Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 2003다33691

Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)구상금

Decided2004. 12. 24. Court대법원Worker (the co-worker who caused the injury) won; the Supreme Court denied the Service's reimbursement claim.
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

A co-worker accidentally caused burn injuries to another employee while performing work duties. After the Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service (근로복지공단) paid industrial accident compensation benefits to the injured worker, it sought reimbursement from the co-worker who caused the injury. The Supreme Court ruled that a co-worker employed by the same employer does not qualify as a 'third party (제3자)' subject to such reimbursement claims, holding that the Service must ultimately bear the compensation responsibility.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA worker suffered burn injuries due to a co-worker's mistake while performing work duties.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court held that a co-worker under the same employer is not a 'third party' subject to reimbursement claims by the insurance service.
  • LessonInjuries caused by co-workers in the course of work are treated as inherent occupational risks covered by industrial accident insurance, not as grounds for third-party liability claims against the co-worker.
Issues
  • The scope of 'third party (제3자)' against whom the Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service may exercise a right of reimbursement under Article 54(1) of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법)
  • Whether a co-worker employed by the same employer qualifies as such a 'third party'
Key reasoning

Under Article 54(1) of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법), the Service may seek reimbursement from a 'third party' who caused an industrial accident. However, a co-worker employed by the same employer is not an outside party but someone who shares the same industrial accident insurance relationship as the injured worker. The Court reasoned that injuries caused by a fellow employee's mistake in the course of work should be regarded as an inherent risk of the workplace itself, comparable to dangers posed by machinery or equipment on site. Since both workers are covered under the same employer's insurance relationship, the co-worker cannot be classified as a 'third party' against whom reimbursement may be sought. Therefore, the ultimate financial responsibility rests with the insurance system, not with the individual co-worker.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

[1] The term "third party" against whom the right of indemnity under Article 54(1) of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) may be exercised refers to a person who has no industrial accident compensation insurance relationship with the injured employee and who bears liability for damages to the injured employee due to a tort or other cause.

[2] Where an employee suffers an injury caused by the wrongful act of a fellow employee and such injury is recognized as an occupational accident, such wrongful act may be regarded as one of the hazards inherent in the workplace, similar to the hazards posed by machinery or equipment within the workplace. Therefore, it is consistent with the social insurance and liability insurance nature of industrial accident compensation insurance to hold that the Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service (근로복지공단) should bear the ultimate responsibility for compensation for an occupational accident arising from the realization of such a hazard. In addition, considering that, even where the employers are different, if an employee of one employer causes an injury to an employee of another employer within the same workplace and the Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service pays insurance benefits to the injured employee, the Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service cannot seek indemnity against the offending employee or the employer of that employee pursuant to the proviso of Article 54(1) of the same Act, it is reasonable to hold that, where an employee suffers an occupational accident due to the act of a fellow employee employed by the same employer, such fellow employee, together with the employer who is the insured party, is a person who directly or indirectly has an industrial accident compensation insurance relationship with the injured employee, and is therefore excluded from the concept of "third party" under Article 54(1) of the same Act.

Full text (English, AI translation) 4,854 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellant] Korea Workers' Compensation & Welfare Service

[Defendant, Appellee] Defendant (Attorneys Ryu Sun-ju and 1 other, Counsel for the Defendant)

[Judgment Below] Seoul District Court Decision 2002Na48916 rendered on May 22, 2003

[Order]

The appeal is dismissed. The costs of the appeal are to be borne by the Plaintiff.

[Reasoning]

1. Article 54(1) of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법, hereinafter referred to as "the Act") provides: "Where the Corporation has paid insurance benefits for an accident caused by the act of a third party, it shall be subrogated, to the extent of the amount of such benefits, to the right to claim damages against the third party held by the person who received the benefits. Provided, that this shall not apply where two or more employers, each of whom is an insured person, divide and separately conduct a single business at the same place, and an accident occurs due to the act of an employee of a different employer among them." Here, the "third party" against whom the right of subrogation may be exercised refers to a person who has no industrial accident compensation insurance relationship with the injured worker and who is liable to the injured worker for damages arising from a tort or otherwise (see Supreme Court Decision 85Daka2429 rendered on April 8, 1986, etc.).

However, in a case where a worker suffers an injury caused by the wrongful act of a fellow worker, and such injury is recognized as an industrial accident, the wrongful act in question may be viewed as a hazard inherent in the workplace itself, similar to the hazard posed by machinery or equipment within the workplace. Accordingly, it accords with the social-insurance and liability-insurance nature of industrial accident compensation insurance to hold that the Korea Workers' Compensation & Welfare Service should ultimately bear the responsibility for compensating an industrial accident that results from the realization of such a hazard. In addition, considering that, even where the employers differ, if an employee of one employer inflicts an injury upon an employee of another employer within the same workplace and the Korea Workers' Compensation & Welfare Service pays insurance benefits to the injured worker, the Korea Workers' Compensation & Welfare Service is barred, under the proviso of Article 54(1) of the Act, from seeking reimbursement from the offending worker or the employer thereof (see Supreme Court Decision 94Da29225 rendered on October 11, 1994), it is reasonable to hold that, where a worker suffers an industrial accident due to the act of a fellow worker employed by the same employer, such fellow worker—together with the employer who is the insured—has a direct or indirect industrial accident compensation insurance relationship with the injured worker, and is therefore excluded from the category of "third party" as defined in Article 54(1) of the Act.

2. The court below, based on the evidence it adopted, found the following facts: while the Defendant was working as an employee at a bar operated by Nonparty 1, the Defendant, together with a fellow employee, Nonparty 2, was cleaning a bathroom floor stained with paint using thinner at the direction of Nonparty 1, when the Defendant caused a fire by igniting the floor, on which thinner had been sprayed, with a lighter, thereby causing Nonparty 2, who was present at the scene, to suffer burns to the right side of the torso, among other injuries; and that the Plaintiff recognized Nonparty 2's injury as an industrial accident and paid Nonparty 2 medical care benefits and temporary disability benefits as indicated in the judgment. Based on these findings, the court below rejected the Plaintiff's argument that, since Nonparty 2's injury resulted from the Defendant's tortious act, the Plaintiff was entitled, pursuant to Article 54(1) of the Act, to exercise by subrogation Nonparty 2's right to claim damages against the Defendant, on the ground that the Defendant, who was a fellow employee of the same employer as Nonparty 2, could not be deemed a "third party" against whom the Plaintiff's right of subrogation may be exercised.

The above determination by the court below is in accordance with the legal principles set forth above and is justified. There is no error in the judgment below, such as a misapprehension of the legal principles concerning the exercise of the right of subrogation under Article 54(1) of the Act or the employer's liability under the Civil Act.

3. Accordingly, the appeal is dismissed, and the costs of the appeal are to be borne by the losing party. This Decision is rendered by unanimous opinion of the Justices involved, as indicated in the Order.

Justice Kang Shin-wook (Presiding Justice), Byun Jae-seung, Park Jae-yoon, Ko Hyun-chul (Justice in charge)

【판결요지】

[1] 산업재해보상보험법 제54조 제1항에 정한 구상권 행사의 상대방이 되는 '제3자'라 함은 재해 근로자와 산업재해보상보험관계가 없는 자로서 재해 근로자에 대하여 불법행위 등으로 인한 손해배상책임을 지는 자를 말한다.

[2] 동료 근로자에 의한 가해행위로 인하여 다른 근로자가 재해를 입어 그 재해가 업무상 재해로 인정되는 경우에 있어서는 그러한 가해행위는 마치 사업장 내 기계기구 등의 위험과 같이 사업장이 갖는 하나의 위험이라고 볼 수 있으므로, 그 위험이 현실화하여 발생한 업무상 재해에 대하여는 근로복지공단이 궁극적인 보상책임을 져야 한다고 보는 것이 산업재해보상보험의 사회보험적 내지 책임보험적 성격에 부합하고, 여기에다가 사업주를 달리한다고 하더라도 하나의 사업장에서 어떤 사업주의 근로자가 다른 사업주의 근로자에게 재해를 가하여 근로복지공단이 재해 근로자에게 보험급여를 한 경우, 근로복지공단은 산업재해보상보험법 제54조 제1항 단서에 의하여 가해 근로자 또는 그 사용자인 사업주에게 구상할 수 없다는 점까지 감안하면, 근로자가 동일한 사업주에 의하여 고용된 동료 근로자의 행위로 인하여 업무상의 재해를 입은 경우에 그 동료 근로자는 보험가입자인 사업주와 함께 직·간접적으로 재해 근로자와 산업재해보상보험관계를 가지는 자로서 같은 법 제54조 제1항에 정한 '제3자'에서 제외된다고 봄이 상당하다.

【참조조문】

[1] 산업재해보상보험법 제54조 제1항

[2] 산업재해보상보험법 제54조 제1항

【참조판례】

[1] 대법원 1986. 4. 8. 선고 85다카2429 판결(공1986, 759), 대법원 1988. 3. 8. 선고 85다카2285 판결(공1988, 650), 대법원 2003. 12. 26. 선고 2003다13307 판결(공2004상, 221)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 1,727자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 상고인】 근로복지공단

【피고, 피상고인】 피고 (소송대리인 변호사 류순주 외 1인)

【원심판결】 서울지법 2003. 5. 22. 선고 2002나48916 판결

【주 문】

상고를 기각한다. 상고비용은 원고가 부담한다.

【이 유】 1. 산업재해보상보험법(이하 '법'이라고만 한다) 제54조 제1항은 "공단은 제3자의 행위에 의한 재해로 인하여 보험급여를 지급한 경우에는 그 급여액의 한도 안에서 급여를 받은 자의 제3자에 대한 손해배상청구권을 대위한다. 다만, 보험가입자인 2 이상의 사업주가 같은 장소에서 하나의 사업을 분할하여 각각 행하다가 그 중 사업주를 달리하는 근로자의 행위로 재해가 발생한 경우에는 그러하지 아니하다."고 규정하고 있고, 여기에서 구상권 행사의 상대방이 되는 '제3자'라 함은 재해 근로자와 산업재해보상보험관계가 없는 자로서 재해 근로자에 대하여 불법행위 등으로 인한 손해배상책임을 지는 자를 말한다(대법원 1986. 4. 8. 선고 85다카2429 판결 등 참조).

그런데 동료 근로자에 의한 가해행위로 인하여 다른 근로자가 재해를 입어 그 재해가 업무상 재해로 인정되는 경우에 있어서는 그러한 가해행위는 마치 사업장 내 기계기구 등의 위험과 같이 사업장이 갖는 하나의 위험이라고 볼 수 있으므로, 그 위험이 현실화하여 발생한 업무상 재해에 대하여는 근로복지공단이 궁극적인 보상책임을 져야 한다고 보는 것이 산업재해보상보험의 사회보험적 내지 책임보험적 성격에 부합하고, 여기에다가 사업주를 달리한다고 하더라도 하나의 사업장에서 어떤 사업주의 근로자가 다른 사업주의 근로자에게 재해를 가하여 근로복지공단이 재해 근로자에게 보험급여를 한 경우, 근로복지공단은 법 제54조 제1항 단서에 의하여 가해 근로자 또는 그 사용자인 사업주에게 구상할 수 없다는 점(대법원 1994. 10. 11. 선고 94다29225 판결 참조)까지 감안하면, 근로자가 동일한 사업주에 의하여 고용된 동료 근로자의 행위로 인하여 업무상의 재해를 입은 경우에 그 동료 근로자는 보험가입자인 사업주와 함께 직·간접적으로 재해 근로자와 산업재해보상보험관계를 가지는 자로서 법 제54조 제1항에 정한 '제3자'에서 제외된다고 봄이 상당하다.

2. 원심은 그 채택 증거에 의하여, 피고는 소외 1이 경영하는 주점에서 종업원으로 일하던 중 소외 1의 지시로 동료 종업원인 소외 2와 함께 시너를 이용하여 페인트가 묻어 있는 화장실 바닥을 청소하다가 라이터로 시너가 뿌려져 있는 바닥에 불이 붙게 함으로써 화재를 일으켜 그 곳에 있던 소외 2로 하여금 우측 옆구리 등에 화상을 입게 한 사실, 원고는 소외 2의 부상을 업무상 재해로 인정하고 소외 2에게 판시와 같은 요양급여와 휴업급여를 지급한 사실 등을 인정한 다음, 소외 2의 재해가 피고의 불법행위로 인한 것이므로 법 제54조 제1항에 따라 소외 2의 피고에 대한 손해배상청구권을 대위행사한다는 원고의 주장에 대하여, 소외 2와 함께 같은 사업주의 종업원인 피고는 원고의 구상권 행사의 상대방이 되는 제3자에 해당한다고 할 수 없다는 이유로 원고의 주장을 배척하였다.

위와 같은 원심의 판단은 앞서 본 법리에 의한 것으로서 옳고, 거기에 법 제54조 제1항에 정한 구상권 행사 및 민법상의 사용자책임에 관한 법리오해 등의 위법이 있다고 할 수 없다.

3. 그러므로 상고를 기각하고, 상고비용은 패소자가 부담하도록 하여 관여 법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 강신욱(재판장) 변재승 박재윤 고현철(주심)

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2021다263748 · 대법원 2022-08-19
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
#2
2006다60793 · 대법원 2007-01-25
Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)
#3
2005가합12743 · 서울남부지방법원 2007-01-26
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
#4
2006나15832 · 서울고등법원 2006-11-22
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
#5
2004가단42443 · 서울남부지방법원 2005-08-16
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)

Cases citing this decision

2022다214040 · 대법원 2026-01-22
Claim for Indemnity (구상금) [Case Concerning Whether a Constru
2021다263748 · 대법원 2022-08-19
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
2009다98928 · 대법원 2010-04-29
Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)
2006다27093 · 대법원 2008-05-15
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
2006다32910 · 대법원 2008-04-10
Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)