Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 2013두17817

Revocation of Non-Payment Disposition of Survivor Benefits and Funeral Expenses유족급여및장의비부지급처분취소

Decided2014. 02. 27. Court대법원Employer (Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service) won; the bereaved family's claim for survivor benefits was denied
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

A worker died in a vehicle accident while commuting to work. The court ruled this was not a work-related injury (업무상 재해) because the vehicle was not provided by the employer and the commute was not under the employer's control or management. The Supreme Court reaffirmed that commuting accidents can only be recognized as work-related injuries when the employer maintains control over the means of transportation, and dismissed the bereaved family's appeal, ruling in favor of the Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service (근로복지공단).

Key takeaways
  • CaseA worker died in a car accident while commuting to work using his own or a non-employer-provided vehicle.
  • OutcomeThe court denied survivor benefits because the commute was not under the employer's control or using employer-provided transportation.
  • LessonWorkers should note that commuting accidents are only covered as work injuries if the employer directly provides or controls the transportation method.
Issues
  • Whether an accident occurring during a worker's commute qualifies as a work-related injury
  • Whether an accident is work-related when it occurs while using transportation not provided by the employer
  • The scope of what constitutes an employer's 'control and management' over a worker's commute
Key reasoning

Under Korean labor law, an accident occurring during a worker's commute is only recognized as a work-related injury if either (1) the worker was using transportation provided by the employer, or (2) the commuting process was under the employer's direct control and management, making it closely and inseparably connected to the worker's job duties. In this case, neither condition was met—the vehicle involved in the accident was not provided by the employer, and the employer had no supervisory authority over the worker's commute. Therefore, the fatal accident could not be classified as a work-related injury eligible for survivor benefits (유족급여) and funeral expense compensation (장의비).

Full text (English, AI translation) 3,623 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellant] Plaintiff (Counsel: Attorney Lee Deok-gi)
[Defendant, Appellee] Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service
[Judgment Below] Seoul High Court Decision 2012Nu37489 decided June 21, 2013

[Order]

The appeal is dismissed. The costs of the appeal shall be borne by the Plaintiff.

[Reasoning]

The grounds of appeal are examined.

Generally, in a worker's commute to and from work, the choice of method and route of commuting is left to the worker, and thus the commute cannot ordinarily be said to be under the control and management of the employer. Since the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) does not contain any special provision recognizing an accident occurring while a worker commutes by an ordinary method and route as an occupational accident, an accident occurring during commuting cannot be deemed an occupational accident merely because the method and route of commuting chosen by the worker were ordinary. Accordingly, in order for an accident occurring during commuting to constitute an occupational accident, it must be a case where the worker's commuting process can be deemed to be under the control and management of the employer—such as where the worker uses transportation provided by the employer, or transportation that the employer has caused to be used in a manner equivalent thereto; or where, although outwardly it appears that the choice of method and route of commuting was left to the worker, the worker in fact performed work duties during the commute, or handled urgent business matters related to work before or after the ordinary commuting hours, or, due to the nature of the work or the particular characteristics of the workplace, had no real choice as to the method of commuting such that it cannot be said that the choice was actually left to the worker, and the commute is judged to be so closely and inseparably connected with the work, in a manner that is very close in the ordinary sense, as to be socially regarded as intimately related to the performance of duties (see Supreme Court en banc Decision 2005Du12572 decided September 28, 2007; Supreme Court Decision 2010Du184 decided April 29, 2010, etc.).

The court below determined, upon comprehensive consideration of the circumstances set forth in its reasoning, that Nonparty 2, who provided the vehicle in this case to Nonparty 1, the Plaintiff's husband, could not be deemed to be Nonparty 1's employer, and that there was no fact that Nonparty 3 Company caused Nonparty 2 to provide the vehicle in this case to Nonparty 1 and others; therefore, it is difficult to view the accident in this case as an accident that occurred while using transportation provided by the employer for commuting purposes or transportation that could be deemed to have been provided by the employer, and accordingly held that Nonparty 1's death does not constitute an occupational accident.

In light of the legal principles set forth above and the record, the court below's fact-finding and determination as above are justified, and there is no error, as argued in the grounds of appeal, of exceeding the bounds of the principle of free evaluation of evidence in violation of the rules of logic and experience, or of misapprehending the legal principles concerning occupational accidents.

Therefore, the appeal is dismissed, and the costs of the appeal are to be borne by the losing party. This decision is rendered by the unanimous opinion of the participating Justices as set forth in the Order.

Justice Kim Shin (Presiding Justice), Min Il-yeong, Lee In-bok (Justice in charge), Park Bo-yeong

【참조조문】

산업재해보상보험법 제5조 제1호, 제37조 제1항 제1호 (다)목

【참조판례】

대법원 2007. 9. 28. 선고 2005두12572 전원합의체 판결(공2007하, 1685), 대법원 2010. 4. 29. 선고 2010두184 판결(공2010상, 1038)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 1,307자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 상고인】 원고 (소송대리인 변호사 이덕기)

【피고, 피상고인】 근로복지공단

【원심판결】 서울고법 2013. 6. 21. 선고 2012누37489 판결

【주 문】

상고를 기각한다. 상고비용은 원고가 부담한다.

【이 유】 상고이유에 대하여 판단한다.

근로자의 출퇴근은 일반적으로 출퇴근 방법과 경로의 선택이 근로자에게 유보되어 있어 통상 사업주의 지배·관리하에 있다고 할 수 없고, 산업재해보상보험법에서 근로자가 통상적인 방법과 경로에 의하여 출퇴근하는 중에 발생한 사고를 업무상 재해로 인정한다는 특별한 규정을 따로 두고 있지 않은 이상, 근로자가 선택한 출퇴근 방법과 경로의 선택이 통상적이라는 이유만으로 출퇴근 중에 발생한 재해가 업무상의 재해로 될 수는 없다. 따라서 출퇴근 중에 발생한 재해가 업무상의 재해로 되기 위해서는 사업주가 제공한 교통수단을 근로자가 이용하거나 또는 사업주가 이에 준하는 교통수단을 이용하도록 하는 경우, 외형상으로는 출퇴근의 방법과 그 경로의 선택이 근로자에게 맡겨진 것으로 보이지만 출퇴근 도중에 업무를 행하였다거나 통상적인 출퇴근시간 이전 혹은 이후에 업무와 관련한 긴급한 사무처리나 그 밖에 업무의 특성이나 근무지의 특수성 등으로 출퇴근의 방법 등에 선택의 여지가 없어 실제로는 그것이 근로자에게 유보된 것이라고 볼 수 없고 사회통념상 아주 긴밀한 정도로 업무와 밀접·불가분의 관계에 있다고 판단되는 경우 등 근로자의 출퇴근 과정이 사업주의 지배·관리하에 있다고 볼 수 있는 경우라야 한다(대법원 2007. 9. 28. 선고 2005두12572 전원합의체 판결, 대법원 2010. 4. 29. 선고 2010두184 판결 등 참조).

원심은 그 판시와 같은 사정들을 종합하여 보면 원고의 남편인 소외 1에게 이 사건 차량을 제공한 소외 2를 소외 1의 사용자라고 볼 수 없고, 소외 3 회사가 소외 2로 하여금 소외 1 등에게 이 사건 차량을 제공하도록 한 사실도 없으므로, 이 사건 사고를 사용자가 출퇴근용으로 제공한 교통수단이나 사용자가 제공한 것으로 볼 수 있는 교통수단을 이용하던 중에 발생한 사고로 보기 어렵다는 이유로 소외 1의 사망이 업무상 재해에 해당하지 않는다고 판단하였다.

앞서 본 법리와 기록에 비추어 보면 원심의 위와 같은 사실인정과 판단은 정당하고, 거기에 상고이유 주장과 같이 논리와 경험의 법칙을 위반하여 자유심증주의의 한계를 벗어나거나, 업무상 재해에 관한 법리를 오해한 위법이 없다.

그러므로 상고를 기각하고 상고비용은 패소자가 부담하도록 하여, 관여 대법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 김신(재판장) 민일영 이인복(주심) 박보영

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2005두12572 · 대법원 2007-09-28
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivor Benefits, etc.
#2
2003구합29286 · 서울행정법원 2004-11-10
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits, etc.
#3
2017구단10732 · 광주지방법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits and Fu
#4
2015구단1106 · 전주지방법원 0001-01-01
유족급여 부지급 결정 취소
#5
97누6339 · 대법원 1997-09-12
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits, etc.

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)