Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 93다38826

Claim for Reimbursement (구상금등)구상금등

Decided1994. 05. 24. Court대법원Reversed and remanded (파기환송) - the Supreme Court sided with the employer's position on the legal issue and sent the case back to the lower court for further review
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

A taxi company paid disaster compensation (재해보상금) directly to the bereaved family of a driver who died on the job, and then sought reimbursement from the State, which administers the industrial accident insurance (산재보험) system. The Supreme Court held that when an employer pays such compensation before the insurance benefit is granted, the employer may still claim reimbursement from the State once the statutory requirements for the insurance benefit are met. The Court reversed the lower court's ruling and remanded the case for further proceedings.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA taxi company paid death compensation to a deceased driver's family and then sought reimbursement from the State's industrial accident insurance fund.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court ruled that employers who pay compensation first can still claim reimbursement from the State once insurance benefit conditions are met, regardless of whether the family appealed a benefit rejection.
  • LessonEmployers who compensate injured or deceased workers' families in advance should know they retain the right to seek reimbursement from the state insurance system later, even if the family did not contest an initial benefit denial.
Issues
  • Whether an employer who voluntarily pays disaster compensation before an industrial accident insurance benefit is granted may later seek reimbursement from the State
  • Whether a bereaved family's failure to appeal a decision rejecting industrial accident insurance benefits bars the employer from exercising its reimbursement right
Key reasoning

The industrial accident insurance system serves not only to guarantee workers' livelihood but also functions as a form of liability insurance covering the employer's statutory duty to compensate for workplace accidents. Therefore, if an employer pays disaster compensation before the insurance benefit is finalized, and the requirements for the insurance benefit are later satisfied, the employer is entitled to seek reimbursement from the State up to the amount paid. The Court also clarified that even if an administrative decision rejecting the insurance benefit becomes final because the bereaved family did not appeal it, this does not conclusively establish the underlying facts or legal conclusions, and therefore does not bar the employer from later asserting its reimbursement claim.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

[1] Insurance benefits under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) are in the nature of the State, in the position of an insurer, directly compensating the worker for damages arising from an occupational accident, which the employer is obligated to compensate under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법). Given that the grounds and types of insurance benefits and the criteria for calculating benefit amounts are identical or similar to those for accident compensation, and given that provisions for mutual adjustment exist based on the identity of their function as loss compensation, it is reasonable to view that, in addition to their character as a guarantee of the worker's livelihood, such insurance benefits also possess the nature of, and perform the function of, liability insurance with respect to the employer's accident compensation obligation under the Labor Standards Act. In the relationship between the business owner and the State, it should be construed that the State ultimately bears the compensation liability. Accordingly, prior to the amendment of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act on December 27, 1993, where industrial accident insurance benefits were paid before accident compensation, the employer is entirely discharged from all accident compensation liability for the same cause, and the State naturally cannot seek reimbursement from the employer therefor; however, where the worker first received accident compensation from the employer, the State has no obligation to pay insurance benefits to the worker within the scope of that amount, and the business owner (employer), where the requirements for industrial accident insurance benefits are satisfied, may seek reimbursement from the State within the scope of that amount.

[2] Even where an administrative disposition has become final and its effect can no longer be contested, this does not mean that the factual relationship or legal determination underlying the disposition becomes fixed such that the parties or the courts are bound thereby and precluded from making contradictory assertions or determinations. Therefore, the fact that the bereaved family of a deceased worker first filed a claim for industrial accident insurance benefits, which was rejected by the Regional Labor Office, and did not appeal against that rejection, cannot constitute an impediment to the employer's claim against the State for reimbursement as set forth in item "[1]" above.

Full text (English, AI translation) 15,491 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellant] Daejin Taxi Co., Ltd., Litigation Representative Attorney Kim Dong-ho
[Defendant, Appellee] Republic of Korea
[Judgment Below] Busan District Court, Judgment rendered June 25, 1993, Case No. 93Na2954

[Order]

The judgment below is reversed, and the case is remanded to the Panel Division of the Busan District Court.

[Reasoning]

We examine the grounds of appeal.

1. The summary of the reasoning of the judgment below is as follows.

A. The Plaintiff's cause of action
(1) The deceased Nonparty 1 (hereinafter referred to as "the Deceased"), who was a taxi driver employed by the Plaintiff, entrusted the taxi for repair to ○○ Automobile Repair Workshop on December 17, 1988, and while drinking at a nearby location during the repair period, attempted to go to a restroom but mistakenly fell into an underground storage area and died. As the Plaintiff was a business subject to the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법) and was enrolled in insurance (hereinafter "industrial accident insurance") under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법, hereinafter "Industrial Accident Insurance Act"), the Deceased's wife, Nonparty 2, filed a claim for survivor benefits and funeral expenses with the Busan Bukbu Regional Labor Office, but the claim was rejected on the ground that the incident could not be recognized as an occupational accident.
(2) Accordingly, the Deceased's survivors filed a lawsuit against the Plaintiff seeking survivor compensation and funeral expenses under the Labor Standards Act. In this lawsuit, it was recognized that the Deceased died due to an occupational accident, and a judgment was rendered ordering payment of KRW 13,481,120. Accordingly, the Plaintiff paid KRW 15,000,000, including delay damages under the said judgment.
(3) Therefore, the Plaintiff seeks reimbursement from the Defendant of the amount equivalent to the above expenditure, on the ground that the Defendant bears the primary obligation to pay industrial accident insurance benefits to the survivors, and the Plaintiff extinguished the Defendant's obligation by fulfilling that obligation; alternatively, the Plaintiff seeks return of unjust enrichment in the same amount, on the ground that due to the Plaintiff's expenditure, the Defendant was relieved of its obligation to pay the above industrial accident insurance benefits to the Deceased's survivors and thereby obtained unjust enrichment in the equivalent amount; alternatively, the Plaintiff, as a party with an interest in performance, seeks payment of the above expended amount under the principle of subrogation by a person making payment, on the ground that the Plaintiff performed the Defendant's above obligation by subrogation; and alternatively, the Plaintiff seeks compensation for damages equivalent to the above expenditure suffered by the Plaintiff, on the ground that although the Deceased's death was due to an occupational accident, the Defendant breached its obligation under the industrial accident insurance contract with the Plaintiff by rejecting the claim for industrial accident insurance benefits on the ground that it was not an occupational accident.

B. The judgment of the court below
Benefits under the Industrial Accident Insurance Act have the nature of the State directly compensating the worker, in the position of an insurer, for damage arising from an occupational accident suffered by the worker, which the employer would otherwise be obligated to compensate under the Labor Standards Act; however, they do not have the nature of liability insurance covering the liability that the employer would bear for damage arising from such accident. Therefore, even if the Plaintiff paid accident compensation to the Deceased's survivors, it cannot be said that the Plaintiff thereby acquired by subrogation the survivors' right to claim insurance benefits against the Defendant, or that the Plaintiff acquired a right of reimbursement against the Defendant. Furthermore, even if, as a result of the Plaintiff, as employer, compensating for the damage based on civil liability for damages, the Defendant was relieved of its obligation to pay insurance benefits within the scope of that amount, the Plaintiff merely performed its own legal obligation and cannot be said to have suffered damage. Therefore, there is no room for the Plaintiff to seek return of unjust enrichment regarding the insurance benefits, or to claim damages, against the Defendant.

2. The accident compensation system under the Labor Standards Act has as its purpose to require the employer, who places the worker providing labor under its control and operates a business inherently carrying accident risk, to compensate for damage suffered by the worker due to the occurrence of an accident, regardless of fault (see this Court's en banc Decision 81Daka351, delivered October 13, 1981). However, it must also be understood as having the character of guaranteeing livelihood, in addition to compensating for damage from a worker's occupational accident. Thus, while the employer bears the obligation to provide accident compensation to the worker under the Labor Standards Act when the worker suffers an occupational accident, the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, enacted as Act No. 1438 on November 5, 1963, established the industrial accident insurance system in order to promptly and fairly compensate workers for occupational accidents (Article 1).

3. According to the provisions of Chapter 8 of the Labor Standards Act, accident compensation includes medical care compensation (Article 78), temporary disability compensation (Article 79), disability compensation (Article 80), survivor compensation (Article 82), and funeral expenses (Article 83). Article 87 of the same Act provides that where a person entitled to compensation receives, for the same cause, money or goods equivalent to the accident compensation under the same Act pursuant to the Civil Act (민법) or other statutes, the employer is relieved of liability for compensation to the extent of the value thereof. The Industrial Accident Insurance Act provides that the industrial accident insurance program is administered by the Minister of Labor (Article 2, Paragraph 1); that, except for businesses prescribed by Presidential Decree, the business owner automatically becomes an insured person (Article 6); that the Minister of Labor collects insurance premiums from insured persons (Article 19); and that the types of insurance benefits, originally corresponding to accident compensation under the Labor Standards Act, were medical care benefits, temporary disability benefits, disability benefits, survivor benefits, and funeral expense benefits, to which an injury and disease compensation pension was added upon amendment by Act No. 3631 on December 31, 1982 (Chapter 3). Except for the injury and disease compensation pension, benefits are to be paid, upon the claim of the person entitled to receive insurance benefits (hereinafter "beneficiary"), when a cause for accident compensation prescribed in Articles 78 through 80, 82, and 83 of the Labor Standards Act arises (Article 9). Article 11, Paragraphs 1, 2, and 3 of the same Act (Industrial Accident Insurance Act) provided that where a beneficiary receives insurance benefits under the same Act, the insured person (employer) is relieved of all accident compensation liability under the Labor Standards Act for the same cause, and is relieved of liability for damages under the Civil Act or other statutes to the extent of that amount; and that where a beneficiary receives, for the same cause, money or goods equivalent to insurance benefits under the same Act pursuant to the Civil Act or other statutes, insurance benefits shall not be paid to the extent of that amount. This was later amended by Act No. 4641 on December 27, 1993, changing the provision so that where a beneficiary has received or is entitled to receive insurance benefits under the same Act, the insured person is relieved of accident compensation liability for the same cause.

In light of the above various provisions, the industrial accident insurance system is not, in form, directly derived from the accident compensation system under the Labor Standards Act, but rather is a separate system coexisting on the common basis of the legal principle of an employer's compensation liability for a worker's occupational accident. Nevertheless, insurance benefits under the Industrial Accident Insurance Act have the nature of the State, in the position of an insurer, directly compensating the worker for damage from an occupational accident that the employer would otherwise be obligated to compensate under the Labor Standards Act; and while they do not have the nature of liability insurance regarding the civil liability for damages that the employer would bear due to the accident (see this Court's Decision 88Daka28204, delivered November 14, 1989), given that the causes and types of insurance benefits and the standards for calculating benefit amounts are identical or similar to those for accident compensation, and given that mutual adjustment provisions exist based on the functional identity of loss compensation, it is reasonable to view that, in addition to having the character of guaranteeing the worker's livelihood, industrial accident insurance also has the nature of liability insurance with respect to the employer's accident compensation under the Labor Standards Act, and performs that liability-insurance function as well.

4. Therefore, whether this is the case after the amendment of the above Industrial Accident Insurance Act is a separate matter to be discussed, but at least prior to that amendment, a worker who suffered an accident held both a right to claim accident compensation against the employer and a right to claim industrial accident insurance benefits against the State. Although industrial accident insurance has the character of liability insurance, and it is generally desirable for the claim for industrial accident insurance benefits to be given priority since industrial accident insurance is generally more advantageous to the worker than accident compensation, a worker cannot be prevented from choosing to claim accident compensation instead. Accordingly, the beneficiary may selectively exercise either claim, and the employer cannot be relieved of accident compensation liability unless it asserts and proves that the right to claim industrial accident insurance benefits has concretely arisen (see this Court's Decision 70Da2144, delivered November 24, 1970).

However, this position is to be understood as applying to the relationship between the accident-affected worker and the employer and the State; it does not necessarily follow that the same applies to the relationship between the employer and the State. In light of the relationship between accident compensation and industrial accident insurance discussed above, the nature of industrial accident insurance, the fact that the business owner is compelled to enroll in industrial accident insurance and pay premiums, and the fact that the pre-amendment Industrial Accident Insurance Act provided that where a beneficiary receives insurance benefits, the insured person (employer) is relieved of all accident compensation liability for the same cause, while on the other hand providing that insurance benefits shall not be paid only where the beneficiary has received, for the same cause, money or goods equivalent to insurance benefits under the Civil Act or other statutes, without any provision stating that insurance benefits shall not be paid where accident compensation has been paid, it must be interpreted, with respect to the relationship between the business owner and the State, that the State ultimately bears the compensation liability. Otherwise, this would deprive the business owner of the benefit of insurance, run contrary to the liability-insurance nature of industrial accident insurance with respect to accident compensation, and be inconsistent with the purpose for which the industrial accident insurance system was established, which cannot but be regarded as unreasonable.

Therefore, prior to the amendment of the above Industrial Accident Insurance Act, where industrial accident insurance benefits were provided before accident compensation, the employer is relieved of all accident compensation liability for the same cause, and the State naturally cannot seek reimbursement from the employer. However, where the worker first received accident compensation from the employer, the State has no obligation to pay insurance benefits to the worker within the scope of that amount, and it is reasonable to view that, where the requirements for industrial accident insurance benefits are satisfied, the business owner (employer) may seek reimbursement from the State within the scope of that amount.

6. Turning back to the present case, although the Deceased's wife first filed a claim for industrial accident insurance benefits, which was rejected by the Busan Bukbu Regional Labor Office, and she did not raise an objection to this but instead filed a claim for accident compensation against the Plaintiff, with the Plaintiff losing that lawsuit and paying accident compensation, the fact that an administrative disposition has become final and can no longer be disputed as to its effect does not mean that the factual relationship or legal determination underlying that disposition becomes conclusively fixed such that the parties or the court are bound thereby and cannot make contradictory assertions or determinations (see this Court's Decision 93Nu5437, delivered August 7, 1993). Therefore, the above circumstances cannot be said to constitute an obstacle to the Plaintiff seeking reimbursement from the Defendant.

7. According to Article 35 of the Enforcement Decree of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act (as amended by Presidential Decree No. 11960, August 27, 1986), where a business owner has paid in advance to a beneficiary, for the same cause as a cause for insurance benefits under the same Act, money or goods equivalent to insurance benefits pursuant to the Civil Act or other statutes, and such money or goods may be deemed to have been paid in advance on behalf of insurance benefits, the business owner, in order to receive the corresponding amount from the Minister of Labor, must apply to the Minister of Labor with documents proving that money or goods equivalent to insurance benefits were paid in advance for the same cause as a cause for insurance benefits. This provision is a special provision permitting such treatment in cases where payment may be deemed to have been made in advance on behalf of industrial accident insurance benefits, and it cannot be said that the employer's method of exercising the right of reimbursement is thereby limited.

8. The judgment below is erroneous in that it misunderstood the nature of accident compensation and industrial accident insurance as provided by the Labor Standards Act and the Industrial Accident Insurance Act; therefore, the argument pointing out this error is well-founded.

Accordingly, without examining the remaining grounds of appeal, the judgment below is reversed and the case is remanded, by the unanimous opinion of the participating Justices, as stated in the Order.

Justice Kim Seok-su (Presiding Justice), Bae Man-un (Justice in Charge), Kim Ju-han, Jeong Gui-ho

【판결요지】

가. 산업재해보상보험법에 의한 보험급여는 사용자가 근로기준법에 의하여 보상하여야 할 근로자의 업무상 재해로 인한 손해를 국가가 보험자의 입장에서 근로자에게 직접 전보하는 성질을 가지고 있는 것으로서, 보험급여의 사유와 종류, 급여액의 산정기준이 재해보상과 동일하거나 유사하고, 손실전보라는 기능의 동일성을 근거로 하여 상호조정규정을 두고 있는 점에 있어서 근로자의 생활보장적 성격 외에 근로기준법에 따른 사용자의 재해보상에 대하여는 책임보험의 성질도 가지고 책임보험적 기능도 수행하고 있다고 보는 것이 상당하며, 사업주와 국가와의 관계에 있어서는 국가가 궁극적으로 보상책임을 져야 한다고 해석할 것이고, 따라서 산업재해보상보험법이 1993.12.27. 개정되기 전에 있어서는 산재보험급여가 재해보상 전에 행하여진 경우에 사용자는 동일한 사유에 대하여 일체의 재해보상책임이 면책되고, 국가는 당연히 사용자에 대하여 구상할 수 없으나, 근로자가 사용자로부터 먼저 재해보상을 받은 경우에는 국가는 그 금액 범위 안에서 근로자에게 보험급여의 지급의무가 없고, 사업주(사용자)는 산재보험급여의 요건이 갖추어진 경우에 그 금액의 범위 안에서 국가에 대하여 구상할 수 있다고 보아야 한다.

나. 행정처분이 확정되어 그 처분의 효력을 더 이상 다툴 수 없게 되었다 하더라도 그 처분의 기초가 된 사실관계나 법률적 판단이 확정되고 당사자들이나 법원이 이에 기속되어 모순되는 주장이나 판단을 할 수 없게 되는 것은 아니므로, 사망한 근로자의 유족이 먼저 산재보험급여청구를 하였다가 노동지방사무소에 의하여 기각되자 이에 대하여 불복을 하지 않았다는 사유는 사용자가 국가를 상대로 위 "가"항의 구상을 청구함에 있어 장애가 된다고 할 수 없다.

【참조조문】

가. 산업재해보상보험법 제9조, 구 산업재해보상보험법(1993.12.27. 법률 제4641호로 개정되기 전의 것) 제11조 / 나. 행정심판법 제37조

【참조판례】

가. 대법원 1989.11.14. 선고 88다카28204 판결(공1990,27) / 나. 대법원 1993.4.13. 선고 92누17181 판결(공1993상,1409), 1993.8.27. 선고 93누5437 판결(공1993하,2648)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 5,513자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 상고인】 대진택시주식회사 소송대리인 변호사 김동호

【피고, 피상고인】 대한민국

【원심판결】 부산지방법원 1993.6.25. 선고 93나2954 판결

【주 문】

원심판결을 파기하고, 사건을 부산지방법원 합의부에 환송한다.

【이 유】 상고이유를 본다.

1. 원심판결 이유의 요지는 다음과 같다.

가. 원고의 청구원인

(1) 원고 소속 택시의 운전사이던 망 소외 1(이하 망인이라고 한다)이 1988.12.17. ○○자동차정비공업사에 위 택시의 수리를 맡기고 그 동안 인근에서 술을 마시고 있다가 화장실에 간다는 것이 잘못하여 어떤 지하창고에 추락하여 사망하였고, 원고는 근로기준법 적용대상 업체로서 산업재해보상보험법(이하 산재보험법이라고 한다)에 따른 보험(이하 산재보험이라고 한다)에 가입되어 있었기 때문에 망인의 처인 소외 2가 부산 북부지방노동사무소에 유족급여와 장의비의 지급청구를 하였는데, 업무상 재해로 인정할 수 없다는 이유로 기각되었다.

(2) 그리하여 망인의 유족들은 원고를 상대로 근로기준법에 따른 유족보상과 장사비 청구소송을 제기하여 이 소송에서 망인은 업무상 재해로 사망한 것으로 인정되어 금 13,481,120원을 지급하라는 판결이 선고되었고, 이에 따라 원고는 위 판결에 따른 지연손해금을 합쳐 금 15,000,000원을 지급하였다.

(3) 그러므로 원고는 피고에 대하여, 유족에 대한 산재보험금 지급의무는 피고에게 제1차적 지급의무가 있음에도 원고가 그 의무를 이행하여 피고의 의무를 소멸케 하였으므로 위 지출금 상당의 구상을 구하고, 선택적으로 원고의 출재로 인하여 피고는 망인의 유족들에 대한 위 산재보험금 지급의무를 면하게 되어 같은 금액 상당의 부당이득을 얻었으므로 그 반환을 구하고, 또 선택적으로 원고는 변제할 이익이 있는 자로서 피고를 대위하여 피고의 위 의무를 이행한 것이므로 변제자 대위의 법리에 의하여 위 지출금의 지급을 구하며, 또 선택적으로 망인의 사망은 업무상 재해로 인한 것임에도 불구하고 피고는 업무상 재해가 아니라는 이유로 산재보험금 지급청구를 기각함으로써 원고와의 산재보험계약상의 채무를 불이행하였으므로 그로 인하여 원고가 입은 위 지출금 상당의 손해배상을 구한다.

나. 원심의 판단

산재보험법에 의한 보험급여는 사용자가 근로기준법에 의하여 보상하여야 할 근로자의 업무상 재해로 인한 손해를 국가가 보험자의 입장에서 근로자에게 직접 전보하는 성질을 가지고 있으나, 사용자가 그 재해로 인하여 부담하게 될 손해에 대한 책임보험의 성질까지 갖는 것은 아니므로, 원고가 망인의 유족에게 재해보상금을 지급하였다고 하여도 그 유족의 피고에 대한 보험급여청구권을 대위 취득하였다거나 원고가 피고에 대하여 구상권을 취득하였다고 할 수 없고, 또 원고가 사용자로서 민사상 손해배상책임에 터잡아 손해를 배상함으로써 그 금액 범위 내에서 피고가 보험급여의 지급의무를 면하게 되었다고 하여도 원고는 자신의 법률상의 의무를 이행한 것에 지나지 아니하여 손해를 입었다고 할 수 없으므로, 피고에 대하여 보험급여에 대한 부당이득반환을 구하거나 손해배상을 청구할 여지가 없다.

2. 근로기준법상의 재해보상제도는 근로를 제공하는 근로자를 그 지배하에 두고, 재해위험이 내재된 기업을 경영하는 사용자로 하여금 그 과실 유무를 묻지 아니하고 재해발생으로 근로자가 입은 손해를 보상케 하려는 데에 그 목적이 있는 것이나(당원 1981.10.13. 선고 81다카351 전원합의체판결 참조), 근로자의 업무상 재해에 대한 손해보상과 아울러 생활보장적 성격도 가지고 있다고 보아야 할 것인바, 이와 같이 근로자가 업무상 재해를 입은 경우 사용자는 근로자에 대하여 근로기준법에 따른 재해보상의무를 부담하지만 1963.11.5. 법률 제1438호로 제정된 산재보험법은 근로자의 업무상의 재해를 신속하고 공정하게 보상하기 위하여 산재보험제도를 설정하였다 (제1조).

3. 근로기준법 제8장의 규정에 의하면, 재해보상에는 요양보상(제78조), 휴업보상(제79조), 장해보상(제80조), 유족보상(제82조), 장사비(제83조)가 있고, 같은법 제87조는 보상을 받게 될 자가 동일한 사유에 의하여 민법 기타 법령에 의하여 같은법의 재해보상에 상당하는 금품을 받을 경우에는 그 가액의 한도에 있어서 사용자는 보상의 책임을 면하도록 규정하고 있고, 산재보험법은 산재보험사업은 노동부장관이 관장하고(제2조 제1항), 사업의 사업주는 대통령령으로 정하는 사업을 제외하고는 당연히 보험가입자가 되며(제6조), 노동부장관은 보험가입자로부터 보험료를 징수하고(제19조), 보험급여의 종류는 원래 근로기준법상의 재해보상에 대응하여 요양급여, 휴업급여, 장해급여, 유족급여, 장의비로 하였다가 1982.12.31. 법률 제3631호로 개정되면서 상병보상연금을 추가하였는바(제3장), 상병보상연금을 제외하고는 근로기준법 제78조 내지 제80조와 제82조 및 제83조에 규정된 재해보상의 사유가 발생한 때에 보험급여를 받을 자(이하 수급권자라 한다)의 청구에 의하여 지급하도록 규정하고(제9조), 같은 법(산재보험법) 제11조 제1, 2, 3항은 수급권자가 같은 법에 의하여 보험급여를 받은 때에는 보험가입자는 동일한 사유에 대하여는 근로기준법에 의한 모든 재해보상책임이 면제되고, 그 금액의 한도 안에서 민법 기타 법령에 의한 손해배상의 책임이 면제되며, 수급권자가 동일한 사유로 민법 기타 법령에 의하여 같은 법의 보험급여에 상당한 금품을 받은 때에는 그 금액의 한도 안에서 보험급여를 지급하지 아니한다고 규정하였다가, 1993.12.27. 법률 제4641호로 개정되어 수급권자가 같은 법에 의하여 보험급여를 받았거나 받을 수 있는 경우에는 보험가입자는 동일한 사유에 대하여는 재해보상책임이 면제되는 것으로 바뀌었다.

위의 여러 규정에 비추어 보면, 산재보험제도는 형식상은 근로기준법에 의한 재해보상제도로부터 직접 파생된 것으로 되어 있는 것은 아니고 근로자의 업무상 재해에 대한 사업주의 보상책임의 법리를 공통의 기반으로 하여 병존하는 별개의 제도이기는 하지만, 산재보험법에 의한 보험급여는 사용자가 근로기준법에 의하여 보상하여야 할 근로자의 업무상 재해로 인한 손해를 국가가 보험자의 입장에서 근로자에게 직접 전보하는 성질을 가지고 있는 것으로서, 사용자가 그 재해로 인하여 부담하게 될 민사상의 손해배상책임에 대하여는 책임보험의 성질까지 갖는 것은 아니나(당원 1989.11.14. 선고 88다카28204 판결 참조), 보험급여의 사유와 종류, 급여액의 산정기준이 재해보상과 동일하거나 유사하고, 손실전보라는 기능의 동일성을 근거로 하여 상호조정규정을 두고 있는 점에 있어서 근로자의 생활보장적 성격외에 근로기준법에 따른 사용자의 재해보상에 대하여는 책임보험의 성질도 가지고 그 책임보험적 기능도 수행하고 있다고 보는 것이 상당하다.

4. 그러므로 재해를 입은 근로자는 위의 산재보험법이 개정된 후에 있어서는 별도로 논의할 문제이나 적어도 이것이 개정되기 전에 있어서는 사용자에 대한 재해보상청구권과 국가에 대한 산재보험급여청구권을 모두 가지고 있고, 산재보험이 책임보험적 성격을 가지고 있고 일반적으로 산재보험이 재해보상보다 근로자에게 유리한 것이어서 산재보험급여의 청구를 우선하는 것이 바람직하기는 하지만, 근로자가 재해보상을 선택하여 청구하는 것을 막을 수는 없는 것이어서, 수급권자는 두 청구를 선택적으로 행사할 수 있고 사용자는 산재보험급여청구권이 구체적으로 발생하고 있음을 주장, 입증하지 않는 한 재해보상책임을 면할 수 없다고 할 것이다 (당원 1970.11.24. 선고 70다2144 판결 참조).

그러나 이러한 입장은 재해를 입은 근로자의 사용자와 국가에 대한 관계에서 그렇게 보아야 한다는 것이고, 그렇다고 하여 사용자와 국가와의 관계에 있어서도 반드시 그렇다는 것은 아니며, 사용자(사업주)와 국가와의 사이에 있어서는 위에서 본 재해보상과 산재보험과의 관계, 산재보험의 성격, 사업주는 산재보험에의 가입과 보험료의 납부가 강제되고 있는 점, 개정 전의 산재보험법이 수급권자가 보험급여를 받으면 동일한 사유에 대한 보험가입자(사용자)의 모든 재해보상책임이 면제된다고 규정한 반면, 수급권자가 동일한 사유로 민법 기타 법령에 의하여 보험급여에 상당하는 금품을 받은 때에만 보험급여를 지급하지 아니한다고 규정하고 재해보상금이 지급되었을 때 산재보험급여를 지급하지 아니하는 규정을 두고 있지 아니한 점 등에 비추어 보면, 사업주와 국가와의 관계에 있어서는 국가가 궁극적으로 그 보상책임을 져야 한다고 해석할 것이고, 그렇지 아니하면 사업주의 보험이익을 박탈하고 산재보험의 재해보상에 관한 책임보험적 성질에 반하고 산재보험제도의 설정목적에도 어긋나는 것이어서 부당하다고 아니할 수 없다.

따라서, 위의 산재보험법이 개정되기 전에 있어서는 산재보험급여가 재해보상전에 행하여진 경우에는 사용자는 동일한 사유에 대하여는 일체의 재해보상책임이 면책되고, 국가는 당연히 사용자에 대하여 구상할 수 없다고 할 것이나, 근로자가 사용자로 부터 먼저 재해보상을 받은 경우에는 국가는 그 금액 범위 안에서는 근로자에게 보험급여의 지급의무가 없고, 사업주(사용자)는 산재보험급여의 요건이 갖추어진 경우에는 그 금액의 범위 안에서 국가에 대하여 구상할 수 있다고 보는 것이 상당하다.

6. 돌이켜 이 사건에 관하여 보면, 망인의 처가 먼저 산재보험급여청구를 하였다가 부산 북부노동지방사무소에 의하여 기각되자 이에 대하여 불복을 하지 않고, 원고를 상대로 재해보상청구를 하고 원고가 그 소송에서 패소하여 재해보상금을 지급하였다는 것이나, 행정처분이 확정되어 그 처분의 효력을 더이상 다툴 수 없게 되었다 하더라도 그 처분의 기초가 된 사실관계나 법률적 판단이 확정되고 당사자들이나 법원이 이에 기속되어 모순되는 주장이나 판단을 할 수 없게 되는 것은 아니므로(당원 1993.8.7. 선고 93누5437 판결), 위와 같은 사유는 원고가 피고를 상대로 구상을 청구함에 있어 장애가 된다고 할 수 없다.

7. 산재보험법시행령(1986.8.27. 대통령령 제11960호로 개정된 것) 제35조에 의하면, 사업주가 같은 법에 의한 보험급여의 사유와 동일한 사유로 민법 기타 법령에 의하여 보험급여에 상당하는 금품을 수급권자에게 미리 지급한 경우로서 당해 금품이 보험급여를 체당하여 지급한 것으로 간주될 수 있는 경우에 사업주가 그 해당금액을 노동부장관으로 부터 지급받고자 할 때에는 보험급여의 사유와 동일한 사유로 보험급여에 상당하는 금품을 미리 지급한 사실을 증명하는 서류를 갖추어 노동부장관에게 청구하도록 규정하고 있는바, 이 규정은 산재보험급여를 체당하여 지급한 것으로 간주될 수 있는 경우에 허용한 특별규정으로서, 이 때문에 사용자의 구상권 행사방법이 제한된다고 할 수 없다.

8. 원심판결에는 근로기준법과 산재보험법이 규정한 재해보상과 산재보험의 성격을 오해한 위법이 있다고 할 것이므로, 이 점을 지적하는 논지는 이유 있다.

그러므로 상고이유의 나머지 점에 관하여 살필 것없이 원심판결을 파기환송하기로 하여 관여 법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 김석수(재판장) 배만운(주심) 김주한 정귀호

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2020다229260 · 대법원 2020-09-24
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
#2
97가합11399 · 울산지법 1998-07-02
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
#3
2000다19021 · 대법원 2000-09-29
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
#4
2001다666 · 대법원 2001-11-30
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
#5
2015가단303124 · 대구지방법원 포항지원 2016-07-21
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)

Cases citing this decision

2009가합22910 · 인천지법 2011-04-13
선원재해보상금
2010두4216 · 대법원 2010-08-19
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
2010두5141 · 대법원 2010-08-19
Revocation of Disposition Denying Recognition of Additional
97구33685 · 서울고법 1998-05-28
Revocation of Disposition Denying Lump-sum Survivors' Compen

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)