이하 ‘이 사건 처분’이라 한다)을 한 사실, 이 사건 원심의 변론종결 당시 위 손해배상청구소송은 항소심에 계류 중이었는데 거기서는 이 사건 면책조항의 효력 등과 관련하여 대인배상 II에 의한 손해배상책임의 존부 및 범위가 다투어지고 있었던 사실을 알 수 있다.

한편, 이 사건 자동차보험약관의 대인배상 II에서 이 사건 면책조항을 규정한 취지는, 사용자와 근로자의 노사관계에서 발생한 업무상 재해로 인한 손해에 대하여는 노사관계를 규율하는 근로기준법에서 사용자의 각종 보상책임을 규정하는 한편, 이러한 보상책임을 담보하기 위하여 산재보험법으로 산재보험제도를 설정하고 있으므로, 산재보험 대상인 업무상 자동차사고에 의한 피해 근로자의 손해에 대하여도 산재보험에 의하여 전보 받도록 하고, 이처럼 산재보험에 의한 전보가 가능한 범위에서는 제3자에 대한 배상책임을 전보하는 것을 목적으로 하는 자동차보험의 대인배상 범위에서 이를 제외하려는 데 있는 것으로 해석함이 상당하다( 대법원 2005. 3. 17. 선고 2003다2802 전원합의체 판결 참조).

이러한 해석에 따를 때, 삼성화재가 대인배상 II에 의하여 배상할 손해 중 이 사건 산재보험급여로 전보될 수 있는 부분이 있다면 이는 특별한 사정이 없는 한 이 사건 면책조항에 기하여 삼성화재의 손해배상책임에서 면제되고 피고의 산재보험급여로 전보되어야 한다. 그런데 이와 같이 대인배상 II의 손해를 전보하게 되는 피고의 산재보험급여에서 대인배상 I의 손해배상으로 지급된 삼성화재의 보험금을 산재보험법 제48조 제3항에 의하여 공제할 수 있다고 한다면, 그 공제되는 부분의 손해는 이 사건 면책조항에 따라 대인배상 II에 의한 삼성화재의 손해배상에서 제외되는 것임에도 다시 피고의 산재보험급여에서도 제외되는 셈이 되어 그만큼 손해전보의 공백이 발생하게 된다. 따라서 위와 같은 공제는 원고들에게 명백히 부당한 결과를 가져오는 것이어서 허용될 수 없다.

이상의 법리와 사실관계에 아래서 보면, 이 사건 처분 당시 위 손해배상청구소송에서는 이 사건 산재보험급여를 초과하는 대인배상 II의 손해에 관하여 그 존부 및 범위가 다투어지고 있었는데, 만약 위 소송의 확정판결에서 위와 같은 대인배상 II의 손해가 전부 또는 일부 인정된다면 그러한 손해에 대하여는 이 사건 산재보험급여로 전보가 가능한 범위 내에서 삼성화재의 배상책임이 면제되게 되므로, 이와 같이 대인배상 II의 손해를 전보하는 산재보험급여 부분에서는 대인배상 I의 손해배상으로 지급된 위 가지급금을 산재보험법 제48조 제3항에 의하여 공제하는 것이 허용될 수 없고, 대인배상 II의 손해를 전보하고 남는 산재보험급여가 있을 경우 그 부분에 대하여서만 위와 같은 공제가 가능하게 된다.

이와 같이, 위 가지급금을 이 사건 산재보험급여에서 공제할 수 있는지 여부나 그 공제할 수 있는 금액의 범위는 위 소송의 확정판결을 기다려 거기서 인정되는 대인배상 II의 손해액을 보고 결정될 수밖에 없어, 결국 이 사건 처분 당시에는 이를 명확히 확정할 수 없는 상태였다고 할 것이다. 그럼에도 불구하고, 피고는 그 공제의 가부 및 범위가 불명확한 상태의 위 가지급금을 이 사건 산재보험급여에서 공제하여 원고들에게 발생하는 구체적인 급여청구권의 존부 및 범위를 확정한 것이므로, 이 사건 처분은 위법하다.

같은 취지에서, 원심이 이 사건 처분을 위법한 것으로 판단하여 그 취소를 명한 조치는 정당한 것으로 수긍할 수 있고, 거기에 상고이유에서 주장하는 바와 같은 산재보험법 제48조 제3항의 해석에 관한 법리오해 등의 위법이 없다.

그러므로 상고를 기각하고 상고비용은 패소자가 부담하는 것으로 하여 관여 대법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 박일환(재판장) 박시환(주심) 김능환

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2004구합38164 · 서울행법 2005-05-17
유족급여조정지급처분취소
#2
2013구합11673 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
유족급여 등 부지급 결정처분 취소
#3
2014두11571 · 대법원 2015-01-15
유족급여부지급처분취소
#4
2021구합74808 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
유족급여일부부지급처분취소의소
#5
2020구합59802 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
유족급여일부부지급처분취소

Cases citing this decision

2017두49119 · 대법원 2018-06-15
장해급여청구
2012다53925 · 대법원 2015-08-27
부당이득반환등

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)