Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 89누6990

Revocation of Rejection of Survivor's Compensation Claim유족보상금지급청구부결처분취소

Decided1990. 02. 13. Court대법원Worker (survivor) won
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

A truck driver died of a heart attack caused by a combination of chronic overwork, excessive drinking during a holiday break, and exposure to severe cold while working outdoors. The Supreme Court ruled that this death qualified as an industrial accident (산업재해) because work-related fatigue was one of the significant contributing causes, even though other factors were also involved. As a result, the deceased worker's family won the case and became entitled to receive survivor's compensation (유족보상금).

Key takeaways
  • CaseA truck driver died of a heart attack after chronic overwork, holiday drinking, and outdoor work in extreme cold.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court ruled the death was an occupational accident because work-related fatigue was a significant contributing cause.
  • LessonEven when multiple factors contribute to a worker's death, if work-related overexertion plays a substantial role, it can still be recognized as an industrial accident (산업재해).
Issues
  • Whether a death caused by multiple combined factors—including overwork, alcohol consumption, and cold exposure—qualifies as an occupational accident
  • The criteria for recognizing occupational accidents under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act
Key reasoning

The Court held that when a worker's death results from multiple combined causes—such as accumulated work-related fatigue, excessive alcohol consumption during a holiday, and suffering from outdoor work in extreme cold—it can still be recognized as a death due to occupational causes under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법). The key principle is that if work-related overexertion is one of the substantial contributing factors to the death, the presence of other non-work-related factors does not negate the occupational nature of the accident. This reflects a broader interpretation of causation in industrial accident cases, recognizing that workplace conditions often interact with personal circumstances to produce harmful outcomes. Therefore, the death was properly classified as an occupational injury (업무상 재해), entitling the family to compensation.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

If an employee dies of a heart attack caused by a combination of factors, including accumulated fatigue from ordinary work, excessive alcohol consumption during a holiday period, and the suffering caused by outdoor work during a severe cold spell, such death constitutes death due to occupational cause under Article 3(1) of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법).

Full text (English, AI translation) 4,052 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellee] Plaintiff's Attorney Heo Hyang
[Defendant, Appellant] Chief of Uijeongbu Regional Labor Office
[Judgment Below] Seoul High Court Decision 89Gu5821 rendered on October 5, 1989

[Order]

The appeal is dismissed.
The costs of the appeal shall be borne by the Defendant.

[Reasoning]

The Court examines the grounds of appeal submitted by the Defendant's litigation performer.

The term "occupational accident" as provided in Article 3, Paragraph 1 of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) shall be construed to mean an injury, disease, physical disability, or death of an employee arising from the employee's duties while performing such duties (see this Court's Decisions 84Nu403 rendered on December 24, 1985; 89Nu1186 rendered on October 24, 1989).

According to the reasoning of the judgment below, the court below, based on the totality of the evidence adopted, found the following facts: the deceased non-party, who was the Plaintiff's husband, joined non-party Bupyeong Freight Motor Vehicle Co., Ltd. as a freight truck driver on October 10, 1988, and had been engaged in the transportation of oxygen cylinders for Union Gas Co., Ltd., which had entered into a cylinder transportation service contract with the said company; that after spending the holidays from January 1 to January 3, 1989, he reported to work early in the morning at Union Gas Co., Ltd. on January 4 of the same month, and from 8:00 a.m., while loading approximately 40 of the 73 sixty-kilogram oxygen cylinders, together with two laborers, onto a double freight truck he himself was driving, in order to deliver them to the client Seoul Dongmyeong Sangsa, he suddenly collapsed to the floor, losing consciousness, and died of a heart attack while being transported to the hospital; that the deceased had habitually loaded oxygen cylinders weighing 50 to 60 kilograms or more each by rolling them together with one transport assistant, and had made two to three round trips per day from Giheung to the destination, Seoul, and moreover, when unloading the cylinders, in order to prevent explosion due to impact, the work was carried out carefully by having the assistant receive them from below or by laying down a rubber mat and letting them drop; that repeating such loading, unloading, and transportation work two to three times daily constituted physically and mentally excessive work, resulting in the accumulation of considerable fatigue; that on the day of the accident, the weather was also extremely cold, making it unsuitable even for an ordinarily healthy person to perform outdoor work; and that the deceased had no underlying disease, but had failed to obtain sufficient rest as he had consumed considerable amounts of alcohol with friends during the holiday period. Based on these findings, the court below held that the cause of the deceased's death could be attributed to a complex combination of factors, namely, the habitually accumulated fatigue, excessive alcohol consumption during the holidays, and the hardship arising from outdoor work during extreme cold weather, which together induced the heart attack, and thus ruled that the death of the said non-party constituted death due to occupational cause as provided in Article 3, Paragraph 1 of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act.

Upon examination of the process by which the court below adopted the evidence, in light of the record, the fact-finding and judgment of the court below are justified, and there is no illegality therein arising from misapprehension of facts due to violation of the rules of evidence or from a misunderstanding of the legal principles concerning occupational accidents. Therefore, this ground of appeal is also without merit.

Accordingly, the appeal is dismissed, and the costs of the appeal are to be borne by the losing party. This judgment is rendered as set forth in the Order by the unanimous opinion of the participating Justices.

Justice Lee Hoe-chang (Presiding Justice), Bae Seok, Kim Sang-won, Kim Ju-han

【판결요지】

근로자가 평소 누적된 과로와 연휴동안의 과도한 음주 및 혹한기의 노천작업에 따른 고통 등이 복합적인 원인이 되어 심장마비를 일으켜 사망하였다면 그 사망은 산업재해보상보험법 제3조 제1항 소정의 업무상 사유로 인한 사망에 해당한다.

【참조조문】

산업재해보상보험법 제3조 제1항

【참조판례】

대법원 1985.12.24 선고 84누403 판결, 1989.10.24 선고 89누1186 판결

【주문】·【이유】 전문 1,415자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 피상고인】 원고 소송대리인 변호사 허향

【피고, 상고인】 의정부지방노동사무소장

【원심판결】 서울고등법원 1989.10.5. 선고 89구5821 판결

【주 문】

상고를 기각한다.

상고비용은 피고의 부담으로 한다.

【이 유】 피고 소송수행자의 상고이유를 본다.

산업재해보상보험법 제3조 제1항이 규정한 "업무상의 재해"라 함은 근로자가 업무수행중 그 업무에 기인하여 발생한 근로자의 부상, 질병,신체장애 또는 사망을 의미한다 할 것이다(당원 1985.12.24. 선고 84누403 판결; 1989.10.24. 선고 89누1186 판결 각 참조).

원심판결 이유에 의하면, 원심은 그 채택증거를 종합하여 원고의 남편이던 망 소외인은 1988.10.10.부터 소외 부평화물자동차주식회사의 화물자동차운전기사로 입사하여 위 회사와 산소통 운송용역계약이 체결된 유니온가스주식회사의 산소통운송작업에 종사하여 오던 중 1989.1.1.부터 같은 달 3.까지 연휴로 보내고 같은 달 4. 아침 일찍 위 유니온가스주식회사에 출근하여 8:00부터 60킬로그램짜리 산소통 73개를 거래처인 서울 동명상사에 납품하기 위하여 인부 2명등과 함께 자신이 운전하는 복사화물차에 40여개 정도 상차하였을 때, 갑자기 바닥에 주저앉으면서 의식을 잃어 병원으로 후송 도중 심장마비로 사망한 사실, 위 망인은 평소에도 개당 50 내지 60킬로그램 이상되는 산소통을 운송보조자 1명과 함께 굴려서 상차한 다음 기흥에서 목적지인 서울까지 하루 2-3차례 왕복하였고 더구나 산소통을 하차할 때는 충격으로 인한 폭발을 막기 위하여 보조자가 밑에서 받아주거나 고무판을 깔고 조심스럽게 떨어뜨리는 방법으로 작업을 하였는데 위와 같은 상, 하차 및 운송작업을 매일 2-3차례씩을 반복하는 것은 육체적, 정신적으로 과중한 업무로서 그로 인하여 상당한 피로가 누적되었으며 사고당일은 날씨마저 매우 추워 보통 건강한 사람도 노천작업을 하기에 적당하지 아니하였던 사실, 위 망인은 질병도 없었고 다만 연휴기간 동안 친구들과 어울려 상당한 음주를 하여 충분한 휴식을 취하지는 못하였던 사실등을 인정한 다음, 위 망인이 사망하게 된 것은 평소 누적된 과로와 연휴동안의 과도한 음주 및 혹한기의 노천작업에 따른 고통 등이 복합적인원인이 되어 심장마비를 일으킨데 그 원인이 있다고 할 수 있으므로 위 소외인의 사망은 산업재해보상보험법 제3조 제1항 소정의 업무상 사유로 인한 사망에 해당한다고 판시하였다. 기록에 비추어 원심이 한 증거채택의 과정을 살펴보면 원심의 사실인정과 판단은 정당하고 거기에 채증법칙위배로 인한 사실오인이나 업무상의 재해에 관한 법리를 오해한 위법이 있다할 수 없으니 이점에 관한 논지도 이유없다.

그러므로 상고를 기각하고, 상고비용은 패소자의 부담으로 하기로 관여 법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 이회창(재판장) 배석 김상원 김주한

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2012누37489 · 서울고등법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits and Fu
#2
97구16659 · 서울고법 1998-02-20
Revocation of Disposition Denying Lump-sum Survivors' Compen
#3
2009구단1612 · 대구지방법원 0001-01-01
유족일시금및장의비부지급처분취소
#4
2015구합23436 · 대구지방법원 0001-01-01
유족보상및장의비부지급결정처분취소
#5
2013구합4866 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits and Fu

Cases citing this decision

91누10015 · 대법원 1992-04-14
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
91누5433 · 대법원 1991-09-10
Revocation of Decision Denying Survivor's Compensation Benef
91누476 · 대법원 1991-04-12
Revocation of Disapproval of Medical Care Benefits (요양불승인처분취
90누3690 · 대법원 1990-11-13
Revocation of Disposition Rejecting Claim for Survivors' Com
90누2727 · 대법원 1990-09-25
유족급여부지급취소,장의비부지급취소

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)