Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 2006다60793

Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)구상금

Decided2007. 01. 25. Court대법원Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service partially won (reimbursement allowed only against the insurance company, not the co-worker)
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

This case involved the Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service (근로복지공단), which had paid workers' compensation insurance benefits to a worker injured in a traffic accident caused by a co-worker, seeking reimbursement from both the co-worker (the party at fault) and the co-worker's auto insurance company. The Supreme Court ruled that the co-worker could not be treated as a 'third party (제3자)' under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, but the auto insurance company could be, allowing reimbursement only from the insurer. As a result, the Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service was entitled to recover KRW 32,327,270 solely from the insurance company.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA worker injured by a co-worker's traffic accident received industrial accident insurance benefits, and the Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service sought reimbursement from both the co-worker and the co-worker's auto insurer.
  • OutcomeThe Court denied reimbursement from the co-worker (not a 'third party') but allowed it from the auto insurance company, which was liable as a separate third party.
  • LessonWhen workers' compensation benefits are paid due to an accident caused by a co-worker, reimbursement claims are only viable against genuinely independent third parties, such as insurance companies, not fellow employees covered under the same insurance relationship.
Issues
  • Whether a co-worker qualifies as a 'third party' under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act
  • The criteria for determining employee status under the Labor Standards Act
  • Whether a liability insurer qualifies as a 'third party' under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act
Key reasoning

A co-worker employed by the same employer is not considered a 'third party' under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) because they are indirectly connected to the same industrial accident insurance relationship as the injured worker. However, an auto insurance company bears its own direct liability for damages separate from the at-fault co-worker, and therefore qualifies as a 'third party' against whom reimbursement can be sought. The Court also clarified that whether someone qualifies as an 'employee (근로자)' under the Labor Standards Act should be determined by substantively examining factors such as the degree of subordination and whether wages were paid, rather than relying solely on the formal type of contract.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

[1] The term “third party” under the main text of Article 54 (Right to Indemnity against Third Party), Paragraph 1 of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) refers to a person who has no industrial accident compensation insurance relationship with the injured worker and who is liable to the injured worker for damages arising from a tort or other cause. However, where a worker suffers a work-related accident due to the act of a fellow worker employed by the same employer, such fellow worker, together with the employer who is the insured policyholder, is a person who directly or indirectly has an industrial accident compensation insurance relationship with the injured worker, and is therefore excluded from the above “third party.”

[2] In determining whether a person constitutes a worker under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법), regardless of whether the form of the contract is an employment contract or a service (contractor) contract under the Civil Act, the determination must be made based on the substance of the relationship — that is, whether the worker provided labor to the employer in a subordinate relationship for the purpose of receiving wages within a business or workplace. In determining whether such a subordinate relationship exists, the following factors must be comprehensively considered: whether the content of the work was determined by the employer and was subject to work rules or service (personnel) regulations, and whether the worker was subject to specific and individual direction and supervision by the employer in the course of performing the work; whether the working hours and place of work were designated by the employer and whether the worker was bound thereby; whether there was substitutability of work, such as the worker himself hiring a third party to perform the work on his behalf; the ownership relationship regarding equipment, raw materials, and work tools; matters concerning remuneration, such as whether the nature of the remuneration was compensation for the labor itself, whether a basic or fixed wage was set, and whether income tax was withheld at source; the continuity of the labor-provision relationship and the existence and degree of exclusive affiliation with the employer; whether the worker’s status as a worker is recognized under other statutes, such as those concerning the social security system; and the social and economic conditions of both parties.

[3] The term “third party” prescribed in the main text of Article 54, Paragraph 1 of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) refers to a person, excluding the insurer, the insured policyholder (employer), and the relevant beneficiary, who has no industrial accident compensation insurance relationship with the injured worker and who is liable to the injured worker for damages based on tort liability or on the provisions of the Guarantee of Automobile Accident Compensation Act (자동차손해배상 보장법), the Civil Act, or the State Compensation Act (국가배상법). Furthermore, where liability for damages under Article 3 of the Guarantee of Automobile Accident Compensation Act arises against the person who caused a traffic accident, the direct claim right against the liability insurer recognized to the victim under Article 9 of the Guarantee of Automobile Accident Compensation Act and Article 724, Paragraph 2 of the Commercial Act (상법) is a right to claim damages that the victim holds against the liability insurer, which is separate from the right to claim damages against the person who caused the accident. Therefore, the liability insurer who bears direct liability for damages to the victim under Article 9, Paragraph 1 of the Guarantee of Automobile Accident Compensation Act and Article 724, Paragraph 2 of the Commercial Act is included in the “third party,” regardless of whether the person who caused the traffic accident falls under the “third party” as defined in the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act.

Full text (English, AI translation) 9,690 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellee and Appellant] Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service
[Defendant, Appellee] Defendant 1 (Attorney: Saeshidae Law Firm, Attorney in charge Hong Jin-won)
[Defendant, Appellant and Appellee] Heungkuk Ssangyong Fire & Marine Insurance Co., Ltd. (Attorney: Saeshidae Law Firm, Attorney in charge Hong Jin-won)
[Judgment Below] Seoul Southern District Court Judgment 2005Na7288 decided August 10, 2006

[Order]

All appeals are dismissed. Each party shall bear its own costs of appeal.

[Reasoning]

We examine each ground of appeal.

1. As to the Plaintiff's first ground of appeal

The main text of Article 54 (Right of Subrogation Against Third Party), Paragraph 1 of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법, hereinafter the "Industrial Accident Act") provides that "where the Service has paid insurance benefits due to an accident caused by the act of a third party, it shall be subrogated to the right to claim damages against the third party held by the person who received the benefits, within the limit of the amount of such benefits." Here, "third party" refers to a person who has no industrial accident compensation insurance relationship with the injured worker and who is liable to the injured worker for damages arising from a tort or otherwise. However, where a worker suffers an occupational accident caused by the act of a fellow worker employed by the same employer, such fellow worker, being a person who directly or indirectly has an industrial accident compensation insurance relationship with the injured worker together with the employer who is the insured, is properly excluded from the above "third party" (see, e.g., Supreme Court Decision 2003Da33691 decided December 24, 2004).

Meanwhile, in determining whether a person constitutes a worker under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법), regardless of whether the form of the contract is an employment contract or a service contract under the Civil Act (민법), the determination must be made based on whether, in substance, the worker provided labor to the employer in a subordinate relationship for the purpose of wages in a business or workplace. In determining whether such a subordinate relationship exists, comprehensive consideration must be given to: whether the content of the work is determined by the employer and is subject to work rules or service (personnel) regulations, and whether the worker is subject to specific and individual direction and supervision by the employer in the course of performing the work; whether the working hours and place of work are designated by and binding upon the worker; whether there is substitutability of work, such as the worker himself/herself hiring a third party to perform the work on his/her behalf; the ownership of equipment, raw materials, and work tools; matters relating to remuneration, including whether the nature of the remuneration is compensation for the labor itself, whether a basic or fixed wage is set, and whether income tax is withheld at source; the continuity of the labor-providing relationship and the existence and degree of exclusive affiliation with the employer; whether the worker's status is recognized under other statutes such as those relating to the social security system; and the social and economic conditions of both parties (see, e.g., Supreme Court Decision 2005Da50034 decided November 10, 2005).

The Plaintiff asserted that this accident occurred due to the negligence of Defendant 1, and that the Plaintiff, pursuant to Article 54, Paragraph 1 of the Industrial Accident Act, could subrogate to the rights to claim damages against Defendant 1 held by Nonparty 1 and Nonparty 2 within the limit of each amount of insurance benefits paid, and accordingly sought payment of each such amount of insurance benefits from Defendant 1. The court below, citing the reasoning of the first instance judgment, premised its decision on the same legal principles as above, and, based on the evidence it adopted, found the facts as stated in its reasoning. As to whether Defendant 1, as a sales employee of the ○○ branch office under the Gyeonggi headquarters of Case Co., Ltd., a study-aid sales company, held the status of a worker, the court below determined that, even if some circumstances relating to working conditions among the various indicia of worker status were lacking, taken as a whole, Defendant 1 provided labor to the company in a subordinate relationship for the purpose of wages in a business or workplace, and therefore Defendant 1, as a fellow worker of Nonparty 1 and Nonparty 2, who were injured workers employed by the same company, did not fall under the "third party" as defined in the Industrial Accident Act. This determination by the court below is justified, and there is no error of misapprehension of legal principles or misapprehension of facts due to violation of the rules of evidence that affected the outcome of the judgment, as alleged in the grounds of appeal.

2. As to the first ground of appeal of Defendant Heungkuk Ssangyong Fire & Marine Insurance Co., Ltd.

As noted above, "third party" as provided in the main text of Article 54, Paragraph 1 of the Industrial Accident Act refers to a person, other than the insurer, the insured (employer), and the relevant beneficiary, who has no industrial accident compensation insurance relationship with the injured worker and who is liable to the injured worker for damages under tort liability or under the provisions of the Guarantee of Automobile Accident Compensation Act (자동차손해배상 보장법, hereinafter the "Automobile Compensation Act"), the Civil Act (민법), or the State Compensation Act (국가배상법). Furthermore, where liability for damages arises against the perpetrator of a traffic accident pursuant to Article 3 of the Automobile Compensation Act, the direct claim right against the liability insurer recognized to the victim pursuant to Article 9 of the Automobile Compensation Act and Article 724, Paragraph 2 of the Commercial Act (상법) is a right to claim damages held by the victim against the liability insurer, which is separate from the right to claim damages against the perpetrator. Therefore, it is proper to view that a liability insurer who is directly liable for damages to the victim pursuant to Article 9, Paragraph 1 of the Automobile Compensation Act and Article 724, Paragraph 2 of the Commercial Act is included within the scope of "third party," regardless of whether the perpetrator of the traffic accident falls under "third party" under the Industrial Accident Act.

The court below, premising its decision on the same legal principles, determined that the Plaintiff, who paid insurance benefits under the Industrial Accident Act, may exercise its right of subrogation against Defendant Heungkuk Ssangyong Fire & Marine Insurance Co., Ltd. (hereinafter "Defendant Company"), the party obligated to pay liability insurance proceeds under the Automobile Compensation Act, within the limit of such liability insurance proceeds. This determination is justified, and there is no error of misapprehension of legal principles that affected the outcome of the judgment, as alleged in the grounds of appeal.

3. As to the Plaintiff's second ground of appeal

Upon examination of the record in light of the evidence adopted by the court below, the court below's determination, for the reasons stated in its judgment, that the Plaintiff, by subrogating to the direct claim rights against Defendant Company held by Nonparty 1 and Nonparty 2, may claim reimbursement of KRW 32,327,270 (= KRW 13,399,020 + KRW 11,010,960 + KRW 7,917,290) from Defendant Company, is also justified, and there is no error of misapprehension of legal principles, violation of the rules of evidence, or misapprehension of facts due to incomplete deliberation that affected the outcome of the judgment, as alleged in the grounds of appeal.

4. As to Defendant Company's second ground of appeal

Upon examination of the record, as to Defendant Company's assertion that the direct claim right under the Automobile Compensation Act has an extinctive prescription period of two years, and that this action was filed more than two years after the date of this accident, such that the direct claim right had been extinguished by prescription, the court below found, based on the evidence stated in its judgment, that the Plaintiff sent a notice to Defendant Company on December 31, 2003, demanding payment of the reimbursement amount, and that such notice reached Defendant Company around that time, and it is clear from the calendar that this action was filed before six months had elapsed from that date. Accordingly, the court below's determination that the extinctive prescription of the Plaintiff's claim against Defendant Company was interrupted by the demand of December 31, 2003 and this action filed within six months thereof is justified, and there is no error of misapprehension of legal principles, violation of the rules of evidence, or misapprehension of facts due to incomplete deliberation that affected the outcome of the judgment, as alleged in the grounds of appeal.

Supreme Court Decision 97Da31281 decided November 25, 1997, cited by Defendant Company as a ground of appeal, involves a different case from the present case and is not appropriate to rely upon.

5. Conclusion

Therefore, all appeals are dismissed, and the costs of appeal are to be borne by each losing party. This judgment is rendered by the unanimous consent of the Justices participating in the decision, as stated in the Order.

Justice Ahn Dae-hee (Presiding Justice), Kim Young-ran, Kim Hwang-sik (Justice in charge), Lee Hong-hoon

【판결요지】

[1] 산업재해보상보험법 제54조(제3자에 대한 구상권) 제1항 본문에서의 ‘제3자’라 함은 피재(被災) 근로자와 산업재해보상보험관계가 없는 자로서 피재 근로자에 대하여 불법행위 등으로 인한 손해배상책임을 지는 자를 말하나, 근로자가 동일한 사업주에 의하여 고용된 동료 근로자의 행위로 인하여 업무상 재해를 입은 경우에 그 동료 근로자는 보험가입자인 사업주와 함께 직·간접적으로 재해근로자와 산업재해보상보험관계를 가지는 자로서 위 ‘제3자’에서 제외된다.

[2] 근로기준법상의 근로자에 해당하는지 여부를 판단함에는 그 계약의 형식이 민법상의 고용계약인지 또는 도급계약인지에 관계없이 그 실질면에서 근로자가 사업 또는 사업장에 임금을 목적으로 종속적인 관계에서 사용자에게 근로를 제공하였는지 여부에 따라 판단하여야 하고, 그러한 종속적인 관계가 있는지 여부를 판단함에는 업무의 내용이 사용자에 의하여 정하여지고 취업규칙 또는 복무(인사)규정 등의 적용을 받으며 업무수행과정에서도 사용자로부터 구체적, 개별적인 지휘·감독을 받는지 여부, 사용자에 의하여 근무시간과 근무장소가 지정되고 이에 구속을 받는지 여부, 근로자 스스로가 제3자를 고용하여 업무를 대행케 하는 등 업무의 대체성 유무, 비품·원자재·작업도구 등의 소유관계, 보수의 성격이 근로 자체에 대한 대상적 성격이 있는지 여부와 기본급이나 고정급이 정하여져 있는지 여부 및 근로소득세의 원천징수 여부 등 보수에 관한 사항, 근로제공관계의 계속성과 사용자에의 전속성의 유무와 정도, 사회보장제도에 관한 법령 등 다른 법령에 의하여 근로자의 지위를 인정받는지 여부, 양 당사자의 사회·경제적 조건 등을 종합적으로 고려하여 판단하여야 한다.

[3] 산업재해보상보험법 제54조 제1항 본문에 규정된 제3자라 함은 보험자, 보험가입자(사업주) 및 해당 수급권자를 제외한 자로서 피해 근로자와 산업재해보상보험관계가 없는 자로 피해 근로자에 대하여 불법행위책임 내지 자동차손해배상 보장법이나 민법 또는 국가배상법의 규정에 의한 손해배상책임을 지는 자를 말한다. 나아가 교통사고의 가해자에 대하여 자동차손해배상 보장법 제3조에 의한 손해배상책임이 발생한 경우, 자동차손해배상 보장법 제9조 및 상법 제724조 제2항에 의하여 피해자에게 인정되는 책임보험자에 대한 직접청구권은 피해자가 책임보험자에 대하여 가지는 손해배상청구권으로서 가해자에 대한 손해배상청구권과는 별개의 권리라 할 것이므로, 자동차손해배상 보장법 제9조 제1항 및 상법 제724조 제2항에 의하여 피해자에 대하여 직접 손해배상책임을 지는 책임보험자는 교통사고의 가해자가 산업재해보상보험법상 제3자에 해당되는지 여부와 상관없이 제3자에 포함된다.

【참조조문】

[1] 산업재해보상보험법 제54조 제1항

[2] 근로기준법 제14조

[3] 산업재해보상보험법 제54조 제1항, 자동차손해배상 보장법 제3조, 제9조 제1항, 상법 제724조 제2항

【참조판례】

[1][3] 대법원 2003. 12. 26. 선고 2003다13307 판결(공2004상, 221) / [1] 대법원 1986. 4. 8. 선고 85다카2429 판결(공1986, 759), 대법원 1988. 3. 8. 선고 85다카2285 판결(공1988, 650), 대법원 2004. 12. 24. 선고 2003다33691 판결(공2005상, 189) / [2] 대법원 2005. 5. 27. 선고 2005두524 판결(공2005하, 1060), 대법원 2005. 11. 10. 선고 2005다50034 판결(공2005하, 1969), 대법원 2006. 12. 7. 선고 2004다29736 판결(공2007상, 104)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 3,567자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 피상고인 겸 상고인】 근로복지공단

【피고, 피상고인】 피고 1 (소송대리인 법무법인 새시대 담당변호사 홍진원)

【피고, 상고인 겸 피상고인】 흥국쌍용화재해상보험 주식회사(소송대리인 법무법인 새시대 담당변호사 홍진원)

【원심판결】 서울남부지법 2006. 8. 10. 선고 2005나7288 판결

【주 문】

상고를 모두 기각한다. 상고비용은 각자가 부담한다.

【이 유】각 상고이유를 본다.

1. 원고의 상고이유 제1점에 대한 판단

산업재해보상보험법(이하 ‘산재법’이라고 한다) 제54조(제3자에 대한 구상권) 제1항 본문은 "공단은 제3자의 행위에 의한 재해로 인하여 보험급여를 지급한 경우에는 그 급여액의 한도 안에서 급여를 받은 자의 제3자에 대한 손해배상청구권을 대위한다."고 규정하고 있다. 여기서 ‘제3자’라 함은 피재(被災) 근로자와 산업재해보상보험관계가 없는 자로서 피재 근로자에 대하여 불법행위 등으로 인한 손해배상책임을 지는 자를 말하나, 근로자가 동일한 사업주에 의하여 고용된 동료 근로자의 행위로 인하여 업무상의 재해를 입은 경우에 그 동료 근로자는 보험가입자인 사업주와 함께 직·간접적으로 재해근로자와 산업재해보상보험관계를 가지는 자로서 위 ‘제3자’에서 제외된다고 봄이 상당하다(대법원 2004. 12. 24. 선고 2003다33691 판결 등 참조).

한편, 근로기준법상의 근로자에 해당하는지 여부를 판단함에는 그 계약의 형식이 민법상의 고용계약인지 또는 도급계약인지에 관계없이 그 실질면에서 근로자가 사업 또는 사업장에 임금을 목적으로 종속적인 관계에서 사용자에게 근로를 제공하였는지 여부에 따라 판단하여야 하고, 그러한 종속적인 관계가 있는지 여부를 판단함에는 업무의 내용이 사용자에 의하여 정하여지고 취업규칙 또는 복무(인사)규정 등의 적용을 받으며 업무수행과정에서도 사용자로부터 구체적 개별적인 지휘·감독을 받는지 여부, 사용자에 의하여 근무시간과 근무장소가 지정되고 이에 구속을 받는지 여부, 근로자 스스로가 제3자를 고용하여 업무를 대행케 하는 등 업무의 대체성 유무, 비품·원자재·작업도구 등의 소유관계, 보수의 성격이 근로 자체에 대한 대상적 성격이 있는지 여부와 기본급이나 고정급이 정하여져 있는지 여부 및 근로소득세의 원천징수 여부 등 보수에 관한 사항, 근로제공관계의 계속성과 사용자에의 전속성의 유무와 정도, 사회보장제도에 관한 법령 등 다른 법령에 의하여 근로자의 지위를 인정받는지 여부, 양 당사자의 사회·경제적 조건 등을 종합적으로 고려하여 판단하여야 한다(대법원 2005. 11. 10. 선고 2005다50034 판결 등 참조).

원심이, 원고가 이 사건 사고는 피고 1의 과실로 인하여 발생하였으므로 원고가 산재법 제54조 제1항에 따라 그 각 보험급여액 한도 안에서 소외 1, 소외 2의 피고 1에 대한 손해배상청구권을 대위할 수 있다고 주장하면서, 피고 1에 대하여 그 각 보험급여액의 지급을 구한 데 대하여, 제1심판결의 이유를 인용하여 같은 법리를 전제로 한 다음, 그 채택 증거에 의하여 그 판시와 같은 사실들을 인정한 뒤, 피고 1이 학습지 판매업체인 주식회사 케이스의 경기본부 산하 ○○지사의 영업사원으로서 근로자의 지위에 있었는지 여부에 관하여, 근로자에 관한 여러 징표 중 근로조건 등에 관한 일부 사정이 결여되었다고 하더라도, 전체적으로 보아 피고 1은 사업 또는 사업장에 임금을 목적으로 종속적 관계에서 그 회사에 근로를 제공하였다고 봄이 상당하고, 따라서 피고 1은 그 회사 소속 피재 근로자들인 소외 1, 소외 2의 동료근로자로서 산재법에서 규정한 ‘제3자’에는 해당하지 아니한다고 판단한 것은 정당하고, 거기에 상고이유의 주장과 같이 판결 결과에 영향을 미친 법리오해나 채증법칙 위배에 의한 사실오인 등의 위법이 있다고 할 수 없다.

2. 피고 흥국쌍용화재해상보험 주식회사의 상고이유 제1점에 대한 판단

앞서 본 바와 같이 산재법 제54조 제1항 본문에 규정된 제3자라 함은 보험자, 보험가입자(사업주) 및 해당 수급권자를 제외한 자로서 피해 근로자와 산업재해보상보험관계가 없는 자로 피재 근로자에 대하여 불법행위책임 내지 자동차손해배상 보장법(이하 ‘자배법’이라고 한다)이나 민법 또는 국가배상법의 규정에 의한 손해배상책임을 지는 자를 말한다. 나아가 교통사고의 가해자에 대하여 자배법 제3조에 의한 손해배상책임이 발생한 경우, 자배법 제9조 및 상법 제724조 제2항에 의하여 피해자에게 인정되는 책임보험자에 대한 직접청구권은 피해자가 책임보험자에 대하여 가지는 손해배상청구권으로서 가해자에 대한 손해배상청구권과는 별개의 권리라 할 것이므로, 자배법 제9조 제1항 및 상법 제724조 제2항에 의하여 피해자에 대하여 직접 손해배상책임을 지는 책임보험자는 교통사고의 가해자가 산재법상 제3자에 해당되는지 여부와 상관없이 제3자에 포함된다고 봄이 상당하다.

원심이 같은 법리를 전제로 하여 이 사건에 있어서 산재법에 따른 보험급여를 지급한 원고는 자배법에 따른 책임보험금 지급 의무자인 피고 흥국쌍용화재해상보험 주식회사(이하 ‘피고 회사’라고 한다)에 대하여 그 책임보험금 지급 한도 내에서 구상권을 행사할 수 있다고 판단한 것은 정당하고, 거기에 상고이유의 주장과 같이 판결 결과에 영향을 미친 법리오해 등의 위법이 있다고 할 수 없다.

3. 원고의 상고이유 제2점에 대한 판단

원심이 채택한 증거들을 기록에 비추어 살펴보면, 원심이 그 판시와 같은 이유로 원고는, 소외 1과 소외 2의 피고 회사에 대한 책임보험금 직접청구권을 대위취득함으로써, 피고 회사에게 32,327,270원(= 13,399,020원 + 11,010,960원 + 7,917,290원)을 구상할 수 있다고 판단한 것도 정당하고, 거기에 상고이유의 주장과 같이 판결 결과에 영향을 미친 법리오해, 채증법칙 위배나 심리미진에 의한 사실오인 등의 위법이 있다고 할 수 없다.

4. 피고 회사의 상고이유 제2점에 대한 판단

기록에 비추어 살펴보면, 원심이 피고 회사가, 자배법상 직접청구권은 그 소멸시효기간이 2년인데, 이 사건 소는 이 사건 사고일로부터 2년이 경과된 후에 제기되었으므로, 직접청구권이 시효로 소멸하였다고 주장한 데 대하여, 그 판시 증거에 의하면 원고는 피고 회사를 상대로 2003. 12. 31. 자로 구상금을 납부하라는 내용의 통지를 하여 위 통지가 그 무렵 피고 회사에게 도달한 사실을 인정할 수 있고, 이 사건 소가 그로부터 6개월이 경과하지 아니한 시점에 제기되었음은 역수상 명백하므로, 원고의 피고 회사에 대한 채권은 위 2003. 12. 31. 자 최고와 그로부터 6개월 이내에 제기된 이 사건 소에 의하여 그 소멸시효가 중단되었다고 판단한 것은 정당하고, 거기에 상고이유의 주장과 같이 판결 결과에 영향을 미친 법리오해, 채증법칙 위배 또는 심리미진에 의한 사실오인 등의 위법이 있다고 할 수 없다.

피고 회사가 상고이유로 들고 있는 대법원 1997. 11. 25. 선고 97다31281 판결 등은 이 사건과 사안을 달리하여 원용하기에 적절하지 않다.

5. 결 론

그러므로 상고를 모두 기각하고, 상고비용은 각 패소자들이 부담하기로 하여 관여 대법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 안대희(재판장) 김영란 김황식(주심) 이홍훈

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2005나7288 · 서울남부지방법원 2006-08-10
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
#2
2004나16792 · 부산고등법원 2005-04-28
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
#3
2016다271455 · 대법원 2020-07-23
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
#4
2003다33691 · 대법원 2004-12-24
Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)
#5
2014다219415 · 대법원 2014-11-13
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)

Cases citing this decision

2014다219415 · 대법원 2014-11-13
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
2012다119092 · 대법원 2013-12-26
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
2013다27336 · 대법원 2013-07-12
Retirement Pay
2012다77006 · 대법원 2012-12-13
Severance Pay (퇴직금) Case
2006다27093 · 대법원 2008-05-15
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)