Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 97누13573

Action to Revoke Disapproval of Reapplication for Medical Care Benefits요양불승인처분취소

Decided1997. 11. 14. Court대법원Employer (insurer) won
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

A broadcasting station reporter received workers' compensation medical care benefits (요양) for a transient cerebral ischemic attack, but was later diagnosed with a malignant brain tumor and applied for further medical care benefits (재요양). The Supreme Court held that because no reasonable medical causation (의학상 상당인과관계) existed between the originally recognized condition and the newly diagnosed brain tumor, the insurer's disapproval of the reapplication was lawful. The decision established the legal principle that approval of further medical care requires both reasonable medical causation with the original occupational injury and a reasonable expectation of therapeutic benefit from continued treatment.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA reporter who had received workers' compensation treatment for a transient cerebral ischemic attack was later diagnosed with a malignant brain tumor and applied for additional medical care benefits.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court upheld the insurer's disapproval, finding no reasonable medical causation between the original condition and the newly diagnosed brain tumor.
  • LessonClaimants seeking further medical care benefits must establish a genuine, medically supported causal link between the original occupational injury and any new condition, not merely a temporal connection.
Issues
  • The requirements for approval of further medical care benefits (재요양) and the meaning and required degree of proof for 'reasonable medical causation' (의학상 상당인과관계)
  • Whether reasonable medical causation exists between a transient cerebral ischemic attack and a subsequently diagnosed malignant brain tumor (glioblastoma multiforme)
Key reasoning

To qualify for further medical care benefits (재요양), a claimant must demonstrate reasonable medical causation between the originally approved occupational injury or illness and the newly claimed condition. The Court found it medically implausible that the earlier transient cerebral ischemia could have caused the subsequently diagnosed malignant brain tumor (glioblastoma multiforme, 다형성 교모종). The Court also found insufficient evidence that the initial onset of the brain tumor itself was work-related. Because no reasonable medical causal link could be established between the two conditions, the requirements for reapproval of medical care were not met, and the disapproval decision was upheld as lawful.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

[1] Whether a disposition disapproving re-treatment (재요양불승인처분) is lawful must be determined according to whether it conforms to the purport of Article 40 of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법). Re-treatment (재요양) is treatment carried out, after the initial treatment has once been concluded, for a recurrence of the injury or disease in question or for complications arising from that injury or disease, and apart from this point it is not different in nature from the initial treatment. Accordingly, the requirements for re-treatment are no different from the requirements for treatment, except for the point that it is treatment carried out after the treatment has been concluded. Therefore, in addition to the requirements for treatment, it suffices for the requirements of re-treatment that there is a medically substantial causal relationship recognized between the original injury or disease and the injury or disease for which re-treatment is sought, and that there is a medical opinion that, compared to the condition of the injury or disease at the time the initial treatment was concluded or at the time disability benefits were paid, the symptoms have worsened such that therapeutic effect can be expected from re-treatment. Here, a "medically substantial causal relationship" means that, from a medical standpoint, the initial injury or disease is not only in a conditional relationship with the injury or disease for which treatment is sought, but is also, according to the rules of experience, in a relationship of being a relatively predominant cause thereof. As for the method and degree of proof, it need not necessarily be clearly proven medically and scientifically by direct evidence; it suffices if a certain probability can be inferred from indirect facts.

[2] In a case where a broadcasting station reporter, who had received a first course of treatment for one month for transient cerebral ischemia, was diagnosed, after that treatment was concluded, with glioblastoma multiforme—the most malignant type of brain tumor—and applied for re-treatment, the court held as follows: considering that, in the case of glioblastoma multiforme, even with various treatments a patient generally survives only about six months to one year from the time of diagnosis, it is difficult to view the brain tumor as having developed due to the original accident, namely the transient cerebral ischemia; and even if the transient cerebral ischemia was caused by the brain tumor that had already developed, it is difficult to find that the initial onset of the brain tumor had a causal relationship with the reporter's work. Accordingly, the court held that no medically substantial causal relationship was recognized between the injury or disease for which re-treatment was sought and the original injury or disease.

Full text (English, AI translation) 5,729 chars

[Plaintiffs, Appellants]

[Defendant, Appellee] Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service (근로복지공단)
[Judgment Below] Daegu High Court Decision 96Gu3204, decided July 25, 1997

[Order]

The appeal is dismissed. The costs of the appeal shall be borne by the Plaintiffs.

[Reasoning]

Grounds of Appeal Nos. 1, 2, and 3 are examined together.

Whether a disposition denying re-treatment (재요양불승인처분) is lawful must be determined according to whether it conforms to the purpose of Article 40 of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) (wholly amended by Act No. 4826 on December 22, 1994). Since re-treatment is, apart from the fact that it is treatment provided for the recurrence of the relevant injury or disease, or for a complication caused by the relevant injury or disease, after the initial treatment has once been concluded, no different in nature from the initial treatment, the requirements for re-treatment are no different from the requirements for treatment, except for the fact that it is treatment carried out after the treatment has been concluded. Accordingly, in addition to the requirements for treatment, it suffices for re-treatment that there be a medically probable causal relationship (의학상 상당인과관계) recognized between the original injury or disease and the injury or disease for which re-treatment is applied for, and that there be a medical opinion that, compared to the condition of the injury or disease at the time treatment was concluded or at the time disability benefits were paid, the symptoms have worsened such that a therapeutic effect can be expected from re-treatment. Here, "medically probable causal relationship" means that, from a medical standpoint, the original injury or disease not only stands in a conditional relationship to the injury or disease for which treatment is applied for, but is also, according to the rules of experience, a relatively predominant cause thereof. As for the method and degree of proof, it need not necessarily be clearly proven medically and scientifically by direct evidence; it suffices if it is proven to the extent that a certain probability can be inferred from indirect facts (see Supreme Court Decision 96Nu18755, decided March 28, 1997).

According to the reasoning of the judgment below, the court below found, based on the evidence cited, the following facts: the deceased, while working as a broadcasting station reporter, lost consciousness and collapsed at around 21:30 on January 16, 1995, after conducting the evening news, and upon examination was diagnosed with transient cerebral ischemia, which was recognized as an occupational accident, and he received treatment until February 18 of the same year; thereafter, the deceased resumed work but, while experiencing severe headache symptoms, was diagnosed with a right parietal brain tumor at ○○ University Hospital on May 12, 1995, and underwent tumor removal surgery and chemotherapy, but died on October 26, 1996; transient cerebral ischemia is a dysfunction of brain function caused by impaired blood flow in the cerebral vessels, which can be caused by atherothrombosis of the internal carotid artery, cardiogenic embolism, hypertensive peripheral arterial changes, brain tumors, and the like, and generally the cerebral dysfunction lasts for tens of minutes before recovery, though in rare cases it may last up to 24 hours before recovery; although the precise cause of brain tumors has not yet been established, it is known that they may be caused by genetic factors, viral infection, exposure to carcinogens, and the like, but there is no report that brain tumors are caused by overwork or that transient cerebral ischemia transforms into a brain tumor due to overwork; the deceased's brain tumor is presumed to have developed in the latter half of 1994, and is glioblastoma multiforme, the most malignant tumor among currently known brain tumors, for which, even with various treatments, the ordinary survival period from diagnosis is only about six months to one year. Upon examination of the record, this fact-finding by the court below is justified, and there is no illegality of misapprehension of facts due to violation of the rules of evidence as argued in the grounds of appeal. Given these facts, it is difficult to view the brain tumor as having developed as a result of the original accident, i.e., the transient cerebral ischemia; even if the original accident of transient cerebral ischemia was caused by a brain tumor that had already developed, it is difficult to find that the initial onset of the brain tumor had a causal relationship with the deceased's work; and furthermore, in light of the fact that the brain tumor is a malignant tumor that takes life within a short period, it is difficult to find that work-related overwork and stress aggravated the already-developed brain tumor. Consequently, no medically probable causal relationship can be recognized between the injury or disease for which re-treatment was applied for and the original injury or disease constituting the occupational accident. The judgment of the court below, which is to the same effect, is acceptable, and there is no illegality therein, such as an omission of judgment affecting the outcome of the judgment or a misapprehension of the legal principles concerning causation, as argued in the grounds of appeal. All of the arguments are without merit.

Therefore, the appeal is dismissed, and the costs of the appeal are to be borne by the losing parties. This Judgment is rendered as set forth in the Order by the unanimous opinion of the Justices involved.

Justice Lee Yong-hoon (Presiding Justice), Jeong Gwi-ho, Park Jun-seo (Justice in Charge), Kim Hyeong-seon

【판결요지】

[1] 재요양불승인처분의 적법 여부는 산업재해보상보험법 제40조의 취지에 적합한 것인가 여부에 따라 판단하여야 하고, 재요양은 일단 요양이 종결된 후에는 당해 상병이 재발하거나 또는 당해 상병에 기인한 합병증에 대하여 실시하는 요양이라는 점 외에는 최초의 요양과 그 성질을 달리할 것이 아니므로, 재요양의 요건은 요양이 종결된 후에 실시하는 요양이라는 점을 제외하고는 요양의 요건과 다를 바가 없고, 따라서 재요양의 요건으로는 요양의 요건 외에 당초의 상병과 재요양 신청한 상병과 사이에 의학상 상당인과관계가 있다고 인정되고 당초의 상병의 치료종결시 또는 장해급여 지급 당시의 상병상태에 비하여 그 증상이 악화되어 재요양을 함으로써 치료효과가 기대될 수 있다는 의학적 소견이 있다는 것으로 족하고, 여기서 말하는 의학상 상당인과관계란 의학적 입장에서 볼 때 최초의 상병이 요양신청한 상병에 대하여 조건관계에 있을 뿐만 아니라 경험칙상 상대적으로 유력한 원인이 되는 관계가 있다는 뜻이고, 그 입증의 방법 및 정도는 반드시 직접증거에 의하여 의학적, 자연과학적으로 명백히 증명되어야만 하는 것은 아니고 간접사실에 의하여 일정한 개연성이 추단될 정도로 입증되면 족하다.

[2] 일과성 뇌허혈로 1개월 동안 제1차 요양을 받은 방송국 기자가 그 요양을 종결한 후 뇌종양 중 가장 악성 뇌종양인 다형성 교모종으로 진단을 받고 재요양을 신청한 경우, 다형성 교모종의 경우 여러 가지 치료를 하더라도 진단시부터 보통 6개월 내지 1년 정도밖에 생존하지 못하는 점 등을 고려하면 당초의 재해인 일과성 뇌허혈로 인하여 뇌종양이 발병하였다고 보기 어렵고, 일과성 뇌허혈이 이미 발병한 뇌종양으로 인하여 야기되었다고 할지라도 뇌종양의 최초 발병이 위 기자의 업무와 인과관계가 있다고 보기 어려워 재요양신청한 상병과 당초의 상병 사이에 의학상 상당인과관계가 인정되지 않는다고 한 사례.

【참조조문】

[1] 산업재해보상보험법 제40조, 산업재해보상보험법시행규칙 제15조

[2] 산업재해보상보험법 제40조, 산업재해보상보험법시행규칙 제15조

【참조판례】

[1] 대법원 1994. 12. 13. 선고 94누9030 판결(공1995상, 511), 대법원 1995. 9. 15. 선고 94누12326 판결(공1995하, 3418), 대법원 1997. 3. 28. 선고 96누18755 판결(공1997상, 1263)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 2,131자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고,상고인】

【피고,피상고인】 근로복지공단

【원심판결】 대구고법 1997. 7. 25. 선고 96구3204 판결

【주문】

상고를 기각한다. 상고비용은 원고들의 부담으로 한다.

【이유】 상고이유 제1, 2, 3점을 함께 본다.

재요양불승인처분의 적법 여부는 산업재해보상보험법(1994. 12. 22. 법률 제4826호로 전문 개정된 것) 제40조의 취지에 적합한 것인가 여부에 따라 판단하여야 하고, 재요양은 일단 요양이 종결된 후에는 당해 상병이 재발하거나 또는 당해 상병에 기인한 합병증에 대하여 실시하는 요양이라는 점 외에는 최초의 요양과 그 성질을 달리할 것이 아니므로, 재요양의 요건은 요양이 종결된 후에 실시하는 요양이라는 점을 제외하고는 요양의 요건과 다를 바가 없고, 따라서 재요양의 요건으로는 요양의 요건 외에 당초의 상병과 재요양 신청한 상병과 사이에 의학상 상당인과관계가 있다고 인정되고 당초의 상병의 치료종결시 또는 장해급여 지급 당시의 상병상태에 비하여 그 증상이 악화되어 재요양을 함으로써 치료효과가 기대될 수 있다는 의학적 소견이 있다는 것으로 족하고, 여기서 말하는 의학상 상당인과관계란 의학적 입장에서 볼 때 최초의 상병이 요양신청한 상병에 대하여 조건관계에 있을 뿐만 아니라 경험칙상 상대적으로 유력한 원인이 되는 관계가 있다는 뜻이고, 그 입증의 방법 및 정도는 반드시 직접증거에 의하여 의학적, 자연과학적으로 명백히 증명되어야만 하는 것은 아니고 간접사실에 의하여 일정한 개연성이 추단될 정도로 입증되면 족하다 ( 대법원 1997. 3. 28. 선고 96누18755 판결 참조).

원심판결의 이유에 의하면, 원심은 거시 증거에 의하여, 망인은 방송국 기자로 근무하던 중 1995. 1. 16. 21:30경 저녁뉴스를 진행한 후 의식을 잃고 쓰러져 진찰을 받은 결과 일과성 뇌허혈로 밝혀져 업무상 재해로 인정받고 같은 해 2. 18.까지 요양을 받은 사실, 그 후 망인은 근무를 시작하였으나 심한 두통증세를 느끼던 차에 1995. 5. 12. ○○대학교병원에서 우측 두정부 뇌종양으로 진단을 받고 종양제거수술 및 항암치료를 받았으나 1996. 10. 26. 사망한 사실, 일과성 뇌허혈은 뇌혈관의 혈류장애로 일어나는 뇌기능의 장애로서 내경동맥의 죽상혈전증, 심장성색전증, 고혈압성말초동맥변화 및 뇌종양 등에 의하여 야기될 수 있으며 일반적으로 뇌기능장애가 수십분간 지속된 후 회복되며 드물게는 뇌기능장애가 24시간까지 계속되다가 회복되는 수도 있는 사실, 뇌종양은 아직 정확한 발병원인이 밝혀지지 아니하였으나, 유전적 인자, 바이러스 감염, 발암물질에 노출되는 경우 등에 의하여 발생할 수 있다고 알려져 있을 뿐 과로에 의하여 뇌종양이 발병한다거나 일과성 뇌허혈이 과로에 의하여 뇌종양으로 전이된다는 보고는 없는 사실, 망인의 뇌종양은 1994년 후반기에 발병한 것으로 추정되는데 현재까지 알려진 뇌종양 중 가장 악성 종양인 다형성 교모종인데 이 질병의 경우 여러 가지 치료를 하더라도 진단시부터 보통 6개월 내지 1년 정도밖에 생존하지 못하는 사실을 인정하였는바, 기록에 의하면 원심의 이러한 사실인정은 정당하고, 거기에 소론과 같은 채증법칙의 위배로 인한 사실오인의 위법이 있다고 할 수 없고, 사실관계가 이와 같다면, 당초의 재해인 일과성 뇌허혈로 인하여 뇌종양이 발병하였다고 보기 어렵고, 당초의 재해인 일과성 뇌허혈이 이미 발병한 뇌종양으로 인하여 야기되었다고 할지라도 뇌종양의 최초 발병이 위 망인의 업무와 인과관계가 있다고 보기 어려우며, 또한 위 뇌종양이 단기간 내에 생명을 빼앗아가는 악성 종양인 점에 비추어 볼 때 업무로 인한 과로와 스트레스가 이미 발병되어 있는 뇌종양을 악화시켰다고 보기도 어려우므로 결국 재요양신청한 상병과 업무상 재해에 해당하는 당초의 상병 사이에 의학상 상당인과관계가 인정되지 않는다고 할 것인바, 같은 취지의 원심 판단은 수긍이 가고 거기에 소론과 같은 판결 결과에 영향을 미친 판단유탈이나 인과관계에 관한 법리오인의 위법이 있다고 할 수 없다. 논지는 모두 이유 없다.

그러므로 상고를 기각하고 상고비용은 패소자들의 부담으로 하기로 하여 관여 법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 이용훈(재판장) 정귀호 박준서(주심) 김형선

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2009구단2843 · 부산지방법원 0001-01-01
최초요양승인취소등처분취소
#2
2022구단19245 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
#3
2008구단5974 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
#4
2021구단78063 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
#5
2013구단1914 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits

Cases citing this decision

2003구합506 · 광주지법 2004-05-13
재요양불승인처분취소
2002두1762 · 대법원 2002-04-26
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
2000두5050 · 대법원 2002-04-26
재요양불승인처분취소
2001구3139 · 울산지법 2002-02-06
Revocation of Disposition Denying Correction of Average Wage
98두8773 · 대법원 1998-12-22
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)