Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 98두2201

Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivor Benefits and Funeral Expenses (유족급여및장의비부지급처분취소)유족급여및장의비부지급처분취소

Decided1999. 02. 24. Court대법원Case reversed and remanded (파기환송) — the Supreme Court sided with the worker's family, finding that the lower court erred in denying survivor benefits based solely on formal business registration status.
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

This Supreme Court (대법원) ruling addressed a case where a worker, though formally registered as a business owner (사업주), was in fact working in a subordinate employment relationship with another party. The Court held that such a worker qualifies as an 'employee' under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) and is therefore entitled to industrial accident insurance benefits, including survivor benefits (유족급여) and funeral expenses (장의비). Because the lower court had wrongly focused on the formal business registration rather than the actual working relationship, the Supreme Court reversed and remanded the case (파기환송).

Key takeaways
  • CaseA worker who was formally registered as a business owner died, and his survivors sought industrial accident survivor benefits and funeral expenses, which were denied.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court ruled that if the worker was actually in a subordinate employment relationship despite the formal registration, he qualifies as an employee entitled to industrial accident insurance benefits.
  • LessonEligibility for workers' compensation should be based on the real, substantive nature of the working relationship, not merely on formal titles or registrations submitted to government agencies.
Issues
  • The standard for determining who qualifies as an 'employee' eligible for benefits under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법)
  • The relationship between formal business owner registration and the actual substantive employment relationship in determining insurance eligibility
Key reasoning

The Court reasoned that the term 'employee (근로자)' under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act must be interpreted consistently with its meaning under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법). This means the determination should focus on whether the person actually provided labor in a subordinate relationship for the purpose of earning wages, regardless of formal titles or registrations. The Court emphasized that eligibility for insurance benefits should be based on the substantive employment relationship with the actual employer, not merely on what was reported to the Korea Workers' Compensation & Welfare Service (근로복지공단). Since the lower court had relied on the formal registration as a business owner without properly examining the real nature of the working relationship, its judgment was found to be legally flawed.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

[1] The Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) contains no separate provision other than defining an "employee" eligible to receive insurance benefits under the Act as an "employee under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법)"; accordingly, whether a person qualifies as an employee eligible for insurance benefits is determined solely by whether that person falls under the category of "employee under the Labor Standards Act," and this determination must be made in substance according to whether the person provided labor to an employer in a subordinate relationship for the purpose of receiving wages in a business or workplace. Therefore, this determination is made not based on the relationship between the person and the Korea Workers' Compensation & Welfare Service, but based on the relationship with the employer who is the counterpart in the labor relationship.

[2] Articles 5, 7, and 10 of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) provide that, except in exceptional cases prescribed by Presidential Decree, the business owner of every business is automatically deemed a person subject to industrial accident compensation insurance, and that the industrial accident compensation insurance relationship comes into existence on the date the business commences or on the date the business owner becomes subject to mandatory enrollment. In such cases, it is reasonable to view that the parties to the insurance relationship, such as the insured person, or any change thereto, are determined not according to the content of the report made to the Korea Workers' Compensation & Welfare Service, but according to the substance of the relevant facts, regardless of such report.

Full text (English, AI translation) 7,020 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellant] Plaintiff
[Defendant, Appellee] Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service
[Judgment Below] Busan High Court Decision 97Gu4982 delivered on December 11, 1997

[Order]

The judgment below is reversed, and the case is remanded to the Busan High Court.

[Reasoning]

We examine the grounds of appeal.

According to the reasoning of the judgment below, the court below found the following facts: Nonparty 1 established and operated ○○○○ Industrial Co. (it appears that "○△○○ Industrial Co." in the judgment below is a clerical error) on March 15, 1987; when a certain stock company for whose debts he had provided joint and several guarantee went bankrupt around October 1995, in order to transfer the nominal representative of the said Industrial Co. to a third party, he obtained the consent of his cousin, the deceased Nonparty 2, who had been engaged in forklift operation and production work at the said Industrial Co. since June 1, 1987, and around October 1995 filed a formal report of business closure with the competent tax office, and on the 21st of the same month registered the business again with the same location and trade name but with only the representative changed to the said deceased; thereafter, he filed with the Defendant the 1995 final insurance premium report and the 1996 estimated insurance premium report, listing the said deceased as the reporting person (business owner). However, the said Industrial Co. was in fact still operated by the said Nonparty 1, and the said deceased continued to engage mainly in forklift operation and production work in accordance with the direction and orders of the said Nonparty 1. The court below further found that around 18:10 on April 20, 1996, while the said deceased was driving a forklift on a sloped road to unload raw materials, the forklift struck a retaining wall on the right side of the road and overturned, causing the deceased to die of a ruptured heart and ruptured liver. Based on these facts, the court below determined that although the said deceased was, internally within the said Industrial Co., merely an employee of the said Nonparty 1 who provided labor for the purpose of receiving wages, externally he was the representative and business owner of the said Industrial Co., and, in particular, in relation to the Defendant, he was clearly the business owner of the said Industrial Co. and the insured person under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance, and therefore the internal relationship of the said Industrial Co. could not be invoked to claim insurance benefits under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act on the premise that he was an employee. Accordingly, the court below held that the Defendant's decision denying payment of survivor benefits and funeral expenses claimed by the Plaintiff, the wife of the said deceased, was lawful.

The Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (hereinafter referred to as the "Industrial Accident Insurance Act") contains no other provisions besides the provision that an employee who may receive insurance benefits under the Act refers to an "employee under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법)." Therefore, whether a person is an employee eligible for insurance benefits is determined solely by whether he or she falls under the category of "employee under the Labor Standards Act," and such determination must be made, in substance, according to whether the person provided labor to an employer in a subordinate relationship for the purpose of wages in a business or workplace (see Supreme Court Decision 98Da6084 delivered on May 8, 1998). Accordingly, this determination is made not in relation to the Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service, but in relation to the employer who is the counterpart in the employment relationship. Furthermore, Articles 5, 7, and 10 of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act provide that, except in exceptional cases prescribed by Presidential Decree, the business owner of every business becomes, as a matter of course, an insured person under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance (hereinafter referred to as "Industrial Accident Insurance"), and that the industrial accident insurance relationship arises on the date the business commences or the date on which the business owner comes to fall under a business for which enrollment as an insured person is mandatory. Therefore, it is reasonable to hold that, in such cases, the parties to the insurance relationship, such as the insured person, or any change thereof, is determined not according to the content of the report made to the Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service, but according to the substance of the relevant facts, irrespective of such report.

However, according to the facts found by the court below and the record, it can be seen that ○○○○ Industrial Co. was a business whose business owner became a mandatory insured person under the Industrial Accident Insurance, since it had continuously employed 5 or more employees even before the business registration was made in the name of the said deceased; and even after the report of business closure, the business registration in the name of the said deceased, and the insurance premium reports, etc. were made, the said Industrial Co., contrary to the content of such reports, continued without interruption to be operated by the said Nonparty 1 just as before, and the said deceased provided labor to the said Nonparty 1 in a subordinate relationship for the purpose of wages from the time he joined the company until his death. Therefore, in light of the legal principles set forth above, since the deceased was an employee under the Labor Standards Act, he falls under the category of a person eligible for insurance benefits, and it cannot be said that there was any change in the insurance relationship in which the said Nonparty 1 was the insured person.

Nevertheless, the court below, while recognizing that the said deceased was in substance an employee under the Labor Standards Act, nonetheless held that, because he had been reported to the Defendant as the business owner of the said Industrial Co., he fell under the category of insured person in relation to the Defendant, and thus could not be a person eligible for insurance benefits. This constitutes an error of law that misapprehended the legal principles concerning persons eligible for industrial accident insurance benefits or insured persons of a business subject to mandatory application of industrial accident insurance, and such error affected the judgment. The ground of appeal pointing this out is well-founded.

Therefore, the judgment below is reversed, and the case is remanded to the court below. This Decision is rendered in accordance with the unanimous opinion of the Justices participating in the adjudication, as stated in the Order.

Justice Chun Kyung-song (Presiding Justice), Justice Ji Chang-kwon, Justice Shin Seong-taek (Justice in Charge), Justice Song Jin-hoon

【판결요지】

[1] 산업재해보상보험법은 같은 법상의 보험급여를 받을 수 있는 근로자에 대하여 '근로기준법상의 근로자'를 말한다고 규정하는 외에 다른 규정을 두고 있지 아니하므로 보험급여대상자인 근로자는 오로지 '근로기준법상의 근로자'에 해당하는지의 여부에 의하여 판가름나는 것이고, 그 해당 여부는 그 실질에 있어 그가 사업 또는 사업장에 임금을 목적으로 종속적인 관계에서 사용자에게 근로를 제공하였는지 여부에 따라 판단하여야 하기 때문에 그와 근로복지공단과의 관계가 아니라 근로관계의 상대방인 사용자와의 관계에서 결정되는 것이다.

[2] 산업재해보상보험법 제5조, 제7조, 제10조는 대통령령이 정하는 예외적인 경우를 제외하고는 모든 사업의 사업주는 당연히 산업재해보상보험의 보험가입자가 되고, 그 사업이 개시한 날 또는 사업주가 당연가입자가 되는 사업에 해당되게 된 날에 산업재해보상보험관계가 성립한다고 규정하고 있으므로, 이러한 경우 보험가입자 등 보험관계의 당사자 또는 그 변경은 근로복지공단에 대한 신고에 의하여 신고내용대로 결정되는 것이 아니라 신고와는 관계없이 해당 사실의 실질에 의하여 결정된다고 봄이 상당하다.

【참조조문】

[1] 산업재해보상보험법 제4조 제2호, 제5조, 근로기준법 제14조, 제15조

[2] 산업재해보상보험법 제5조, 제7조, 제10조

【참조판례】

[1] 대법원 1997. 12. 26. 선고 97누16534 판결(공1998상, 431), 대법원 1998. 5. 8. 선고 98다6084 판결(공1998상, 1599)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 2,324자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 상고인】 원고

【피고, 피상고인】 근로복지공단

【원심판결】 부산고법 1997. 12. 11. 선고 97구4982 판결

【주 문】

원심판결을 파기하고, 사건을 부산고등법원으로 환송한다.

【이 유】 상고이유를 본다.

원심판결 이유에 의하면, 원심은, 소외 1은 1987. 3. 15. ○○○○공업사(원심판결의 '○△○○공업사'는 오기로 보인다)를 설립하여 운영하여 오던 중 그가 채무를 연대보증하였던 소외 주식회사가 1995. 10.경 부도를 내게 되자 위 공업사의 대표자를 제3자로 옮겨 두기 위하여 1987. 6. 1.부터 위 공업사에서 지게차운전 및 생산직 업무에 종사해 오고 있는 사촌인 망 소외 2의 동의를 얻어 1995. 10.경 관할 세무서에 형식상 위 공업사의 폐업신고를 하고서 같은 달 21. 소재지와 상호는 동일하되 대표자만을 위 망인으로 바꾸어 다시 사업자등록을 하였고, 그 후 피고에게 위 망인을 신고인(사업주)으로 하여 95년도 확정 및 96년도 개산보험료 신고를 한 사실, 그러나 여전히 위 공업사의 경영은 실제로는 위 소외 1이 하였고 위 망인은 위 소외 1의 지휘·명령에 따라 주로 지게차운전 및 생산직 업무에 종사하여 왔는데, 위 망인이 1996. 4. 20. 18:10경 원료의 하차작업을 위하여 경사길에서 지게차를 운전하다가 지게차가 도로 우측 옹벽에 부딪치며 전복되는 바람에 심장파열 및 간파열로 사망한 사실 등을 인정하고, 위 망인은 사망 당시 위 공업사 내부에서는 위 소외 1의 피용자로서 임금을 목적으로 노무를 제공한 근로자에 불과하였다고 할 것이나, 대외적으로는 위 공업사의 대표자인 사업주로서 특히 피고에 대한 관계에서는 위 공업사의 사업주로서 산업재해보상보험의 보험가입자임이 분명하므로 위 공업사의 내부관계를 들어 근로자임을 전제로 산업재해보상보험법상의 보험급여의 지급을 청구할 수 없다고 하여, 위 망인의 처인 원고의 유족급여 및 장의비 지급청구에 대한 피고의 부지급결정은 적법하다고 판단하였다.

산업재해보상보험법(이하 '산재보험법'이라고 한다)은 산재보험법상의 보험급여를 받을 수 있는 근로자에 대하여 '근로기준법상의 근로자'를 말한다고 규정하는 외에 다른 규정을 두고 있지 아니하므로 보험급여대상자인 근로자는 오로지 '근로기준법상의 근로자'에 해당하는지의 여부에 의하여 판가름나는 것이고, 그 해당 여부는 그 실질에 있어 그가 사업 또는 사업장에 임금을 목적으로 종속적인 관계에서 사용자에게 근로를 제공하였는지 여부에 따라 판단하여야 하기 때문에(대법원 1998. 5. 8. 선고 98다6084 판결 참조) 그와 근로복지공단과의 관계가 아니라 근로관계의 상대방인 사용자와의 관계에서 결정되는 것이다. 그리고 산재보험법 제5조, 제7조, 제10조는 대통령령이 정하는 예외적인 경우를 제외하고는 모든 사업의 사업주는 당연히 산업재해보상보험(이하 '산재보험'이라고 한다)의 보험가입자가 되고, 그 사업이 개시한 날 또는 사업주가 당연가입자가 되는 사업에 해당되게 된 날에 산재보험관계가 성립한다고 규정하고 있으므로, 이러한 경우 보험가입자 등 보험관계의 당사자 또는 그 변경은 근로복지공단에 대한 신고에 의하여 신고내용대로 결정되는 것이 아니라 신고와는 관계없이 해당 사실의 실질에 의하여 결정된다고 봄이 상당하다.

그런데 원심의 인정 사실과 기록에 의하면 ○○○○공업사는 위 망인명의로 사업자등록이 되기 전부터 사용하고 있는 근로자의 수가 상시 5인 이상으로서 그 사업주는 산재보험의 당연가입자가 되는 사업임을 알 수 있고, 폐업신고와 위 망인 명의의 사업자등록 및 보험료신고 등이 이루어진 다음에도 그와 같은 신고내용과는 달리 위 공업사는 중단 없이 종전과 동일하게 위 소외 1에 의하여 경영되어 왔으며 위 망인은 입사시부터 사망시까지 임금을 목적으로 종속적인 관계에서 위 소외 1에게 근로를 제공하여 왔다는 것이므로, 위의 법리에 비추어 보면 망인은 근로기준법상의 근로자인 이상 보험급여대상자에 해당하는 것이고, 위 소외 1을 보험가입자로 하는 보험관계에 변동이 있었다고 할 수도 없다.

그럼에도 불구하고 원심이 위 망인은 실질적으로 근로기준법상의 근로자라고 인정하면서도 피고에게 위 공업사의 사업주라고 신고된 사정을 들어 피고에 대한 관계에서는 보험가입자에 해당한다고 하여 보험급여 대상자가 될 수 없다고 하고 말았으니, 여기에는 산재보험의 보험급여 대상자 혹은 산재보험 당연적용사업의 보험가입자에 관한 법리를 오해하여 판결에 영향을 미친 위법이 있다고 할 것이고, 이를 지적하는 상고이유의 주장은 이유 있다.

그러므로 원심판결을 파기하고, 사건을 원심법원에 환송하기로 하여 관여 법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 천경송(재판장) 지창권 신성택(주심) 송진훈

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
97구4982 · 부산고법 1997-12-11
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits and Fu
#2
2010구합24944 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits and Fu
#3
2014구합51012 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
유족급여및장의비청구부지급처분취소
#4
2017구단100088 · 대전지방법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits and Fu
#5
2019구합5144 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits and Fu

Cases citing this decision

2019두50168 · 대법원 2019-11-28
요양승인처분취소
2009두1440 · 대법원 2009-08-20
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
2006다27093 · 대법원 2008-05-15
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
2004나9096 · 서울남부지법 2005-09-22
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
2003두13823 · 대법원 2004-02-26
보험료등부과처분취소

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)