Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 2009다97314

Unjust Enrichment (부당이득금)부당이득금

Decided2010. 02. 25. Court대법원Worker won
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

A daily-wage worker on a construction site suffered an industrial accident, raising the question of whether he qualified as an 'employee' under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법) and whether his medical care compensation (요양보상) could be reduced due to his own negligence. The Supreme Court (대법원) recognized the worker's employee status based on the substantive subordinate relationship with the employer, and ruled that medical care compensation cannot be reduced on the basis of comparative negligence (과실상계).

Key takeaways
  • CaseA daily-wage construction worker suffered an industrial accident and the employer disputed his employee status and the full amount of medical compensation.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court confirmed the worker's employee status based on actual working conditions and ruled that medical compensation must be paid in full without deduction for worker negligence.
  • LessonEven workers paid daily or under informal arrangements can be legally recognized as employees if they work under the employer's substantial direction and control, and are entitled to full statutory medical compensation regardless of fault.
Issues
  • What is the standard for determining whether a person qualifies as an 'employee' under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법)?
  • Can medical care compensation (요양보상) under the Labor Standards Act be reduced due to the worker's own negligence (과실상계)?
Key reasoning

Employee status under the Labor Standards Act must be determined not by the formal type of contract (e.g., daily wage arrangement) but by whether a substantive relationship of subordination exists between the worker and the employer. The Court found that the worker was, in substance, under the employer's direction and control, and therefore qualified as an employee despite being paid on a daily basis. Furthermore, the Court held that medical care compensation under the Labor Standards Act is a form of no-fault statutory compensation designed to guarantee the worker's recovery, and therefore must be paid in full regardless of the worker's own negligence. Reducing this compensation through comparative negligence principles would undermine the protective purpose of the statute.

Full text (English, AI translation) 5,053 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellee] National Health Insurance Service

[Defendant, Appellant]

[Judgment of the lower court] Daejeon District Court Judgment 2009Na9186, decided November 10, 2009

[Order]

The appeal is dismissed. The costs of the appeal shall be borne by the Defendant.

[Reasoning] The grounds of appeal are examined.

1. As to the first ground of appeal

Whether a person constitutes a "worker" under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법) should be determined not by the formal type of the contract, that is, whether it is an employment contract or a service (independent contractor) contract, but by whether, in substance, the worker provided labor to the employer in a subordinate relationship, for the purpose of receiving wages, in the business or workplace concerned. In determining whether such a subordinate relationship exists, the following economic and social conditions should be comprehensively considered: whether the employer determines the content of the work and whether the person is subject to employment rules or service (personnel) regulations, and whether the employer exercises substantial direction and supervision over the performance of the work; whether the employer designates the working hours and place of work and the worker is bound thereby; whether the person providing labor can independently operate a business on his or her own account, such as by owning equipment, raw materials, or work tools, or by hiring a third party to perform the work on his or her behalf; whether the person bears the risks inherent in the labor relationship, such as the generation of profit or the occurrence of loss through the provision of labor; matters relating to remuneration, such as whether the remuneration is in the nature of consideration for the labor itself, whether a basic or fixed salary has been set, and whether income tax has been withheld at source; the continuity of the labor-providing relationship and the existence and degree of exclusive affiliation with the employer; and whether the person is recognized as having the status of a worker under statutes concerning the social security system. However, since matters such as whether a basic or fixed salary has been set, whether income tax has been withheld at source, and whether the person is recognized as a worker under the social security system are matters that the employer, using its economically superior position, has considerable latitude to determine arbitrarily, the worker status should not be easily denied merely because such circumstances are not found to exist (see Supreme Court Decision 2004Da29736, decided December 7, 2006; Supreme Court Decision 2009Da51417, decided October 29, 2009, among others).

According to the reasoning of the judgment of the lower court, the lower court, in light of the various circumstances found based on the evidence lawfully adopted, determined that it was reasonable to view Han Gi-hyeon as an employee of the Defendant, who provided labor to the Defendant in a subordinate relationship in terms of the content of the work and in terms of time and place, for the purpose of receiving a daily wage of KRW 100,000, in the new construction work of a Korean-style traditional house (hanok) villa and site leveling carried out by the Defendant. In light of the aforementioned legal principles, the above determination of the lower court is correct, and there is no error of law in misapprehending the legal principles concerning the recognition of a worker under the Labor Standards Act. Furthermore, insofar as the portion of the Defendant's grounds of appeal criticizes the judgment of the lower court by premising facts different from those found by the lower court, this is no different in purport from disputing the lower court's exclusive authority to select evidence and find facts, and thus cannot be accepted.

2. As to the second ground of appeal

With respect to medical care compensation (요양보상) under the Labor Standards Act, the employer is obligated, absent special circumstances, to pay the full amount thereof, and even if the worker was negligent, the employer cannot be exempted from paying an amount corresponding to that proportion of negligence (see Supreme Court en banc Decision 81Daka351, decided October 13, 1981; Supreme Court Decision 2008Da40847, decided November 27, 2008, among others).

In the same vein, the lower court's rejection of the Defendant's argument that the Defendant's liability should be limited to the extent of Han Gi-hyeon's own negligence is justified, and there is no error of law in misapprehending the legal principles concerning medical care compensation and comparative negligence as alleged in the grounds of appeal.

3. Conclusion

Therefore, the appeal is dismissed, and the costs of the appeal are to be borne by the losing party. This judgment is rendered in accordance with the Order, with the unanimous consent of the participating Justices.

Presiding Justice An Dae-hee
Justice Park Si-hwan
Justice Cha Han-seong
Justice Shin Young-cheol (Justice in charge)

【참조조문】

[1] 근로기준법 제2조 제1항 제1호

[2] 근로기준법 제78조, 민법 제396조, 제763조

【참조판례】

[1] 대법원 2006. 12. 7. 선고 2004다29736 판결(공2007상, 104), 대법원 2007. 9. 7. 선고 2006도777 판결(공2007하, 1607), 대법원 2009. 10. 29. 선고 2009다51417 판결(공2009하, 2001) / [2] 대법원 1981. 10. 13. 선고 81다카351 전원합의체 판결(공1981, 14438), 대법원 1994. 12. 27. 선고 94다40543 판결(공1995상, 670), 대법원 2008. 11. 27. 선고 2008다40847 판결(공2008하, 1779)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 1,761자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 피상고인】 국민건강보험공단

【피고, 상고인】

【원심판결】 대전지법 2009. 11. 10. 선고 2009나9186 판결

【주 문】

상고를 기각한다. 상고비용은 피고가 부담한다.

【이 유】 상고이유를 판단한다.

1. 상고이유 제1점에 대하여

근로기준법상의 근로자에 해당하는지 여부는 계약의 형식이 고용계약인지 도급계약인지보다 그 실질에 있어 근로자가 사업 또는 사업장에 임금을 목적으로 종속적인 관계에서 사용자에게 근로를 제공하였는지 여부에 따라 판단하여야 하고, 여기에서 종속적인 관계가 있는지 여부는 업무 내용을 사용자가 정하고 취업규칙 또는 복무(인사)규정 등의 적용을 받으며 업무 수행 과정에서 사용자가 상당한 지휘·감독을 하는지, 사용자가 근무시간과 근무장소를 지정하고 근로자가 이에 구속을 받는지, 노무제공자가 스스로 비품·원자재나 작업도구 등을 소유하거나 제3자를 고용하여 업무를 대행케 하는 등 독립하여 자신의 계산으로 사업을 영위할 수 있는지, 노무 제공을 통한 이윤의 창출과 손실의 초래 등 위험을 스스로 안고 있는지, 보수의 성격이 근로 자체의 대상적 성격인지, 기본급이나 고정급이 정하여졌는지 및 근로소득세의 원천징수 여부 등 보수에 관한 사항, 근로 제공 관계의 계속성과 사용자에 대한 전속성의 유무와 그 정도, 사회보장제도에 관한 법령에서 근로자로서 지위를 인정받는지 등의 경제적·사회적 여러 조건을 종합하여 판단하여야 한다. 다만, 기본급이나 고정급이 정하여졌는지, 근로소득세를 원천징수하였는지, 사회보장제도에 관하여 근로자로 인정받는지 등의 사정은 사용자가 경제적으로 우월한 지위를 이용하여 임의로 정할 여지가 크기 때문에, 그러한 점들이 인정되지 않는다는 것만으로 근로자성을 쉽게 부정하여서는 안 된다( 대법원 2006. 12. 7. 선고 2004다29736 판결, 대법원 2009. 10. 29. 선고 2009다51417 판결 등 참조).

원심판결 이유에 의하면 원심은, 적법하게 채택한 증거에 의하여 인정되는 판시와 같은 제반 사정에 비추어 보면, 한기현은 피고가 시행한 한옥 별장 및 정지 신축공사에서 일당 10만 원을 지급받을 목적으로 그 작업 내용과 시간적, 장소적 측면에서 종속적인 관계로 피고에게 노무를 제공한 피고의 근로자로 봄이 상당하다고 판단하였는바, 위 법리에 비추어 원심의 위와 같은 판단은 옳고, 거기에 근로기준법상의 근로자 인정에 관한 법리를 오해한 위법이 없다. 또한 피고의 상고이유 중 원심이 인정한 사실과 다른 사실을 전제로 하여 원심판결을 탓하는 부분은 원심의 전권인 증거취사와 사실인정을 다투는 취지와 다르지 않으므로 받아들일 수 없다.

2. 상고이유 제2점에 대하여

근로기준법상의 요양보상에 대하여는 사용자는 특단의 사정이 없는 한 그 전액을 지급할 의무가 있는 것이고 근로자에게 과실이 있다고 하더라도 그 비율에 상당한 금액의 지급을 면할 수는 없다( 대법원 1981. 10. 13. 선고 81다카351 전원합의체 판결, 대법원 2008. 11. 27. 선고 2008다40847 판결 등 참조).

같은 취지에서 원심이, 한기현 본인의 과실만큼 피고의 책임이 제한되어야 한다는 피고의 주장을 배척한 것은 정당하고, 거기에 상고이유 주장과 같은 요양보상과 과실상계에 관한 법리오해의 위법이 없다.

3. 결론

그러므로 상고를 기각하고 상고비용은 패소자가 부담하기로 하여 관여 대법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 안대희(재판장) 박시환 차한성 신영철(주심)

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2002가합770 · 광주지법 순천지원 2003-07-04
Objection to Distribution
#2
2010두5479 · 대법원 2010-07-22
체당금지급대상부적격처분취소
#3
2010누1995 · 광주고등법원 0001-01-01
체당금 반환처분 등 취소
#4
2004나7857 · 대전지방법원 2005-02-04
Objection to Distribution
#5
2008다13623 · 대법원 2011-01-27
Objection to Distribution

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)