Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 2005두2810

Revocation of Disposition Regarding Determination of Average Wage평균임금결정처분등취소

Decided2007. 04. 26. Court대법원Case reversed and remanded (파기환송) — the Supreme Court sent the case back to the High Court for reconsideration, effectively rejecting the lower court's expansive application of the occupational disease exception rule.
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

This Supreme Court (대법원) ruling addressed how to calculate the average wage (평균임금) for a worker who was diagnosed with an occupational disease more than three months after leaving employment due to the closure of the workplace. The Court held that the period between the worker's retirement and the date of diagnosis must be excluded from the average wage calculation, and that the special exception rule for occupational diseases applies only when necessary to protect the worker. The Court reversed the lower court's decision and remanded the case to the High Court for further proceedings.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA worker who retired due to the closure of the workplace was diagnosed with an occupational disease three months later and sought to have his average wage recalculated using the special exception method.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court ruled that the period between retirement and the diagnosis date must be excluded from the average wage calculation, and that the special exception rule applies only when necessary to protect the worker — not automatically in every post-closure diagnosis case.
  • LessonWhen an occupational disease is diagnosed after retirement, average wage should generally be calculated based only on wages earned while actively employed, and any request to apply the special exception rule must be carefully evaluated on a case-by-case basis.
Issues
  • How should the average wage (평균임금) be calculated for a worker who is diagnosed with an occupational disease after leaving employment?
  • What is the scope of application for the special exception rule governing average wage calculation in occupational disease cases?
  • What standard should be used to calculate average wage when an occupational disease is diagnosed after a workplace has closed down?
Key reasoning

The Supreme Court reasoned that when a worker leaves employment before being diagnosed with an occupational disease, the period from the date of retirement to the date the diagnosis is confirmed should not be included in calculating the average wage, since the worker was no longer earning wages during that time. The special exception rule for occupational disease cases, which allows deviation from the standard average wage calculation method, is meant to apply only in situations where using the ordinary calculation method would fail to adequately protect the worker (e.g., wages have significantly changed or eroded value). It does not automatically apply to every worker diagnosed with an occupational disease after their workplace has closed. Therefore, the lower court erred by assuming that the special exception rule should apply merely because the diagnosis occurred after the business closure, without properly examining whether the standard calculation would have been unfair to the worker.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

[1] Considering the purpose of the average wage system, which is intended to factually reflect the ordinary living wage, and the fact that the grounds for calculating average wages for occupational diseases, etc. arise from work performed during the continuance of the employment relationship, in a case where an occupational disease diagnosis is confirmed for a retired worker and the average wage is calculated with the date of confirmation of the occupational disease diagnosis as the date on which the grounds for calculating average wages arose, and insurance benefits under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) are paid accordingly, the period from the worker's date of retirement until the date on which the grounds for calculating average wages arose, i.e., the date of confirmation of diagnosis, must be excluded from the average wage calculation period. If the period excluded from the average wage calculation period is three months or longer, the average wage must be calculated by deeming the first day of the excluded period to be the date on which the grounds for calculating average wages arose, and the amount so calculated, after undergoing an increase or decrease of the average wage according to the wage fluctuation rate of workers in the same occupation pursuant to Article 38(3) of the former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (before its full amendment by Act No. 8373 on April 11, 2007) and Article 25(1) of the Enforcement Decree of the same Act, must be treated as the average wage that serves as the basis for calculating the worker's insurance benefits.

[2] The purpose of Article 38(5) of the former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (before its full amendment by Act No. 8373 on April 11, 2007), which prescribes the method of calculating average wages for workers suffering from occupational diseases, Article 26(2) of the Enforcement Decree of the same Act, and Article 12(2) of the Enforcement Rule of the same Act, is as follows: in the case of certain occupational diseases such as pneumoconiosis, diagnosis is not easy, and there are instances where a worker continues to perform work without confirming that he or she has contracted pneumoconiosis or another disease due to work; since it would be inadequate for the protection of the worker to calculate the average wage based on the wage amount in such cases where, due to the occupational disease, the worker was unable to properly provide labor and did not properly receive wages, the provisions are intended to allow the wage amount stated in the labor statistics survey report for workers in the same occupation to be used as the worker's average wage instead of the actual average wage, in order to calculate insurance benefits under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act. Article 26(3) of the Enforcement Decree of the same Act is likewise one of the provisions intended to concretely implement Article 38(5) of the former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, which is designed to prevent insurance benefits for workers suffering from occupational diseases from being calculated based on an average wage that has been calculated at a low level due to a decline in wage levels resulting from a decrease in work capacity.

[3] According to the content and purpose of Article 38(5) of the former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (before its full amendment by Act No. 8373 on April 11, 2007), which prescribes the method of calculating average wages for workers suffering from occupational diseases, Article 26(2) of the Enforcement Decree of the same Act, and Article 12(2) of the Enforcement Rule of the same Act, in the case of a worker whose occupational disease diagnosis is confirmed more than three months after retirement due to the closure of the business, the latter amount—namely, the wage amount stated in the labor statistics survey report for workers in the same occupation as of the date of business closure, after undergoing an increase or decrease of the average wage—should be used as the worker's average wage only where the amount obtained by applying the increase or decrease of the average wage to the average wage calculated based on the wage amount received during the three months prior to the date of retirement falls short of the former amount, such that it would be inadequate for the protection of the worker. The above provision should not be applied as a matter of course to all workers whose occupational disease diagnosis is confirmed after the closure of the business, so as to directly use the latter amount as the worker's average wage without comparing the two amounts.

Full text (English, AI translation) 14,132 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellant] Plaintiff
[Defendant, Appellee] Korea Workers' Compensation & Welfare Service
[Judgment below] Seoul High Court Decision 2003Nu20250 decided February 4, 2005

[Order]

The judgment below is reversed, and the case is remanded to the Seoul High Court.

[Reasoning]

The grounds of appeal are examined.

1. Article 42 of the former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) (before its full amendment by Act No. 8373 on April 11, 2007; the same shall apply hereinafter) (currently Article 40) provides that where a worker sustains an injury or contracts a disease due to an occupational cause and, after treatment, is left with a disability in the body, etc., the worker shall be paid a disability compensation pension or disability compensation lump sum in an amount equal to a certain number of days' average wage according to the grade of disability. Article 4 (currently Article 5), item 2 of the same Act provides that "average wage" as used in this Act means the average wage under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법). Meanwhile, Article 19 of the former Labor Standards Act (before its full amendment by Act No. 8372 on April 11, 2007) (currently Article 2(1)6) defines average wage as the amount obtained by dividing the total amount of wages paid to the worker during the three months prior to the date on which the cause for calculation arose by the total number of days in that period. Article 2(1) of the Enforcement Decree of the Labor Standards Act provides that certain periods, such as the period of probationary employment, the period of suspension of business due to a cause attributable to the employer, the period of maternity leave, the period of leave for medical treatment of an occupational injury, and the period of childcare leave, and the wages paid during such periods, shall be excluded from the period and the total amount of wages used as the basis for calculating average wage. The reason for excluding certain periods and the wages paid during such periods from the calculation period and total wage amount for average wage is to ensure that ordinary living standards are guaranteed by accurately reflecting the worker's living wage when calculating various benefits under the Labor Standards Act, the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, etc., based on the average wage.

In light of the purpose of the average wage system, which is to factually reflect the ordinary living wage, and the fact that the cause for calculating average wage, such as an occupational disease, arises from the performance of duties during the existence of the employment relationship, where a retired worker is diagnosed with an occupational disease and, taking the date on which the diagnosis of the occupational disease is confirmed as the date on which the cause for calculating average wage arose (see Article 48 of the Enforcement Decree of the Labor Standards Act), the average wage is calculated and insurance benefits under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act are paid accordingly, the period from the worker's date of retirement to the date on which the cause for calculating average wage arose, i.e., the date the diagnosis was confirmed, must likewise be excluded from the average wage calculation period. Furthermore, if the period excluded from the average wage calculation period is three months or longer, the average wage shall be calculated by treating the first day of the excluded period as the date on which the cause for calculating average wage arose (see Article 4 of the Enforcement Decree of the Labor Standards Act and Article 1(1) of the Ministry of Labor Notice No. 2004-22, Special Cases for Calculation of Average Wage), and the amount so calculated shall be adjusted upward or downward according to the wage fluctuation rate for workers in the same occupation pursuant to Article 38(3) (currently Article 35) of the former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act and Article 25(1) of the Enforcement Decree of the same Act, and the resulting amount shall be used as the average wage serving as the basis for calculating the worker's insurance benefits.

2. Meanwhile, Article 38(5) (currently Article 35) of the former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act provides: "Where, in calculating insurance benefits, it is deemed inappropriate for the protection of a worker who is to receive insurance benefits due to an occupational disease prescribed by Presidential Decree, such as pneumoconiosis, to apply that worker's average wage, the amount calculated according to the method of calculation prescribed by Presidential Decree shall be deemed the average wage of that worker." Pursuant thereto, Article 26(2) of the Enforcement Decree of the same Act and Article 12(2) of the Enforcement Rule of the same Act provide, with respect to the method of calculating average wage in such cases, that the amount shall be calculated by dividing the sum of the monthly wage amounts, as shown in the monthly labor statistics survey report prepared by the Minister of Labor, of workers who are similar in gender and occupation to the worker concerned among workers belonging to a business similar to the business, industry, and scale to which the worker concerned belongs, for the one-year period from the last day of the quarter two quarters prior to the quarter in which the date the occupational disease was confirmed falls, by the number of days in that period. The purpose of this special provision for calculating average wage for workers afflicted with occupational disease is as follows: in the case of certain occupational diseases such as pneumoconiosis, diagnosis is not easy, and there are cases where a worker continues to perform work without the occupational disease such as pneumoconiosis being confirmed even though the worker has in fact contracted the disease due to work; since it would be inappropriate for the protection of the worker to calculate the average wage based on the wage amount actually received in such cases where the worker was unable to properly provide labor and receive wages due to the occupational disease, the purpose of the provision is, in such cases, to use the wage amount shown in the labor statistics survey report for workers of the same occupation, instead of that worker's actual average wage, as the average wage of that worker for the purpose of calculating insurance benefits under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act.

Furthermore, Article 26(3) of the Enforcement Decree of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act provides: "In applying Article 38(5) (currently Article 35) of the Act, where an occupational disease is confirmed after the business to which the worker concerned belonged has been suspended or closed, the wage shall be calculated pursuant to paragraph (2) on the basis of the date of such suspension or closure, and the amount adjusted upward or downward pursuant to Article 25(1) up to the date the occupational disease is confirmed shall be deemed the average wage of the worker concerned." This provision, too, is one of the provisions implementing in concrete form Article 38(5) (currently Article 35) of the former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, which is designed to prevent insurance benefits from being calculated based on an average wage that has been calculated at a low level due to a decline in wage level resulting from a decrease in work capacity, when calculating insurance benefits for a worker afflicted with an occupational disease.

According to the content and purpose of the relevant statutory provisions as described above, for a worker whose occupational disease diagnosis is confirmed three months or more after retirement due to the closure of the business, the wage amount for workers of the same occupation as shown in the labor statistics survey report based on the date of closure of the business, adjusted upward or downward for average wage fluctuations, shall be used as that worker's average wage only where the average wage calculated as described above—that is, the average wage calculated based on the wages received during the three months prior to the date of retirement, adjusted upward or downward for average wage fluctuations—falls short of the wage amount for workers of the same occupation as shown in the labor statistics survey report based on the date of closure of the business, adjusted upward or downward for average wage fluctuations, such that it is inappropriate for the protection of the worker. It should not be the case that the above provision is automatically applied to all workers whose occupational disease diagnosis is confirmed after the closure of the business, and the wage amount for workers of the same occupation as shown in the labor statistics survey report based on the date of closure of the business, adjusted upward or downward for average wage fluctuations, is immediately used as that worker's average wage without comparing the two average wages.

3. According to the reasoning of the judgment below, the following facts are found: the Plaintiff began working as a tunneling worker at a coal mine in 1970, and from July 24, 1994, worked as a tunneling worker at △△ Coal Mine located in ○○-myeon, Nonsan-si; on September 1, 1994, the Plaintiff suffered an occupational injury, sustaining injuries including "herniated disc at C3-4-5-6, contusion of the neck, etc.," and received medical treatment therefor from that date until February 28, 1998; however, the said △△ Coal Mine closed on December 1, 1994, and upon terminating its business on September 16, 1995, paid the Plaintiff retirement pay for the period from the date of hire to September 16, 1995, calculated on the basis of an average wage of KRW 75,440.09; upon completing medical treatment on February 28, 1998, the Plaintiff's symptoms from the aforementioned injury having stabilized, the Plaintiff received a disability compensation lump sum from the Defendant, and in calculating that disability compensation lump sum, the average wage applied to the Plaintiff was KRW 97,089.44; thereafter, on April 29, 2002, the Plaintiff underwent a detailed pneumoconiosis examination and was confirmed to have developed pneumoconiosis, and claimed disability benefits from the Defendant; in response, the Defendant, applying Article 26(3) of the Enforcement Decree of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, determined the average wage to be applied to the Plaintiff as KRW 60,255.12, which is the amount obtained by adjusting KRW 30,942.91—calculated by taking into account, as of the date of closure of the said △△ Coal Mine, the wage amount, as shown in the monthly labor statistics survey report prepared by the Minister of Labor, of a worker similar in gender and occupation to the Plaintiff among workers belonging to a business similar to the business, industry, and scale to which the Plaintiff belonged—upward or downward according to the wage fluctuation rate for the period from the date of closure of the coal mine to the date the pneumoconiosis diagnosis was confirmed, and paid the disability compensation lump sum accordingly.

Given these facts, the Plaintiff, while receiving medical treatment for three months or more due to an occupational injury, retired due to the closure of the business and was thereafter diagnosed with pneumoconiosis. The average wage for calculating the Plaintiff's disability compensation lump sum in this case should be the amount obtained by adjusting, up to the date the pneumoconiosis diagnosis was confirmed, the average wage calculated by treating the first day of the period excluded from the calculation period—that is, the date of the occupational injury—as the date the cause for calculating average wage arose (absent special circumstances, this appears to be the amount obtained by adjusting KRW 75,044.09, the average wage determined at the time retirement pay was paid in September 1995, up to the date the diagnosis was confirmed). Since that amount would be higher than the amount (KRW 60,255.12) obtained by adjusting the wage amount of workers of the same occupation as shown in the labor statistics survey report based on the date of closure of the business up to the date the diagnosis was confirmed, the disability compensation lump sum for the pneumoconiosis in this case should not be calculated for the Plaintiff using the average wage calculated pursuant to Article 26(3) of the Enforcement Decree of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act; rather, the disability compensation lump sum should be calculated using, as the average wage, the amount obtained by adjusting the Plaintiff's average wage as of the date of the occupational injury up to the date the diagnosis was confirmed.

Nevertheless, the court below merely held that, since there were no wages paid to the Plaintiff during the three months prior to the date the pneumoconiosis diagnosis was confirmed, this was a case in which average wage could not be calculated, and therefore the Plaintiff's disability compensation lump sum should be calculated using the amount calculated pursuant to Article 26(3) of the Enforcement Decree of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act. This constitutes an error affecting the judgment by misunderstanding the legal principles concerning the calculation of average wage for a worker whose occupational disease was confirmed after retirement due to the closure of the business, and the legal principles concerning the interpretation and application of Article 38(5) (currently Article 35) of the former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act and Article 26(3) of the Enforcement Decree of the same Act. The ground of appeal pointing this out has merit.

4. Accordingly, the judgment below is reversed, and the case is remanded to the court below for further hearing and determination, by the unanimous opinion of the participating Justices, as set forth in the Order.

Justice Ahn Dae-hee (Presiding Justice), Kim Young-ran, Kim Hwang-sik (Justice in charge), Lee Hong-hoon

【판결요지】

[1] 통상 생활임금을 사실적으로 반영하려는 평균임금 제도의 취지와, 업무상 질병 등의 평균임금 산정 사유는 근로관계 존속 중 수행하였던 업무가 원인이 되어 발생한 것이라는 점 등을 고려하면, 퇴직한 근로자에게 직업병 진단이 확정되어 그 직업병 진단 확정일을 평균임금 산정 사유 발생일로 하여 평균임금을 산정하고 이에 따라 산업재해보상보험법상 보험급여를 지급하는 경우, 그 근로자의 퇴직일 이후 평균임금 산정 사유 발생일, 즉 진단 확정일까지 기간은 평균임금 산정 기간에서 제외하여야 한다. 만일 평균임금 산정 기간에서 제외하는 기간이 3월 이상인 경우에는 그 제외하는 기간의 최초일을 평균임금 산정 사유 발생일로 보아 평균임금을 산정하고, 그와 같이 산정된 금액에서 구 산업재해보상보험법(2007. 4. 11. 법률 제8373호로 전문 개정되기 전의 것) 제38조 제3항, 같은 법 시행령 제25조 제1항의 규정에 따라 동일 직종 근로자의 임금변동률로 평균임금 증감을 거친 금액을 그 근로자의 보험급여 산정 기준이 되는 평균임금으로 하여야 한다.

[2] 직업병에 걸린 근로자에 대한 평균임금 산정 방법을 규정한 구 산업재해보상보험법(2007. 4. 11. 법률 제8373호로 전문 개정되기 전의 것) 제38조 제5항, 같은 법 시행령 제26조 제2항, 같은 법 시행규칙 제12조 제2항의 취지는, 진폐증 등 일정 직업병의 경우 그 진단이 쉽지 않아 근로자가 업무로 말미암아 진폐증 등 질병에 걸렸음에도 이를 확인하지 못하고 업무를 계속 수행하는 때가 있는데 그 직업병 때문에 근로 제공을 제대로 하지 못하고 임금을 제대로 받지 못함에도 그 임금액에 터잡아 평균임금을 산정하는 것은 근로자의 보호에 적당하지 않아, 이러한 경우 그 평균임금 대신 동종 직종 근로자의 노동통계조사보고서상의 임금액을 그 근로자의 평균임금으로 하여 산업재해보상보험법상의 보험급여를 산정하기 위한 것이고, 같은 법 시행령 제26조 제3항 역시 직업병에 걸린 근로자에 대한 보험급여를 산정할 때 업무 능력 저하에 따른 임금 수준의 하락으로 말미암아 낮게 산정된 평균임금으로 보험급여가 산정되는 것을 막기 위한 구 산업재해보상보험법 제38조 제5항을 구체적으로 시행하기 위한 규정 중 하나이다.

[3] 직업병에 걸린 근로자의 평균임금 산정 방법을 규정한 구 산업재해보상보험법(2007. 4. 11. 법률 제8373호로 전문 개정되기 전의 것) 제38조 제5항, 같은 법 시행령 제26조 제2항, 같은 법 시행규칙 제12조 제2항의 규정 내용과 그 취지에 따르면, 사업이 폐업하여 퇴직한 때로부터 3월 이후에 직업병 진단이 확정된 근로자의 경우에, 퇴직일 전 3월 동안 받은 임금액을 기초로 산정한 평균임금에 평균임금 증감을 거친 금액이 폐업일 기준 노동통계조사보고서상 동종 직종 근로자 임금액에 평균임금 증감을 거친 금액에 미치지 못하여 근로자 보호에 적당하지 않는 때에 한하여 후자의 금액을 그 근로자의 평균임금으로 하여야 하지, 사업의 폐업 후 직업병 진단이 확정된 모든 근로자에게 위 규정을 당연히 적용하여 그 양자의 평균임금을 비교함이 없이 곧바로 후자의 금액을 그 근로자의 평균임금으로 하여서는 아니 된다.

【참조조문】

[1] 구 산업재해보상보험법(2007. 4. 11. 법률 제8373호로 전문 개정되기 전의 것) 제4조(현행 제5조) 제2호, 제38조(현행 제35조 참조), 제42조(현행 제40조), 산업재해보상보험법 시행령 제25조 제1항, 구 근로기준법(2007. 4. 11. 법률 제8372호로 전문 개정되기 전의 것) 제19조(현행 제2조 제1항 제6호 참조), 근로기준법 시행령 제2조 제1항, 제48조

[2] 구 산업재해보상보험법(2007. 4. 11. 법률 제8373호로 전문 개정되기 전의 것) 제38조 제5항(현행 제35조 제5항 참조), 산업재해보상보험법 시행령 제26조 제2항, 산업재해보상보험법 시행규칙 제12조 제2항

[3] 구 산업재해보상보험법(2007. 4. 11. 법률 제8373호로 전문 개정되기 전의 것) 제38조 제5항(현행 제35조 제5항 참조), 산업재해보상보험법 시행령 제26조 제2항, 산업재해보상보험법 시행규칙 제12조 제2항

【주문】·【이유】 전문 4,840자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 상고인】 원고

【피고, 피상고인】 근로복지공단

【원심판결】 서울고법 2005. 2. 4. 선고 2003누20250 판결

【주 문】

원심판결을 파기하고, 사건을 서울고등법원에 환송한다.

【이 유】상고이유를 본다.

1. 구 산업재해보상보험법(2007. 4. 11. 법률 제8373호로 전문 개정되기 전의 것, 아래에서도 같다) 제42조(현행 제40조)는 근로자가 업무상의 사유로 부상을 당하거나 질병에 걸려 치유 후 신체 등에 장해가 있는 경우 당해 근로자에게 장해등급에 따라 일정한 일수의 평균임금을 장해보상연금 또는 장해보상일시금으로 지급한다고 규정하고, 같은 법 제4조(현행 제5조) 제2호는 이 법에서 말하는 평균임금은 근로기준법에 의한 평균임금을 말한다고 규정하고 있다. 그리고 구 근로기준법(2007. 4. 11. 법률 제8372호로 전문 개정되기 전의 것) 제19조(현행 제2조 제1항 제6호)는 평균임금을, 그 산정 사유 발생일 이전 3월간에 그 근로자에게 지급된 임금의 총액을 그 기간의 총일수로 나눈 금액이라고 정의하고 있는데, 근로기준법 시행령 제2조 제1항은 수습(修習) 사용 중의 기간, 사용자의 귀책사유로 인하여 휴업한 기간, 산전·산후 휴가기간, 업무상 재해를 입고 그 요양을 위하여 휴업한 기간, 육아휴직기간 등 일정한 기간과 그 기간 중에 지급된 임금을 평균임금 산정 기준이 되는 기간과 임금 총액에서 제외한다고 규정하고 있다. 이와 같이 일정 기간과 그 기간 중 지급된 임금을 평균임금 산정 기간과 임금 총액에서 제외하는 이유는, 평균임금을 기준으로 근로기준법, 산업재해보상보험법 등의 각종 급여를 산정하면서 그 근로자의 생활임금을 사실대로 반영함으로써 통상적인 생활 수준을 보장하기 위한 것이다.

이러한 통상 생활임금의 사실적 반영이라는 평균임금 제도의 취지와, 업무상 질병 등과 같은 평균임금 산정 사유는 근로관계 존속 당시 업무 수행중 업무가 원인이 되어 발생한 것이라는 점 등을 고려하면, 퇴직한 근로자에게 직업병 진단이 확정되어 그 직업병 진단 확정일을 평균임금 산정 사유 발생일로 하여(근로기준법 시행령 제48조 참조) 평균임금을 산정하고 이에 따라 산업재해보상보험법상 보험급여를 지급하는 경우, 그 근로자의 퇴직일 이후 평균임금 산정 사유 발생일, 즉 진단 확정일까지 기간 역시 평균임금 산정 기간에서 제외하여야 한다. 그리고 만일 평균임금 산정 기간에서 제외되는 기간이 3월 이상인 경우에는 그 제외되는 기간의 최초일을 평균임금 산정 사유 발생일로 보아 평균임금을 산정하고(근로기준법 시행령 제4조, 노동부 고시 제2004-22호 평균임금 산정 특례 고시 제1조 제1항 참조), 그와 같이 산정된 금액에서 구 산업재해보상보험법 제38조(현행 제35조) 제3항, 같은 법 시행령 제25조 제1항의 규정에 따라 동일 직종 근로자의 임금변동률로 평균임금 증감을 거친 금액을 그 근로자의 보험급여 산정 기준이 되는 평균임금으로 하여야 할 것이다.

2. 한편, 구 산업재해보상보험법 제38조(현행 제35조) 제5항은 "보험급여 산정에 있어서 진폐 등 대통령령이 정하는 직업병으로 인하여 보험급여를 받게 되는 근로자에게 그 평균임금을 적용하는 것이 근로자의 보호에 적당하지 아니하다고 인정되는 경우에는 대통령령이 정하는 산정방법에 따라 산정한 금액을 당해 근로자의 평균임금으로 한다."고 규정하고 있고, 이에 따라 마련된 같은 법 시행령 제26조 제2항과 같은 법 시행규칙 제12조 제2항은 그 경우 평균임금 산정 방법에 관하여, 노동부장관이 작성하는 월별 노동통계조사보고서상의 임금 중 직업병으로 확인된 날이 속하는 분기의 전전분기 말일부터 이전 1년간 당해 근로자가 소속한 사업과 업종 및 규모가 유사한 사업에 소속한 근로자 중 당해 근로자와 성별 및 직종이 유사한 근로자의 월 임금의 총액을 합산한 금액을 그 기간의 일수로 나누어 산정한다고 규정하고 있는바, 이와 같은 직업병 이환 근로자에 대한 평균임금 산정 특례 규정의 취지는, 진폐증 등 일정 직업병의 경우 그 진단이 쉽지 않아 근로자가 업무로 말미암아 진폐증 등 질병에 걸렸음에도 이를 확인하지 못하고 업무를 계속 수행하는 때가 있는데 그 직업병 때문에 근로 제공을 제대로 하지 못하고 임금을 제대로 받지 못함에도 그 임금액에 터잡아 평균임금을 산정하는 것은 근로자의 보호에 적당하지 않아, 이러한 경우 그 평균임금 대신 동종 직종 근로자의 노동통계조사보고서상의 임금액을 그 근로자의 평균임금으로 하여 산업재해보상보험법상의 보험급여를 산정하기 위한 것이다.

나아가 산업재해보상보험법 시행령 제26조 제3항은, "법 제38조(현행 제35조) 제5항의 규정을 적용함에 있어서 당해 근로자가 소속한 사업이 휴업 또는 폐업한 후 직업병이 확인된 경우에는 그 사업이 휴업 또는 폐업한 날을 기준으로 제2항의 규정에 의하여 임금을 산정하되, 직업병으로 확인된 날까지 제25조 제1항의 규정에 의하여 증감된 금액을 당해 근로자의 평균임금으로 본다."고 규정하고 있는바, 이 규정 역시 직업병에 걸린 근로자에 대한 보험급여를 산정할 때 업무 능력 저하에 따른 임금 수준의 하락으로 말미암아 낮게 산정된 평균임금으로 보험급여가 산정되는 것을 막기 위한 구 산업재해보상보험법 제38조(현행 제35조) 제5항을 구체적으로 시행하기 위한 규정 중 하나이다.

이러한 관계 법령의 규정 내용과 그 취지에 따르면, 사업이 폐업하여 퇴직한 때로부터 3월 이후에 직업병 진단이 확정된 근로자에 대하여는 앞서 본 바와 같이 산정되는 평균임금, 즉 퇴직일 이전 3월 동안 받은 임금액을 기초로 산정한 평균임금에 평균임금 증감을 거친 금액이, 사업의 폐업일 기준 노동통계조사보고서상 동종 직종 근로자 임금액에 평균임금 증감을 거친 금액에 미치지 못하여 근로자 보호에 적당하지 않는 경우에 한하여 폐업일 기준 노동통계조사보고서상 동종 직종 근로자 임금액에 평균임금 증감을 거친 금액을 그 근로자의 평균임금으로 하여야 하지, 사업의 폐업 후 직업병 진단이 확정된 모든 근로자에게 위 규정을 당연히 적용하여 그 양자의 평균임금을 비교함이 없이 곧바로 폐업일 기준 노동통계조사보고서상 동일 직종 근로자 임금액에 평균임금 증감을 거친 금액을 그 근로자의 평균임금으로 하여서는 아니 된다.

3. 원심판결 이유에 따르면, 원고는 1970년부터 탄광에서 굴진부로 일하기 시작하였고, 1994. 7. 24.부터는 논산시 ○○면에 있는 △△탄광에서 굴진부로 일하였는데, 1994. 9. 1. 업무상 재해를 당하여 ‘제3-4-5-6경추간 추간판탈출증, 경부 등 좌상’ 등의 상해를 입고 그 때부터 1998. 2. 28.까지 요양을 받은 사실, 그런데 위 △△탄광은 1994. 12. 1. 폐업하여 1995. 9. 16. 업무를 종결하면서 원고에게, 평균임금을 75,440.09원으로 하여 입사일부터 1995. 9. 16.까지 기간에 대한 퇴직금을 지급한 사실, 원고는 1998. 2. 28. 요양을 마치고 위와 같이 입은 부상에 대한 증상이 고정되어 피고로부터 장해보상일시금을 받았는데, 그 장해보상일시금을 산정하면서 원고에게 적용된 평균임금은 97,089.44원인 사실, 그 후 원고는 2002. 4. 29. 진폐정밀검진을 받고 진폐증이 발생되었다고 확정되어 피고에게 장해급여를 청구하였는데, 이에 대하여 피고는 산업재해보상보험법 시행령 제26조 제3항을 적용하여 위 △△탄광의 폐업일을 기준으로 노동부장관이 작성한 월별 노동통계조사보고서상 원고가 소속한 사업과 업종 및 규모가 비슷한 사업에 소속한 근로자 중 원고와 성별 및 직종이 비슷한 근로자의 임금액을 고려하여 산정한 임금인 30,942.91원에 탄광 폐업일부터 진폐증 진단 확정일까지 기간에 대하여 임금변동률에 따른 평균임금 증감을 한 금액인 60,255.12원을 원고에게 적용할 평균임금으로 정하여 장해보상일시금을 지급한 사실을 알 수 있다.

사실이 이와 같다면, 원고는 업무상 재해로 3월 이상 요양을 받고 있던 중 사업의 폐업으로 인하여 퇴직한 후 진폐증 진단을 받았는바, 이러한 원고의 이 사건 장해보상일시금 산정을 위한 평균임금은, 그 산정 기간에서 제외되는 기간의 최초일, 즉 업무상 재해일을 평균임금 산정 사유 발생일로 보아 산정한 평균임금에서 진폐증 진단 확정일까지 평균임금 증감을 거친 금액(특별한 사정이 없는 한 1995년 9월 퇴직금 지급 당시 정해진 평균임금 75,044.09원에서 진단 확정일까지 평균임금 증감을 거친 금액이 될 것으로 보인다)이 되는데, 그 금액은 사업의 폐업일을 기준으로 노동통계조사보고서상 동종 직종 근로자의 임금액에 진단 확정일까지 평균임금 증감을 거친 금액(60,255.12원)보다 높은 금액일 것이므로, 원고에 대하여는 산업재해보상보험법 시행령 제26조 제3항에 따라 산정된 금액을 평균임금으로 하여 이 사건 진폐증에 대한 장해보상일시금을 산정하여서는 아니되고, 업무상 재해일 당시 원고의 평균임금에 진단 확정일까지 평균임금 증감을 거친 금액을 평균임금으로 하여 장해보상일시금을 산정하여야 한다.

그럼에도 불구하고 원심은, 원고가 진폐증 진단 확정일 이전 3월 동안 지급된 임금이 없어 평균임금을 산정할 수 없는 경우에 해당하므로 산업재해보상보험법 시행령 제26조 제3항에 따라 산정된 금액으로 원고의 장해보상일시금을 산정하여야 한다고 하고 말았으니, 이는 사업의 폐업으로 퇴직한 후 직업병이 확정된 근로자에 대한 평균임금 산정에 관한 법리와 구 산업재해보상보험법 제38조(현행 제35조) 제5항, 같은 법 시행령 제26조 제3항의 해석·적용에 관한 법리를 오해하여 판결에 영향을 미친 잘못이 있다. 이 점을 지적하는 상고이유 주장은 이유 있다.

4. 그러므로 원심판결을 파기하고, 사건을 다시 심리·판단하게 하기 위하여 사건을 원심법원에 환송하기로 하여 관여 대법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 안대희(재판장) 김영란 김황식(주심) 이홍훈

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2010누30453 · 서울고등법원 0001-01-01
평균임금정정및휴업급여차액부지급처분취소
#2
2007구합3026 · 울산지방법원 0001-01-01
평균임금결정처분취소
#3
2010구단1043 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
평균임금정정신청및보험급여청구서부지급처분취소
#4
2011구단31638 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Correction of Average Wage
#5
2022구단62003 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
평균임금정정불승인및보헙급여차액부지급처분취소

Cases citing this decision

2018두60380 · 대법원 2023-06-01
Revocation of Disapproval of Average Wage Correction and Non
2010두20690 · 대법원 2012-08-23
Revocation of Disposition Denying Correction of Average Wage
2011두2545 · 대법원 2012-01-12
평균임금정정및보험급여차액부지급처분취소
2007두10945 · 대법원 2008-12-24
휴업급여청구에대한반려처분취소

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)