Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 2023다297141

Damages for Industrial Accident (손해배상(산)) [Case where an injured worker who received industrial accident insurance benefits (산재보험금) claims the employer for the remaining amount of damages]손해배상(산)[업무상 재해를 당하여 산재보험금을 지급받은 재해근로자가 사업주를 상대로 잔여 손해액의 배상을 청구하는 사건]

Decided2025. 06. 26. Court대법원Case reversed and remanded (worker's position on calculation method upheld)
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

This case addresses how to calculate damages when a worker, who suffered an industrial accident due to the employer's failure to take safety measures and received disability benefits (장해급여) from the Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service (공단), seeks additional compensation from the employer. The Supreme Court held that even where the worker was partially at fault, the 'comparative negligence after deduction' method (공제 후 과실상계) — deducting insurance benefits from the total damages first, then applying comparative negligence — must be used. Finding that the lower court applied an incorrect calculation method, the Supreme Court reversed and remanded the case.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA worker injured due to the employer's safety violations received disability benefits from the industrial accident insurance fund and then sued the employer for additional damages.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court ruled that insurance benefits must be deducted from total damages before applying comparative negligence, rather than the reverse order used by the lower court.
  • LessonEmployers and workers should understand that receiving industrial accident insurance benefits does not fully offset the employer's liability, even when the worker shares some fault.
Issues
  • How should the amount of damages be calculated when an injured worker who has received industrial accident insurance benefits seeks compensation from the employer?
  • Should the 'comparative negligence after deduction' method be applied when the worker's own negligence contributed to the accident?
Key reasoning

Under Article 80(2) of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산재보험법) and considering the social security nature of the industrial accident insurance system, the portion of insurance benefits corresponding to the worker's own fault ratio is ultimately borne by the Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service, not the employer. Therefore, even when the worker's negligence is a contributing factor, the employer's liability for damages is not reduced by the full amount of the insurance benefits received. Instead, damages must be calculated using the 'deduct first, then apply comparative negligence' method, ensuring the employer is not unfairly relieved of liability beyond what is justified by the social insurance scheme's purpose.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

Considering the language and legislative purpose of Article 80(2) of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법), the purpose and social security character of the industrial accident compensation insurance (hereinafter “industrial accident insurance”) system, and the balance of interests among the injured worker (including bereaved family members and other beneficiaries of insurance benefits), the Korea Workers’ Compensation and Welfare Service (근로복지공단, hereinafter the “Service”), and the tortfeasor, the following conclusion may be drawn: where an injured worker claims damages against an employer who is subscribed to industrial accident insurance, on the ground of a joint tort committed by the subscribing employer and a third party, and the worker’s own negligence has contributed to the occurrence of the damage, the portion of the insurance benefits paid by the Service to the injured worker that corresponds to the worker’s comparative negligence ratio is ultimately borne by the Service on behalf of the injured worker. Therefore, it cannot be said that the employer’s liability for damages to the injured worker is as a matter of course exempted to the full extent of the insurance benefits paid by the Service. Accordingly, the amount of the injured worker’s claim for damages must be calculated using the method of “comparative negligence offset after deduction,” whereby the insurance benefits are first deducted from the amount of damages of the same nature as the insurance benefits, and comparative negligence is then applied. Even where a worker suffers an industrial accident due to the tort of the employer subscribed to industrial accident insurance without the intervention of a third party, and the worker’s own negligence has contributed to the occurrence of the damage, there is no difference in that the Service ultimately bears, on behalf of the injured worker, the portion of the insurance benefits corresponding to the worker’s comparative negligence ratio; therefore, in such a case as well, the amount of the injured worker’s claim for damages must be calculated using the same “comparative negligence offset after deduction” method.

Full text (English, AI translation) 8,770 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellant] Plaintiff (Attorneys Kim Jeong-han and 2 others, Counsel for the plaintiff)
[Defendant, Appellee] ○○ Co., Ltd.
[Judgment Below] Seoul Central District Court Decision 2023Na20869 rendered on October 20, 2023

[Order]

The part of the judgment below concerning the plaintiff's loss, corresponding to the claim for damages equivalent to lost income in the amount of KRW 8,200,000 and the delay damages thereon, is reversed, and this part of the case is remanded to the Seoul Central District Court.

[Reasoning] The grounds of appeal are examined.

1. Overview of the case
According to the reasoning of the judgment below and the case record, the following facts may be known.
A. The Plaintiff is a worker employed by the Defendant, a construction company, and the Defendant is a business owner who enrolled the Plaintiff in industrial accident compensation insurance (hereinafter referred to as “industrial accident insurance”) pursuant to the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법, hereinafter referred to as the “Industrial Accident Insurance Act”).
B. At around 10:00 on June 24, 2021, while the Plaintiff was cutting plywood with a grinder at the Defendant's construction site (name of construction omitted), the grinder blade bounced back and struck the Plaintiff's wrist, causing the Plaintiff to suffer multiple deep lacerations to the left forearm, among other injuries (hereinafter referred to as “the instant accident”).
C. The Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service (hereinafter referred to as the “Service”), as a corporation entrusted with industrial accident insurance affairs by the Minister of Employment and Labor pursuant to the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, recognized the instant accident as an occupational injury and paid the Plaintiff disability benefits in the amount of KRW 54,202,500.

2. Judgment of the court below
The court below rendered the following judgment.
A. Although the risk of injury to workers is not insignificant given the nature of work using a grinder, the Defendant was at fault in failing to fulfill its duty of protection toward the Plaintiff, a worker, beyond merely providing cotton gloves.
B. The Defendant is liable to compensate the Plaintiff for damages arising from the instant accident; however, since the Plaintiff's own carelessness also contributed to the occurrence and expansion of the damages, the Defendant's liability is limited to 70%.
C. Where the Service pays insurance benefits to an injured worker due to a tortious act committed by a third party in which the injured worker's own negligence has combined, and the injured worker subsequently claims damages against the third party, the amount of the injured worker's damages claim is calculated by the “comparative negligence after deduction” method, whereby the insurance benefits are first deducted from the amount of damages of the same nature as the insurance benefits, and comparative negligence offsetting is then applied. However, in the instant case, since the insurance benefits were paid to the Plaintiff due to the tortious act of the Defendant, who is the industrial accident insurance policyholder, rather than a third party, the Plaintiff's claim for damages against the Defendant cannot be calculated using the "comparative negligence after deduction" method.
D. The Plaintiff's lost income after October 26, 2021, when the period of work suspension ended, amounts to KRW 67,295,086, and multiplying this by the Defendant's 70% fault ratio yields KRW 47,106,560; deducting from this the disability benefits of KRW 54,202,500 received from the Service leaves no remaining amount. Therefore, the Plaintiff's claim for lost income is without merit.

3. Judgment of the Supreme Court
A. Considering comprehensively the text and legislative purpose of Article 80(2) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, the purpose and social security nature of the industrial accident insurance system, and the balancing of interests among the injured worker (including bereaved family members and other beneficiaries of insurance benefits), the Service, and the tortfeasor, where an injured worker claims damages against an industrial accident insurance policyholder-employer on the ground of a joint tortious act committed by the policyholder-employer and a third party, and the injured worker's own negligence has combined in causing the damage, the portion of the insurance benefits paid by the Service to the injured worker corresponding to the injured worker's fault ratio is ultimately borne by the Service on behalf of the injured worker. Therefore, it cannot be said that the employer's liability for damages to the injured worker is naturally exempted to the extent of the entire amount of insurance benefits paid by the Service. Accordingly, the amount of the injured worker's damages claim must be calculated using the “comparative negligence after deduction” method, whereby the insurance benefits are first deducted from the amount of damages of the same nature as the insurance benefits, and comparative negligence offsetting is then applied (see Supreme Court en banc Decision 2021Da241618 rendered on March 24, 2022). Where a worker suffers an industrial accident due to the tortious act of an industrial accident insurance policyholder-employer without the intervention of a third party, and the injured worker's own negligence has combined in causing the damage, there is no difference in that the Service ultimately bears, on behalf of the injured worker, the portion of the insurance benefits corresponding to the injured worker's fault ratio. Therefore, in this case as well, the amount of the injured worker's damages claim must be calculated using the aforementioned “comparative negligence after deduction” method.

B. The reasoning of the judgment below is examined in light of the foregoing legal principles.
1) The instant accident occurred due to the combination of the tortious act arising from the Defendant's, an industrial accident insurance policyholder's, breach of its duty of protection and the negligence of the Plaintiff, the injured worker. The Service paid the Plaintiff disability benefits in the amount of KRW 54,202,500.
2) The amount of damages that the Plaintiff may claim against the Defendant with respect to lost income damages arising after the period of work suspension must be calculated using the “comparative negligence after deduction” method, whereby the disability benefits are first deducted from the total amount of lost income damages arising after the period of work suspension, and the Defendant's fault ratio is then multiplied against the remaining balance.
3) Nevertheless, the court below, on the sole ground that the insurance benefits were paid due to the tortious act of the employer rather than a third party, applied the “deduction after comparative negligence” method and rejected the Plaintiff's claim for lost income. The judgment below erred by misunderstanding the legal principles concerning the method of calculating an injured worker's damages claim, thereby rendering “a judgment contrary to Supreme Court precedent” as provided in Article 3, Subparagraph 2 of the Act on Special Cases Concerning Trials of Small Claims (소액사건심판법).

4. Scope of reversal
According to the record, the Plaintiff's claim for damages includes a claim for the amount equivalent to lost income of KRW 11,735,246 and delay damages thereon; the first instance court dismissed this portion of the claim in its entirety; upon appeal, the Plaintiff limited the scope of the appeal to KRW 8,200,000 of the portion in which the Plaintiff lost at the first instance regarding this claim, and the delay damages thereon, such that only this portion became the subject of adjudication in the appellate court; the court below dismissed the Plaintiff's appeal; and the Plaintiff appealed to this Court against the portion of the judgment below in which the Plaintiff lost.
Accordingly, the portion of the claim for damages equivalent to lost income that has become the subject of adjudication in this appeal is limited to KRW 8,200,000 and the delay damages thereon, and the scope of reversal is likewise limited to this portion.

5. Conclusion
The part of the judgment below concerning the Plaintiff's loss, corresponding to the claim for damages equivalent to lost income in the amount of KRW 8,200,000 and the delay damages thereon, is reversed, and this part of the case is remanded to the court below for further hearing and determination. This judgment is rendered as set forth in the Order by the unanimous opinion of the participating Justices.

Justice Lee Suk-yeon (Presiding Justice), Lee Heung-gu, Oh Seok-jun (Justice in charge), Noh Kyung-pil

【판결요지】

산업재해보상보험법 제80조 제2항의 문언과 입법 취지, 산업재해보상보험(이하 ‘산재보험’이라 한다) 제도의 목적과 사회보장적 성격, 재해근로자(유족 등 보험급여 수급자를 포함한다)와 근로복지공단(이하 ‘공단’이라 한다) 및 불법행위자 사이의 이익형량 등을 종합하여 보면, 재해근로자가 산재보험 가입 사업주와 제3자의 공동불법행위를 원인으로 가입 사업주를 상대로 손해배상을 청구하는 경우 그 손해 발생에 재해근로자의 과실이 경합된 때에는 공단이 재해근로자에게 지급한 보험급여 중 재해근로자의 과실비율에 해당하는 금액은 공단이 재해근로자를 위해 종국적으로 부담하는 것이므로, 재해근로자에 대한 사업주의 손해배상책임이 공단이 지급한 보험급여 전액만큼 당연히 면제된다고 볼 수는 없다. 따라서 재해근로자의 손해배상청구액은 보험급여와 같은 성질의 손해액에서 먼저 보험급여를 공제한 다음 과실상계를 하는 ‘공제 후 과실상계’ 방식으로 산정하여야 한다. 제3자의 개입 없이 산재보험 가입 사업주의 불법행위로 근로자가 산업재해를 입었고 그 손해 발생에 재해근로자의 과실이 경합된 경우 공단이 재해근로자를 위해 보험급여 중 재해근로자의 과실비율에 해당하는 금액을 종국적으로 부담하는 점은 다르지 않으므로, 이 경우에도 위와 같은 ‘공제 후 과실상계’ 방식으로 재해근로자의 손해배상청구액을 산정하여야 한다.

【참조조문】

산업재해보상보험법 제80조 제2항, 민법 제393조, 제396조, 제760조, 제763조

【참조판례】

대법원 2022. 3. 24. 선고 2021다241618 전원합의체 판결(공2022상, 753)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 2,995자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 상고인】 원고 (소송대리인 변호사 김정한 외 2인)

【피고, 피상고인】 주식회사 ○○

【원심판결】 서울중앙지법 2023. 10. 20. 선고 2023나20869 판결

【주 문】

원심판결의 원고 패소 부분 중 일실수입 상당의 손해배상청구 부분에 해당하는 8,200,000원과 이에 대한 지연손해금 부분을 파기하고, 이 부분 사건을 서울중앙지방법원에 환송한다.

【이 유】 상고이유를 판단한다.

1. 사안의 개요

원심판결의 이유와 기록에 따르면 다음 사정을 알 수 있다.

가. 원고는 건설회사인 피고에게 고용된 근로자이고, 피고는 원고를 위하여 산업재해보상보험(이하 ‘산재보험’이라 한다)에 가입한 사업주이다.

나. 원고가 2021. 6. 24. 10:00경 피고의 (공사명 생략) 현장에서 그라인더로 합판을 자르던 중 그라인더 날이 튀어 원고의 손목을 충격하였고, 원고는 좌측 전완 다발성 심부열상 등을 입었다(이하 ‘이 사건 사고’라 한다).

다. 근로복지공단(이하 ‘공단’이라 한다)은 산업재해보상보험법(이하 ‘산재보험법’이라 한다)에 따라 고용노동부장관으로부터 산재보험 업무를 위탁받은 법인으로서 이 사건 사고를 업무상 재해로 인정하고 원고에게 장해급여 54,202,500원을 지급하였다.

2. 원심의 판단

원심은 다음과 같이 판단하였다.

가. 그라인더를 사용하는 작업의 특성상 작업자가 다칠 위험이 작지 않음에도 불구하고, 피고는 작업자인 원고에게 면장갑을 지급한 것 외에 보호의무를 다하지 않은 잘못이 있다.

나. 피고는 이 사건 사고로 인한 원고의 손해를 배상할 책임이 있으나, 원고의 부주의도 손해 발생 및 확대의 원인이 되었으므로, 피고의 책임을 70%로 제한한다.

다. 공단이 재해근로자의 과실이 경합된 제3자의 불법행위로 인하여 재해근로자에게 보험급여를 지급한 다음 재해근로자가 제3자를 상대로 손해배상을 청구하는 경우, 재해근로자의 손해배상청구액은 보험급여와 같은 성질의 손해액에서 먼저 보험급여를 공제한 후 과실상계를 하는 ‘공제 후 과실상계’ 방식으로 산정한다. 그러나 이 사건은 제3자가 아니라 산재보험 가입자인 피고의 불법행위로 인하여 원고에게 보험급여가 지급되었으므로, 원고의 피고에 대한 손해배상청구액은 ‘공제 후 과실상계’ 방식으로 산정할 수 없다.

라. 휴업기간이 종료된 2021. 10. 26. 이후 원고의 일실수입은 67,295,086원인데, 여기에 피고의 과실비율 70%를 곱한 금액은 47,106,560원이고, 공단으로부터 지급받은 장해급여 54,202,500원을 여기서 공제하면 남는 금액이 없다. 따라서 원고의 일실수입 청구는 이유 없다.

3. 대법원의 판단

가. 산재보험법 제80조 제2항의 문언과 입법 취지, 산재보험 제도의 목적과 사회보장적 성격, 재해근로자(유족 등 보험급여 수급자를 포함한다)와 공단 및 불법행위자 사이의 이익형량 등을 종합하여 보면, 재해근로자가 산재보험 가입 사업주와 제3자의 공동불법행위를 원인으로 가입 사업주를 상대로 손해배상을 청구하는 경우 그 손해 발생에 재해근로자의 과실이 경합된 때에는 공단이 재해근로자에게 지급한 보험급여 중 재해근로자의 과실비율에 해당하는 금액은 공단이 재해근로자를 위해 종국적으로 부담하는 것이므로, 재해근로자에 대한 사업주의 손해배상책임이 공단이 지급한 보험급여 전액만큼 당연히 면제된다고 볼 수는 없다. 따라서 재해근로자의 손해배상청구액은 보험급여와 같은 성질의 손해액에서 먼저 보험급여를 공제한 다음 과실상계를 하는 ‘공제 후 과실상계’ 방식으로 산정하여야 한다(대법원 2022. 3. 24. 선고 2021다241618 전원합의체 판결 참조). 제3자의 개입 없이 산재보험 가입 사업주의 불법행위로 근로자가 산업재해를 입었고 그 손해 발생에 재해근로자의 과실이 경합된 경우 공단이 재해근로자를 위해 보험급여 중 재해근로자의 과실비율에 해당하는 금액을 종국적으로 부담하는 점은 다르지 않으므로, 이 경우에도 위와 같은 ‘공제 후 과실상계’ 방식으로 재해근로자의 손해배상청구액을 산정하여야 한다.

나. 원심판결의 이유를 위 법리에 비추어 판단한다.

1) 이 사건 사고는 산재보험 가입 사업주인 피고의 보호의무 위반으로 인한 불법행위와 재해근로자인 원고의 과실이 경합하여 발생하였다. 공단은 원고에게 장해급여 54,202,500원을 지급하였다.

2) 원고가 휴업기간 이후 일실수입손해에 관하여 피고를 상대로 청구할 수 있는 손해배상액은 휴업기간 이후 전체 일실수입손해액에서 장해급여를 먼저 공제한 다음 그 잔액에 피고의 과실비율을 곱하는 ‘공제 후 과실상계’ 방식으로 산정하여야 한다.

3) 그런데도 원심은 제3자가 아닌 사업주의 불법행위로 보험급여가 지급되었다는 이유만으로 ‘과실상계 후 공제’ 방식을 적용하여 원고의 일실수입 청구를 배척하였다. 원심판단에는 재해근로자의 손해배상청구액을 산정하는 방식에 관한 법리를 오해하여 소액사건심판법 제3조 제2호에서 정한 ‘대법원의 판례에 상반되는 판단’을 한 잘못이 있다.

4. 파기의 범위

기록에 따르면, 원고의 손해배상청구에는 일실수입 상당액 11,735,246원과 이에 대한 지연손해금의 지급을 구하는 부분이 포함되어 있고, 제1심이 이 부분 청구를 전부 기각한 사실, 원고가 항소하면서 항소 범위를 제1심판결의 이 부분 청구에 대한 원소 패소 부분 중 8,200,000원과 이에 대한 지연손해금 부분에 한정함으로써 해당 부분만이 항소심 심판대상이 된 사실, 원심은 원고의 항소를 기각하였고 원고가 원심판결 중 원고 패소 부분에 대하여 상고한 사실을 알 수 있다.

따라서 상고심 심판대상이 된 일실수입 상당 손해배상청구 부분은 8,200,000원과 이에 대한 지연손해금 부분에 한정되고, 파기의 범위도 여기에 한정된다.

5. 결론

원심판결의 원고 패소 부분 중 일실수입 상당의 손해배상청구 부분에 해당하는 8,200,000원과 이에 대한 지연손해금 부분을 파기하고, 이 부분 사건을 다시 심리·판단하도록 원심법원에 환송하기로 하여, 관여 대법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 이숙연(재판장) 이흥구 오석준(주심) 노경필

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
94다40543 · 대법원 1994-12-27
Damages (Industrial Accident) Case
#2
2012다1870 · 대법원 2014-07-10
Damages (Industrial Accident)
#3
77다807 · 대법원 1977-09-13
Damages
#4
87가합1670 · 인천지법 1988-07-14
Damages (Industrial Accident)
#5
2008나6950 · 수원지법 2008-07-11
Damages (Industrial Accident)

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)