Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 93누9392

Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivor's Compensation Benefits (유족보상금지급청구부결처분취소)유족보상금지급청구부결처분취소

Decided1993. 12. 14. Court대법원Worker (Deceased's Family/Survivors) Won
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

This Supreme Court (대법원) case involved a worker who developed schizophrenia due to occupational carbon disulfide poisoning and later died by suicide while undergoing treatment. The Court ruled that suicide committed while in a state of mental derangement caused by an occupational disease (업무상 질병) can be recognized as having a significant causal relationship (상당인과관계) with the worker's job duties, and therefore ordered the payment of survivor's compensation benefits (유족보상금).

Key takeaways
  • CaseA worker suffering from schizophrenia caused by workplace carbon disulfide poisoning died by suicide during medical treatment.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court ruled that the suicide was causally connected to the occupational disease and ordered payment of survivor's compensation benefits.
  • LessonEmployers and insurers should recognize that psychiatric harm from occupational disease—including resulting suicide—can qualify as a compensable industrial accident, even without strict medical proof of causation.
Issues
  • Whether a significant causal relationship (상당인과관계) can be recognized between work and death when a worker commits suicide while undergoing treatment for an occupational disease
  • What method and standard should be used to prove the causal relationship between an industrial accident (업무상 재해) and the resulting death
Key reasoning

The Court held that when a worker commits suicide while suffering from loss of mental capacity or mental derangement caused by an occupational disease, a significant causal relationship (상당인과관계) with the employment can be established. Such causation does not need to be proven with strict medical certainty; rather, it may be inferred from a comprehensive assessment of all relevant circumstances surrounding the case. This standard allows courts to recognize work-relatedness even in complex psychiatric cases where direct medical proof of causation is difficult to obtain. The ruling reflects a worker-protective interpretation of industrial accident compensation law (산업재해보상보험법) in cases involving mental illness and self-harm.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

[1] Where an employee's death occurred by suicide while he was undergoing medical treatment for an occupational disease, if the suicide was committed in a state of loss of mental capacity or mental derangement caused by the disease that constituted the original occupational accident, there is a proximate causal relationship between the death and the performance of duties. In such a case, the causal relationship between the employee's work and the above disease, or between the disease and the resulting death, must be proven by the party asserting it; however, such causal relationship need not necessarily be proven clearly in medical or natural-scientific terms, and it should be deemed established even where, taking all the circumstances into account, a proximate causal relationship between the work and the disease or death can be inferred. Accordingly, where an employee committed suicide while undergoing medical treatment for an occupational disease, if a proximate causal relationship can be inferred by comprehensively considering the degree of the deceased's disease or after-effects, the general symptoms of the disease, the period of medical treatment, the possibility of recovery, age, physical and psychological condition, the circumstances surrounding the deceased, and the process leading to the suicide, such causal relationship must be recognized.

Full text (English, AI translation) 8,678 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellee]

[Defendant, Appellant] Chief of Uijeongbu Regional Labor Office, Attorney Cho Kyung-geun, Litigation Representative

[Judgment Below] Seoul High Court Judgment 92Gu9748, decided March 19, 1993

[Order]

The appeal is dismissed.
The costs of the appeal shall be borne by the Defendant.

[Reasoning]

The Defendant's litigation representative's grounds of appeal are examined.

"Occupational accident" under Article 3(1) of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) refers to an accident that occurs to a worker in the course of performing duties and is attributable to such duties. Therefore, where the accident is a disease or death resulting from a disease, there must be a substantial causal relationship between the disease and the worker's duties. Meanwhile, where a worker's death results from suicide while receiving medical treatment for an occupational disease, if the suicide was committed while the worker was in a state of loss of mental capacity or mental derangement caused by the occupational disease constituting the original occupational accident, there is deemed to be a substantial causal relationship between the death and the worker's duties (see this Court's Decision 93Nu13797, decided October 22, 1993). In such a case, the party asserting the causal relationship between the worker's duties and the disease, or the death resulting from the disease, bears the burden of proof. However, such causal relationship need not be clearly proven in a medical or scientific manner; it suffices if, considering all the circumstances, a substantial causal relationship between the duties and the disease or death can be inferred, in which case proof shall be deemed to have been established (see this Court's Decision 91Nu10022, decided May 12, 1992). Accordingly, where a worker commits suicide while receiving medical treatment for an occupational disease, the causal relationship must be recognized if a substantial causal relationship can be inferred by comprehensively considering the degree of the deceased's disease or aftereffects, the general symptoms of the disease, the period of treatment, the possibility of recovery, age, physical and psychological condition, the circumstances surrounding the deceased, and the process leading to the suicide.

According to the reasoning of the judgment below, the court below, based on the evidence cited therein, found as follows:

The deceased Nonparty 1 joined Nonparty Wonjin Rayon Co., Ltd. on March 24, 1975, and worked in the spinning department, a department exposed to carbon disulfide, until his resignation on August 7, 1981. At the time of joining the company, he was physically healthy and had never suffered from mental illness such as schizophrenia. However, beginning around 1984, after his resignation, symptoms of muscle paralysis, renal disorder, and respiratory disorder appeared, along with symptoms of mental illness; he stopped sleeping at night, went up into the mountains to hunt animals, and became violent in temperament, frequently assaulting his wife and children, leading to his divorce by mutual consent from his wife around October 1987. Thereafter, the deceased's illness worsened further, with severe delirious speech, and he received 14 months of psychiatric treatment at Yongin Mental Hospital and other institutions. Around September 1988, during the period for collective reporting of occupational diseases at the aforementioned company, he applied to the Defendant for an occupational disease examination, and as a result of the examination, he was diagnosed with carbon disulfide poisoning and schizophrenia, and received the Defendant's approval for medical care. He then received treatment at Hyehwa Hospital, affiliated with Korea University College of Medicine, and subsequently at Seoul Christian Hospital. While the deceased's schizophrenia had improved to the point where outpatient treatment was possible, on April 12, 1991, at Room 202, Building A, Jeonggwang Villa, 405-5 Todang-ri, Jido-eup, Goyang-gun, Gyeonggi Province, he locked the door of his room, lit two briquettes of coal in a brazier in his room, and died of carbon monoxide poisoning while sleeping. The deceased had previously, on two occasions, told his father that he intended to commit suicide, and on the day before his death, he made statements suggesting that he was planning suicide. At the time of his death, he left a will containing content that would have been difficult to compose without lucid judgment, such as matters concerning the distribution of his estate and his relationship with the Plaintiffs' biological mother, but which also contained the irrational statement: "Report my death only when Dad would have turned 90; that way you can receive the disability benefits. There will be no problem receiving the disability benefits until age 90." Medically, although the biochemical mechanism by which carbon disulfide produces toxic effects on the human body has not yet been clarified, it is widely known in the medical field that while acute poisoning resulting from short-term exposure to high concentrations of carbon disulfide can cause immediate coma and death, chronic exposure to carbon disulfide above a certain concentration can cause various systemic symptoms and neurological symptoms of peripheral neuritis, as well as psychiatric symptoms such as severe excitability, anger, severe emotional changes, euphoria, hallucinations, paranoid tendencies, suicidal tendencies, mania, and delirium. It has also been reported in the medical community that once biochemical changes begin due to carbon disulfide poisoning, secondary vascular lesions continue to progress even after exposure to carbon disulfide has ceased, and accordingly, there is a possibility that health impairment may continue to progress even after retirement in workers who have been exposed to carbon disulfide. In particular, numerous studies on carbon disulfide poisoning report tendencies toward suicidal and homicidal impulses among workers exposed to carbon disulfide, such that suicide attempts may be regarded as a characteristic symptom of schizophrenia caused by carbon disulfide poisoning. In the field of psychiatry, while some suicides result from impulsive acts caused by delusions and auditory hallucinations, most suicides by schizophrenia patients occur not as impulsive acts but rather as acts committed upon clearly recognizing the limitations placed on one's own life as the illness improves; in terms of timing, suicides tend to occur more frequently not during the acute phase but during the period medically referred to as the post-psychotic depressive state, i.e., the period when symptoms are improving, and in most cases, patients continue to openly express their intent to commit suicide to caregivers or family members, then carry out the suicide when the family or medical staff become less vigilant regarding the risk of suicide. Accordingly, the court below found that suicidal warnings, suicidal ideation, suicide attempts, and completed suicide by schizophrenia patients are all symptoms of schizophrenia.

Based on a comprehensive consideration of the foregoing findings, the court below determined that the deceased, while receiving treatment for schizophrenia caused by carbon disulfide poisoning resulting from his work at the aforementioned company, committed suicide out of despair over his illness due to suicidal tendencies, which is itself one of the symptoms of schizophrenia; therefore, there is a substantial causal relationship between the schizophrenia and the suicide, and consequently, the deceased's death constitutes an occupational accident having a substantial causal relationship with the performance of his duties.

In light of the record, the relevant statutes, and the legal principles set forth above, the fact-finding and determination of the court below as set forth above are deemed justified and acceptable, and there is no illegality therein, as argued in the grounds of appeal, resulting from a misapprehension of facts due to a violation of the rules of evidence or a misunderstanding of the legal principles concerning the causal relationship required for "occupational accident" under Article 3(1) of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act. The argument is without merit.

Therefore, the appeal is dismissed, and the costs of the appeal are to be borne by the losing party. This judgment is rendered as set forth in the Order by the unanimous opinion of the participating Justices.

Justice Ahn U-man (Presiding Justice), Kim Yong-jun, Cheon Kyung-song (Justice in Charge), Ahn Yong-deuk

【판결요지】

근로자의 사망이 업무상 질병으로 요양중 자살함으로써 이루어진 경우 당초의 업무상 재해인 질병에 기인하여 심신상실 내지 정신착란의 상태에 빠져 그 상태에서 자살이 이루어진 것인 한 사망과 업무와의 사이에 상당인과관계가 있다고 할 것이며, 이 경우 근로자의 업무와 위 질병 또는 질병에 따르는 사망간의 인과관계에 관하여는 이를 주장하는 측에서 입증하여야 하지만, 그 인과관계는 반드시 의학적, 자연과학적으로 명백히 입증하여야만 하는 것이 아니고 제반 사정을 고려하여 업무와 질병 또는 사망 사이에 상당인과관계가 있다고 추단되는 경우에도 그 입증이 있다고 보아야 할 것이어서, 근로자가 업무상 질병으로 요양중 자살한 경우에 있어서는 자살자의 질병 내지 후유증상의 정도, 그 질병의 일반적 증상, 요양기간, 회복가능성 유무, 연령, 신체적 심리적 상황, 자살자를 에워싸고 있는 주위상황, 자살에 이르게 된 경위 등을 종합 고려하여 상당인과관계가 있다고 추단할 수 있으면 그 인과관계를 인정하여야 한다.

【참조조문】

산업재해보상보험법 제3조 제1항

【참조판례】

대법원 1993.10.22. 선고 93누13797 판결(공1993하,3189)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 3,218자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 피상고인】

【피고, 상고인】 의정부지방노동사무소장 소송대리인 변호사 조경근

【원심판결】 서울고등법원 1993.3.19. 선고 92구9748 판결

【주 문】

상고를 기각한다.

상고비용은 피고의 부담으로 한다.

【이 유】 피고 소송대리인의 상고이유를 본다.

산업재해보상보험법 제3조 제1항 소정의 "업무상의 재해"라 함은 근로자가 업무수행중 그 업무에 기인하여 발생한 재해를 말하는 것이므로 그 재해가 질병 또는 질병에 따른 사망인 경우에는 업무와의 사이에 상당인과관계가 있어야 하고, 한편 근로자의 사망이 업무상의 질병으로 요양중에 자살함으로써 이루어진 경우에는 당초의 업무상 재해인 질병에 기인하여 심신상실 내지 정신착란의 상태에 빠져 그 상태에서 자살이 이루어진 것인 한 사망과 업무와의 사이에 상당인과관계가 있다고 할 것이며( 당원 1993.10.22. 선고 93누13797 판결 참조), 이 경우 근로자의 업무와 위 질병 또는 질병에 따르는 사망간의 인과관계에 관하여는 이를 주장하는 측에서 입증하여야 하는 것이지만, 그 인과관계는 반드시 의학적, 자연과학적으로 명백히 입증하여야만 하는 것이 아니고 제반사정을 고려하여 업무와 질병 또는 사망 사이에 상당인과관계가 있다고 추단되는 경우에도 그 입증이 있다고 보아야 할 것이어서( 당원 1992.5.12. 선고 91누10022 판결 참조), 근로자가 업무상의 질병으로 요양중에 자살한 경우에 있어서는 자살자의 질병 내지 후유증상의 정도, 그 질병의 일반적 증상, 요양기간, 회복가능성 유무, 연령, 신체적 심리적 상황, 자살자를 에워싸고 있는 주위상황, 자살에 이르게 된 경위 등을 종합 고려하여 상당인과관계가 있다고 추단할 수 있으면 그 인과관계를 인정하여야 할 것이다.

원심판결 이유에 의하면 원심은 그 거시증거에 의하여, 망 소외 1은 1975. 3. 24. 소외 원진레이온주식회사에 입사하여 이황화탄소 폭로부서인 방사과에서 근무하다가 1981. 8. 7. 퇴사하였는바, 입사할 당시에는 신체적으로 건강하였을 뿐만 아니라 정신분열증 등 정신질환을 앓은 적이 없었는데 위와 같이 퇴사한 이후인 1984.경부터 근육마비, 신장장애 및 호흡장애증세가 나타나는 이외에 정신질환증세마저 나타나 밤에 잠을 자지 않고 산에 올라가 짐승을 잡으러 다니고 성격이 난폭해져 처 및 자녀들을 자주 폭행하여 1987. 10.경에는 처와 합의이혼한 사실, 그 이후 위 망인의 병이 더욱 악화되고 헛소리가 심해져 용인정신병원 등지에서 14개월간 정신병치료를 받아 오던 중 1988. 9.경 소외 회사의 직업병 일제신고기간에 피고에게 직업병검진신청을 하고 그에 따른 검진결과 이황화탄소중독증, 정신분열증으로 확인되어 피고의 요양승인을 받게 되었고, 그에 따라 고려대학교의과대학부속 혜화병원을 거쳐 서울기독병원에서 치료를 받아 온 사실, 위 망인은 위 정신분열증이 통원치료를 받아도 될 만큼 호전되던 중인 1991. 4. 12. 경기 고양군 지도읍 토당리 405의 5 정광빌라 에이동 202호에서 방문을 걸어 잠근 채 화덕에 연탄 2개를 자신의 방에 피워 놓고 잠을 잠으로써 연탄가스중독으로 사망한 사실, 위 망인은 종전에도 2차례에 걸쳐 자신의 아버지에게 자살하겠다고 말한 적이 있고, 사망 전날에도 자살을 계획하고 있음을 추정할 수 있는 말을 하였으며 사망 당시 사리가 분명하지 않으면 작성하기 어려운 유산분배, 원고들의 생모와의 관계 등에 관한 내용 뿐만 아니라 "사망신고는 아빠 나이 90세 되거든 하여라 그래야 휴업급여를 탈 수 있다. 90세까지 휴업급여를 타는 데 아무런 꺼리낌이 없을 것이다"는 비합리적인 판단도 동시에 들어있는 내용의 유서를 남긴 사실, 의학적으로 이황화탄소가 인체에 유독효과를 일으키는 생화학적 기전은 현재까지 밝혀지지 않았으나 단기간에 고농도의 이황화탄소에 폭로되어 발생하는 급성중독의 경우 즉시 혼수상태에 빠져 사망하기도 하나 일정한 농도 이상의 이황화탄소에 만성적으로 폭로될 경우 전신을 침범하는 다양한 증상과 말초신경염의 신경학적 증상이 나타나며 심한 흥분성, 분노, 심한 감정변화, 도취감, 환각, 편집성경향, 자살경향, 조증, 섬망 등의 정신과적 증상이 발생할 수 있다는 것은 의학적으로 널리 알려진 사실, 또한 이황화탄소에 중독되어 생화학적 변화가 일단 시작되면 이황화탄소폭로가 중단된 이후에도 이차적 변화의 혈관병변이 계속 진행되고 따라서 이황화탄소에 폭로된 근로자들은 퇴직 후에도 건강장해가 진행될 가능성이 있다는 연구결과가 의학계에 보고된 사실, 특히 이황화탄소중독에 관한 많은 연구가 이황화탄소에 노출된 근로자들 사이의 자살과 살인의 충동경향을 보고하고 있어 자살기도증이 이황화탄소중독에 의한 정신분열증의 한 특징적 증상으로 볼 수 있는 사실, 정신과영역에 있어서의 자살은 망상과 환청에 의한 충동발작에 의한 자살도 있지만 대부분 정신분열증환자의 자살은 충동에 의한 자살보다는 병이 호전되면서 자신에 대한 뚜렷한 삶의 제한을 인식하면서 행하는 자살이 많으며, 자살의 시기로 볼 때에도 급성기의 자살보다는 의학적으로 정신병후의 우울상태의 자살이라고 불리우는 시기 즉 증상이 호전되는 시기에 결행되는 경우가 많고 대부분 치료자나 가족에게 쉽게 자살결행의지를 계속 밝히다가 가족이나 치료진이 자신의 자살에 대한 조심성이 떨어질 때에 자살을 결행하는 경우가 많으므로 정신분열증 환자의 자살예고, 자살적사고, 자살시도, 성공적자살 등은 모두 정신분열증의 증상인 사실 등을 인정한 다음, 위 인정사실을 종합하여 보면, 위 망인은 소외 회사 근무로 인한 이황화탄소중독에 의한 정신분열증을 치료받아 오던 중 그 정신분열증 자체의 하나의 증세인 자살기도증에 의하여 신병을 비관하여 자살하게 된 것이므로 정신분열증과 자살 사이에는 상당인과관계가 있다고 할 것이므로, 결국 위 망인의 사망은 업무수행과의 사이에 상당인과관계가 있는 업무상 재해에 해당한다고 판단하였는바, 기록과 관계법령 및 위에서 본 법리에 비추어 보면 원심의 위와 같은 사실인정과 판단은 정당하다고 수긍이 가고 거기에 소론과 같이 채증법칙 위배로 인해 사실을 오인하였거나 산업재해보상보험법 제3조 제1항 소정의 "업무상 재해"의 인과관계에 관한 법리를 오해한 위법이 있다고 할 수 없다. 논지는 이유 없다.

그러므로 상고를 기각하고 상고비용은 패소자의 부담으로 하여 관여 법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 안우만(재판장) 김용준 천경송(주심) 안용득

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2007구합25534 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits, etc.
#2
2010구합78 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
유족보상금등부지급처분취소청구의소
#3
2009구합51674 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Compensation an
#4
2021두34275 · 대법원 2021-10-14
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits and Fu
#5
97구13124 · 서울고법 1998-03-19
Revocation of Disposition Denying Lump-sum Survivors' Compen

Cases citing this decision

2011두3944 · 대법원 2011-06-09
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits, etc.
2007두2029 · 대법원 2008-03-13
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits and Fu
99구6674 · 서울행법 1999-11-23
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits, etc.
97구13124 · 서울고법 1998-03-19
Revocation of Disposition Denying Lump-sum Survivors' Compen

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)