Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 2021두45633

Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivor Benefits and Funeral Expenses (유족급여및장의비부지급처분취소)유족급여및장의비부지급처분취소

Decided2022. 02. 11. Court대법원Case remanded to the lower court (worker's family favored) — Supreme Court reversed the lower court's decision and sent the case back for reconsideration under the more lenient overwork-recognition standards.
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

A night-shift security guard died of a cerebral infarction, and his family sought survivor benefits (유족급여) and funeral expenses (장의비) under the industrial accident compensation system. The Supreme Court (대법원) overturned the lower court's ruling, finding that the Ministry of Employment and Labor's (고용노동부) previous notice (고시) had applied overly strict criteria for recognizing death from overwork. The Court held that the newer, more relaxed criteria issued after the disposition should also be considered when assessing whether there was a substantial causal relationship (상당인과관계) between the work and the illness.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA night-shift security guard died from a stroke (cerebral infarction), and his family's claim for survivor benefits was denied by the labor authorities based on strict overwork criteria.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court ruled that even relaxed criteria issued after the denial should be considered, and sent the case back for reassessment of whether work stress contributed to the death.
  • LessonWhen claiming industrial accident compensation for overwork-related death, workers and families should argue that even pre-existing health conditions do not bar compensation if work-related stress contributed to or worsened the illness, and should cite the most current, worker-favorable government standards available.
Issues
  • Who bears the burden of proving substantial causation (상당인과관계) for recognition of an industrial accident (업무상 재해)?
  • What criteria should apply to determine death from overwork (과로사) for a worker with a pre-existing underlying illness (기초질환)?
  • Can amended Ministry of Employment and Labor notices (고용노동부 고시), issued after the administrative disposition, be considered in judicial review?
Key reasoning

The Supreme Court held that even if the primary cause of an illness is not directly work-related, a causal relationship can still be established if work-related fatigue or stress combined with an underlying condition to trigger or worsen the illness. The focus should not be solely on the worker's pre-existing health condition, but rather on whether excessive workload caused or aggravated the disease. Additionally, the Court ruled that when determining substantial causation, courts should take into account amended government guidelines—even those issued after the administrative disposition in question—if they reflect a more scientifically accurate or relaxed standard for recognizing overwork-related deaths. This approach ensures that outdated or overly strict criteria do not unfairly deny legitimate industrial accident claims.

Full text (English, AI translation) 14,031 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellant] Plaintiff (Attorney: Law Firm Sidaero, in charge Attorney Cho Ae-jin)
[Defendant, Appellee] Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service (근로복지공단)
[Judgment Below] Busan High Court Judgment 2021. 7. 7., 2020Nu23025

[Order]

The judgment below is reversed, and the case is remanded to the Busan High Court.

[Reasoning] The grounds of appeal are examined.

1. Relevant legal principles

A. Proof of occupational accident

1) The burden of proving the substantial causal relationship between work and injury/disease required to recognize an "occupational accident" under Article 37(1) of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법, hereinafter "Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act") lies with the worker asserting the occupational accident (see Supreme Court en banc Decision 2017Du45933, decided September 9, 2021, etc.).

2) Even if the primary cause of a disease is not directly related to the performance of duties, a causal relationship exists if work-related overwork or stress at least combined with the primary cause to induce or aggravate the disease. Such causal relationship need not be clearly proven in medical or scientific terms; proof is deemed to exist where, considering all relevant circumstances, a substantial causal relationship between work and disease may be inferred. This includes cases where an underlying or pre-existing condition, which would otherwise have permitted normal work performance, was rapidly aggravated beyond its natural progression due to excessive workload or other work-related causes. In determining the existence of a causal relationship between work and disease or death, the standard should not be an ordinary average person but the worker in question (see Supreme Court Decision 2019Du62604, decided May 28, 2020, etc.).

B. Statutory provisions

1) Article 37(5) of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act provides that "specific criteria for recognizing occupational accidents shall be prescribed by Presidential Decree." Pursuant to this delegation, Article 34(3) of the Enforcement Decree of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법 시행령) and [Attached Table 3] "Specific Recognition Criteria for Occupational Diseases" list, as a recognition criterion for occupational disease in the case of "cerebrovascular disease or heart disease," "cases where chronic excessive workload, due to changes in the amount, hours, intensity, and responsibility of work and work environment, has caused a physical or mental burden clearly capable of affecting the normal function of cerebral blood vessels" [Item 1(a)3)], and delegates matters necessary for such determination to be prescribed and publicly notified by the Minister of Employment and Labor [Item 1(c)].

2) Pursuant to this delegation, the Ministry of Employment and Labor Notice "Matters Necessary for Determining Recognition of Occupational Diseases as to Cerebrovascular Disease or Heart Disease and Musculoskeletal Disease" (Ministry of Employment and Labor Notice No. 2013-32, June 28, 2013, hereinafter the "Pre-Amendment Notice") provided that whether a worker's work constitutes "chronic excessive workload" should be determined comprehensively considering the amount, hours, intensity, and responsibility of work, off-duty time such as holidays and vacations, work patterns such as shift work and night work, degree of mental strain, sleep hours, work environment, and other factors including the worker's age, sex, and "health status"; and, with respect to working hours, provided that where working hours during the 12 weeks preceding onset exceed a weekly average of 60 hours (or a weekly average of 64 hours during the 4 weeks preceding onset), the relationship between work and onset is deemed strong [I.1.(c)1)].

3) The above notice was amended by Ministry of Employment and Labor Notice No. 2017-117 on December 29, 2017 (hereinafter the "Amended Notice"). In reflection of the recognition that the provisions of the Pre-Amendment Notice had been excessively strict, the Amended Notice deleted "health status," which had been included in the Pre-Amendment Notice, so that a victim's underlying condition would not be considered a factor in determining whether the worker's work constitutes chronic excessive workload. As to working hours, it lowered the reference working hours, providing that "where the weekly average working hours during the 12 weeks preceding onset exceed 52 hours, the relationship between work and disease is evaluated as increasing as working hours increase," and in particular added a provision that "in the case of shift work, work with insufficient holidays, etc., the relationship between work and disease is evaluated as strong."

4) Even where the Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service issued a non-payment disposition of survivor benefits by applying the "Pre-Amendment Notice" that was in effect at the time of the disposition, in a revocation suit against such disposition, the court may consider the content and purpose of the amendment of the notice that was amended after the disposition in determining the existence of a substantial causal relationship (see Supreme Court Decision 2020Du39297, decided December 24, 2020, concerning a disposition denying approval for industrial accident medical care, etc.).

2. Determination in this case

A. Course of the case and the judgment below

1) The deceased Nonparty (hereinafter the "Deceased"), the Plaintiff's spouse, was born in 1948 and, from around July 2014, worked as a night security guard at an elementary school, single-handedly performing duties such as opening the school's access facilities, security, patrol, turning lights on and off, and closing the gate.

2) The Deceased's work pattern was as follows: on weekdays, he stayed at the school from 16:30 to 08:30 the following day, working 6 hours each time (excluding 2 hours of rest and 8 hours of sleep); on holidays, he stayed at the school from 08:30 to 08:30 the following day, working 13 hours each time (excluding 3 hours of rest and 8 hours of sleep); on both weekdays and holidays, sleep hours were from 22:00 to 06:00; and he had days off twice a month.

3) Immediately before the accident, the Deceased continued to stay at the school and worked consecutive shifts. He began night duty at 16:30 on Thursday, May 4, 2017, performed holiday work on May 5, 2017 (Children's Day), and was found unconscious in the school gymnasium around 10:00 on Saturday, May 6, 2017, and transported to a hospital, where he was diagnosed with unspecified cerebral infarction and basal ganglia hemorrhage (hereinafter the "disease in question"). He died from the disease in question on May 28, 2017. The Deceased worked 7 days during the 7 days preceding onset, with weekly working hours of 68 hours; his working hours during the 4 weeks preceding onset averaged 52 hours 45 minutes per week, and his working hours during the 12 weeks preceding onset averaged 57 hours 9 minutes per week.

4) Immediately after the Deceased was transported to the hospital, atrial fibrillation causing an irregular pulse was confirmed, and it appears that the disease in question occurred because a blood clot formed in the heart traveled through the bloodstream and blocked a cerebral blood vessel.

5) The medical opinions regarding the cause of the disease in question are as follows.

A) A physician at Dong-A University Hospital, who treated the Deceased from the onset of the disease in question until his death, stated that it was confirmed that the Deceased had not suffered from hypertension, diabetes, or other risk factors for cerebral infarction or cerebral hemorrhage, and expressed the opinion that work-related stress, etc., is believed to have caused atrial fibrillation, which induced the cerebral infarction.

B) According to the results of a medical record examination by the Korean Medical Association, apart from the Deceased's advanced age, no clear risk factor related to the onset of cerebral infarction could be identified (as to the dyslipidemia previously diagnosed in the Deceased, his recent health checkup showed cholesterol levels at a borderline or appropriate level, no trace of cardiovascular disease could be found, and although he had smoked in the past, it was presumed that he had quit smoking long ago). The Deceased's average weekly working hours during the 12 weeks preceding onset exceeded 52 hours, and although he single-handedly stayed at the school for 24 hours, he had an average of only 2.67 days off per month, which appears to constitute work with insufficient holidays; therefore, under the Amended Notice, the work-relatedness is strong. Meanwhile, since it is possible that overwork newly caused or aggravated the atrial fibrillation, it is difficult to view this as attributable to a pre-existing condition, and it was ultimately determined that work had a substantial influence on the onset and aggravation of the disease.

C) According to the results of a medical record examination by a pulmonology physician at Kosin University Gospel Hospital, while introducing the general information that aggravation of chronic obstructive pulmonary disease can medically induce atrial fibrillation, and that since most people with pulmonary disease are elderly and have a smoking history, cerebral infarction can occur even without overwork or stress, the physician stated that as to whether the severe chronic obstructive pulmonary disease diagnosed in the Deceased around August 2015 is related to the occurrence of the disease in question, an examination by a neurology specialist in cerebral infarction would be necessary.

6) Around October 2017, the Defendant, regarding the Plaintiff's claim for payment of survivor benefits and funeral expenses, determined that it was difficult to recognize a substantial causal relationship between the Deceased's death and his work based on the Pre-Amendment Notice, and made a non-payment decision (hereinafter the "disposition in question"). Immediately after the disposition in question, the Amended Notice came into effect, but the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Reexamination Committee rejected the Plaintiff's request for reexamination based on the "Pre-Amendment Notice," without taking this into account.

7) The court below, having recognized only that the Deceased's working hours were somewhat long—68 hours per week, 52 hours over 4 weeks, and 57 hours over 12 weeks—and that there were factors equivalent to shift work, determined that it was difficult to recognize a substantial causal relationship between the Deceased's work and the disease in question, considering that: the Deceased's security work was intermittent in nature, allowing him to sleep for 8 hours while on duty, and he was guaranteed two days off per month; there were no circumstances indicating that his workload had meaningfully increased or his work environment had changed around the time the disease occurred, or that any event had occurred that would have imposed a particular mental or physical burden; and the Deceased had been diagnosed with chronic obstructive pulmonary disease.

B. Judgment of the Supreme Court

1) As noted above, even where a non-payment disposition of survivor benefits was made before the Amended Notice took effect, the court may consider the Amended Notice, which took effect after the disposition, in determining the existence of a substantial causal relationship. In this case, the Deceased's average weekly working hours during the 12 weeks preceding the onset of the disease in question exceeded 52 hours, and the Deceased's work involved insufficient holidays, constituting a factor aggravating the workload (in particular, he worked 7 days during the 7 days preceding onset, and was in the midst of consecutive shifts of Thursday night duty followed by Saturday and Sunday holiday work). Accordingly, it appears that the requirements of Amended Notice I.1.(c)2)③, under which the relationship between work and disease can be evaluated as strong, are satisfied.

The nature of the Deceased's work was to stay overnight at the school, single-handedly performing night security and patrol duties over a large building and grounds, working the entire day on holidays, with only two days off per month. Even if this is evaluated as intermittent work, it could in itself induce fatigue and stress due to disruption of daily life and biorhythm, and could negatively affect health.

2) None of the medical opinions noted above regard the Deceased as having had heart disease or cerebral disease. Although the Deceased was diagnosed with chronic obstructive pulmonary disease around 2015, it has not been established whether this has a substantial causal relationship with the disease in question, and no medical opinion finding such a causal relationship can be found in the record.

C. Nevertheless, without sufficiently examining the objective characteristics and content of the security work performed by the Deceased as described above, the medical opinions regarding the relationship between the disease in question and his work, and the provisions of the Amended Notice, the court below concluded, based solely on the circumstances stated in its reasoning, that it was difficult to recognize a substantial causal relationship. Such determination by the court below contains an error affecting the judgment by misunderstanding the legal principles concerning the substantial causal relationship required for occupational accidents and by failing to conduct the necessary examination.

3. Conclusion

Therefore, the judgment below is reversed, and the case is remanded to the court below for further examination and determination. This judgment is rendered as set forth in the Order, with the unanimous agreement of the participating Justices.

Justice Cheon Dae-yeop (Presiding Justice), Justice Cho Jae-yeon, Justice Min Yu-sook (Justice in charge), Justice Lee Dong-won

【참조조문】

[1] 산업재해보상보험법 제5조 제1호, 제37조 제1항, 행정소송법 제26조[증명책임]

[2] 산업재해보상보험법 제5조 제1호, 제37조 제1항, 행정소송법 제26조[증명책임]

[3] 산업재해보상보험법 제5조 제1호, 제37조 제1항, 제5항, 산업재해보상보험법 시행령 제34조 제3항 [별표 3] 제1호 (가)목 3), (다)목

【참조판례】

[1] 대법원 2021. 9. 9. 선고 2017두45933 전원합의체 판결(공2021하, 1810) / [2] 대법원 2007. 4. 12. 선고 2006두4912 판결(공2007상, 722), 대법원 2020. 5. 28. 선고 2019두62604 판결(공2020하, 1276) / [3] 대법원 2020. 12. 24. 선고 2020두39297 판결

【주문】·【이유】 전문 5,341자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 상고인】 원고 (소송대리인 법무법인 시대로 담당변호사 조애진)

【피고, 피상고인】 근로복지공단

【원심판결】 부산고법 2021. 7. 7. 선고 2020누23025 판결

【주 문】

원심판결을 파기하고, 사건을 부산고등법원에 환송한다.

【이 유】 상고이유를 판단한다.

1. 관련 법리

가. 업무상 재해의 증명

1) 산업재해보상보험법(이하 ‘산재보험법’이라 한다) 제37조 제1항의 ‘업무상의 재해’를 인정하기 위한 업무와 재해 사이의 상당인과관계에 관한 증명책임은 업무상의 재해를 주장하는 근로자 측에게 있다(대법원 2021. 9. 9. 선고 2017두45933 전원합의체 판결 등 참조).

2) 질병의 주된 발생 원인이 업무수행과 직접적인 관계가 없더라도 적어도 업무상의 과로나 스트레스가 질병의 주된 발생 원인에 겹쳐서 질병을 유발 또는 악화시켰다면 인과관계가 있다. 인과관계는 의학·자연과학적으로 명백히 증명하여야 하는 것은 아니고 제반 사정을 고려할 때 업무와 질병 사이에 상당인과관계가 있다고 추단되는 경우에도 증명이 있다고 보아야 하고, 평소에 정상적인 근무가 가능한 기초질병이나 기존질병이 직무의 과중 등이 원인이 되어 자연적인 진행속도 이상으로 급격하게 악화된 때에도 증명이 있는 경우에 포함된다. 이때 업무와 질병 또는 사망과의 인과관계 유무는 보통 평균인이 아니라 당해 근로자를 기준으로 판단하여야 한다(대법원 2020. 5. 28. 선고 2019두62604 판결 등 참조).

나. 법령의 규정

1) 산재보험법 제37조 제5항은 "업무상의 재해의 구체적인 인정 기준은 대통령령으로 정한다."라고 규정하고 있다. 그 위임에 의한 산업재해보상보험법 시행령 제34조 제3항 및 [별표 3] ‘업무상 질병에 대한 구체적인 인정 기준’은 ‘뇌혈관 질병 또는 심장 질병’의 업무상 질병 인정 기준으로 ‘업무의 양·시간·강도·책임 및 업무 환경의 변화 등에 따른 만성적인 과중한 업무로 뇌혈관의 정상적인 기능에 뚜렷한 영향을 줄 수 있는 육체적·정신적인 부담을 유발한 경우’를 들면서[제1호 (가)목 3)], 그 결정에 필요한 사항은 고용노동부장관이 정하여 고시하도록 위임하고 있다[제1호 (다)목].

2) 그 위임에 따른 고용노동부 고시「뇌혈관 질병 또는 심장 질병 및 근골격계 질병의 업무상 질병 인정 여부 결정에 필요한 사항」(2013. 6. 28. 고용노동부 고시 제2013-32호, 이하 ‘개정 전 고시’라고 한다)은 근로자의 업무가 ‘만성적인 과중한 업무’에 해당하는지 여부는 업무의 양·시간·강도·책임, 휴일·휴가 등 휴무시간, 교대제 및 야간근로 등 근무형태, 정신적 긴장의 정도, 수면시간, 작업 환경, 그 밖에 근로자의 연령, 성별, ‘건강상태’ 등을 종합하여 판단하되, 업무시간에 관하여는 발병 전 12주 동안 업무시간이 1주 평균 60시간(발병 전 4주 동안 1주 평균 64시간)을 초과하는 경우에는 업무와 발병과의 관련성이 강하다고 규정하였다[I. 1. (다)목 1)].

3) 위 고시는 2017. 12. 29. 고용노동부 고시 제2017-117호로 개정되었는데(이하 ‘개정된 고시’라고 한다), 개정된 고시는 개정 전 고시의 규정 내용이 지나치게 엄격하였다는 반성적 고려에서, 근로자의 업무가 만성적인 과중한 업무에 해당하는지를 판단함에 있어 재해자의 기초질환을 고려사항으로 보지 않도록 개정 전 고시에 규정되어 있던 ‘건강상태’를 삭제하였고, 업무시간에 관하여는 ‘발병 전 12주 동안 1주 평균 업무시간이 52시간을 초과하는 경우에는 업무시간이 길어질수록 업무와 질병의 관련성이 증가하는 것으로 평가한다.’고 기준 업무시간을 낮추고, 특히 ‘교대제 업무, 휴일이 부족한 업무 등의 경우에는 업무와 질병의 관련성이 강하다고 평가한다.’는 내용을 추가하였다.

4) 근로복지공단이 처분 당시에 시행되고 있던 ‘개정 전 고시’를 적용하여 유족급여 부지급처분을 한 경우라고 하더라도 이에 대한 취소소송에서 법원은 처분 후 개정된 고시의 규정 내용과 개정 취지를 참작하여 상당인과관계의 존부를 판단할 수 있다(산재요양 불승인처분에 관한 대법원 2020. 12. 24. 선고 2020두39297 판결 등 참조).

2. 이 사건의 판단

가. 사건의 경위 및 원심의 판단

1) 원고의 배우자인 망 소외인(이하 ‘망인’이라 한다)은 1948년생으로 2014. 7.경부터 초등학교 야간 경비원으로 일하면서 단독으로 학교 출입시설 개방, 경비, 순찰, 점·소등, 폐문 등의 업무를 수행하였다.

2) 망인의 근무형태는, 평일은 16:30부터 다음 날 08:30까지 학교에 상주하면서 6시간씩(휴게시간 2시간 및 수면시간 8시간 제외) 근무하고, 휴일은 08:30부터 다음 날 08:30까지 학교에 상주하면서 13시간씩(휴게시간 3시간 및 수면시간 8시간 제외) 근무하며, 평일과 휴일 모두 수면시간은 22:00부터 06:00까지이고, 휴무는 월 2회이다.

3) 망인은 사고 직전 계속 학교에 상주하면서 연이어 근무를 하였는데, 목요일인 2017. 5. 4. 16:30부터 야간근무를 시작하여 어린이날인 2017. 5. 5. 휴일근무를 수행하였고, 토요일인 2017. 5. 6. 10:00경 학교 내 강당에서 혼수상태로 발견되어 병원으로 이송된 후 상세불명의 뇌경색증 및 기저핵 출혈(이하 ‘이 사건 상병’이라고 한다) 진단을 받았으며, 2017. 5. 28. 이 사건 상병으로 인하여 사망하였다. 망인은 발병 전 7일간 7일 근무하였으며, 주당 근로시간은 68시간이고, 발병 전 4주 동안 업무시간은 1주 평균 52시간 45분, 발병 전 12주 동안 업무시간은 1주 평균 57시간 9분이다.

4) 망인이 병원으로 이송된 직후 불규칙한 맥박을 일으키는 심방세동이 확인되었는바, 이로 인해 심장에서 생긴 혈전이 혈류를 타고 이동하다가 뇌혈관을 막아 이 사건 상병이 발생한 것으로 보인다.

5) 이 사건 상병을 유발한 원인에 대한 의학적 소견은 다음과 같다.

가) 이 사건 상병의 발생 후 사망 시까지 망인을 치료한 동아대학교병원 소속 의사는 망인이 뇌경색, 뇌출혈의 위험인자인 고혈압, 당뇨 등을 앓지 않았던 것으로 확인된다고 하면서, 업무 스트레스 등이 심방세동을 일으켜 뇌경색이 유발된 것으로 생각된다는 소견을 밝혔다.

나) 대한의사협회의 진료기록감정결과는, 망인의 연령이 고령인 점을 제외하면 뇌경색의 발병과 관련된 명확한 위험요인을 확인할 수 없고(망인이 과거 진단받았던 이상지질혈증과 관련해서는 최근 건강검진 결과 콜레스테롤 수치가 경계 또는 적정 수준이었고, 심혈관질환을 앓았던 흔적을 확인할 수 없으며, 과거 흡연을 하였으나 오래전부터 금연한 것으로 추정된다고 보았다), 망인이 발병 전 12주 동안 1주 평균 업무시간이 52시간을 초과하도록 근무하였고, 단독으로 24시간 학교에 상주하는데도 월 평균 휴일이 2.67일에 불과하여 휴일이 부족한 업무에 해당하는 것으로 보이므로 개정된 고시에 의할 때 업무관련성이 강하고, 한편 과로로 인해 심방세동이 새롭게 발생하거나 악화되었을 가능성이 있어 기왕증에 의한 것이라 보기 어려우므로, 결국 업무가 발병 및 악화에 상당한 수준으로 영향을 끼쳤을 것으로 판단된다고 밝혔다.

다) 고신대학교복음병원 소속 호흡기내과 의사의 진료기록감정결과에 의하면, 의학적으로 만성폐쇄성폐질환의 악화가 심방세동을 유발할 수 있고, 폐질환을 가진 사람이 대부분 고령이고 흡연력이 있기 때문에 과로나 스트레스 없이도 뇌경색이 발생할 수 있다는 일반적인 내용을 소개하면서, 망인이 2015. 8.경 진단을 받았던 중증의 만성폐쇄성폐질환이 이 사건 상병의 발생과 관련성이 있는지 여부에 대해서는 뇌경색을 전문으로 하는 신경과 전문의의 감정이 필요할 것으로 판단된다고 밝혔다.

6) 피고는 2017. 10.경 원고의 유족급여 및 장의비의 지급 청구에 대해 개정 전 고시를 기준으로 망인의 사망과 업무와의 상당인과관계를 인정하기 어렵다고 보아 부지급 결정(이하 ‘이 사건 처분’이라 한다)을 하였다. 이 사건 처분이 있은 직후 개정된 고시가 시행되었는데 산업재해보상보험재심사위원회는 이를 참작하지 않은 채 ‘개정 전 고시’를 기준으로 원고의 재심사청구를 기각하였다.

7) 원심은, 망인의 업무시간이 1주간 68시간, 4주간 52시간, 12주간 57시간으로 다소 길고, 교대근무에 준하는 요인이 있다고만 인정한 다음, 망인의 경비업무는 단속적인 것으로 근무 시 8시간의 수면을 취할 수 있었고, 월 2회 휴일이 보장되었던 점, 재해 발생 무렵 업무량이 유의미하게 증가하였다거나 업무환경이 변화하였다는 사정 또는 정신적·육체적으로 특별히 부담이 될 만한 일이 생겼다는 사정을 찾아볼 수 없는 점, 망인이 만성폐쇄성폐질환을 진단받았던 사정 등을 고려하면, 망인의 업무와 이 사건 상병 사이에 상당인과관계를 인정하기 어렵다고 판단하였다.

나. 대법원의 판단

1) 앞서 본 바와 같이, 법원은 개정된 고시 시행 이전에 유족급여 부지급처분이 있더라도 그 처분 후 개정된 고시를 참작하여 상당인과관계의 존부를 판단할 수 있는데, 이 사건 상병의 발병 전 망인의 12주 동안 1주 평균 업무시간이 52시간을 초과하고 망인의 업무는 휴일이 부족한 업무로서 업무부담 가중요인이 존재하므로(특히 발병 전 7일간 7일 근무하였고, 목요일 야간근무, 토요일, 일요일 휴일근무를 연이어 하던 중이었다), 업무와 질병과의 관련성이 강하다고 평가할 수 있는 개정된 고시 I. 1. (다)목 2) ③의 요건을 충족한다고 보인다.

망인의 업무 내용은 학교에 상주하여 숙직하면서 단독으로 넓은 건물과 부지 등에 대해 야간경비, 순찰 등을 하는 것으로 휴일에는 종일 근무를 하는 데다가 월 2회의 휴무만이 있을 뿐이어서 이를 단속적 업무로 평가하더라도 그 자체로 생활 및 생체리듬의 혼란으로 피로와 스트레스를 유발하고 건강에 부정적 영향을 미칠 수 있다.

2) 앞서 본 의학적 소견 모두, 망인에게 심장질환이나 뇌질환이 있었던 것으로 보지 않고 있다. 망인이 2015년경 만성폐쇄성폐질환을 진단받기는 하였으나 이것이 이 사건 상병과 상당인과관계가 있는지 여부는 밝혀지지 않았고, 인과관계가 있다고 본 의학적 소견도 기록상 찾아볼 수 없다.

다. 그럼에도 원심은, 위와 같이 망인이 수행하였던 경비업무의 객관적인 특성과 내용, 이 사건 상병과 업무의 관련성에 관한 의학적 소견, 개정된 고시의 규정 등에 관하여 충분히 살펴보지 아니한 채, 판시와 같은 사정만을 이유로 상당인과관계를 인정하기 어렵다고 단정하였으니, 위와 같은 원심의 판단에는 업무상 재해의 상당인과관계에 관한 법리를 오해하고 필요한 심리를 다하지 아니함으로써 판결에 영향을 미친 잘못이 있다.

3. 결론

그러므로 원심판결을 파기하고, 사건을 다시 심리·판단하도록 원심법원에 환송하기로 하여, 관여 대법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 천대엽(재판장) 조재연 민유숙(주심) 이동원

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2009구합21536 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Compensation an
#2
2008구합3074 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits and Fu
#3
2008구단1772 · 창원지방법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Compensation an
#4
2020구합52269 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits and Fu
#5
2018구단20058 · 부산지방법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits and Fu

Cases citing this decision

2022두47391 · 대법원 2023-04-13
요양불승인처분취소[콜센터 상담원의 ‘뇌기저핵출혈’이 업무상 재해에 해당하는지 여부가 문제된 사건]

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)