Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 2008두1191

Revocation of Disapproval of Medical Care Benefits (요양불승인처분취소)요양불승인처분취소

Decided2008. 05. 29. Court대법원Case reversed and remanded; the worker's claim for recognition of industrial accident compensation was given a chance for reconsideration in favor of the worker's position.
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

A worker was injured in a traffic accident while driving to work, having been instructed by his employer to give a coworker a ride in his personal car. The Supreme Court held that because the employer paid the worker an additional 200,000 KRW per month and directed this commuting arrangement, the employer could be seen as exercising a degree of control and management over the commute, meaning the accident could qualify as an industrial accident (산업재해). The Court therefore reversed the lower court's ruling and remanded the case for further review.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA worker, instructed and paid extra by his employer to drive a coworker to work, was injured in a car accident during the commute.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court ruled that such employer-directed commuting arrangements may fall under the employer's control, potentially qualifying the accident as work-related, and sent the case back for further review.
  • LessonEmployers who direct specific commuting arrangements and provide compensation for them may bear responsibility for accidents occurring during that commute, even though ordinary commuting accidents are typically excluded from industrial accident coverage.
Issues
  • Whether a traffic accident occurring during a commute qualifies as an industrial accident (업무상 재해)
  • Whether giving a coworker a ride to work under the employer's direction places the commute under the employer's control and management (지배·관리)
Key reasoning

Under Korean labor law, commuting accidents generally do not qualify as industrial accidents unless the employer exercised control or management over the method of transportation. Here, however, the employer specifically instructed the worker to drive a designated coworker to work along a set route and time, and paid an additional monthly allowance of 200,000 KRW for doing so. Because the worker was not given exclusive discretion over the use and management of the vehicle during commuting—since the employer's directive shaped how and when the car was used—the arrangement could be viewed as falling under the employer's control and management (지배·관리). Therefore, the traffic accident during this employer-directed commute could be recognized as arising in the course of employment, warranting reconsideration by the lower court.

Full text (English, AI translation) 5,377 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellant] Plaintiff (Counsel Kim Yeon-su)
[Defendant, Appellee] Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service
[Judgment Below] Daejeon High Court Judgment 2007Nu1840, decided December 21, 2007

[Order]

The judgment below is reversed, and the case is remanded to the Daejeon High Court.

[Reasoning]

The grounds of appeal are examined.

"Occupational accident" as defined in Article 4, Item 1 of the former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) (before its full amendment by Act No. 8373 of April 11, 2007) means an accident that arises from the performance of work duties, or from ordinary activities incidental thereto, carried out under the employer's control and management, based on the employment contract between the employee and the employer. Therefore, in order for an accident occurring during commuting to and from work to constitute an occupational accident, it must be the case that the employee's commuting process can be regarded as being under the control and management of the employer, such as where the employee uses transportation provided by the employer or uses transportation equivalent thereto as arranged by the employer (see Supreme Court en banc Decision 2005Du12572, decided September 28, 2007, etc.).

The judgment below, having comprehensively considered the evidence it adopted, found the facts as stated in its reasoning, and then determined that the accident in this case—in which the Plaintiff suffered injuries including spinal cord injury (cervical region) and cervical fracture as a result of a traffic accident that occurred around 08:00 on January 27, 2007, while the Plaintiff was commuting to work in his own passenger vehicle with a co-worker, Nonparty 1, riding along—did not constitute an occupational accident, on the ground that the Plaintiff's commuting process could not be regarded as having been under the control and management of Nonparty 2, the employer.

However, this determination by the court below is difficult to accept for the following reasons.

That is, according to the reasoning of the judgment below and the evidence lawfully adopted by the court below, the following facts may be found: the workplace of the (name omitted) company where the Plaintiff worked was located at (lot number omitted), Jeungyak-ri, Gunbuk-myeon, Okcheon-gun, Chungcheongbuk-do; when the Plaintiff, whose residence was at (villa name and unit number omitted), (lot number omitted), Dong-gu, Daejeon, commuted to the above workplace using public transportation, he had to transfer from a city bus to a village bus and the trip took a long time, such that commuting by public transportation was in fact difficult to expect; around November 1, 2006, Nonparty 2, the representative of the (name omitted) company, in the course of hiring Nonparty 1 as an employee, promised to resolve the transportation problem for Nonparty 1, who was hesitant to join the company due to the lack of a suitable means of commuting; Nonparty 2 instructed the Plaintiff, who lived in the same neighborhood as Nonparty 1, to give Nonparty 1 a ride in the Plaintiff's passenger vehicle for commuting, and agreed to pay the Plaintiff an additional 200,000 won per month on top of his salary as compensation therefor; accordingly, from around that time, the Plaintiff departed from his home every day, picked up Nonparty 1 at the crosswalk in front of the rear gate of Heungnyong Elementary School in Gaya 2-dong, Dong-gu, Daejeon, and drove him to the above workplace, and the Plaintiff received an additional 200,000 won per month from Nonparty 2 in addition to his salary; and the traffic accident in this case occurred while the Plaintiff, as usual, was commuting to work along the customary route with Nonparty 1 riding along in his passenger vehicle. Given these facts, since the Plaintiff was required to transport Nonparty 1 to and from work at a fixed time and along a fixed route each day and thus could not freely choose the time or route of commuting, it follows that the Plaintiff's passenger vehicle, which was provided, at the direction of the employer Nonparty 2, as a vehicle for commuting shared with Nonparty 1, was, at least during commuting, equivalent to a vehicle provided by the employer for the commuting of its employees; the right to manage and use the vehicle during commuting was not exclusively vested in the Plaintiff; and therefore there is room to find that the Plaintiff's commuting process was under the control and management of the employer.

Nevertheless, without fully conducting the necessary examination on this point, the court below readily determined that the injuries suffered by the Plaintiff due to the accident in this case, which occurred during his commute to work, did not constitute an occupational accident. The judgment below thus contains an error of law that misapprehended the legal principles regarding occupational accidents or failed to exhaust the necessary examination, thereby affecting the conclusion of the judgment.

Therefore, the judgment below is reversed, and the case is remanded to the court below for further examination and determination. This decision is rendered by the unanimous opinion of the participating Justices, as set forth in the Order.

Justice Kim Neung-hwan (Presiding Justice), Yang Seung-tae, Park Si-hwan (Justice in charge), Park Il-hwan

【참조조문】

구 산업재해보상보험법(2007. 4. 11. 법률 제8373호로 전문 개정되기 전의 것) 제4조 제1호(현행 제5조 제1호 참조)

【참조판례】

대법원 2007. 9. 28. 선고 2005두12572 판결(공2007상, 1685)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 2,025자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 상고인】 원고 (소송대리인 변호사 김연수)

【피고, 피상고인】 근로복지공단

【원심판결】 대전고법 2007. 12. 21. 선고 2007누1840 판결

【주 문】

원심판결을 파기하고, 사건을 대전고등법원에 환송한다.

【이 유】 상고이유를 판단한다.

구 산업재해보상보험법(2007. 4. 11. 법률 제8373호로 전문 개정되기 전의 것) 제4조 제1호에 정한 ‘업무상의 재해’란 근로자와 사업주 사이의 근로계약에 터 잡아 사업주의 지배·관리하에서 당해 근로업무의 수행 또는 그에 수반되는 통상적인 활동을 하는 과정에서 이러한 업무에 기인하여 발생한 재해를 말하므로, 출·퇴근 중에 발생한 재해가 업무상의 재해로 되기 위하여는 사업주가 제공한 교통수단을 근로자가 이용하거나 또는 사업주가 이에 준하는 교통수단을 이용하도록 하는 등 근로자의 출·퇴근 과정이 사업주의 지배·관리하에 있다고 볼 수 있는 경우라야 한다( 대법원 2007. 9. 28. 선고 2005두12572 전원합의체 판결 등 참조).

원심판결은 그 채용 증거들을 종합하여 판시와 같은 사실을 인정한 다음, 원고가 2007. 1. 27. 08:00경 그 소유의 승용차에 동료근로자 소외 1을 동승시켜 출근하던 중 발생한 교통사고로 인하여 척수손상(경추부), 경추골절 등의 상해를 입은 이 사건 재해는 원고의 출·퇴근 과정이 사업주인 소외 2의 지배·관리하에 있었다고 볼 수 없어 업무상 재해에 해당하지 않는다고 판단하였다.

그러나 원심의 이러한 판단은 아래 이유로 수긍하기 어렵다.

즉, 원심판결 이유와 원심이 적법하게 채택한 증거들에 의하면, 원고가 근무하던 (명칭 생략) 업체의 사업장은 충북 옥천군 군북면 증약리 (지번 생략)에 위치해 있는데, 원고가 그 거주지인 대전 동구 (지번 생략)(빌라 명칭 및 동호수 생략)에서 위 사업장까지 대중교통수단을 이용하여 출근하는 경우 시내버스에서 마을버스로 갈아타야 하고 시간도 오래 걸려 대중교통을 이용한 출·퇴근은 사실상 기대하기 어려운 사실, (명칭 생략) 업체의 대표자인 소외 2는 2006. 11. 1.경 소외 1을 그 직원으로 채용하는 과정에서 마땅한 출·퇴근 교통수단이 없어 입사를 망설이는 소외 1에게 그 문제를 해결해 주겠다고 약속한 사실, 소외 2는 소외 1과 같은 동네에 거주하는 원고에게 원고의 승용차에 소외 1을 동승시켜 출·퇴근할 것을 지시하고, 그 대가로 원고에게 급여 외에 추가로 월 20만 원을 지급하기로 약정한 사실, 이에 따라 원고는 그 무렵부터 매일 원고의 집에서 출발하여 대전 동구 가양2동 흥룡초등학교 후문 앞 횡단보도에서 소외 1을 원고의 승용차에 태우고 위 사업장으로 출근하였으며, 소외 2로부터 급여 외에 추가로 월 20만 원을 지급받아 온 사실, 이 사건 교통사고는 평소와 같이 원고가 소외 1을 자신의 승용차에 동승시켜 통상적인 경로에 따라 출근하던 중 발생한 사실을 알 수 있는바, 그렇다면 원고는 매일 정해진 시간과 경로를 따라 소외 1을 출·퇴근시켜야 했기 때문에 원고 마음대로 그 출·퇴근 시간이나 경로를 선택할 수 없었던 점에 비추어, 사업주인 소외 2의 지시에 따라 소외 1과 함께 타는 출·퇴근용 차량으로 제공된 원고의 승용차는 적어도 출·퇴근시에는 사업주에 의하여 소속 근로자들의 출·퇴근용으로 제공된 차량에 준하는 교통수단으로서 출·퇴근시 승용차에 대한 관리·이용권이 원고에게 전담되어 있지 아니하였고, 따라서 원고의 출·퇴근 과정이 사업주의 지배·관리하에 있었다고 볼 여지가 있다.

그럼에도 불구하고, 이 점에 관하여 필요한 심리를 다하지 아니한 채 만연히 출근 과정에서 발생한 이 사건 사고로 인해 원고가 입은 부상은 업무상 재해에 해당하지 않는다고 판단한 원심판결에는 업무상 재해에 관한 법리를 오해하였거나 심리를 다하지 아니하여 판결에 영향을 미친 위법이 있다.

그러므로 원심판결을 파기하고 사건을 다시 심리·판단하게 하기 위하여 원심법원에 환송하기로 하여 관여 대법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 김능환(재판장) 양승태 박시환(주심) 박일환

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2008구단12101 · 서울행정법원 2009-05-12
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
#2
2008누2445 · 광주고등법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
#3
2008두17899 · 대법원 2009-02-12
Case for Revocation of Disapproval of Medical Care Benefits
#4
2010구단990 · 인천지방법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
#5
2013구단4616 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)