Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 96누18755

Revocation of Disapproval of Re-Treatment (재요양불승인처분취소) Benefits Under Industrial Accident Compensation재요양불승인처분취소

Decided1997. 03. 28. Court대법원Korea Workers' Compensation & Welfare Service (근로복지공단) won; the worker's claim for re-treatment benefits was denied
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

A worker who had suffered a work-related lumbar herniated disc (요추 추간판탈출증) completed treatment, but later developed a new herniated disc in a different area of the spine and applied for re-treatment (재요양) benefits under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance system. The Korea Workers' Compensation & Welfare Service (근로복지공단) denied the application, finding no medically significant causal link between the original injury and the new condition. The Supreme Court upheld the denial as lawful.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA worker previously treated for a work-related lumbar disc injury later developed a new disc herniation in a different spinal area and sought re-treatment benefits.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court ruled that without a medically significant causal link between the original and new injuries, re-treatment benefits cannot be approved, and upheld the denial.
  • LessonWorkers seeking re-treatment for a new condition must present strong medical evidence directly connecting it to the original work injury—mere recurrence risk or unrelated new symptoms are not enough.
Issues
  • The legal nature of Article 15 of the Enforcement Rule of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, which sets out the requirements for approving re-treatment (재요양) claims
  • The meaning of 'medically significant causal relationship' (의학상 상당인과관계) as a requirement for re-treatment, and how such causation must be proven
Key reasoning

Under Korean workers' compensation law, re-treatment (재요양) benefits require proof of a medically significant causal relationship (상당인과관계) between the original work-related injury and the new condition for which re-treatment is sought. A mere possibility of recurrence is not sufficient to establish this causal link. Instead, the original injury must be shown—based on common medical experience—to be a relatively strong contributing cause of the new condition. Since the evidence in this case did not establish such a strong causal connection between the initial lumbar disc injury and the newly developed disc herniation, the denial of re-treatment benefits was found to be legally justified.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

[1] Article 15 of the Enforcement Rule of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법시행규칙) (wholly amended by Ordinance of the Ministry of Labor No. 97 on April 29, 1995) provides for the requirements for recognition of re-treatment (재요양), but in terms of legislative form, this provision is not based on any superior statute, and by its nature and content it merely establishes internal administrative guidelines for the handling of medical care management affairs under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) (wholly amended by Act No. 4826 on December 22, 1994). Accordingly, it has no binding effect on courts or the general public externally. Therefore, the legality of a disposition disapproving re-treatment must still be determined according to whether it conforms to the purport of Article 40 of the same Act (corresponding to Article 9-3 of the former Act).

[2] The requirements for re-treatment are no different from the requirements for ordinary medical care, except that re-treatment is care provided after the initial treatment has been concluded. Therefore, in addition to the requirements for medical care, the requirements for re-treatment are satisfied if it is recognized that there is a medically probable causal relationship between the originally injured or diseased condition and the condition for which re-treatment is sought, and there is a medical opinion that, compared to the condition of the injury or disease at the time treatment was concluded or at the time disability benefits were paid, the symptoms have worsened such that therapeutic effect can be expected from re-treatment.

[3] The "medically probable causal relationship" required for re-treatment means that, from a medical standpoint, the original injury or disease is not only in a conditional relationship with the injury or disease for which treatment is sought, but also stands in a relatively predominant causal relationship according to the rules of experience. As for the method and degree of proof, it is not necessarily required that this be clearly demonstrated medically and scientifically by direct evidence; it suffices if it can be inferred from indirect facts, based on the health and physical condition of the worker concerned, to a degree sufficient for such inference. However, a probable causal relationship cannot be recognized merely because the original injury or disease generally carries a possibility of recurrence, without reaching this degree of proof; nor can a probable causal relationship be immediately recognized simply because a conditional causal relationship is not clearly medically negated.

Full text (English, AI translation) 5,637 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellant] Plaintiff (Attorney: Hanul General Law Office, Attorneys in charge Lee Ki-uk and 1 other)
[Defendant, Appellee] Korea Labor Welfare Corporation (근로복지공단)
[Judgment Below] Seoul High Court Judgment dated November 14, 1996, Case No. 96Gu893

[Order]

The appeal is dismissed. The costs of the appeal shall be borne by the Plaintiff.

[Reasoning]

We examine the grounds of appeal.

As to Ground 1

Article 15 of the Enforcement Rule of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법시행규칙) (as fully amended by Ministry of Labor Ordinance No. 97 on April 29, 1995) sets forth the requirements for recognition of re-treatment (재요양), but since this provision, in its legislative form, has no basis in any higher-level statute, it is, by its nature and content, nothing more than an internal administrative rule prescribing the treatment management procedures set forth in the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) (as fully amended by Act No. 4826 on December 22, 1994) for use within the administrative agency, and therefore has no binding effect on courts or the general public externally. Accordingly, whether a disposition disapproving re-treatment is lawful must still be determined according to whether it conforms to the purport of Article 40 of the same Act (corresponding to Article 9-3 of the former Act). Since re-treatment, once the original treatment has been concluded, is not different in nature from the original treatment except in that it is treatment administered for the recurrence of the relevant injury or disease or for complications arising therefrom, the requirements for re-treatment are no different from the requirements for treatment, except that it is treatment administered after the treatment has been concluded. Therefore, in addition to the requirements for treatment, it suffices for the requirements of re-treatment that there be recognized to be a medically substantial causal relationship between the original injury or disease and the injury or disease for which re-treatment is sought, and that there be a medical opinion that the symptoms have worsened compared to the condition of the injury or disease at the time the original treatment was concluded or at the time the disability benefit was paid, such that a therapeutic effect can be expected from the re-treatment. Here, "medically substantial causal relationship" means that, from a medical standpoint, the original injury or disease is not only in a conditional relationship with the injury or disease for which treatment is sought, but also stands in a relationship of being, according to the rules of experience, a relatively predominant cause thereof. As for the method and degree of proof thereof, it need not necessarily be clearly proven medically and scientifically by direct evidence; it suffices if it is proven to the extent that it can be inferred from indirect facts based on the health and physical condition of the worker concerned. However, a substantial causal relationship cannot be recognized merely because the original injury or disease generally has the possibility of recurring, without reaching this degree of proof, and likewise, a substantial causal relationship cannot be recognized simply because the conditional causal relationship is not clearly medically denied.

In the same vein, the court below determined that, after the Plaintiff suffered an accident on July 20, 1993, and remained in a state of "obstinate local neurological symptoms (lumbar pain and radiating pain in the lower extremities)," the Plaintiff's treatment for the original injury/disease, herniation of the intervertebral disc at the 4th-5th lumbar vertebrae, was concluded on June 30, 1994, following which the Plaintiff received disability benefits; that on June 23, 1995, the Plaintiff again felt severe pain in the lower back while washing his face in the morning and applied for re-treatment, and as a result of a lumbar CT scan, herniation of the intervertebral disc at the 5th lumbar-1st sacral vertebrae was diagnosed along with the original injury/disease; and that there is no substantial causal relationship recognized between the injury/disease for which re-treatment was sought and the original injury/disease—this determination is justified, and it cannot be said that there was any error of law, misapprehension of facts due to violation of the rules of evidence, or incomplete deliberation as pointed out in the grounds of appeal. This argument is without merit.

As to Ground 2

Although the judgment below did not set forth in detail the process of its reasoning, it determined whether the requirements for re-treatment were satisfied, focusing on the newly added injury/disease of herniation of the intervertebral disc at the 5th lumbar-1st sacral vertebrae, on the premise that the original injury/disease, herniation of the intervertebral disc at the 4th-5th lumbar vertebrae itself, had not worsened or spread to another region. This determination is justified in its result, and there is no illegality therein, such as incomplete deliberation or misapprehension of facts due to violation of the rules of evidence, that affected the outcome of the judgment, as pointed out in the grounds of appeal. This argument is without merit.

Therefore, the appeal is dismissed, and the costs of the appeal are to be borne by the losing party. This judgment is rendered as stated in the Order by the unanimous opinion of the participating Justices.

Justice Lee Yong-hoon (Presiding Justice), Justice Park Man-ho, Justice Park Jun-seo (Justice in charge), Justice Kim Hyung-sun

【판결요지】

[1] 산업재해보상보험법시행규칙(1995. 4. 29. 노동부령 제97호로 전문 개정된 것) 제15조는 재요양의 인정요건을 규정하고 있으나, 이는 입법형식상 상위법령에 근거를 두지 아니한 것으로서, 그 성질 및 내용으로 보아 산업재해보상보험법(1994. 12. 22. 법률 제4826호로 전문 개정된 것) 소정의 요양관리에 관하여 행정청 내부의 사무처리준칙을 정하고 있는 것에 불과하여 대외적으로 법원이나 일반국민을 기속하는 효력은 없는 것이므로, 재요양불승인처분의 적법 여부는 여전히 같은 법 제40조( 구법 제9조의3에 해당)의 취지에 적합한 것인가 여부에 따라 판단하여야 한다.

[2] 재요양의 요건은 요양이 종결된 후에 실시하는 요양이라는 점을 제외하고는 요양의 요건과 다를 바가 없으므로, 재요양의 요건으로는 요양의 요건 외에 당초의 상병과 재요양 신청한 상병과 사이에 의학상 상당인과관계가 있다고 인정되고 당초의 상병의 치료종결시 또는 장해급여 지급 당시의 상병상태에 비하여 그 증상이 악화되어 재요양을 함으로써 치료효과가 기대될 수 있다는 의학적 소견이 있다는 것으로 족하다.

[3] 재요양의 요건으로서의 의학상 상당인과관계란 의학적 입장에서 볼 때 최초의 상병이 요양신청한 상병에 대하여 조건관계에 있을 뿐만 아니라 경험칙상 상대적으로 유력한 원인이 되는 관계가 있다는 뜻이고, 그 입증의 방법 및 정도는 반드시 직접증거에 의하여 의학적·자연과학적으로 명백히 증명되어야만 하는 것은 아니고 당해 근로자의 건강과 신체조건을 기준으로 간접사실에 의하여 추단될 정도로 입증되면 족할 것이지만, 이 정도에 이르지 못한 채 단순히 최초의 상병이 일반적으로 재발될 가능성이 있는 것만으로 상당인과관계를 인정할 수 없음은 물론, 조건적 인과관계가 의학적으로 명백히 부정되지 않는다고 하여 곧바로 상당인과관계를 인정할 수는 없다.

【참조조문】

[1] 산업재해보상보험법 제40조, 산업재해보상보험법시행규칙 제15조

[2] 산업재해보상보험법 제40조, 산업재해보상보험법시행규칙 제15조

[3] 산업재해보상보험법 제40조, 산업재해보상보험법시행규칙 제15조

【참조판례】

[1][2] 대법원 1995. 9. 15. 선고 94누12326 판결(공1995하, 3418) /[3] 대법원 1991. 9. 10. 선고 91누5433 판결(공1991, 2548), 대법원 1993. 10. 12. 선고 93누9408 판결(공1993하, 3101), 대법원 1994. 12. 13. 선고 94누9030 판결(공1995상, 511)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 1,966자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고,상고인】 원고 (소송대리인 법무법인 한울종합법률사무소 담당변호사 이기욱 외 1인)

【피고,피상고인】 근로복지공단

【원심판결】 서울고법 1996. 11. 14. 선고 96구893 판결

【주문】

상고를 기각한다. 상고비용은 원고의 부담으로 한다.

【이유】 상고이유를 본다.

제1점에 대하여

산업재해보상보험법시행규칙(1995. 4. 29. 노동부령 제97호로 전문 개정된 이후의 것) 제15조는 재요양의 인정요건을 규정하고 있으나, 이는 입법형식상 상위법령에 근거를 두지 아니한 것으로서, 그 성질 및 내용으로 보아 산업재해보상보험법(1994. 12. 22. 법률 제4826호로 전문 개정된 것) 소정의 요양관리에 관하여 행정청 내부의 사무처리준칙을 정하고 있는 것에 불과하여 대외적으로 법원이나 일반국민을 기속하는 효력은 없는 것이므로, 재요양불승인처분의 적법 여부는 여전히 같은 법 제40조( 구법 제9조의3에 해당)의 취지에 적합한 것인가 여부에 따라 판단하여야 하고, 재요양은 일단 요양이 종결된 후에는 당해 상병이 재발하거나 또는 당해 상병에 기인한 합병증에 대하여 실시하는 요양이라는 점 외에는 최초의 요양과 그 성질을 달리할 것이 아니므로, 재요양의 요건은 요양이 종결된 후에 실시하는 요양이라는 점을 제외하고는 요양의 요건과 다를 바가 없고, 따라서 재요양의 요건으로는 요양의 요건 외에 당초의 상병과 재요양 신청한 상병과 사이에 의학상 상당인과관계가 있다고 인정되고 당초의 상병의 치료종결시 또는 장해급여 지급 당시의 상병상태에 비하여 그 증상이 악화되어 재요양을 함으로써 치료효과가 기대될 수 있다는 의학적 소견이 있다는 것으로 족하고, 여기서 말하는 의학상 상당인과관계란 의학적 입장에서 볼 때 최초의 상병이 요양신청한 상병에 대하여 조건관계에 있을 뿐만 아니라 경험칙상 상대적으로 유력한 원인이 되는 관계가 있다는 뜻이고, 그 입증의 방법 및 정도는 반드시 직접증거에 의하여 의학적·자연과학적으로 명백히 증명되어야만 하는 것은 아니고 당해 근로자의 건강과 신체조건을 기준으로 간접사실에 의하여 추단될 정도로 입증되면 족할 것이지만, 이 정도에 이르지 못한 채 단순히 최초의 상병이 일반적으로 재발될 가능성이 있는 것만으로 상당인과관계를 인정할 수 없음은 물론, 조건적 인과관계가 의학적으로 명백히 부정되지 않는다고 하여 곧바로 상당인과관계를 인정할 수는 없다.

원심이 같은 취지에서, 원고가 1993. 7. 20. 재해를 입은 후 '국부에 완고한 신경증상(요추부위 동통 및 하지방사통)'이 남은 상태에서 1994. 6. 30. 당초의 상병인 제4-5요추 추간판탈출증에 대한 치료를 종결한 다음 장해급여를 받았는데, 다시 1995. 6. 23. 아침 세면 도중 허리에 심한 통증을 느끼고 재요양을 신청하여 요추 전산화단층촬영술을 실시한 결과 당초의 상병과 함께 제5요추-제1천추 추간판탈출증이 진단된 데에 대하여, 재요양신청한 상병과 당초의 상병 사이에 상당인과관계가 인정되지 않는다고 한 판단은 정당하고, 거기에 상고이유에서 지적한 바와 같은 법리오해나 채증법칙의 위배로 인한 사실오인 또는 심리미진의 위법이 있다고 할 수 없다. 논지는 이유 없다.

제2점에 대하여

원심판결은 그 판단경위를 상세히 밝히지는 아니하였지만, 당초의 상병인 제4-5요추 추간판탈출증 자체가 악화되었거나 다른 부위로 확대된 것이 것이 아니라는 판단을 전제로 하여 새롭게 추가된 상병인 제5요추-제1천추간 추간판탈출증을 중심으로 재요양요건의 구비 여부를 판단하였는바, 이러한 판단은 결과에 있어서 정당하고, 거기에 상고이유에서 지적한 바와 같은 판결 결과에 영향을 미친 심리미진이나 채증법칙 위배로 인한 사실오인의 위법이 없다. 논지는 이유 없다.

그러므로 상고를 기각하고 상고비용은 패소자의 부담으로 하기로 하여 관여 법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 이용훈(재판장) 박만호 박준서(주심) 김형선

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2003구합506 · 광주지법 2004-05-13
재요양불승인처분취소
#2
2000두5050 · 대법원 2002-04-26
재요양불승인처분취소
#3
2014두14587 · 대법원 2017-07-11
재요양불승인처분취소
#4
2007구단4950 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
재요양및추가상병불승인처분취소
#5
2012구단20260 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
재요양불승인처분취소

Cases citing this decision

2014두14587 · 대법원 2017-07-11
재요양불승인처분취소
2012구합2324 · 울산지법 2014-01-16
재요양불승인처분취소
2003구합506 · 광주지법 2004-05-13
재요양불승인처분취소
2002두1762 · 대법원 2002-04-26
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
2000두5050 · 대법원 2002-04-26
재요양불승인처분취소

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)