Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 98두12598

Revocation of Disposition Refusing to Pay Additional Disaster Relief Allowance (재해위로금추가지급거부처분취소)재해위로금추가지급거부처분취소

Decided1999. 01. 26. Court대법원Reversed and remanded (worker's case sent back for reconsideration under the correct litigation procedure)
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

A worker at a closed coal mine sought an additional disaster relief allowance (재해위로금) after his disability grade was changed following further medical treatment for a work-related injury. The Supreme Court held that workers whose disability grade was later changed due to renewed medical treatment (재요양) are included among those whose disability grade had not yet been finalized as of the mine closure date. The Court also ruled that the Coal Industry Rationalization Agency's refusal to pay was merely an expression of opinion, not an administrative disposition (행정처분), meaning the dispute should have been brought as a public law party litigation (당사자소송) rather than an administrative appeal. The lower court's judgment was reversed and the case was remanded to the High Court.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA coal miner whose disability grade changed after further treatment claimed an additional disaster relief allowance from the Coal Industry Rationalization Agency, which refused payment.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court ruled that such workers are covered by the allowance scheme and that the Agency's refusal was not an appealable administrative act, requiring the claim to be pursued via public law party litigation instead.
  • LessonWorkers seeking benefits tied to social security-type public rights should identify the correct procedural route (party litigation vs. administrative appeal) before filing suit, as misclassification can derail an otherwise valid claim.
Issues
  • The legal nature of the disaster relief allowance (재해위로금) and the appropriate type of lawsuit to claim it
  • The scope of workers considered to have an 'unconfirmed disability grade,' including those whose grade changed after renewed medical treatment (재요양)
  • Whether the Coal Industry Rationalization Agency's refusal to pay constitutes an administrative disposition (행정처분)
  • The validity of an agreement not to sue (부제소합의) regarding the right to claim disaster relief allowance
Key reasoning

The disaster relief allowance (재해위로금) is a public-law right rooted in social security policy, not a private contractual claim, and disputes over it must proceed through public law party litigation (당사자소송) rather than an appeal against an administrative disposition. The Court clarified that the category of workers whose disability grade remained 'unconfirmed' at the time of mine closure includes those who later underwent renewed medical treatment (재요양) resulting in a change of disability grade—entitling them to claim the difference in allowance. Critically, the Coal Industry Rationalization Agency's refusal to pay additional allowance was not an administrative disposition subject to judicial review as such, but merely a factual and legal opinion expressed by the Agency. Therefore, the proper procedural route for the worker to seek relief was a direct public law party lawsuit against the Agency, not a suit to cancel an administrative disposition. Because the lower court mischaracterized the nature of the claim and the litigation procedure, its judgment was overturned.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

[1] Under the provisions of Article 39-3, Paragraph 1, Item 4 and Paragraph 4 of the Coal Industry Act (석탄산업법), and Article 41, Paragraph 4, Item 5 of the Enforcement Decree of the same Act, the disaster consolation payment (재해위로금), which is a type of mine-closure countermeasure expense paid to workers who suffered work-related injuries at a closed mine, has the character of a consolation payment provided from a social security perspective, in addition to the ordinary disaster compensation payment, to retired workers who will face particular difficulties in changing occupations, etc., due to injuries suffered at the mine, in connection with the closure of an uneconomical coal mine whose continued coal extraction is deemed undesirable for the balanced development of the national economy in light of the domestic coal supply and demand situation. The right to claim payment of such disaster consolation payment is a right under public law, and a lawsuit seeking such payment constitutes a party litigation under public law (당사자소송) concerning a legal relationship under public law.

[2] Even if the parties had agreed not to file a lawsuit (부제소합의) concerning the right to claim the disaster consolation payment set forth in Article 41, Paragraph 4, Item 5 of the Enforcement Decree of the Coal Industry Act, such an agreement shall be deemed null and void.

[3] According to the provisions of Article 39-3, Paragraph 1, Item 4 and Paragraph 4 of the Coal Industry Act and Article 41, Paragraph 4, Item 5 of the Enforcement Decree of the same Act, when a coal mining operator of a mine meeting certain criteria completes the registration of extinguishment of the relevant mining right, etc., the Coal Industry Rationalization Fund Corporation (석탄산업합리화사업단) pays various items of mine-closure countermeasure expenses to the retired workers and coal mining operators, etc. of the relevant mine. Among these is the "disaster consolation payment paid to a person who suffered a work-related injury during the period from one year prior to the date of the coal mining operator's application for confirmation as to whether the mine qualifies as an object of mine-closure countermeasure expense payment, or the date determined by the Coal Industry Deliberation Committee (석탄산업심의위원회) reviewing whether the mine is to be closed, up to the date of mine closure, and whose disability grade has been determined as of the date of mine closure, or who, notwithstanding the period of occurrence of the injury, has not had the disability grade determined as of the date of mine closure." The amount of such disaster consolation payment is prescribed to be "the same amount as the lump-sum disability compensation under Article 42, Paragraph 1 of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) or the lump-sum survivor's compensation under Article 43, Paragraph 1 of the same Act received by the retired worker." Here, the phrase "a person whose disability grade has not been determined as of the date of mine closure," who is eligible for the disaster consolation payment, includes an injured worker who, having once completed initial medical treatment and received a determination of the disability grade and the corresponding disaster consolation payment therefor, subsequently suffers a recurrence of the relevant injury or illness or develops complications arising therefrom after the date of mine closure, and thereby undergoes renewed medical treatment.

[4] The Regulations on Payment of Mine-Closure Countermeasure Expenses (폐광대책비지급규정) enacted by the Coal Industry Rationalization Fund Corporation pursuant to Article 42-2, Paragraph 6 of the Enforcement Decree of the Coal Industry Act merely provide for the procedures for payment of mine-closure countermeasure expenses and constitute nothing more than internal administrative guidelines of the Coal Industry Rationalization Fund Corporation; they do not have binding effect externally upon the public or the courts.

[5] Taking together the purport of the provisions of Article 39-3, Paragraph 1, Item 4 and Paragraph 4 of the Coal Industry Act and Article 41, Paragraph 4, Item 5 of the Enforcement Decree of the same Act, the injured worker's right to claim the disaster consolation payment against the Coal Industry Rationalization Fund Corporation arises as a matter of course, and the amount thereof is likewise fixed, once the payment requirements prescribed by the above provisions are satisfied; the occurrence of such right or the amount thereof is not dependent upon whether the said Corporation makes a decision to pay it. Therefore, even if the said Corporation expresses an intention to refuse payment of all or part of the disaster consolation payment, such expression of intention does not constitute an administrative disposition that forms or determines the right to claim the disaster consolation payment, but is merely an expression of the Corporation's own factual and legal opinion, as one party to the legal relationship under public law, regarding the existence and scope of its payment obligation. Accordingly, where a person objects to the Corporation's expressed refusal to pay the disaster consolation payment, that person must not file an appeal litigation (항고소송) against the Corporation regarding such expression of refusal to pay, but must directly file a party litigation under public law.

Full text (English, AI translation) 9,296 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellee] Plaintiff
[Defendant, Appellant] Coal Industry Rationalization Corporation (석탄산업합리화사업단) (Counsel: Attorney Lee Chan-uk)
[Judgment Below] Seoul High Court Decision 97Gu47912, decided June 12, 1998

[Order]

The judgment below is reversed, and the case is remanded to the Seoul High Court.

[Reasoning]

The grounds of appeal are examined.

1. As to the point concerning the letter of waiver

Under Article 39-3(1)(4) and (4) of the Coal Industry Act (석탄산업법, hereinafter the "Act") and Article 41(4)(5) of the Enforcement Decree of the same Act (동법시행령, hereinafter the "Enforcement Decree"), the disaster consolation payment (재해위로금), which is a type of mine closure support expense paid to workers who suffered occupational injuries at closed mines, has the character of a consolation payment paid, in addition to the ordinary disaster compensation, on a social security basis to retired workers who will face particular difficulties in changing occupations due to injuries suffered at the mine, in connection with the closure of coal mines that are uneconomical and whose continued coal mining is deemed undesirable for the balanced development of the national economy in light of the domestic coal supply and demand situation. The right to claim payment of such disaster consolation payment is a right under public law, and a lawsuit seeking such payment constitutes a public-law party litigation (당사자소송) concerning a legal relationship under public law (see Supreme Court Decision 95Da28960, decided May 30, 1997). Therefore, even if the parties had agreed not to bring suit with respect to such payment, such an agreement would be null and void (see Supreme Court Decision 98Du8919, decided August 21, 1998). The judgment below, which appears to be to the same effect, is justified, and there is no error therein of the kind alleged in the grounds of appeal.

2. As to the point concerning the requirements for payment of the disaster consolation payment

Under Article 39-3(1)(4) and (4) of the Act and Article 41(4)(5) of the Enforcement Decree, when a coal mining business operator of a mine meeting certain criteria completes the registration of extinguishment of the relevant mining right, etc., the Defendant pays various items of mine closure support expenses to the retired workers and coal mining business operators, etc. of the relevant mine. One such item is the "disaster consolation payment paid to a person who suffered an occupational injury during the period from one year prior to the date of the coal mining business operator's application for confirmation as to whether the mine is subject to mine closure support expenses, or the date set by the Coal Industry Deliberation Committee (석탄산업심의위원회) deliberating on mine closure, retroactively, up to the date of mine closure, and whose disability grade has been finalized as of the date of mine closure, or a person whose disability grade has not been finalized as of the date of mine closure regardless of the period during which the injury occurred." The amount of such disaster consolation payment is prescribed to be "the same amount as the lump-sum disability compensation under Article 42(1) of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) or the lump-sum bereaved family compensation under Article 43(1) of the same Act received by the retired worker." Here, a "person whose disability grade has not been finalized as of the date of mine closure," who is eligible for the disaster consolation payment, includes an injured worker who, having once completed initial medical care and received a disability grade determination and the corresponding disaster consolation payment, subsequently suffered a recurrence of the relevant injury or illness or a complication arising therefrom after the date of mine closure, and thus received renewed medical care. The Mine Closure Support Expense Payment Regulations (폐광대책비지급규정) enacted by the Defendant pursuant to Article 42-2(6) of the Enforcement Decree merely prescribe the procedures for payment of mine closure support expenses and constitute nothing more than internal administrative guidelines of the Defendant, having no binding effect externally upon the public or the courts (see Supreme Court Order 95Ma817, decided September 23, 1996).

According to the reasoning of the judgment below, the court below found, based on the evidence adduced, the following facts: while working as a face worker (선산부) at Manwoo Coal Mine, which was selected as a mine eligible for mine closure support, the Plaintiff suffered injuries consisting of lumbar sprain, left foot contusion, abrasion, and sprain due to a roof collapse accident that occurred at the coal face inside the pit on July 21, 1994; the Plaintiff received approval for medical care from the non-party Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service (근로복지공단) and completed treatment; on December 26, 1995, the Plaintiff was determined to have a disability grade of Class 9, Item 15 under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, and received a lump-sum disability compensation of KRW 19,586,690, and in addition received from the Defendant a disaster consolation payment in the same amount as such lump-sum disability compensation. However, the injured area, for which treatment had been completed, subsequently deteriorated, and the Plaintiff received medical care from the Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service on December 23, 1996 for the additional injury/illness diagnosed as "herniated intervertebral disc at the L4-5 level," and on February 4, 1997, was determined to have a changed disability grade of Class 6, Item 5 under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, and received an additional lump-sum disability compensation of KRW 19,908,130, the difference between the lump-sum disability compensation corresponding to the changed disability grade and that corresponding to the original disability grade. Based on these findings, the court below determined that the disability grade arising from the accident in this case was finalized not on December 26, 1995, when the Plaintiff first received a disability grade determination, but on February 4, 1997, when the Plaintiff received the new disability grade determination, and accordingly held that the Defendant was obligated to additionally pay a disaster consolation payment equivalent to KRW 19,908,130, the difference between the lump-sum disability compensation under the new disability grade and the original lump-sum disability compensation paid on February 6, 1996. In light of the legal principles set forth above, this determination by the court below is acceptable, and there is no error therein of misapprehension of the legal principles concerning the requirements for payment of the disaster consolation payment, as alleged in the grounds of appeal. This ground of appeal is also without merit.

3. Ex officio review

Taking together the purport of Article 39-3(1)(4) and (4) of the Act and Article 41(4)(5) of the Enforcement Decree, the right of an injured worker to claim payment of the disaster consolation payment against the Defendant arises as a matter of course, and the amount thereof is also fixed, once the payment requirements prescribed by the above provisions are satisfied; the occurrence of such right or its amount is not dependent upon whether the Defendant makes a decision to pay. Therefore, even if the Defendant expresses an intention to refuse payment of all or part of the disaster consolation payment, such expression of intention does not constitute an administrative disposition (행정처분) that forms or fixes the right to claim the disaster consolation payment, but is merely an expression, by one party to a legal relationship under public law, of its own factual and legal opinion regarding the existence and scope of its payment obligation. Accordingly, where there is an objection to the Defendant's expression of intention refusing payment of the disaster consolation payment, the proper course is not to file an appeal litigation (항고소송) against such expression of intention to refuse payment against the Defendant, but to directly file a public-law party litigation (당사자소송) (see Supreme Court Decision 95Da28960, decided May 30, 1997; Supreme Court Order 95Ma817, decided September 23, 1996, among others).

In light of the foregoing, the Plaintiff's claim in this case, which seeks the revocation of the Defendant's expression of intention to refuse payment of the disaster consolation payment on the premise that it constitutes an administrative disposition, is unlawful. In such a case, the court below should have clarified whether the Plaintiff's true intent was to seek direct payment of the disaster consolation payment, and, unless the Plaintiff amended the lawsuit into a public-law party litigation, should have dismissed this lawsuit. Nevertheless, the court below accepted the claim as it stood, and thus the judgment below cannot escape reversal.

4. Accordingly, the judgment below is reversed, and the case is remanded to the court below, this judgment being rendered as stated in the Order by the unanimous opinion of the Justices participating.

Justice Lee Im-su (Presiding Justice), Park Jun-seo (Justice in charge), Seo Seong

【판결요지】

[1] 석탄산업법 제39조의3 제1항 제4호, 제4항 및 같은법시행령 제41조 제4항 제5호의 각 규정에 의하여 폐광대책비의 일종으로 폐광된 광산에서 업무상 재해를 입은 근로자에게 지급하는 재해위로금은, 국내의 석탄수급상황을 감안하여 채탄을 계속하는 것이 국민경제의 균형발전을 위하여 바람직하지 못하다고 판단되는 경제성이 없는 석탄광산을 폐광함에 있어서 그 광산에서 입은 재해로 인하여 전업 등에 특별한 어려움을 겪게 될 퇴직근로자를 대상으로 사회보장적인 차원에서 통상적인 재해보상금에 추가하여 지급하는 위로금의 성격을 갖는 것이고, 이러한 재해위로금에 대한 지급청구권은 공법상의 권리로서 그 지급을 구하는 소송은 공법상의 법률관계에 관한 소송인 공법상 당사자소송에 해당한다.

[2] 당사자 사이에 석탄산업법시행령 제41조 제4항 제5호 소정의 재해위로금에 대한 지급청구권에 관한 부제소합의가 있었다고 하더라도 그러한 합의는 무효라고 할 것이다.

[3] 석탄산업법 제39조의3 제1항 제4호, 제4항 및 같은법시행령 제41조 제4항 제5호의 각 규정에 의하면, 일정한 기준에 해당하는 광산의 석탄광업자가 당해 광업권 등의 소멸등록을 마친 때에 석탄산업합리화사업단은 당해 광산의 퇴직근로자 및 석탄광업자 등에게 여러 항목의 폐광대책비를 지급하는데 그 중 하나로 '폐광대책비의 지급대상이 되는지 여부에 관한 석탄광업자의 확인신청일 또는 폐광 여부를 심의하는 석탄산업심의위원회에서 정한 날부터 소급하여 1년 전부터 폐광일까지의 기간 중에 업무상 재해를 입은 자로서 폐광일 현재 장해등급이 확정된 자 또는 재해발생기간에 불구하고 폐광일 현재 장해등급이 확정되지 아니한 자에 대하여 지급하는 재해위로금'을 들고 있고 그 재해위로금액은 '퇴직근로자가 지급받은 산업재해보상보험법 제42조 제1항의 규정에 의한 장해보상일시금 또는 같은 법 제43조 제1항의 유족보상일시금과 동일한 금액'으로 하도록 규정하고 있는바, 여기서 말하는 재해위로금의 지급대상이 되는 '폐광일 현재 장해등급이 확정되지 아니한 자'에는 일단 최초의 요양을 종결하고 그에 따른 신체장해등급판정을 받고 그에 상응하는 재해위로금을 받았다가 폐광일 이후 당해 상병이 재발하거나 또는 당해 상병에 기인한 합병증이 발생하여 재요양을 받게 된 피재근로자도 포함된다.

[4] 석탄산업법시행령 제42조의2 제6항에 터잡아 석탄산업합리화사업단이 제정한 폐광대책비지급규정은 그 내용이 폐광대책비의 지급절차만을 규정한 것으로서 석탄산업합리화사업단 내부의 사무처리준칙에 불과하고 대외적으로 국민이나 법원을 기속하는 효력이 있는 것은 아니다.

[5] 석탄산업법 제39조의3 제1항 제4호, 제4항 및 같은법시행령 제41조 제4항 제5호의 각 규정의 취지를 모아보면, 피재근로자가 석탄산업합리화사업단에 대하여 가지는 재해위로금의 지급청구권은 위 규정이 정하는 지급요건이 충족되면 당연히 발생함과 아울러 그 금액도 확정되는 것이지 위 사업단의 지급결정 여부에 의하여 그 청구권의 발생이나 금액이 좌우되는 것이 아니므로 위 사업단이 그 재해위로금의 전부 또는 일부에 대하여 지급거부의 의사표시를 하였다고 하더라도 그 의사표시는 재해위로금청구권을 형성·확정하는 행정처분이 아니라 공법상의 법률관계의 한쪽 당사자로서 그 지급의무의 존부 및 범위에 관하여 나름대로의 사실상·법률상 의견을 밝힌 것에 불과하다고 할 것이므로, 위 사업단이 표시한 재해위로금 지급거부의 의사표시에 불복이 있는 경우에는 위 사업단을 상대로 그 지급거부의 의사표시에 대한 항고소송을 제기하여야 하는 것이 아니라 직접 공법상의 당사자소송을 제기하여야 한다.

【참조조문】

[1] 석탄산업법 제39조의3 제1항 제4호, 제4항, 석탄산업법시행령 제41조 제4항 제5호, 행정소송법 제3조

[2] 민사소송법 제226조, 행정소송법 제8조 제2항, 석탄산업법 제39조의3 제1항 제4호, 제4항, 석탄산업법시행령 제41조 제4항 제5호

[3] 석탄산업법 제39조의3 제1항 제4호, 제4항, 석탄산업법시행령 제41조 제4항 제5호, 산업재해보상보험법 제42조 제1항, 제43조 제1항

[4] 석탄산업법시행령 제42조의2 제6항

[5] 행정소송법 제2조 제1항 제1호, 제3조, 석탄산업법 제39조의3 제1항 제4호, 제4항, 석탄산업법시행령 제41조 제4항 제5호

【참조판례】

[1][5] 대법원 1997. 5. 30. 선고 95다28960 판결(공1997하, 1997) / [1] 대법원 1993. 10. 12. 선고 93누13209 판결(공1993하, 3105), 대법원 1998. 12. 23. 선고 97누5046 판결(공1999상, 252) / [2] 대법원 1961. 11. 2. 선고 4293행상60 판결, 대법원 1998. 8. 21. 선고 98두8919 판결(공1998하, 2328) / [4][5] 대법원 1996. 9. 23. 자 95마817 결정(공1996하, 3162)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 3,264자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 피상고인】 원고

【피고, 상고인】 석탄산업합리화사업단 (소송대리인 변호사 이찬욱)

【원심판결】 서울고법 1998. 6. 12. 선고 97구47912 판결

【주 문】

원심판결을 파기하고 사건을 서울고등법원에 환송한다.

【이 유】 상고이유를 본다.

1. 포기각서의 점에 대하여

석탄산업법(이하 '법'이라 한다) 제39조의3 제1항 제4호, 제4항 및 같은법시행령(이하 '시행령'이라 한다) 제41조 제4항 제5호의 각 규정에 의하여 폐광대책비의 일종으로 폐광된 광산에서 업무상 재해를 입은 근로자에게 지급하는 재해위로금은, 국내의 석탄수급상황을 감안하여 채탄을 계속하는 것이 국민경제의 균형발전을 위하여 바람직하지 못하다고 판단되는 경제성이 없는 석탄광산을 폐광함에 있어서 그 광산에서 입은 재해로 인하여 전업 등에 특별한 어려움을 겪게 될 퇴직근로자를 대상으로 사회보장적인 차원에서 통상적인 재해보상금에 추가하여 지급하는 위로금의 성격을 갖는 것이고, 이러한 재해위로금에 대한 지급청구권은 공법상의 권리로서 그 지급을 구하는 소송은 공법상의 법률관계에 관한 소송인 공법상 당사자소송에 해당하므로(대법원 1997. 5. 30. 선고 95다28960 판결 참조), 당사자 사이에 그에 관한 부제소합의가 있었다고 하더라도 그러한 합의는 무효라고 할 것인바(대법원 1998. 8. 21. 선고 98두8919 판결 참조), 같은 취지로 보이는 원심 판단은 정당하고, 거기에 소론과 같은 위법이 있다고 할 수 없다.

2. 재해위로금의 지급요건의 점에 대하여

법 제39조의3 제1항 제4호, 제4항 및 시행령 제41조 제4항 제5호의 각 규정에 의하면, 일정한 기준에 해당하는 광산의 석탄광업자가 당해 광업권 등의 소멸등록을 마친 때에 피고는 당해 광산의 퇴직근로자 및 석탄광업자 등에게 여러 항목의 폐광대책비를 지급하는데 그 중 하나로 '폐광대책비의 지급대상이 되는지 여부에 관한 석탄광업자의 확인신청일 또는 폐광 여부를 심의하는 석탄산업심의위원회에서 정한 날부터 소급하여 1년 전부터 폐광일까지의 기간 중에 업무상 재해를 입은 자로서 폐광일 현재 장해등급이 확정된 자 또는 재해발생기간에 불구하고 폐광일 현재 장해등급이 확정되지 아니한 자에 대하여 지급하는 재해위로금'을 들고 있고 그 재해위로금액은 '퇴직근로자가 지급받은 산업재해보상보험법 제42조 제1항의 규정에 의한 장해보상일시금 또는 같은 법 제43조 제1항의 유족보상일시금과 동일한 금액'으로 하도록 규정하고 있는바, 여기서 말하는 재해위로금의 지급대상이 되는 '폐광일 현재 장해등급이 확정되지 아니한 자'에는 일단 최초의 요양을 종결하고 그에 따른 신체장해등급판정을 받고 그에 상응하는 재해위로금을 받았다가 폐광일 이후 당해 상병이 재발하거나 또는 당해 상병에 기인한 합병증이 발생하여 재요양을 받게 된 피재근로자도 포함된다고 할 것이고, 시행령 제42조의2 제6항에 터잡아 피고가 제정한 폐광대책비지급규정은 그 내용이 폐광대책비의 지급절차만을 규정한 것으로서 피고 내부의 사무처리준칙에 불과하고 대외적으로 국민이나 법원을 기속하는 효력이 있는 것은 아니다(대법원 1996. 9. 23. 자 95마817 결정 참조).

원심판결의 이유에 의하면, 원심이 거시 증거에 의하여, 원고가 폐광지원대상광산으로 선정된 만우탄광의 선산부로 근무하던 중인 1994. 7. 21. 그 갱 내 막장에서 발생한 낙반사고로 인하여 요부염좌·좌족부좌상·찰과상 및 염좌의 상해를 입고 소외 근로복지공단으로부터 요양승인을 받아 치료를 종결한 다음 1995. 12. 26. 산업재해보상보험법상 제9급 15호의 신체장해등급판정을 받고, 장해보상일시금으로 금 19,586,690원을 지급받음과 아울러 피고로부터 위 장해보상일시금과 동일한 금액의 재해위로금을 지급받은 사실, 그런데 원고는 그 후 치료를 종결한 위 상해부위가 악화되어 위 근로복지공단으로부터 1996. 12. 23. 상병명 '제4-5 요추간 수핵탈출증'의 추가상병에 대한 요양을 받고 1997. 2. 4. 산업재해보상보험법상 제6급 5호의 신체장해등급 변경판정을 받고, 위 변경된 신체장해등급에 따른 장해보상일시금과 원래의 신체장해등급에 따른 장해보상일시금의 차액인 금 19,908,130원의 추가 장해보상일시금을 지급받은 사실을 인정한 다음, 원고의 이 사건 재해로 인한 장해등급이 확정된 것은 최초로 장해등급의 판정을 받은 1995. 12. 26.이 아니라 새로운 장해등급의 판정을 받은 1997. 2. 4.이므로 피고는 새로운 장해등급에 따른 장해보상일시금에서 1996. 2. 6. 지급한 최초의 장해보상일시금의 차액인 금 19,908,130원에 상당하는 재해위로금을 추가로 지급할 의무가 있다고 보았는바, 앞에서 본 법리에 비추어 볼 때 원심의 이러한 조치는 수긍이 가고, 거기에 소론과 같은 재해위로금의 지급요건에 관한 법리오인의 위법이 있다고 할 수 없다. 논지도 이유 없다.

3. 직권으로 본다.

법 제39조의3 제1항 제4호, 제4항 및 시행령 제41조 제4항 제5호의 각 규정의 취지를 모아보면, 피재근로자가 피고에 대하여 가지는 재해위로금의 지급청구권은 위 규정이 정하는 지급요건이 충족되면 당연히 발생함과 아울러 그 금액도 확정되는 것이지 피고의 지급결정 여부에 의하여 그 청구권의 발생이나 금액이 좌우되는 것이 아니므로 피고가 그 재해위로금의 전부 또는 일부에 대하여 지급거부의 의사표시를 하였다고 하더라도 그 의사표시는 재해위로금청구권을 형성·확정하는 행정처분이 아니라 공법상의 법률관계의 한쪽 당사자로서 그 지급의무의 존부 및 범위에 관하여 나름대로의 사실상·법률상 의견을 밝힌 것에 불과하다고 할 것이므로, 피고가 표시한 재해위로금 지급거부의 의사표시에 불복이 있는 경우에는 피고를 상대로 그 지급거부의 의사표시에 대한 항고소송을 제기하여야 하는 것이 아니라 직접 공법상의 당사자소송을 제기하여야 한다고 할 것이다(대법원 1997. 5. 30. 선고 95다28960 판결, 1996. 9. 23. 자 95마817 결정 등 참조).

이렇게 볼 때, 피고의 재해위로금 지급거절의 의사표시를 행정처분으로 보아 그 취소를 구하는 원고의 이 사건 청구는 부적법하다고 할 것이므로, 이러한 경우 원심으로서는 원고가 재해위로금의 직접 지급을 구하는 취지인지 여부를 석명하여 원고로 하여금 공법상 당사자소송으로 소변경을 아니하는 한, 이 사건 소를 각하할 수밖에 없다고 할 것임에도 이를 그대로 인용한 원심판결은 파기를 면할 수 없다고 할 것이다.

4. 그러므로 원심판결을 파기하고 사건을 원심법원에 환송하기로 하여 관여 법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 이임수(재판장) 박준서(주심) 서성

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2022두50694 · 대법원 2025-11-13
재해위로금지급청구의소[진폐근로자들이 석탄산업법에 따른 재해위로금을 청구한 사건]
#2
2018누42490 · 서울고등법원 2019-12-17
재해위로금지급청구
#3
97누5046 · 대법원 1998-12-23
재해위로금
#4
2019두31426 · 대법원 2020-10-29
Claim for Disaster Consolation Payment [Recipient and Amount
#5
2019두60523 · 대법원 2020-10-15
재해위로금

Cases citing this decision

2022두50694 · 대법원 2025-11-13
재해위로금지급청구의소[진폐근로자들이 석탄산업법에 따른 재해위로금을 청구한 사건]
2019두60523 · 대법원 2020-10-15
재해위로금
2020두34308 · 대법원 2020-10-15
재해위로금지급청구의소
2019두61717 · 대법원 2020-10-15
재해위로금부지급처분취소
2020두31699 · 대법원 2020-09-24
재해위로금지급청구

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)