Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 2022다214040

Claim for Indemnity (구상금) [Case Concerning Whether a Construction Machinery Lessor and Employee-Operator Constitute a 'Third Party' under the Main Clause of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act]구상금[건설기계 임대인과 근로자인 운전기사가 산업재해보상보험법 제87조 제1항 본문의 제3자에 해당하는지 문제된 사건]

Decided2026. 01. 22. Court대법원Employer (lessor) prevailed; the Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service's indemnity claim was denied
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

This case arose when a construction machinery lessor and its employee-operator caused an accident on a construction site that injured an employee of the primary contractor (원수급인). Previously, such lessors were treated as a 'third party' (제3자) under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, allowing the Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service (근로복지공단) to seek indemnity for damages paid. In this ruling, the Supreme Court held that the lessor was not a 'third party' because it shared occupational hazards with the primary contractor at the same worksite, thereby limiting the Service's right of indemnity.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA construction machinery lessor's employee-operator caused an accident at a construction site, injuring an employee of the primary contractor, and the Workers' Compensation Service sought indemnity from the lessor after paying industrial accident benefits.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court ruled that the lessor was not a 'third party' under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act because it shared occupational risks with the primary contractor at the same site, thus barring the Service's indemnity claim.
  • LessonBusinesses working under a primary contractor's direction at the same site should understand that shared occupational risk—not just insurance premium payment status—now determines third-party liability exposure for industrial accidents in Korea.
Issues
  • Whether a construction machinery lessor and its employee-operator constitute a 'third party' under Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act
  • Whether it is appropriate to shift the standard for determining 'third party' status under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act from an insurance premium burden relationship to a shared occupational risk relationship
Key reasoning

The Supreme Court changed the criterion for determining 'third party' status under Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) from the previous 'insurance premium burden relationship' standard to a new 'shared workplace risk' standard. Under this new approach, parties who work under the direction and supervision of the primary contractor at the same construction site and thus share the same occupational hazards—such as construction machinery lessors and their operators—are not considered third parties. This reflects a policy shift toward protecting workers and limiting excessive indemnity claims against those who are effectively integrated into the same risk-sharing work environment, rather than treating them as truly independent third parties merely because they did not directly contribute industrial accident insurance premiums.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

[Majority Opinion] (A) Regarding the meaning of "third party" under the main text of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법, hereinafter the "Industrial Accident Insurance Act"), the Supreme Court has consistently interpreted this to mean a person who, together with the business owner who is the insured, has no direct or indirect industrial accident insurance relationship with the injured worker, and who bears liability for damages to the injured worker under tort law or under the provisions of the Act on Guarantee of Compensation for Automobile Accident Damage, the Civil Act, or the State Compensation Act.

Under the above standard of judgment, the Supreme Court has held that a fellow worker employed by the same business owner, a worker employed by the primary contractor who is the business owner as against a worker employed by the subcontractor, and the subcontractor itself, do not fall under "third party" because they have, directly or indirectly, an industrial accident insurance relationship with the injured worker together with the business owner who is the insured.

However, in cases where the primary contractor or subcontractor of a construction project (including a re-subcontractor where subcontracting occurs multiple times; hereinafter, together with the primary contractor, referred to as the "primary contractor, etc.") entered into a contract to lease construction machinery while also receiving the labor of operating the construction machinery from the lessor or the lessor's employee (hereinafter the "construction machinery lessor, etc.") (hereinafter such a contract is referred to as a "construction machinery lease and operation labor provision contract"), the Supreme Court has affirmed the right of subrogation of the Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service (hereinafter the "Service") not only where an employee of the construction machinery lessor operated the machinery, but also where the construction machinery lessor itself directly provided the labor of operating the machinery.

This prior determination approached the question of whether a person falls under "third party" under the main text of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act as a matter of the allocation of industrial accident insurance premium burdens, in particular the question of who bears the obligation to pay industrial accident insurance premiums with respect to the perpetrator of the industrial accident. That is, in cases where a person is an employee of the primary contractor, etc., or where a subcontracting relationship is recognized, it was considered that such a person has, directly or indirectly, an industrial accident insurance relationship with the injured worker through the mediation of the primary contractor, who is the business owner bearing the insurance premiums pursuant to Article 9(1) of the former Industrial Accident Insurance Act (before amendment by Act No. 7049 of December 31, 2003) or Article 9(1) of the Act on the Collection of Insurance Premiums for Employment Insurance and Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance (고용보험 및 산업재해보상보험의 보험료징수 등에 관한 법률, hereinafter the "Insurance Premium Collection Act"). However, since the construction machinery lessor, etc. is neither an employee of the primary contractor nor a subcontractor, and since the primary contractor, who is the insured and the business owner, does not bear insurance premiums with respect to such lessor, it was considered that there is no direct or indirect industrial accident insurance relationship with the injured worker in such a case.

(B) Whether an accident results from "an act of a third party" under the main text of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, or from "an act of an employee of a different business owner where two or more insured business owners divide and separately conduct a single business at the same place" as referred to in the proviso to the same paragraph, is a matter of determining against which of the persons who committed a tort or the like against the injured worker (hereinafter the "perpetrator") the Service may subrogate the injured worker's right to claim damages—in other words, it is a question of whether the Service will bear the ultimate compensation liability toward the injured worker, within the limit of the insurance benefit amount. Since the main text and proviso of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act do not specifically explain the scope of "third party" or what it means for "a single business to be divided and conducted," the courts must reasonably interpret and apply these provisions by comprehensively considering the nature and purpose of the industrial accident insurance system, the legislative intent, overall content, and structure of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, the operation and financial burden of industrial accident insurance, and considerations of equity.

From this perspective, the scope of the right of subrogation under the main text of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act should not be determined according to the allocation of insurance premium burdens, but rather according to whether workers or labor providers have formed a common risk relationship regarding industrial accidents within the same business or workplace. That is, it is appropriate to determine the scope of "third party" under the main text of Article 87(1) by focusing on whether the parties can be said to "share" the same "risk" inherent in the business or workplace. Where such risk is shared, the perpetrator of the industrial accident and that perpetrator's employer do not fall under "third party" as against whom the Service, having paid insurance benefits, may subrogate the injured worker's right to claim damages.

Specifically, even where the perpetrator is not a worker who has entered into an employment contract with the business owner of the injured worker (including cases where either the perpetrator or the injured worker is a worker under the Labor Standards Act as well as cases where either is a labor provider as defined in Article 91-15 of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act; the same applies hereinafter) (including, where the primary contractor is the insured business owner pursuant to the main text of Article 9(1) of the Insurance Premium Collection Act, the subcontractor; the same applies hereinafter), if the industrial accident occurred while the perpetrator was performing the business of the same business owner under that business owner's direction and command, together with the injured worker, then the perpetrator and the injured worker can be said to have shared the risk inherent in the business or workplace. This is because the work performed by the perpetrator and the injured worker is incorporated into, and forms part of, the business conducted by the business owner who exercised direction and command.

The reasons why prior precedents excluded, from the category of "third party," employees of the primary contractor of a construction project, the subcontractor, or employees of the subcontractor working at the same construction site, can also be consistently explained under this legal principle. Furthermore, since an operator who provided labor operating construction machinery at a construction site under the direction and command of the primary contractor, etc. can also be said to have shared risk with the injured worker, the relevant construction machinery lessor, etc. likewise does not fall under "third party."

(C) Accordingly, this Court hereby modifies, to the extent inconsistent with the views expressed in this decision, Supreme Court Decision 2006Da32910 rendered on April 10, 2008, Supreme Court Decision 2006Da27093 rendered on May 15, 2008, Supreme Court Decision 2006Da44760 rendered on May 29, 2008, and other Supreme Court decisions to the same effect—including the case in which a construction machinery lessor and operator caused an industrial accident to a subcontractor's employee in an accident occurring during work at a construction site—which held that even where the perpetrator worked under the direct or indirect direction and command of the same business owner as the injured worker, or of the business owner's subcontractor, thereby sharing the risk inherent in the work of the workplace, and that risk materialized to cause the accident, because there was no direct or indirect industrial accident insurance relationship with the injured worker, the perpetrator fell under "third party" under the main text of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, and the proviso to the same paragraph did not apply either, such that the Service, having paid insurance benefits to the injured worker, could exercise subrogation of the injured worker's right to claim damages within the limit of the amount of such benefits.

[Separate Opinion by Justice Oh Seok-jun and Justice Seo Kyung-hwan] We cannot agree with the majority opinion's reasoning that the scope of persons against whom the right of subrogation under the main text and proviso of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act may be exercised should be determined according to the new standard of "whether the risk inherent in the business or workplace was shared and materialized." The legal principle established in prior precedents, defining "third party" under the main text of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act as "a person who, together with the business owner who is the insured, has no direct or indirect industrial accident insurance relationship with the injured worker," is not only reasonable but also systematically valid, and should therefore be maintained as is.

Where the primary contractor, etc. of a construction project entered into a construction machinery lease and operation labor provision contract and had the construction machinery lessor, etc. operate the construction machinery to perform a certain portion of the relevant construction project, there is no unavoidable reason, from the standpoint of the operation of industrial accident insurance, to treat this differently from a "subcontract." Therefore, it is appropriate to apply, by analogy, to the construction machinery lessor, etc., the main text of Article 9(1) of the Insurance Premium Collection Act, which provides for the blanket application of insurance affairs to subcontracted businesses (hereinafter the "blanket application provision for subcontracted businesses"). (However, pursuant to Article 91-15, Item 1 and Article 91-16 of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, and Article 83-5, Item 2 of the Enforcement Decree of the same Act, the blanket application provision for subcontracted businesses applies directly, without the need for analogy, to a labor provider who, in the capacity of lessor, directly operates the construction machinery. In this case, pursuant to Article 48-6(6), etc. of the Insurance Premium Collection Act, the primary contractor and the labor provider, who is also the lessor, each bear one-half of the industrial accident insurance premium.)

Accordingly, the primary contractor must bear the industrial accident insurance premiums for the construction machinery work, and a direct or indirect industrial accident insurance relationship is formed between the employees of the primary contractor, etc. and the construction machinery lessor, etc. As a result, where an employee of the primary contractor, etc. suffers an industrial accident due to the fault of the construction machinery lessor, etc. during the operation of the construction machinery, the construction machinery lessor, etc. does not fall under "third party" under the main text of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, and even if the Service pays insurance benefits to the injured worker, it may not subrogate the injured worker's right to claim damages.

Full text (English, AI translation) 87,175 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellee] Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service
[Defendants, Appellants] Defendant 1 and 1 other (Attorneys of Law Firm Jungwon, Lee Ki-gwang and 1 other, Counsel for the defendants)
[Judgment Below] Daegu District Court Decision 2021Na311355 decided January 13, 2022

[Order]

The part of the judgment below against the Defendants is reversed. As to the part additionally accepted in the judgment below, the Plaintiff's corresponding appeal is entirely dismissed, and as to the part accepted in the first instance judgment, the corresponding part of the first instance judgment is revoked, and the Plaintiff's corresponding claim is entirely dismissed. The total costs of the lawsuit shall be borne by the Plaintiff.

[Reasoning] The grounds of final appeal are examined.

1. Outline of the case
According to the reasoning of the judgment below and the evidence lawfully adopted and examined by the court below, the following facts can be found.
A. Defendant 2 is an individual business operator engaged in the business of leasing construction machinery, and Defendant 1 is a worker employed by Defendant 2 who operated a 7-ton forklift owned by Defendant 2 (hereinafter referred to as “the forklift in this case”).
B. ○○ Comprehensive Construction Co., Ltd. (hereinafter referred to as “Non-party 1 Company”) was subcontracted by the original contractor, △△△ Co., Ltd., for earthwork and structural work on Section 8-1 of the (road name omitted) expressway. In connection with the construction of the □□ Bridge (hereinafter referred to as “the construction work in this case”), Non-party 1 Company entered into a contract with Defendant 2 to lease the forklift in this case for rebar transport work, while also receiving the operating labor services of the worker employed by Defendant 2.
C. Defendant 1 performed rebar transport work at the site of the construction work in this case by operating the forklift in this case in accordance with the hand signals of Non-party 2 (hereinafter referred to as “the injured worker in this case”), a worker belonging to Non-party 1 Company. On February 27, 2017, at 13:45, while Defendant 1 was moving the forklift in this case loaded with three bundles of rebar and lowering the forks at the unloading site, the injured worker in this case approached below the forks to adjust the rebar spacer blocks. Although Defendant 1 stopped the operation of the forks, an accident occurred in which part of the bundle of rebar fell onto the head of the injured worker in this case (hereinafter referred to as “the accident in this case”).
D. The injured worker in this case sustained injuries, including cervical spinal cord injury, due to the accident in this case, and received treatment at Kyungpook National University Hospital and other institutions until around May 2020. The Plaintiff, the Korea Workers’ Compensation and Welfare Service (hereinafter referred to as “the Service”), paid the injured worker in this case 267,889,990 won in medical care benefits and 135,425,960 won in temporary disability benefits as insurance benefits, and has been paying disability compensation pension (which, if converted into a lump-sum disability compensation payment, amounts to 233,552,722 won).

2. Issues in this case
A. Article 87(1) of the former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (Act No. 17326, before the amendment on May 26, 2020; hereinafter statute names are abbreviated as “Industrial Accident Insurance Act”), which was in effect at the time the accident in this case occurred, provides: “Where the Service has paid insurance benefits for an accident caused by the act of a third party, it shall be subrogated to the right to claim damages against the third party held by the person who received the benefits, within the limit of the amount of such benefits. Provided, That this shall not apply where two or more business owners who are insured persons carry out one business by dividing it at the same place, and an accident occurs due to the act of a worker of a business owner different from the injured worker.” [The current Industrial Accident Insurance Act Article 87(1), the former Industrial Accident Insurance Act (before the full amendment by Act No. 8694 on December 14, 2007) Article 58(1), and the former Industrial Accident Insurance Act (before the full amendment by Act No. 8373 on April 11, 2007) Article 54(1) contain the same content; hereinafter these are referred to collectively as Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act without distinction.]

The Plaintiff filed this lawsuit, asserting that the Defendants fall under the “third party” under the main text of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, and that the proviso of the same paragraph does not apply, and thus the Plaintiff is subrogated to the right to claim damages held by the injured worker in this case against the Defendants.
B. The issue in this case is whether, where the original contractor or subcontractor of construction work (including a re-subcontractor where subcontracting occurs multiple times; hereinafter referred to collectively with the original contractor as “the original contractor, etc.”) leases construction machinery and, in addition, enters into a contract to receive the operating labor services of the construction machinery from the lessor or the lessor’s worker (hereinafter referred to as “the construction machinery lessor, etc.”) (hereinafter referred to as “the construction machinery lease and operating labor service contract”), and the construction machinery lessor, etc., while operating the construction machinery at the construction site pursuant to such contract, causes an occupational accident to a worker of the original contractor, etc., the construction machinery lessor, etc. falls under the “third party” under the main text of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act.

If the Defendants, who are the construction machinery lessor, etc., fall under the third party under the main text of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, and the accident in this case does not fall under the case prescribed in the proviso of the same paragraph (hereinafter, when abbreviated, “the proviso in this case”), the Plaintiff may be subrogated to the right to claim damages held by the injured worker in this case against the Defendants.

3. Judgment on the issues
A. Existing legal principles
1) Regarding the meaning of “third party” under the main text of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, the Supreme Court has interpreted it to mean a person who, together with the business owner who is the insured person, has no direct or indirect industrial accident insurance relationship with the injured worker, and who bears liability for damages to the injured worker under tort liability or under the provisions of the Guarantee of Automobile Accident Compensation Act (hereinafter referred to as “the Automobile Compensation Act”), the Civil Act, or the State Compensation Act (see Supreme Court Decision 2006Da32910 decided April 10, 2008; Supreme Court Decision 2021Da263748 decided August 19, 2022, etc.).
2) Under the above standard of judgment, the Supreme Court has held that a fellow worker employed by the same business owner (see Supreme Court Decision 2003Da33691 decided December 24, 2004, etc.), a worker employed by the original contractor who is the business owner and a worker employed by the subcontractor (see Supreme Court Decision 2008Da12408 decided July 28, 2011, etc.), and a subcontractor (see Supreme Court Decision 2014Da204666 decided May 26, 2016) do not fall under “third party” on the ground that they have, directly or indirectly, an industrial accident insurance relationship with the injured worker together with the business owner who is the insured person.
3) However, for the following reasons, in cases where a construction machinery lease and operating labor service contract has been concluded, the Supreme Court has affirmed the Service’s right of subrogation not only where, as in this case, a worker of the construction machinery lessor operated the construction machinery, but also where the construction machinery lessor personally provided the labor of operating the construction machinery (see Supreme Court Decision 2006Da32910 decided April 10, 2008; Supreme Court Decision 2006Da44760 decided May 29, 2008; Supreme Court Decision 2006Da27093 decided May 15, 2008, etc.).
A) Where it is difficult to view the construction machinery lessor, etc. as having, in substance, provided labor in a subordinate relationship for the purpose of receiving wages, such that they cannot be regarded as a “worker” of the original contractor, etc., and where, considering the specific manner of use of the construction machinery, the method of payment of consideration, and other contractual terms, the legal relationship concerning the use of the construction machinery is essentially a lease rather than a subcontract, such that the lessor cannot be regarded as a “subcontractor” of the original contractor, etc. either, the construction machinery lessor, etc. has no direct or indirect industrial accident insurance relationship with the injured worker belonging to the original contractor, etc., and thus falls under the third party under the main text of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act.
B) “One business” under the proviso of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act means that two or more business owners who are insured persons each carry out a business under Article 6 of the same Act, but do so for the completion of the same business (object) within the same place and the same risk zone; and “carry out by dividing” means that the business of one of the two or more business owners does not constitute part of the business of the other, and that each business is carried out separately without overlapping with each other. Since construction machinery work forms part of the business of the original contractor, it cannot be said that the construction machinery lessor carried out one business divided from that of the original contractor, and thus the proviso of Article 87(1) of the same Act does not apply either.
4) This existing judgment first grasped whether a person falls under the third party under the main text of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act as a matter of the relationship of bearing industrial accident insurance premiums, in particular, as a matter of who bears the obligation to pay industrial accident insurance premiums for the perpetrator of the occupational accident. That is, where the perpetrator is a worker of the original contractor, etc., or where a subcontracting relationship is recognized, it was held that there is a “direct or indirect industrial accident insurance relationship with the injured worker” through the original contractor, who is the business owner bearing the insurance premiums under Article 9(1) of the former Industrial Accident Insurance Act (before the amendment by Act No. 7049 of December 31, 2003) or Article 9(1) of the Act on the Collection of Insurance Premiums for Employment Insurance and Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance (hereinafter referred to as “the Insurance Premium Collection Act”). However, since the construction machinery lessor, etc. is neither a worker of the original contractor nor a subcontractor, and thus the original contractor, who is the insured business owner, does not bear the insurance premiums for such lessor, it was held that there is no “direct or indirect industrial accident insurance relationship with the injured worker.”

B. New legal principles
1) Whether an accident is caused by “the act of a third party” under the main text of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, or by “the act of a worker of a business owner different from the injured worker, where two or more business owners who are insured persons carry out one business by dividing it at the same place,” as stated in the proviso of the same paragraph, is a matter of determining against which of the persons who committed a tort, etc. against the injured worker (hereinafter referred to as “the perpetrator”) the Service may be subrogated to the injured worker’s right to claim damages—in other words, it is a matter of whether the Service bears the ultimate compensation liability to the injured worker within the limit of the amount of insurance benefits. Since the main text and the proviso of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act do not specifically explain the scope of “third party” or what it means to “carry out one business by dividing it,” the courts must reasonably interpret and apply these provisions by comprehensively considering the nature and purpose of the industrial accident insurance system, the legislative intent of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, its overall content and structure, the operation and financial burden of industrial accident insurance, and the concept of equity.
2) From this perspective, the scope of the exercise of the right of subrogation under the main text of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act should not be determined according to the relationship of bearing insurance premiums, but should be determined according to whether workers or labor providers have formed a common risk relationship regarding occupational accidents in the same business or workplace. That is, it is appropriate to grasp the scope of “third party” under the main text of Article 87(1) by focusing on whether they can be viewed as “sharing” the same “risk” inherent in the business or workplace. If they share such risk in this way, the perpetrator of the occupational accident and his or her employer do not fall under the third party against whom the Service, having paid insurance benefits, may be subrogated to the injured worker’s right to claim damages.

Specifically, even where the perpetrator is not a worker who has entered into an employment contract with the business owner of the injured worker (this includes not only cases where the perpetrator or the injured worker is a worker under the Labor Standards Act, but also cases where they are labor providers as defined in Article 91-15 of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act; the same applies hereinafter) (this business owner includes, where the original contractor is the insured business owner under the main text of Article 9(1) of the Insurance Premium Collection Act, the subcontractor; the same applies hereinafter), if the occupational accident occurred while the perpetrator was performing the business owner’s work under the direction and supervision of the same business owner as the injured worker, it can be said that the perpetrator and the injured worker shared the risk inherent in the business or workplace. This is because the work performed by the perpetrator and the injured worker is incorporated into, and forms part of, the business carried out by the business owner who directed and supervised them.

The reason why the previous precedents excluded from “third party” a worker employed by the original contractor of a construction project, its subcontractor, or a worker employed by the subcontractor who worked at the same construction site can also be consistently explained under this legal principle. Furthermore, since an operator who provided labor for operating construction machinery at a construction site under the direction and supervision of the original contractor, etc. can also be said to have shared the risk with the injured worker, the relevant construction machinery lessor, etc. likewise does not fall under “third party.”
3) The detailed grounds for the new legal principle are set forth below.
A) The nature and purpose of the industrial accident insurance system
The industrial accident insurance system is one form of social insurance system that addresses, by means of insurance, the social risk of occupational accidents occurring to workers, using as its financial resources the insurance premiums paid by business owners who are insured persons and the burden borne by the national treasury (see Supreme Court en banc Decision 2021Da241618 decided March 24, 2022; Constitutional Court en banc Decision 2002Hunba52 decided November 25, 2004, etc.).

This nature of the industrial accident insurance system reflects the characteristics of occupational accidents, namely, that occupational accidents occur due to risks inherent in the business, beyond the personal carelessness of the worker. That is, the industrial accident insurance system, as a public insurance, considers the characteristics of occupational accidents occurring due to risks inherent in the business, and requires insurance benefits to be paid to the injured worker, who is the person entitled to benefits, regardless of whether the business owner such as the enterprise or the injured worker was at fault. The industrial accident insurance system does not transfer the risk inherent in the business to either the business owner or the worker, but rather has as its purpose that industry and society as a whole share the risk of occupational accidents and the costs thereof, thereby ultimately reducing conflict and costs in society as a whole and contributing to the stable development of industry and economic growth (see Supreme Court Decision 2015Du3867 decided August 29, 2017).

Moreover, unlike health insurance, the industrial accident insurance system requires business owners to enroll in industrial accident insurance and pay premiums, thereby exempting them from liability for accident compensation under the Labor Standards Act. Beyond this, precedent has recognized, with respect to industrial accident insurance, a legal principle of special liability relationships peculiar to labor law that is not easily found in general liability insurance, by limiting the Service’s exercise of the right of subrogation against fellow workers or subcontractors who do not bear the obligation to pay insurance premiums.

B) The legislative intent, overall content, and structure of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act
(1) Considering the above nature and purpose of the industrial accident insurance system together with the legislative intent of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, the question of the extent to which the Service’s exercise of the right of subrogation under the main text and the proviso of that paragraph should be allowed, and on the other hand, the question of to what extent the liability for compensation due to industrial accidents should be attributed to the Service, thereby exempting the perpetrator to that extent, cannot be fully discussed without considering the content and manner of the risk inherent in the business site, which is the essential cause of industrial accidents, and further, how that risk is shared and intersected by the workers who actually perform the work for the business purpose.
(A) The legislative intent of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act is to secure the insurance finances by preventing the person entitled to receive insurance benefits from obtaining a double benefit by additionally receiving damages from the perpetrator, and by preventing the liable third party from evading liability for damages (see Supreme Court Decision 2000Du918 decided August 18, 2000). Accordingly, even where the perpetrator and the injured worker performed the work of the same business owner under that business owner’s direction and supervision, or performed work belonging to their respective businesses under the direction and supervision of two or more different business owners, if they thereby shared the risk inherent in the relevant business or workplace, it should be held that the Service’s exercise of the right of subrogation against the perpetrator is not permitted with respect to the occupational accident that occurred as a result of the realization of that risk. This is because the perpetrator shared the risk together with the injured worker in the course of providing labor, and depending on how the risk manifested, the perpetrator himself or herself could also have suffered an occupational accident; thus, limiting the Service’s exercise of the right of subrogation against such a perpetrator cannot be said to bring about the unjust result of a liable perpetrator evading liability for damages.

It is also consistent with the nature of industrial accident insurance as a social insurance system, as discussed above, that the cost of an occupational accident occurring as a result of the realization of such risk should be shared by industry and society as a whole, that is, that the Service should bear the ultimate compensation liability. To allow the Service’s exercise of the right of subrogation on the formal ground that the units of insurance enrollment or insurance relationship differ, even though what has manifested is a risk inherent in the business or workplace, and thereby to attribute the entire liability for the occupational accident to the perpetrator who shared that risk together, would result in the unreasonable outsourcing of the risk inherent in the business or workplace.
(B) The existing precedent, in expanding the scope of the industrial accident insurance relationship to exclude fellow workers, subcontractors, etc. from “third party,” also based this on the ground that the wrongful act of a fellow perpetrator or a subcontractor is a single risk of the workplace, just like the risk of machinery, tools, etc. within the workplace, so that it is consistent with the social insurance or liability insurance nature of industrial accident insurance for the Service to bear the ultimate compensation liability, and that there is no reasonable ground to treat such cases differently from the wrongful act of the original contractor (see Supreme Court Decision 2008Da12408 decided July 28, 2011; Supreme Court Decision 2014Da204666 decided May 26, 2016, etc.), which is to the same effect. Such judgment was not based solely on the relationship of bearing industrial accident insurance premiums.
(2) Considering the overall content and structure of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, it becomes even clearer that the scope of “third party” under the main text should be grasped not according to the industrial accident insurance relationship, but according to whether the perpetrator and the injured worker shared the risk inherent in the work of the relevant business or workplace.
(A) According to the proviso of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, even where the business owners differ, if they “carry out one business by dividing it at the same place,” and a worker of one business owner causes an occupational accident to a worker of another business owner, the Service may not be subrogated to the right to claim damages against the perpetrator worker and his or her business owner. Here, “one business” means that two or more business owners who are insured persons carry out a business at the same place, within the same risk zone, for the completion of the same object; on the other hand, even where two or more business owners who are insured persons carry out business at the same place, if the content of each business is not for the completion of the same object, this does not apply because the degree of risk differs between them (see Supreme Court Decision 95Da27684 decided April 11, 1997). That is, the proviso of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act determines whether the right of subrogation may be exercised according to whether the same risk is shared. This reflects the legislative intent that, even where the business owners differ and one business is divided and carried out separately, if it is evaluated that, in substance, the risk areas are identical—as would be the case if a single business owner carried out a single business—such that the risk is shared, it is appropriate that the Service ultimately bear the cost of the occupational accident that occurred as a result of the realization of such risk. Ultimately, the scope of the party against whom the right of subrogation may be exercised under the main text and the proviso of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act should be grasped in a unified manner, centering on whether the risk inherent in the work of the workplace is identical and shared, rather than on the industrial accident insurance relationship.
(B) The phrase “carry out by dividing” in the proviso of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act means that the business of one of the two or more business owners does not constitute part of the business of the other, and that each business is carried out separately without overlapping with each other; since the work performed by the construction machinery lessor, etc. forms part of the business of the original contractor, etc., it does not fall under carrying out one business by “dividing” it (see Supreme Court Decision 2006Da32910 decided April 10, 2008, etc.).

However, with respect to the identical question of whether the right of subrogation may be exercised—that is, whether the Service bears the ultimate compensation liability for the occupational accident—it is unnecessarily dualistic, causes a regulatory gap unintended by the legislature, and is inequitable in that it discriminates against the construction machinery lessor, etc. without reasonable grounds, to apply, under the proviso of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, the standard of “whether the same risk is shared” so as to limit the Service’s exercise of the right of subrogation by treating a case where the business owners differ and the chain of direction and supervision is separated, and the business is divided and carried out, in the same manner as a case where one business is carried out, while under the main text of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, applying the standard of “whether there is a direct or indirect industrial accident insurance relationship” so as to hold that the Service’s exercise of the right of subrogation is permitted even where the construction machinery lessor, etc. shares the same risk and, in substance, carries out one business together with the injured worker under the direction and supervision of the same original contractor, etc.

Rather, it is consistent with the overall content and structure of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act to hold, based on the single standard of whether the risk inherent in the business is identical and shared, that where a person performs joint work with the injured worker under the direction and supervision of the same business owner, i.e., the original contractor, etc., such person is excluded from “third party” under the main text of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, and that where the business owners differ and the person is not under the direction and supervision of the same original contractor, etc., such person falls under “third party” but the Service’s exercise of the right of subrogation is limited pursuant to the proviso thereof.
(C) Interpreting Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act in this manner is also consistent with the standard for interpreting “business or workplace” under Article 6 of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act. That is, “business or workplace” is a concept that serves as the unit of enrollment in and application of industrial accident insurance under Article 6 of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act and Article 2 of the Enforcement Decree of the same Act, referring to an economic activity unit that is organically and singularly organized and continuously carried out based on a certain place. Whether a given case is to be regarded as one business or workplace should be determined by comprehensively considering whether each activity unit is separated in terms of location, whether the content of the economic activity is organically combined for the ultimate business purpose, and whether the risk of occupational accidents is shared, among other factors (see Supreme Court Decision 2012Du5176 decided March 12, 2015). Considering this legal principle together with the nature and purpose of industrial accident insurance discussed above, it is appropriate to hold that activity units that share risk at the same place and are organically combined for the same business purpose belong to one business or workplace, at least in the context of applying Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act. From this perspective, with respect to an occupational accident occurring within the bounds of a business that can be regarded as one business in this sense, it is a systematic and reasonable interpretation to hold that, where the relevant business is divided and carried out by two or more business owners, the proviso applies, and where it is not so divided, the person is excluded from “third party” under the main text, thereby limiting the Service’s exercise of the right of subrogation.

C) The financial burden of industrial accident insurance, the relationship of paying insurance premiums, etc.
(1) Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act also includes the intent of securing the Service’s insurance finances, and expanding the scope of parties against whom the Service may be subrogated to the injured worker’s right to claim damages may help the insurance finances. However, the burden of industrial accident insurance premiums is a matter of policy and legislative decision as to how to raise the financial resources of social insurance (see Supreme Court en banc Decision 2021Da241618 decided March 24, 2022), and this is not in a preliminary relationship determining the scope of the Service’s assumption of risk or exercise of the right of subrogation.

(2) Indeed, after this accident occurred, Article 125, Item 2 of the Enforcement Decree of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산재보험법, hereinafter "Industrial Accident Insurance Act") was amended by Presidential Decree No. 29354 on December 11, 2018, expanding the scope of "specially employed workers" related to construction machinery from "a person who owns a concrete mixer truck registered under Article 3(1) of the Construction Machinery Management Act (건설기계관리법) and personally operates that concrete mixer truck" to "a person who personally operates construction machinery registered under Article 3(1) of the Construction Machinery Management Act." In addition, when the Industrial Accident Insurance Act was amended by Act No. 18928 on June 10, 2022, the "labor provider" system was newly established under Article 91-15 as a concept encompassing the "specially employed worker" system, and "a person who personally operates construction machinery registered under Article 3(1) of the Construction Machinery Management Act" falls under this category (Article 83-5, Item 2 of the Enforcement Decree of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act). Specially employed workers and labor providers are deemed "workers" under the Industrial Accident Insurance Act [Article 125(2) of the former Industrial Accident Insurance Act (before amendment by Act No. 18928 on June 10, 2022) and Article 91-16(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act], and in the construction industry, pursuant to the main text of Article 48-6(6) and Article 9(1) of the Act on the Collection of Insurance Premiums for Employment Insurance and Industrial Accident Insurance (고용산재보험료징수법, hereinafter "Insurance Premium Collection Act"), the principal contractor came to bear one-half of the industrial accident insurance premiums for these persons. This reflects a change in the insurance premium burden relationship pursuant to statute, based on the policy determination that there is a need to protect "a person who personally operates construction machinery registered under Article 3(1) of the Construction Machinery Management Act" from occupational accidents. As such, who bears industrial accident insurance premiums and how much is a matter that can be adjusted according to policy and legislative decisions concerning the operation of industrial accident insurance, which is on a different plane of discussion from the question of how the risks inherent in industrial sites should ultimately be allocated.

(3) The fact that the practice concerning construction machinery lessors, etc. had already changed before the above amendment to the industrial accident insurance-related statutes can be understood in the same context. On January 12, 2018, the Minister of Employment and Labor issued a work directive to the Corporation to the effect that "even if a construction machinery operator is used at a construction site under the form of a lease agreement, this constitutes a subcontract, and thus, pursuant to the main text of Article 9(1) of the Insurance Premium Collection Act, the obligation to obtain insurance and pay premiums is imposed on the principal contractor." This work directive appears to have reorganized the practice, based on the recognition that it would be inappropriate to treat construction machinery lessors, etc. as third parties and thereby permit the Corporation's subrogation of claims for damages, so that in cases where a subcontractor leases construction machinery and also receives driving labor services from a driver employed by the lessor, such cases would be treated in a manner analogous to a subcontract, with the principal contractor bearing the entire industrial accident insurance premium for the driver, which had previously been collected from the construction machinery lessor. This also serves as evidence that the issue of insurance premium burden under industrial accident insurance may be adjusted as a matter of policy, taking into account the nature and purpose of the industrial accident insurance system.

(4) A principal contractor of a construction project, etc., even without entering into a construction machinery lease and driving labor provision agreement, may carry out the construction machinery work necessary for the subcontracted construction through methods such as re-subcontracting a portion of the construction, including construction machinery work, or purchasing or leasing construction machinery and having its own employees operate it.

However, the fact that the content and form of the contracts involved in each of the above cases differ somewhat does not give rise to any meaningful difference in the manner in which the construction project proceeds, or in the type and degree of accident risk within the construction site. In particular, from the perspective of the principal contractor, who, pursuant to the blanket application provision for subcontracted projects under Article 9(1) of the Insurance Premium Collection Act, in principle bears the obligation as the business owner to obtain insurance and pay premiums for the entire construction project, this is generally nothing more than a difference in the specific method of work that the subcontractor may choose in the course of performing the subcontract. Moreover, where a construction machinery lease and driving labor provision agreement is concluded, the degree of direction and command exercised by the principal contractor, etc. over the driver can be seen as lying between the case where the principal contractor, etc. leases construction machinery and has its own employees operate it, and the case where a portion of the construction including construction machinery work is subcontracted. Nevertheless, it is difficult to accept as a conclusion having concrete reasonableness the view that only in the case of a construction machinery lease and driving labor provision agreement can the Corporation exercise its right of subrogation, on the ground that there is no direct or indirect industrial accident insurance relationship between the construction machinery lessor, etc. and the injured worker.

(D) Relationship with Liability Insurance

Meanwhile, even under the above view, this does not mean that an insurance company that has entered into a liability insurance contract with the construction machinery lessor regarding the construction machinery is also exempted from liability. This is because the right of direct claim against the liability insurer, which is recognized to the victim under Article 10(1) of the Act on Guarantee of Compensation for Loss Caused by Automobile Accidents (자동차손해배상 보장법, "Automobile Damage Compensation Act") and Article 724(2) of the Commercial Act (상법), is a right to claim damages that the victim holds against the liability insurer, and is a separate right from the right to claim damages against the tortfeasor. Accordingly, a liability insurer who bears direct liability for damages to the victim under Article 10(1) of the Automobile Damage Compensation Act and Article 724(2) of the Commercial Act falls within the scope of "third party," regardless of whether the perpetrator of the occupational accident constitutes a "third party" under the Industrial Accident Insurance Act (see Supreme Court Decision 2006Da60793, decided January 25, 2007).

4. Change of Precedent

Contrary to the above, in cases including where a construction machinery lessor and a driver caused an occupational accident to a subcontractor's employee while working at a construction site, insofar as the tortfeasor worked under the direct or indirect direction and command of the same business owner as the injured worker or of that business owner's subcontractor, thereby sharing the risk inherent in the business's operations, and that risk materialized resulting in the accident, but nevertheless there was no direct or indirect industrial accident insurance relationship with the injured worker such that the tortfeasor constituted a "third party" under the main text of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, and the proviso of the same paragraph also did not apply, such that the Corporation, having paid insurance benefits to the injured worker, could exercise the injured worker's right to claim damages by subrogation within the limit of the amount of such benefits — Supreme Court Decision 2006Da32910, decided April 10, 2008, Supreme Court Decision 2006Da27093, decided May 15, 2008, Supreme Court Decision 2006Da44760, decided May 29, 2008, and other Supreme Court decisions to the same effect, are all hereby overruled to the extent they conflict with the views expressed in this decision.

5. Determination on This Case

A. Examining this case in light of the new legal doctrine.

This accident occurred as follows: Nonparty 1 Company entered into a construction machinery (forklift) lease and driving labor provision agreement with Defendant 2, and Defendant 1, who was employed by Defendant 2, operated the forklift at issue at the construction site in question under the direction and command of Nonparty 1 Company pursuant to the above agreement, and while jointly performing rebar-carrying work together with the injured worker in this case, the negligence of Defendant 1, Nonparty 1 Company, and the injured worker in this case concurred, resulting in the accident. Considering the course of this accident as described above, it is sufficient to find that, at the time of the accident, Defendant 1, the tortfeasor, worked under the direction and command of Nonparty 1 Company, the subcontractor, jointly with the injured worker at the site of this accident, thereby sharing the risk inherent in the workplace while performing the work, and that such risk materialized, resulting in this accident.

B. Accordingly, since the Defendants do not constitute "third parties" under the main text of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act with respect to this accident, the Plaintiff cannot exercise, by subrogation, the injured worker's right to claim damages against the Defendants. Nevertheless, the lower court's determination that the Plaintiff could exercise the right of indemnity against the Defendants pursuant to Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act contains an error that misapprehends the legal doctrine concerning "third party" under the main text of the same paragraph and the industrial accident insurance relationship, thereby affecting the judgment, and the Defendants' grounds of appeal pointing this out are well-founded.

6. Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, the portion of the lower judgment against the Defendants is reversed, and since this Court finds it sufficient to render judgment directly on this portion, this Court renders its own judgment pursuant to Article 437 of the Civil Procedure Act (민사소송법). As to the portion additionally granted by the lower court, the Plaintiff's corresponding appeal is entirely dismissed; as to the portion granted by the first instance court, the corresponding part of the first instance judgment is revoked, and the Plaintiff's corresponding claim is entirely dismissed; and the total costs of the litigation shall be borne by the Plaintiff. The judgment is rendered as set forth in the Order.

The Justices who participated in this decision were unanimous in their opinion except for the separate opinion of Justice Oh Seok-jun and Justice Seo Kyung-hwan, and there is a supplementary opinion of Justice Roh Tae-ak concerning the majority opinion.

7. Separate Opinion of Justice Oh Seok-jun and Justice Seo Kyung-hwan

A. Summary of the Separate Opinion

We agree with the majority opinion's conclusion that, in this case, the Plaintiff, the Corporation, cannot exercise, by subrogation, the injured worker's right to claim damages against the Defendants, who are on the side of the tortfeasor.

However, we cannot agree with the majority opinion's reasoning that the scope of persons against whom the right of subrogation under the main text and proviso of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act may be exercised should be determined by a new standard of "whether the risk inherent in the business or workplace was shared and materialized." The legal doctrine of the prior precedent, which defined "third party" under the main text of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act as "a person who has no direct or indirect industrial accident insurance relationship with the injured worker, together with the business owner who is the insured," is not only reasonable but also systematically sound, and should therefore be maintained as is.

Where, as in this case, a principal contractor of a construction project, etc. enters into a construction machinery lease and driving labor provision agreement, having the construction machinery lessor, etc. operate the construction machinery to perform a certain portion of the relevant construction project, there is no compelling reason to treat this differently from a "subcontract" in terms of the operation of industrial accident insurance. Therefore, it is appropriate to apply, by analogy, the main text of Article 9(1) of the Insurance Premium Collection Act (hereinafter the "blanket application provision for subcontracted projects"), which provides for the blanket application of insurance administration in subcontracted projects, to construction machinery lessors, etc. (However, pursuant to Article 91-15, Item 1 and Article 91-16 of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, and Article 83-5, Item 2 of the Enforcement Decree of the same Act, the blanket application provision for subcontracted projects applies directly, without analogy, to a labor provider who, in the capacity of lessor, personally operates construction machinery. In such a case, pursuant to Article 48-6(6), etc. of the Insurance Premium Collection Act, the principal contractor and the labor provider each bear one-half of the industrial accident insurance premium. The following discussion is limited to construction machinery lessors, etc. excluding such cases.)

Accordingly, the principal contractor must bear the industrial accident insurance premium for the construction machinery work, and a direct or indirect industrial accident insurance relationship is formed between the employees of the principal contractor, etc. and the construction machinery lessor, etc. As a consequence, where an employee of the principal contractor, etc. suffers an occupational accident due to the fault of the construction machinery lessor, etc. during the operation of the construction machinery, the construction machinery lessor, etc. does not constitute a "third party" under the main text of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, and the Corporation, even if it pays insurance benefits to the injured worker, cannot subrogate the injured worker's right to claim damages.

B. The specific reasons why the blanket application provision for subcontracted projects should be applied by analogy to construction machinery lessors, etc. are as follows.

1) A construction machinery lease and driving labor provision agreement, in that the construction machinery lessor uses its own manpower and equipment to perform construction machinery work in accordance with the requests of the principal contractor, etc., may be seen as a type of non-typical contract that has the character of a lease agreement while also clearly possessing elements of a subcontract. This holds true even considering that, unlike an ordinary subcontract, the content of the work to be completed is not specified in advance, or that the period of use of the construction machinery is specified and the consideration for use is paid according to that period of use — that is, considering the aspect that the primary purpose of the contract is the use of the construction machinery rather than the completion of the work. A construction machinery lease and driving labor provision agreement is not fundamentally very different from "cases where construction business is carried out through subcontracting," which the blanket application provision for subcontracted projects contemplates.

2) The blanket application provision for subcontracted projects and Article 7(1) of the Enforcement Decree of the Insurance Premium Collection Act enacted pursuant to its delegation provide that, where "construction business" is carried out through multiple subcontracts, in principle, the "principal contractor" is deemed the business owner, and two or more businesses are treated as a unit for the collective processing of insurance administration. Through this, the principal contractor, who carries out the construction project through subcontracting, bears the obligation to pay industrial accident insurance premiums even for employees hired by the subcontractor. This provision is not merely intended to promote procedural convenience in insurance administration, but has a greater significance in securing the effectiveness of industrial accident insurance to more thoroughly protect workers. That is, this provision has its purpose in establishing a basis for securing premiums from the principal contractor, who generally has better ability to pay premiums than the financially small-scale subcontractor, thereby enabling prompt and fair compensation when employees hired by a financially small-scale subcontractor suffer occupational accidents, and also functions to appropriately limit the burden of damages resulting from occupational accidents caused by such employees (see Supreme Court Decision 99Du11011, decided February 25, 2000; Supreme Court Decision 2014Da204666, decided May 26, 2016).

Considering the purpose and function of the blanket application provision for subcontracted projects as described above, there is a great need to apply this provision also to construction machinery lessors, etc. who perform construction machinery work at the site pursuant to a construction machinery lease and driving labor provision agreement with the principal contractor, etc. Construction machinery lessors, etc. are generally financially smaller-scale than the principal contractor, etc. and are directly exposed to the risks of the construction site, while also, in that they may themselves cause risks of occupational accidents to other employees at the site, are no different from subcontractors or their employees. Moreover, as noted above, since the blanket application provision for subcontracted projects applies directly, not by analogy, to a lessor who is also a labor provider, there is no substantive reason to treat this case differently from that one.

3) The practice regarding the collection of industrial accident insurance premiums in cases where the principal contractor, etc. entered into a construction machinery lease and driving labor provision agreement has also changed to reflect the substance of the work performed. Even before the amendment of the industrial accident insurance-related statutes concerning the labor provider system, etc., the Minister of Employment and Labor, on January 12, 2018, had already issued a work directive to the Corporation to the effect that "even if a construction machinery operator is used at a construction site under the form of a lease agreement, this constitutes a subcontract, and thus, pursuant to the blanket application provision for subcontracted projects, the obligation to obtain insurance and pay premiums is imposed on the principal contractor." Applying the blanket application provision for subcontracted projects by analogy to construction machinery lessors, etc. is also consistent with this practice of the Ministry of Employment and Labor.

C. In resolving the issue of the exercise of the right of subrogation with respect to occupational accidents occurring during the performance of construction machinery work based on a construction machinery lease and driving labor provision agreement, the majority opinion abandons the established legal doctrine of determining whether a party is a "third party" under the main text of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act based on "whether there is a direct or indirect industrial accident insurance relationship between the tortfeasor and the injured worker," and instead seeks to redefine the concept of "third party" by introducing the standard of "risk sharing." However, the new legal doctrine proposed by the majority opinion is not only systematically unsound but also entails little necessity for such a change in doctrine. We examine this in more detail below.

1) The Corporation's exercise of the right of subrogation under the main text of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act is, in its basic nature and structure, the same as an insurer's subrogation against a third party in property insurance (Article 682(1) of the Commercial Act). Therefore, even considering that industrial accident insurance has a social insurance character, it is unnatural to determine whether a party is a "third party" against whom subrogation may be exercised by relying on the standard of "risk sharing," which is unrelated to the existence of an "insurance relationship." The question of the extent to which the Corporation, as insurer, should be permitted to subrogate the injured worker's right to claim damages is the question of who should ultimately bear the economic risk arising from the "insured event" of an industrial accident, and this is not a matter that can be determined entirely apart from the insurance relationship, which encompasses the relationship of premium payment. If the insurance group mediated and formed by the "industrial accident insurance relationship" is different, then persons inside that group and persons outside it should, in principle, be treated differently.

In the case of National Health Insurance, which, like industrial accident insurance, has a social insurance character, the third party against whom the National Health Insurance Service may exercise subrogation is likewise "a person other than the insured victim receiving insurance benefits or a person who has a health insurance relationship with that victim" (see Supreme Court Decision 2003Da1878, decided August 20, 2004), such that whether subrogation is permitted is determined according to the existence of an insurance relationship. The prior precedent, which determines the scope of the insurer's exercise of the right of subrogation according to the existence of an insurance relationship, is also sound from the perspective of legal systematization.

2) The standard of "risk sharing" proposed by the majority opinion has considerable aspects of unclarity as a standard for determining whether the Corporation should, as a practical matter, seek indemnity against the person who caused the insured event.

Of course, the majority opinion, in applying the main text of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, somewhat concretizes this standard, holding that if the tortfeasor causes an occupational accident while performing the work of the same business owner as the injured worker under that business owner's "direction and command," then the tortfeasor and the injured worker have shared the risk inherent in the relevant business or workplace, and thus are not third parties to each other. However, whether the user business owner exercises "substantial direction and command, such as directly or indirectly giving binding instructions concerning the performance of the work itself," is one factor in determining a worker dispatch relationship (see, e.g., Supreme Court Decision 2010Da106436, decided February 26, 2015), and considering that numerous disputes arise over whether a worker dispatch relationship exists due to the legal unclarity of the concept of "direction and command," the unclarity of this standard itself is highly likely to undermine predictability in the Corporation's insurance administration practice.

While the concept of "risk sharing" should certainly be sufficiently considered as a theoretical foundation or legal and institutional basis in determining the scope of third parties subject to indemnity, greater caution should be exercised before elevating it, in resolving the practical issue of determining the scope of the Corporation's right of subrogation, to the level of a direct and universal standard comparable to a statutory provision.

3) Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act adopts a regulatory approach whereby the main text designates "persons who are not third parties" as subjects of exemption in principle, while the proviso expands the scope of exemption to "cases where two or more business owners, who are insured, divide and each carry out a single business at the same location." This means that, where no indirect industrial accident insurance relationship is formed between the tortfeasor and the injured worker centered on the business owner to which the injured worker belongs, the Corporation is permitted to subrogate the injured worker, but in a limited number of exceptional cases where it can be said that risk was shared between the tortfeasor and the injured worker, the Corporation's right of subrogation is partially restricted, with the additional requirement that the respective business owners of both the tortfeasor and the injured worker must all be insured. In other words, reducing the scope of the Corporation's right of subrogation merely on the ground of risk sharing, in a situation where no industrial accident insurance relationship centered on the injured worker's business owner exists in the first place, is not what Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act originally contemplates.

4) Since the majority opinion severs the issue of the Corporation's subrogation from the industrial accident insurance relationship, it determines whether the Corporation may subrogate without regard to whether the tortfeasor's business owner is enrolled in industrial accident insurance. Even looking at the case at hand, Article 2 of the former Enforcement Decree of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act (before amendment by Presidential Decree No. 28506 on December 26, 2017) designated construction machinery leasing businesses with fewer than one regular employee as excluded businesses, and since this accident occurred on February 27, 2017, the above former Enforcement Decree provision applies; however, there is insufficient evidence in the record to find that Defendant 2, the construction machinery lessor, was enrolled in industrial accident insurance. Nevertheless, the majority opinion does not permit the Plaintiff's subrogation on the ground that Defendant 1, the construction machinery driver, performed the work while sharing risk with the injured worker in this case.

However, if the reasoning of the majority opinion is applied consistently, then where an employee of the principal contractor, etc. causes harm to a construction machinery lessor, etc. who is not enrolled in industrial accident insurance, the Corporation would not even pay insurance benefits to the victim in the first place, whereas where a construction machinery lessor, etc. causes harm to an employee of the principal contractor, etc., the Corporation would be unable to exercise the right of subrogation after paying insurance benefits. Such an imbalance arising in the course of insurance administration is also inconsistent with the direction of "unified" operation of industrial accident insurance that the majority opinion emphasizes.

5) The issue of broadening the scope of recognition of occupational accidents themselves, in order to protect workers and promote their welfare, and the issue of narrowing the scope of the Corporation's subrogation against those who caused occupational accidents, are separate matters, and there is no necessity to discuss both on the same plane and align them. The latter concerns the question of whether the economic burden arising from insurance benefits should ultimately be borne by the Corporation, which is a matter that falls within the area that can be adjusted through the legislative establishment of the industrial accident insurance relationship. Since the legislative purpose of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act also includes the purpose of securing insurance finances funded by premiums paid by business owners together with government subsidies (see, e.g., Supreme Court en banc Decision 2021Da241618, decided March 24, 2022), reducing the Corporation's scope of subrogation as much as possible is not necessarily the best solution in all respects.

It appears that underlying the majority opinion is the awareness that it would be appropriate not to permit the Corporation's subrogation even in broader cases such as worker dispatch, or construction machinery leasing in non-construction industries. However, the resolution of such cases can be substantially addressed and supplemented through existing statutes and systems, such as the employer's liability under the Civil Act (민법), commercial vehicle insurance, fire insurance, and various other insurance systems, and resolution through such systems may in fact be more appropriate and desirable. Nevertheless, the majority opinion's approach of interpreting the main text of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act in a manner that goes beyond the text and structure of the statute, in order to resolve such cases all at once and in advance, is premature. Furthermore, as noted above, the question of "to what extent the Corporation's exercise of the right of subrogation should be permitted" is an area in which legislative discretion is recognized, and attempting to revise the legal doctrine of the prior precedent by anticipating cases such as worker dispatch or construction machinery leasing in non-construction industries, which are not even at issue in this case, is in some respects inconsistent with the essential nature of the judiciary, whose purpose is to provide relief of rights in the specific case at hand.

D. Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, while we agree with the majority opinion's conclusion in this case, our reasoning differs, and we thus set forth this separate opinion accordingly.

8. Supplementary Opinion of Justice Roh Tae-ak Concerning the Majority Opinion

I wish to supplement the majority opinion regarding the soundness of the new legal doctrine on the meaning of "third party" under the main text of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act and the interpretation and application of the proviso at issue in this case, and to point out certain aspects concerning the logical consistency and limitations of the separate opinion.

A. Regarding the Meaning of "Third Party" under the Main Text of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act

1) The previous precedent defined "one business" under the proviso of this case as "two or more business owners who are insured persons each conducting the same business, but doing so within the same place and the same risk zone for the completion of the same business (subject matter)," and in applying the proviso of this case, developed an interpretive theory focusing on whether workers had already formed a "shared risk relationship concerning occupational accidents" in the course of actually providing labor at industrial sites. Although the expression "risk" is not explicitly mentioned in the text of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법, hereinafter the "Industrial Accident Insurance Act"), this properly grasped the scope of application of the above provision in light of its legislative purpose and the nature of industrial accidents.

Nevertheless, in interpreting and applying the term "third party" in the main text of the same paragraph, the previous precedent excluded the element of "risk," which the industrial accident insurance system naturally presupposes as described above, and instead judged purely on the basis of the "insurance premium bearing relationship," thereby bifurcating the standards of judgment for the main text and the proviso of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act. Although the precedent somewhat expanded the meaning of the insurance premium bearing relationship into the question of "whether the business owner who paid the premium is the same," and held that an "indirect" insurance relationship is recognized not only where the business owner who bore the premium himself caused harm to his own employee, but also between fellow employees, and—where the original contractor bears the premium in a lump sum—between an employee employed by the original contractor and an employee employed by a subcontractor, and between subcontractors, such a bifurcation of the standard of judgment does not, in itself, precisely accord with the purpose and nature of the industrial accident insurance system. Moreover, in a case such as this one, where a contract for the lease of construction machinery and the provision of driving labor is at issue, it also produces results contrary to equity. Considering all these circumstances together, the need to correct the meaning of "third party" in the main text of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act is as the Majority Opinion has demonstrated in detail. According to the Majority Opinion, the cases that the previous precedent resolved by positing an indirect insurance relationship, as well as cases involving contracts for the lease of construction machinery and the provision of driving labor, can be resolved under the unified standard of "whether the same risk inherent in the business or workplace was shared."

2) However, in a case such as this one, where an accident occurred in connection with a contract for the lease of construction machinery and the provision of driving labor, as pointed out in the Separate Opinion, the same conclusion as the Majority Opinion could be reached merely by applying by analogy the provision on the lump-sum application to subcontracted businesses under the Act on the Collection of Insurance Premiums for Employment Insurance and Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance (고용보험 및 산업재해보상보험의 보험료징수 등에 관한 법률, hereinafter the "Insurance Premium Collection Act"). Accordingly, a question may be raised as to whether it is truly necessary to change the previous standard of judgment—namely, the existence of a direct or indirect industrial accident insurance relationship—regarding the meaning of "third party" in the main text of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act.

However, where a contract for the lease of construction machinery and the provision of driving labor has been concluded, the driver employed by the lessor provides driving labor during the lease period in accordance with the direction and command of the business owner who is the lessee, thereby temporarily taking on an appearance similar to "employment" or "worker dispatch." Since the primary purpose of the contract is the use of the construction machinery rather than the completion of a specific task, and the provision of driving labor is merely an ancillary part of the contract, constituting what may be called "labor subcontracting," it is clearly distinct from a "subcontract" under the Civil Act. Nevertheless, treating a contract for the lease of construction machinery and the provision of driving labor in the same manner as a subcontract for a specific part or process of a construction project, and applying by analogy the provision on lump-sum application to subcontracted businesses, is unreasonable. Moreover, the logic of the Separate Opinion first reaches the conclusion that it would be harsh to allow the Corporation to exercise its right of subrogation against the lessor of construction machinery, etc., and then seeks a specific solution to fit that conclusion, which is also awkward from the standpoint of legal-theoretical consistency.

The method of applying by analogy the provision on lump-sum application to subcontracted businesses also shows difficulties in cases where a business owner in a "non-construction industry" has concluded a contract for the lease of construction machinery and the provision of driving labor. In a case such as this one, where a business owner engaged in construction business has concluded such a contract, it may be regarded as similar to subcontracting part of the relevant construction business, and thus the provision on lump-sum application to subcontracted businesses may be applied by analogy; however, it seems difficult to apply the said provision by analogy even to a case where, for example, a business owner engaged in "manufacturing" has concluded such a contract. Furthermore, according to the Separate Opinion, since the previous precedent's standard for judging "third party" under the main text of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act—based on the existence of a direct or indirect industrial accident insurance relationship—remains unchanged, as long as the provision on lump-sum application to subcontracted businesses is applied by analogy, the business owner who is the lessee of the construction machinery must bear the insurance premium for the driver. It is difficult to view this differently even where a business owner in a non-construction industry has concluded a contract for the lease of construction machinery and the provision of driving labor, as long as the provision on lump-sum application to subcontracted businesses is applied by analogy. However, with the enactment of the Insurance Premium Collection Act and its Enforcement Decree, the provision on lump-sum application to subcontracted businesses no longer applies to non-construction industries, which would bring about the unusual result that, uniquely with respect to construction machinery drivers, a business owner in a non-construction industry who does not employ the driver would have to pay the industrial accident insurance premium.

3) Furthermore, the approach of the Separate Opinion cannot resolve cases such as an accident occurring between an employee of the user company and a dispatched worker under a worker dispatch relationship, or a case in which an individual business operator who does not fall under the category of "worker" under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법) or "labor provider" under the Industrial Accident Insurance Act and its subordinate statutes concludes a labor provision contract with a business owner and, in the course of providing labor, an accident occurs between such person and another employee employed by the business owner. This is because there is no room to apply by analogy the provision on lump-sum application to subcontracted businesses in these cases.

a) In a worker dispatch relationship, dispatched workers maintain an employment relationship with the dispatching business owner while, in accordance with the terms of the worker dispatch contract, receiving the direction and command of the user business owner and engaging in labor for the benefit of the user business owner (Article 2, Item 1 of the Act on the Protection, etc. of Dispatched Workers [파견근로자 보호 등에 관한 법률], hereinafter the "Dispatched Workers Act"). Thus, dispatched workers are incorporated into the business of the user business owner and perform their duties together with the employees of the user business owner under a shared risk relationship concerning occupational accidents, but they have no direct or indirect industrial accident insurance relationship with such employees. In other words, according to the previous precedent, dispatched workers and employees of the user business owner are mutually "third parties" under the main text of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act. Furthermore, since the dispatching business owner merely conducts a worker dispatch business (Article 2, Item 3 of the Dispatched Workers Act) and cannot be regarded as dividing and separately conducting a single target business together with the user business owner, and since the work performed by the dispatched worker forms part of the business of the user business owner, the proviso of this case also does not apply.

Meanwhile, the Supreme Court has affirmed the application of the proviso of this case in cases where a company undertaking factory construction works separately subcontracted the transport and unloading of materials and machinery on the one hand and the manufacture and installation of a boiler on the other (Supreme Court Decision 94Da29225, decided October 11, 1994), and where a project operator undertaking construction of a single project district, in consideration of local conditions and convenience of construction, divided the work into several sections and subcontracted them, with each section separated only by walls (Supreme Court Decision 2001Da25788, decided June 29, 2001). However, compared to these cases of divided subcontracting, dispatched workers and employees of the user business owner are even more organically connected and combined, and directly cooperate with and support one another, sometimes performing joint work together. Nevertheless, treating them as mutual "third parties" and thereby allowing the Corporation to exercise its right of subrogation results in discriminating, without any proper basis, between the dispatching business owner and the user business owner and their respective employees.

The limitations of the previous legal theory become clearer in a case where, rather than an employee of the user business owner suffering harm, such an employee is placed in the position of the tortfeasor. This is because, even where the same accident occurs while the employee is performing his ordinary duties in accordance with the direction and command of the user business owner, the ultimate scope of the damages liability borne by the employee of the user business owner may vary entirely due to the incidental circumstance of the presence of dispatched workers. For example, suppose a fire occurs due to the negligent operation of machinery by a tortfeasor-employee of the user business owner at a factory operated by a user business owner engaged in manufacturing, and both other employees of the user business owner and dispatched workers working there together suffer harm. The tortfeasor-employee had performed the same work even before the dispatch of the dispatched workers, and, if anything, after their dispatch, worked while bearing the additional risk of being harmed by the dispatched workers; yet, as the Corporation subrogates the right to claim damages of the dispatched workers among the injured employees, the tortfeasor-employee is exposed to a liability for damages that he could not have foreseen or prepared for. This is a result contrary to equity.

b) A gap in protection for individual business operators may also become an issue. Where the question of whether a person falls under "third party" under the main text of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act is judged on the basis of the insurance premium bearing relationship, an individual business operator who does not fall under the category of "worker" under the Labor Standards Act would, even while working under the same risk relationship in the same manner, find that whether he must ultimately bear the damages liability accompanying the provision of labor differs depending on changes in the statutes or policies concerning the bearing of insurance premiums—that is, depending on "who" pays the premium for him.

It is true that the industrial accident insurance-related statutes have, through numerous amendments, continuously expanded the scope of persons in special types of employment or labor providers, and that as a result, the problem of protecting such persons has been substantially improved. However, such legislative responses reflect, in a follow-up manner, changes in labor provision relationships and methods in modern society, adjusting the scope of compulsory coverage under industrial accident insurance and the specific method of premium collection. Meanwhile, the setting of the scope of "third party" under the main text of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act is a matter of a different dimension, namely, the question of whether the cost of an industrial accident should ultimately be borne by the Corporation, which operates the insurance business, or by an outside third party. Amid the continued emergence of new types of labor provision arrangements that cannot be classified under traditional legal theory, including the spread of platform labor, the Majority Opinion's problem consciousness begins from the recognition that, in order for the institutional protective function of industrial accident insurance to be fully realized, these two issues must be addressed together. Assuming, contrary to the trend thus far, a situation in which the scope of labor providers were instead to be reduced, thereby narrowing the insurance premium bearing relationship, it would be difficult to regard it as reasonable, due to a failure to distinguish between these two issues, to expand once again the scope of the Corporation's exercise of the right of subrogation without considering the "substance of the labor provision."

4) Furthermore, according to the Separate Opinion, the Majority Opinion's decoupling of the issue of the Corporation's subrogation from the industrial accident insurance relationship results in determining whether the Corporation may exercise subrogation without regard to whether the business owner employing the tortfeasor is enrolled in industrial accident insurance, which is unjust. However, this issue appears to be a subsidiary one that can be resolved through the improvement of the industrial accident insurance system and policy. In fact, Article 2(1) of the Enforcement Decree of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, which enumerates businesses excluded from the application of industrial accident insurance pursuant to Article 5(3) of the Insurance Premium Collection Act and Article 6 of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, previously excluded businesses in certain fields with fewer than one regularly employed worker from compulsory coverage under industrial accident insurance (Item 5); however, upon amendment by Presidential Decree No. 28506 on December 26, 2017, this exclusion provision was deleted in order to strengthen the social safety net for small-scale workplaces, and as a result, all businesses employing workers, including construction machinery leasing businesses, in principle became businesses compulsorily covered by industrial accident insurance.

The Majority Opinion's purport is that, without being bound by the form of the contract concluded between the parties to the labor relationship or by the insurance premium payment relationship, and giving consideration instead to the nature of the industrial accident insurance system and the substance of labor provision occurring at industrial sites, it is proper not to regard as a "third party" a tortfeasor who shared the risk concerning occupational accidents by performing the business of the same business owner under whose direction and command the injured employee also worked. Nevertheless, this criticism raised in the Separate Opinion, which clings to the form of the insurance relationship irrespective of the risk actually borne by the tortfeasor and the injured employee in the course of performing their work, cannot ultimately be regarded as a meaningful criticism of the Majority Opinion.

5) In order to resolve the gap in regulation arising from the previous precedent's bifurcation of the standards of judgment for the main text and the proviso of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, one might also consider a method of maintaining the previous standard for judging "third party" under the main text based on the industrial accident insurance relationship, while merely expanding the scope of application of the proviso. Taking as an example a case where an accident occurs in connection with a contract for the lease of construction machinery and the provision of driving labor, this would be a method whereby the lessor of the construction machinery, etc., is deemed to fall under the category of "third party" because there is no direct or indirect industrial accident insurance relationship with the injured employee, but, contrary to the view of the previous precedent, the proviso of this case is applied so as not to allow the Corporation to exercise its right of subrogation.

However, this is an interpretation that exceeds the limits of textual interpretation. This is because, in the cases discussed above involving contracts for the lease of construction machinery and the provision of driving labor, as well as cases of worker dispatch, it cannot be said that two or more business owners "divide and separately conduct" a single business. It cannot be said that the construction business of the lessee of the construction machinery and the construction machinery leasing business of the lessor constitute a division of a single business conducted separately, and the part in which the driver employed by the lessor performs construction machinery work at the construction site under the direction and command of the lessee merely forms part of the construction business, and it is difficult to regard this as a case where the lessor and the lessee divide and separately conduct a single business.

Moreover, it must be borne in mind that the proviso of this case applies only where two or more business owners divide and separately conduct a single business. That is, where an occupational accident occurs in the course of an individual business operator, who does not fall under the category of "labor provider" under the industrial accident insurance-related statutes, providing labor to a business owner without having enrolled in insurance as a small or medium enterprise business owner, the above proviso cannot apply. The problem of protection for individual business operators, to whom the proviso has no room to apply from the outset, cannot be resolved merely by expanding the scope of application of the proviso.

6) Considering all of the foregoing circumstances, the reasoning of the Majority Opinion, which seeks to re-establish the standard for judging "third party" under the main text of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, is valid.

B. Concerning the Interpretation and Application of the Proviso of This Case

1) From the standpoint of the Majority Opinion, which determines the scope of the Corporation's exercise of the right of subrogation according to the single standard of "whether the risk inherent in the business or workplace was shared and manifested," there is a great need to clarify the meaning of "risk" concerning occupational accidents.

2) As noted above, the precedent has, from early on, interpreted "one business" as used in the proviso of this case as meaning "two or more business owners who are insured persons each conducting the same business, but doing so within the same place and the same risk zone for the completion of the same business (subject matter)," and, in judging the issue of the Corporation's right of subrogation, has considered whether the work was performed within the "same risk zone." Although whether a case falls within the "same risk zone" is a matter that must be individually determined for each specific case based on the parties' assertions and evidence, it does not appear that a sufficient body of precedent specifying this standard has yet accumulated.

Meanwhile, the Corporation, which operates the insurance business, appears to have sought concrete reasonableness in the actual operation of industrial accident insurance in its own way, including by establishing operational guidelines that apply the proviso of this case relatively broadly in two-party subcontracting relationships. If the Supreme Court continues to remain in the passive stance of its long-standing precedent and does not further specify the meaning of "risk," the gap between the Corporation's operational guidelines and actual practice on the one hand, and the decisions of the lower courts on the other, will gradually widen.

3) Accordingly, on this occasion of unifying the standards of judgment for the main text and the proviso of Article 87(1) of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, it is desirable to concretize, as far as possible, the meaning of "risk" or "sharing of risk," thereby coordinating the scope of application of the main text and the proviso together. The following standards may generally be proposed.

a) It is proper to view the concept of dividing and conducting "one business" as including not only cases where the "main business" itself is divided and partly conducted, but also cases where "ancillary work necessary" for the completion of the purpose of the main business, such as preparatory or support work, is subcontracted and performed. However, considering the organic relationship between the original main business and the subcontracted ancillary businesses, the specific purpose, content, and manner of each business and the nature and form of the risk accompanying it, and the content of the contract or agreement between the respective business owners, the proviso of this case may be applied only where the tortfeasor and the injured employee shared, through the performance of their work, a risk inherent in the relevant business or workplace, and the occupational accident occurred as a manifestation of that risk.

b) For example, the proviso of this case applies, and the Corporation may not subrogate the injured employee's right to claim damages, in the following cases: ① not only cases involving the division of the main business itself, such as where a single project operator undertaking construction of a project district, in consideration of local conditions and convenience of construction, divides the work into several sections and subcontracts them, but also ② cases where an accident occurs due to the act of an employee in the course of performing ancillary work pursuant to a mutually beneficial contract or agreement, such as where an employee of a machinery and equipment repair company visits a manufacturing company and performs repair work under a contract; and ③ cases where the businesses are in a cooperative relationship for the achievement of the main business, such as where a manufacturing company subcontracts ancillary work, such as the transport of materials within the workplace, to several companies, and employees of the respective subcontractors intermingle within the manufacturing company's workplace while performing the same or similar material transport work.

c) By contrast, it is proper to hold that the proviso of this case does not apply, on the ground that the risk inherent in the relevant business or workplace cannot be regarded as shared, in the following cases: ① where, even though the construction was carried out in adjacent locations, the projects were separate apartment construction projects undertaken by different project owners, or, even with the same project owner, where the construction sites and construction periods differ substantially and the subcontracted subject matter is entirely separate, such that the main businesses themselves differ; ② cases where the organic relationship between the respective businesses is insufficient and they cannot be regarded as being in a cooperative relationship with one another, such as where, even though a manufacturing company has subcontracted ancillary work within the workplace to several companies, the purpose, content, and manner of each business differ, and intermingled work is not contemplated; and ③ cases where it cannot be said that work was performed pursuant to a mutually beneficial contract or agreement, such as where an employee of a machinery and equipment repair company merely visited a manufacturing company for sales activities.

Since the proviso of this case excludes the Corporation's exercise of the right of subrogation only with respect to accidents occurring "due to the act of an employee," it goes without saying that, where an accident occurs due to a cause attributable to the employer, such as a defect in a facility within the workplace, the exercise of the right of subrogation is not restricted.

C. The foregoing sets forth the Supplementary Opinion to the Majority Opinion.

Chief Justice Cho Hee-dae (Presiding Justice), Justice Noh Tae-ak (Justice in charge), Justice Lee Heung-gu, Justice Oh Kyung-mi, Justice Oh Seok-jun, Justice Seo Kyung-hwan, Justice Kwon Young-jun, Justice Eom Sang-pil, Justice Shin Suk-hee, Justice Noh Kyung-pil, Justice Park Young-jae, Justice Lee Suk-yeon, Justice Ma Yong-ju

【판결요지】

[다수의견] (가) 산업재해보상보험법(이하 ‘산재보험법’이라 한다) 제87조 제1항 본문의 ‘제3자’의 의미에 관하여, 대법원은 ‘보험가입자인 사업주와 함께 직간접적으로 재해근로자와 산재보험관계가 없는 사람’으로서 재해근로자에 대하여 불법행위책임 또는 자동차손해배상 보장법이나 민법 또는 국가배상법의 규정에 따른 손해배상책임을 지는 자를 말한다고 해석하여 왔다.

대법원은 위와 같은 판단 기준 아래, 동일한 사업주에게 고용된 동료 근로자, 사업주인 원수급인에게 고용된 근로자와 하수급인에게 고용된 근로자, 하수급인에 대하여, 보험가입자인 사업주와 함께 직간접적으로 재해근로자와 산재보험관계가 있다는 이유로 제3자에 해당하지 않는다고 판단하였다.

그런데 대법원은, 건설공사의 원수급인 또는 하수급인(도급이 여러 차례 이루어지는 경우 재하수급인을 포함한다. 이하 원수급인과 통틀어 ‘원수급인 등’이라 한다)이 건설기계를 임차함과 아울러 임대인 또는 그 근로자(이하 ‘건설기계 임대인 등’이라 한다)로부터 건설기계의 운전노무까지 제공받기로 하는 계약(이하 ‘건설기계 임대차 및 운전노무 제공 계약’이라 한다)이 체결된 사안에서는, 건설기계 임대인의 근로자가 건설기계를 운전한 경우뿐만 아니라 건설기계 임대인이 직접 건설기계를 운전하는 노무를 제공한 경우에도 근로복지공단(이하 ‘공단’이라 한다)의 대위권 행사를 긍정하였다.

이러한 기존의 판단은 우선, 산재보험법 제87조 제1항 본문의 제3자에 해당하는지를 산재보험료의 부담관계, 특히 업무상 재해의 가해자에 대한 산재보험료 납부의무를 누가 부담하는가라는 문제로 파악한 것이다. 즉 원수급인 등의 근로자이거나 도급관계가 인정되는 경우 구 산재보험법(2003. 12. 31. 법률 제7049호로 개정되기 전의 것) 제9조 제1항 또는 고용보험 및 산업재해보상보험의 보험료징수 등에 관한 법률(이하 ‘고용산재보험료징수법’이라 한다) 제9조 제1항에 따라 보험료를 부담하는 사업주인 원수급인을 매개로 ‘직간접적으로 재해근로자와 산재보험관계’가 있다고 보았다. 그러나 건설기계 임대인 등은 원수급인의 근로자가 아니고 하수급인에도 해당하지 않아 보험가입자이자 사업주인 원수급인이 보험료를 부담하지 않으므로 ‘직간접적으로 재해근로자와 산재보험관계’가 없다는 것이다.

(나) 산재보험법 제87조 제1항 본문의 ‘제3자의 행위’에 따른 재해인지 또는 같은 항 단서에서 말하는 ‘보험가입자인 둘 이상의 사업주가 같은 장소에서 하나의 사업을 분할하여 각각 행하다가 그중 사업주를 달리하는 근로자의 행위’에 따른 재해인지는, 재해근로자에 대하여 불법행위 등을 한 사람(이하 ‘가해자’라 한다) 중 누구에 대해서까지 공단이 재해근로자의 손해배상청구권을 대위할 수 있는지, 다시 말하면 보험급여액의 한도 내에서 재해근로자에 대한 최종적인 보상책임을 공단이 부담할지의 문제이다. 산재보험법 제87조 제1항 본문과 단서는 ‘제3자’의 범위나 ‘하나의 사업을 분할하여 행한다.’는 것이 무엇을 의미하는지 구체적으로 설명하고 있지 않으므로, 법원은 산재보험제도의 성격과 목적, 산재보험법 제87조 제1항의 입법 취지 및 그 전체 내용과 구조, 산재보험의 운용과 재정 부담, 형평의 관념 등을 종합적으로 고려하여 이를 합리적으로 해석·적용하여야 한다.

이러한 관점에서 본다면, 산재보험법 제87조 제1항 본문에 따른 대위권의 행사 범위는 보험료 부담관계에 따라 정해지는 것이 아니라, 근로자들 또는 노무제공자들이 동일한 사업 또는 사업장에서 업무상 재해에 관한 공동의 위험관계를 형성하고 있는지에 따라 결정되어야 한다. 즉 사업 또는 사업장에 내재하는 동일한 ‘위험’을 ‘공유’한다고 볼 수 있는지를 중심으로 제87조 제1항 본문의 제3자의 범위를 파악함이 타당하다. 이와 같이 위험을 공유하고 있다면, 업무상 재해로 인한 가해자와 그 사용자는 보험급여를 한 공단이 재해근로자의 손해배상청구권을 대위할 수 있는 상대방인 제3자에 해당하지 않는다.

구체적으로 살펴보면, 가해자가 재해근로자(가해자 또는 재해근로자가 근로기준법상 근로자인 경우뿐만 아니라 산재보험법 제91조의15에서 정한 노무제공자인 경우도 포함한다. 이하 같다)의 사업주(고용산재보험료징수법 제9조 제1항 본문에 따라 원수급인이 보험가입자인 사업주일 경우의 하수급인을 포함한다. 이하 같다)와 고용계약을 체결한 근로자가 아닌 때에도 재해근로자와 동일한 사업주의 지휘·명령 아래 그 사업주의 업무를 수행하는 과정에서 업무상 재해가 발생하였다면, 가해자와 재해근로자는 사업 또는 사업장에 내재하는 위험을 공유하였다고 볼 수 있다. 가해자와 재해근로자가 한 작업은 지휘·명령을 한 사업주가 행하는 사업에 편입되어 그 일부를 이루기 때문이다.

종전 판례가 건설사업의 원수급인에게 고용된 근로자, 그 하수급인 또는 하수급인에게 고용되어 같은 건설현장에서 근무한 근로자 등을 제3자에서 제외한 이유도 이러한 법리에 따라 일관되게 설명할 수 있다. 나아가 원수급인 등의 지휘·명령 아래 건설현장에서 건설기계 운전업무 노무를 제공한 운전기사도 재해근로자와 위험을 공유하였다고 볼 수 있으므로, 해당 건설기계 임대인 등 역시 제3자에 해당하지 않는다.

(다) 이와 달리 건설기계 임대인 및 운전기사가 건설현장에서 작업 중 사고로 하수급인의 근로자에게 업무상 재해를 입힌 사안을 포함하여, 가해자가 재해근로자와 동일한 사업주 또는 그 하수급인의 직간접적인 지휘·명령 아래 작업함으로써 사업장의 업무에 내재하는 위험을 공유하였고 그 위험이 현실화되어 사고가 발생하였음에도 재해근로자와 직간접적 산재보험관계가 없어 산재보험법 제87조 제1항 본문의 제3자에 해당하고 나아가 같은 항 단서도 적용되지 않는다는 이유로, 재해근로자에게 보험급여를 지급한 공단이 그 급여액의 한도 안에서 재해근로자의 손해배상청구권을 대위 행사할 수 있다고 본 대법원 2008. 4. 10. 선고 2006다32910 판결, 대법원 2008. 5. 15. 선고 2006다27093 판결, 대법원 2008. 5. 29. 선고 2006다44760 판결 및 그와 같은 취지의 대법원판결은 이 판결의 견해에 배치되는 범위에서 이를 모두 변경하기로 한다.

[대법관 오석준, 대법관 서경환의 별개의견] 산재보험법 제87조 제1항 본문과 단서에 따른 대위권 행사의 상대방 범위를 ‘사업 또는 사업장에 내재하는 위험이 공유 및 발현되었는지’라는 새로운 기준에 의하여 판단하여야 한다는 다수의견의 이유에는 동의할 수 없다. 산재보험법 제87조 제1항 본문의 ‘제3자’를 ‘보험가입자인 사업주와 함께 직간접적으로 재해근로자와 산재보험관계가 없는 사람’으로 정의한 종전 판례의 법리는 합리적일 뿐만 아니라 체계적으로도 타당하므로, 그대로 유지되어야 한다.

건설공사의 원수급인 등이 건설기계 임대차 및 운전노무 제공 계약을 체결하고 건설기계 임대인 등으로 하여금 건설기계를 운전하여 해당 건설공사 중 일정 부분을 수행하도록 한 경우, 산재보험의 운용 측면에서 이를 ‘도급’과 달리 취급해야만 할 불가피한 이유가 없으므로, 건설기계 임대인 등에 대하여는 보험사무의 처리에 관하여 도급사업의 일괄적용을 내용으로 하는 고용산재보험료징수법 제9조 제1항 본문(이하 ‘도급사업 일괄적용 규정’이라 한다)을 유추적용함이 타당하다(다만 산재보험법 제91조의15 제1호 및 제91조의16, 같은 법 시행령 제83조의5 제2호가 정한 바에 따라 임대인의 지위에서 건설기계를 직접 운전하는 노무제공자에 대하여는 도급사업 일괄적용 규정이 유추 없이 곧바로 적용된다. 이 경우 임대인 겸 노무제공자에 대하여는 고용산재보험료징수법 제48조의6 제6항 등에 따라 원수급인과 노무제공자가 각각 2분의 1씩 산재보험료를 부담한다).

이에 따라 원수급인은 건설기계 작업에 관한 산재보험료를 부담하여야 하고, 원수급인 등의 소속 근로자와 건설기계 임대인 등 사이에는 직간접적인 산재보험관계가 형성된다. 그 귀결로서 건설기계의 운행 도중 건설기계 임대인 등의 잘못으로 원수급인 등의 근로자가 업무상 재해를 입은 경우 건설기계 임대인 등은 산재보험법 제87조 제1항 본문의 제3자에 해당하지 않고, 공단은 재해근로자에게 보험급여를 하더라도 그의 손해배상청구권을 대위할 수 없다.

【참조조문】

산업재해보상보험법 제6조, 제87조 제1항, 제91조의15, 제91조의16, 구 산업재해보상보험법(2022. 6. 10. 법률 제18928호로 개정되기 전의 것) 제125조 제2항(현행 제91조의16 제1항 참조), 구 산업재해보상보험법(2020. 5. 26. 법률 제17326호로 개정되기 전의 것) 제87조 제1항, 구 산업재해보상보험법(2007. 12. 14. 법률 제8694호로 전부 개정되기 전의 것) 제58조 제1항(현행 산업재해보상보험법 제87조 제1항 참조), 구 산업재해보상보험법(2007. 4. 11. 법률 제8373호로 전부 개정되기 전의 것) 제54조 제1항(현행 산업재해보상보험법 제87조 제1항 참조), 구 산업재해보상보험법(2003. 12. 31. 법률 제7049호로 개정되기 전의 것) 제9조 제1항(현행 고용보험 및 산업재해보상보험의 보험료징수 등에 관한 법률 제9조 제1항 참조), 산업재해보상보험법 시행령 제2조, 제83조의5 제2호, 구 산업재해보상보험법 시행령(2023. 6. 27. 대통령령 제33593호로 개정되기 전의 것) 제125조 제2호(현행 제83조의5 제2호 참조), 고용보험 및 산업재해보상보험의 보험료징수 등에 관한 법률 제9조 제1항, 제48조의6 제6항, 고용보험 및 산업재해보상보험의 보험료징수 등에 관한 법률 시행령 제7조 제1항, 사회보장기본법 제3조 제2호, 자동차손해배상 보장법 제10조 제1항, 상법 제682조 제1항, 제724조 제2항

【참조판례】

대법원 2004. 12. 24. 선고 2003다33691 판결(공2005상, 189), 대법원 2008. 4. 10. 선고 2006다32910 판결(공2008상, 660)(변경), 대법원 2008. 5. 15. 선고 2006다27093 판결(변경), 대법원 2008. 5. 29. 선고 2006다44760 판결(변경), 대법원 2011. 7. 28. 선고 2008다12408 판결(공2011하, 1714), 대법원 2016. 5. 26. 선고 2014다204666 판결(공2016하, 849), 대법원 2022. 8. 19. 선고 2021다263748 판결

【주문】·【이유】 전문 30,473자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 피상고인】 근로복지공단

【피고, 상고인】 피고 1 외 1인 (소송대리인 법무법인 중원 담당변호사 이기광 외 1인)

【원심판결】 대구지법 2022. 1. 13. 선고 2021나311355 판결

【주 문】

원심판결 중 피고들 패소 부분을 파기한다. 그중 원심에서 추가로 인용된 부분에 관하여는 그에 해당하는 원고의 항소를 모두 기각하고, 제1심에서 인용된 부분에 관하여는 그 부분 제1심판결을 취소하며, 그에 해당하는 원고의 청구를 모두 기각한다. 소송총비용은 원고가 부담한다.

【이 유】 상고이유를 판단한다.

1. 사안의 개요

원심판결 이유와 원심이 적법하게 채택하여 조사한 증거 등에 따르면, 다음 사실을 알 수 있다.

가. 피고 2는 건설기계 대여업을 영위하는 개인사업자이고, 피고 1은 피고 2에게 고용된 근로자로서 피고 2 소유의 7t 지게차(이하 ‘이 사건 지게차’라 한다)를 운전한 사람이다.

나. 주식회사 ○○종합건설(이하 ‘소외 1 회사’라 한다)은 (도로명 생략)고속도로 8-1 공구 토공 및 구조물 공사를 원수급인인 △△△ 주식회사로부터 하도급받았는데, 그중 □□교 건설공사(이하 ‘이 사건 공사’라 한다) 현장에서 철근 운반 작업을 위하여 피고 2로부터 이 사건 지게차를 임차함과 아울러 그가 고용한 근로자로부터 운전노무도 제공받는 계약을 체결하였다.

다. 피고 1은 이 사건 공사 현장에서 소외 1 회사 소속의 근로자인 소외 2(이하 ‘이 사건 재해근로자’라 한다)의 수신호에 따라 이 사건 지게차를 운전하여 철근 운반 작업을 수행하였다. 피고 1이 2017. 2. 27. 13:45 이 사건 지게차에 철근 3묶음을 싣고 이동하여 하역장소에서 지게발을 내리던 중, 이 사건 재해근로자가 철근 고임목을 수정하기 위해 지게발 아래로 접근하였다. 피고 1이 지게발의 작동을 멈추었으나 철근 묶음 일부가 이 사건 재해근로자의 머리 부위로 떨어지는 사고(이하 ‘이 사건 사고’라 한다)가 발생하였다.

라. 이 사건 재해근로자는 이 사건 사고로 경부 척수손상 등의 상해를 입었고, 2020. 5.경까지 경북대학교병원 등에서 치료를 받았다. 원고인 근로복지공단(이하 ‘공단’이라 한다)은 이 사건 재해근로자에게 보험급여로 요양급여 267,889,990원, 휴업급여 135,425,960원을 지급하였고, 장해보상연금(장해보상일시금으로 환산하면 233,552,722원이다)을 지급하고 있다.

2. 이 사건의 쟁점

가. 이 사건 사고가 일어난 당시의 구 산업재해보상보험법(2020. 5. 26. 법률 제17326호로 개정되기 전의 것, 이하 법령 이름은 ‘산재보험법’이라 줄여 쓴다) 제87조 제1항은 "공단은 제3자의 행위에 따른 재해로 보험급여를 지급한 경우에는 그 급여액의 한도 안에서 급여를 받은 자의 제3자에 대한 손해배상청구권을 대위한다. 다만 보험가입자인 2 이상의 사업주가 같은 장소에서 하나의 사업을 분할하여 각각 행하다가 그중 사업주를 달리하는 근로자의 행위로 재해가 발생하면 그러하지 아니하다."라고 규정하고 있다[현행 산재보험법 제87조 제1항, 구 산재보험법(2007. 12. 14. 법률 제8694호로 전부 개정되기 전의 것) 제58조 제1항 및 구 산재보험법(2007. 4. 11. 법률 제8373호로 전부 개정되기 전의 것) 제54조 제1항도 같은 내용이므로, 이하 구분 없이 산재보험법 제87조 제1항이라 한다].

원고는, 피고들이 산재보험법 제87조 제1항 본문의 ‘제3자’에 해당하고 같은 항 단서도 적용되지 않음을 전제로, 이 사건 재해근로자의 피고들에 대한 손해배상청구권을 대위한다고 주장하면서 이 사건 소를 제기하였다.

나. 이 사건의 쟁점은, 건설공사의 원수급인 또는 하수급인(도급이 여러 차례 이루어지는 경우 재하수급인을 포함한다. 이하 원수급인과 통틀어 ‘원수급인 등’이라 한다)이 건설기계를 임차함과 아울러 임대인 또는 그 근로자(이하 ‘건설기계 임대인 등’이라 한다)로부터 건설기계의 운전노무까지 제공받기로 하는 계약(이하 ‘건설기계 임대차 및 운전노무 제공 계약’이라 한다)을 체결하고, 그에 따라 건설기계 임대인 등이 건설현장에서 건설기계를 운행하던 중 원수급인 등의 근로자에게 업무상 재해를 입힌 경우, 건설기계 임대인 등이 산재보험법 제87조 제1항 본문의 ‘제3자’에 해당하는지 여부이다.

건설기계 임대인 등인 피고들이 산재보험법 제87조 제1항 본문의 제3자에 해당하고 이 사건 사고가 같은 항 단서(이하 줄여 쓸 때에는 ‘이 사건 단서규정’이라 한다)에서 정한 경우에도 해당하지 않는다면, 원고는 이 사건 재해근로자의 피고들에 대한 손해배상청구권을 대위할 수 있다.

3. 쟁점에 대한 판단

가. 기존 법리

1) 산재보험법 제87조 제1항 본문의 ‘제3자’의 의미에 관하여, 대법원은 ‘보험가입자인 사업주와 함께 직간접적으로 재해근로자와 산재보험관계가 없는 사람’으로서 재해근로자에 대하여 불법행위책임 또는 자동차손해배상 보장법(이하 ‘자동차손배법’이라 한다)이나 민법 또는 국가배상법의 규정에 따른 손해배상책임을 지는 자를 말한다고 해석하여 왔다(대법원 2008. 4. 10. 선고 2006다32910 판결, 대법원 2022. 8. 19. 선고 2021다263748 판결 등 참조).

2) 대법원은 위와 같은 판단 기준 아래, 동일한 사업주에게 고용된 동료 근로자(대법원 2004. 12. 24. 선고 2003다33691 판결 등), 사업주인 원수급인에게 고용된 근로자와 하수급인에게 고용된 근로자(대법원 2011. 7. 28. 선고 2008다12408 판결 등), 하수급인(대법원 2016. 5. 26. 선고 2014다204666 판결)에 대하여, 보험가입자인 사업주와 함께 직간접적으로 재해근로자와 산재보험관계가 있다는 이유로 제3자에 해당하지 않는다고 판단하였다.

3) 그런데 대법원은, 다음과 같은 이유로 건설기계 임대차 및 운전노무 제공 계약이 체결된 사안에서는, 이 사건과 같이 건설기계 임대인의 근로자가 건설기계를 운전한 경우뿐만 아니라 건설기계 임대인이 직접 건설기계를 운전하는 노무를 제공한 경우에도 공단의 대위권 행사를 긍정하였다(대법원 2008. 4. 10. 선고 2006다32910 판결, 대법원 2008. 5. 29. 선고 2006다44760 판결, 대법원 2008. 5. 15. 선고 2006다27093 판결 등).

가) 건설기계 임대인 등이 실질에 있어 임금을 받을 목적으로 종속적인 관계에서 근로를 제공한 것으로 볼 수 없어 원수급인 등의 ‘근로자’라고 보기 어렵고, 건설기계의 구체적인 사용관계나 대가 지급방식을 비롯한 계약 내용을 감안할 때 건설기계 사용에 관한 법률관계가 기본적으로 도급이 아니라 임대차에 해당하여 임대인을 원수급인 등의 ‘하수급인’으로도 볼 수 없는 경우, 건설기계 임대인 등은 직간접적으로 원수급인 등에 소속된 재해근로자와 산재보험관계가 없으므로 산재보험법 제87조 제1항 본문의 제3자에 해당한다.

나) 산재보험법 제87조 제1항 단서의 ‘하나의 사업’은 보험가입자인 둘 이상의 사업주가 각각 같은 법 제6조의 사업을 행하되, 동일 장소, 동일 위험권 내에서 같은 사업(목적물)의 완성을 위하여 행하는 것을 의미하고, ‘분할하여 각각 행하다.’라는 것은 둘 이상의 사업주 중 일방의 사업이 타방의 사업의 일부를 구성하지 아니하고, 그 각 사업이 서로 중복되지 아니하여 각 사업 자체가 분리되어 행하여지는 것을 의미한다. 건설기계 작업은 원수급인의 사업 일부를 이루고 있어 건설기계 임대인이 원수급인과 하나의 사업을 분리하여 행하였다고 볼 수 없어 같은 법 제87조 제1항 단서도 적용되지 않는다.

4) 이러한 기존의 판단은 우선, 산재보험법 제87조 제1항 본문의 제3자에 해당하는지를 산재보험료의 부담관계, 특히 업무상 재해의 가해자에 대한 산재보험료 납부의무를 누가 부담하는가라는 문제로 파악한 것이다. 즉 원수급인 등의 근로자이거나 도급관계가 인정되는 경우 구 산재보험법(2003. 12. 31. 법률 제7049호로 개정되기 전의 것) 제9조 제1항 또는 「고용보험 및 산업재해보상보험의 보험료징수 등에 관한 법률」(이하 ‘고용산재보험료징수법’이라 한다) 제9조 제1항에 따라 보험료를 부담하는 사업주인 원수급인을 매개로 ‘직간접적으로 재해근로자와 산재보험관계’가 있다고 보았다. 그러나 건설기계 임대인 등은 원수급인의 근로자가 아니고 하수급인에도 해당하지 않아 보험가입자이자 사업주인 원수급인이 보험료를 부담하지 않으므로 ‘직간접적으로 재해근로자와 산재보험관계’가 없다는 것이다.

나. 새로운 법리

1) 산재보험법 제87조 제1항 본문의 ‘제3자의 행위’에 따른 재해인지 또는 같은 항 단서에서 말하는 ‘보험가입자인 둘 이상의 사업주가 같은 장소에서 하나의 사업을 분할하여 각각 행하다가 그중 사업주를 달리하는 근로자의 행위’에 따른 재해인지는, 재해근로자에 대하여 불법행위 등을 한 사람(이하 ‘가해자’라 한다) 중 누구에 대해서까지 공단이 재해근로자의 손해배상청구권을 대위할 수 있는지, 다시 말하면 보험급여액의 한도 내에서 재해근로자에 대한 최종적인 보상책임을 공단이 부담할지의 문제이다. 산재보험법 제87조 제1항 본문과 단서는 ‘제3자’의 범위나 ‘하나의 사업을 분할하여 행한다.’는 것이 무엇을 의미하는지 구체적으로 설명하고 있지 않으므로, 법원은 산재보험제도의 성격과 목적, 산재보험법 제87조 제1항의 입법 취지 및 그 전체 내용과 구조, 산재보험의 운용과 재정 부담, 형평의 관념 등을 종합적으로 고려하여 이를 합리적으로 해석·적용하여야 한다.

2) 이러한 관점에서 본다면, 산재보험법 제87조 제1항 본문에 따른 대위권의 행사 범위는 보험료 부담관계에 따라 정해지는 것이 아니라, 근로자들 또는 노무제공자들이 동일한 사업 또는 사업장에서 업무상 재해에 관한 공동의 위험관계를 형성하고 있는지에 따라 결정되어야 한다. 즉 사업 또는 사업장에 내재하는 동일한 ‘위험’을 ‘공유’한다고 볼 수 있는지를 중심으로 제87조 제1항 본문의 제3자의 범위를 파악함이 타당하다. 이와 같이 위험을 공유하고 있다면, 업무상 재해로 인한 가해자와 그 사용자는 보험급여를 한 공단이 재해근로자의 손해배상청구권을 대위할 수 있는 상대방인 제3자에 해당하지 않는다.

구체적으로 살펴보면, 가해자가 재해근로자(가해자 또는 재해근로자가 근로기준법상 근로자인 경우뿐만 아니라 산재보험법 제91조의15에서 정한 노무제공자인 경우도 포함한다. 이하 같다)의 사업주(고용산재보험료징수법 제9조 제1항 본문에 따라 원수급인이 보험가입자인 사업주일 경우의 하수급인을 포함한다. 이하 같다)와 고용계약을 체결한 근로자가 아닌 때에도 재해근로자와 동일한 사업주의 지휘·명령 아래 그 사업주의 업무를 수행하는 과정에서 업무상 재해가 발생하였다면, 가해자와 재해근로자는 사업 또는 사업장에 내재하는 위험을 공유하였다고 볼 수 있다. 가해자와 재해근로자가 한 작업은 지휘·명령을 한 사업주가 행하는 사업에 편입되어 그 일부를 이루기 때문이다.

종전 판례가 건설사업의 원수급인에게 고용된 근로자, 그 하수급인 또는 하수급인에게 고용되어 같은 건설현장에서 근무한 근로자 등을 제3자에서 제외한 이유도 이러한 법리에 따라 일관되게 설명할 수 있다. 나아가 원수급인 등의 지휘·명령 아래 건설현장에서 건설기계 운전업무 노무를 제공한 운전기사도 재해근로자와 위험을 공유하였다고 볼 수 있으므로, 해당 건설기계 임대인 등 역시 제3자에 해당하지 않는다.

3) 이하 새로운 법리의 상세한 논거를 밝힌다.

가) 산재보험제도의 성격과 목적

산재보험제도는 보험가입자인 사업주가 납부하는 보험료와 국고 부담을 재원으로 하여 근로자에게 발생하는 업무상 재해라는 사회적 위험을 보험방식에 의하여 대처하는 사회보험제도의 하나이다(대법원 2022. 3. 24. 선고 2021다241618 전원합의체 판결, 헌법재판소 2004. 11. 25. 선고 2002헌바52 전원재판부 결정 등 참조).

산재보험제도의 이러한 성격에는 업무상 재해의 특성, 즉 업무상 재해는 근로자의 개인적 부주의를 넘어 사업에 내재하는 위험에 의하여 발생한다는 점이 투영되어 있다. 즉, 공적 보험으로서의 산재보험제도는 사업에 내재하는 위험에 의하여 발생하는 업무상 재해의 특성을 고려하여, 기업 등 사업주와 재해근로자의 과실 유무와 상관없이 보험수급권자인 재해근로자에게 보험급여를 지급하도록 하고 있다. 산재보험제도는 사업에 내재된 위험을 사업주나 근로자 중 어느 일방에 전가하는 것이 아니라, 산업과 사회 전체가 업무상 재해의 위험과 그 비용을 분담하도록 함으로써 궁극적으로는 사회 전체의 갈등과 비용을 줄여 안정적인 산업의 발전과 경제성장에 기여함을 목적으로 하는 것이다(대법원 2017. 8. 29. 선고 2015두3867 판결 참조).

그뿐만 아니라, 산재보험제도는 건강보험과 달리 사업주로 하여금 산재보험에 가입하여 보험료를 납입하도록 함으로써 근로기준법상 재해보상 책임에 대해서는 면책되도록 하는데, 판례는 이를 넘어 보험료 납입의무를 부담하지 않는 동료 근로자나 하수급인에 대하여 공단의 대위권 행사를 제한함으로써 산재보험에 관하여 일반적인 책임보험에서는 찾아보기 어려운 노동법에 특수한 책임관계의 법리도 인정하고 있다.

나) 산재보험법 제87조 제1항의 입법 취지, 전체적인 내용 및 구조

(1) 산재보험제도의 위와 같은 성격, 목적과 아울러 산재보험법 제87조 제1항의 입법 취지를 고려하면, 그 본문과 단서에 따른 공단의 대위권 행사를 어디까지 허용할 것인지, 다른 한편 산업재해로 인한 보상책임을 어느 범위까지 공단에 귀속시킴으로써 그만큼 가해자를 면책할 것인지의 문제는 산업재해의 본질적 원인으로 작용하는 사업 현장에 내재하는 위험의 내용과 태양, 나아가 사업 목적을 위해 실제로 업무를 수행하는 근로자들에 의하여 그 위험이 어떻게 공유되고 교차하는지를 고려하지 않고서는 온전히 논의될 수 없다.

(가) 산재보험법 제87조 제1항은 보험급여의 수급권자가 다시 가해자로부터 손해배상을 받음으로써 이중의 이익을 얻거나 유책의 제3자가 손해배상책임을 면탈하는 것을 방지함으로써 보험재정을 확보함에 그 입법 취지가 있다(대법원 2000. 8. 18. 선고 2000두918 판결 참조). 따라서 가해자와 재해근로자가 동일한 사업주의 지휘·명령 아래 그 사업주의 업무를 수행하였거나 둘 이상의 사업주로부터 각각 지휘·명령을 받아 각 사업에 속하는 업무를 수행하였더라도 그로써 해당 사업 또는 사업장에 내재하는 위험을 공유하였다면, 그 위험의 현실화로 발생한 업무상 재해에 관하여는 공단의 가해자에 대한 대위권 행사가 허용되지 않는다고 보아야 한다. 가해자는 노무 제공 과정에서 재해근로자와 함께 위험을 공유하고 그 위험의 발현 양상에 따라서는 스스로 업무상 재해를 입을 가능성이 있었던 것인데, 그러한 가해자에 대하여 공단의 대위권 행사를 제한한다 하더라도 유책한 가해자가 손해배상책임을 면탈하는 부당한 결과가 발생한다고 볼 수 없기 때문이다.

위와 같은 위험의 현실화로 발생한 업무상 재해에 대한 비용은 산업과 사회 전체가 분담하는 것, 즉 공단이 최종적인 보상책임을 져야 한다고 보는 것이 앞서 본 산재보험의 사회보험제도로서의 성격에도 들어맞는다. 사업 또는 사업장에 내재하는 고유한 위험이 발현된 것인데도 보험가입 또는 보험관계의 단위를 달리한다는 형식적인 이유로 공단의 대위권 행사를 허용함으로써 그 위험을 함께 감수한 가해자에게 업무상 재해로 인한 책임을 전적으로 귀속시키는 것은, 사업 또는 사업장에 내재하는 위험을 불합리하게 외주화하는 결과를 야기한다.

(나) 기존 판례도 산재보험관계의 외연을 확장하여 동료 근로자, 하수급인 등을 제3자에서 제외하면서, 그 근거로 동료 가해자 또는 하수급인의 가해행위는 마치 사업장 내 기계기구 등의 위험과 같이 사업장이 갖는 하나의 위험이므로 공단이 최종적인 보상책임을 지는 것이 산재보험의 사회보험적 또는 책임보험적 성격에 부합한다는 점, 이러한 경우를 원수급인의 가해행위와 달리 취급할 합리적 이유가 없다는 점 등을 들었는데(대법원 2011. 7. 28. 선고 2008다12408 판결, 대법원 2016. 5. 26. 선고 2014다204666 판결 등 참조), 이 역시 같은 취지이다. 이러한 판단이 오로지 산재보험료 부담관계만을 근거로 삼았던 것은 아니다.

(2) 산재보험법 제87조 제1항의 전체 내용과 구조를 고려하면, 그 본문의 ‘제3자’의 범위는 산재보험관계가 아니라 가해자와 재해근로자가 해당 사업 또는 사업장의 업무에 내재하는 위험을 공유하는지에 따라 파악하여야 함이 더욱 분명해진다.

(가) 산재보험법 제87조 제1항 단서에 따르면, 사업주를 달리하더라도 ‘같은 장소에서 하나의 사업을 분할하여 각각 행하였다면’ 어떤 사업주의 근로자가 다른 사업주의 근로자에게 업무상 재해를 가한 경우, 공단은 가해 근로자와 그 사업주에 대하여 손해배상청구권을 대위할 수 없다. 이때 ‘하나의 사업’이라 함은 보험가입자인 둘 이상의 사업주가 같은 장소, 같은 위험권 내에서 같은 목적물의 완성을 위하여 사업을 행하는 것을 의미하고, 반면 보험가입자인 둘 이상의 사업주가 같은 장소에서 사업을 행하더라도 각 사업의 내용이 같은 목적물의 완성을 위하여 행하는 것이 아닐 때에는, 그 위험의 정도가 서로 다르므로 이에 해당하지 아니한다(대법원 1997. 4. 11. 선고 95다27684 판결 참조). 즉, 산재보험법 제87조 제1항 단서는 동일한 위험을 공유하는지에 따라 대위권의 행사 여부를 결정한다. 여기에는 사업주가 다르고 하나의 사업을 분할하여 각각 행한 경우에도, 실질적으로 하나의 사업주가 하나의 사업을 한 경우와 마찬가지로 위험 영역이 동일하여 그 위험을 공유한다고 평가되는 경우, 해당 위험이 현실화되어 발생한 업무상 재해의 비용은 공단이 최종적으로 부담하는 것이 타당하다는 입법자의 의사가 반영되어 있다. 결국 산재보험법 제87조 제1항의 본문과 단서에 따른 대위권 행사의 상대방 범위는, 산재보험관계가 아니라 사업장의 업무에 내재하는 위험이 동일한지, 그 위험을 공유하는지를 중심으로 통일적으로 파악해야 한다.

(나) 산재보험법 제87조 제1항 단서 중 ‘분할하여 각각 행한다.’라는 것은, 둘 이상의 사업주 중 일방의 사업이 다른 상대방의 사업의 일부를 구성하지 아니하고 각 사업이 서로 중복되지 않게 분리되어 행하여지는 것을 의미하는데, 건설기계 임대인 등이 수행한 작업은 원수급인 등의 사업의 일부를 이루므로 하나의 사업을 ‘분할’하여 행한 것에는 해당하지 않는다(대법원 2008. 4. 10. 선고 2006다32910 판결 등 참조).

그러나 대위권의 행사 가능 여부, 즉 공단이 업무상 재해에 대하여 최종적인 보상책임을 지는지 여부라는 동일한 문제에 관하여, 산재보험법 제87조 제1항 단서에서는 ‘동일한 위험을 공유하는지’라는 기준 아래 사업주를 달리하여 지휘·명령관계가 분리된 채 사업을 분할하여 행함에도 하나의 사업을 한 경우와 마찬가지로 보아 공단의 대위권 행사를 제한하는 반면, 산재보험법 제87조 제1항 본문에서는 ‘직간접적인 산재보험관계가 있는지’라는 기준을 적용하여 건설기계 임대인 등이 동일한 원수급인 등의 지휘·명령 아래 재해근로자와 작업함으로써 동일한 위험을 공유하며 실질적으로 하나의 사업을 수행하더라도 공단의 대위권 행사가 허용된다고 보는 것은, 불필요하게 판단 기준을 이원화함으로써 입법자가 의도하지 않았던 규율의 공백을 초래할 뿐 아니라, 건설기계 임대인 등을 합리적 이유 없이 차별하는 것으로 형평에 반한다.

오히려 사업에 내재하는 위험이 동일한지, 그 위험을 공유하는지 여부라는 단일한 기준을 중심으로, 동일한 사업주인 원수급인 등의 지휘·명령 아래 재해근로자와 공동작업을 한 경우 산재보험법 제87조 제1항 본문의 ‘제3자’에서 제외되고, 사업주를 달리하여 동일한 원수급인 등의 지휘·명령을 받지 않는 경우 제3자에는 포함되나 그 단서에 따라 공단의 대위권 행사가 제한된다고 보는 것이 산재보험법 제87조 제1항의 전체적인 내용과 구조에 부합한다.

(다) 산재보험법 제87조 제1항을 위와 같이 해석하는 것이, 산재보험법 제6조의 ‘사업 또는 사업장’의 해석 기준과도 일관된다. 즉, ‘사업 또는 사업장’은 산재보험법 제6조, 같은 법 시행령 제2조에 따라 산재보험의 가입 및 적용 단위가 되는 개념으로, 일정한 장소를 바탕으로 유기적으로 단일하게 조직되어 계속적으로 행하는 경제적 활동단위를 말한다. 어떤 경우를 하나의 사업 또는 사업장으로 볼 것인지는 각 활동단위가 장소적으로 분리되어 있는지, 그 경제활동의 내용이 최종적 사업목적을 위하여 유기적으로 결합되어 있는지, 업무상 재해 발생의 위험을 공유하는지 등을 종합적으로 고려하여 판단하여야 한다(대법원 2015. 3. 12. 선고 2012두5176 판결 참조). 이러한 법리와 앞서 본 산재보험의 성격과 목적 등을 종합하면, 같은 장소에서 위험을 공유하며 같은 사업목적을 위하여 유기적으로 결합된 활동단위들은 적어도 산재보험법 제87조 제1항을 적용하는 국면에서는 하나의 사업 또는 사업장에 속한다고 봄이 타당하다. 이러한 관점에서 하나의 사업으로 볼 수 있는 경우에 그 사업의 테두리 안에서 발생한 업무상 재해에 대하여는, 해당 사업이 둘 이상의 사업주에 의하여 분할되어 행해지는 경우에는 단서가 적용되고, 그렇지 않은 경우 본문의 제3자에서 제외되어 공단의 대위권 행사가 제한된다고 보는 것이 체계적이고 합리적인 해석이다.

다) 산재보험의 재정 부담, 보험료 납부관계 등

(1) 산재보험법 제87조 제1항에는 공단의 보험재정을 확보하려는 취지도 포함되어 있고, 공단이 재해근로자의 손해배상청구권을 대위할 수 있는 상대방의 범위를 늘릴수록 보험재정에 도움이 될 수는 있다. 그러나 산재보험의 보험료 부담은 사회보험의 재원을 어떻게 마련할지에 대한 정책적·입법적 결단의 문제이고(대법원 2022. 3. 24. 선고 2021다241618 전원합의체 판결 참조), 그것이 공단의 위험인수 또는 대위권 행사의 범위를 정하는 선결적인 관계에 있지 않다.

(2) 실제로 산재보험법 시행령 제125조 제2호가 이 사건 사고 이후인 2018. 12. 11. 대통령령 제29354호로 개정되면서 건설기계와 관련된 ‘특수형태근로종사자’의 범위가 기존의 "건설기계관리법 제3조 제1항에 따라 등록된 콘크리트믹서트럭을 소유하여 그 콘크리트믹서트럭을 직접 운전하는 사람"에서 "건설기계관리법 제3조 제1항에 따라 등록된 건설기계를 직접 운전하는 사람"으로 확장되었다. 또한 산재보험법이 2022. 6. 10. 법률 제18928호로 개정되면서 제91조의15로 ‘특수형태근로종사자’ 제도를 포괄하는 개념으로 ‘노무제공자’ 제도가 신설되었는데, "건설기계관리법 제3조 제1항에 따라 등록된 건설기계를 직접 운전하는 사람"은 이에 해당한다(산재보험법 시행령 제83조의5 제2호). 특수형태고용근로자와 노무제공자는 산재보험법상 ‘근로자’로 보게 되고[구 산재보험법(2022. 6. 10. 법률 제18928호로 개정되기 전의 것) 제125조 제2항 및 산재보험법 제91조의16 제1항], 건설업에 있어서는 고용산재보험료징수법 제48조의6 제6항 본문, 제9조 제1항에 따라 원수급인이 이들에 대한 산재보험료 중 2분의 1을 부담하게 되었다. 이는 "건설기계관리법 제3조 제1항에 따라 등록된 건설기계를 직접 운전하는 사람"을 업무상 재해로부터 보호할 필요가 있다는 정책적 판단 아래 산재보험료 부담관계가 법령에 따라 변경된 것이다. 이처럼 산재보험료를 누구에게 얼마나 부담시키느냐는 산재보험의 운용에 관한 정책적·입법적 결단에 따라 조정될 수 있는 사항인바, 산업 현장에 내재하는 위험을 종국적으로 어떻게 배분함이 타당한가의 문제와는 논의의 평면을 달리한다.

(3) 산재보험 관계 법령이 위와 같이 개정되기 전에 이미 건설기계 임대인 등에 관한 실무례가 변경된 것도 같은 맥락에서 이해할 수 있다. 고용노동부장관은 2018. 1. 12. 공단에 ‘건설현장에서 건설기계 조종사를 임대차계약 형식으로 사용하였다고 하더라도 도급에 해당하므로 고용산재보험료징수법 제9조 제1항 본문에 따라 원수급인에게 보험 가입 및 보험료 납부의무를 부과한다.’는 취지의 업무지침을 시달하였다. 위 업무지침은 건설기계 임대인 등을 제3자로 보아 공단의 손해배상청구권 대위를 허용하는 것이 부당하다는 인식 아래, 하수급인이 건설기계를 임차함과 아울러 임대인이 고용한 운전기사로부터 운전노무까지 제공받는 경우를 도급계약에 준하여 취급함으로써, 종래 건설기계 임대인으로부터 징수하던 운전기사에 관한 산재보험료 전액을 원수급인이 부담하도록 실무례를 정비한 것으로 보인다. 이 역시 산재보험의 보험료 부담 문제가 산재보험제도의 성격 및 취지를 고려하여 정책적으로 조정될 여지가 있음을 방증한다.

(4) 건설공사의 원수급인 등은 건설기계 임대차 및 운전노무 제공 계약을 체결하지 않더라도, 건설기계 작업이 포함된 일부 공사를 재하도급하거나 건설기계를 구입 또는 임차하여 자기 근로자로 하여금 운전하게 하는 방법 등을 통하여 하수급 공사에 필요한 건설기계 작업을 수행할 수 있다.

그런데 위 각 경우에 개재되는 계약의 내용과 형태가 다소 달라진다고 하여 건설사업이 진행되는 모습, 건설현장 내 사고 위험의 종류 및 정도 등에 유의미한 차이가 발생하는 것은 아니다. 특히 고용산재보험료징수법 제9조 제1항의 도급사업 일괄적용 규정에 따라 원칙적으로 건설사업 전체에 대하여 사업주로서 보험 가입 및 보험료 납부의무를 부담하는 원수급인의 입장에서 보면, 이는 통상 하수급인이 하도급계약의 이행 단계에서 선택할 수 있는 구체적인 작업 방식상의 차이에 불과하다. 또한 건설기계 임대차 및 운전노무 제공 계약을 체결하는 경우 원수급인 등의 운전기사에 대한 지휘·명령의 정도는, 원수급인 등이 건설기계를 임차하여 자기 근로자로 하여금 운전하게 하는 경우와 건설기계 작업이 포함된 일부 공사를 하도급하는 경우의 중간에 위치한다고 볼 수 있다. 그럼에도 유독 건설기계 임대차 및 운전노무 제공 계약을 체결하는 경우에만 건설기계 임대인 등과 재해근로자 사이에 직간접적인 산재보험관계가 없다는 이유로 공단이 대위권을 행사할 수 있다고 보는 것은 구체적 타당성을 갖춘 결론이라고 보기 어렵다.

라) 책임보험과의 관계

한편 위와 같이 보더라도, 건설기계 임대인과 건설기계에 관하여 책임보험계약을 체결한 보험회사까지 면책되는 것은 아니다. 자동차손배법 제10조 제1항 및 상법 제724조 제2항에 의하여 피해자에게 인정되는 책임보험자에 대한 직접청구권은 피해자가 책임보험자에 대하여 가지는 손해배상청구권으로서 가해자에 대한 손해배상청구권과는 별개의 권리이기 때문이다. 따라서 자동차손배법 제10조 제1항 및 상법 제724조 제2항에 의하여 피해자에 대하여 직접 손해배상책임을 지는 책임보험자는 업무상 사고의 가해자가 산재보험법상 제3자에 해당되는지 여부와 상관없이 제3자에 포함된다(대법원 2007. 1. 25. 선고 2006다60793 판결 참조).

4. 판례의 변경

이와 달리 건설기계 임대인 및 운전기사가 건설현장에서 작업 중 사고로 하수급인의 근로자에게 업무상 재해를 입힌 사안을 포함하여, 가해자가 재해근로자와 동일한 사업주 또는 그 하수급인의 직간접적인 지휘·명령 아래 작업함으로써 사업장의 업무에 내재하는 위험을 공유하였고 그 위험이 현실화되어 사고가 발생하였음에도 재해근로자와 직간접적 산재보험관계가 없어 산재보험법 제87조 제1항 본문의 제3자에 해당하고 나아가 같은 항 단서도 적용되지 않는다는 이유로, 재해근로자에게 보험급여를 지급한 공단이 그 급여액의 한도 안에서 재해근로자의 손해배상청구권을 대위 행사할 수 있다고 본 대법원 2008. 4. 10. 선고 2006다32910 판결, 대법원 2008. 5. 15. 선고 2006다27093 판결, 대법원 2008. 5. 29. 선고 2006다44760 판결 및 그와 같은 취지의 대법원판결은 이 판결의 견해에 배치되는 범위에서 이를 모두 변경하기로 한다.

5. 이 사건에 대한 판단

가. 이 사건을 새로운 법리에 비추어 살펴본다.

이 사건 사고는, 소외 1 회사가 피고 2와 건설기계(지게차) 임대차 및 운전노무 제공 계약을 체결하고, 피고 2에게 고용된 피고 1이 위 계약에 따라 이 사건 공사 현장에서 소외 1 회사의 지휘·명령 아래 이 사건 지게차를 운행하여 이 사건 재해근로자와 공동으로 철근 운반 작업을 하는 과정에서 피고 1, 소외 1 회사와 이 사건 재해근로자의 과실이 경합하여 발생한 것이다. 이 사건 사고의 그와 같은 경과 등을 고려해 보면, 이 사건 사고 당시 가해자인 피고 1은 하수급인인 소외 1 회사의 지휘·명령 아래 이 사건 사고 현장에서 이 사건 재해근로자와 공동으로 작업함으로써 사업장에 내재하는 위험을 공유하며 업무를 수행하였고, 그 위험이 현실화되어 이 사건 사고가 발생하였다고 보기에 충분하다.

나. 그렇다면 피고들은 이 사건 사고에 관하여 산재보험법 제87조 제1항 본문의 제3자에 해당하지 않으므로, 원고는 이 사건 재해근로자의 피고들에 대한 손해배상청구권을 대위하여 행사할 수 없다. 그런데도 원고가 피고들에 대하여 산재보험법 제87조 제1항에 따른 구상권을 행사할 수 있다고 본 원심의 판단에는 같은 항 본문의 제3자 및 산재보험관계에 관한 법리를 오해하여 판결에 영향을 미친 잘못이 있고, 이 점을 지적하는 피고들의 상고이유 주장은 이유 있다.

6. 결론

이상과 같은 이유로 원심판결 중 피고들 패소 부분을 파기하되, 이 부분은 이 법원이 직접 재판하기에 충분하므로 민사소송법 제437조에 따라 자판하기로 한다. 그중 원심에서 추가로 인용된 부분에 관하여는 그에 해당하는 원고의 항소를 모두 기각하고, 제1심에서 인용된 부분에 관하여는 그 부분 제1심판결을 취소하며, 그에 해당하는 원고의 청구를 모두 기각하고, 소송총비용은 원고가 부담하도록 하여 주문과 같이 판결한다.

이 판결에는 대법관 오석준, 대법관 서경환의 별개의견이 있는 외에는 관여 법관의 의견이 일치하였고, 다수의견에 대한 대법관 노태악의 보충의견이 있다.

7. 대법관 오석준, 대법관 서경환의 별개의견

가. 별개의견의 요지

이 사건에서 공단인 원고가 가해자 측인 피고들을 상대로 재해근로자의 손해배상청구권을 대위하여 행사할 수 없다는 다수의견의 결론에는 동의한다.

다만 산재보험법 제87조 제1항 본문과 단서에 따른 대위권 행사의 상대방 범위를 ‘사업 또는 사업장에 내재하는 위험이 공유 및 발현되었는지’라는 새로운 기준에 의하여 판단하여야 한다는 다수의견의 이유에는 동의할 수 없다. 산재보험법 제87조 제1항 본문의 ‘제3자’를 ‘보험가입자인 사업주와 함께 직간접적으로 재해근로자와 산재보험관계가 없는 사람’으로 정의한 종전 판례의 법리는 합리적일 뿐만 아니라 체계적으로도 타당하므로, 그대로 유지되어야 한다.

이 사건에서와 같이 건설공사의 원수급인 등이 건설기계 임대차 및 운전노무 제공 계약을 체결하고 건설기계 임대인 등으로 하여금 건설기계를 운전하여 해당 건설공사 중 일정 부분을 수행하도록 한 경우, 산재보험의 운용 측면에서 이를 ‘도급’과 달리 취급해야만 할 불가피한 이유가 없으므로, 건설기계 임대인 등에 대하여는 보험사무의 처리에 관하여 도급사업의 일괄적용을 내용으로 하는 고용산재보험료징수법 제9조 제1항 본문(이하 ‘도급사업 일괄적용 규정’이라 한다)을 유추적용함이 타당하다(다만 산재보험법 제91조의15 제1호 및 제91조의16, 같은 법 시행령 제83조의5 제2호가 정한 바에 따라 임대인의 지위에서 건설기계를 직접 운전하는 노무제공자에 대하여는 도급사업 일괄적용 규정이 유추 없이 곧바로 적용된다. 이 경우 임대인 겸 노무제공자에 대하여는 고용산재보험료징수법 제48조의6 제6항 등에 따라 원수급인과 노무제공자가 각각 2분의 1씩 산재보험료를 부담한다. 이하의 논의는 이러한 경우를 제외한 건설기계 임대인 등에 국한한 것이다).

이에 따라 원수급인은 건설기계 작업에 관한 산재보험료를 부담하여야 하고, 원수급인 등의 소속 근로자와 건설기계 임대인 등 사이에는 직간접적인 산재보험관계가 형성된다. 그 귀결로서 건설기계의 운행 도중 건설기계 임대인 등의 잘못으로 원수급인 등의 근로자가 업무상 재해를 입은 경우 건설기계 임대인 등은 산재보험법 제87조 제1항 본문의 제3자에 해당하지 않고, 공단은 재해근로자에게 보험급여를 하더라도 그의 손해배상청구권을 대위할 수 없다.

나. 건설기계 임대인 등에 대하여 도급사업 일괄적용 규정을 유추적용하여야 하는 구체적인 이유는 다음과 같다.

1) 건설기계 임대차 및 운전노무 제공 계약은 건설기계 임대인이 자신의 인력 및 설비를 이용하여 원수급인 등의 요구에 따른 건설기계 작업을 수행한다는 점에서, 임대차계약의 성격을 가짐과 동시에 도급적인 요소 또한 뚜렷이 지니는 비전형계약의 일종으로 볼 수 있다. 이는 통상적인 도급계약과 달리 완성되어야 할 일의 내용이 미리 특정되지 않는다거나, 건설기계 사용기간이 특정되고 그 사용기간에 따라 사용대가가 지급된다는 점, 즉 일의 완성보다는 건설기계의 사용이 계약의 주된 목적이라는 측면을 감안하더라도 마찬가지이다. 건설기계 임대차 및 운전노무 제공 계약은 도급사업 일괄적용 규정이 예정하고 있는 ‘건설업이 도급에 의하여 시행되는 경우’와 본질적으로 크게 다르지 않다.

2) 도급사업 일괄적용 규정 및 그 위임에 따른 고용산재보험료징수법 시행령 제7조 제1항은 ‘건설업’이 여러 차례의 도급에 의하여 시행되는 경우 원칙적으로 ‘원수급인’을 사업주로 보아 둘 이상의 사업을 묶어 보험사무를 일괄 처리하도록 하고 있다. 이로써 도급을 통해 건설사업을 시행하는 원수급인은 하수급인이 고용한 근로자에 대하여도 산재보험료 납부의무를 부담한다. 위 규정은 단순히 보험사무의 절차적 편의만을 도모하기 위한 것이 아니라, 산재보험의 실효성을 확보하여 근로자들을 두텁게 보호하고자 하는 의미가 더 크다. 즉, 위 규정은 통상 재정적으로 영세한 처지의 하수급인에 비해 보험료 납부 능력이 양호한 원수급인으로부터 보험료를 확보할 수 있는 근거를 마련함으로써, 영세한 하수급인에게 고용된 근로자들이 업무상 재해를 당한 경우 신속·공정하게 보상하는 데에 그 취지가 있고, 아울러 위 근로자들이 업무상 재해를 야기한 경우에는 그로 인한 손해배상의 부담을 적절히 제한하는 기능을 한다(대법원 2000. 2. 25. 선고 99두11011 판결, 대법원 2016. 5. 26. 선고 2014다204666 판결 참조).

위와 같은 도급사업 일괄적용 규정의 취지와 기능을 고려하면, 원수급인 등과의 건설기계 임대차 및 운전노무 제공 계약에 따라 현장에서 건설기계 작업을 수행하는 건설기계 임대인 등에게도 위 규정을 적용할 필요성이 크다. 건설기계 임대인 등은 통상 원수급인 등에 비하여 재정적으로 영세할 뿐 아니라 건설현장의 위험에 직접 노출되어 있고, 한편 그 스스로도 현장의 다른 근로자들에게 업무상 재해 위험을 야기할 수 있다는 점에서 하수급인 또는 그 소속 근로자들과 다르지 않다. 더구나 앞서 본 바와 같이 임대인 겸 노무제공자에 대하여는 유추적용이 아니라 도급사업 일괄적용 규정이 바로 적용되는바, 이 경우와 달리 취급할 실질적 이유도 없다.

3) 원수급인 등이 건설기계 임대차 및 운전노무 제공 계약을 체결한 경우에서의 산재보험료 징수에 관한 실무례도 업무 수행의 실질을 반영하여 변경되었다. 고용노동부장관은 노무제공자 등 제도에 관한 산재보험 관계 법령이 개정되기 전인 2018. 1. 12. 이미 공단에 ‘건설현장에서 건설기계 조종사를 임대차계약 형식으로 사용하였다고 하더라도 도급에 해당하므로 도급사업 일괄적용 규정에 따라 원수급인에게 보험 가입 및 보험료 납부의무를 부과한다.’는 취지의 업무지침을 시달한 바 있다. 건설기계 임대인 등에 대하여 도급사업 일괄적용 규정을 유추적용하는 것이 이러한 고용노동부의 실무례에도 부합한다.

다. 건설기계 임대차 및 운전노무 제공 계약에 기초한 건설기계 작업 수행 도중 발생한 업무상 재해에 관한 대위권 행사 문제를 해결함에 있어, 다수의견은 ‘가해자와 재해근로자 사이에 직간접적인 산재보험관계가 있는지’에 따라 산재보험법 제87조 제1항 본문의 제3자 여부를 판단하는 기존의 확립된 법리를 포기하고, ‘위험 공유’라는 기준을 도입하여 제3자의 개념을 재정의하고자 한다. 그러나 다수의견이 제시하는 새로운 법리는 체계적으로 타당하지 않을 뿐 아니라 그와 같이 법리를 변경할 필요성도 작다. 이하에서 보다 구체적으로 살펴본다.

1) 산재보험법 제87조 제1항 본문에 따른 공단의 대위권 행사는 기본적으로 손해보험에서의 제3자에 대한 보험자 대위(상법 제682조 제1항)와 같은 성질 및 구조를 가진다. 따라서 산재보험에 사회보험적 성격이 있음을 고려하더라도, ‘보험관계’의 유무와 무관한 ‘위험 공유’라는 기준을 내세워 대위 가능한 제3자 여부를 판단하는 입장은 부자연스럽다. 보험자인 공단으로 하여금 어느 범위에서 재해근로자의 손해배상청구권을 대위하도록 할 것인가의 문제는 산업재해라는 ‘보험사고’로 인한 경제적인 위험을 종국적으로 누구에게 부담시킬 것인가의 문제로서, 보험료 납부 관계를 아우르는 보험관계에서 완전히 떼어 내어 결정할 수 있는 성질의 것이 아니다. ‘산재보험관계’로 매개·형성되는 보험집단이 다르다면, 그 집단 내부의 사람과 외부의 사람은 원칙적으로 달리 취급되어야 한다.

산재보험과 마찬가지로 사회보험적 성격을 지니는 국민건강보험의 경우에도, 국민건강보험공단의 대위 상대방이 되는 제3자는 ‘보험급여를 받는 피해자인 가입자 또는 그 피해자와 건강보험관계가 있는 자 이외의 자’이므로(대법원 2004. 8. 20. 선고 2003다1878 판결 참조), 보험관계의 존부에 따라 대위 여부가 정하여진다. 보험관계의 유무에 따라 보험자의 대위권 행사 범위를 정하는 종전 판례는 법체계적으로도 타당하다.

2) 다수의견이 제시하는 ‘위험 공유’라는 기준은 공단이 현실적으로 보험사고 유발자를 상대로 구상을 할 것인지를 결정하는 기준으로 삼기에 명확하지 않은 측면이 다분히 있다.

물론 다수의견은 산재보험법 제87조 제1항 본문을 적용함에 있어 위 기준을 다소 구체화하여, 가해자가 재해근로자와 동일한 사업주의 ‘지휘·명령’ 아래 그 사업주의 업무를 수행하는 과정에서 업무상 재해가 발생하였다면 가해자와 재해근로자는 해당 사업 또는 사업장에 내재하는 위험을 공유한 것이므로 서로 제3자가 아니라고 본다. 그러나 사용사업주가 ‘직간접적으로 업무수행 자체에 관한 구속력 있는 지시를 하는 등 상당한 지휘·명령을 하는지’는 근로자파견관계를 판단하는 하나의 요소인데(대법원 2015. 2. 26. 선고 2010다106436 판결 등 참조), ‘지휘·명령’이라는 개념의 법적 불명확성으로부터 근로자파견 여부를 다투는 분쟁이 다수 발생하는 측면을 고려한다면 위 기준 자체의 불명확성은 결국 공단의 보험실무와 관련한 예측가능성을 저해할 소지가 크다.

‘위험 공유’라는 개념이 구상 대상자인 제3자의 범위를 결정함에 있어서 이론적 기초 내지 법적·제도적 바탕으로서 충분히 고려되어야 함은 물론이나, 공단의 대위권 범위를 결정하는 실무적 문제를 해결함에 있어 이를 법령과 같은 정도의 직접적·보편적인 기준으로 삼는 것에는 보다 신중하여야만 한다.

3) 산재보험법 제87조 제1항은 본문에서 ‘제3자가 아닌 자’를 원칙적인 면책 대상으로 삼으면서, 단서를 통해 ‘보험가입자인 둘 이상의 사업주가 같은 장소에서 하나의 사업을 분할하여 각각 행한 경우’로 면책의 범위를 넓히는 규율 방식을 취하고 있다. 이는 재해근로자의 소속 사업주를 중심으로 가해자와 재해근로자 사이에 간접적인 산재보험관계가 형성되지 않은 때에는 공단이 재해근로자를 대위할 수 있도록 하고, 다만 가해자와 재해근로자 사이에 위험이 공유되었다고 볼 수 있는 일부 예외적인 사안에서 가해자와 재해근로자의 각 소속 사업주가 모두 보험가입자일 것 등을 추가적인 요건으로 하여 공단의 대위를 일부 제한한 것이다. 다시 말해, 재해근로자의 사업주를 중심으로 한 산재보험관계가 존재하지 않는데도 위험 공유라는 사유만으로 공단의 대위 범위를 축소하는 것은 애초에 산재보험법 제87조 제1항이 예정하고 있는 바가 아니다.

4) 다수의견은 공단의 대위 문제를 산재보험관계로부터 절연하므로, 가해자의 소속 사업주가 산재보험에 가입하였는지를 묻지 않고 공단의 대위 여부를 결정하게 된다. 이 사건의 경우를 보더라도, 구 산재보험법 시행령(2017. 12. 26. 대통령령 제28506호로 개정되기 전의 것) 제2조는 상시근로자 수가 1명 미만인 건설기계 임대사업을 적용제외사업으로 정하였고, 이 사건 사고는 2017. 2. 27. 발생하였으므로 위 구 시행령 규정이 적용되는데, 기록상 건설기계 임대인인 피고 2가 산재보험에 가입하였다고 볼 증거가 충분하지 않다. 그럼에도 다수의견은 건설기계 운전기사인 피고 1이 이 사건 재해근로자와 위험을 공유하며 업무를 수행하였다는 이유로 원고의 대위를 허용하지 않는다.

그런데 위와 같은 다수의견의 논지를 일관하면, 원수급인 등의 소속 근로자가 산재보험에 미가입된 건설기계 임대인 등에게 가해한 때에는 공단이 피해자에 대한 보험급여 자체를 하지 않게 되는 반면, 건설기계 임대인 등이 원수급인 등의 소속 근로자에게 가해한 때에는 공단이 보험급여 후 대위권을 행사할 수 없게 된다. 보험사무 처리 과정에서 발생하는 이와 같은 불균형은 다수의견이 강조하는 산재보험의 ‘통일적’ 운용이라는 방향성에도 부합하지 아니한다.

5) 근로자 보호 및 복지 증진을 위하여 업무상 재해 자체의 인정 범위를 넓히는 문제와 업무상 재해를 유발한 자에 대한 공단의 대위 범위를 좁히는 문제는 별개이고, 양자를 반드시 같은 국면에서 논의하여 일치시켜야 할 것은 아니다. 후자는 보험급여에 따른 경제적 부담을 공단에 최종적으로 귀속시킬 것인지의 문제로, 산재보험관계의 입법적 설정을 통해 조정될 수 있는 영역에 속한다. 산재보험법 제87조 제1항의 입법 취지에는 사업주가 납부하는 보험료와 함께 국고 부담을 재원으로 하는 보험재정을 확보하려는 취지 또한 포함되어 있으므로(대법원 2022. 3. 24. 선고 2021다241618 전원합의체 판결 등 참조), 공단의 대위 범위를 가급적 축소하는 것만이 능사는 아니다.

다수의견의 근저에는 근로자파견, 비건설업종에서의 건설기계 임대차 등 보다 폭넓은 사안에서까지도 공단의 대위를 허용하지 않는 것이 타당하다는 문제의식이 자리하고 있는 것으로 보인다. 그러나 위와 같은 사안들의 처리는 민법상 사용자책임, 업무용자동차보험, 화재보험 등 각종 보험제도와 같은 기존의 법령과 제도를 통해 상당 부분 해결·보완될 수 있고 그러한 시스템을 통한 해결이 오히려 더 마땅하고 바람직할 수도 있다. 그럼에도 법률의 문언이나 체계를 넘어서는 방식으로 산재보험법 제87조 제1항 본문을 해석하여 위와 같은 사안들까지 일거에 사전적으로 해결하려는 다수의견의 태도는 성급하다. 또한 ‘공단의 대위권 행사를 어디까지 허용할 것인가’라는 문제는 앞서 본 바와 같이 입법재량이 인정되는 영역인바, 이 사건에서 다투어지고 있는 것도 아닌 근로자파견, 비건설업종에서의 건설기계 임대차 등 사안까지도 미리 상정하여 종전 판례의 법리를 수정하려는 것은 구체적인 해당 사건에서의 권리구제를 목적으로 하는 사법의 본질과 어울리지 않는 측면이 있다.

라. 결론

이상과 같이 이 사건의 결론에 관하여는 다수의견과 입장을 같이하지만 그 이유는 다르므로 별개의견으로 이를 밝혀 둔다.

8. 다수의견에 대한 대법관 노태악의 보충의견

산재보험법 제87조 제1항 본문 중 제3자의 의미를 새롭게 보는 법리의 타당성과 이 사건 단서규정의 해석 및 적용에 관하여 다수의견을 보충하고, 별개의견의 논리적 정합성이나 한계에 대하여 지적하고자 한다.

가. 산재보험법 제87조 제1항 본문 중 제3자의 의미에 관하여

1) 종전 판례는 이 사건 단서규정 중 ‘하나의 사업’을 ‘보험가입자인 둘 이상의 사업주가 각각 같은 사업을 행하되 동일 장소, 동일 위험권 내에서 같은 사업(목적물)의 완성을 위하여 행하는 것’이라고 정의함으로써, 이 사건 단서규정을 적용함에 있어서는 이미 근로자들이 산업현장에서 실제로 노동을 제공하는 과정에서 ‘업무상 재해에 관한 공동의 위험관계’를 형성하였는지에 주목하는 해석론을 펼쳐왔다. 이는 산재보험법 제87조 제1항의 문언에서 ‘위험’이라는 표현이 명시적으로 언급된 바 없음에도, 위 규정의 입법 취지와 산업재해의 본질 등을 감안하여 그 적용 범위를 적절히 파악한 것이다.

그럼에도 종전 판례는 같은 항 본문의 ‘제3자’를 해석·적용함에 있어서는, 위와 같이 산재보험제도가 당연히 전제하고 있는 ‘위험’이라는 요소를 배제한 채 순수하게 ‘보험료 부담관계’만을 기준으로 판단하여, 산재보험법 제87조 제1항 본문과 단서의 판단 기준을 이원화하여 왔다. 비록 판례는 보험료 부담관계의 의미를 ‘보험료를 납부한 사업주가 동일한지’의 문제로 다소 확장하여, 보험료를 부담한 사업주 자신이 소속 근로자에게 가해한 경우뿐만 아니라 동료 근로자 사이, 원수급인이 보험료를 일괄하여 부담하는 경우 원수급인에게 고용된 근로자와 하수급인에게 고용된 근로자 사이, 하수급인과 하수급인 사이에서도 ‘간접적인’ 보험관계가 인정된다고 보았으나, 위와 같이 판단 기준을 나누어 보는 것은 그 자체로 산재보험제도의 목적과 성격에 정확하게 들어맞지 아니한다. 그뿐만 아니라, 건설기계 임대차 및 운전노무 제공 계약이 문제 되는 이 사건과 같은 사안에서 형평에 반하는 결과를 초래하기도 한다. 이러한 사정들을 두루 고려할 때, 산재보험법 제87조 제1항 본문 중 제3자의 의미를 바로잡을 필요가 있음은 다수의견이 상세히 논증한 바와 같다. 다수의견에 따르면, 종전 판례가 간접적인 보험관계를 상정함으로써 해결하였던 위 사안들과 건설기계 임대차 및 운전노무 제공 계약이 문제 되는 사안 등이 ‘사업 또는 사업장에 내재하는 동일한 위험을 공유하였는가’라는 통일적인 기준 아래 해결될 수 있다.

2) 그런데 이 사건처럼 건설기계 임대차 및 운전노무 제공 계약을 둘러싸고 재해가 발생한 사안에서는, 별개의견의 지적과 같이 고용산재보험료징수법상 도급사업 일괄적용 규정을 유추적용하는 것만으로도 다수의견과 같은 결론에 이를 수 있다. 따라서 과연 산재보험법 제87조 제1항 본문의 제3자에 관하여 직간접적인 산재보험관계라는 종래의 판단 기준을 반드시 변경하여야만 하는 것인지 의문이 제기될 수도 있다.

그러나 건설기계 임대차 및 운전노무 제공 계약이 체결된 경우 임대인에게 고용된 운전기사는 임대차기간 동안 임차인인 사업주의 지휘·명령에 따라 운전노무를 제공하게 되어 한시적으로 ‘고용’ 또는 ‘근로자파견’과 유사한 양상이 된다. 특정한 일의 완성보다는 건설기계의 사용이 계약의 주된 목적이고, 운전노무의 제공 부분은 이른바 ‘노무도급’에 해당하는 것으로서 계약의 부수적인 내용에 불과하므로, 민법상 ‘도급’과는 분명히 거리가 있다. 그럼에도 건설기계 임대차 및 운전노무 제공 계약을 건설공사의 특정 부문이나 공정을 도급한 경우와 마찬가지로 취급하여 도급사업 일괄적용 규정을 유추적용함은 무리가 있을 뿐만 아니라, 별개의견의 논리는 공단의 건설기계 임대인 등에 대한 대위권 행사를 허용함이 가혹하다는 결론을 먼저 내놓은 다음 그에 맞는 구체적인 해결 방안을 찾는 방식이므로 법이론적 정합성의 측면에서도 어색하다.

도급사업 일괄적용 규정을 유추적용하는 방법은 ‘비건설업종’의 사업주가 건설기계 임대차 및 운전노무 제공 계약을 체결한 사안에서도 난점을 보인다. 이 사건과 같이 건설사업을 행하는 사업주가 건설기계 임대차 및 운전노무 제공 계약을 체결한 경우에는 해당 건설사업의 일부를 도급한 것과 유사하게 보아 도급사업 일괄적용 규정을 유추적용한다고 하더라도, 예컨대 ‘제조업’을 행하는 사업주가 그러한 계약을 체결한 경우에까지 위 규정을 유추적용하기는 쉽지 않아 보인다. 게다가 별개의견에 따르면 산재보험법 제87조 제1항 본문의 제3자를 ‘직간접적인 산재보험관계’의 유무에 따라 판단하는 종전 판례의 기준은 그대로 유지되므로, 도급사업 일괄적용 규정을 유추적용하는 이상 건설기계 임차인인 사업주가 운전기사에 대한 보험료를 부담하여야 한다. 비건설업종 사업주가 건설기계 임대차 및 운전노무 제공 계약을 체결한 경우에도 도급사업 일괄적용 규정을 유추적용하는 이상 달리 보기는 어렵다. 그런데 고용산재보험료징수법 및 같은 법 시행령이 제정됨에 따라 비건설업종에는 도급사업 일괄적용 규정이 더 이상 적용되지 않게 되었는바, 유독 건설기계 운전기사에 대하여는 그를 고용하지 않는 비건설업종 사업주가 산재보험료를 납입하여야 하는 이례적인 결과를 가져오게 된다.

3) 또한 별개의견의 접근 방식은, 근로자파견관계하에서 사용사업주 소속 근로자와 파견근로자 간에 사고가 발생한 사안, 근로기준법상 근로자 또는 산재보험법령상 노무제공자에 해당하지 않는 개인사업자가 사업주와 노무제공 계약을 체결한 후 노무를 제공하는 과정에서 사업주가 고용한 다른 근로자와의 사이에 사고가 발생한 사안 등을 해결할 수 없다. 이때에는 도급사업 일괄적용 규정을 유추적용할 여지가 없기 때문이다.

가) 근로자파견관계에서 파견근로자들은 파견사업주와의 고용관계를 유지하면서 근로자파견계약의 내용에 따라 사용사업주의 지휘·명령을 받아 사용사업주를 위한 근로에 종사한다[「파견근로자 보호 등에 관한 법률」(이하 ‘파견법’이라 한다) 제2조 제1호]. 이처럼 파견근로자들은 사용사업주의 사업에 편입되어 사용사업주 소속 근로자들과 업무상 재해에 관한 공동의 위험관계하에 업무를 수행하나, 이들과 직간접적인 산재보험관계는 없다. 즉, 종전 판례에 따르면 파견근로자들과 사용사업주 소속 근로자들은 서로 산재보험법 제87조 제1항 본문의 제3자에 해당한다. 또한 파견사업주는 근로자파견사업을 행할 뿐(파견법 제2조 제3호) 그가 사용사업주와 하나의 목적 사업을 분할하여 각각 행한다고 볼 수 없고, 파견근로자가 수행하는 업무는 사용사업주의 사업의 일부를 구성하게 되므로, 이 사건 단서규정도 적용되지 아니한다.

한편 대법원은 공장 신축공사를 시행하는 회사가 자재, 기계류의 운반·하역 작업과 보일러의 제작·설치 작업을 각각 분할하여 도급한 경우(대법원 1994. 10. 11. 선고 94다29225 판결), 시행자가 1개 사업지구의 건설공사를 시행하면서 현지 여건 및 시공의 편리성을 고려하여 수 개의 공구로 분할하여 도급하였는데, 각 공구는 벽으로만 구분되어 있을 경우(대법원 2001. 6. 29. 선고 2001다25788 판결), 이 사건 단서규정의 적용을 긍정하였다. 그런데 이와 같은 분할도급 사안들과 비교하면, 파견근로자들과 사용사업주의 근로자들은 그보다 더욱 유기적으로 연결·결합되어 있고, 직접적으로 협력·지원하는 등 공동작업을 수행하기도 한다. 그럼에도 이들이 상호 간에 제3자에 해당한다고 보아 공단의 대위 행사를 허용하는 것은 파견사업주, 사용사업주와 각 소속 근로자들을 별다른 근거 없이 차별하는 결과를 가져온다.

사용사업주의 근로자가 재해를 입은 경우가 아니라 가해자의 지위에 서게 되는 사안에서 종전 법리가 갖는 한계는 보다 분명해진다. 사용사업주의 지휘·명령에 따라 평소와 같이 근무하는 과정에서 같은 사고를 내더라도, 파견근로자의 존재라는 우연한 사정이 개재됨으로 인하여 사용사업주의 근로자가 부담하는 종국적인 손해배상책임이 전혀 달라질 수 있기 때문이다. 예를 들면, 제조업을 행하는 사용사업주가 운영하는 공장에서 사용사업주 소속 가해근로자의 기계 조작상 과실로 화재가 발생하여 그곳에서 근무하던 사용사업주의 다른 근로자들과 파견근로자들이 함께 재해를 입은 경우, 가해근로자는 파견근로자들의 파견 전부터 동일한 업무를 수행하였고, 오히려 파견 이후에는 파견근로자들로부터 재해를 입을 추가적인 위험을 부담하며 근무하였음에도, 공단이 재해근로자들 중 파견근로자들의 손해배상청구권을 대위함에 따라 예상하거나 대응할 수 없었던 손해배상책임에 노출된다. 이는 형평에 반하는 결과이다.

나) 개인사업자에 대한 보호의 공백이 문제 될 수 있다. 산재보험법 제87조 제1항 본문의 제3자 여부를 보험료 부담관계에 의하여 판단하는 경우, 근로기준법상 근로자에 해당하지 않는 개인사업자로서는 같은 위험관계 속에서 같은 방식으로 근무하더라도, 보험료 부담 관련 법령이나 정책의 변화, 즉 자신에 대한 보험료를 ‘누가’ 납부하느냐에 따라 노무제공에 수반되는 손해배상책임을 종국적으로 부담하여야 하는지가 달라지기 때문이다.

산재보험 관계 법령은 여러 차례 개정을 통하여 특수형태근로종사자 또는 노무제공자의 범위를 줄곧 확대하여 왔고, 그 결과 이들에 대한 보호 문제가 상당 부분 개선되어 온 것은 사실이다. 그런데 이와 같은 입법적 대응은 현대사회의 노무제공 관계 및 방식의 변화를 후속적으로 반영하여 산재보험의 당연가입 범위와 구체적인 보험료 징수 방식을 조정하게 된 것이다. 한편 산재보험법 제87조 제1항 본문의 제3자 범위 설정은 산업재해로 인한 비용을 보험사업을 수행하는 공단에 최종적으로 부담시킬지 아니면 외부의 제3자에게 부담시킬지의 문제로서, 논의의 국면을 달리한다. 플랫폼 노동의 확산을 비롯하여 전통적 법리로 분류할 수 없는 새로운 유형의 노무제공 형태가 계속하여 출현하는 가운데, 산재보험의 제도적 보호 기능이 온전히 발휘되기 위해서는 위 두 가지 문제가 함께 정비되어야 한다는 점에서 다수의견의 문제의식이 출발한다. 지금까지와 달리 노무제공자의 범위가 오히려 줄어들어 보험료 부담관계가 축소되는 상황을 가정하여 보면, 위 두 가지 문제를 구별하지 못한 탓에 ‘노무제공의 실질’을 고려하지 않고서 공단의 대위권 행사 범위를 다시 확대하는 것은 타당하다고 보기 어렵다.

4) 또한 별개의견에 따르면, 다수의견이 공단의 대위 문제를 산재보험관계로부터 절연한 결과 가해자의 소속 사업주가 산재보험에 가입하였는지를 묻지 않고 공단의 대위 여부를 결정하게 되어 부당하다는 것이다. 그러나 이러한 문제는 산재보험제도 및 정책의 정비를 통해 해결될 수 있는 부수적인 것으로 보인다. 실제로 고용산재보험료징수법 제5조 제3항, 산재보험법 제6조에 따라 산재보험 적용제외사업을 열거하고 있는 산재보험법 시행령 제2조 제1항은 종래 일정한 사업분야에서 상시근로자 수가 1명 미만인 사업을 산재보험의 당연적용 대상에서 제외하였으나(제5호), 2017. 12. 26. 대통령령 제28506호로 개정되면서 영세 사업장에 대한 사회안전망 강화 차원에서 위 제외 규정이 삭제되었고, 이에 따라 건설기계 임대사업을 비롯해 근로자를 사용하는 모든 사업은 원칙적으로 산재보험 당연적용사업이 되었다.

다수의견은 노무관계 당사자 간에 체결되는 계약의 형식이나 보험료 납부관계에 구애받지 않고 산재보험제도의 본질과 산업현장에서 이루어지는 노무제공의 실질을 고려하여, 재해근로자와 같은 사업주의 지휘·명령 아래 그 사업주의 업무를 수행함으로써 업무상 재해에 관한 위험을 공유한 가해자는 제3자로 보지 아니함이 타당하다는 취지이다. 그럼에도 가해자와 재해근로자가 실제 업무를 수행하는 과정에서 부담하는 위험과 무관한 보험관계의 형식에 얽매인 별개의견의 이 부분 지적은, 결국 다수의견에 대한 의미 있는 비판이라고 보기 어렵다.

5) 종전 판례가 산재보험법 제87조 제1항 본문 및 단서의 판단 기준을 이원화함으로 인하여 발생한 규율의 공백을 해소하기 위하여, 본문의 제3자는 산재보험관계에 따라 판단하는 종래의 기준을 그대로 유지하되 단서의 적용 범위만 확장하는 방법도 고려해 볼 수는 있다. 건설기계 임대차 및 운전노무 제공 계약을 둘러싸고 사고가 발생한 경우를 예로 들면, 건설기계 임대인 등은 재해근로자와 직간접적인 산재보험관계가 없으므로 제3자에는 해당한다고 보면서, 종전 판례의 견해와 달리 이 사건 단서규정을 적용하여 공단의 대위권 행사를 허용하지 않는 방안이다.

그러나 이는 문언적 해석의 한계를 벗어나는 해석이다. 앞서 살펴본 건설기계 임대차 및 운전노무 제공 계약이 체결된 사안과 근로자파견 사안에서 둘 이상의 사업주가 하나의 사업을 ‘분할하여 각각 행한다.’고는 볼 수 없기 때문이다. 건설기계 임차인의 건설사업과 임대인의 건설기계 임대사업이 하나의 사업을 분할하여 행하는 것이라고 볼 수 없고, 임대인이 고용한 운전기사가 건설현장에서 임차인의 지휘·명령에 따라 건설기계 작업을 수행하는 부분은 건설사업의 일부를 구성할 뿐, 임대인과 임차인이 하나의 사업을 분할하여 각각 행하는 경우에 해당한다고 보기는 어렵다.

또한 이 사건 단서규정은 둘 이상의 사업주가 하나의 사업을 분할하여 각각 행할 때에만 적용된다는 점을 유념하여야 한다. 즉, 산재보험 관계 법령상 노무제공자에 해당하지 않는 개인사업자가 중소기업 사업주로 보험가입을 하지 아니한 채 사업주에게 노무를 제공하는 과정에서 업무상 재해가 발생한 경우에는 위 단서규정이 적용될 수 없다. 처음부터 위 단서규정이 적용될 여지가 없는 개인사업자에 대한 보호 문제는 위 단서규정의 적용 범위를 넓힌다고 하여 해결되지 않는다.

6) 위와 같은 제반 사정들을 고려하면, 산재보험법 제87조 제1항 본문의 제3자 판단 기준을 재정립하고자 하는 다수의견의 논지는 타당하다.

나. 이 사건 단서규정의 해석 및 적용에 관하여

1) ‘사업 또는 사업장에 내재하는 위험이 공유 및 발현되었는가’라는 단일한 기준에 의하여 공단의 대위권 행사 범위를 정하는 다수의견의 입장에서는, 업무상 재해에 관한 ‘위험’의 의미를 명확히 하여야 할 필요성이 크다.

2) 판례가 종전부터 이 사건 단서규정이 말하는 ‘하나의 사업’을 ‘보험가입자인 둘 이상의 사업주가 각각 같은 사업을 행하되 동일 장소, 동일 위험권 내에서 같은 사업(목적물)의 완성을 위하여 행하는 것’이라고 해석하여, 공단의 대위권 문제를 판단함에 있어 ‘동일 위험권’ 내에서 작업이 이루어졌는지를 고려하여 왔음은 앞서 본 바와 같다. 이때 ‘동일 위험권’에 해당하는지는 당사자의 주장·증명에 기초하여 구체적인 사안마다 개별적으로 판단하여야 할 문제이나, 지금까지 이를 구체화한 판례가 충분히 축적된 것으로는 보이지 않는다.

한편 보험사업을 수행하는 공단은 2자 간 도급관계에서 이 사건 단서규정을 비교적 폭넓게 적용하는 내용의 업무지침을 마련하는 등 산재보험을 실제 운용함에 있어 나름대로 구체적 타당성을 도모하여 왔던 것으로 보인다. 대법원이 오래전 판례의 소극적인 입장에 머무르며 계속하여 ‘위험’의 의미를 구체화하지 않는다면, 결국 공단의 업무지침, 공단의 실제 실무례와 이에 대한 하급심판결 사이의 간극은 점차 커지게 된다.

3) 따라서 산재보험법 제87조 제1항 본문과 단서의 판단 기준을 일원화하는 기회에, ‘위험’ 또는 ‘위험 공유’의 의미를 가급적 구체화함으로써 본문과 단서의 적용 범위를 함께 조율함이 바람직하다. 대체로 다음과 같은 기준을 제시할 수 있다.

가) ‘하나의 사업’을 분할하여 행한다는 것에는 ‘주된 사업’ 그 자체를 일부 분할하여 행하는 경우뿐만 아니라, 준비·지원 작업 등과 같이 주된 사업의 목적을 완성하기 위해 ‘부수적으로 필요한 업무’를 도급하여 수행하는 것도 포함된다고 봄이 타당하다. 다만 당초의 주된 사업과 도급된 부수적 사업들 상호 간의 유기적 관련성, 각 사업의 구체적인 업무 목적·내용 및 방식과 그에 수반되는 위험의 성질과 태양, 각 사업주 사이의 계약 또는 협의 내용 등을 고려할 때, 가해자와 재해근로자가 업무를 수행함으로써 해당 사업 또는 사업장에 내재하는 위험을 공유하였고, 그 위험이 발현되어 업무상 재해가 발생한 경우에 한하여 이 사건 단서규정을 적용할 수 있다.

나) 예를 들어, ① 하나의 시행자가 1개 사업지구의 건설공사를 시행하면서 현지 여건 및 시공의 편리성을 고려하여 수 개의 공구로 분할하여 도급한 경우와 같이 주된 사업 자체를 분할하는 경우뿐만 아니라, ② 기계설비 수리업체의 근로자가 제조업체를 방문하여 계약에 따른 수리 업무를 수행한 경우와 같이 서로의 이익을 위한 계약·협의 등에 따른 부수적인 업무를 수행하던 중 근로자의 행위로 재해가 발생한 경우, ③ 제조업체가 사업장 내의 재료 운반 등의 부수적 업무들을 여러 업체에 각각 도급하였고 각 수급업체의 근로자가 제조업체의 사업장 내에서 서로 혼재하여 동일·유사한 재료 운반 작업을 행하는 경우와 같이 주된 사업의 달성을 위하여 협력하는 관계에 있다면 이 사건 단서규정이 적용되어, 공단은 재해근로자의 손해배상청구권을 대위할 수 없다고 보아야 한다.

다) 반면 ① 인접한 장소에서 공사를 시행하였다 하더라도, 서로 다른 발주자가 시행한 별개의 아파트 공사를 시행하였거나, ② 같은 발주자라 하더라도 공사현장 및 공기 등이 상당 부분 다르고 그 도급 목적물도 전혀 별개인 경우와 같이 주된 사업 자체를 달리한 경우, ③ 제조업체가 사업장 내의 부수적 업무들을 여러 업체에 각각 도급하였더라도, 각 업무 목적·내용 및 방식 등이 상이하고 서로 혼재하여 작업하는 것도 예정되지 않는 경우와 같이 각 사업 간 유기적 관련성이 부족하고 서로 협력관계에 있다고 볼 수도 없는 경우, ④ 기계설비 수리업체 직원이 단순히 영업활동을 위하여 제조업체를 방문한 경우와 같이 서로의 이익을 위한 계약·협의 등에 따른 업무를 수행하였다고 볼 수 없는 경우에는 해당 사업 또는 사업장에 내재하는 위험을 공유하였다고 볼 수 없으므로, 이 사건 단서규정은 적용되지 않는다고 봄이 타당하다.

이 사건 단서규정은 ‘근로자의 행위로’ 발생한 재해에 대해서만 공단의 대위권 행사를 배제하고 있으므로, 사업장 내 시설물 하자 등으로 인해 재해가 발생한 때와 같이 사용자의 귀책사유로 재해가 발생한 경우에는 대위권 행사가 제한되지 않음은 당연하다.

다. 이상과 같이 다수의견에 대한 보충의견을 밝힌다.

대법원장 조희대(재판장) 노태악(주심) 이흥구 오경미 오석준 서경환 권영준 엄상필 신숙희 노경필 박영재 이숙연 마용주

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2006다60793 · 대법원 2007-01-25
Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)
#2
2006다32910 · 대법원 2008-04-10
Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)
#3
2014다204666 · 대법원 2016-05-26
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
#4
2008다12408 · 대법원 2011-07-28
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
#5
2004가단42443 · 서울남부지방법원 2005-08-16
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)