Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 96누16179

Revocation of Disapproval of Medical Care Benefits (요양불승인처분취소)요양불승인처분취소

Decided1997. 03. 28. Court대법원Case reversed and remanded (파기환송) — the lower court's finding that the injury constituted an industrial accident was overturned in favor of a stricter interpretation limiting employer liability.
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

This case involved a full-time union official (노조 전임자) who was injured while participating in a sports event organized by the labor union. The Supreme Court ruled that since the event took place outside of working hours and was organized independently by the union without the employer's control or supervision, the injury did not qualify as an industrial accident (업무상 재해) under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act. The Court reversed the lower court's decision and remanded the case for further proceedings.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA full-time union official was injured while participating in a sports event organized by his labor union outside of work hours.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court ruled the injury was not an industrial accident because the event was independently organized by the union, held outside working hours, voluntary, and funded by the union—not under the employer's control.
  • LessonInjuries during union-organized events are generally not covered as industrial accidents unless the employer exercises direct control, funding, or mandatory participation over the event.
Issues
  • Whether an injury sustained by a full-time union official during a union-organized sports event constitutes an industrial accident (업무상 재해)
  • What criteria determine whether an event is conducted under the employer's control or management (사용자의 지배·관리)
Key reasoning

The Supreme Court held that the sports event was organized and hosted solely by the labor union, took place outside regular working hours, and participation was not mandatory. Additionally, the union—not the employer—bore the costs of the event. Based on these factors, the Court concluded that the event was not conducted under the employer's practical control or management (사용자의 지배·관리), which is a key requirement for an injury to be recognized as an industrial accident. Since the employer had no supervisory relationship over the event, the injury sustained by the union official could not be attributed to his employment duties.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

In a case where an employee who was a full-time union official participated in an athletic event held by the labor union after working hours, for the purpose of displaying unity among union officers ahead of wage negotiations, and was injured during the course of the event, it was held that, given that the overall process of the event could not be deemed, in light of common social norms, to have been under the control and supervision of the business owner, such injury was not sustained in the course of performing, or attributable to, the union duties, and thus does not constitute an occupational accident under Article 4, Item 1 of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법).

Full text (English, AI translation) 12,147 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellee] Plaintiff (Attorneys Jung Ju-seok and 1 other, Counsel for the plaintiff)
[Defendant, Appellant] Korea Workers' Compensation & Welfare Service
[Judgment Below] Busan High Court Decision 96Gu1924 delivered on September 20, 1996

[Order]

The judgment below is reversed, and the case is remanded to the Busan High Court.

[Reasoning]

We examine the grounds of appeal submitted by the Defendant's agent.

1. According to the reasoning of the judgment below, the court below found, based on the evidence indicated therein, as follows: (1) The Plaintiff joined the non-party Korea Heavy Industries Co., Ltd. (hereinafter "the non-party company") on January 22, 1981, and served as the head of the general affairs department of the labor union of the non-party company, working exclusively on union affairs as a full-time union official pursuant to the collective bargaining agreement concluded with the non-party company. On May 24, 1995, at around 18:00, while participating in a soccer match at a sports event for all union executives held at the reserve forces training ground within the non-party company's premises, the Plaintiff planted his left foot and, while trying to stop the ball with his right foot, slipped and fell backward, sustaining an injury consisting of a rupture of the medial ligament of the right ankle joint and a fracture of the lower right fibula, and on June 8 of the same year, applied to the Defendant for medical care benefits under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법); (2) However, on June 26 of the same year, the Defendant issued a non-approval disposition for medical care (hereinafter "the disposition in this case") on the ground that the sports event for all union executives was not held based on the labor management needs of the non-party company, the business owner, or on the basis of the collective bargaining agreement, but was held under the auspices of the labor union after working hours ended, and that there was no active and specific direction from the non-party company in holding the event, such that the Plaintiff's injury as described above constituted a non-occupational accident occurring outside the control and management of the business owner; (3) The sports event for all union executives was customarily held each year, in accordance with the labor union's annual business plan, ahead of the wage and collective bargaining negotiations with the non-party company, in order to demonstrate the solidarity of all union executives, and the labor union notified the non-party company in advance of the holding of the event, and on May 24, 1995, obtained permission from the non-party company to use the reserve forces training ground within the non-party company's premises as the venue for the event, and held the event from around 17:30 to around 21:00 on that day, after the end of basic working hours (around 17:00); (4) However, the persons eligible to attend the sports event for all union executives were approximately 100 persons, including the union's executive committee members, delegates, industrial safety and health committee members, and editorial reporters, out of a total of approximately 7,500 union members, of whom 12 were full-time union officials and the remainder were non-full-time union executives working in operational departments, some of whom did not attend the event; the expenses were covered by the labor union's own business budget; and although the head of the labor affairs department and the deputy head of the labor-management cooperation division of the non-party company visited the event venue to offer encouragement and provided some beverages, the non-party company did not recognize the time spent by non-full-time union executives attending the event as overtime working hours; (5) However, according to the collective bargaining agreement concluded between the non-party company and the labor union on June 10, 1994, union activities by union members are, in principle, to be conducted outside working hours, but where union executives (officers, executive committee members, and delegates), union newsletter reporters and editorial committee members, and election management committee members wish to engage in union activities during working hours due to unavoidable reasons, the union shall make a prior request to the company, and the company shall recognize this within a reasonable scope of time (Article 10); the company shall regard the time during which a member was unable to work due to union activities as time worked, and shall not impose any disadvantageous treatment therefor (Article 11); the union shall have 13 full-time union officials among its members who work exclusively on union affairs (Article 12); and during the period of full-time union service, the official shall be deemed to be working in his original position prior to becoming a full-time official, the company shall bear the wages during the period of full-time service, the official shall have the same access to welfare facilities as general union members, and during the period of full-time service, wages, promotions, and other treatment shall be equivalent to those of an employee of the same standing prior to becoming a full-time official; upon dismissal from full-time union service, the official shall, in principle, immediately return to his original position; with respect to job grade, the company shall consult with the union and decide within a scope equivalent to that of an employee of the same standing prior to becoming a full-time official; and no disadvantageous treatment may be imposed on the ground that a person was a full-time union official (Article 13); and that, pursuant to this collective bargaining agreement, the non-party company recognized the ordinary working hours of full-time union officials as being from around 08:00 to around 19:00, and paid a fixed monthly wage including overtime allowance for 67 hours per month. Having made these findings, the court below determined as follows: In general, where a worker is injured while participating in a company event or gathering that is not stipulated as work which the worker is ordinarily obligated to perform under the employment contract, in order to recognize this as an occupational accident, it must first be the case that, in light of circumstances such as the organizer, purpose, content, number of participants and whether participation was compulsory, method of operation, and bearing of expenses of the event or gathering, the overall process of the event or gathering was, in social norms, under the control or management of the employer (see Supreme Court Decision 94Da60509 delivered on May 26, 1995). As found above, since the organizer of the sports event for all union executives was the labor union and not the non-party company, its purpose was to demonstrate the solidarity of all union executives, the number of participants was limited to union executives rather than all employees of the non-party company, the event was held after basic working hours, attendance was not compelled by the non-party company, the method of operation was determined autonomously by the labor union, and the expenses were borne by the labor union, it is difficult to view that, in social norms, the overall process of the event was under the control or management of the employer. On the other hand, if a full-time union official was relieved of the duties originally to be performed under the employment contract and came to work exclusively on union affairs with the consent of the company as employer, and held the status of a worker at the time the accident occurred, and the illness arose from physical or mental fatigue incurred in the course of performing union duties, then, absent special circumstances, this should be regarded as an occupational accident; provided, however, that accidents arising from activities related to a labor organization in an upper-level or federated relationship unrelated to the employer's business by the nature of the duties, or from unlawful union activities, or from union activities occurring after entering a dispute stage in an adversarial relationship with the employer, cannot be regarded as occupational accidents (see Supreme Court Decision 96Da12733 delivered on June 28, 1996). As found above, since the Plaintiff was relieved of the duties originally to be performed under the employment contract and came to work exclusively on union affairs as the head of the general affairs department of the labor union with the consent of the non-party company as employer, and held the status of a worker at the time this accident occurred, and since the Plaintiff's injury as described above was sustained while participating in a soccer match at the sports event for all union executives, which was customarily held each year ahead of wage and collective bargaining negotiations in accordance with the labor union's annual business plan in order to demonstrate the solidarity of all union executives, then, even though it is difficult to view that the overall process of the event was under the control or management of the employer, in light of the Plaintiff's status and role as a full-time union official, his working hours, and the content of his duties, it is reasonable to view this as having been sustained in the course of performing union duties. Accordingly, the court below determined that, absent special circumstances, it was reasonable to interpret this as an occupational accident under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act and thus as subject to insurance benefits under that Act.

2. An occupational accident under Article 4, Subparagraph 1 of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act refers to an accident that occurs due to the relevant work in the course of a worker performing the relevant work duties under the control and management of the business owner pursuant to an employment contract with the business owner, or in the course of engaging in customary activities incidental thereto. If the purpose of holding the sports event for all union executives, the scope of participants, the time held, the method of operation, and the matter of bearing expenses are as found by the court below, then it cannot be viewed that, in social norms, the overall process of the sports event was under the control and management of the business owner. Furthermore, if a full-time union official was relieved of the duties originally to be performed under the employment contract and came to work exclusively on union affairs with the consent of the company as business owner, and held the status of a worker at the time of the illness or injury, and the illness or injury arose from that duty in the course of performing union duties, then, absent special circumstances, this should be regarded as an occupational accident. However, as the court below lawfully found, if the Plaintiff was not injured due to his union duties in the course of performing such duties, but rather, as noted above, sustained the injury while participating, in his capacity as a union executive, in a soccer match at the above sports event held by the labor union, the overall process of which was not, in social norms, under the control and management of the business owner, then this is difficult to regard as an occupational accident under Article 4, Subparagraph 1 of the above Act.

Nevertheless, the court below, for the reasons stated in its holding, regarded the Plaintiff's above injury as an occupational accident, thereby committing an error of law by misunderstanding the legal principles concerning occupational accidents, which affected the outcome of the judgment. The argument pointing this out has merit.

3. Therefore, the judgment below is reversed, and the case is remanded to the court below for further examination and determination, and it is so decided by the unanimous opinion of the participating Justices as set forth in the Order.

Justice Shin Seong-taek (Presiding Justice), Cheon Gyeong-song (Justice in charge), Ji Chang-gwon, Song Jin-hoon

【판결요지】

노동조합의 전임자인 근로자가 임금협상을 앞두고 노동조합 간부들의 단결과시를 위하여 노동조합이 근무시간 종료 후에 개최한 체육대회에 참가하여 경기 도중 부상을 당한 사안에서, 사회통념상 그 행사의 전반적인 과정이 사업주의 지배, 관리를 받는 상태에 있다고 볼 수 없어 그와 같은 부상은 노동조합업무의 수행 중 그 업무에 기인하여 입은 것이 아니라고 보아 산업재해보상보험법 제4조 제1호 소정의 업무상 재해에 해당하지 않는다고 한 사례.

【참조조문】

산업재해보상보험법 제4조 제1호

【참조판례】

대법원 1992. 10. 9. 선고 92누11107 판결(공1992, 3152), 대법원 1995. 5. 26. 선고 94다60509 판결(공1995하, 2258), 대법원 1996. 6. 28. 선고 96다12733 판결(공1996하, 2353)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 4,393자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고,피상고인】 원고 (소송대리인 변호사 정주석 외 1인)

【피고,상고인】 근로복지공단

【원심판결】 부산고법 1996. 9. 20. 선고 96구1924 판결

【주문】

원심판결을 파기하고, 사건을 부산고등법원에 환송한다.

【이유】 피고 대리인의 상고이유를 본다.

1. 원심판결 이유에 의하면, 원심은 그 거시 증거에 의하여 (1) 원고는 1981. 1. 22. 소외 한국중공업 주식회사(이하 소외 회사라 한다)에 입사하여 소외 회사 노동조합 총무부장으로서 소외 회사와 체결한 단체협약에 따라 노동조합 전임자로서 노동조합의 업무만을 전담하였는데 1995. 5. 24. 18:00경 소외 회사 내 예비군훈련장에서 개최된 노동조합 전 간부 체육대회에 참석하여 축구시합을 하던 중 왼발을 딛고 오른발로 공을 정지시키다가 미끄러지면서 뒤로 넘어지는 바람에 우측 족관절 내측부 인대파열상 및 우측 비골 하부골절상의 상해를 입고 같은 해 6. 8.경 피고에 대하여 산업재해보상보험법에 의한 요양신청을 한 사실, (2) 그런데 피고는 같은 달 26. 노동조합 전 간부 체육대회는 사업주인 소외 회사의 노무관리상 필요 또는 단체협약에 근거하여 이루어진 것이 아니고 노동조합의 주관하에 근무시간 종료 후에 이루어진 것이며 그 행사를 함에 있어 소외 회사의 적극적이고 구체적인 지시가 있었다고 볼 수 없으므로 원고의 위와 같은 상해가 사업주의 지배 관리를 벗어난 상태에서 발생한 업무외 재해에 해당한다는 이유로 요양불승인처분(이하 이 사건 처분이라 한다)을 한 사실, (3) 노동조합 전 간부 체육대회는 노동조합의 연간사업계획에 따라 매년 소외 회사와의 임금단체협상을 앞두고 노동조합 전 간부의 단결을 과시하기 위하여 관례적으로 개최된 것으로서 노동조합은 사전에 소외 회사에 그 개최사실을 알리고 1995. 5. 24. 소외 회사로부터 소외 회사 내 예비군 훈련장을 행사장소로 사용하는 것을 허가받아 기본근무시간(17:00경)이 종료된 후인 같은 날 17:30경부터 21:00경까지 행사를 개최한 사실, (4) 그런데 노동조합 전 간부 체육대회의 참석대상은 전체 조합원 약 7,500명 중 노동조합의 상집위원, 대의원, 산업안전보건위원, 편집기자 등 약 100명이었고, 그 중 노동조합 전임자는 12명이고 나머지는 현업부서에 근무하는 노동조합 비전임간부였는데 그 중 일부는 이 행사에 불참하였으며, 그 경비는 노동조합 자체의 사업예산으로 충당하였고, 소외 회사에서는 노무부장과 노사협력과 차장이 격려차 행사장소에 방문하여 약간의 음료수를 제공하였으나 행사에 참석한 노동조합 비전임간부에 대하여 행사에 참석한 시간을 연장근무시간으로 인정하지는 아니한 사실, (5) 그런데 1994. 6. 10. 소외 회사와 노동조합 사이에 체결된 단체협약에 의하면, 조합원의 조합활동은 근무시간 외에 행함을 원칙으로 하되, 불가피한 사유로 근무시간 중에 조합간부(임원, 상집위원 및 대의원), 노보기자 및 편집위원, 선거관리위원이 조합활동을 하고자 할 때에는 조합은 회사에 사전요청을 하며, 회사는 합리적인 시간범위 내에서 이를 인정하도록 되어 있고(제10조), 회사는 이에 따라 조합활동으로 근무하지 못한 시간은 근무한 것으로 간주하며 어떠한 불이익 처분도 하지 않으며(제11조), 조합은 조합원 중에서 조합업무를 전담하는 13명의 조합전임자를 두고(제12조), 전임기간은 전임되기 전의 원직에 근무한 것으로 하고 전임기간중의 임금은 회사가 부담하고 복리후생시설의 이용은 일반 조합원과 같으며 전임기간 중 급여 및 승급 기타 제 대우는 전임되기 전의 동등자에 준하고 전임에서 해임되었을 시는 원직에 즉시 복귀함을 원칙으로 하며 직급에 관하여는 전임되기 전의 동등자 그것에 준하는 범위 내에서 회사는 조합과 협의하여 결정하고, 조합의 전임자였다는 것을 이유로 어떠한 불이익 처우도 할 수 없도록 되어 있고(제13조), 소외 회사는 이 단체협약에 따라 노동조합 전임자의 경우 통상근무시간을 08:00경부터 19:00경까지로 인정하여 매월 67시간분의 연장근무수당을 포함한 정액의 임금을 지급하여 온 사실을 인정한 다음, 일반적으로 근로자가 근로계약에 의하여 통상 종사할 의무가 있는 업무로 규정되어 있지 아니한 회사 외의 행사나 모임에 참가하던 중 재해를 당한 경우, 이를 업무상 재해로 인정하려면, 우선 그 행사나 모임의 주최자, 목적, 내용, 참가인원과 그 강제성 여부, 운영방법, 비용부담 등의 사정들에 비추어, 사회통념상 그 행사나 모임의 전반적인 과정이 사용자의 지배나 관리를 받는 상태에 있어야 한다고 할 것인바( 대법원 1995. 5. 26. 선고 94다60509 판결 참조), 위에서 인정한 바와 같이 위 노동조합 전 간부 체육대회의 주최자는 소외 회사가 아닌 노동조합이고 그 목적은 노동조합 전 간부의 단결을 과시하기 위한 것이며 그 참가인원도 소외 회사의 전체 근로자가 아닌 노동조합 전 간부에 국한하였고 그 행사시간이 기본근무시간 이후이며 그 참석도 소외 회사에 의하여 강제되어 있는 것이 아니며 그 운영방법도 노동조합의 자율로 이루어졌고 그 비용도 노동조합이 부담한 점 등의 사정에 비추어 보면 사회통념상 그 행사의 전반적인 과정이 사용자의 지배나 관리를 받는 상태에 있었다고 보기는 어렵다고 할 것이나, 한편, 노동조합업무 전임자가 근로계약상 본래 담당할 업무를 면하고 노동조합의 업무를 전임하게 된 것이 사용자인 회사의 승낙에 의한 것이며 재해발생 당시 근로자의 지위를 보유하고 있었고 그 질병이 노동조합업무 수행중 육체적·정신적 과로로 인하여 발병된 것이라면 특별한 사정이 없는 한 이는 업무상 재해로 보아야 하고, 다만 그 업무의 성질상 사용자의 사업과는 무관한 상부 또는 연합관계에 있는 노동단체와 관련된 활동이거나 불법적인 노동조합 활동 또는 사용자와 대립관계로 되는 쟁의단계에 들어간 이후의 노동조합 활동중에 생긴 재해 등은 이를 업무상 재해로 볼 수 없다고 할 것인바( 대법원 1996. 6. 28. 선고 96다12733 판결 참조), 위에서 인정한 바와 같이 원고가 근로계약상 본래 담당할 업무를 면하고, 노동조합의 총무부장으로서 노동조합의 업무를 전임하게 된 것이 사용자인 소외 회사의 승낙에 의한 것이며, 이 사건 재해발생 당시 원고가 근로자의 지위를 보유하고 있었고, 원고의 위와 같은 상해가 위 노동조합의 연간사업계획에 따라 매년 임금단체협상을 앞두고 노동조합 전 간부의 단결을 과시하기 위하여 관례적으로 개최된 노동조합 전 간부 체육대회에 참석하여 축구시합을 하다가 입은 것이라면 비록 그 행사의 전반적인 과정이 사용자의 지배나 관리를 받는 상태에 있었다고 보기 어렵다고 하더라도 노동조합 전임자인 원고의 지위와 역할, 그 업무시간 및 업무내용 등에 비추어 이는 노동조합의 업무수행 중 입은 것이라고 봄이 상당하다고 할 것이고, 따라서 특별한 사정이 없는 한 이는 산업재해보상보험법 소정의 업무상 재해로 보아 그 법 소정의 보험급여지급대상으로 해석함이 상당하다고 판단하였다.

2. 산업재해보상보험법 제4조 제1호 소정의 업무상의 재해라 함은 근로자가 사업주와의 근로계약에 기하여 사업주의 지배, 관리하에서 당해 근로업무를 수행하거나 이에 수반하는 통상적인 활동을 하는 과정에서 그 업무에 기인하여 발생한 재해를 말하는 것인바, 위 노동조합 전 간부 체육대회의 개최 목적, 참가인의 범위, 개최시간, 운영방법, 비용부담관계가 원심이 인정한 바와 같다면 위 체육대회는 사회통념상 그 행사의 전반적인 과정이 사업주의 지배, 관리를 받는 상태에 있었다고 볼 수 없고, 또한 노동조합업무 전임자가 근로계약상 본래 담당할 업무를 면하고 노동조합의 업무를 전임하게 된 것이 사업주인 회사의 승낙에 의한 것이며 질병 또는 부상 당시 근로자의 지위를 보유하고 있었고 그 질병 또는 부상이 노동조합업무 수행중 그 업무에 기인하여 발생한 것이라면 특별한 사정이 없는 한 이는 업무상의 재해로 보아야 할 것이지만, 원심이 적법하게 인정하고 있는 바와 같이 원고가 노동조합업무의 수행중 그 업무에 기인하여 부상을 입은 것이 아니라 위에서 본대로 사회통념상 그 행사의 전반적인 과정이 사업주의 지배, 관리를 받는 상태에 있지 아니한 노동조합 개최의 위 체육대회에 노동조합 간부의 자격으로 참가하여 축구경기를 하다가 부상을 당한 것이라면 이는 위 법 제4조 제1호 소정의 업무상의 재해라고 보기는 어렵다 고 할 것이다.

그럼에도 불구하고 원심이 그 판시와 같은 이유로 원고의 위 부상을 업무상의 재해라고 본 것은 업무상의 재해에 관한 법리를 오해함으로써 판결 결과에 영향을 미칠 위법을 저질렀다고 하지 않을 수 없다. 이를 지적하는 논지는 이유 있다.

3. 그러므로 원심판결을 파기하고 사건을 다시 심리·판단케 하기 위하여 원심법원에 환송하기로 하여 관여 법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 신성택(재판장) 천경송(주심) 지창권 송진훈

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2010구단2789 · 대구지방법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
#2
2004누16500 · 서울고등법원 2005-08-18
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
#3
2010구단2291 · 대전지방법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
#4
2009구단10904 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
최초요양급여불승인처분취소
#5
94다44422 · 대법원 1995-02-17
Action to Confirm Invalidity of Dismissal, etc.

Cases citing this decision

98두14006 · 대법원 1998-12-08
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
97다4494 · 대법원 1997-09-26
보험금지급채무부존재
96누13866 · 대법원 1997-06-10
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
96누18748 · 대법원 1997-05-23
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)