Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 90다11776

Claim for Damages (Industrial Accident) Case손해배상(산)

Decided1991. 07. 23. Court대법원Worker won
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

This case addressed a worker who received industrial accident insurance benefits (산재보험급여) that exceeded the amount of 'passive damages' (소극적 손해, i.e., lost income) recognized by the court in a related civil lawsuit. The Supreme Court ruled that this excess amount could not be deducted from a separate category of damages called 'active damages' (적극적 손해, such as medical expenses), because the two types of compensation are of a different nature. As a result, the worker was entitled to receive full compensation for active damages in addition to the insurance benefits already received.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA worker injured in an industrial accident received insurance benefits that exceeded the court-recognized amount for lost income (passive damages).
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court held that this excess could not be deducted from separate compensation for medical expenses and other active damages, since the two loss categories are legally distinct.
  • LessonWorkers should know that industrial accident insurance benefits only offset civil damages of the same type—excess benefits for one category (e.g., lost wages) do not reduce an employer's liability for other types of losses (e.g., medical costs).
Issues
  • What does the term 'same cause' (동일한 사유) mean under Article 11(2) of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act?
  • Can an excess amount of insurance benefits paid for one type of damage be deducted from compensation owed for a different type of damage?
Key reasoning

Under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법), the phrase 'same cause' (동일한 사유) in Article 11(2) means that insurance benefits and civil damages can only offset each other when they compensate for the same type of loss. Passive damages (lost future income) and active damages (actual expenses like medical costs) are legally distinct categories of loss. Therefore, even if insurance benefits paid for passive damages exceed the passive damages amount recognized by the court, this surplus cannot be used to reduce the employer's liability for active damages, since they are not the 'same' type of loss under the statute.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

The term "the same cause" as stipulated in Article 11(2) of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) refers to a case where the loss subject to insurance benefits and the loss subject to civil damages are of the same nature, such that the insurance benefits and the damages are in a mutually complementary relationship. Therefore, even if the temporary disability compensation benefits and the disability compensation benefits received as insurance money by the victim exceed the amount of passive damages recognized by the court, the excess portion should not be deducted in calculating the amount of compensation for active damages, which are of a different nature.

Full text (English, AI translation) 3,608 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellee] Plaintiff's Attorney Lee Gap-yeol
[Defendant, Appellant] Korea Heavy Industries Co., Ltd. (한국중공업주식회사), Attorney Cho Tae-yeon and 2 others of Joongang International Law & Patent Firm (법무법인 중앙국제법률특허사무소), acting as counsel
[Judgment Below] Seoul High Court Judgment of September 13, 1990, Case No. 90Na19871

[Order]

The appeal is dismissed.
The costs of the appeal shall be borne by the Defendant.

[Reasoning]

According to the reasoning of the judgment below, the court below found that the amount of damages suffered by the Plaintiff as a result of this accident consisted of lost earnings of 28,897,664 won, future medical expenses of 1,500,000 won, and attendance/care expenses of 43,363,861 won, and divided these into passive damages (소극적 손해) and active damages (적극적 손해). The court below then assessed the Plaintiff's degree of contributory negligence at 40 percent and, after offsetting for comparative negligence, found that the amount to be compensated by the tortfeasor was 17,338,598 won for passive damages and 26,918,316 won for active damages. Meanwhile, the court below found that the amounts the Plaintiff had received as insurance benefits under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) were 15,039,640 won in temporary disability compensation benefits, 39,042,750 won in disability compensation benefits, and 2,637,690 won in medical care benefits. The court below determined that the former two items were of a nature compensating for passive damages while the latter was of a nature compensating for active damages, and accordingly deducted each from the damages of the same nature. As a result, the court below found that, with respect to passive damages, the Plaintiff had already received 36,743,792 won more than the amount of damages, whereas with respect to active damages, the Plaintiff had not yet been compensated for 24,280,626 won of the damages, and ordered the Defendant to pay the Plaintiff the uncompensated portion of active damages in the amount of 24,280,626 won, together with consolation money of 3,000,000 won.

Upon examination, Article 11, Paragraph 2 of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) provides that where a person entitled to benefits has received insurance benefits under this Act for the same cause, the insured employer shall be exempted from liability for damages under the Civil Act (민법) or other statutes to the extent of that amount. Here, "the same cause" refers to a case where the damage that is the subject of the insurance benefit and the damage that is the subject of the civil damages claim are of the same nature, such that the insurance benefit and the damages are in a mutually complementary relationship. Therefore, even though, as found by the court below, the Plaintiff received 15,039,640 won in temporary disability compensation benefits and 39,042,750 won in disability compensation benefits as insurance benefits, resulting in the Plaintiff having been compensated 36,743,792 won more than the amount of passive damages as found by the court below, that excess portion should not be deducted in calculating the amount of compensation for active damages, which are of a different nature. The judgment of the court below is justified.

The grounds of appeal are without merit, and accordingly the appeal is dismissed, with the costs of the appeal to be borne by the losing party. The opinions of the participating Justices being unanimous, it is so decided as set forth in the Order.

Justice Kim Seok-su (Presiding Justice), Lee Hoi-chang, Lee Jae-seong, Bae Man-woon

【판결요지】

산업재해보상보험법 제11조 제2항 소정의 "동일한 사유"라고 하는 것은 보험급여의 대상이 된 손해와 민사상의 손해배상의 대상이 된 손해가 같은 성질을 띠는 것이어서 보험급여와 손해배상이 상호보완적 관계에 있는 경우를 말하므로, 피해자가 보험금으로 수령한 휴업급여금과 장해보상급여금이 법원에서 인정된 소극적 손해액을 초과하더라도 그 초과부분을 그 성질을 달리하는 적극적 손해의 배상액을 산정하는 데 있어 공제할 것이 아니다.

【참조조문】

민법 제763조, 민법 제393조, 산업재해보상보험법 제11조 제2항

【참조판례】

대법원 1971.4.20. 선고 71다372 판결, 대법원 1977.7.26. 선고 77다537 판결

【주문】·【이유】 전문 1,240자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고,피상고인】 원고 소송대리인 변호사 이갑열

【피고,상고인】 한국중공업주식회사 소송대리인 법무법인 중앙국제법률특허사무소 담당변호사 조태연 외 2인

【원심판결】 서울고등법원 1990.9.13. 선고 90나19871 판결

【주 문】

상고를 기각한다.

상고비용은 피고부담으로 한다.

【이 유】 원심판결 이유에 의하면 원심은 원고가 이 사건 사고로 입은 손해액을 일실수익금 28,897,664원 향후치료비 1,500,000원, 개호비 43,363,861원이 된다고 인정하고 그것을 소극적 손해와 적극적 손해로 양분한 다음 원고의 과실비율을 40퍼센트로 보아 과실상계를 하여 가해자가 배상하여야 할 금액을 소극적 손해금 17,338,598원, 적극적 손해금 26,918,316원이 된다고 인정하는 한편 원고가 산업재해보상보험법에 따라 보험금으로 지급받은 금액이 휴업급여금 15,039,640원, 장해보상급여금 39,042,750원 요양급여금 2,637,690원이 된다고 인정하고 그 중 전 2자는 소극적 손해를 전보하고 후자는 적극적 손해를 전보하는 성질을 가진다고 하여 성질을 같이하는 손해금에서 각기 공제하고 나서 소극적손해에서는 원고가 손해액보다 36,743,792원을 더 전보받은 결과가 되나 적극적 손해에서는 손해액보다 24,280,626원을 아직 전보받지 못하였다고 인정하여 피고에게 위 적극적 손해 미전보분 24,280,626원과 위자료 3,000,000원의 지급을 명하였다.

살펴보건대 산업재해보상보험법 제11조 제2항에 의하면 수급권자가 동일한 사유에 대하여 이 법에 의한 보험급여를 받았을 때에는 보험가입자는 그 금액의 한도 안에서 민법 기타 법령에 의한 손해배상의 책임이 면제된다고 규정하고 있는바 여기서 동일한 사유라고 하는 것은 보험급여의 대상이 된 손해와 민사상의 손해배상의 대상이 된 손해가 같은 성질을 띠는 것이어서 보험급여와 손해배상이 상호보완적 관계에 있는 경우를 말하는 것이므로 원심인정과 같이 원고가 보험금으로 휴업급여금 15,039,640원, 장해보상급여금 39,042,750원을 수령하여 원심인정의 소극적 손해액보다 36,743,792원을 더 전보받은 결과가 된다 하더라도 그 초과부분을 그 성질을 달리하는 적극적 손해의 배상액을 산정하는 데 있어 공제할 것이 아니다. 원심판단은 정당한 것이다.

상고논지는 이유없으므로 상고를 기각하고 상고비용은 패소자에게 부담시키기로 관여법관의 의견이 일치되어 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 김석수(재판장) 이회창 이재성 배만운

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
91다39603 · 대법원 1992-05-08
Damages (Industrial Accident)
#2
76나1139 · 대구고법 1977-05-03
손해배상청구사건
#3
88다카15512 · 대법원 1989-06-27
Damages (Industrial Accident)
#4
2011다64768 · 대법원 2011-11-24
Claim for Damages (Automobile Accident Liability)
#5
80다2316 · 대법원 1981-06-23
Damages

Cases citing this decision

2020다216240 · 대법원 2020-06-25
Damages (Industrial Accident)
2014두724 · 대법원 2015-01-15
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
2010다77293 · 대법원 2012-06-14
Damages (Motor Vehicle)
2004구합38164 · 서울행법 2005-05-17
유족급여조정지급처분취소
98구5933 · 서울행법 1999-01-14
휴업급여부지급처분취소

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)