Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 92누11046

Revocation of Non-Payment of Survivor's Lump-Sum Compensation and Funeral Expenses유족보상일시금및장의비부지급처분취소

Decided1992. 11. 24. Court대법원Worker's family lost (employer/government prevailed)
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

A worker died in a traffic accident while on a business trip, but at the time of the accident he was driving around with women for personal reasons unrelated to his work duties. His surviving family sought to overturn the government's decision denying workers' compensation (산업재해보상보험) benefits, arguing the death occurred during a business trip. The Supreme Court ruled against the family, holding that this personal activity did not qualify as an occupational accident (업무상 재해).

Key takeaways
  • CaseAn employee on a business trip died in a car accident while driving around with women for personal leisure, unrelated to his job.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court denied workers' compensation, ruling the activity was a private matter outside the scope of business travel.
  • LessonNot all incidents during a business trip are covered—only activities reasonably connected to the assigned work duties qualify as occupational accidents (업무상 재해).
Issues
  • Whether a personal act unrelated to work duties, occurring during a business trip, can be recognized as an occupational accident
  • How broadly 'performance of duties' (업무수행성) should be interpreted in the context of activities during a business trip
Key reasoning

Even when an employee is on an official business trip, not every activity during that trip is automatically covered as work-related. The court found that driving around with women purely for personal enjoyment, with no connection to the assigned business purpose, went beyond the scope of activities normally incidental to a business trip. Such conduct was deemed an arbitrary, private act rather than part of performing work duties. Therefore, the 'performance of duties' requirement (업무수행성) necessary to establish an occupational accident was not satisfied, and the death could not be recognized as work-related.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

A case holding that, although the injury was sustained while the employee was on a business trip, it did not constitute an occupational injury because it was sustained while driving a passenger car to take women out for pleasure, unrelated to his duties, and thus constituted a personal act that departed from the performance of his duties.

Full text (English, AI translation) 5,621 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellant] Plaintiff's litigation representative, Attorney Kim Yang-il
[Defendant, Appellee] Head of Seoul Seobu District Labor Office
[Judgment Below] Seoul High Court Decision 91Gu26609, decided June 11, 1992

[Order]

The appeal is dismissed.
The costs of the appeal shall be borne by the Plaintiff.

[Reasoning]

The Court examines the grounds of appeal submitted by the Plaintiff's litigation representative.

The court below held as follows: an occupational accident under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) refers to an accident that occurs during the course of performing one's duties and is attributable to those duties. Where an employee leaves the workplace for business reasons and is on a business trip, the performance of duties is generally recognized throughout the entire course of the business trip; however, where conduct during the business trip is not conduct that is naturally or ordinarily incidental to the business trip, but is instead arbitrary or private conduct, the performance of duties cannot be recognized, and therefore an accident occurring in connection with such conduct does not constitute an occupational accident. Based on this premise, the court below found the following facts: the deceased, Non-party 1, who had been working as the regional sales manager at Non-party Korea Glaxo Co., Ltd. (hereinafter "Non-party Company"), the employer enrolled in industrial accident compensation insurance under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, was driving a Pride passenger vehicle (vehicle registration number 1 omitted) owned by Non-party 2 at approximately 5:55 p.m. on March 3, 1991, proceeding at a speed of about 75 kilometers per hour toward Daejeon along a right-curving road in front of Songjeong-ri, Yeonsan-myeon, Nonsan-gun, Chungcheongnam-do, when he crossed the center line and collided with a bus (vehicle registration number 2 omitted) traveling from the opposite direction, resulting in his death at the scene shortly thereafter. Meanwhile, around February 22, 1991, in order to boost the morale of its sales employees, Non-party Company planned to hold a "total mobilization advance rally" at Songnisan, in which 178 sales employees would participate, over a two-day, one-night period from March 4 to March 5, and established a detailed plan whereby sales employees belonging to the regional branch office were to gather at the Oncheonjang Hotel in Yuseong, Chungcheongnam-do, from 7:00 p.m. to around 8:00 p.m. on Sunday, March 3, stay overnight there, and depart for Songnisan the following morning. Accordingly, Non-party 1, who was the regional sales manager at the head office and had been appointed as the overall commander of the said rally, was also scheduled to arrive at the said Oncheonjang Hotel around 7:00 p.m. on March 3; however, the day before, around 5:00 p.m. on March 2, Non-party 3, the head of Non-party Company, called him, spoke of certain work-related difficulties, and asked him to come down to Daejeon early the next day to talk. Accordingly, on the morning of March 3, Non-party 1 departed Seoul by express bus and arrived at the Daejeon Express Bus Terminal at around 11:00 a.m. There, the deceased Non-party 1 borrowed the Pride passenger vehicle (vehicle registration number 1 omitted) owned by Non-party 2, an employee of Non-party Company, and then, together with Non-party 3, went to a nearby coffee shop, where they met two women in their early forties, Non-party 4 and Non-party 5, who were acquainted with Non-party 3. The four of them decided to go for a drive and have a meal together; the deceased Non-party 1 personally drove the vehicle to a restaurant in Jinsan-myeon, Geumsan-gun, Chungcheongnam-do, where they ate native chicken and spent time. On the way back, the deceased Non-party 1 suggested taking a detour toward Nonsan for a drive, seated one of the two women in the front passenger seat and, with Non-party 3 and the other woman in the back seat, drove the vehicle toward Nonsan, whereupon the above traffic accident occurred. Based on these findings, the court below determined that the act of the deceased Non-party 1 in driving the vehicle to take the women out for pleasure, unrelated to his duties, could not be said to be conduct falling within the scope of activity naturally or ordinarily incidental to Non-party 1's business trip, and that this must be regarded as private conduct outside the scope of the performance of duties; therefore, the death of the deceased Non-party 1 does not constitute an occupational accident.

If the facts are as lawfully established by the court below, the above determination of the court below is justified and acceptable in light of the content of the relevant statutory provisions (see this Court's Decision 84Nu403, decided December 24, 1985), and it cannot be said that the judgment below erred in misunderstanding the legal principles concerning occupational accidents under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act as argued in the grounds of appeal. Moreover, this Court's Decision 90Nu10483, decided April 9, 1991, cited in the grounds of appeal, concerns a case with facts different from the present case, and thus it cannot be said that the above determination of the court below conflicts with the purport of that decision. Accordingly, the argument is without merit.

Therefore, the Plaintiff's appeal is dismissed, and the costs of the appeal are to be borne by the Plaintiff, the losing party. The opinions of the participating Justices being unanimous, it is so ordered as stated in the Order.

【판결요지】

출장중에 입은 재해이지만 업무와 관계없이 여자들을 태우고 놀러다니기 위하여 승용차를 운전하다가 입은 것으로서 업무수행을 벗어난 사적인 행위라고 보아 업무상 재해에 해당하지 아니한다고 한 사례.

【참조조문】

산업재해보상보험법 제3조 제1항

【참조판례】

대법원 1985.12.24. 선고 84누403 판결(공1986,333)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 2,022자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 상고인】 원고 소송대리인 변호사 김양일

【피고, 피상고인】 서울서부지방노동사무소장

【원심판결】 서울고등법원 1992.6.11. 선고 91구26609 판결

【주 문】

상고를 기각한다.

상고비용은 원고의 부담으로 한다.

【이 유】 원고소송대리인의 상고이유에 대하여 판단한다.

원심은, 산업재해보상보험법상의 업무상 재해라 함은 업무수행중 그 업무에 기인하여 발생한 재해를 말하는바, 근로자가 업무관계로 사업장을 떠나 출장중일 경우 일단 출장과정 전반에 걸쳐 그 업무수행성이 인정된다 하겠으나, 출장중의 행위가 출장에 당연히 또는 통상 수반되는 범위 내의 행위가 아닌 자의적 행위나 사적 행위인 경우에는 업무수행성을 인정할 수 없고, 따라서 그와 같은 행위에 즈음하여 발생한 재해는 업무상 재해에 해당하지 아니한다고 전제한 다음, 산업재해보상보험법상의 보험가입사업주인 소외 주식회사 한국그락소(이 뒤에는 소외 회사라고 약칭한다)에서 지방담당 영업부장으로 근무하여 오던 망 소외 1이, 1991.3.3. 17:55경 소외 2 소유의 (차량등록번호 1 생략) 프라이드 승용차를 운전하여 충남 논산군 연산면 송정리 앞의 우회전 커브길을 대전 방향으로 시속 약 75킬로미터의 속력으로 진행하던 중 중앙선을 침범한 잘못으로 반대방향에서 진행하여 오던 (차량등록번호 2 생략) 버스와 충돌하는 사고를 일으켜 그 무렵 현장에서 사망한 사실, 그런데 소외 회사는 1991.2.22.경 소속 영업사원들의 사기진작을 위하여 3.4.부터 3.5.까지 1박 2일 동안 속리산에서 영업사원 178명이 참여하는 총력전진대회를 개최하기로 계획하여 지방분실 소속 영업사원들로 하여금 일요일인 3.3. 19:00부터 20:00경까지 충남 유성 소재 온천장호텔에 집결하여 그 곳에서 1박 후 다음날 아침 속리산으로 출발하도록 세부계획을 수립한 사실, 이에 본사 소속 지방담당 영업부장으로서 위 총력전진대회의 총대장으로 임명된 소외 1도 3.3. 19:00경 위 온천장호텔에 도착할 예정이었는데, 그 하루 전인 3.2. 17:00경 소외 회사장인 소외 3이 전화를 걸어 업무상의 애로사항을 말하면서 다음날 일찍 대전으로 내려와 이야기를 하자고 하기에 3.3. 오전에 고속버스편으로 서울을 출발하여 11:00경 대전 고속버스터미날에 도착한 사실, 망 소외 1은 그곳에서 소외 회사의 직원인 위 소외 2로부터 그의 소유인 (차량등록번호 1 생략) 프라이드 승용차를 빌린 다음 위 소외 3과 함께 인근 다방으로 가서 위 소외 3과 안면이 있다는 40대 초반의 소외 4, 소외 5 등 2명의 여자를 만나 4명이 함께 드라이브 겸 식사를 하기로 하여 손수 위 승용차를 운전, 충남 금산군 진산면 소재 음식점으로 가서 토종닭을 먹으며 소일하고, 이어서 돌아오는 길에 망 소외 1이 드라이브 겸 논산쪽으로 돌아가자며 두 여자 중 한 명은 조수석에, 위 소외 3과 다른 한 여자는 뒷좌석에 태우고 위 승용차를 운전하여 논산으로 갔다가 위 교통사고에 이른 사실 등을 인정하고, 이와 같이 망 소외 1이 업무와 관계없이 여자들을 태우고 놀러다니기 위하여 위 승용차를 운전한 행위를 망 소외 1의 출장에 당연히 또는 통상 수반되는 범위 내의 행위라고 말할 수 없고, 이는 업무수행을 벗어난 사적인 행위라고 보아야 할 것이므로, 망 소외 1의 사망은 업무상 재해에 해당하지 아니한다고 판단하였다.

사실관계가 원심이 적법하게 확정한 바와 같다면, 원심의 위와 같은 판단은 관계법령의 규정내용에 비추어 정당한 것으로 수긍이 되고(당원 1985.12.24.선고 84누403 판결 참조), 원심판결에 소론과 같이 산업재해보상보험법 소정의 업무상 재해에 관한 법리를 오해한 위법이 있다고 볼 수 없을 뿐더러, 소론이 내세우는 당원 1991.4.9.선고 90누10483 판결은 이 사건과는 사안이 다른 사건에 관한 것이어서, 원심의 위와 같은 판단이 그 판결의 취지와 상반된다고 볼 수도 없으므로, 논지는 받아들일 것이 못된다.

그러므로 원고의 상고를 기각하고 상고비용은 패소자인 원고의 부담으로 하기로 관여 법관의 의견이 일치되어 주문과 같이 판결한다.

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2013두17817 · 대법원 2014-02-27
Revocation of Non-Payment Disposition of Survivor Benefits a
#2
2016구합9800 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits and Fu
#3
2008구합28974 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Compensation an
#4
2009구합23693 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
유족보상및장의비부지급결정처분취소
#5
2015구합65261 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits and Fu

Cases citing this decision

2005두5185 · 대법원 2006-03-24
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
2004두6709 · 대법원 2004-11-11
유족보상금및장의비부지급처분취소
98두2973 · 대법원 1998-05-29
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
97구41471 · 서울고법 1998-03-26
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
97누8892 · 대법원 1997-09-26
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits, etc.

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)