Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 79다1668

Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)구상금

Decided1979. 12. 26. Court대법원The tortfeasor (defendant) won; the government's reimbursement claim was denied
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

The bereaved family of a worker who died in an industrial accident settled their damages claim against the tortfeasor (가해자) for 2 million won. After the government paid industrial accident insurance benefits (산재보험급여) to the family, it sought reimbursement (구상금) from the tortfeasor. The Supreme Court held that because the family's settlement released the tortfeasor from further liability, the government's right of reimbursement was likewise extinguished.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA worker died in an industrial accident, and his bereaved family settled their damages claim against the tortfeasor for 2 million won.
  • OutcomeThe court ruled that the family's settlement extinguished their damages claim, which in turn extinguished the government's reimbursement right against the tortfeasor.
  • LessonA beneficiary's private settlement with a tortfeasor can bar the government from later seeking reimbursement for industrial accident insurance benefits already paid.
Issues
  • The scope of the government's right of reimbursement under Article 15 of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법)
  • Whether an insurance benefit recipient (수급권자) may validly release a tortfeasor from liability for damages
Key reasoning

Under Article 15 of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법), the government's right of subrogation (구상권) exists only insofar as the insurance beneficiary (수급권자) has a valid claim for damages against a third-party tortfeasor. Since the beneficiary retains the right, under the principle of private autonomy (사법자치 원칙), to settle with and release the tortfeasor from liability, such a settlement extinguishes the underlying damages claim. Because the government's reimbursement right is derivative of that claim, it is extinguished along with it once the beneficiary releases the tortfeasor.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

[1]
The provision in Article 15 of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법), which states that where the Chief of the Labor Office has paid insurance benefits for an accident caused by the act of a third party, he shall be subrogated, to the extent of the amount of such benefits paid, to the right of the person who received the benefits to claim damages against such third party, merely means that such subrogation is premised on the existence of the beneficiary's right to claim damages against the third party.

[2]
Since the beneficiary's right to claim damages against the tortfeasor is an ordinary claim arising from a tort, even if the payer of the insurance benefits has a right of indemnity against the third party, the beneficiary may, in accordance with the principle of private autonomy, release the third party from all or part of the obligation to pay damages.

Full text (English, AI translation) 4,757 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellant] Republic of Korea, legal representative Minister of Justice Kim Chi-yeol, litigation performers Kim Hak-jun, Kang Hyeon-gwon

[Defendant, Appellee] Kim Hyeon-yeo

[Original Judgment]

Seoul High Court, Judgment of August 30, 1979, Case No. 79Na615

[Order]

The appeal is dismissed.
The costs of the appeal shall be borne by the Plaintiff.

[Reasoning]

The grounds of appeal are examined.

1. According to the record, it is clear that the Plaintiff admits the fact that, with respect to damages arising from the death of the deceased ○○○ from charcoal briquette gas poisoning in a guest room of the Songjuk Inn operated by the Defendant, a settlement in the amount of KRW 200,000 was reached between the representative of the bereaved family of the deceased (to be precise, the deceased's younger brother Im Heon-o) and the Defendant, and that the said amount was received; however, the Plaintiff disputed that the content of the settled amount pertained only to consolation money for the bereaved family and did not concern the deceased's lost earnings. The argument, as raised in the grounds of appeal, that the settlement has no effect whatsoever with respect to damages arising from the death of the deceased because it was not made with the persons holding the right to claim damages, such as the deceased's wife and children, is a fact that was not asserted in the fact-finding court below. Therefore, raising new facts and materials at this stage to attack the findings of the court below cannot constitute a proper ground of appeal.

While it is true, as argued in the grounds of appeal, that Article 61 of the Enforcement Decree of the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법시행령) and Article 25 of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) set forth the scope of bereaved family members entitled to receive benefits, since the Plaintiff admitted in the fact-finding court below that a settlement had been reached with the bereaved family, it cannot now newly raise the point that such person was not the statutory beneficiary in order to criticize the findings of the court below.

Furthermore, according to Exhibit A No. 5 (Agreement), the authenticity of which is not disputed, it is stated that the Defendant paid KRW 200,000 to the representative of the bereaved family of the deceased as a condolence payment (excluding costs incident to the transport of the body), and that the representative of the bereaved family agreed not to pursue any civil or criminal liability against the Defendant in the future. In light of this, the judgment below, which found that the said agreement constituted a settlement concerning the entirety of the damages other than the costs incident to the transport of the body, is deemed to be justified.

Article 15 of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act provides that where the Commissioner of the Labor Office has paid insurance benefits for an accident caused by the act of a third party, the Commissioner shall be subrogated, to the extent of the amount of such benefits, to the right of the person who received the benefits to claim damages against the third party. However, this provision merely means that, on the premise that the beneficiary has a right to claim damages against the third party, the right to claim damages is subrogated to the extent of the benefits paid.

Since the beneficiary's right to claim damages against the tortfeasor is an ordinary claim arising from tort, the existence of such a provision does not in any way affect the nature of the said right to claim damages; accordingly, the beneficiary may, in accordance with the principle of private autonomy, release the third party from all or part of the obligation to compensate for damages owed to the beneficiary by the third party (see this Court's Judgment of February 14, 1978, Case No. 76Da2119).

Therefore, inasmuch as an agreement was reached between the representative of the bereaved family of the deceased ○○○, who was a person covered by industrial accident compensation insurance, and the Defendant, and the portion of the damages arising from the death of ○○○ exceeding KRW 200,000 (excluding the cost of transporting the body) was thereby released, the judgment of the court below holding that the Plaintiff's claim in this case, based on the right of subrogation, is without merit, is also deemed to be justified. The argument to the contrary in the grounds of appeal is without merit.

Accordingly, the appeal is dismissed, and the costs of the appeal are to be borne by the losing party; the opinions of the Justices involved being unanimous, judgment is rendered as stated in the Order.

Justice Kim Yong-cheol (Presiding Justice), Min Mun-gi, Lee Il-gyu, Jeong Tae-won

【판결요지】

가. 산업재해보상보험법 제15조의 노동청장은 제3자의 행위에 의한 재해로 인하여 보험급여를 한 때에는 그 급여액의 한도에서 급여를 받은 자의 그 제3자에 대한 손해배상청구권을 대위한다는 규정은 어디까지나 수급권자의 제3자에 대한 손해배상청구권이 있음을 전제하여 대위한다는 취지에 불과하다.

나. 보험금 수급권자의 가해자에 대한 손해배상청구권은 통상의 불법행위상의 채권이므로 보험금 급여자가 제3자에 대한 구상권이 있다 하여도 수급권자가 사법자치의 원칙에 따라 제3자의 손해배상채무의 전부 또는 일부를 면제할 수 있다.

【참조조문】

산업재해보상보험법 제15조

【참조판례】

대법원 1978.2.14. 선고 76다2119 전원합의체판결

【주문】·【이유】 전문 1,577자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 상 고 인】 대한민국 법률상 대표자 법무부장관 김치열 소송수행자 김학준, 강현권

【피고, 피상고인】 김현여

【원심판결】 서울고등법원 1979.8.30 선고 79나615 판결

【주 문】

상고를 기각한다.

상고 소송비용은 원고의 부담으로 한다.

【이 유】 상고이유를 판단한다.

1. 기록에 의하면 원고는 망 ○○○이 피고 경영의 송죽여인숙 객실에서 연탄까스 중독으로 사망한데 따른 손해에 관하여 동 망인의 유족대표(정확하게 말하면 망인의 아우 임헌오)와 피고가 금 200,000원에 화해가 성립되어 그것이 수수된 사실을 시인하나 그 화해된 금액의 내용은 유족의 위자료에 관한 것 뿐이지 망인의 일실손해에 관한 것은 아니라고 다투었음이 명백하고 소론과 같이 그 화해는 위 망인의 처 자식 등 손해배상청구권을 가진 자와한 것이 아니므로 동 망인의 사망으로 인한 손해에 관하여는 아무런 효력이 없다고 함은 사실심에서 주장하지 아니한 사실이므로 이제와서 새로운 사실과 자료를 들고 원판시를 공격하는 것으로 적절한 상고사유라 할 수 없다.

근로기준법시행령 제61조 산업재해보상보험법 제25조에 급여를 받을 유족의 범위를 정하고 있음은 소론과 같으나 사실심에서 유족과 화해한 점을 시인한 이상 새삼스레 그가 법정수급권자가 아니라는 점을 들고 원판시를 비의할 수 없는 것이라 하겠다.

그리고 성립에 다툼이 없는 갑 제5호증(합의서)에 의하면 피고는 위 망인의 유족대표에게 위로금조로 금 200,000원을 지급하고(단 영체운구에 수반하는 비용은 별도) 유족대표는 피고에 대하여 향후 민·형사간 일체 책임을 묻지 않기로 합의하였다고 기재되어 있는 바, 이에 의하면 위 합의는 시체운구에 수반되는 비용 이외 전 손해에 관하여 화해한 것으로 본 원심의 판단은 정당하다고 시인된다.

산업재해보상보험법 제15조에 의하면 노동청장은 제3자의 행위에 의한 재해로 인하여 보험급여를 한 때에는 그 급여액의 한도에서 급여를 받은 자의 그 제3자에 대한 손해배상청구권을 대위한다고 규정하고 있으나, 이는 어디까지나 수급권자의 제3자에 대한 손해배상 청구권이 있음을 전제하여 급여의 한도에서 그 청구권을 대위한다는 취지에 불과하다.

수급권자의 가해자에 대한 손해배상청구권은 통상의 불법행위상의 채권이므로 이런 규정이 있다 하여 위 손해배상청구권의 성질에 무슨 소장이 있다고는 할 수 없으니 수급권자는 사법자치의 원칙에 따라 제3자가 자기에게 부담하고있는 손해배상채무의 전부 또는 1부를 면제할 수 있다 할 것이다( 당원 1978.2.14 선고 76다2119 판결 참조).

그러므로 산업재해보상보험가입자인 망 ○○○의 유가족 대표와 피고간의 합의가 성립되어 망 ○○○의 사망으로 인한 손해중 금 200,000원(다만 시체운구비 제외)를 초과한 부분은 면제되었다 하여 이의 대위권을 원인으로 하는 원고의 본건 청구는 이유없다고 한 원심의 판단은 또한 정당하다고 할 것이니, 견해를 달리하는 소론의 논지 이유없다.

그러므로 상고를 기각하고 상고 소송비용은 패소자의 부담으로 하기로 관여법관의 의견이 일치되어 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 김용철(재판장) 민문기 이일규 정태원

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2005나7288 · 서울남부지방법원 2006-08-10
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
#2
86다카2948 · 대법원 1987-07-21
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
#3
95다18772 · 대법원 1997-06-27
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
#4
84나1013 · 대구고법 1985-03-08
구상금청구사건
#5
98다37491 · 대법원 2000-03-10
Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)

Cases citing this decision

2000두918 · 대법원 2000-08-18
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits, etc.
95다37421 · 대법원 1997-12-16
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
93다3592 · 대법원 1994-11-18
Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)
91다19081 · 대법원 1991-08-27
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
84가합801 · 서울민사지법 1984-05-04
구상금청구사건

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)