Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 96누6417

Revocation of Retirement Benefit Payment Decision퇴직급여지급처분취소

Decided1996. 12. 06. Court대법원The plaintiffs (former employees claiming greater retirement benefits) lost the case; the government pension agency's benefit decision was upheld as lawful.
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

The Supreme Court held that a decision by the Government Employees Pension Service (공무원연금관리공단) on retirement benefits (퇴직급여) is an administrative disposition (행정처분) that directly affects citizens' rights. While an error made by a staff member in recording the 'years of service' section on the retirement benefit application could serve as grounds for cancellation, the plaintiffs' period of work as regular (non-civil servant) staff could not be counted as part of their official service period. As a result, the Court ruled that the benefit calculation was lawful and dismissed the plaintiffs' claims.

Key takeaways
  • CaseFormer workers argued their retirement benefits were miscalculated because their years of service were inaccurately recorded on the application form.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court ruled that even though there was a paperwork error, the time worked as general (non-civil-servant) staff legally could not count toward the pension service period, so the original benefit decision was valid.
  • LessonForeign workers and employees should understand that only periods of officially recognized civil servant status count toward government pension calculations—time worked in a different employment category, even at the same institution, may not be included.
Issues
  • Whether a retirement benefit decision made by the Government Employees Pension Service constitutes an administrative disposition (행정처분) subject to legal challenge
  • Whether an error made by a staff member in filling out the 'years of service' section of the retirement lump-sum payment application can serve as grounds to cancel the benefit decision
  • How the appellate court should handle a case where only the plaintiff appeals but the appeal lacks merit
Key reasoning

The Court first confirmed that decisions made by the Government Employees Pension Service regarding retirement benefits qualify as administrative dispositions (행정처분) because they have a direct legal effect on individuals' rights. It then addressed whether an error in the 'service period' field—allegedly filled in incorrectly by a pension service employee—could justify cancelling the benefit decision, concluding that such an error, if proven, could indeed be a valid ground for cancellation. However, in this case, the disputed period included time the plaintiffs worked as general staff, not as civil servants (공무원), and such non-civil-servant employment cannot be counted toward the official years of service under the pension system. Therefore, even though there was some inaccuracy in the paperwork, the final benefit decision itself was correct and lawful. The Court also noted a procedural point: since only the plaintiffs appealed and their claims failed on the merits, the appellate court properly dismissed the appeal.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

[1] Considering Article 26(1) and Article 80(1) of the former Public Officials Pension Act (공무원연금법) (before amendment by Act No. 5117 of December 29, 1995) and Article 19-2 of the Enforcement Decree of the Public Officials Pension Act (공무원연금법시행령) together, the benefits under the Act arise as a concrete right only when the Government Employees Pension Service (공무원연금관리공단) makes a decision to grant the benefit, upon an application filed by the person entitled to receive the benefit with the confirmation of the head of the agency to which the relevant public official belonged. Therefore, the Government Employees Pension Service's decision on benefits directly affects the rights of citizens and thus constitutes an administrative disposition. A person who is dissatisfied with the Government Employees Pension Service's decision on benefits must undergo a review decision by the Public Officials Pension Benefit Review Committee (공무원연금급여재심위원회) and then file an administrative litigation against the Government Employees Pension Service's decision on benefits.

[2] Where the column for the period of service in the application for a lump-sum retirement payment, etc. was arbitrarily filled out by an employee in charge at the applicant's workplace, without being based on the applicant's own intention, and there was an error in the calculation of the period of service, such circumstance constitutes a ground for revocation of the decision on benefits.

[3] Where it is found that the plaintiff's claim seeking revocation of the decision on retirement benefits is without merit, even though the court below erred in dismissing the claim on procedural grounds (각하) rather than on the merits (기각), since only the plaintiff appealed, the judgment below cannot be reversed to render a judgment dismissing the claim on the merits, which would be more disadvantageous to the plaintiff. Therefore, the plaintiff's appeal is ultimately without merit.

Full text (English, AI translation) 6,694 chars

[Plaintiffs, Appellants] Plaintiff 1 and 29 others (Attorney Kim Jin-hee, counsel for the plaintiffs)
[Defendant, Appellee] Government Employees Pension Service
[Judgment Below] Seoul High Court Decision 95Gu20098 rendered on April 10, 1996

[Order]

All appeals are dismissed. The costs of appeal shall be borne by the plaintiffs.

[Reasoning]

The grounds of appeal are examined.
1. According to the reasoning of the judgment below, the lower court's determination is as follows.
The lower court held as follows regarding the plaintiffs, who are the bereaved family members of persons who had worked as maintenance workers at the various railroad rolling stock maintenance depots (철도차량정비창) under the Korea National Railroad and who had either retired or died, and who sought revocation of the defendant's act of determining retirement benefits or bereaved family benefits without including in the period of service as a public official the period during which they had worked as general staff members, not as public officials, at the above railroad rolling stock maintenance depots: The lower court determined that the plaintiffs' claim for payment of a lump-sum retirement allowance, etc. was a claim for payment of retirement benefits arising from a legal relationship under public law, and that the defendant's decision on payment of such benefits could not be deemed an administrative disposition subject to an appeal litigation; and that, even if it were deemed an administrative disposition, since this disposition was based on the period of service as applied for by the above plaintiffs, its revocation would bring no practical benefit, and thus there was no interest in seeking its revocation. Accordingly, the lower court dismissed all of the plaintiffs' actions in this case.

2. Regarding the grounds of appeal of the remaining plaintiffs excluding Plaintiff 2
A. Considering together the provisions of Article 26(1) and Article 80(1) of the Public Officials Pension Act (Gongmuwon Yeongeumbeop) (before its amendment by Act No. 5117 of December 29, 1995; hereinafter referred to as the "Act") and Article 19-2 of the Enforcement Decree of the Act, the benefits prescribed by the Act arise as a concrete right only when the defendant makes a decision on payment in accordance with an application filed by the person entitled to receive the benefit, upon obtaining confirmation from the head of the agency to which the relevant public official belonged; therefore, the defendant's decision on benefits directly affects the rights of the people and thus constitutes an administrative disposition, and a person who is dissatisfied with the defendant's decision on benefits must undergo a review decision by the Public Officials Pension Benefits Review Committee (Gongmuwon Yeongeum Geupyeo Jaesim Wiwonhoe) and then file an administrative litigation against the defendant's decision on benefits.

Furthermore, if the column for the period of service in the application for a lump-sum retirement allowance, etc. was arbitrarily filled out not based on the applicant's own intention but by an employee in charge at the applicant's workplace, and there was an error in the calculation of the period of service, such circumstance constitutes grounds for revocation of the benefit decision (see Supreme Court Decision 85Nu82, 83 delivered on September 10, 1985). According to the record (the respective applications for a lump-sum retirement allowance or lump-sum bereaved family allowance, Evidence Eul No. 2 through No. 30, each No. 1), it appears that the columns for the basic period of service and the added period of service, which form the basis for calculating the retirement benefit or bereaved family benefit, in the said applications were not filled out based on the intention of the above plaintiffs, but were arbitrarily filled out by an employee of the pension department at each workplace to which the deceased non-party, the decedent of Plaintiff 3, or the remaining plaintiffs belonged. Therefore, the above plaintiffs also have an interest in seeking revocation of the defendant's decision on benefits.

Nevertheless, the lower court's measure of dismissing the action in this case on the ground that the decision on benefits for the above plaintiffs was not an administrative disposition, or that, even if deemed an administrative disposition, there was no interest in seeking its revocation, constitutes a misunderstanding of the legal principles concerning the legal nature of a decision on benefits.

B. However, according to Article 23 of the Act, which provides for the calculation of the period of service, it is clear that a period during which a person worked as a general staff member, not as a public official, cannot be included in the period of service; and according to the record, it can be seen that, in making the decision on benefits for the above plaintiffs, the defendant calculated the period of service by excluding the period during which the plaintiffs worked as general staff members, not as public officials, and calculated the remaining period as the period of service. Therefore, the decision on benefits in this case is lawful, and the above plaintiffs' claim in this case seeking its revocation is without merit.

Accordingly, although it was erroneous for the lower court to dismiss the above plaintiffs' claim in this case rather than rejecting it on the merits, since only the above plaintiffs have appealed in this case, this Court cannot reverse the judgment below and render a judgment rejecting the claim on the merits, which would be more disadvantageous to the plaintiffs. Therefore, the appeal of the above plaintiffs is ultimately without merit.

3. Regarding the grounds of appeal of Plaintiff 2
According to the record, it is clear that the defendant did not make any disposition, such as a payment decision, with respect to Plaintiff 2, who did not file an application for benefits. Therefore, Plaintiff 2 cannot be deemed to be a person who has a legal interest in seeking revocation of a disposition. The lower court's measure of dismissing Plaintiff 2's action in this case, reaching the same conclusion, is ultimately justifiable, and there is no error of misunderstanding the legal principles as pointed out in the grounds of appeal. The grounds of appeal cannot be accepted.

4. Therefore, all appeals are dismissed, and the costs of appeal shall be borne by the plaintiffs, the appellants. This judgment is rendered as stated in the Order, with the unanimous concurrence of the participating Justices.

Supreme Court Justice Park Jun-seo (Presiding Justice), Park Man-ho, Kim Hyeong-seon, Lee Yong-hoon (Justice in charge)

【판결요지】

[1] 구 공무원연금법(1995. 12. 29. 법률 제5117호로 개정되기 전의 것) 제26조 제1항, 제80조 제1항, 공무원연금법시행령 제19조의2의 각 규정을 종합하면, 같은 법 소정의 급여는 급여를 받을 권리를 가진 자가 당해 공무원이 소속하였던 기관장의 확인을 얻어 신청하는 바에 따라 공무원연금관리공단이 그 지급결정을 함으로써 그 구체적인 권리가 발생하는 것이므로, 공무원연금관리공단의 급여에 관한 결정은 국민의 권리에 직접 영향을 미치는 것이어서 행정처분에 해당하고, 공무원연금관리공단의 급여결정에 불복하는 자는 공무원연금급여재심위원회의 심사결정을 거쳐 공무원연금관리공단의 급여결정을 대상으로 행정소송을 제기하여야 한다.

[2] 퇴직일시금청구서 등의 재직기간란이 신청인의 의사에 기하지 아니하고 신청인 소속 직장의 담당직원에 의하여 임의로 작성되고 그 재직기간의 계산에 있어서 잘못이 있다면, 이와 같은 사유는 급여결정의 취소사유에 해당한다.

[3] 퇴직급여결정의 취소를 구하는 원고의 청구가 이유가 없는 것으로 밝혀진 경우, 원심이 그 청구를 기각하지 아니하고 각하한 것이 잘못이기는 하나, 원고만이 상고한 원심판결을 파기하여 원고에게 더 불리한 청구기각의 판결을 선고할 수는 없으므로, 원고의 상고는 결국 그 이유가 없다.

【참조조문】

[1] 행정소송법 제2조 제1항 제1호, 구 공무원연금법(1995. 12. 29. 법률 제5117호로 개정되기 전의 것) 제26조 제1항, 제80조 제1항, 공무원연금법시행령 제19조의2

[2] 행정소송법 제2조 제1항 제1호, 구 공무원연금법(1995. 12. 29. 법률 제5117호로 개정되기 전의 것) 제26조 제1항, 제80조 제1항

[3] 민사소송법 제485조

【참조판례】

[1] 대법원 1987. 12. 8. 선고 87다카2000 판결(공1988, 275), 대법원 1995. 9. 15. 선고 93누18532 판결(공1995하, 3413) /[2] 대법원 1985. 9. 10. 선고 85누8283 판결(공1985, 1345) /[3] 대법원 1995. 7. 11. 선고 95다9945 판결(공1995하, 2758), 대법원 1996. 10. 11. 선고 96다3852 판결(공1996하, 3310)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 2,323자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고,상고인】 원고 1 외 29인 (원고들 소송대리인 변호사 김진희)

【피고,피상고인】 공무원연금관리공단

【원심판결】 서울고법 1996. 4. 10. 선고 95구20098 판결

【주문】

상고를 모두 기각한다. 상고비용은 원고들의 부담으로 한다.

【이유】 상고이유를 판단한다.

1. 원심판결 이유에 의하면 원심의 판단은 다음과 같다.

원심은, 철도청 산하 각 철도차량정비창에서 정비원으로 근무하다가 퇴직한 자 또는 사망한 자의 유족이 원고들이 되어 위 철도차량정비창에서 공무원 신분이 아닌 일반직원으로 근무한 기간을 공무원 재직기간에 합산하지 아니하고 퇴직급여 또는 유족급여를 결정한 피고의 행위에 대한 취소를 구하는 데 대하여, 원고들의 퇴직일시금 등의 지급청구는 공법상의 법률관계에서 발생한 퇴직금의 지급을 구하는 것으로서 이에 대한 피고의 급여지급결정은 항고소송의 대상이 되는 행정처분이라 할 수 없고, 가사 행정처분으로 본다 하더라도 이 처분은 위 원고들이 신청한 재직기간을 기초로 한 것으로서 그 처분의 취소로 인하여 아무런 실익을 가져다 주지 않으므로 그 처분의 취소를 구할 이익도 없다고 판단하여 원고들의 이 사건 소를 모두 각하하였다.

2. 원고 2를 제외한 나머지 원고들의 상고이유에 대하여

가. 공무원연금법(1995. 12. 29. 법률 제5117호로 개정되기 전의 법률, 이하 '법'이라 한다) 제26조 제1항, 제80조 제1항, 법시행령 제19조의2의 각 규정을 종합하면, 법소정의 급여는 급여를 받을 권리를 가진 자가 당해 공무원이 소속하였던 기관장의 확인을 얻어 신청하는 바에 따라 피고가 그 지급결정을 함으로써 그 구체적인 권리가 발생하는 것이므로, 피고의 급여에 관한 결정은 국민의 권리에 직접 영향을 미치는 것이어서 행정처분에 해당한다고 할 것이고, 피고의 급여결정에 불복하는 자는 공무원연금급여재심위원회의 심사결정을 거쳐 피고의 급여결정을 대상으로 행정소송을 제기하여야 하는 것이다 .

또한, 퇴직일시금청구서 등의 재직기간란이 신청인의 의사에 기하지 아니하고 신청인 소속 직장의 담당직원에 의하여 임의로 작성되고 그 재직기간의 계산에 있어서 잘못이 있다면 이와 같은 사유는 급여결정의 취소사유에 해당한다 할 것인바( 대법원 1985. 9. 10. 선고 85누82, 83 판결 참조), 기록(을 제2호증 내지 제30호증의 각 1의 각 퇴직일시금 또는 유족일시금 청구서)에 의하면 그 청구서 중 퇴직급여 또는 유족급여 산정의 기초가 되는 기본재직기간란 및 가산기간란은 위 원고들의 의사에 기하여 작성된 것이 아니라 원고 3의 피상속인인 망 소외인 또는 나머지 원고들이 소속된 각 직장의 연금 담당부서의 직원이 임의로 작성한 것으로 보여지므로, 위 원고들은 피고의 급여결정에 대하여 취소를 구할 이익도 있다 할 것이다.

그럼에도 불구하고 원심이 위 원고들에 대한 급여결정이 행정처분이 아니라거나 또는 행정처분으로 본다 하더라도 취소를 구할 이익이 없다는 이유로 이 사건 소를 각하한 조치는 급여결정의 법적 성질에 관한 법리를 오해한 것이다.

나. 그러나, 재직기간의 계산에 관하여 규정하고 있는 법 제23조에 의하면 공무원의 신분이 아닌 일반직원으로 근무한 기간은 재직기간에 포함될 수 없는 것임이 명백하고, 한편 기록에 의하면 피고는 위 원고들에 대한 급여결정을 함에 있어서 공무원이 아닌 일반직원으로 근무한 기간을 제외한 나머지 기간을 재직기간으로 계산하여 산정하고 있음을 알 수 있으므로, 이 사건 급여결정은 적법하다 할 것이어서 그 취소를 구하는 위 원고들의 이 사건 청구는 이유 없다고 할 것이다.

따라서, 원심이 위 원고들의 이 사건 청구를 기각하지 아니하고 각하한 것은 잘못이기는 하나, 위 원고들만이 상고한 이 사건에서 원심판결을 파기하여 원고들에게 더 불리한 청구기각의 판결을 선고할 수는 없으므로 위 원고들의 상고는 결국 그 이유가 없다고 하겠다.

3. 원고 2의 상고이유에 대하여

기록에 의하면, 피고는 급여신청을 하지 아니한 원고 2에 대하여 지급결정 등의 처분을 하지 아니하였음이 명백하므로, 원고 2는 처분의 취소를 구할 법률상 이익이 있는 자에 해당한다고 할 수 없다. 이와 결론을 같이 하여 원고 2의 이 사건 소를 각하한 원심의 조치는 결국 정당하고 거기에 상고이유로 지적하는 바와 같은 법리오해의 위법이 없다. 상고이유는 받아들일 수 없다.

4. 그러므로 상고를 모두 기각하고, 상고비용은 상고인인 원고들의 부담으로 하기로 관여 법관의 의견이 일치되어 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 박준서(재판장) 박만호 김형선 이용훈(주심)

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
96누3333 · 대법원 1996-07-12
퇴직급여부지급처분취소
#2
85누82 · 대법원 1985-09-10
군인연금급여심사청구기각처분취소
#3
95누7833 · 대법원 1995-09-29
퇴직연금청구반려처분취소
#4
79누121 · 대법원 1980-02-12
퇴직일시금지급처분취소
#5
95누9617 · 대법원 1996-02-27
퇴직급여청구반려처분취소

Cases citing this decision

2008두5636 · 대법원 2010-05-27
퇴직수당청구
2006구합44361 · 서울행법 2007-05-11
퇴직수당청구
2003두15195 · 대법원 2004-12-24
퇴직연금지급청구거부처분취소
2004두244 · 대법원 2004-07-08
연금지급청구서반려처분취소
2002두3522 · 대법원 2003-09-05
Wages

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)