Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 2021다299594

Damages (Traffic Accident) [Case concerning the scope of subrogation when the National Pension Service (국민연금공단) subrogates the victim's damage claim against the tortfeasor under Article 114(1) of the National Pension Act (국민연금법) after paying disability pension (장애연금)]손해배상(자)[국민연금공단이 장애연금을 지급한 후 국민연금법 제114조 제1항에 따라 피해자의 가해자에 대한 손해배상청구권을 대위하는 경우 그 대위 범위가 문제된 사건]

Decided2024. 06. 20. Court대법원Appeal dismissed (tortfeasor/defendant's position upheld; NPS's subrogation claim limited)
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

The National Pension Service (NPS) paid disability pension benefits to a victim and then sought to recover damages from the tortfeasor by subrogation. The Supreme Court held that when the victim shares comparative fault (과실상계) for the accident, the NPS must first deduct the pension amount from the total damages and then apply comparative negligence offset, meaning the NPS may only recover the portion corresponding to the tortfeasor's liability ratio—not the full pension amount paid.

Key takeaways
  • CaseAfter the NPS paid disability pension benefits to an accident victim, it sought reimbursement by subrogation from the party at fault in the accident.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court ruled that the NPS can only recover the portion equivalent to the tortfeasor's fault ratio, using the 'deduct pension first, then apply comparative fault' calculation method.
  • LessonPublic insurers exercising subrogation rights must absorb the victim's own comparative fault share themselves, rather than passing the full pension cost onto the tortfeasor.
Issues
  • The scope of the subrogated damage claim under Article 114 of the National Pension Act (국민연금법 제114조)
  • The proper method for calculating damages when the victim's comparative negligence overlaps with pension benefits already paid
Key reasoning

Given the social security nature and legislative purpose of the National Pension system, the Court applied the 'deduct-then-offset' method (공제 후 과실상계) rather than calculating comparative fault first. Under this approach, the scope of the NPS's subrogation right (대위범위) is limited to the amount corresponding to the tortfeasor's proportional liability. The portion of loss attributable to the victim's own comparative fault (피해자 과실비율) must ultimately be borne by the NPS itself, not shifted to the tortfeasor. This calculation method protects victims by ensuring pension benefits are not entirely absorbed by subrogation claims exceeding the tortfeasor's actual fault share.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

Considering comprehensively the wording and legislative purpose of Article 114(1) of the National Pension Act (국민연금법), which recognizes the subrogation of the damage claim by the National Pension Service (hereinafter “the Service”); the purpose of the National Pension and its social security character; the balance with the benefit and legal status that a pension benefit recipient would have enjoyed had the tort not occurred; the balancing of interests between the recipient and the Service; the nature of the right to receive pension benefits; and the change in precedent concerning the interpretation of the provisions of the National Health Insurance Act (국민건강보험법) and the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법), the amount of damages should be calculated by the method of “comparative negligence after deduction,” whereby, where a victim who has received pension benefits under the National Pension Act seeks damages against the tortfeasor and the victim’s own negligence has contributed to the occurrence of the damage, the amount of the pension benefit is first deducted from the victim’s damages and comparative negligence is then applied. Furthermore, where the Service, having paid pension benefits to a tort victim, subrogates the victim’s claim for damages against the tortfeasor pursuant to Article 114(1) of the National Pension Act, the scope of such subrogation is limited not to the full amount of the pension benefit up to the amount of the tortfeasor’s liability for damages, but to the amount corresponding to the tortfeasor’s share of liability; as to the remaining amount (the portion of the pension benefit corresponding to the victim’s share of negligence), the Service cannot subrogate the victim’s claim, and this portion must be regarded as ultimately borne by the Service for the benefit of the victim, who, even after receiving the pension benefit, remains uncompensated for that portion of the damage.

Full text (English, AI translation) 23,641 chars

[Plaintiff, Party to the Final Appeal] Plaintiff
[Successor Intervenor to Plaintiff, Appellant] National Pension Service (Attorneys Kim Jae-hee and 1 other, Counsel for the Successor Intervenor)
[Defendant, Appellee] Korea Taxi Business Cooperative Federation (Attorney Jeong Myeong-seok, Counsel for the Defendant)
[Lower Court Judgment] Seoul Central District Court Judgment 2020Na85513, decided November 4, 2021

[Order]

The appeal is dismissed. The costs of the appeal shall be borne by the Successor Intervenor to the Plaintiff.

[Reasoning]

The grounds of appeal are examined.

1. Outline of the Case
According to the reasoning of the lower court's judgment and the record, the following facts may be found.

A. On January 24, 2016, while the non-party was driving a taxi straight through an intersection on Jungang-ro in Sacheon-si, the taxi's front passenger door struck the front wheel of a motorcycle driven by the Plaintiff, which had entered the intersection from the right side of the taxi's direction of travel.

B. As a result of the above accident, the Plaintiff suffered disabilities including quadriplegia, and thereby incurred lost income damages of KRW 282,085,725. The liability ratio of the non-party who was driving the taxi is 60%.

C. The Defendant is a mutual aid business operator that entered into a mutual aid contract with respect to the above taxi, and the Successor Intervenor to the Plaintiff is a corporation established to carry out the national pension business under delegation from the Minister of Health and Welfare pursuant to the National Pension Act (국민연금법).

D. The Successor Intervenor to the Plaintiff paid the Plaintiff disability pension benefits totaling KRW 26,537,850 for 60 months, from the August 2016 installment through the July 2021 installment, and this amount does not exceed the Plaintiff's lost income damages for the same period.

2. Issue in This Case

A. The issue in this case concerns the scope of subrogation where the National Pension Service (hereinafter, in Sections 2 through 4, referred to as the "Service"), the Successor Intervenor to the Plaintiff, having paid disability pension benefits to the beneficiary who is the victim of the tort, subrogates to the beneficiary's right to claim damages against the third party pursuant to Article 114(1) of the National Pension Act.

B. Where a victim who has received disability pension benefits under the National Pension Act claims damages against the tortfeasor, and the victim's own negligence contributed to the occurrence of the damage, the question arises whether, in calculating the amount of damages, one should follow (①) the method of first calculating the victim's damages, then applying comparative negligence offset to determine the tortfeasor's amount of damages, and then deducting the full amount of the pension benefits from that amount of damages (the "offset after comparative negligence" method), or (②) the method of first deducting the full amount of the Service's pension benefits from the victim's damages and then applying comparative negligence offset (the "comparative negligence after offset" method). Depending on which method is followed, the scope within which the Service may subrogate to the victim's right to claim damages against the tortfeasor is determined to be either "the full amount of the pension benefits" or limited to "the amount corresponding to the tortfeasor's ratio of liability among the pension benefits."

3. Determination on the Issue

A. The Supreme Court has traditionally held that where a victim who has received disability pension benefits or survivor pension benefits under the National Pension Act claims damages against the tortfeasor, and the victim's own negligence contributed to the occurrence of the damage, comparative negligence offset should first be applied to the calculated amount of damages, and the pension benefits should then be deducted therefrom, and that where the Service, having paid pension benefits to the victim of a tort, subrogates to the victim's right to claim damages against the tortfeasor, the scope of such subrogation is the full amount of the pension benefits paid, within the limit of the right to claim damages (the "offset after comparative negligence" method. Supreme Court Decision 2007Da10245, decided July 27, 2007; Supreme Court Decision 2009Da100920, decided May 13, 2011, etc.).

B. However, taking into comprehensive account the language and legislative purpose of Article 114(1) of the National Pension Act, which recognizes the Service's subrogation to the right to claim damages; the purpose of the national pension and its social security character; the need for balance with the benefits and legal status that a pension benefit beneficiary would have enjoyed had the tort not occurred; the balancing of interests between the beneficiary and the Service; the character of the right to receive pension benefits; and the change in precedent concerning the interpretation of provisions of the National Health Insurance Act (국민건강보험법) and the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법), it should be held that where a victim who has received pension benefits under the National Pension Act claims damages against the tortfeasor, and the victim's own negligence contributed to the occurrence of the damage, the amount of damages should be calculated by the "comparative negligence after offset" method, i.e., first deducting the amount of the pension benefits from the victim's damages and then applying comparative negligence offset; and that where the Service, having paid pension benefits to the victim of a tort, subrogates to the victim's right to claim damages against the tortfeasor pursuant to Article 114(1) of the National Pension Act, the scope of such subrogation is not the full amount of the pension benefits, limited to the amount of the tortfeasor's damages, but is limited to the amount thereof corresponding to the tortfeasor's ratio of liability, and the Service may not subrogate to the remaining amount (the amount of the pension benefits corresponding to the victim's ratio of negligence); this remaining amount should be regarded as ultimately borne by the Service for the benefit of the victim, who remains uncompensated for that portion of the damage even after receiving the pension benefits. The detailed reasons are as follows.

1) Article 114(1) of the National Pension Act provides that where the Service pays pension benefits to a victim because a cause for payment of disability pension or survivor pension benefits arose due to the act of a third party, the Service subrogates to the right to claim damages against the third-party tortfeasor "within the scope of the amount of such benefits." This provision merely sets an upper limit on the right to claim damages to which the Service may subrogate, without specifically identifying the particular scope of such subrogation. Nor does it expressly address whether, in a case such as this one where the victim's right to claim damages against the tortfeasor is limited due to comparative negligence offset or other reasons, the Service may subrogate to the full amount of the pension benefits.

As the language of Article 114(1) of the National Pension Act alone does not make clear the scope within which the Service may subrogate, it is not necessarily the case that the amount of damages to which the Service may subrogate to the victim under this provision must be regarded, as under the previous Supreme Court precedent, as the "full amount" of the pension benefits borne by the Service. The courts may reasonably determine, based on comprehensive consideration of the legislative purpose and objective of the National Pension Act and its individual provisions, the character of the right to receive pension benefits, and the harmony or concept of equity within the legal order as a whole, the standard by which to calculate the amount, among the pension benefits, to which the Service subrogates.

2) The National Pension Act has as its purpose contributing to the stabilization of the lives of citizens and the promotion of their welfare by providing pension benefits in the event of old age, disability, or death of citizens (Article 1). The national pension system, funded by pension contributions paid by participants, is a social insurance system that guarantees citizens' income, etc., by addressing social risks arising to citizens by means of insurance (Article 3, Subparagraphs 1 and 2 of the Framework Act on Social Security (사회보장기본법)), and is a form of social security established by the State to guarantee the minimum living standard so that citizens may lead a life worthy of human beings. Pension benefits under the National Pension Act have the character of compensating, from the State's position as insurer, for the beneficiary's loss of income due to old age or disability, or loss of support due to death.

The National Pension Act provides that disability pension benefits may not be paid where a participant or former participant intentionally causes an illness, injury, or the accident giving rise thereto, and thereby suffers a disability (Article 82(1)), thereby recognizing the Service's discretion as to whether to pay pension benefits. This is intended to achieve the purpose of the social security system by ensuring that, even where the participant bears some responsibility for the occurrence of the cause for payment of pension benefits, if the degree of such responsibility is not so great as to be contrary to the public nature of social insurance, pension benefits are nonetheless paid so that the participant is not excluded from the protection of the national pension.

This legislative purpose of the National Pension Act and the social security character of the national pension system must be sufficiently taken into account also in determining the scope of subrogation under Article 114(1) of the National Pension Act.

3) The right of a victim who has suffered a disability, etc., as a result of a tort, to claim damages against the tortfeasor is grounded in the principle of fault-based liability, and thus differs in legal character from the right to receive disability pension benefits, which has a social security character. Nevertheless, since both serve the function of compensating the damage of the victim (beneficiary), Article 114(1) of the National Pension Act is an adjustment provision intended to prevent the victim who has received pension benefits from obtaining a double benefit by additionally receiving damages from the tortfeasor, and to prevent the tortfeasor from being relieved of liability for damages as a result of the victim's receipt of pension benefits.

Where the victim's own negligence or pre-existing condition, etc., contributed to the occurrence of the damage, the tortfeasor bears liability for damages only within a limited scope, as determined through comparative negligence offset, etc. In this situation, the extent to which the Service, having paid pension benefits, may subrogate to the victim's right to claim damages determines the "amount of damage remaining uncompensated for the victim." If, as under the previous Supreme Court precedent, the scope of the Service's subrogation is regarded as the full amount of the pension benefits borne by the Service, the amount of damage left uncompensated for the victim becomes greatest; conversely, reducing the scope of the Service's subrogation correspondingly reduces the amount of damage left uncompensated for the victim.

However, even if the scope within which the Service may subrogate to the victim is interpreted in the manner most favorable to the victim, the victim may claim damages against the tortfeasor only within the scope of the damage remaining after receipt of the pension benefits, and the Service may exercise its right of subrogation as to the remainder of the tortfeasor's amount of damages; accordingly, no issue arises of double benefit to the victim or of the tortfeasor being relieved of liability for damages. Therefore, it does not necessarily follow, from the purpose of Article 114(1) of the National Pension Act in recognizing the Service's subrogation to the right to claim damages, that the conclusion under the "offset after comparative negligence" method, which is least favorable to the victim, must be adopted.

Meanwhile, Article 114(1) of the National Pension Act also includes the purpose of securing the Service's pension finances, and it is true that expanding the scope within which the Service may subrogate to the victim assists in securing pension finances. However, in light of the legislative purpose of the National Pension Act and the social security character of the national pension system discussed above, securing pension finances cannot be regarded as a matter that must necessarily be given priority over the interests of the beneficiary who is the victim; therefore, interpreting Article 114(1) of the National Pension Act in the manner most favorable to the Service and least favorable to the victim, for the purpose of securing pension finances, cannot be justified.

4) Considering the balance with the benefit of receiving pension benefits, and the corresponding legal status, that the beneficiary would have enjoyed had the tort not occurred, as well as the balancing of interests between the beneficiary and the Service, there is a need to reasonably limit the scope of the Service's subrogation.

As noted above, the National Pension Act recognizes discretion as to whether to pay pension benefits, so that even where a disability arises from an act attributable to the intentional conduct of the beneficiary of pension benefits, the beneficiary's damage may be compensated for at the Service's expense. Accordingly, where an accident occurs entirely due to the beneficiary's own negligence, without the involvement of any third party, the beneficiary may enjoy the benefit of receiving pension benefits, and as a result, the beneficiary may be compensated for lost income damage up to the amount of the disability pension borne by the Service. If so, where the damage arises from a combination of a third party's tort and the beneficiary's own negligence, it is reasonable to regard at least "the amount of the pension benefits corresponding to the beneficiary's ratio of negligence" as a cost that the Service, as insurer, must bear for the beneficiary, and as a benefit that the beneficiary may legitimately enjoy. The amount of the pension benefits corresponding to the tortfeasor's ratio of liability is equivalent to the Service having paid, on the tortfeasor's behalf, a portion that the tortfeasor should originally have borne, and thus the Service may subrogate to the victim (beneficiary) and seek reimbursement therefor from the tortfeasor as to that portion; however, to hold that the Service may subrogate even to the amount corresponding to the victim's ratio of negligence, beyond that portion, would in substance result in shifting onto the victim a portion that the Service should bear for the victim's benefit. For this reason as well, in calculating the amount of damages owed by the tortfeasor to the victim, it is appropriate to follow the "comparative negligence after offset" method, whereby the amount of the pension benefits is first deducted from the amount of damages and comparative negligence offset is then applied, and the scope of the Service's subrogation under Article 114(1) of the National Pension Act should be regarded as limited, not to the full amount of the pension benefits, but to the amount thereof corresponding to the tortfeasor's ratio of liability.

5) The finances of the national pension receive State treasury support with respect to the Service's management and operating expenses, etc., but most of the fund is formed from pension contributions paid by participants. Accordingly, the right to receive pension benefits has the character of consideration for pension contributions, and also has the economic utility of compensating for the financial burden imposed on a participant by an insured event, and thus has the character of a property right.

Meanwhile, the national pension system, as a form of social insurance, also performs an income redistribution function. The National Pension Act makes pension enrollment compulsory, sets individual pension contributions in proportion to the participant's income rather than the probability of occurrence of an insured event or the amount of pension benefits, and does not necessarily pay pension benefits strictly in proportion to the pension contributions paid by the participant. Considering further that pension finances receive some State treasury support, it is difficult to regard pension benefits as being in a simple relationship of consideration with pension contributions.

In determining the scope within which the Service may subrogate to the victim under Article 114(1) of the National Pension Act, the various characters of the right to receive pension benefits described above must be comprehensively taken into account. Interpreting the scope of the Service's subrogation in the manner least favorable to the victim, as under the previous Supreme Court precedent, unduly restricts the right to receive pension benefits, which is a property right of the participant, and is therefore improper. Considering the various characters of the right to receive pension benefits, it accords with the principle of equity, and most harmoniously resolves the conflicting interests, to hold that the scope within which the Service may subrogate to the victim is limited to the portion of the pension benefits corresponding to the tortfeasor's ratio of liability, and that the victim may enjoy the benefit of receiving pension benefits to the extent of the portion corresponding to the victim's own ratio of negligence.

6) The Supreme Court en banc Decision 2018Da287935, decided March 18, 2021, held that where a victim who has received insurance benefits from the National Health Insurance Service under the National Health Insurance Act claims damages against the tortfeasor, and the victim's own negligence contributed to the occurrence of the damage, the amount of damages relating to medical expenses already incurred should be calculated by first deducting the amount borne by the Service from the total amount of damage for medical expenses already incurred and then applying comparative negligence offset, and that where the National Health Insurance Service, having provided insurance benefits to the victim of a tort, subrogates to the victim's right to claim damages against the tortfeasor for medical expenses already incurred, the scope of such subrogation is not the full amount borne by the Service, limited to the tortfeasor's amount of damages, but is limited to the amount thereof corresponding to the tortfeasor's ratio of liability, and that the National Health Insurance Service may not subrogate to the remaining amount (the amount borne by the Service corresponding to the victim's ratio of negligence), thereby changing the previous precedent.

In addition, the Supreme Court en banc Decision 2021Da241618, decided March 24, 2022, changed the previous precedent, in the same vein as the above en banc Decision concerning national health insurance, regarding the method of calculating the amount of damages, and the scope within which the Korea Workers' Compensation & Welfare Service, having provided insurance benefits to an injured worker, may subrogate to the injured worker's right to claim damages against a third party, in a case where an injured worker who received insurance benefits from the Korea Workers' Compensation & Welfare Service under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act claims damages against a third party, and the injured worker's own negligence contributed to the occurrence of the damage.

National health insurance, industrial accident compensation insurance, and the national pension are all social insurance systems having a social security character; accordingly, in determining the method of calculating the amount of damages to be borne by a third party, and the scope of the relevant Service's subrogation, in cases where a cause for payment of insurance benefits or pension benefits arises due to an act of a third party and such benefits are paid, and where the victim's own negligence contributed to the occurrence of the damage, there is a need for a unified interpretation within the legal order.

4. Change of Precedent
Contrary to the above, Supreme Court Decision 2007Da10245, decided July 27, 2007, and Supreme Court Decision 2009Da100920, decided May 13, 2011, and other Supreme Court decisions to the same effect, which held that where a victim who has received disability pension benefits or survivor pension benefits under the National Pension Act claims damages against the tortfeasor, and the victim's own negligence contributed to the occurrence of the damage (the same applies where a pre-existing condition contributed to the damage), comparative negligence offset, etc., should first be applied to the amount of damages, and the full amount of the pension benefits should then be deducted therefrom, with no further comparative negligence offset, etc., being applied to the deducted pension benefits, and that where the Service, having paid pension benefits to the victim of a tort, subrogates to the victim's right to claim damages against the tortfeasor, the scope of such subrogation is the full amount of the pension benefits, within the limit of the amount of damages, are hereby all changed to the extent they conflict with the views expressed in this Judgment.

5. Determination on This Case
Applying the foregoing legal principles to the facts examined above, where the Successor Intervenor to the Plaintiff, having paid disability pension benefits to the Plaintiff, the victim of the tort, subrogates to the Plaintiff's right to claim damages against the tortfeasor pursuant to Article 114(1) of the National Pension Act, the scope of such subrogation is limited to KRW 15,922,710 (= KRW 26,537,850 × 60%), which is the amount corresponding to the tortfeasor's ratio of liability (60%) among the disability pension benefits of KRW 26,537,850, and the Successor Intervenor to the Plaintiff may not subrogate to the remaining KRW 10,615,140 (the amount of the pension benefits corresponding to the Plaintiff's ratio of negligence); this remaining amount is ultimately borne by the Successor Intervenor to the Plaintiff for the benefit of the Plaintiff, who remains uncompensated for that portion of the damage even after receiving the pension benefits.

The lower court's determination to this effect is proper, and there is no error therein, as alleged in the grounds of appeal, of misapprehending the legal principles concerning the scope of subrogation to the right to claim damages under Article 114(1) of the National Pension Act, which affected the judgment.

6. Conclusion
Accordingly, the appeal is dismissed, and the costs of the appeal are to be borne by the losing party. This Judgment is rendered as set forth in the Order by the unanimous opinion of the participating Justices.

Chief Justice Cho Hee-dae (Presiding Justice), Justice Kim Seon-su, Justice Lee Dong-won, Justice Noh Jeong-hee, Justice Kim Sang-hwan, Justice Noh Tae-ak, Justice Lee Heung-gu, Justice Oh Kyung-mi, Justice Oh Seok-jun, Justice Seo Kyung-hwan, Justice Kwon Young-jun, Justice Um Sang-pil (Justice in Charge), Justice Shin Suk-hee

【판결요지】

국민연금공단(이하 ‘공단’이라고 한다)의 손해배상청구권 대위를 인정한 국민연금법 제114조 제1항의 문언과 입법 취지, 국민연금의 목적과 사회보장적 성격, 불법행위가 없었을 경우 연금급여 수급권자가 누릴 수 있는 이익 및 법적 지위와의 균형, 수급권자와 공단 사이의 이익형량, 연금급여 수급권의 성격, 국민건강보험법 및 산업재해보상보험법 규정의 해석에 관한 판례 변경 등을 종합하여 보면, 국민연금법에 따라 연금급여를 받은 피해자가 가해자를 상대로 손해배상청구를 할 경우 그 손해 발생에 피해자의 과실이 경합된 때에는 피해자의 손해액에서 먼저 연금급여액을 공제한 다음 과실상계를 하는 ‘공제 후 과실상계’ 방식으로 손해배상액을 산정하여야 하고, 공단이 불법행위의 피해자에게 연금급여를 한 다음 국민연금법 제114조 제1항에 따라 피해자의 가해자에 대한 손해배상청구권을 대위하는 경우 그 대위의 범위는 가해자의 손해배상액을 한도로 한 연금급여액 전액이 아니라 그중 가해자의 책임비율에 해당하는 금액으로 제한되며, 나머지 금액(연금급여액 중 피해자의 과실비율에 해당하는 금액)에 대해서는 피해자를 대위할 수 없으므로 이 부분은 연금급여 수급 후에도 여전히 손해를 전보받지 못한 피해자를 위해 공단이 최종적으로 부담한다고 보아야 한다.

【참조조문】

국민연금법 제1조, 제3조 제1항, 제82조 제1항, 제114조 제1항, 사회보장기본법 제3조 제1호, 제2호

【참조판례】

대법원 2007. 7. 27. 선고 2007다10245 판결(변경), 대법원 2011. 5. 13. 선고 2009다100920 판결(공2011상, 1142)(변경), 대법원 2021. 3. 18. 선고 2018다287935 전원합의체 판결(공2021상, 835), 대법원 2022. 3. 24. 선고 2021다241618 전원합의체 판결(공2022상, 753)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 8,136자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 상고심당사자】 원고

【원고승계참가인, 상고인】 국민연금공단 (소송대리인 변호사 김재희 외 1인)

【피고, 피상고인】 전국택시운송사업조합연합회 (소송대리인 변호사 정명석)

【원심판결】 서울중앙지법 2021. 11. 4. 선고 2020나85513 판결

【주 문】

상고를 기각한다. 상고비용은 원고승계참가인이 부담한다.

【이 유】 상고이유를 판단한다.

1. 사안의 개요

원심판결 이유와 기록에 따르면 다음 사실을 알 수 있다.

가. 소외인은 2016. 1. 24. 택시를 운전하여 사천시 중앙로에 있는 교차로를 직진하던 중, 그 진행 방향 오른쪽에서 교차로에 진입한 원고 운전의 오토바이 앞바퀴 부분을 위 택시의 조수석 문 부분으로 충격하였다.

나. 위 사고로 원고는 사지마비 등 장애를 입었고, 이에 따라 282,085,725원의 일실수입 손해를 입게 되었다. 위 택시를 운전하던 소외인의 책임비율은 60%이다.

다. 피고는 위 택시에 관하여 공제계약을 체결한 공제사업자이고, 원고승계참가인은 국민연금법에 따라 보건복지부장관의 위탁을 받아 국민연금사업을 수행하기 위해 설립된 법인이다.

라. 원고승계참가인은 원고에게 2016년 8월분부터 2021년 7월분까지 60개월간의 장애연금 합계 26,537,850원을 지급하였고, 이는 같은 기간 원고의 일실수입 손해를 넘지 않는다.

2. 이 사건의 쟁점

가. 이 사건의 쟁점은 원고승계참가인인 국민연금공단(이하 제2 내지 4항에서는 ‘공단’이라고 한다)이 불법행위의 피해자인 수급권자에게 장애연금을 지급한 다음 국민연금법 제114조 제1항에 따라 수급권자의 제3자에 대한 손해배상청구권을 대위하는 경우 그 대위의 범위이다.

나. 국민연금법에 따라 장애연금을 지급받은 피해자가 가해자를 상대로 손해배상을 청구할 때, 그 손해 발생에 피해자의 과실이 경합된 경우 손해배상액을 산정함에 있어 ① 피해자의 손해액을 산정한 다음 여기에 과실상계를 하여 가해자의 손해배상액을 정하고 그 손해배상액에서 연금급여 전액을 공제하는 방식(‘과실상계 후 공제’ 방식)을 따라야 하는지, ② 피해자의 손해액에서 공단의 연금급여 전액을 공제한 다음 과실상계를 하는 방식(‘공제 후 과실상계’ 방식)을 따라야 하는지 문제 된다. 그중 어느 방식을 따르는지에 따라 피해자의 가해자에 대한 손해배상청구권 중 공단이 대위할 수 있는 범위가 ‘연금급여 전액’인지, ‘연금급여 중 가해자의 책임비율에 해당하는 금액’으로 제한되는지 결정된다.

3. 쟁점에 관한 판단

가. 종래 대법원은 국민연금법에 따라 장애연금 또는 유족연금을 받은 피해자가 가해자에 대하여 손해배상청구를 할 경우 그 손해 발생에 피해자의 과실이 경합된 때에는 먼저 산정된 손해액에 과실상계를 한 다음 거기에서 연금급여를 공제하여야 하고, 공단이 불법행위로 인한 피해자에게 연금급여를 한 후 피해자의 가해자에 대한 손해배상청구권을 대위하는 경우 그 대위의 범위는 손해배상청구권의 범위 내에서 연금급여를 한 전액이라고 판단하여 왔다(‘과실상계 후 공제’ 방식. 대법원 2007. 7. 27. 선고 2007다10245 판결, 대법원 2011. 5. 13. 선고 2009다100920 판결 등).

나. 그러나 공단의 손해배상청구권 대위를 인정한 국민연금법 제114조 제1항의 문언과 입법 취지, 국민연금의 목적과 사회보장적 성격, 불법행위가 없었을 경우 연금급여 수급권자가 누릴 수 있는 이익 및 법적 지위와의 균형, 수급권자와 공단 사이의 이익형량, 연금급여 수급권의 성격, 국민건강보험법 및 산업재해보상보험법 규정의 해석에 관한 판례 변경 등을 종합하여 보면, 국민연금법에 따라 연금급여를 받은 피해자가 가해자를 상대로 손해배상청구를 할 경우 그 손해 발생에 피해자의 과실이 경합된 때에는 피해자의 손해액에서 먼저 연금급여액을 공제한 다음 과실상계를 하는 ‘공제 후 과실상계’ 방식으로 손해배상액을 산정하여야 하고, 공단이 불법행위의 피해자에게 연금급여를 한 다음 국민연금법 제114조 제1항에 따라 피해자의 가해자에 대한 손해배상청구권을 대위하는 경우 그 대위의 범위는 가해자의 손해배상액을 한도로 한 연금급여액 전액이 아니라 그중 가해자의 책임비율에 해당하는 금액으로 제한되며, 나머지 금액(연금급여액 중 피해자의 과실비율에 해당하는 금액)에 대해서는 피해자를 대위할 수 없으므로 이 부분은 연금급여 수급 후에도 여전히 손해를 전보받지 못한 피해자를 위해 공단이 최종적으로 부담한다고 보아야 한다. 그 상세한 이유는 다음과 같다.

1) 국민연금법 제114조 제1항은 공단이 제3자의 행위로 장애연금이나 유족연금 지급사유가 발생하여 피해자에게 연금급여를 한 경우 ‘그 급여액의 범위에서’ 가해자인 제3자에 대한 손해배상청구권을 대위한다고 규정하여, 공단이 대위할 수 있는 손해배상청구권의 한도를 정하고 있을 뿐 구체적으로 대위할 수 있는 범위를 특정하고 있지 않다. 이 사건에서처럼 과실상계 등의 사유로 피해자의 가해자에 대한 손해배상청구권이 제한되는 경우에 공단이 연금급여액 전액에 대해서 피해자의 손해배상청구권을 대위할 수 있는지에 관하여도 명시하고 있지 않다.

이와 같이 국민연금법 제114조 제1항의 문언만으로는 공단이 대위할 수 있는 범위가 명확하지 않으므로, 위 규정에 따라 공단이 피해자를 대위할 수 있는 손해배상액을 반드시 종전 대법원 판례와 같이 공단이 부담한 연금급여액 ‘전액’으로 보아야 하는 것은 아니다. 연금급여액 중 공단이 대위하는 금액을 어떤 기준에 따라 산정할 것인지는 국민연금법이나 위 개별 규정의 입법 취지와 목적, 연금급여 수급권의 성격, 법질서 전체와의 조화나 형평의 관념 등을 종합적으로 고려하여 법원이 합리적으로 결정할 수 있다.

2) 국민연금법은 국민의 노령, 장애 또는 사망에 대하여 연금급여를 실시함으로써 국민의 생활 안정과 복지 증진에 이바지하는 것을 목적으로 한다(제1조). 국민연금 제도는 가입자가 납부하는 연금보험료 등을 재원으로 하여, 국민에게 발생하는 사회적 위험을 보험 방식으로 대처함으로써 국민의 소득 등을 보장하는 사회보험 제도로서(사회보장기본법 제3조 제1호, 제2호), 국민이 인간다운 생활을 할 수 있도록 최저생활을 보장하기 위해 국가가 마련한 사회보장의 일환이다. 국민연금법에 따른 연금급여는 국가가 보험자의 입장에서 수급권자의 노령, 장애에 따른 소득상실, 사망에 따른 부양상실을 전보하는 성격을 가진다.

국민연금법은 가입자 또는 가입자였던 자가 고의로 질병·부상 또는 그 원인이 되는 사고를 일으켜 그로 인하여 장애를 입은 경우에 장애연금을 지급하지 아니할 수 있다고 규정하여(제82조 제1항), 연금급여 지급 여부에 관한 공단의 재량을 인정하고 있다. 이는 연금급여 지급사유 발생에 가입자의 책임이 있더라도 그 정도가 크지 않아 사회보험의 공공성에 반하지 않는 경우에는 연금급여를 함으로써 국민연금의 보호로부터 배제되지 않도록 하여 사회보장 제도로서의 목적을 달성하기 위한 것이다.

이와 같은 국민연금법의 입법 목적과 국민연금 제도의 사회보장적 성격은 국민연금법 제114조 제1항에 따른 대위의 범위를 판단할 때에도 충분히 고려되어야 한다.

3) 피해자가 불법행위를 당하여 장애 등을 입었을 때에 가해자를 상대로 손해배상을 청구할 수 있는 권리는 과실책임주의를 근간으로 하는 것이므로, 사회보장적 성격을 지닌 장애연금 수급권과 법적 성격을 달리한다. 다만 그 둘 모두 피해자(수급권자)의 손해를 전보하는 기능을 담당하므로, 국민연금법 제114조 제1항은 연금급여를 받은 피해자가 다시 가해자로부터 손해배상을 받음으로써 이중의 이익을 얻거나 피해자의 연금급여 수급으로 인하여 가해자가 손해배상책임을 면탈하는 것을 방지하기 위한 조정 규정이다.

손해 발생에 피해자의 과실이나 기왕증 등이 경합된 경우 가해자는 과실상계 등에 따라 제한된 범위에서 손해배상책임을 진다. 이때 연금급여를 한 공단이 피해자의 손해배상청구권을 얼마만큼 대위할 수 있는지에 따라 ‘피해자가 전보받지 못하고 남는 손해액’이 달라진다. 종전 대법원 판례와 같이 공단의 대위 범위를 공단이 부담한 연금급여액 전액이라고 보면 피해자가 전보받지 못하는 손해액이 가장 많아지고, 공단의 대위 범위를 줄이면 그만큼 피해자가 전보받지 못하는 손해액이 적어진다.

그런데 공단이 피해자를 대위할 수 있는 범위를 피해자에게 가장 유리하게 해석하더라도 피해자로서는 연금급여 수급 후 남아 있는 손해의 범위에서만 가해자를 상대로 손해배상을 청구할 수 있고 가해자의 나머지 손해배상액에 대하여는 공단이 대위권을 행사할 수 있으므로, 피해자의 이중 이익이나 가해자의 손해배상책임 면탈 문제는 발생하지 않는다. 따라서 국민연금법 제114조 제1항이 공단에 손해배상청구권의 대위를 인정한 취지로부터 피해자에게 가장 불리한 ‘과실상계 후 공제’ 방식의 결론이 당연히 도출되는 것은 아니다.

한편 국민연금법 제114조 제1항에는 공단의 연금재정을 확보하려는 취지도 포함되어 있고, 공단이 피해자를 대위할 수 있는 범위를 늘릴수록 연금재정 확보에 도움이 되는 것은 사실이다. 그러나 앞서 본 국민연금법의 입법 목적과 국민연금 제도의 사회보장적 성격에 비추어 보면, 연금재정의 확보가 수급권자인 피해자의 이익보다 반드시 우선적으로 고려되어야 할 사항이라고 볼 수 없으므로, 연금재정 확보를 위하여 국민연금법 제114조 제1항을 공단에 가장 유리하고 피해자에게 가장 불리하게 해석하는 것은 정당화될 수 없다.

4) 불법행위가 없었을 경우 수급권자가 누릴 수 있는 연금급여 수급의 이익 및 그에 따른 법적 지위와의 균형이나 수급권자와 공단 사이의 이익형량을 고려하면 공단의 대위 범위를 합리적으로 제한할 필요가 있다.

앞서 본 것처럼 국민연금법은 연금급여 수급권자의 고의에 따른 행위로 장애가 발생한 경우라도 공단의 부담으로 수급권자의 손해를 전보할 수 있도록 연금급여 지급 여부에 관하여 재량을 인정하고 있다. 따라서 사고가 제3자의 관여 없이 수급권자의 전적인 과실로 일어난 경우 수급권자는 연금급여 수급의 이익을 누릴 수 있고, 그 결과 공단이 부담하는 장애연금만큼은 일실수입 손해를 전보받을 수 있다. 그렇다면 손해가 제3자의 불법행위와 수급권자의 과실이 경합하여 발생한 경우 적어도 ‘연금급여액 중 수급권자의 과실비율에 해당하는 금액’만큼은 보험자인 공단이 수급권자를 위해 부담해야 할 비용이자 수급권자가 정당하게 누릴 수 있는 이익이라고 보는 것이 합리적이다. 연금급여액 중 가해자의 책임비율에 해당하는 금액은 본래 가해자가 부담해야 할 부분을 공단이 대신 지급한 것과 같으므로 그 부분은 공단이 피해자(수급권자)를 대위하여 가해자에게 구상할 수 있지만, 이를 넘어 피해자의 과실비율에 해당하는 금액까지 공단이 대위할 수 있다고 보는 것은 실질적으로 공단이 피해자를 위해 부담해야 할 부분을 피해자에게 떠넘기는 결과가 된다. 이 점에서도 가해자의 피해자에 대한 손해배상액을 산정할 때에는 먼저 손해액에서 연금급여액을 공제한 다음 과실상계를 하는 ‘공제 후 과실상계’ 방식에 따르는 것이 타당하고, 국민연금법 제114조 제1항에 따른 공단의 대위 범위는 연금급여액 전액이 아니라 그중 가해자의 책임비율에 해당하는 금액으로 제한된다고 보아야 한다.

5) 국민연금의 재정은 공단의 관리·운영비 등에 관하여 국고 지원을 받지만 기금의 대부분은 가입자가 납부하는 연금보험료로 형성된다. 따라서 연금급여 수급권은 연금보험료에 대한 반대급부의 성격을 지니고, 보험사고로 초래되는 가입자의 재산상 부담을 전보해 주는 경제적 유용성도 지니므로 재산권의 성격을 가진다.

한편 국민연금 제도는 사회보험으로서 소득재분배 기능도 수행한다. 국민연금법은 연금 가입을 강제하고, 개인별 연금보험료를 사고 발생률이나 연금급여의 다과가 아니라 가입자의 소득에 연동하여 정하며, 가입자가 납부한 연금보험료에 반드시 비례하여 연금급여를 지급하지도 않는다. 이에 더하여 연금재정이 일부 국고 지원을 받는 점까지 고려하면, 연금급여가 연금보험료와 단순 대가관계에 있다고 보기는 어렵다.

국민연금법 제114조 제1항에 따라 공단이 피해자를 대위할 수 있는 범위를 정할 때에는 위와 같은 연금급여 수급권의 성격을 두루 고려해야 한다. 종전 대법원 판례와 같이 공단의 대위 범위를 피해자에게 가장 불리하게 해석하는 것은 가입자의 재산권인 연금급여 수급권을 과도하게 제한하여 부당하다. 연금급여 수급권의 다양한 성격을 고려하면, 공단이 피해자를 대위할 수 있는 범위는 연금급여액 중 가해자의 책임비율 부분으로 제한되고, 피해자의 과실비율 부분만큼은 피해자가 연금급여 수급의 이익을 누릴 수 있다고 보는 것이 공평의 원칙에 부합하고 서로 충돌하는 이해관계를 가장 조화롭게 해결하는 방법이다.

6) 대법원 2021. 3. 18. 선고 2018다287935 전원합의체 판결은, 국민건강보험법에 따라 국민건강보험공단으로부터 보험급여를 받은 피해자가 가해자를 상대로 손해배상청구를 할 경우 그 손해 발생에 피해자의 과실이 경합된 때 기왕치료비와 관련한 손해배상액은 전체 기왕치료비 손해액에서 먼저 공단부담금을 공제한 다음 과실상계를 하는 방식으로 산정하여야 하고, 국민건강보험공단이 불법행위의 피해자에게 보험급여를 한 다음 피해자의 가해자에 대한 기왕치료비 손해배상채권을 대위하는 경우 그 대위의 범위는 가해자의 손해배상액을 한도로 한 공단부담금 전액이 아니라 그중 가해자의 책임비율에 해당하는 금액으로 제한되고 나머지 금액(공단부담금 중 피해자의 과실비율에 해당하는 금액)에 대해서는 피해자를 대위할 수 없다고 하여 종전의 판례를 변경하였다.

또한 대법원 2022. 3. 24. 선고 2021다241618 전원합의체 판결은, 산업재해보상보험법에 따라 근로복지공단으로부터 보험급여를 받은 재해근로자가 제3자를 상대로 손해배상을 청구할 때 그 손해 발생에 재해근로자의 과실이 경합된 경우의 손해배상액 산정 방식 및 근로복지공단이 재해근로자에게 보험급여를 한 다음 재해근로자의 제3자에 대한 손해배상청구권을 대위할 수 있는 범위에 관하여 위 국민건강보험 관련 전원합의체 판결과 같은 취지로 종전의 판례를 변경하였다.

국민건강보험과 산업재해보상보험 및 국민연금은 모두 사회보장적 성격을 가지는 사회보험 제도이므로, 제3자의 행위로 보험급여 또는 연금급여 지급사유가 발생하여 그 급여가 지급되고 그 손해 발생에 피해자의 과실이 경합된 경우에 제3자가 부담하는 손해배상액 산정 방식이나 공단의 대위 범위를 판단함에 있어서는 법질서 내에서 통일된 해석을 할 필요가 있다.

4. 판례의 변경

이와 달리 국민연금법에 따라 장애연금 또는 유족연금을 받은 피해자가 가해자에 대하여 손해배상청구를 할 경우 그 손해 발생에 피해자의 과실이 경합된 때(기왕증이 경합된 때에도 동일하다)에는 먼저 그 손해액에 과실상계 등을 한 다음 거기에서 연금급여액 전액을 공제하여야 하고, 공제되는 연금급여에 대하여는 다시 과실상계 등을 할 수 없으며, 공단이 불법행위로 인한 피해자에게 연금급여를 한 후 피해자의 가해자에 대한 손해배상청구권을 대위하는 경우 그 대위의 범위는 손해배상액을 한도로 한 연금급여액 전액이라고 판단한 대법원 2007. 7. 27. 선고 2007다10245 판결, 대법원 2011. 5. 13. 선고 2009다100920 판결을 비롯하여 그와 같은 취지의 대법원판결은 이 판결의 견해에 배치되는 범위에서 이를 모두 변경하기로 한다.

5. 이 사건에 관한 판단

앞서 살펴본 사실관계에 이러한 법리를 적용하면, 원고승계참가인이 불법행위의 피해자인 원고에게 장애연금을 지급한 다음 국민연금법 제114조 제1항에 따라 원고의 가해자에 대한 손해배상청구권을 대위하는 경우, 그 대위의 범위는 장애연금 급여액 26,537,850원 중 가해자의 책임비율(60%)에 해당하는 15,922,710원(= 26,537,850원 × 60%)으로 제한되고, 나머지 10,615,140원(연금급여액 중 원고의 과실비율에 해당하는 금액)에 대해서는 원고를 대위할 수 없으며 이 부분은 연금급여 수급 후에도 여전히 손해를 전보받지 못한 원고를 위해 원고승계참가인이 최종적으로 부담한다.

이와 같은 취지의 원심판단은 정당하고, 거기에 상고이유 주장과 같이 국민연금법 제114조 제1항에 따른 손해배상청구권의 대위 범위에 관한 법리를 오해하여 판결에 영향을 미친 잘못이 없다.

6. 결론

그러므로 상고를 기각하고 상고비용은 패소자가 부담하도록 하여, 관여 법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법원장 조희대(재판장) 김선수 이동원 노정희 김상환 노태악 이흥구 오경미 오석준 서경환 권영준 엄상필(주심) 신숙희

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2010가합2484 · 대구지법 2011-01-25
Damages (Other)
#2
88가합2897 · 서울민사지법 1989-01-12
Damages (Other)
#3
98가합15904 · 서울지법 남부지원 1999-02-25
Damages (Other)
#4
2022다206384 · 대법원 2022-06-30
Damages (Other)
#5
84가합1100 · 광주지법 1986-08-28
손해배상청구사건

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)