Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 93다3592

Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)구상금

Decided1994. 11. 18. Court대법원Employer won
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

This case involved multiple employers, each separately enrolled in industrial accident insurance (산재보험), who were operating different projects at the same worksite when an accident occurred. The government (National Health Insurance Service or similar agency) sought to exercise its right of subrogation (구상권) against these employers for insurance benefits paid to the bereaved family. The Supreme Court ruled that the proviso of Article 15(1) of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산재법), which applies special liability rules for a 'single project (하나의 사업),' only applies when multiple employers are jointly working toward completing the same object or outcome — not merely because they share the same physical location.

Key takeaways
  • CaseMultiple employers with separate industrial accident insurance coverage operated different projects at the same worksite, and a worker was killed in an accident there.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court ruled that the 'single project' rule under the insurance law only applies to employers jointly completing the same task, and clarified that settlement money covering insurance benefits cannot be treated as a waiver of separate damage claims.
  • LessonEmployers sharing a worksite are not automatically treated as operating a 'single project' for insurance liability purposes unless they are working toward the same specific outcome, and payment advances on behalf of insurers do not automatically create independent subrogation rights.
Issues
  • How to interpret the term 'single project (하나의 사업)' under the proviso of Article 15(1) of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act
  • The legal nature and characterization of settlement money paid to bereaved family members, including any lump-sum survivor compensation benefits
  • Whether an employer's advance payment of insurance benefits constitutes legal subrogation by payment (변제자대위) or merely an agency arrangement for receipt of funds
  • Whether the government could exercise a right of subrogation with respect to funeral expense payments
Key reasoning

The Court held that the concept of a 'single project' under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act requires that multiple employers be collaborating toward the completion of the same object or goal, not simply operating in physical proximity to one another. Regarding the settlement money received by the bereaved family, the Court found that the portion corresponding to industrial accident insurance benefits was not a waiver of the right to claim damages (손해배상청구권 포기), because insurance benefits and civil damages are legally distinct categories of compensation. Additionally, the Court clarified that when an employer advances payment of insurance benefits on behalf of the government, this constitutes merely an agency for receipt (수령위임) of funds on behalf of the insurer, rather than a legal subrogation by payment (변제자대위). This distinction meant that the employer who advanced funeral expenses (장제비) could not independently claim a right of subrogation against other parties.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

a. The term "one business" under the proviso to Article 15(1) of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) means that two or more business owners who are insured persons under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance each carry out the business set forth in Article 4 of the same Act, doing so within the same location and the same risk zone for the completion of the same business (object). On the other hand, even if two or more business owners who are insured persons carry out their businesses at the same location, if the content of each business is not for the completion of the same business or object, it must generally be regarded that the degree of risk of each also differs from the other, and therefore this cannot be deemed a case falling under the division of one business as set forth in the above proviso, with each portion being carried out separately.

b. Where the bereaved family members, who are the beneficiaries entitled to receive benefits, received a settlement amount from the company, which is the business owner, on the condition that they would not raise any civil or criminal objections against the company or the wrongdoer arising from the accident, if the amount corresponding to the lump-sum survivor compensation among the money so received was advance-paid by the company, and if, pursuant to Article 16(2) of the same Act and Article 32(1)(1) of the Enforcement Decree of the same Act, the receipt of the said amount was entrusted to the company and accordingly the company received the said amount from the State, then it must be held that the bereaved family members received the said amount from the company not as damages but as the lump-sum survivor compensation set forth in the same Act. Therefore, it must be held that the bereaved family members did not waive their right to claim damages against the wrongdoer with respect to the amount equivalent to the said lump-sum survivor compensation.

c. Even where a business owner has made an advance payment of insurance benefits to a person entitled to receive such benefits, it does not necessarily follow that the business owner may directly claim the insurance benefits from the State; the business owner may only receive such benefits on behalf of the beneficiary where the beneficiary has entrusted the receipt thereof to the business owner. Accordingly, it cannot be said that the principle of subrogation by a person who has performed an obligation applies so as to transfer the beneficiary's right to claim benefits to the business owner.

d. Where the company, as the business owner, obtained confirmation from the bereaved family members that it had carried out the funeral of the worker who died from an occupational accident, and, claiming to be the person entitled to receive the funeral expense benefit itself, directly requested payment thereof from the director of the regional labor office under the State and received the funeral expenses, the State cannot, insofar as it concerns the said funeral expenses, claim damages against the wrongdoer by subrogating the bereaved family members.

Full text (English, AI translation) 13,357 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellee] Republic of Korea
[Defendant, Appellant] Halla Heavy Industries Co., Ltd., Attorney Jeong Seung-hwa, Counsel for the Defendant
[Judgment Below] Seoul High Court Decision 92Na34850 rendered on December 15, 1992

[Reasoning]

The grounds of appeal by the Defendant's attorney are examined.

1. As to Ground of Appeal No. 4

Article 15(1) of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) provides: "Where the Minister of Labor has paid insurance benefits for an accident caused by the act of a third party, he shall be subrogated to the right to claim damages against the third party held by the person who received the benefits, to the extent of the amount of such benefits: Provided, That this shall not apply where two or more business owners who are insured persons divide and each conduct a single business at the same place, and an accident occurs due to the act of an employee of a business owner different from the injured employee's own business owner." The term "single business" in the above proviso means that two or more business owners who are insured persons under the Act each conduct a business falling under Article 4 of the Act, but do so at the same location and within the same risk zone for the completion of the same business (subject matter) (see this Court's Decision 94Da29225, rendered October 11, 1994). On the other hand, even where two or more insured business owners conduct their businesses at the same location, if the content of each business is not for the completion of the same business or subject matter, the degree of risk involved would ordinarily be regarded as different from each other, and thus it cannot be considered a case falling under the proviso's "case of dividing and each conducting a single business."

Therefore, the court below lawfully found the following facts: that on May 4, 1990, non-party Yeongseong Co., Ltd., a business owner insured under the aforementioned Act, was subcontracted by the Defendant to perform repair work at the Defendant's shipyard—including tightening and replacing loosened bolts on the main pillar structure used as the crane track, as indicated in the judgment, and painting corroded portions of the factory roof, among other things; that while non-party 1, an employee of the above company, was engaged in this construction work, he was struck by a crane operated by non-party 2, an employee of the Defendant, at approximately 13:05 on May 7 of the same year, and died at approximately 16:20 the following day; and that the Incheon Regional Employment and Labor Office under the Ministry of Labor, under the Plaintiff, on May 26 of the same year recognized this accident, which led to the death of non-party 1, as an occupational accident under the Act, and paid insurance benefits under the Act to non-party 3, the wife of non-party 1. Based on these findings, the court below determined that since this accident occurred due to the negligence of non-party 2 and others, who were the Defendant's employees, the Plaintiff could exercise, by subrogation of non-party 3, the right to claim damages held by non-party 3 against the Defendant, and rejected the Defendant's argument that the Plaintiff could not exercise a right of indemnity against the Defendant pursuant to the proviso of Article 15(1) of the Act. This determination is proper, and it cannot be said that there was an error of misunderstanding the legal principles of the above provision, as argued. This ground of appeal is without merit.

2. As to Grounds of Appeal Nos. 1, 2, and 3

A. The court below found that the Plaintiff paid non-party 3 45,500,000 won as a survivor's benefit and 4,200,000 won as funeral expenses under the Act, totaling 49,700,000 won, and found that the amount of such insurance benefits fell within the scope of damages that non-party 3 would be compensated for due to this accident; the court below then determined that the Defendant was obligated to pay the Plaintiff the said 49,700,000 won. As to the Defendant's argument that, on May 14, 1990—before the Plaintiff paid the above insurance benefits—non-party 3 received 58,000,000 won from the above company and waived the right to claim damages against the Defendant, such that non-party 3's right to claim damages against the Defendant had already been extinguished, the court below found the following: that non-party 3 and non-party 4 (a minor, whose legal representative was her parent with parental authority, non-party 3), on that date, entered into an agreement with the above company to receive 58,000,000 won on condition that they would not raise any civil or criminal objection against the Defendant or the above company regarding this accident, and did receive the money on that date; however, at the time, non-party 3 and the above company agreed that the settlement amount would include all insurance benefits that non-party 3 was to receive from the Plaintiff, provided that the above company would first pay the entire settlement amount, and then, as the deceased's business owner, receive the insurance benefits on behalf of non-party 3 under a delegation of authority to receive such benefits, to be substituted for the settlement amount already advanced to non-party 3; and that, accordingly, the above company, having received such delegation from non-party 3, received the insurance benefits in the amount set forth above and applied them toward part of the settlement amount. In light of these findings, the court below determined that the purport of the settlement between non-party 3 and the above company was that non-party 3 waived only the portion of the right to claim damages against the above company and the Defendant arising from this accident that exceeded the industrial accident compensation insurance benefits, and that there was no other evidence to find that non-party 3's entire right to claim damages against the Defendant had been extinguished, thereby rejecting the Defendant's argument. The court below also held that even if the above company and the Defendant had agreed that the above company would be responsible for any and all damages arising from the subcontracted construction work, such agreement between the Defendant and the above company could not be asserted against the Plaintiff, who exercises non-party 3's right to claim damages against the Defendant by subrogation.

B. According to the record, of the money received by non-party 3 from the above company, the amount of 45,500,000 won corresponding to the survivor's lump-sum compensation was advanced by the above company, and non-party 3 delegated the receipt of this amount to the above company pursuant to Article 16(2) of the Act and Article 32(1)(1) of its Enforcement Decree (동시행령); accordingly, it is recognized that the above company received the said amount from the Plaintiff. Therefore, non-party 3 must be deemed to have received the said 45,500,000 won from the above company not as damages, but as the survivor's lump-sum compensation under the Act (indeed, the receipt, Exhibit A No. 7-4, prepared and given by non-party 3 to the above company, states that the 58,000,000 won was received "including industrial accident compensation, etc."). Accordingly, it must be found that non-party 3 did not waive the right to claim damages against the Defendant with respect to the amount equivalent to the survivor's lump-sum compensation. If it were found that even this portion of the right to claim damages had been waived, non-party 3 would lose the right to claim the survivor's lump-sum compensation against the State (see this Court's Decision 79Da1668, rendered December 26, 1979), and thus non-party 3 would have engaged in the unreasonable act of extinguishing the right to receive the survivor's lump-sum compensation at the very moment of receiving it.

Therefore, the court below's rejection of the Defendant's above argument is proper with respect to the said 45,500,000 won portion. Furthermore, according to the provisions of Article 16 of the Act and Article 32 of its Enforcement Decree, even where a business owner has advanced payment of insurance benefits to a person entitled to receive such benefits, this does not automatically entitle the business owner to directly claim the insurance benefits from the State; rather, the business owner may only receive such benefits on behalf of the beneficiary where the beneficiary has delegated the receipt thereof. Accordingly, it cannot be said that the principle of subrogation by performance applies such that the right to claim benefits of the person entitled to receive insurance benefits is transferred to the business owner. Therefore, the argument premised on the position that, merely because the above company advanced payment to non-party 3, non-party 3's right to claim benefits was transferred to the above company, such that the Plaintiff could only seek indemnity against the Defendant by subrogating the above company, is likewise without merit.

C. However, Article 12(3) of the Act provides that funeral expenses under Article 9-8 of the Act shall be paid to the person who performs the funeral rites. According to the record in this case, in particular the statements in each of Exhibits A No. 9-6 through 9-9 cited by the court below, it is recognized that the above company, having obtained confirmation from non-party 3 that the above company had itself performed the funeral rites for non-party 1, directly claimed, as the person entitled to receive the funeral expense benefit, payment thereof from the Head of the Incheon Regional Employment and Labor Office under the Plaintiff, and received the said funeral expenses of 4,200,000 won (Article 32(1)(1) of the Enforcement Decree of the Act does not even list funeral expenses among the insurance benefits for which a business owner may be delegated to receive on the basis of an advance payment). Accordingly, with respect to the funeral expenses portion, the Plaintiff cannot claim damages against the Defendant by subrogation of non-party 3. Moreover, even assuming that the Plaintiff's claim includes a claim for payment of an amount equivalent to the funeral expenses against the Defendant by subrogation of the above company, the court below itself found that the Defendant, after this accident, on May 8, 1990, paid the above company 32,000,000 won in the name of damages to the bereaved family of non-party 1, and that the above company, in settling with the victim's side, agreed that if the settlement amount exceeded the said amount, the above company would be responsible for the excess amount. Therefore, the above company cannot be said to have any right to claim payment of an amount equivalent to the funeral expenses against the Defendant, and accordingly, the Plaintiff cannot claim payment of an amount equivalent to the funeral expenses against the Defendant even by subrogation of the above company (see this Court's Decision 80Da1229, rendered February 10, 1981).

Nevertheless, the court below found that the above company had also paid the said funeral expenses to non-party 3 and, having been delegated to receive them, received them from the Plaintiff, and held that even if there was an agreement between the above company and the Defendant to the effect that indemnity could not be sought as described above, such agreement could not be asserted against the Plaintiff, who exercises non-party 3's right to claim damages against the Defendant by subrogation. This constitutes an error in the evaluation of evidence that affected the judgment, and the argument pointing out this error is with merit.

3. Conclusion

Accordingly, the portion of the judgment below ruling against the Defendant that orders payment of 4,200,000 won equivalent to the funeral expenses and the delay damages thereon (the portion ordering payment in excess of 45,500,000 won and the delay damages thereon) is reversed. As this Court finds it sufficient to render judgment on this portion of the case itself, this Court renders its own judgment as follows: since this portion of the claim is without merit, it is dismissed. As the judgment of the first instance court reaches the same conclusion as this Court and is therefore proper, the Plaintiff's appeal corresponding to this portion is dismissed, and the remainder of the Defendant's appeal, being without merit, is dismissed. As to the bearing of the total costs of litigation, Articles 89, 92, and 96 of the Civil Procedure Act (민사소송법) are applied, and it is so decided as set forth in the Order below by the unanimous opinion of the participating Justices.

[Order]

1. The portion of the judgment below ruling against the Defendant that orders payment, in excess of 45,500,000 won and interest thereon at the rate of 5% per annum from May 27, 1990 to December 15, 1992, and at the rate of 25% per annum from the following day until the date of full payment, is reversed, and the Plaintiff's appeal corresponding to the reversed portion is dismissed.
2. The remainder of the Defendant's appeal is dismissed.
3. The total costs of litigation shall be divided into ten parts, of which nine shall be borne by the Defendant and the remainder by the Plaintiff.

Justices Ahn Yong-deuk (Presiding Justice), Cheon Gyeong-song, Ji Chang-kwon, Shin Seong-taek (Justice in Charge)

【판결요지】

가. 산업재해보상보험법 제15조 제1항 단서 소정의 “하나의 사업"이라 함은 산업재해보상보험가입자인 2 이상의 사업주가 각각 같은 법 제4조 소정의 사업을 행하되 동일 장소, 동일 위험권 내에서 같은 사업(목적물)의 완성을 위하여 행하는 것을 의미하고, 반면 보험가입자인 2 이상의 사업주가 동일 장소에서 사업을 행하더라도 그 각 사업의 내용이 같은 사업이나 목적물의 완성을 위하여 행하는 것이 아닐 때에는 통상 그 위험의 정도도 서로 다를 것으로 보아야 할 것이므로 위 단서 소정의 하나의 사업을 분할하여 각각 행하는 경우에 해당한다고 볼 수 없다.

나.. 수급권자인 유족이 사업주인 회사로부터 합의금을 지급받으면서 회사나 가해자에 대하여 사고로 인한 민형사상의 이의를 제기하지 않기로 한 경우, 그 지급받은 돈 중 유족보상일시금에 해당하는 금액은 회사로부터 체당지급받았다고 하여 같은 법 제16조 제2항, 같은법시행령 제32조 제1항 제1호에 의하여 위 금액의 수령을 회사에게 위임하였고 그에 따라 회사가 위 금액을 국가로부터 수령하였다면, 그 유족은 회사로부터 위 금액을 손해배상이 아니라 같은 법 소정의 유족보상일시금으로 지급받은 것이라고 할 것이고, 따라서 그 유족으로서는 위 유족보상일시금 상당에 대하여는 가해자에 대한 관계에 있어서 손해배상청구권을 포기한 것이 아니라고 보아야 할 것이다.

다. 사업주가 보험급여를 받을 권리가 있는 자에게 보험급여를 체당지급한 경우라도 당연히 사업주가 국가에 대하여 직접 보험급여를 청구할 수 있는 것은 아니며 수급권자가 그 수령을 위임한 경우에 한하여 대신 수령할 수 있는 것에 지나지 않으므로 이를 가리켜 변제자대위의 법리가 적용되어 보험급여를 받을 자의 급여청구권이 사업주에게 이전되는 것이라고는 할 수 없다.

라. 사업주인 회사가 업무상 재해로 사망한 근로자의 장제를 실행하였다는 유족의 확인을 받아 회사 자신이 장의비의 급여를 받을 권리자라 하여 직접 국가 산하 지방노동청장에게 그 지급을 청구하여 장의비를 지급받았다면, 국가로서는 그 장의비 부분에 관한 한 유족을 대위하여서는 가해자에게 손해배상을 청구할 수는 없다.

【참조조문】

가.나.라. 산업재해보상보험법 제15조 제1항 / 가. 제4조 / 나.다. 제16조 제2항, 같은법시행령 제32조 제1항 제1호 / 나. 제15조 제2항 / 나. 민법 제506조 / 다. 제480조, 제481조 / 라. 산업재해보상보험법 제12조 제3항 / 라. 제9조의8

【참조판례】

가. 대법원 1994.10.11. 선고 94다29225 판결(공1994하,2965) / 나. 대법원 1979.12.26. 선고 79다1668 판결(공1980,12492) / 라. 대법원 1981.2.10. 선고 80다1229 판결

【주문】·【이유】 전문 5,092자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 피상고인】 대한민국

【피고, 상고인】 한라중공업주식회사 소송대리인 변호사 정승화

【원심판결】 서울고등법원 1992.12.15. 선고 92나34850 판결

【이 유】 피고 소송대리인의 상고이유를 본다

1. 상고이유 제4점에 대하여

산업재해보상보험법 제15조 제1항은, “노동부장관은 제3자의 행위에 의한 재해로 인하여 보험급여를 한 때에는 그 급여액의 한도 안에서 급여를 받은 자의 그 제3자에 대한 손해배상청구권을 대위한다. 다만, 보험가입자인 2 이상의 사업주가 같은 장소에서 하나의 사업을 분할하여 각각 행하다가 그 중 사업주를 달리하는 근로자의 행위로 재해가 발생한 때에는 그러하지 아니하다"라고 규정하고 있는데, 위 단서 소정의 “하나의 사업"이라 함은 위 법에 가입한 보험가입자인 2 이상의 사업주가 각각 위 법 제4조 소정의 사업을 행하되 동일 장소, 동일 위험권 내에서 같은 사업(목적물)의 완성을 위하여 행하는 것을 의미한다고 할 것이고(당원 1994.10.11. 선고 94다29225 판결 참조), 반면 보험가입주인 2 이상의 사업주가 동일 장소에서 사업을 행하더라도 그 각 사업의 내용이 같은 사업이나 목적물의 완성을 위하여 행하는 것이 아닐 때에는 통상 그 위험의 정도도 서로 다를 것으로 보아야 할 것이므로 위 단서 소정의 하나의 사업을 분할하여 각각 행하는 경우에 해당한다고 볼 수 없다.

그러므로 원심이, 위 법 소정의 산업재해보상보험에 가입한 사업주인 소외 주식회사 영성이 1990.5.4. 피고로부터 피고가 경영하는 이 사건 조선소 내의 공장시설 중 판시 기중기궤도로 사용되는 주기둥구조물 상의 볼트이완부분 체결 및 교체와 공장지붕 등의 부식부분 등에 대한 도장공사 등의 보수공사를 도급받고 위 회사의 근로자인 소외 1이 위 공사작업에 종사하던 중 같은 해 5.7. 13:05경 피고 소속의 근로자인 소외 2가 운전하던 기중기에 충격되어 그 다음날 16:20경 사망한 사실, 이에 원고 산하 노동부 인천지방노동청은 같은 해 5.26. 위 소외 1의 사망에 이르게 된 이 사건 사고가 위 법상의 업무상 재해라고 인정하여 위 소외 1의 처인 소외 3에게 위 법에 따른 보험급여를 지급한 사실을 각 적법하게 확정하고, 이 사건 사고는 피고의 피용자인 위 소외 2 등의 과실로 인하여 발생한 것이므로 원고는 위 소외 3을 대위하여 피고에 대하여 위 소외 3이 가지는 손해배상청구권을 대위행사할 수 있다고 판단하는 한편 원고는 위 법 제15조 제1항 단서에 의하여 피고에 대하여 구상권을 행사할 수 없다는 피고의 주장을 배척한 것은 정당하고 거기에 소론과 같이 위 조항의 법리를 오해한 위법이 있다고는 할 수 없다. 논지는 이유 없다.

2. 상고이유 제1, 2, 3점에 대하여

가. 원심은, 원고는 위 소외 3에게 위 법상의 유족급여로 금45,500,000원을, 장의비로 4,200,000원 합계 금 49,700,000원을 지급한 사실 및 위 보험급여액이 위 소외 3이 이 사건 사고로 인하여 배상받을 손해액 범위라는 사실을 인정하고 피고는 원고에게 위 금 49,700,000원을 지급할 의무가 있다고 판단한 다음, 위 소외 3은 원고가 위 보험급여를 지급하기 전인 1990.5.14. 위 회사로부터 금 58,000,000원을 지급받고 피고에 대한 손해배상청구권을 포기하였으므로 위 소외 3의 피고에 대한 손해배상청구권은 이미 소멸하였다는 취지의 피고의 주장에 대하여는, 위 소외 3 및 위 소외 1의 자인 소외 4(미성년자로서 친권자인 위 소외 3이 법정대리인이 되었다)가 그날 위 회사와의 사이에 금 58,000,000원을 지급받되 피고나 위 회사에 대하여 이 사건 사고로 인한 민형사상의 이의를 제기하지 않기로 하고 그날 위 돈을 지급받기는 하였으나 당시 위 소외 3과 위 회사는 위 합의금 속에 위 소외 3이 원고로부터 지급받을 보험급여금을 모두 포함시키되 다만 위 회사가 먼저 위 합의금 전액을 지급한 다음 위 망인의 사업주로서 위 소외 3의 수령위임을 받아 보험급여를 수령하여 이를 위 소외 3에게 미리 지급한 합의금에 대체하기로 약정하였고 그에 따라 위 소외 3의 위임을 받은 위 회사가 위 소외 3의 위임을 받아 앞에서 본 바와 같은 금액의 보험급여를 수령하여 이를 위 합의금의 일부로 충당하였던 사실을 인정하고, 위 인정사실에 비추어보면 위 소외 3이 위 회사와 합의한 취지는 이 사건 사고로 인한 위 회사와 피고에 대한 손해배상청구권 중 위 산재급여금을 초과하는 부분만을 포기하였다고 보일 뿐이고 달리 위 소외 3의 피고에 대한 손해배상청구권이 모두 소멸되었다고 인정할 만한 아무런 증거가 없다고 하여 이를 배척하였으며, 위 회사와 피고 사이에 위 회사가 위 도급공사로 인하여 발생한 일체의 손해를 위 회사가 책임지기로 약정하였다 하여도 위 소외 3의 피고에 대한 손해배상청구권을 대위행사하는 원고에게 피고와 위 회사 사이의 약정으로 대항할 수 없다 할 것이라고 판시하였다.

나. 기록에 의하면 위 소외 3은 위 회사로부터 지급받은 돈 중 유족보상일시금에 해당하는 금 45,500,000원은 위 회사로부터 체당지급받았다고 하여 위 법 제16조 제2항, 동시행령 제32조 제1항 제1호에 의하여 이 금액의 수령을 위 회사에게 위임하였고 그에 따라 위 회사가 위 금액을 원고로부터 수령한 사실이 인정되므로 위 소외 3은 위 회사로부터 위 금 45,500,000원을 손해배상이 아니라 위 법 소정의 유족보상일시금으로 지급받은 것이라고 할 것이고(위 소외 3이 위 회사에 대하여 작성하여 준 영수증인 갑 제7호증의 4에도 위 돈 58,000,000원을 산재보상금 등을 포함하여 영수한다고 기재되어 있다) 따라서 위 소외 3으로서는 위 유족보상일시금 상당에 대하여는 피고에 대한 관계에 있어서 손해배상청구권을 포기한 것이 아니라고 보아야 할 것이다. 만일 이 부분 손해배상청구권까지 포기한 것이라고 본다면 위 소외 3으로서는 국가에 대한 유족보상일시금 청구권을 상실하게 되므로(당원 1979.12.26. 선고 79다1668 판결 참조), 위 소외 3은 유족보상일시금을 지급받으면서 동시에 이를 지급받을 권리를 소멸시킨다는 불합리한 행동을 한 것이 되기 때문이다.

그러므로 원심이 피고의 위 주장을 배척한 것은 위 금 45,500,000원 부분에 관하여는 정당하다고 할 것이고, 위 법 제16조, 같은법시행령 제32조의 규정에 의하면 이처럼 사업주가 보험급여를 받을 권리가 있는 자에게 보험급여를 체당지급한 경우라도 당연히 사업주가 국가에 대하여 직접 보험급여를 청구할 수 있는 것은 아니며 수급권자가 그 수령을 위임한 경우에 한하여 대신 수령할 수 있는 것에 지나지 않으므로 이를 가리켜 변제자대위의 법리가 적용되어 보험급여를 받을 자의 급여청구권이 사업주에게 이전되는 것이라고는 할 수 없고 따라서 위 회사가 피고에 대하여 체당지급하였다는 이유만으로 위 소외 3의 급여청구권이 위 회사에게 이전되어 원고로서는 위 회사를 대위하여서만 피고에 대하여 구상청구를 할 수 있음을 전제로 하는 논지도 이유 없다.

다. 그러나 위 법 제12조 제3항은 위 법 제9조의8의 규정에 의한 장의비는 그 장제를 행하는 자에게 지급한다고 규정되어 있는데, 이 사건 기록, 특히 원심이 인용하고 있는 갑 제9호증의 6내지 9의 각 기재에 의하면 위 회사는 위 소외 1의 장제를 위 회사가 실행하였다는 위 소외 3의 확인을 받아 자신이 위 장의비의 급여를 받을 권리자라 하여 직접 원고 산하 인천지방노동청장에게 그 지급을 청구하여 위 장의비 금 4,200,000원을 지급받은 것으로 인정되므로(위 법 시행령 제32조 제1항 제1호는 장의비를 사업주가 체당지급에 기하여 수령을 위임받을 수 있는 보험급여로 열거하고 있지도 않다) 원고로서는 위 장의비 부분에 관한 한 위 소외 3을 대위하여서는 피고에게 손해배상을 청구할 수는 없다고 할 것이고, 가사 원고의 청구 가운데 위 회사를 대위하여 피고에게 위 장의비 상당의 지급을 구하는 취지가 포함되어 있다고 본다고 하여도, 피고가 이 사건 사고 후인 1990.5.8. 위 회사에게 위 소외 1의 유족들에 대한 손해배상금 명목으로 금 32,000,000원을 지급하고, 위 회사가 피해자측과 합의함에 있어 그 합의금이 위 금액을 초과할 경우 그 초과금액을 위 회사가 책임지기로 약정한 사실은 원심도 인정하고 있는 바이므로 위 회사로서는 피고에 대하여 위 장의비 상당의 지급을 청구할 권리가 없다고 하지 않을 수 없고 따라서 원고로서는 위 회사를 대위하여서도 피고에 대하여 위 장의비 상당의 지급을 구할 수 없다고 할 것이다(당원 1981.2.10. 선고 80다1229 판결 참조).

그럼에도 불구하고 원심이 위 회사가 위 장의비까지 위 소외 3에게 지급하고 그 수령을 위임받아 원고로부터 이를 수령한 것으로 인정하고, 위 회사와 피고 사이에 위와 같이 구상할 수 없다는 약정이 있다 하여도 이로써 위 소외 3의 피고에 대한 손해배상청구권을 대위행사하는 원고에게 대항할 수 없다고 판시한 것은 증거를 잘못 판단하여 판결에 영향을 미친 위법을 저지른 것이라고 할 것이니 이 점을 지적하는 논지는 이유 있다.

3. 결론

이에 원심판결의 피고패소 부분 중 위 장의비에 상당하는 금 4,200,000원 및 그 지연손해금의 지급을 명한 부분(금45,500,000원 및 그 지연손해금을 초과하여 지급을 명한 부분)을 파기하고, 이 부분 사건은 당원이 판단하기에 충분하므로 자판하기로 하되, 그 청구부분은 이유 없으므로 이를 기각할 것인바, 제1심 판결은 당원과 결론을 같이하여 정당하므로 이 부분에 해당하는 원고의 항소를 기각하고, 피고의 나머지 상고는 이유 없으므로 이를 기각하며 소송총비용의 부담에 관하여는 민사소송법 제89조, 제92조, 제96조를 적용하여 관여 법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

【주 문】 1. 원심판결 중 피고에 대하여 금45,500,000원 및 이에 대하여 1990.5.27.부터 1992.12.15.까지는 연5푼의, 그 다음날부터 완제일까지는 연 2할 5푼의 각 비율에 의한 금원을 초과하여 지급을 명한 피고패소 부분을 파기하고 위 파기부분에 해당하는 원고의 항소를 기각한다.

2. 피고의 나머지 상고를 기각한다.

3. 소송총비용은 이를 10분하여 그 9는 피고의, 나머지는 원고의 각 부담으로 한다.

대법관 안용득(재판장) 천경송 지창권 신성택(주심)

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
93다38826 · 대법원 1994-05-24
Claim for Reimbursement (구상금등)
#2
2021다203135 · 대법원 2025-03-13
Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)
#3
92나66796 · 서울고법 1993-07-20
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
#4
2007나23069 · 서울고등법원 2008-01-09
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
#5
90다5634 · 대법원 1990-12-11
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)

Cases citing this decision

2006다32910 · 대법원 2008-04-10
Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)
2000다63752 · 대법원 2001-02-23
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
97구33685 · 서울고법 1998-05-28
Revocation of Disposition Denying Lump-sum Survivors' Compen
95다27684 · 대법원 1997-04-11
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)