Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 2006다32910

Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)구상금

Decided2008. 04. 10. Court대법원Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service (근로복지공단) won
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

During a construction project, a worker died in an accident caused by the negligence of a heavy equipment operator employed by an equipment rental company. The Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service (근로복지공단) paid insurance benefits to the deceased worker's bereaved family and then sought reimbursement from the heavy equipment's insurance company. The Supreme Court held that the operator qualified as a 'third party' (제3자) under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act because he had no industrial accident insurance relationship with the deceased worker, making the Service's reimbursement claim legitimate, and further found that the equipment rental company, which merely rented out equipment, did not qualify as a subcontractor (하수급인).

Key takeaways
  • CaseA construction worker died in an accident caused by the negligence of a heavy equipment operator supplied by an equipment rental company.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court ruled that both the operator and the rental company were third parties outside the industrial accident insurance relationship, validating the Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service's reimbursement claim.
  • LessonEquipment rental companies that merely supply equipment and operators, without performing an actual divided portion of the contracted work, are not treated as subcontractors and remain liable as third parties to industrial accident reimbursement claims.
Issues
  • Scope of 'third party' under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법)
  • Meaning of dividing a single project into separately performed operations
  • Whether an equipment rental company qualifies as a subcontractor (하수급인)
  • Requirements for the Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service (근로복지공단) to exercise its right of reimbursement (구상권)
Key reasoning

Under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, a 'third party' refers to someone outside the industrial accident insurance relationship with the injured worker. The Court found that the equipment operator, along with the primary contractor, had no such insurance relationship with the deceased worker, making him a third party subject to reimbursement claims. The equipment rental company was determined to be merely providing equipment together with an operator, rather than performing a divided portion of the construction work as a subcontractor. Because the rental company did not meet the legal definition of a subcontractor, its insurer could not claim exemption from liability on that basis. Consequently, the Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service's exercise of its right of reimbursement (구상권) against the insurer was deemed valid.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

[1] The term "third party" as used in Article 54(1) of the former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) (before its full amendment by Act No. 8373 on April 11, 2007) refers to a person, other than the insurer, the insured (business owner), and the relevant beneficiary, who has no direct or indirect industrial accident compensation insurance relationship with the injured worker together with the business owner who is the insured, and who bears liability for damages to the injured worker under tort law or the provisions of the Automobile Damage Compensation Guarantee Act (자동차손해배상 보장법), the Civil Act, or the State Compensation Act (국가배상법).

[2] In a case where a construction company that had been re-subcontracted for part of a construction project rented a crane together with its operator from a heavy equipment leasing business, and during the work, an employee of the said construction company died due to the fault of the crane operator, and the Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service (근로복지공단), as the insurer of the principal contractor, paid funeral expenses, etc. to the bereaved family of the worker pursuant to the former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (before its full amendment by Act No. 8373 on April 11, 2007) and claimed reimbursement against the insurer of the automobile comprehensive insurance contract covering the crane pursuant to Article 54 of the same Act, the court held that, since the crane operator was not an employee belonging to the said construction company and had no direct or indirect industrial accident compensation insurance relationship with the injured worker together with the principal contractor, the said claim for reimbursement was justified.

[3] "One project" as prescribed in the proviso to Article 54(1) of the former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (before its full amendment by Act No. 8373 on April 11, 2007) means that two or more business owners who are insured each carry out a project under Article 5 of the same Act, at the same location and within the same risk zone, for the completion of the same project (object); and "carried out separately by division" means that neither of the projects of the two or more business owners constitutes part of the other's project, and that each project does not overlap with the other, such that each project is carried out separately in itself.

[4] Article 9(1) of the former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (before its amendment by Act No. 7047 on December 31, 2003) provides that "where a project is carried out through several stages of subcontracting, the principal contractor shall be deemed the business owner of the project subject to this Act; provided, however, that where the principal contractor has the subcontractor assume, by written contract, the obligation to pay insurance premiums, and the Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service approves this upon the principal contractor's application, the subcontractor shall be deemed the business owner of the project subject to this Act." Such subcontractor does not include a leasing business operator who merely temporarily leases heavy equipment while providing an operator to the construction site.

Full text (English, AI translation) 6,965 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellee] Korea Workers' Compensation & Welfare Service

[Defendant, Appellant] Dongbu Fire & Marine Insurance Co., Ltd. (Attorney-at-law of the Somyeong Law Firm, Attorneys Kyung Su-geun and 6 others)

[Judgment Below] Busan District Court Decision 2004Na9487 rendered on April 27, 2006

[Order]

The appeal is dismissed. The costs of the appeal shall be borne by the Defendant.

[Reasoning]

The grounds of appeal are examined.

1. Article 54(1) of the former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, prior to its full amendment by Act No. 8373 of April 11, 2007; hereinafter referred to as the "Act") (see current Article 87(1)) provides as follows: "Where the Service has paid insurance benefits for an accident caused by the act of a third party, it shall be subrogated, within the limit of the amount of such benefits, to the right of the person who received the benefits to claim damages against the third party: Provided, That this shall not apply where two or more business owners who are insured persons, dividing a single business at the same place, each conduct such business separately, and an accident occurs due to the act of a worker of a different business owner among them."

Here, a "third party" refers to a person, other than the insurer, the insured person (business owner), and the beneficiary concerned, who has no direct or indirect industrial accident compensation insurance relationship with the injured worker together with the business owner who is the insured person, and who is liable to compensate the injured worker for damages pursuant to tort liability or the provisions of the Guarantee of Automobile Accident Compensation Act (자동차손해배상보장법), the Civil Act (민법), or the State Compensation Act (국가배상법) (see Supreme Court Decision 85Daka2285 rendered on March 8, 1988; Supreme Court Decision 2003Da33691 rendered on December 24, 2004, etc.).

The court below, based on the evidence it adopted, found the following facts: Sumok Construction Co., Ltd., having been re-subcontracted the steel frame construction work from Bangju General Construction Co., Ltd., the original contractor for the new factory construction in this case, borrowed the crane at issue and worked with it while receiving Non-party 2, an operator, provided by Non-party 1, who was engaged in the crane rental business; that during this process, Non-party 3, a worker of Sumok Construction Co., Ltd., died due to Non-party 2's erroneous operation of the crane; that the Plaintiff paid funeral expenses, etc. as indicated in the judgment below, to the bereaved family of Non-party 3; and that Non-party 2 was an employee of Non-party 1, receiving wages from Non-party 1. Based on these findings, the court below determined that since Non-party 2 was not an employee belonging to Sumok Construction Co., Ltd., and Non-party 1 had leased the crane at issue to Sumok Construction Co., Ltd. while providing the operator pursuant to a heavy equipment lease contract, Non-party 2 had no direct or indirect industrial accident compensation insurance relationship with Non-party 3, the injured worker, together with Bangju General Construction Co., Ltd., the original contractor, and thus concluded that the Defendant, as the insurer under the comprehensive automobile insurance contract concerning the crane at issue, was obligated to comply with the Plaintiff's claim for reimbursement. Examining this in light of the legal principles set forth above and the record, the fact-finding and determination of the court below are justified, and there is no error of law such as a violation of the rules of evidence or a misapprehension of the legal principles concerning the scope of "third party" under the main text of Article 54(1) of the Act, as pointed out in the grounds of appeal.

2. Meanwhile, "a single business" as referred to in the above proviso means that two or more business owners who are insured persons each conduct the business set forth in Article 5 of the Act, but do so for the completion of the same business (object) within the same place and the same zone of risk (see Supreme Court Decision 95Da27684 rendered on April 11, 1997, etc.), and "dividing and conducting the business separately" means that the business of one of the two or more business owners does not constitute part of the business of the other, and that each business does not overlap with the other, such that each business is conducted separately from the other.

According to the above legal principles and the facts found above, the crane work performed by Non-party 1, a heavy equipment rental business operator, through his operator Non-party 2 at the new factory construction site in this case constitutes part of the business of Bangju General Construction Co., Ltd., the original contractor, and therefore, it cannot be said that Non-party 1 was conducting a single business "separately" divided from that of Bangju General Construction Co., Ltd. The lower court's rejection of the Defendant's defense asserting the application of the above proviso was made in accordance with this purport, and is therefore ultimately justified, and there is no error of law, such as misapprehension of the legal principles, as alleged in the grounds of appeal.

3. Article 9(1) of the former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (prior to its amendment by Act No. 7047 of December 31, 2003) (currently provided for to the same effect in Article 9(1) of the Act on the Collection of Insurance Premiums for Employment Insurance and Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance) provides as follows: "Where a business is conducted through several stages of subcontracting, the original contractor shall be deemed the business owner of the business subject to this Act: Provided, That where the original contractor causes the subcontractor to undertake payment of insurance premiums by written contract, and the Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service approves this upon the original contractor's application, the subcontractor shall be deemed the business owner of the business subject to this Act." A rental business operator who provides an operator to a construction site while briefly renting out heavy equipment does not fall within the meaning of "subcontractor" under this provision. The lower court's rejection, to the same effect, of the Defendant's assertion that Non-party 1 was a subcontractor of Sumok Construction Co., Ltd. is justified, and there is no error of law concerning misapprehension of the legal principles regarding Article 9(1) of the above Act.

4. Therefore, the appeal is dismissed, and the costs of the appeal are to be borne by the losing party. This judgment is rendered as stated in the Order by the unanimous opinion of the Justices participating in the adjudication.

Justice Park Si-hwan (Presiding Justice), Yang Sung-tae, Park Il-hwan, Kim Neung-hwan (Justice in charge)

【판결요지】

[1] 구 산업재해보상보험법(2007. 4. 11. 법률 제8373호로 전문 개정되기 전의 것) 제54조 제1항에서 말하는 ‘제3자’는, 보험자·보험가입자(사업주) 및 해당 수급권자를 제외한 자 중 보험가입자인 사업주와 함께 직·간접적으로 재해 근로자와 산업재해보상보험관계가 없는 자로서 피해 근로자에 대하여 불법행위책임 내지 자동차손해배상 보장법이나 민법 또는 국가배상법의 규정에 의하여 손해배상책임을 지는 자를 말한다.

[2] 건축공사 일부를 재하수급한 건설회사가 중기임대업자로부터 운전기사와 함께 기중기를 빌려 작업을 하던 중 그 운전기사의 잘못으로 위 건설회사의 근로자가 사망하자 원수급인의 보험자인 근로복지공단이 구 산업재해보상보험법(2007. 4. 11. 법률 제8373호로 전문 개정되기 전의 것)에 따라 근로자의 유족에게 장의비 등을 지급하고 같은 법 제54조에 기하여 기중기에 관한 자동차종합보험계약의 보험자에게 구상금을 청구한 사안에서, 기중기 운전기사는 위 건설회사에 소속된 근로자가 아니고, 원수급인과 함께 직·간접적으로 피해 근로자와 산업재해보상보험관계가 없으므로, 위 구상청구가 정당하다고 한 사례.

[3] 구 산업재해보상보험법(2007. 4. 11. 법률 제8373호로 전문 개정되기 전의 것) 제54조 제1항 단서에 정한 ‘하나의 사업’은 보험가입자인 2인 이상의 사업주가 각각 같은 법 제5조의 사업을 행하되, 동일 장소, 동일 위험권 내에서 같은 사업(목적물)의 완성을 위하여 행하는 것을 의미하고, ‘분할하여 각각 행하다’라는 것은 2인 이상의 사업주 중 일방의 사업이 타방의 사업의 일부를 구성하지 아니하고, 그 각 사업이 서로 중복되지 아니하여 각 사업 자체가 분리되어 행하여지는 것을 의미한다.

[4] 구 산업재해보상보험법(2003. 12. 31. 법률 제7047호로 개정되기 전의 것) 제9조 제1항은 "사업이 수차의 도급에 의하여 행하여지는 경우에는 그 원수급인을 이 법의 적용을 받는 사업의 사업주로 본다. 다만, 원수급인이 서면계약으로 하수급인에게 보험료의 납부를 인수하게 하는 경우에 원수급인의 신청에 의하여 근로복지공단이 이를 승인한 때에는 그 하수급인을 이 법의 적용을 받는 사업의 사업주로 본다"라고 규정하고 있는데, 그 하수급인에는 공사현장에 운전기사를 제공하면서 중기를 잠시 임대하는 임대업자는 포함되지 아니한다.

【참조조문】

[1] 구 산업재해보상보험법(2007. 4. 11. 법률 제8373호로 전문 개정되기 전의 것) 제54조 제1항(현행 제87조 제1항 참조)

[2] 구 산업재해보상보험법(2007. 4. 11. 법률 제8373호로 전문 개정되기 전의 것) 제54조 제1항(현행 제87조 제1항 참조)

[3] 구 산업재해보상보험법(2007. 4. 11. 법률 제8373호로 전문 개정되기 전의 것) 제54조 제1항(현행 제87조 제1항 참조)

[4] 구 산업재해보상보험법(2003. 12. 31. 법률 제7047호로 개정되기 전의 것) 제9조 제1항(현행 고용보험 및 산업재해보상보험의 보험료징수 등에 관한 법률 제9조 제1항 참조)

【참조판례】

[1] 대법원 1988. 3. 8. 선고 85다카2285 판결(공1988, 650), 대법원 2004. 12. 24. 선고 2003다33691 판결(공2005상, 189), 대법원 2007. 1. 25. 선고 2006다60793 판결(공2007상, 340) / [3] 대법원 1994. 11. 18. 선고 93다3592 판결(공1995상, 40), 대법원 1997. 4. 11. 선고 95다27684 판결(공1997상, 1404), 대법원 2001. 2. 23. 선고 2000다63752 판결(공2001상, 752)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 2,479자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 피상고인】 근로복지공단

【피고, 상고인】 동부화재해상보험 주식회사 (소송대리인 법무법인 소명 담당변호사 경수근외 6인)

【원심판결】 부산지법 2006. 4. 27. 선고 2004나9487 판결

【주 문】

상고를 기각한다. 상고비용은 피고가 부담한다.

【이 유】상고이유를 판단한다.

1. 구 산업재해보상보험법(2007. 4. 11. 법률 제8373호로 전문 개정되기 전의 것, 이하 ‘법’이라고 한다) 제54조 제1항(현행 제87조 제1항 참조)은 "공단은 제3자의 행위로 인한 재해로 인하여 보험급여를 지급한 경우에는 그 급여액의 한도 안에서 급여를 받은 자의 제3자에 대한 손해배상청구권을 대위한다. 다만, 보험가입자인 2 이상의 사업주가 같은 장소에서 하나의 사업을 분할하여 각각 행하다가 그 중 사업주를 달리하는 근로자의 행위로 재해가 발생한 경우에는 그러하지 아니하다."라고 규정하고 있다.

여기서 제3자라 함은 보험자, 보험가입자(사업주) 및 해당 수급권자를 제외한 자 중, 보험가입자인 사업주와 함께 직·간접적으로 재해 근로자와 산업재해보상보험관계가 없는 자로서, 피해 근로자에 대하여 불법행위책임 내지 자동차손해배상보장법이나 민법 또는 국가배상법의 규정에 의하여 손해배상책임을 지는 자를 말한다(대법원 1988. 3. 8. 선고 85다카2285 판결, 대법원 2004. 12. 24. 선고 2003다33691 판결 등 참조).

원심은 그 채택 증거에 의하여, 주식회사 수목건설이 이 사건 공장신축공사의 원수급인 방주종합건설 주식회사로부터 철골공사를 재하수급받아 기중기 임대업을 하는 소외 1로부터 운전기사인 소외 2를 제공받으면서 이 사건 기중기를 빌려서 작업을 하던 중, 소외 2의 기중기 조작의 잘못으로 주식회사 수목건설의 근로자인 소외 3이 사망한 사실, 원고가 소외 3의 유족에게 원심 판시와 같은 장의비 등을 지급한 사실, 소외 2가 소외 1로부터 임금을 받고 있는 소외 1의 근로자인 사실 등을 인정한 다음, 소외 2가 주식회사 수목건설에 소속된 근로자가 아니고, 소외 1이 중기임대차계약에 따라 운전기사를 제공하면서 이 사건 기중기를 주식회사 수목건설에 임대하였으므로, 소외 2가 원수급인인 방주종합건설 주식회사와 함께 직·간접적으로 피해 근로자인 소외 3과 산업재해보상보험관계가 없다고 보아, 이 사건 기중기에 관한 자동차종합보험계약의 보험자인 피고가 원고의 구상청구에 응할 의무가 있다고 판단하였는바, 앞서 본 법리와 기록에 비추어 살펴보면, 원심의 사실인정과 판단은 정당하고, 거기에 상고이유에서 지적하는 바와 같은 채증법칙 위배 및 법 제54조 제1항 본문의 ‘제3자’의 범위에 관한 법리오해의 위법이 없다.

2. 한편, 위 단서 소정의 ‘하나의 사업’이라 함은 보험가입자인 2인 이상의 사업주가 각각 법 제5조 소정의 사업을 행하되, 동일 장소, 동일 위험권 내에서 같은 사업(목적물)의 완성을 위하여 행하는 것을 의미하고(대법원 1997. 4. 11. 선고 95다27684 판결 등 참조), ‘분할하여 각각 행하다’라는 것은, 2인 이상의 사업주 중 일방의 사업이 타방의 사업의 일부를 구성하지 아니하고, 그 각 사업이 서로 중복되지 아니하여 각 사업 자체가 분리되어 행하여지는 것을 의미한다.

위 법리와 앞에서 본 사실관계에 의하면, 중기임대업자인 소외 1이 이 사건 공장신축공사장에서 그 운전기사 소외 2를 통해서 한 기중기 작업은 원수급인 방주종합건설 주식회사의 사업의 일부를 이루고 있으므로, 소외 1이 방주종합건설 주식회사와 하나의 사업을 ‘분리’하여 행하고 있었다고 볼 수는 없다고 할 것이다. 원심이 위 단서의 적용을 주장한 피고의 항변을 배척한 것은 이와 같은 취지에서 나온 것으로서 결국 정당하고, 거기에 상고이유의 주장과 같은 법리오해 등의 위법이 없다.

3. 구 산업재해보상보험법(2003. 12. 31. 법률 제7047호로 개정되기 전의 것) 제9조 제1항 (현행 고용보험 및 산업재해보상보험의 보험료징수 등에 관한 법률 제9조 제1항에 같은 취지로 규정됨)은 "사업이 수차의 도급에 의하여 행하여지는 경우에는 그 원수급인을 이 법의 적용을 받는 사업의 사업주로 본다. 다만, 원수급인이 서면계약으로 하수급인에게 보험료의 납부를 인수하게 하는 경우에 원수급인의 신청에 의하여 근로복지공단이 이를 승인한 때에는 그 하수급인을 이 법의 적용을 받는 사업의 사업주로 본다."라고 규정하고 있는바, 그 하수급인에는 공사현장에 운전기사를 제공하면서 중기를 잠시 임대하는 임대업자는 포함되지 아니한다고 할 것이다. 원심이 같은 취지에서 소외 1이 주식회사 수목건설의 하수급이라는 피고의 주장을 받아들이지 않은 것은 정당하고, 거기에 위 법 제9조 제1항에 관한 법리오해의 위법이 없다.

4. 그러므로 상고를 기각하고, 상고비용은 패소자가 부담하기로 하여 관여 대법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 박시환(재판장) 양승태 박일환 김능환(주심)

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2006다60793 · 대법원 2007-01-25
Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)
#2
2022다214040 · 대법원 2026-01-22
Claim for Indemnity (구상금) [Case Concerning Whether a Constru
#3
2005나7288 · 서울남부지방법원 2006-08-10
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
#4
2004나16792 · 부산고등법원 2005-04-28
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
#5
2003다33691 · 대법원 2004-12-24
Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)

Cases citing this decision

2022다214040 · 대법원 2026-01-22
Claim for Indemnity (구상금) [Case Concerning Whether a Constru
2014다204666 · 대법원 2016-05-26
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
2009다98928 · 대법원 2010-04-29
Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)
2006다27093 · 대법원 2008-05-15
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)