Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 98다58283

Claim for Indemnity (구상금)구상금

Decided1999. 05. 14. Court대법원Case remanded to the lower court (파기환송) — the Supreme Court reversed the prior ruling, finding that the exemption clause had been improperly applied collectively rather than individually to each insured party.
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

When a motor vehicle insurance policy covers multiple insured parties, the exemption clause (면책조항) exempting the insurer from liability must be applied individually to each insured party rather than collectively. This same principle applies when one insured party who has already compensated a victim on behalf of another insured party later seeks reimbursement (구상금) from the insurance company. The exemption clause cannot be applied to an insured party who has no direct employment relationship with the injured worker.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA workplace vehicle accident occurred, and one insured party compensated an injured worker on behalf of another insured party, then sought reimbursement from the insurance company.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court ruled that insurance exemption clauses must be applied separately for each insured party based on their individual relationship with the victim, not as a blanket rule for all insured parties together.
  • LessonWhen multiple parties are insured under the same policy, insurers and claimants alike should assess exemption clauses on a case-by-case basis for each insured individual's specific relationship with the accident victim.
Issues
  • Whether an automobile insurance exemption clause must be applied individually when there are multiple insured parties under one policy
  • Whether the same individualized-application principle for exemption clauses extends to reimbursement claims (구상금청구) made between insured parties
Key reasoning

The exemption clause in comprehensive automobile insurance policies is designed based on the personal relationship between each specific insured party and the victim, not the insured parties as a group. Therefore, when there are multiple insured parties under a single policy, whether the exemption applies must be determined separately for each individual insured person. This same individualized analysis extends to claims for reimbursement (구상금) between insured parties: the court must assess exemption eligibility from the perspective of the specific party who bears the reimbursement obligation, not from the perspective of the insured party as a whole. Since the party seeking reimbursement had no direct employment relationship with the injured worker, the insurer's exemption clause—which typically applies to work-related injuries involving an employer-employee relationship—could not be invoked against that particular claim.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

The provision of the standard clauses of comprehensive automobile insurance (자동차종합보험보통약관) which states that "no compensation shall be paid where a person, who is an employee of the insured bearing liability for compensation and who is entitled to receive accident compensation under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법), dies or is injured in a bodily injury accident" is to be understood as prescribing the insurer's exemption from liability on the basis of the personal relationship and the compensation relationship between the insured bearing liability and the victim. Therefore, where multiple insureds bearing liability for compensation exist as a result of a single insured accident, in determining whether the above exemption clause applies, absent special circumstances, the existence of the personal relationship, which is the requirement for application of the exemption clause, must be examined separately for each insured, and the insurer's exemption from liability must be determined accordingly, even if the clause does not separately provide for an individual-application provision as to each insured. This legal principle of individual application of the exemption clause also applies where the insured accident arises from a joint tort committed by multiple insureds, and where, after one of the insureds (A) has, by his own disbursement, discharged another insured (B) from liability, A directly claims indemnity against the insurer by exercising the right of indemnity for B's share of the liability. In such a case, the existence of the personal relationship, which is the requirement for application of the exemption clause, must be examined based on the person who bears the obligation to pay the indemnity that gives rise to the insurance claim, and the insurer's exemption from liability must be determined accordingly. Accordingly, the insurer cannot assert the exemption clause applicable to insured A as a defense against the claim for indemnity concerning the portion of liability borne by insured B.

Full text (English, AI translation) 8,004 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellant] Hyundai Marine & Fire Insurance Co., Ltd. (Attorneys Jang Han-gak and 1 other, Counsel for the plaintiff)

[Defendant, Appellee] Non-appealing Co-Defendant of the lower court 3 (Attorney Lim Sun-cheol, Counsel for the defendant)

[Judgment Below] Seoul District Court Decision 98Na24685 rendered October 23, 1998

[Order]

The judgment below is reversed, and the case is remanded to the Panel Division of the Seoul District Court.

[Reasoning]

The grounds of appeal are examined.

1. Summary of the Judgment of the Court of First Instance

According to the reasoning of the judgment of the court of first instance as cited by the court below, the court of first instance found the following facts: On May 20, 1994, the Plaintiff entered into an employer's liability insurance contract for industrial accident compensation (근로자재해보장책임보험) with non-party Hanyoung Comprehensive Construction Co., Ltd. (hereinafter "Hanyoung Construction"), under which the Plaintiff agreed to compensate for losses borne by Hanyoung Construction arising from occupational accidents suffered by Hanyoung Construction's employees at the urban railway construction site being constructed by Hanyoung Construction; Hanyoung Construction leased the crane at issue in this case, together with the operator, Co-Defendant of the lower court 1, who was an employee of Co-Defendant of the lower court Shinyang Heavy Equipment Co., Ltd. (hereinafter "Shinyang Heavy Equipment"), the named insured under a comprehensive automobile insurance policy covering the crane at issue as the insured vehicle, and used the crane while under such lease; on October 4, 1994, due to the concurrence of the negligence of Co-Defendant of the lower court 1, an employee of Shinyang Heavy Equipment, and the negligence of non-parties 1 and 2, employees of Hanyoung Construction, an accident occurred in which non-party 3, an employee of Hanyoung Construction, sustained injuries; the Plaintiff, as the insurer under the aforementioned employer's liability insurance for industrial accident compensation, subrogating Hanyoung Construction, paid and settled with non-party 3 the amount of KRW 20,000,000 for lost income damages and consolation money, after deducting the disability benefits paid under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법); and Article 10, Paragraph 2, Item 4 of the terms and conditions of the comprehensive automobile insurance policy at issue provides that "no compensation shall be paid where a person who is an employee of the insured bearing liability for compensation and who is entitled to receive accident compensation under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법) dies or is injured." Based on these findings, the court of first instance rejected the Plaintiff's argument—that Shinyang Heavy Equipment, the employer of Co-Defendant of the lower court 1, and Hanyoung Construction, the employer of non-parties 1 and 2, were jointly liable as joint tortfeasors to non-party 3 for the accident, and that since the Plaintiff, subrogating Hanyoung Construction, paid non-party 3 the damages arising from the accident, the Plaintiff could, by way of insurer subrogation, exercise a right of indemnity against Shinyang Heavy Equipment, which likewise bore fault liability for the accident, for the portion of the jointly discharged damages attributable to Shinyang Heavy Equipment's share, and that the Defendant, as Shinyang Heavy Equipment's insurer, was obligated to pay the Plaintiff such indemnity—on the ground that Hanyoung Construction, having leased and used the crane from Shinyang Heavy Equipment, the named insured, constituted a consenting insured (승낙피보험자), and that the victim, non-party 3, fell under the category of "an employee of the insured who is entitled to receive accident compensation under the Labor Standards Act" under the terms of the comprehensive automobile insurance policy, such that the above exemption clause applied.

2. Determination

The clause in the general terms and conditions of comprehensive automobile insurance providing that "no compensation shall be paid where a person who is an employee of the insured bearing liability for compensation and who is entitled to receive accident compensation under the Labor Standards Act dies or is injured due to a bodily injury accident" is to be construed as prescribing the insurer's exemption from liability based on the personal relationship and compensation relationship existing between the insured bearing liability for compensation and the victim. Accordingly, where a single insured event gives rise to liability on the part of multiple insureds, in determining whether the above exemption clause applies, absent special circumstances, the existence of the personal relationship that constitutes the requirement for application of the exemption clause must be determined separately as to each insured, and the insurer's exemption from liability must be determined accordingly, even if the terms and conditions do not separately provide for individual application of the exemption clause as to each insured (see Supreme Court Decision 87Da2276 delivered on June 14, 1988; Supreme Court en banc Decision 97Da19403 delivered on April 23, 1998, etc.). This legal principle of individual application of the exemption clause also applies in cases where the insured event arose from the joint tort of multiple insureds, and where, after one insured (A) discharges another insured (B) from liability through A's own disbursement, A directly claims indemnity against the insurer for the portion of B's liability by way of exercising A's right of indemnity against B. In such a case, the existence of the personal relationship, which is the requirement for application of the exemption clause, must be determined by reference to the person who bears the obligation to pay the indemnity giving rise to the insurance claim, and the insurer's exemption from liability must be determined accordingly. Therefore, the insurer may not assert its exemption, based on the exemption clause applicable to insured A, against a claim for indemnity concerning the portion of liability borne by insured B.

In the present case, if the facts are as found by the court of first instance, then, although a personal relationship as prescribed under Article 10, Paragraph 2, Item 4 of the aforementioned terms and conditions existed between the victim non-party 3 and the consenting insured Hanyoung Construction, no such personal relationship existed between non-party 3 and Shinyang Heavy Equipment, the named insured who is the party obligated to pay indemnity; accordingly, no ground for exemption under the same item exists as to Shinyang Heavy Equipment vis-à-vis the Defendant. Therefore, with respect to the claim seeking payment from the Defendant of the indemnity corresponding to Shinyang Heavy Equipment's share of liability, asserting the application of the above exemption clause based on the personal relationship existing between non-party 3 and Hanyoung Construction contravenes the principle of individual application of the exemption clause and cannot be permitted.

Nevertheless, the court below, in upholding the judgment of the court of first instance which dismissed the Plaintiff's claim seeking payment from the Defendant of the indemnity corresponding to Shinyang Heavy Equipment's share of liability on the ground of the exemption clause based on the personal relationship between non-party 3 and Hanyoung Construction, erred by misapprehending the legal principle concerning the individual application of the exemption clause, and such error affected the conclusion of the judgment.

3. Accordingly, the judgment below is reversed, and the case is remanded to the court below for further hearing and determination, all Justices concurring in this opinion, and it is so decided as set forth in the Order.

Justice Cho Mu-je (Presiding Justice), Jeong Gwi-ho, Kim Hyeong-seon (Justice in charge), Lee Yong-hun

【판결요지】

자동차종합보험보통약관상의 "배상책임의무가 있는 피보험자의 피용자로서 근로기준법에 의한 재해보상을 받을 수 있는 사람이 대인사고로 죽거나 다친 경우에는 보상을 하지 아니한다."는 약관조항은 배상책임 있는 피보험자와 피해자 사이의 인적관계와 보상관계를 근거로 보험자의 면책을 규정한 것이라 할 것이므로 하나의 보험사고로 인하여 배상책임을 지는 피보험자가 복수로 존재하는 경우에 위 면책조항의 적용 여부를 판단함에 있어서는 특별한 사정이 없는 한 그 약관에 피보험자 개별적용조항을 별도로 규정하고 있지 않더라도 각 피보험자별로 면책조항의 적용요건인 인적관계의 유무를 가려 보험자의 면책 여부를 결정하여야 하며, 이러한 면책조항 개별적용의 법리는 그 보험사고가 복수의 피보험자들의 공동불법행위로 인하여 발생한 경우에 피보험자 중 1인(갑)의 출연에 의하여 다른 피보험자(을)를 면책시킨 다음 갑이 을의 부담 부분에 대한 구상권 행사로서 직접 보험자에 대하여 구상금청구를 하는 경우에도 적용되는 것으로서, 이러한 경우에 면책조항의 적용요건인 인적관계의 유무는 보험금 청구의 원인이 된 구상금지급의무자를 기준으로 가려본 다음 그에 따라 보험자의 면책 여부를 판단하여야 할 것이므로, 보험자는 피보험자 갑에 대한 면책조항을 들어 피보험자 을의 책임 부분에 관한 구상금청구에 대하여 그 면책을 주장할 수 없다.

【참조조문】

민법 제105조, 제760조, 상법 제659조, 제726조의2

【참조판례】

대법원 1988. 6. 14. 선고 87다카2276 판결(공1988, 1023), 대법원 1996. 5. 14. 선고 96다4305 판결(공1996하, 1855), 대법원 1998. 4. 23. 선고 97다19403 전원합의체 판결(공1998상, 1349)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 2,663자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 상고인】 현대해상화재보험 주식회사 (소송대리인 변호사 장한각 외 1인)

【피고, 피상고인】 원심 공동피고 3 (소송대리인 변호사 임순철)

【원심판결】 서울지법 1998. 10. 23. 선고 98나24685 판결

【주 문】

원심판결을 파기하고 사건을 서울지방법원 본원 합의부에 환송한다.

【이 유】 상고이유를 판단한다.

1. 제1심판결의 요지

원심이 인용한 제1심판결 이유에 의하면, 제1심은, 원고는 소외 한영종합건설 주식회사(이하 한영종건이라 한다)와 사이에 1994. 5. 20. 한영종건이 시공하는 도시철도 공사현장에서 한영종건의 근로자에게 생긴 업무상의 재해로 인하여 한영종건이 부담하는 손해를 보상하기로 하는 내용의 근로자재해보장책임보험을 체결한 사실, 한영종건은 이 사건 기중기를 피보험자동차로 한 업무용자동차종합보험계약의 기명피보험자인 원심 공동피고 신양중기 주식회사(이하 신양중기라 한다)로부터 이 사건 기중기를 그 소속 운전기사인 원심 공동피고 1과 함께 임차하여 사용하던 중, 1994. 10. 4. 신양중기의 피용자인 원심 공동피고 1의 과실과 한영종건의 피용자인 소외 1, 소외 2의 과실이 경합하여 발생한 사고로 인하여 한영종건의 피용자인 소외 3이 상해를 입었는데, 위 근로자재해보장책임보험의 보험자인 원고가 한영종건을 대위하여 소외 3에게 산업재해보상보험에 따라 지급된 장해급여를 공제한 나머지 일실수입 손해 및 위자료로 금 20,000,000원을 지급하고 합의한 사실, 이 사건 자동차종합보험의 약관 제10조 제2항 제4호에 "배상책임의무가 있는 피보험자의 피용자로서 근로기준법에 의한 재해보상을 받을 수 있는 사람이 죽거나 다친 경우에는 보상하지 아니한다."고 규정하고 있는 사실을 인정한 다음, 원심 공동피고 1의 사용자인 신양중기와 소외 1, 소외 2의 사용자인 한영종건은 이 사건 사고에 대하여 공동불법행위자로서 소외 3에게 각자 손해를 배상해 줄 책임이 있는데, 원고가 한영종건을 대위하여 소외 3에게 이 사건 사고로 인한 손해배상금을 지급하였으므로 보험자 대위에 따라 이 사건 사고에 대하여 위와 같은 과실책임이 있는 신양중기에 대하여 위 공동면책된 손해배상금 중 신양중기의 부담 부분에 대하여 구상권을 행사할 수 있고 신양중기의 보험자인 피고는 원고에게 위 구상금을 지급할 의무가 있다는 원고의 주장에 대하여, 기명피보험자인 신양중기로부터 이 사건 기중기를 임대받아 사용한 한영종건은 승낙피보험자에 해당하고, 피해자인 소외 3은 자동차종합보험약관상 '피보험자의 피용자로서 근로기준법에 의한 재해보상을 받을 수 있는 자'에 해당되어 위 면책약관이 적용된다는 이유로 원고의 청구를 배척하였다.

2. 판단

자동차종합보험보통약관상의 "배상책임의무가 있는 피보험자의 피용자로서 근로기준법에 의한 재해보상을 받을 수 있는 사람이 대인사고로 죽거나 다친 경우에는 보상을 하지 아니한다."는 약관조항은 배상책임 있는 피보험자와 피해자 사이의 인적관계와 보상관계를 근거로 보험자의 면책을 규정한 것이라 할 것이므로 하나의 보험사고로 인하여 배상책임을 지는 피보험자가 복수로 존재하는 경우에 위 면책조항의 적용 여부를 판단함에 있어서는 특별한 사정이 없는 한 그 약관에 피보험자 개별적용조항을 별도로 규정하고 있지 않더라도 각 피보험자별로 위 면책조항의 적용요건인 인적관계의 유무를 가려 보험자의 면책 여부를 결정할 것인바(대법원 1988. 6. 14. 선고 87다카2276 판결, 1998. 4. 23. 선고 97다19403 전원합의체 판결 등 참조), 이러한 면책조항 개별적용의 법리는 그 보험사고가 복수의 피보험자들의 공동불법행위로 인하여 발생한 경우에 피보험자 중 1인(갑)의 출연에 의하여 다른 피보험자(을)를 면책시킨 다음 갑이 을의 부담 부분에 대한 구상권 행사로서 직접 보험자에 대하여 구상금청구를 하는 경우에도 적용되는 것으로서, 이러한 경우에 면책조항의 적용요건인 인적관계의 유무는 보험금 청구의 원인이 된 구상금지급의무자를 기준으로 가려본 다음 그에 따라 보험자의 면책 여부를 판단하여야 할 것이므로, 보험자는 피보험자 갑에 대한 면책조항을 들어 피보험자 을의 책임 부분에 관한 구상금청구에 대하여 그 면책을 주장할 수 없다고 할 것이다.

이 사건의 경우 사실관계가 제1심이 확정한 바와 같다면, 피해자 소외 3은 승낙피보험자 한영종건과의 사이에는 위 약관 제10조 제2항 제4호 소정의 인적관계가 있으나 구상의무자인 기명피보험자 신양중기와의 사이에는 그와 같은 인적관계가 없어 신양중기에 대하여는 피고에게 같은 호 소정의 면책사유가 존재하지 아니하므로, 피고에게 신양중기의 부담 부분에 관한 구상금의 지급을 구하는 데 대하여 소외 3과 한영종건과의 사이에 존재하는 인적관계로 인한 위 면책조항의 적용을 주장하는 것은 면책조항의 개별적용 원칙에 어긋나는 것으로서 허용될 수 없다고 할 것이다.

그럼에도 불구하고 원심이 소외 3과 한영종건 사이의 인적관계로 인한 면책조항을 들어 피고에 대하여 신양중기의 부담 부분에 관한 구상금의 지급을 구하는 원고의 청구를 기각한 제1심판결을 유지한 조치에는 면책조항의 개별적용에 관한 법리를 오해하여 판결 결과에 영향을 미친 위법이 있다고 할 것이다.

3. 그러므로 원심판결을 파기하고 사건을 다시 심리·판단하게 하기 위하여 원심법원에 환송하기로 관여 법관들의 의견이 일치되어 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 조무제(재판장) 정귀호 김형선(주심) 이용훈

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
97다19403 · 대법원 1998-04-23
Insurance Benefits
#2
99다68027 · 대법원 2000-04-25
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
#3
2013다65901 · 대법원 2014-01-29
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
#4
2005가합138 · 춘천지법 2005-09-16
채무부존재확인·보험금청구
#5
2000다19021 · 대법원 2000-09-29
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)