Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 2005두12572

Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivor Benefits, etc.유족급여등부지급처분취소

Decided2007. 09. 28. Court대법원Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service (근로복지공단) won; the denial of survivor benefits was upheld.
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

A worker died in a traffic accident while commuting to work in his own car, and his surviving family sought survivor benefits (유족급여) under industrial accident compensation insurance, claiming this was a work-related accident (업무상 재해). The Supreme Court held that a commuting accident can only be recognized as work-related if the worker used transportation provided by the employer or was otherwise under the employer's control and management during the commute. The Court ruled that merely commuting by an ordinary method and route is not sufficient to establish a work-related accident, though five justices dissented, arguing that reasonable commuting itself should be recognized as work-related.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA worker died in a car accident while driving his own vehicle to work using his usual commuting route.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court ruled this was not a work-related accident because the employer had no control over his personal commute.
  • LessonWorkers should note that commuting injuries are covered by industrial accident insurance only when the employer provides or controls the transportation, not for ordinary self-arranged commutes.
Issues
  • Requirements for recognizing a commuting accident as a work-related accident (업무상 재해)
  • Scope of the employer's control and management (지배·관리) over an employee's commute
  • Whether commuting itself is sufficiently work-related to trigger industrial accident compensation
Key reasoning

The majority reasoned that the choice of commuting method and route is generally left to the worker's own discretion, meaning the commute is not typically under the employer's control or management (지배·관리). Because of this lack of employer control, simply commuting in an ordinary and customary manner does not automatically qualify as a work-related accident under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법). A commuting accident is recognized as work-related only in exceptional cases—for example, when the worker uses transportation provided by the employer or equivalent means, placing the commute effectively under the employer's control. Since the deceased worker used his own personal vehicle and was not under any such employer control, his death was not deemed a work-related accident. Five dissenting justices argued that this narrow interpretation was outdated and that reasonably necessary commuting should be treated as connected to work duties.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

[Majority Opinion] "Occupational accident" under Article 4, Subparagraph 1 of the former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) (before its full amendment by Act No. 8373 of April 11, 2007) means an accident that occurs due to the relevant work performed, based on an employment contract between an employee and a business owner, under the business owner's control and management, in the course of performing the relevant work duties or the ordinary activities incidental thereto. However, even if an employee's commuting to and from work is closely and inseparably related to the work of providing labor, since the choice of method and route of commuting is generally left to the employee, it cannot generally be said to be under the control and management of the business owner, and since the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act does not separately contain any special provision recognizing an accident occurring while an employee commutes by an ordinary method and route as an occupational accident, an accident occurring during commuting cannot become an occupational accident merely because the method and route of commuting chosen by the employee were ordinary. Therefore, in order for an accident occurring during commuting to constitute an occupational accident, it must be a case where the employee's commuting process can be regarded as being under the business owner's control and management, such as where the employee uses transportation provided by the business owner or uses transportation equivalent thereto as arranged by the business owner.

[Dissenting Opinion by Justices Kim Young-ran, Park Si-hwan, Kim Ji-hyung, Kim Neung-hwan, and Jeon Su-an] (A) The former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (before its full amendment by Act No. 8373 of April 11, 2007) merely provides in Article 4, Subparagraph 1 that "occupational accident means an employee's injury, disease, physical disability, or death caused by occupational reasons," without expressly providing which specific cases constitute occupational accidents. Therefore, whether something constitutes an occupational accident should be determined by interpretation of Article 4, Subparagraph 1 of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, and should not be governed by whether the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act separately contains a provision recognizing it as an occupational accident.

(B) Commuting is a repetitive act by which an employee travels back and forth between his or her residence and workplace in order to provide labor, and is an essential process that must necessarily be undergone in order to provide labor. The place of work or the times of commuting are not matters that an employee may freely determine, but are entirely bound by the business owner's decisions and policies. That is, the place of work is already fixed, and the times of commuting must also follow what the business owner unilaterally determines. Furthermore, whether such commuting is under the business owner's control and management should be understood normatively, and should not be evaluated by the mere physical or spatial factor of whether the relevant act took place inside or outside the workplace. Since commuting, like work itself, is an act closely and inseparably related to work, the fact that it takes place outside the workplace cannot negate that it is under the business owner's control and management.

(C) In conclusion, an employee's commuting is closely and inseparably related to work, and since the reasonable method and route for commuting are determined by the place of work and commuting times set by the business owner, commuting by a reasonable method and route should be regarded as being under the business owner's control and management, and an accident occurring in the course of such commuting constitutes an occupational accident.

[Concurring Opinion by Justices Yang Sung-tae, Kim Hwang-sik, and Ahn Dae-hee, supplementing the Majority Opinion] The right to receive industrial accident insurance benefits recognized to employees, including the right to receive such benefits arising from commuting accidents, is a social basic right that is concretized only by the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, and its main content is the right to actively demand benefits. Therefore, whether and to what extent such a right is specifically granted should be determined by considering, above all, factors such as the possibility of securing financial resources according to the economic level of the State and the people, prior to considering necessity or policy preference. To interpret beyond the legislative intent in an area that should be resolved legislatively through reasonable communication and coordination among the parties concerned, taking into account various socio-political factors, is contrary to constitutional principles. Since a bill to amend the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act is currently pending before the National Assembly, it is appropriate that whether to recognize commuting accidents as occupational accidents, and if so, to what extent among commuting accidents should be regarded as belonging to occupational accidents, be determined by legislation setting the boundaries from a social security perspective.

[Concurring Opinion by Justice Lee Hong-hun, supplementing the Majority Opinion] Before comprehensive institutional improvements are made regarding how to set the requirements for recognizing commuting accidents as occupational accidents, what level of insurance benefits to provide, and how much to raise insurance premium rates in order to secure the necessary financial conditions, interpreting accidents occurring during ordinary commuting as, in principle, constituting occupational accidents may cause a financial crisis in industrial accident insurance and considerable confusion, including anticipated resistance from business owners due to increased insurance premium rates, which could rather hinder the promotion of public welfare for employees as a whole. However, even before such improvement measures are established, it is desirable to gradually expand, through interpretation of the current law, the scope of recognizing accidents occurring during commuting as occupational accidents.

[Concurring Opinion by Justices Kim Young-ran, Park Si-hwan, and Kim Ji-hyung, supplementing the Dissenting Opinion] Whether viewed in terms of the "language" or the "legislative intent" of the two statutory provisions of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act and the Public Officials Pension Act (공무원연금법), there is no basis for interpreting the meaning of "occupational accident" under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act differently from "accident due to official duty" under the Public Officials Pension Act, and treating the same type of accident—namely, accidents occurring during commuting—entirely differently as between ordinary employees and public officials, etc., with regard to whether to grant the right to receive insurance benefits, on grounds such as "a marked difference in the scale of the State's financial burden," "differences in the insurer," and "whether contributions have been paid," is contrary to the principle of equity or the constitutional principle of equality, and raises doubts as to its constitutionality.

[Supplementary Concurring Opinion by Justice Ahn Dae-hee to the Majority Opinion] It cannot be said to violate the principle of equality for the State to selectively expand benefits in consideration of various circumstances, including its financial conditions. To give a fragmentary and limited interpretation to a statute concerning matters belonging to social basic rights not only violates constitutional principles but also fails to genuinely guarantee and promote the social welfare of the people as provided in the Constitution. Rather, it causes confusion by bringing about unprepared policies without social measures, and creates the problem of making it impossible to provide appropriate protection in areas requiring prompt protection. It is exceedingly dangerous to adopt, through a fragmentary interpretation of a statute, a matter that should, even from a legislative standpoint, be carefully decided by comprehensively considering all circumstances.

Full text (English, AI translation) 71,052 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellant] Plaintiff
[Defendant, Appellee] Korea Workers' Compensation & Welfare Service (근로복지공단)
[Judgment Below] Seoul High Court Judgment 2004Nu25665, rendered September 2, 2005

[Order]

The appeal is dismissed. The costs of the appeal shall be borne by the Plaintiff.

[Reasoning]

The grounds of appeal are examined.

1. "Occupational accident" under Article 4, Item 1 of the former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (Act No. 8373, wholly amended on April 11, 2007, before amendment; hereinafter the "Industrial Accident Insurance Act") refers to an accident arising from the performance of work duties, or the ordinary activities incidental thereto, under the direction and control of the business owner, based on the employment contract between the worker and the business owner. However, even though a worker's commute to and from work is closely and inseparably related to the work of providing labor, the choice of method and route of commuting is generally left to the worker, and thus cannot ordinarily be said to be under the direction and control of the business owner; and since the Industrial Accident Insurance Act contains no special provision recognizing as an occupational accident an accident occurring while a worker is commuting to and from work by the ordinary method and route, an accident occurring during commuting cannot become an occupational accident merely because the method and route of commuting chosen by the worker were ordinary. Therefore, in order for an accident occurring during commuting to become an occupational accident, it must be a case where the worker's commuting process can be viewed as being under the direction and control of the business owner, such as where the worker uses transportation provided by the business owner, or the business owner has the worker use transportation equivalent thereto (see Supreme Court Decision 99Du9025 delivered on December 24, 1999; Supreme Court Decision 2005Du4458 delivered on September 29, 2005, etc.).

The court below, citing the reasoning of the first instance judgment, found the following facts: the deceased, the plaintiff's husband, joined Nonparty 1 Co., Ltd., located at (lot number omitted), Neungseo-myeon, Yeoju-gun, Gyeonggi-do, as a technical employee in charge of maintenance and repair work; on March 9, 2002, at approximately 08:10, while commuting to work using his own Excel passenger car with license plate number (vehicle number omitted) (Gyeonggi), he suffered a traffic accident at the Bokha 2 Bridge intersection in Mam-ri, Bubal-eup, Icheon-si, in which the left front fender and driver's side door of his vehicle were struck by a vehicle driven by Nonparty 2; and as a result of this accident, he died at approximately 09:20 the same day at Icheon Fatima Hospital, the underlying cause of death being (suspected) intercostal artery hemorrhage, the intermediate cause being left traumatic hemothorax, etc., and the direct cause of death being (suspected) hypovolemic shock, etc. The plaintiff filed a claim with the defendant for survivor benefits and funeral expenses on the ground that the deceased's death constituted an occupational accident, but on April 23, 2002, the defendant issued the disposition at issue in this case refusing to pay survivor benefits and funeral expenses to the plaintiff on the ground that the deceased died in a traffic accident that occurred while he was commuting to work using his own passenger car, and thus his death did not constitute an occupational accident. The deceased's working hours were set from 08:30 to 18:00 (until 15:00 on Saturdays), and from the time he joined Nonparty 1 Co., Ltd. until the traffic accident occurred, the deceased had commuted to and from work by directly driving his own passenger car. Based on these findings, the court below determined that the traffic accident could not be said to have occurred while using transportation provided by the business owner for commuting purposes, and furthermore, that it could not be recognized, for any reason, that the deceased suffered the traffic accident while performing his duties, or that the deceased's commuting process was in a state under the direction or control of the employer; therefore, the accident suffered by the deceased could not be said to constitute an occupational accident. Examining this in light of the legal principles set forth above and the record, this determination is justified, and there is no illegality, as alleged in the grounds of appeal, in violation of the rules of evidence or misunderstanding of the legal principles concerning occupational accidents.

Therefore, the appeal is dismissed, and the costs of the appeal are to be borne by the losing party. It is so decided as stated in the Order.

This judgment reflects the unanimous opinion of the Justices involved except for the dissenting opinion of Justice Kim Young-ran, Justice Park Si-hwan, Justice Kim Ji-hyung, Justice Kim Neung-hwan, and Justice Jeon Su-an, and there are supplementary opinions to the majority opinion by Justice Yang Seung-tae, Justice Kim Hwang-sik, Justice Lee Hong-hoon, and Justice Ahn Dae-hee, a supplementary opinion to the dissenting opinion by Justice Kim Young-ran, Justice Park Si-hwan, and Justice Kim Ji-hyung, and a further supplementary opinion to the majority opinion by Justice Ahn Dae-hee.

2. Dissenting opinion of Justice Kim Young-ran, Justice Park Si-hwan, Justice Kim Ji-hyung, Justice Kim Neung-hwan, and Justice Jeon Su-an

The majority opinion merely follows the conventional position of prior Supreme Court precedents regarding whether an accident occurring during commuting is recognized as an occupational accident, but we cannot agree with the majority opinion for the following reasons.

A. The majority opinion, while acknowledging that a worker's commuting is closely and inseparably related to work, holds that an accident occurring during commuting cannot be considered an occupational accident on the ground that the choice of method and route of commuting is left to the worker and thus not under the direction and control of the business owner. However, this disregards the work-dependent nature of commuting and cannot be deemed reasonable.

Commuting is a repeated act by which a worker travels back and forth between his residence and workplace in order to provide labor, and is an essential process that must necessarily be undergone in order to provide labor. Without commuting, there is no provision of labor; without a workplace, there is no commuting. However, the workplace and the times of commuting are not matters that the worker may freely determine, but are entirely bound by the decisions and policies of the business owner. The workplace is already fixed, and the times of commuting must also follow what the business owner has unilaterally determined.

If commuting is travel back and forth between residence and workplace, and the times of commuting and the workplace are already fixed, then the method and route of commuting must likewise be regarded as already fixed accordingly, so long as they are reasonable methods and routes in light of common social norms. This is because, while the worker may choose the method of commuting, i.e., the means of transportation, the range of means of transportation that may be recognized as reasonable in light of common social norms is limited by the commuting times and the location of the workplace, and the route of commuting is likewise determined by the means of transportation chosen within that range. The majority opinion overlooks this work-dependent nature of commuting.

Therefore, if commuting is a repeated act by a reasonable method and route in light of common social norms, it is bound by the commuting times and workplace set by the business owner, and as such, the commuting process must be regarded as being under the direction and control of the business owner. Nevertheless, the majority opinion evaluates this type of commuting act as belonging to the same category as a worker's private acts, which cannot but be deemed unjust.

B. Although the majority opinion does not explicitly state so, and thus it cannot be known for certain, if the majority opinion considers that commuting is not under the direction and control of the business owner because it is conduct occurring outside the workplace, it must be pointed out that this misunderstands the meaning of being under the direction and control of the business owner.

Whether something is under the direction and control of the business owner is a matter of interpretation of Article 4, Item 1 of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, which should be grasped normatively, and should not be evaluated by the simple physical and spatial factor of whether the conduct in question occurred inside or outside the workplace. This point is also supported by the fact that the Supreme Court has, even with respect to accidents occurring outside the workplace, recognized them as occupational accidents in certain cases related to work.

The Supreme Court recognizes that where a worker leaves the workplace and is on a business trip, the entire process of the business trip is under the direction of the business owner (see Supreme Court Decision 97Nu8892 delivered on September 26, 1997; Supreme Court Decision 2005Du5185 delivered on March 24, 2006, etc.). Even in the case of a business trip, the worker may choose the method and route of travel to and from the destination of the business trip, just as in the case of commuting. Therefore, if the position is that travel to and from the destination of a business trip is under the direction and control of the business owner, then by the same reasoning, it is right to recognize that commuting is likewise under the direction and control of the business owner.

Furthermore, the Supreme Court, even where the conduct itself is not work conduct, recognizes it as being under the direction and control of the business owner if it is reasonable conduct incidental to work conduct in light of common social norms, and thus recognizes accidents occurring outside the workplace during rest periods as occupational accidents (see Supreme Court Decision 2004Du6549 delivered on December 24, 2004; Supreme Court Decision 2005Du6423 delivered on October 28, 2005, etc.).

Following this position of precedent, whether something is under the direction and control of the business owner should be determined not by the location where the conduct in question occurred, but by the nature and content of the conduct, i.e., whether it is work conduct or conduct closely and inseparably related to work. If so, since commuting is likewise conduct closely and inseparably related to work, it cannot be denied to be under the direction and control of the business owner merely because it is conduct occurring outside the workplace. Above all, there is no reason to treat an accident occurring outside the workplace during a rest period differently from an accident occurring during commuting.

C. The majority opinion holds that, since the Industrial Accident Insurance Act contains no special provision separately recognizing as an occupational accident an accident occurring while a worker is commuting by the ordinary route and method, an accident occurring during commuting cannot be considered an occupational accident merely because the method and route of commuting chosen were ordinary. However, this too is difficult to accept.

Article 4, Item 1 of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act merely provides that "occupational accident means an injury, disease, physical disability, or death of a worker due to an occupational cause," and does not contain any explicit provision as to specifically which cases constitute occupational accidents. Therefore, whether something constitutes an occupational accident should be determined by the interpretation of Article 4, Item 1 of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, and should not be governed by whether the Industrial Accident Insurance Act contains a separate provision recognizing it as an occupational accident.

As demonstrated above, an accident occurring during commuting, if it occurred during commuting by a reasonable method and route, is an accident occurring while under the direction and control of the business owner, and must be regarded as an occupational accident within the meaning of the above statutory provision. Therefore, even if the Industrial Accident Insurance Act does not contain a separate provision recognizing an accident occurring during commuting as an occupational accident, an accident occurring during commuting of the type described above should properly be recognized as an occupational accident.

Moreover, according to the majority opinion, there would be no way to explain the reason why "accidents during business trips" or "accidents during rest periods," for which the Industrial Accident Insurance Act likewise contains no separate provision recognizing them as occupational accidents, are nevertheless recognized as occupational accidents.

Furthermore, comparing this with the provisions of the Public Officials Pension Act (공무원연금법), the Public Officials Pension Act likewise contains no separate provision recognizing as a public-duty accident an accident occurring while a public official is commuting by the ordinary route and method. Therefore, following the reasoning of the majority opinion, an accident occurring while a public official is commuting should also not constitute a public-duty accident. However, the Supreme Court has consistently recognized this as a public-duty accident (see Supreme Court Decision 92Nu19309 delivered on June 29, 1993, etc.). The reasoning of the majority opinion is clearly at odds with this position of the Supreme Court in this respect as well.

Therefore, the reasoning of the majority opinion, that an accident occurring during commuting cannot be considered an occupational accident because the Industrial Accident Insurance Act does not contain a separate provision recognizing it as such, cannot be deemed appropriate in any respect.

D. The majority opinion holds that the general process of commuting cannot be said to be under the direction and control of the business owner, and that only in cases such as where the worker uses transportation provided by the business owner, or the business owner has the worker use transportation equivalent thereto, is the worker's commuting process under the direction and control of the business owner. As stated above, this view is unjust in that it overlooks the work-dependent nature of commuting and thereby views the state of being under the direction and control of the business owner too restrictively. Furthermore, this view leads to the following unreasonable results and raises the possibility of unconstitutionality in violation of the principles of equity and equality.

First, if, as in the majority opinion, an occupational accident is recognized only where the business owner provides transportation or has the worker use transportation equivalent thereto, while it is not recognized as an occupational accident where the worker uses public transportation or a private vehicle, or commutes on foot, this is in itself clearly unfair. Moreover, this leads to the unreasonable result that, from the standpoint of business owners, a business owner who provides a commuting vehicle or pays vehicle maintenance costs for the welfare of workers bears a greater burden of liability for occupational accidents than a business owner who does not do so. Also, from the standpoint of workers, considering the reality that commuting buses are provided more often to workers of large corporations than to workers of small and medium-sized enterprises, it cannot be avoided that a criticism arises of a contradictory result whereby workers in poor working environments who cannot even use a commuting bus, and who thus have a greater need for protection, are instead denied recognition as having suffered an occupational accident.

Next, according to the majority opinion, there would inevitably be inconsistency in relation to public-duty accidents of public officials and others. As noted above, the Industrial Accident Insurance Act defines an occupational accident as "an injury, disease, physical disability, or death of a worker due to an occupational cause" (Article 4, Item 1; the current Industrial Accident Insurance Act's Article 5, Item 1 provides the same), and the Public Officials Pension Act defines a public-duty accident as "disease, injury, and accident due to public duty" (Article 25); there is no basis in the wording of these respective statutory provisions for interpreting their meanings differently. Nevertheless, the Supreme Court has recognized as a public-duty accident a case where a public official suffers an accident occurring while commuting by the ordinary route and method (see Supreme Court Decision 92Nu19309 delivered on June 29, 1993, etc.). The same is true for private school faculty and staff (Article 42(1) and Article 33 of the Private School Personnel Pension Act) and military personnel (Article 31(1) of the Military Pension Act, Article 4 of its Enforcement Decree, and Attached Table 1, "Classification Standards for War/Public Duty Casualties," of the Ministry of National Defense Directive No. 346, "Regulations on the Handling of War/Public Duty Casualties").

The compensation insurance systems for public-duty accidents of public officials and others and for occupational accidents of general workers differ only in the persons to whom they apply and the institutions that carry out the relevant business by entrustment from the State; they are identical in that the State acts as the insurer, in the basic principles of accident compensation, and in the financial basis of the burden borne by the business owner, and there is no difference whatsoever in the factual aspect of the act of commuting. Although Article 14 of the Enforcement Rule of the Public Officials Pension Act and Article 35(4) of the Enforcement Rule of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act provide differently with respect to accidents occurring during commuting, these provisions of the Enforcement Rules merely prescribe internal administrative rules of processing affairs within administrative agencies and thus have no legal (regulatory) effect (see Supreme Court Decision 2004Du6549 delivered on December 24, 2004; Supreme Court Decision 2005Du6423 delivered on October 28, 2005, etc.), and thus cannot serve as a basis for discrimination. Nevertheless, according to the majority opinion, the normative evaluation would differ depending on whether the person engaged in commuting is a public official or military personnel or a general worker, and further, even among general workers, depending on whether the person is a private school faculty/staff member or not. It goes without saying that this is contrary to the principles of equity and equality and is not reasonable from the standpoint of unified interpretation and application of legal norms.

E. As seen above, a worker's commuting is closely and inseparably related to work, and the reasonable method and route for commuting are determined by the workplace and commuting times set by the business owner; therefore, commuting by a reasonable method and route must be regarded as being under the direction and control of the business owner, and accordingly, an accident occurring during such a commuting process must be held to constitute an occupational accident. It is self-evident that this view accords with the legislative purpose of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, which is to contribute to the protection of workers by promptly and fairly compensating workers for occupational accidents and by promoting the rehabilitation and social reintegration of injured workers.

F. Examining these legal principles in light of the record, in this case, the deceased died in a traffic accident while commuting to his workplace using his own passenger car, and this should be regarded as an accident occurring during the commuting process by a reasonable method and route, and thus it is proper to view it as constituting an occupational accident.

Nevertheless, the court below determined that the accident in this case did not constitute an occupational accident and thus held that the defendant's disposition at issue in this case was lawful; the judgment below thus contains an illegality of misunderstanding the legal principles concerning occupational accidents under the Industrial Accident Insurance Act. Therefore, it would be proper to reverse the judgment below and remand the case to the court below for further hearing and determination; since the majority opinion takes a different view, we dissent from the majority opinion.

3. Supplementary opinion to the majority opinion by Justice Yang Seung-tae, Justice Kim Hwang-sik, and Justice Ahn Dae-hee

Justice Yang Seung-tae, Justice Kim Hwang-sik, and Justice Ahn Dae-hee wish to supplement the majority opinion through a critique of the dissenting opinion.

A. The State bears the duty to protect the people from various disasters or material poverty, as well as various other duties to promote social welfare and social security, and it is the State's inherent responsibility to strive for the substantive guarantee of the right to receive social security benefits, which has an instrumental character for the realization of the right to a life worthy of human dignity; therefore, from a social security perspective, the goals of national policy should be directed in that direction. We understand that the fundamental purport of the dissenting opinion is likewise, in line with such policy goals, to guarantee workers' rights and interests by including accidents occurring during commuting within the scope of occupational accidents. We are well aware that this would accord with realizing a life worthy of human dignity for the people by providing coverage for accidents that workers might not otherwise be covered for even by private insurance.

However, the right to receive industrial accident insurance benefits, as concretized by the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, is a matter belonging to social fundamental rights, and it is a matter of general constitutional principle that, in interpreting statutes related to such social fundamental rights, one must follow the wording and legislative purpose of the statute, premised on broad legislative discretion. Contrary to this constitutional principle, the dissenting opinion appears to engage in an interpretation that goes beyond the legislative purpose of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act.

Article 34(1) of the Constitution guarantees citizens the right to a life worthy of human dignity, while Article 34(2) declares the State's duty to promote social security and social welfare, and Article 34(6) declares that the State has a duty to strive to prevent disasters and to protect citizens from the dangers thereof. However, in light of the legal nature of the right to a life worthy of human dignity, the scope of its normative force is limited to the right to demand benefits necessary to guarantee "minimum material subsistence," and a concrete right to demand benefits beyond that is not directly derived therefrom; moreover, looking at Article 34(2) and (6) of the Constitution, these provisions merely present goals for State activity, such as the promotion of social security and social welfare, or impose objective duties on the State for that purpose, and it is difficult to see them as granting individuals a right to demand affirmative benefits from the State related to social security, social welfare, or disaster prevention, or as delegating legislative authority in that regard. Ultimately, the realization of benefits under social welfare and social security beyond the minimum level depends on the socio-economic conditions necessary therefor, and is a matter to be resolved through legislation that reasonably takes into account various factors such as the State's financial capacity, the overall income and living standards of the people, the overall level of social security, public sentiment, and the characteristics of the social security system; given limited available resources and the need to coordinate various conflicting public interests or national tasks, broad legislative discretion cannot but be granted to the legislature (see Constitutional Court Decision 2002Hun-Ba51 delivered on July 24, 2003, etc.).

The right to receive industrial accident insurance benefits recognized for workers, including the right to receive such benefits arising from commuting accidents, is a social fundamental right that is concretized only by the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, and since its main content is the right to demand affirmative benefits, whether and to what extent such a right is specifically granted should be determined by considering, above all else, factors such as the possibility of securing financial resources according to the economic level of the State and the people, rather than by considering necessity or policy preference in the first instance.

The Tripartite Commission for Economic and Social Development (경제사회발전노사정위원회) has had in-depth discussions on the scope of recognition of the right to receive industrial accident insurance benefits arising from commuting accidents, the increase in insurance premium rates, and other related matters, taking these various circumstances into account, and currently a bill to amend the Industrial Accident Insurance Act reflecting the results of such discussions is pending before the National Assembly; policy is being pursued in the direction of gradually expanding the scope of recognition of the right to receive industrial accident insurance benefits arising from commuting accidents, and this appears to be aimed at coordinating the massive financial burden entailed thereby and the opinions of the parties concerned.

In this respect, even if there is a need to include commuting accidents within the scope of occupational accidents, it cannot be immediately concluded therefrom that commuting accidents constitute occupational accidents by way of interpretation. If the right to receive industrial accident insurance benefits arising from commuting accidents, which is one of the social fundamental rights concretized only by the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, is interpreted beyond the purport prescribed by the Industrial Accident Insurance Act and its subordinate statutes, this would amount to the judiciary substituting for the role of the legislature and the administration with respect to matters belonging to social fundamental rights, in violation of the principle of separation of powers. In other words, if the judiciary actively induces and intervenes in this matter without consideration of the massive financial burden and the coordination of interests entailed by including such commuting accidents within the scope of compensation, this would infringe upon legislative discretion, and would not only produce the effect of the industrial accident insurance replacing private insurance and government policy crowding out private policy, but would also cause problems such as a marked deterioration of the industrial accident insurance finances, an increased burden on business owners who are mandatory insurance subscribers, hindrance to the efficient allocation of budget, and confusion in the interpretation of standards.

Looking at legislative examples of other countries, commuting accidents are recognized as occupational accidents because the industrial accident insurance laws of each country expressly recognize commuting accidents as occupational accidents, and not because such recognition is reached through interpretive theory beyond the literal scope of the statute; and even in some countries that recognize commuting accidents as occupational accidents by statute, caution is exercised in the introduction of such a system, such as by having workers bear part of the insurance premium based on economic analysis.

If so, it is right that the limits of whether to recognize commuting accidents as occupational accidents, and if so, to what extent among commuting accidents they belong to occupational accidents, should be set by legislation. Moreover, if the judiciary intervenes in this matter while discussions on amending the Industrial Accident Insurance Act are actively underway, this would constitute the formation of new legislation beyond the interpretation of law, and would cause confusion in interpretation as to the extent to which commuting accidents are included. Many of our Supreme Court's precedents on commuting accidents to date have, while deeply recognizing this problem, made reasonable interpretations in accordance with constitutional principles while awaiting a legislative solution that expands the financial resources sufficient to bear this burden and coordinates the interests of the parties concerned. Therefore, the majority opinion, which follows the position of the precedents to date on commuting accidents based on constitutional principles, is proper.

B. The dissenting opinion asserts that the majority opinion not only disregards the work-dependent nature of commuting, but also runs counter to the Supreme Court's consistent position of recognizing accidents during business trips or accidents during rest periods as occupational accidents.

However, with regard to accidents during business trips, Article 36 of the Enforcement Rule of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act expressly provides that such accidents are to be regarded as occupational accidents, and since a business trip itself constitutes work conduct, even when a worker leaves the workplace and is on a business trip, the business owner comprehensively bears responsibility for whether and how the business is carried out, and thus, absent special circumstances, the entire process of the business trip can be said to be under the direction of the business owner, and its work-performing character can be recognized.

Also, the reason the Supreme Court recognizes certain accidents occurring during rest periods as occupational accidents is that Article 35-2 of the Enforcement Rule of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act provides that where a worker is injured or dies due to an accident arising from conduct recognized in light of common social norms as conduct that may be engaged in during a rest period, within the workplace, during a rest period provided by the business owner to the worker pursuant to the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법), such a case shall be regarded as an occupational accident. In the past, when the Supreme Court, contrary to this provision, focused on whether the process of conduct, regardless of whether it occurred inside or outside the workplace, was under the direction and control of the business owner in determining whether an occupational accident is recognized, this constituted a kind of exception to the principle made in consideration of various circumstances. Therefore, it must be pointed out that the dissenting opinion, by interpreting this exception as if it were the principle, confuses the principle and exception regarding the recognition of occupational accidents and simply compares commuting accidents and accidents occurring during rest periods on the same plane.

Moreover, the position of precedent regarding Enforcement Rules is that even if a given Enforcement Rule constitutes an internal administrative processing standard, the intent of the administrative agency should be respected as far as possible unless the standard is objectively unreasonable or unjust, and precedent has declared such rules invalid only in limited cases, such as where the content of the Enforcement Rule exceeds the limits of delegation under superior statutes, constitutes a blanket re-delegation, or is deemed contrary to the purpose or intent of the superior statute; the Supreme Court has not engaged in arbitrary statutory interpretation while disregarding existing Enforcement Rules. The provisions of the above Enforcement Rules regarding accidents during business trips or accidents during rest periods are made pursuant to delegation under the parent statute, the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, and do not exceed the purport of such delegation; therefore, they are effective regardless of whether such provisions, including the above provisions, are recognized as having legal (regulatory) effect.

Ultimately, this portion of the dissenting opinion, to the effect that the majority opinion runs counter to the Supreme Court's consistent position of recognizing accidents during business trips or accidents during rest periods as occupational accidents, appears to result from a misunderstanding of the grounds and reasons why accidents during business trips or accidents during rest periods are recognized as occupational accidents.

In addition, the dissenting opinion points out that it is inequitable, and thus improper from the standpoint of uniform interpretation and application, that while statutes and precedents recognize commuting accidents occurring via the ordinary route and method as public-duty accidents for public officials, private school faculty and staff, and others, such accidents are not recognized as occupational accidents for general workers. While it is certainly possible to raise such a question, it is rather a principle of statutory interpretation that where similar or identical terms are used in various statutes, they should not be mechanically construed identically, but the most fitting meaning should be derived within the framework of each individual statute; and fundamentally, this matter is properly resolved by legislation, and it cannot necessarily be said to violate equity in light of the fact that legislative discretion must be recognized with respect to matters belonging to social fundamental rights.

With respect to public officials and others, Article 14 of the Enforcement Rule of the Public Officials Pension Act and other provisions expressly include commuting accidents within public-duty accidents; this appears to be a matter of legislative policy taking into account the significant difference in the scale of financial burden, the difference in insurance entities, and the payment of contributions, among other factors, and it is a constitutional principle that such legislative policy considerations should be recognized in interpretation as well, insofar as the matter belongs to social fundamental rights.

If one were to attempt to eliminate such differences in legislative policy through statutory interpretation, other social security policies that the State should prioritize would be pushed to a lower priority, creating the risk that social security policy considering the State's financial burden would instead regress. Therefore, this criticism regarding equity, too, ultimately stems from a reversal of principle and exception due to a lack of understanding of social security fundamental rights.

Therefore, even though a worker's commuting is closely and inseparably related to the work of providing labor, since the choice of method and route of commuting is generally left to the worker and thus cannot ordinarily be said to be under the direction and control of the business owner, an accident occurring during commuting cannot be regarded as an occupational accident merely because the method and route of commuting chosen by the worker were ordinary; therefore, the current position of precedent, which interprets accidents during commuting as the majority opinion does, is proper.

C. To engage in an interpretation that goes beyond the legislative purpose in an area that should be resolved legislatively through the coordination of reasonable communication among the parties concerned, taking into account various social policy factors, is contrary to constitutional principle. As noted above, insofar as, following discussions at the Tripartite Commission for Economic and Social Development and other bodies, a bill to amend the Industrial Accident Insurance Act is currently pending before the National Assembly, it is proper that the limits of whether to recognize commuting accidents as occupational accidents, and if so, to what extent among commuting accidents they belong to occupational accidents, be set by legislation from a social security perspective. Our opinion in this regard accords with legal principle and is faithful to the essence of the judiciary, and represents, moreover, a more mature form of adjudication.

4. Supplementary opinion to the majority opinion by Justice Lee Hong-hoon

Justice Lee Hong-hoon wishes to supplement the majority opinion as follows.

While the majority opinion holds that an accident occurring during commuting cannot become an occupational accident merely because the method and route of commuting chosen by the worker were ordinary, it also holds that an accident occurring during commuting may be recognized as an occupational accident in cases where the worker's commuting process can be viewed as being under the direction and control of the business owner, such as where the worker uses transportation provided by the business owner, or the business owner has the worker use transportation equivalent thereto; this leaves room for expanding, through interpretation of the current law, the scope of recognizing accidents occurring during commuting as occupational accidents.

Before comprehensive system improvements are made regarding how to set the requirements for recognizing commuting accidents as occupational accidents, what level of insurance benefits to provide, and how much to raise the insurance premium rate in order to secure the necessary financial resources, interpreting ordinary commuting accidents as occupational accidents in principle could cause a financial crisis for industrial accident insurance and considerable confusion, including anticipated resistance from business owners due to increased insurance premium rates, which could actually hinder the promotion of the public welfare of workers as a whole. However, even before such improvement measures are established, it is desirable to gradually expand the scope of recognizing accidents occurring during commuting as occupational accidents. For example, I believe that where there are special circumstances, such as where work was performed during commuting, or where the worker was commuting in response to an urgent request received before the ordinary commuting time, or where it is judged that there is an extremely close relationship, in light of common social norms, between the commuting and the work such that they are closely and inseparably related, the scope of recognizing accidents occurring during commuting as occupational accidents can be expanded as much as possible through interpretation on a case-by-case basis.

As stated above, while reaching the same conclusion as the majority opinion, I wish to note, as a supplementary opinion to the majority opinion, that a path remains open for expanding the scope of recognition of occupational accidents during commuting through interpretation of the current law.

5. Supplementary opinion to the dissenting opinion by Justice Kim Young-ran, Justice Park Si-hwan, and Justice Kim Ji-hyung

Justice Kim Young-ran, Justice Park Si-hwan, and Justice Kim Ji-hyung wish to supplement the dissenting opinion, along with a rebuttal to the supplementary opinion of the majority opinion, largely from the following three perspectives.

A. From the perspective of interpretive theory in general

From the standpoint of the dissenting opinion, what is most difficult to accept about the majority opinion is, above all, that it takes completely opposite positions in interpreting the concept of "occupational accident" as defined in the Industrial Accident Insurance Act and the concept of "accident due to public duty" as defined in the Public Officials Pension Act, with regard to whether commuting accidents (here, "commuting" refers to the type of repeated commuting conduct by a reasonable method and route in light of common social norms; the same applies hereinafter) are included therein.

According to the supplementary opinion of the majority opinion, in light of its "wording" and "legislative purpose," commuting accidents cannot be included in "occupational accidents" as defined in the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, and therefore, including accidents suffered by general workers during commuting within the scope of insurance benefits under the Industrial Accident Insurance Act should be resolved not through statutory interpretation but through legislative policy, no matter how necessary it may be for the protection of workers' rights and interests. Therefore, the position seems to be that the dissenting opinion's attempt to include commuting accidents, which the Industrial Accident Insurance Act was not originally intended to cover, within "occupational accidents," is no different from imprudently creating new legislation under the guise of interpretive theory, putting ideals first.

Looking only at the provision of "occupational accident" under the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, it cannot be denied that the above interpretive theory of the majority opinion could, apart from whether it is right or wrong, constitute a view that is in itself sufficiently tenable.

However, the matter becomes entirely different when compared with the interpretive theory of "accident due to public duty" as provided in the Public Officials Pension Act. This is because, as stated in the dissenting opinion above, the Supreme Court has consistently maintained the position that commuting accidents are included in the concept of "accident due to public duty," which is a completely different interpretation.

Since the supplementary opinion of the majority opinion presents the "wording" and "legislative purpose" of the statutory provisions as the grounds for its interpretive theory, we examine these in turn.

First, let us examine the "wording" of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act. The Industrial Accident Insurance Act defines "occupational accident" as "an injury, disease, physical disability, or death of a worker due to an occupational cause," while the Public Officials Pension Act defines it as "disease, injury, accident, and death of a public official due to public duty." Comparing the "wording" of these two statutory provisions alone, there may be minor differences in expression, but no difference can be found that would justify interpreting their meanings differently. Of course, if there were separate statutory provisions regarding commuting accidents in addition to the above definitional provisions, the premise could be different; however, apart from the provisions noted above, neither statute has any other provision regarding whether commuting accidents are included in "occupational accidents" or "accidents due to public duty." Nevertheless, it is difficult to understand, no matter how one tries, for what reason it can be said that the interpretive theory may differ on the basis of "wording."

Next, let us look at "legislative purpose." As the supplementary opinion of the majority opinion appropriately points out, we fully acknowledge that a worker's right to receive industrial accident insurance benefits is a social fundamental right that is concretized only by the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, and that broad legislative discretion is accordingly granted to the legislature in that regard. We therefore entirely agree that the legislature may determine whether and to what extent to grant such benefits, taking into account socio-economic conditions such as the economic level of the State and the people and the possibility of securing financial resources accordingly. Nor does the dissenting opinion assert that it is a constitutional requirement arising from the provisions on social fundamental rights that commuting accidents must necessarily be included in "occupational accidents." It is merely asserted that, in interpreting the concept of "occupational accident" as provided in the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, which is one of the statutes concretizing social fundamental rights, commuting accidents should be regarded as included therein.

However, at the time the Industrial Accident Insurance Act was legislated in our country, there is no basis anywhere for concluding that the legislature intended to set the industrial accident insurance benefit rights of general workers differently from those of public officials or military personnel, and further, private school faculty and staff. Rather, comparing the relevant statutory provisions as a whole, it is much more natural to view the matter not as reflecting an intent to set differently the existence or scope of insurance benefit rights with respect to commuting accidents and the like for the same matter, but rather that, due to differences in whether the persons subject to the law are general workers, public officials or military personnel, or, further, among general workers, particularly private school faculty and staff, separate individual statutes were enacted according to legislative and technical necessity.

After the Industrial Accident Insurance Act was enacted on November 5, 1963, and the Public Officials Pension Act was enacted on January 1, 1960, the Ministry of Labor, which handled industrial accident insurance benefit affairs, enacted around 1982 a Ministry of Labor regulation (예규) setting forth "Standards for Recognition of Occupational Accidents" as detailed matters in that regard on its own, and the Ministry of General Affairs (총무처), which handled public officials pension benefit affairs, likewise enacted around 1981 a Ministry of General Affairs directive (훈령) setting forth "Standards for Recognition of Public-Duty Accidents"; while the above Ministry of Labor regulation did not explicitly recognize commuting accidents as occupational accidents, the above Ministry of General Affairs directive explicitly included commuting accidents within public-duty accidents, thus taking completely opposite interpretations with respect to their respective benefit affairs. However, there is no basis whatsoever for concluding that this reflects the intent of the legislature. Rather, it appears to be merely that, regardless of the legislature's intent, different administrative agencies handled the matter differently according to circumstances in the administration of their respective benefit affairs. Needless to say, such a Ministry of Labor regulation or Ministry of General Affairs directive has no legal (regulatory) effect. Moreover, as noted in the dissenting opinion above, it is the current position of precedent that the Enforcement Rules of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act and the Public Officials Pension Act, which were later enacted by carrying over such regulations and directives as they were, likewise are not recognized as having legal (regulatory) effect. If the judiciary were to simply accept and interpret in accordance with such differing interpretations by the respective competent administrative agencies regarding commuting accidents, made without any legal basis and unrelated to the legislature's legislative intent, this would be no different from the judiciary, together with the administration, infringing upon the legislative power.

[Reasoning]

According to the supplementary opinion of the majority opinion, it appears that the majority opinion, in giving reasons why disasters occurring during the commute of general workers should not be recognized as occupational disasters, took into consideration problems that could arise such as deterioration of insurance finances and increased burdens on employers. This is a point worth fully heeding. The dissenting opinion does not deny or make light of the fact that such problems may exist at all. However, if the majority opinion is asserting that such considerations should be taken into account as "legislative intent" in interpreting the concept of "occupational disaster" under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법, hereinafter "Industrial Accident Insurance Act"), this is considered unreasonable. No matter how carefully one examines the relevant provisions of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act and the Public Officials Pension Act (공무원연금법), it is simply impossible to find any provision providing that, in interpreting and applying the concepts of "occupational disaster" or "disaster caused by official duties," respectively, the grant of entitlement to benefits or its content may be varied by taking such circumstances into account. If the legislature has made no distinction in the content of the statutory provisions determining the scope of workers' entitlement to industrial accident insurance benefits or public officials' entitlement to pension benefits under the Public Officials Pension Act, such that a given disaster is recognized as an occupational disaster or an official duty-related disaster, then the administrative agency responsible for enforcement should naturally take the necessary measures, including securing the corresponding financial resources, and implement this accordingly. Article 3, Paragraph 2 of the Industrial Accident Insurance Act, which provides that "the State may subsidize part of the expenses required for insurance projects within the limits of the budget for each fiscal year," is itself a provision enacted with precisely this point in mind. However, if it were permissible—contrary to this—to interpret and apply the content of the statute enacted by the legislature in a discriminatory manner with respect to general workers on the ground of financial problems, as suggested in the supplementary opinion of the majority opinion, and thereby to interpret and enforce it more restrictively than the legislature's original intent with respect to general workers, this would reverse the proper order of priorities in statutory interpretation, and this point must be pointed out as unreasonable.

In this way, we cannot agree at all with the position of the majority opinion, which seeks to differentiate its interpretation on the basis of a "legislative intent" that is by no means clear from any perspective. If the interpretive theory asserted by the majority opinion—that the concept of "occupational disaster" as provided in the Industrial Accident Insurance Act cannot include disasters occurring during commuting—were correct, then it would be more consistent, as a matter of systematic interpretation of statutory provisions, to likewise interpret the concept of "disaster caused by official duties" under the Public Officials Pension Act, which is textually defined in the same meaning, as also excluding disasters occurring during commuting. Of course, this does not mean that the dissenting opinion is asserting that the existing precedent's position on official duty-related disasters should be changed so as to exclude commuting disasters from the concept of official duty-related disasters. Rather, the position of the dissenting opinion is that, from the outset, commuting disasters should conceptually be included within "occupational" or "official duty" related disasters, and that the interpretive theory should be unified in that direction; in either case, it is considered improper for the courts to render entirely contradictory interpretations of what is textually the same concept under statutory provisions, thereby aggravating confusion in statutory interpretation.

As such, even though there is no basis—whether from the "text" or from the "legislative intent"—for interpreting the meanings of "occupational disaster" and "disaster caused by official duties" differently, if the Supreme Court has hitherto adopted entirely different statutory interpretations, thereby causing great confusion among the citizens who are subject to the above statutory provisions, it is the consistent position of the dissenting opinion that such irrationality should be resolved as soon as possible.

B. From the Perspective of Unconstitutionality

As discussed above, interpreting the concepts of "occupational disaster" and "disaster caused by official duties" differently is difficult to accept as a matter of general rational interpretation of statutory provisions. Moreover, even if the statutory provisions explicitly excluded commuting disasters in defining the scope of recognition of workers' occupational disasters while, conversely, including such disasters in the case of public officials and others, thereby providing for different treatment, it is doubtful whether this could be constitutionally justified.

As already discussed in the dissenting opinion, treating general workers and public officials, etc. entirely differently with respect to the grant of entitlement to insurance benefits for the same type of disaster—namely, disasters occurring during commuting—raises suspicion of unconstitutionality as violating the principle of equity or the constitutional principle of equality. However, I would like to once again emphasize the following several points in response to the matters raised in the supplementary opinion of the majority opinion.

Article 11, Paragraph 1 of the Constitution provides that "All citizens shall be equal before the law, and there shall be no discrimination in political, economic, social or cultural life on account of sex, religion or social status." The principle of equality based on Article 11, Paragraph 1 of the Constitution prohibits the legislature from arbitrarily treating things that are essentially the same differently, or things that are essentially different the same. However, this principle of equality does not mean absolute equality that denies all differential treatment or identical treatment; rather, it means that unreasonable differential treatment or identical treatment should not be made, not only in the application of law but also in legislation (see Constitutional Court Decision 89Hun-Ga37, 96, decided May 24, 1989; Constitutional Court Decision 2005Hun-Ga17, 2006Hun-Ba17, decided May 25, 2006, etc.).

According to the supplementary opinion of the majority opinion, the fact that commuting disasters are included in "disaster caused by official duties" for public officials, unlike the case of "occupational disaster" for general workers, is constitutionally acceptable in terms of equity in light of "the marked difference in the scale of the State's financial burden," "the difference in the insurance provider," and "whether or not contributions are paid."

First of all, the basis of "whether or not contributions are paid" is itself erroneous. The Supreme Court has previously held that "under the Public Officials Pension Act, public officials pay a considerable amount of contributions, whereas in the case of industrial accidents, workers bear no such burden, and since the two are not of the same nature, treating the criteria for disasters differently does not violate the constitutional principle of equality," thereby expressing the view that differentiating the treatment of commuting disasters between occupational disasters and official duty-related disasters does not violate the principle of equality (see Supreme Court Decision 94Nu15523, decided March 14, 1995; Supreme Court Decision 2003Du13588, decided February 26, 2004, etc.). However, it is clear from the relevant provisions of law, including Article 65, Paragraph 2 of the Public Officials Pension Act and Article 66 of its Enforcement Decree, that public officials' contributions are allocated to retirement benefits, and that all expenses paid for official duty-related disasters are borne by the State or local governments. Therefore, in this respect, there is no difference from occupational disasters where the employer bears the insurance premiums, and the above reasoning is not persuasive.

Furthermore, even with respect to the difference in "insurance provider," broadly speaking, both disaster benefits for public officials and industrial accident insurance for workers are systems in which the State, as the insurer, assumes the risks of accidents such as disasters or illnesses that all workers, including public officials, may suffer while working, and provides insurance benefits accordingly; it is merely that the operation of the insurance business is divided among organizations under different administrative agencies (the Ministry of Government Administration and Home Affairs and the Ministry of Labor), and this cannot be regarded as constituting different insurance providers.

Examining the structure of insurance operation, including the insurance provider, the insurer is the State, the insured (policyholder) is the employer, and the beneficiaries are all workers, including public officials—in this respect, the Industrial Accident Insurance Act and the Public Officials Pension Act are entirely identical. That is, the State, as the insurer, operates the insurance business or the pension business. And the policyholder is the employer; in the case of public officials, etc., the employer is likewise the State. Here, although the State overlaps with the operator of the insurance business, in its capacity as the party obligated to pay insurance premiums, it is no different from the employer of general workers. Furthermore, the beneficiaries of insurance are general workers or public officials, etc. who receive the benefit of insurance payments due to an insured event.

Therefore, when the State, in providing public assistance, differentiates the availability of insurance benefits between public officials, etc. and general workers with respect to the same type of insured event—namely, commuting disasters—on the ground of a difference in "the scale of financial burden," this cannot but raise the suspicion that it results in "arbitrarily treating things that are essentially the same differently," thereby constituting unreasonable differential treatment beyond the scope of legislative discretion. Rather, as noted above, it is considered that the State, as the insurer, has an obligation to resolve such an imbalance in financial condition.

For example, if the State, in consideration of the financial condition of insurance operations, classifies insured events according to the degree of relatedness to work, giving priority to types with a high degree of relatedness as subjects of insurance benefits while excluding those with relatively low relatedness from the subjects of insurance benefits, such a case might conceivably be regarded as an example of reasonable differential treatment based on financial condition falling within the scope of legislative discretion. However, differentiating whether or not to grant insurance benefits for the same type of insured event with an entirely identical degree of relatedness, as in the case above, cannot be regarded as falling within such a category.

If the existing Supreme Court precedent's view, as in the majority opinion, is maintained, then the problem arising from the perspective of the constitutional principle of equality is not limited to the discrimination between "general workers" and "public officials or military personnel." Discrimination also exists among workers themselves, between "general workers who are not private school employees" and "workers who are private school employees." If differential treatment were permissible under the same logic as the supplementary opinion of the majority opinion, then, for example, it is doubtful whether it would be permissible, without raising issues of equity, to differentiate whether commuting disasters are included based on differences in the employer's financial capacity or differences in insurance providers (for instance, assuming different agencies were in charge of industrial accident insurance business) between workers employed at business establishments located in Seoul and workers employed at business establishments located elsewhere in the provinces; and as another example, whether it would be permissible to differentiate between workers at business establishments regularly employing 100 or more workers and workers at business establishments employing fewer than that number—doubts arise one after another in succession.

Thus, even where statutory provisions explicitly provide for different treatment of general workers and public officials, etc. with respect to commuting disasters, there remains a possibility of unconstitutionality; all the more so, where the statutory provisions are unclear and the text is open to multiple interpretations, there is no need to insist on an unconstitutional interpretation. It is precisely in such cases that interpreting the law, to the extent possible, in a manner consistent with the Constitution accords with the so-called principle of constitutional interpretation of statutes, and I believe this to be the proper path of statutory interpretation. Therefore, in this respect, it is difficult to accept as a valid criticism the characterization of the dissenting opinion as an interpretation exceeding the textual scope of the statutory provisions.

C. From the Perspective of Legislative Policy

The supplementary opinion of the majority opinion states that whether to include commuting disasters as subjects of industrial accident insurance is a matter of legislative policy, and that it is therefore appropriate to leave this to discussion in the National Assembly.

The dissenting opinion likewise has no objection to the view that it would be most desirable to resolve the question of whether to recognize commuting disasters as occupational disasters through legislation. In that sense, if legislative discussion on this matter proceeds in the National Assembly, it is hoped that protection at an internationally appropriate level can be provided for general workers' commuting disasters, and for that reason, I would like to add a few remarks for reference.

Looking at foreign legislative examples concerning commuting disasters, in Europe, representatively, Austria has recognized this as a type of industrial accident subject to insurance benefits since around 1917, Germany since around 1925, and France since around 1946. Nearby Japan has also designated this as a subject of protection under industrial accident (labor accident) insurance since 1973. Moreover, the International Labour Organization (ILO) also provides for the inclusion of commuting disasters within industrial accidents in its 1964 Convention No. 121.

As such, it can be seen that the protection of workers' commuting disasters as subjects of insurance benefits has been a major global trend proceeding for nearly a century. When industrial accident insurance began, its goal was simply to guarantee employers' compensation for losses to workers, but over time it has increasingly taken on the meaning of guaranteeing workers' livelihood, and today the social function of industrial accident insurance law is recognized as remarkably important. Nevertheless, the fact that our country still maintains the position of not recognizing commuting disasters as occupational disasters seems excessively belated, even taking into account our country's economic level. It appears that one cause of this situation is that, as discussed above, despite there being no reasonable ground—whether in the "text" of the statutory provisions or in "legislative intent"—for treating commuting disasters of general workers and of public officials, etc. differently, the Supreme Court has nonetheless rendered a statutory interpretation treating them differently.

If so, it would naturally be fitting, in the spirit of resolving what one has caused, for the Supreme Court to now correct its previously distorted statutory interpretation, thereby eliminating the potential for unconstitutionality and promoting unified interpretation and application of legal norms; however, regrettably, this has not yet been achieved. At this point in time, I hope that, even belatedly, legislation clearly including commuting disasters as subjects of industrial accident insurance can be enacted as soon as possible, moving in a direction faithful to the protection of workers' rights and interests.

To express "occupational disaster" more simply, it would be nothing more or less than "a disaster that a person could not help but suffer because of being in the position of a worker." Fortunately, I have heard that the Ministry of Labor has also set a policy goal for legislation to include commuting disasters within occupational disasters and is continuously working toward it, and with this hope in mind, I would like to conclude this supplementary opinion.

6. Re-Supplementary Opinion of Justice Ahn Dae-hee to the Majority Opinion

Justice Ahn Dae-hee wishes to further supplement the majority opinion, together with a rebuttal to the supplementary opinion of the dissenting opinion.

The dissenting opinion points out that there is a concern that including commuting disasters within "disaster caused by official duties" for public officials, while treating workers' commuting disasters differently, may violate the constitutional principle of equality. However, it cannot be regarded as violating the principle of equality for the State, taking into account various circumstances such as financial conditions, to selectively expand the scope of benefits. As indicated in the dissenting opinion itself, our Supreme Court precedent has made this clear (see Supreme Court Decision 94Nu15523, decided March 14, 1995), and the Constitutional Court has also explicitly declared that this issue does not violate the principle of equality (see Constitutional Court Decision 93Hun-Ma45, decided September 27, 1993).

It is entirely natural that, with respect to matters belonging to social rights as fundamental rights, it does not violate the constitutional principle of equality for the State to selectively expand the scope of benefits. That is, the principle of equality provided in Article 11, Paragraph 1 of the Constitution does not prevent the State from choosing when, where, and for which class of persons to begin improving circumstances or systems relating to fundamental rights; rather, if this were not permitted, then, except in the exceptional case where improvement of systems is pursued simultaneously for all matters and all classes, no improvement of any system would be possible due to the principle of equality, which would be unreasonable and would also run counter to the very values that the principle of equality seeks to realize (see Constitutional Court Decision 90Hun-Ga27, decided February 11, 1991; Constitutional Court Decision 98Hun-Ga1, decided December 24, 1998).

As noted above, it is the majority opinion that whether to include general workers' commuting disasters within occupational disasters should be resolved through legislation. Furthermore, there is data indicating that, if such disasters were included, the financial burden on industrial accident insurance would amount to more than KRW 300 billion annually, and the required budget would increase annually, reaching more than KRW 900 billion after 20 years; this could bring the insurance finances—which currently already carry a financial deficit of more than KRW 2 trillion (and reportedly even face a liquidity crisis under present conditions)—into the worst possible situation, and an increase of around 30% in the insurance premium rate to be borne by businesses would also be unavoidable. In any event, this matter should be resolved through legislation, taking into account economic conditions and coordinating the opinions of the parties concerned; however, it is reported that the policy authorities studying such legislation also consider that, given the current reality of severe deterioration in insurance finances, legislation would require, as preconditions, not only improvement of financial conditions but also institutional measures such as changes to the method of imposing insurance premiums, as well as social consensus, including joint bearing of insurance premiums by employers and workers. There are also many countries in foreign legislative examples that do not recognize commuting disasters as occupational disasters (the United States, the United Kingdom, Australia, Canada, and Italy), and it is reported that even in countries that do recognize commuting disasters as occupational disasters, the financial burden thereof has become severe enough to become a social problem.

It may be one of the ideals of the modern social welfare state for the State to do everything it can for the welfare of its citizens, but this is subject to constraints requiring consideration of economic conditions and realities, as is the case in every country. For social security, in addition to basic guarantees such as health insurance and unemployment insurance, substantial welfare budgets are required for the disabled, the elderly, the extremely poor, and others; making a legislative policy choice as to priorities and the scope of guarantees among these, taking financial conditions into account, is indispensable for the genuine welfare of the people. Such legislative choices ultimately require judgment that takes into account both the taxpayers who bear the burden and the priority need for guarantees. For this reason, as noted in the supplementary opinion to the majority opinion, broad legislative discretion is recognized with respect to social fundamental rights.

I wish once again to emphasize that giving a fragmentary and restrictive interpretation to a statute concerning matters belonging to social fundamental rights not only violates constitutional principles but also fails to genuinely guarantee and promote the people's social welfare as provided under the Constitution; rather, it creates the problem of confronting unprepared policies with confusion, without social measures in place, and renders it impossible to provide appropriate guarantees in fields requiring prompt protection. Together with this, I emphasize that it is exceedingly dangerous to adopt, through fragmentary statutory interpretation, matters that should be carefully decided legislatively by comprehensively considering all circumstances, and with this, I further supplement the majority opinion.

Chief Justice Lee Yong-hoon (Presiding Judge), Justice Ko Hyun-chul, Justice Kim Young-ran, Justice Yang Sung-tae, Justice Kim Hwang-sik, Justice Park Si-hwan, Justice Kim Ji-hyung (Justice in Charge), Justice Lee Hong-hoon, Justice Park Il-hwan, Justice Kim Neung-hwan, Justice Jeon Su-an, Justice Ahn Dae-hee

【판결요지】

[다수의견] 구 산업재해보상보험법(2007. 4. 11. 법률 제8373호로 전문 개정되기 전의 것) 제4조 제1호에 정한 ‘업무상의 재해’란 근로자와 사업주 사이의 근로계약에 터 잡아 사업주의 지배·관리하에서 당해 근로업무의 수행 또는 그에 수반되는 통상적인 활동을 하는 과정에서 이러한 업무에 기인하여 발생한 재해를 말한다. 그런데 비록 근로자의 출·퇴근이 노무의 제공이라는 업무와 밀접·불가분의 관계에 있다 하더라도, 일반적으로 출·퇴근 방법과 경로의 선택이 근로자에게 유보되어 있어 통상 사업주의 지배·관리하에 있다고 할 수 없고, 산업재해보상보험법에서 근로자가 통상적인 방법과 경로에 의하여 출·퇴근하는 중에 발생한 사고를 업무상 재해로 인정한다는 특별한 규정을 따로 두고 있지 않은 이상, 근로자가 선택한 출·퇴근 방법과 경로의 선택이 통상적이라는 이유만으로 출·퇴근 중에 발생한 재해가 업무상의 재해로 될 수는 없다. 따라서 출·퇴근 중에 발생한 재해가 업무상의 재해로 되기 위하여는 사업주가 제공한 교통수단을 근로자가 이용하거나 또는 사업주가 이에 준하는 교통수단을 이용하도록 하는 등 근로자의 출·퇴근 과정이 사업주의 지배·관리하에 있다고 볼 수 있는 경우라야 한다.

[대법관 김영란, 박시환, 김지형, 김능환, 전수안의 반대의견] (가) 구 산업재해보상보험법(2007. 4. 11. 법률 제8373호로 전문 개정되기 전의 것)은 제4조 제1호에서 "업무상의 재해라 함은 업무상의 사유에 의한 근로자의 부상·질병·신체장해 또는 사망을 말한다."라고 규정하고 있을 뿐, 구체적으로 어떤 경우가 업무상 재해에 해당하는지에 관하여는 명시적인 규정을 두고 있지 않으므로, 업무상 재해에 해당하는지 여부는 산업재해보상보험법 제4조 제1호의 해석에 의해 결정될 것이지 산업재해보상보험법에서 업무상 재해로 인정하는 규정을 따로 두고 있는지 여부에 의해 좌우되는 것은 아니다.

(나) 출·퇴근 행위란 근로자가 노무를 제공하기 위해 주거지와 근무지 사이를 왕복하는 반복적 행위로서 노무를 제공하기 위해 반드시 거쳐야 하는 필수적인 과정인바, 근무지나 출·퇴근 시각은 근로자가 자유로이 정할 수 있는 것이 아니고 오로지 사업주의 결정과 방침에 구속된다. 즉 근무지는 이미 정해져 있는 것이며 출·퇴근 시각 또한 사업주가 일방적으로 결정한 것에 따라야 하는 것이다. 또한, 이러한 출·퇴근 행위가 사업주의 지배·관리하에 있는지 여부는 규범적으로 파악되어야 할 것이지, 당해 행위가 사업장 안에서 이루어진 것인지 사업장 밖에서 이루어진 것인지 하는 단순한 물리적·공간적 요소에 의해 평가될 것은 아니라 할 것인바, 출·퇴근 행위 역시 업무와 밀접불가분의 관계에 있는 행위인 이상, 사업장 밖에서 이루어지는 행위라 하여 사업주의 지배·관리하에 있음이 부정될 수는 없는 일이다.

(다) 결국 근로자의 출·퇴근 행위는 업무와 밀접불가분의 관계에 있는 것으로, 출·퇴근을 위한 합리적인 방법과 경로는 사업주가 정한 근무지와 출·퇴근시각에 의해 정해지므로, 합리적인 방법과 경로에 의한 출·퇴근 행위라면 이는 사업주의 지배·관리하에 있다고 보아야 하고, 그러한 출·퇴근 과정에서 발생한 재해는 업무상 재해에 해당한다.

[다수의견에 대한 대법관 양승태, 김황식, 안대희의 보충의견] 출·퇴근 재해에 따른 산재보험 수급권을 비롯하여 근로자에게 인정되는 산재보험 수급권은 산업재해보상보험법에 의하여 비로소 구체화되는 사회적 기본권으로서 적극적으로 급부를 요구할 수 있는 권리를 주된 내용으로 하고 있기 때문에 그 권리의 구체적인 부여 여부, 내용 등은 필요성이나 정책적 선호도를 따지기에 앞서 무엇보다도 국가와 국민의 경제적인 수준 등에 따르는 재원확보의 가능성이라는 요인 등을 고려하여 결정되어야 한다. 이와 같이 여러 가지 사회정책적 요소를 고려하여 관련 당사자들 사이의 합리적인 의사소통에 의한 조정을 통하여 입법적으로 해결하여야 할 분야에 입법 취지를 넘는 해석을 하는 것은 헌법상의 원칙에 반하는 것으로, 현재 산업재해보상보험법 개정안이 국회 계류중에 있는 이상, 출·퇴근 재해를 업무상 재해로 인정할 것인지, 인정한다면 출·퇴근 재해 중 어느 정도의 범위까지를 업무상 재해에 속한다고 할 것인지 여부는 사회보장적 견지에서 입법에 의하여 그 한계를 설정하는 것이 타당하다.

[다수의견에 대한 대법관 이홍훈의 보충의견] 출·퇴근 재해를 업무상 재해로 인정하기 위한 요건을 어떻게 설정할 것인지, 그 보험급여의 수준을 어느 정도로 할 것인지, 재정적 여건을 갖추기 위하여 보험료율은 얼마나 인상할 것인지 등에 관한 종합적인 제도개선이 되기 이전에, 통상적인 출·퇴근 중에 발생한 재해를 원칙적으로 업무상 재해가 된다고 해석하는 것은 산재보험의 재정적 위기를 초래하고 보험료율 인상으로 인한 사업주들의 반발이 예상되는 등 상당한 혼란을 불러일으킬 우려가 있어 오히려 근로자 전체의 공공복리 증진을 저해할 수도 있다. 그러나 위와 같은 개선책이 마련되기 이전이라고 하더라도 현행법의 해석을 통하여 출·퇴근 중 발생한 재해를 업무상 재해로 인정하는 범위를 점진적으로 확대하여 나가는 것이 바람직하다.

[반대의견에 대한 대법관 김영란, 박시환, 김지형의 보충의견] 산업재해보상보험법과 공무원연금법 두 법률규정의 ‘문언’으로 보나 ‘입법 취지’로 보나 산업재해보상보험법상의 ‘업무상의 재해’와 공무원연금법상의 ‘공무로 인한 재해’에 대하여 그 의미를 달리 해석할 근거가 없고, ‘국가의 재정적 부담규모의 현격한 차이’, ‘보험주체의 차이’ 및 ‘기여금의 불입 여부’ 등을 이유로 출·퇴근 중의 재해라는 동일한 유형의 재해에 대한 보험수급권의 부여 여부에 관하여 일반근로자와 공무원 등을 구분하여 이를 전혀 달리 취급하는 것은 형평성 내지 헌법상 평등의 원칙에 반하는 것으로서 위헌의 의심이 있다.

[다수의견에 대한 대법관 안대희의 재보충의견] 국가가 재정적 여건 등 여러 가지 사정을 감안하여 선별적으로 수혜를 확대하는 것은 평등원칙에 위배되는 것으로 볼 수 없다. 사회권적 기본권에 속하는 사항에 관한 법률에 대하여 단편적이고 제한적인 해석을 하는 것은 헌법상의 원칙에 반할 뿐 아니라 헌법에서 규정한 국민의 사회복지를 진정으로 보장·증진시키는 것도 아니며 오히려 그로 인하여 준비되지 아니한 정책을 사회적 대책없이 맞이하는 혼란을 초래하고, 신속한 보장이 필요한 분야에 대한 적절한 보장을 할 수 없게 만드는 문제점이 있으며, 입법적으로도 모든 사정을 종합하여 신중히 결정하여야 하는 분야를 단편적인 법률의 해석으로 채택하는 것은 더없이 위험하다.

【참조조문】

구 산업재해보상보험법(2007. 4. 11. 법률 제8373호로 전문 개정되기 전의 것) 제4조 제1호(현행 제5조 제1호 참조)

【참조판례】

대법원 1999. 9. 3. 선고 99다24744 판결(공1999하, 2049), 대법원 1999. 12. 24. 선고 99두9025 판결(공2000상, 325), 대법원 2005. 9. 29. 선고 2005두4458 판결(공2005하, 1698)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 26,939자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 상고인】 원고

【피고, 피상고인】 근로복지공단

【원심판결】 서울고법 2005. 9. 2. 선고 2004누25665 판결

【주 문】

상고를 기각한다. 상고비용은 원고가 부담한다.

【이 유】상고이유를 판단한다.

1. 구 산업재해보상보험법(2007. 4. 11. 법률 제8373호로 전문 개정되기 전의 것, 이하 ‘산재보험법’이라 한다) 제4조 제1호 소정의 ‘업무상의 재해’라 함은 근로자와 사업주 사이의 근로계약에 터 잡아 사업주의 지배·관리하에서 당해 근로업무의 수행 또는 그에 수반되는 통상적인 활동을 하는 과정에서 이러한 업무에 기인하여 발생한 재해를 말한다. 그런데 비록 근로자의 출·퇴근이 노무의 제공이라는 업무와 밀접·불가분의 관계에 있다 하더라도, 일반적으로 출·퇴근 방법과 경로의 선택이 근로자에게 유보되어 있어 통상 사업주의 지배·관리하에 있다고 할 수 없고, 산재보험법에서 근로자가 통상적인 방법과 경로에 의하여 출·퇴근하는 중에 발생한 사고를 업무상 재해로 인정한다는 특별한 규정을 따로 두고 있지 않은 이상, 근로자가 선택한 출·퇴근 방법과 경로의 선택이 통상적이라는 이유만으로 출·퇴근 중에 발생한 재해가 업무상의 재해로 될 수는 없다. 따라서 출·퇴근 중에 발생한 재해가 업무상의 재해로 되기 위하여는 사업주가 제공한 교통수단을 근로자가 이용하거나 또는 사업주가 이에 준하는 교통수단을 이용하도록 하는 등 근로자의 출·퇴근 과정이 사업주의 지배·관리하에 있다고 볼 수 있는 경우라야 한다(대법원 1999. 12. 24. 선고 99두9025 판결, 대법원 2005. 9. 29. 선고 2005두4458 판결 등 참조).

원심이 제1심판결의 이유를 인용하여, 원고의 남편인 소외 망인은 경기 여주군 능서면 (지번 생략)에 있는 소외 1 주식회사에 기능직 사원으로 입사하여 정비 및 수리업무를 담당하는 자로서, 2002. 3. 9. 08:10경 소외 망인 소유의 경기 (차량번호 생략)호 엑셀 승용차를 이용하여 출근하다가 이천시 부발읍 마암리 소재 복하2교 교차로에서 소외 2가 운전하는 차량에 좌측 충격막이(fender) 및 운전석 문짝을 충격 당하는 교통사고를 당하였고, 위 사고로 인하여 같은 날 09:20경 이천파티마병원에서 선행사인 늑간동맥 출혈(의증), 중간선행사인 좌측 외상성 혈흉 등, 직접사인 저혈량성 쇼크 등(의증)으로 사망한 사실, 원고는 소외 망인의 사망이 업무상 재해에 해당한다는 이유로 피고에게 유족보상 및 장의비 청구를 하였으나, 피고는 2002. 4. 23. 소외 망인이 그 소유의 승용차를 이용하여 출근하던 중 교통사고가 발생하여 사망하였으므로 소외 망인의 사망이 업무상 재해에 해당하지 않는다는 이유로 원고에게 유족보상 및 장의비 지급을 거부하는 이 사건 처분을 한 사실, 소외 망인의 근무시간은 08:30부터 18:00까지(토요일은 15:00까지)로 정해져 있고, 소외 망인이 소외 1 주식회사에 입사한 후 위 교통사고가 발생한 때까지 직접 자신의 승용차를 운전하여 출·퇴근한 사실을 인정한 다음, 위 교통사고는 사업주가 출·퇴근용으로 제공한 교통수단의 이용 중에 발생한 사고라고 할 수 없고, 나아가 어떤 이유로든 소외 망인이 업무수행 중 교통사고를 당하였다거나 소외 망인의 출·퇴근 과정이 사용자의 지배나 관리를 받는 상태였다고 인정할 수도 없다는 이유로 소외 망인이 입은 재해를 업무상 재해에 해당한다고 할 수 없다고 판단한 것은, 위에서 본 법리와 기록에 비추어 살펴보면 정당하고, 거기에 상고이유와 같은 채증법칙 위배, 업무상 재해에 관한 법리오해의 위법이 없다.

그러므로 상고를 기각하고, 상고비용은 패소자의 부담으로 하기로 하여 주문과 같이 판결한다.

이 판결에는 대법관 김영란, 대법관 박시환, 대법관 김지형, 대법관 김능환, 대법관 전수안의 반대의견이 있는 외에는 관여 법관의 의견이 일치되었으며, 대법관 양승태, 대법관 김황식, 대법관 이홍훈, 대법관 안대희의 다수의견에 대한 보충의견과 대법관 김영란, 대법관 박시환, 대법관 김지형의 반대의견에 대한 보충의견, 대법관 안대희의 다수의견에 대한 재보충의견이 있다.

2. 대법관 김영란, 대법관 박시환, 대법관 김지형, 대법관 김능환, 대법관 전수안의 반대의견

다수의견은 출·퇴근 중 발생한 재해의 업무상 재해 인정 여부에 관하여 종래 대법원판례의 태도를 그대로 답습하고 있으나, 다음과 같은 점에서 다수의견에 찬성할 수 없다.

가. 다수의견은, 근로자의 출·퇴근 행위가 업무와 밀접불가분의 관계에 있는 행위임을 인정하면서도, 출·퇴근의 방법과 경로의 선택이 근로자에게 유보되어 있어 사업주의 지배·관리하에 있지 않다는 이유로 출·퇴근 중 발생한 재해를 업무상 재해로 볼 수 없다고 한다. 그러나 이는 출·퇴근 행위의 업무종속성을 무시한 것으로 타당하다고 할 수 없다.

출·퇴근 행위란 근로자가 노무를 제공하기 위해 주거지와 근무지 사이를 왕복하는 반복적 행위로서, 노무를 제공하기 위해 반드시 거쳐야 하는 필수적인 과정이다. 통근 없으면 노무의 제공도 없고, 직장이 없으면 통근도 없는 것이다. 그런데 근무지나 출·퇴근 시각은 근로자가 자유로이 정할 수 있는 것이 아니고 오로지 사업주의 결정과 방침에 구속된다. 근무지는 이미 정해져 있는 것이며 출·퇴근 시각 또한 사업주가 일방적으로 결정한 것에 따라야 하는 것이다.

출·퇴근이 주거지와 근무지 사이를 왕복하는 것이고, 출·퇴근 시각과 근무지가 이미 정해져 있는 것이라면, 출·퇴근의 방법과 경로 또한 그것이 사회통념상 합리적인 방법과 경로에 의하는 것인 한, 마찬가지로 그에 따라 이미 정해져 있다고 보아야 한다. 출·퇴근의 방법, 즉 통근수단은 근로자가 선택할 수 있겠지만, 사회통념상 합리적이라고 인정되는 통근수단의 범위는 출·퇴근 시각과 근무지의 위치에 의해 한정되는 것이며, 출·퇴근의 경로 역시 그와 같은 범위 내에서 선택된 통근수단에 의해 정해지기 때문이다. 다수의견은 이러한 출·퇴근 행위의 업무종속성을 간과하고 있다.

그러므로 사회통념상 합리적인 방법과 경로에 의한 반복적 출·퇴근 행위라면, 그것은 사업주가 정한 출·퇴근 시각과 근무지에 의해 구속되는 것이며, 그러한 이상 그 출·퇴근 과정은 사업주의 지배·관리하에 있다고 보아야 한다. 그럼에도, 다수의견은 위와 같은 유형의 출·퇴근 행위를 근로자의 사적인 행위와 동일한 범주에 속하는 것으로 평가하고 있으니 부당하다 아니할 수 없다.

나. 다수의견이 명시하고 있지는 않아 알 수는 없지만, 만약 다수의견이 출·퇴근 행위가 사업장 밖에서 이루어지는 행위이기 때문에 사업주의 지배·관리하에 있지 않다고 보는 것이라면, 이는 사업주의 지배·관리하에 있다는 의미를 오해한 것임을 지적하지 않을 수 없다.

사업주의 지배·관리하에 있는지 여부는 산재보험법 제4조 제1호의 해석문제로, 이는 규범적으로 파악되어야 할 것이지, 당해 행위가 사업장 안에서 이루어진 것인지 사업장 밖에서 이루어진 것인지 하는 단순한 물리적·공간적 요소에 의해 평가될 것은 아니다. 이 점은 종래 대법원이 사업장 밖에서 발생한 재해에 대해서도 업무와 관련이 있는 일정한 경우에는 업무상 재해로 인정하고 있는 점에 의해서도 뒷받침된다.

대법원은 근로자가 사업장을 떠나 출장 중인 경우 출장과정의 전반에 대하여 사업주의 지배하에 있음을 인정한다(대법원 1997. 9. 26. 선고 97누8892 판결, 대법원 2006. 3. 24. 선고 2005두5185 판결 등 참조). 출장의 경우에도 근로자가 출장장소까지의 오가는 이동방법이나 경로 등에 대해 선택할 수 있음은 출·퇴근의 경우와 같다. 따라서 출장장소까지 왕복하는 행위를 사업주의 지배·관리하에 있음을 인정하는 입장이라면, 같은 법리로 출·퇴근 행위 역시 사업주의 지배·관리하에 있음을 인정함이 옳다.

나아가 대법원은 업무행위 그 자체가 아니더라도 사회통념상 업무행위에 수반되는 합리적 행위라면 사업주의 지배·관리하에 있는 것으로 보아 휴게시간 중 사업장 밖에서 발생한 재해에 대해서도 업무상 재해로 인정하고 있다(대법원 2004. 12. 24. 선고 2004두6549 판결, 대법원 2005. 10. 28. 선고 2005두6423 판결 등 참조).

이러한 판례의 입장을 따른다면, 사업주의 지배·관리하에 있는지 여부는 당해 행위가 행해진 장소가 아니라 그 행위가 업무행위 또는 업무와 밀접불가분의 관계에 있는 행위인가 하는, 행위의 성격과 내용에 의해 결정되는 것이라고 보아야 한다. 그렇다면 출·퇴근 행위 역시 업무와 밀접불가분의 관계에 있는 행위인 이상, 사업장 밖에서 이루어지는 행위라 하여 사업주의 지배·관리하에 있음이 부정될 수는 없는 일이다. 무엇보다도 휴게시간 중에 사업장 밖에서 발생한 재해와 출·퇴근 중 발생한 재해를 달리 볼 이유가 없는 것이다.

다. 다수의견은, 산재보험법에서 근로자가 통상적인 경로와 방법에 의하여 출·퇴근하는 도중에 발생한 사고를 업무상 재해로 인정하는 특별한 규정을 따로 두고 있지 않으므로, 출·퇴근 방법과 경로의 선택이 통상적이라는 이유만으로 출·퇴근 행위 중 발생한 재해를 업무상 재해로 볼 수 없다고 한다. 그러나 이 역시 수긍하기 어렵다.

산재보험법은 제4조 제1호에서 "업무상의 재해라 함은 업무상의 사유에 의한 근로자의 부상·질병·신체장해 또는 사망을 말한다."고 규정하고 있을 뿐, 구체적으로 어떤 경우가 업무상 재해에 해당하는지에 관하여는 명시적인 규정을 두고 있지 않다. 따라서 업무상 재해에 해당하는지 여부는 산재보험법 제4조 제1호의 해석에 의해 결정될 것이지, 산재보험법에서 업무상 재해로 인정하는 규정을 따로 두고 있는지 여부에 의해 좌우되는 것은 아니다.

출·퇴근 도중 발생한 재해가, 그것이 합리적인 방법과 경로에 의한 출·퇴근 도중 발생된 것이라면 사업주의 지배·관리하에 있는 상태에서 발생한 재해로서, 위 법규정에서 말하는 업무상 재해에 해당한다고 보아야 함은 앞서 논증한 바와 같다. 따라서 산재보험법에서 출·퇴근 중 발생한 재해를 업무상 재해로 인정하는 규정을 따로 두고 있지 않는다 하더라도 위와 같은 유형의 출·퇴근 중 재해는 업무상 재해로 인정되어야 함이 마땅하다.

더욱이 다수의견에 의하게 되면, 마찬가지로 산재보험법에서 업무상 재해로 인정하는 규정을 따로 두고 있지 않은 ‘출장 중 재해’나 ‘휴게시간 중 재해’ 등에 대해 업무상 재해로 인정하는 이유를 설명할 길이 없게 된다.

뿐만 아니라, 공무원연금법의 규정 내용과 비교해 보더라도 공무원연금법 역시 공무원이 통상적인 경로와 방법에 의하여 출·퇴근하는 도중에 발생한 재해를 공무상 재해로 인정하는 규정을 따로 두고 있지 않다. 따라서 다수의견의 논거대로라면, 공무원의 출·퇴근 중 발생한 재해도 공무상 재해가 될 수 없다고 보아야 한다. 그러나 대법원은 일관하여 이를 공무상 재해로 인정하고 있다(대법원 1993. 6. 29. 선고 92누19309 판결 등 참조). 다수의견의 논거는 이 점에서도 위와 같은 대법원의 입장과 명백히 어긋난다.

그러므로 산재보험법에서 출·퇴근 중 발생한 재해를 업무상 재해로 인정하는 규정을 따로 두고 있지 않는다는 이유로 업무상 재해로 볼 수 없다고 하는 다수의견의 논거는 어느 모로 보나 적절한 것이라 할 수 없다.

라. 다수의견은, 일반적인 출·퇴근 과정은 사업주의 지배·관리하에 있다고 할 수 없고, 다만 사업주가 제공한 교통수단을 근로자가 이용하거나 또는 사업주가 이에 준하는 교통수단을 이용하도록 하는 등의 경우에만 근로자의 출·퇴근 과정이 사업주의 지배·관리하에 있는 것이라고 한다. 이러한 견해가 출·퇴근 행위의 업무종속성을 간과함으로써 사업주의 지배·관리하에 있는 상태를 지나치게 제한적으로 보는 것이어서 부당한 것임은 앞서 본 바와 같다. 나아가 이에 의하면, 다음과 같은 불합리한 결과를 초래하고 형평성 내지 평등의 원칙에 반하여 위헌의 소지가 있게 된다.

우선, 다수의견처럼 사업주가 교통수단을 제공하거나 이에 준하는 교통수단을 이용하도록 하는 경우에 한하여 업무상 재해로 인정하고 대중교통수단 혹은 자가 승용차를 이용하거나 도보로 출·퇴근하는 경우에는 업무상 재해로 인정하지 않는다면, 그 자체로 이미 불공평한 것임은 분명하다. 뿐만 아니라 이에 의하게 되면, 사업주의 측면에서 볼 때 근로자의 복지를 위해 통근차량을 제공하거나 차량유지비를 지급한 사업주가 그렇지 않은 사업주보다 오히려 업무상 재해로 인한 책임부담이 더 많아진다는 불합리한 결과를 가져온다. 또한, 근로자의 측면에서도 출·퇴근용 통근버스는 영세한 기업의 근로자보다는 대기업 근로자에게 더 많이 제공되는 현실을 감안할 때 통근버스조차 이용할 수 없는 열악한 근로환경에 처한 근로자의 경우 그 보호의 필요성이 더 큼에도 오히려 업무상 재해로 인정받지 못하는 모순적인 결과가 발생한다는 비난을 피할 수 없게 된다.

다음으로, 다수의견에 의하게 되면, 공무원 등의 공무상 재해와의 관계에서도 일관되지 못한 모습을 보일 수밖에 없다. 산재보험법은 앞서 본 것처럼 업무상 재해를 ‘업무상의 사유에 의한 근로자의 부상·질병·신체장해 또는 사망’으로 규정하고 있고(제4조 제1호, 현행 산재보험법 제5조 제1호의 규정도 이와 같다), 공무원연금법은 공무상 재해에 관하여 ‘공무로 인한 질병·부상과 재해’라고 규정하고 있어(제25조), 위 각 법률규정의 문언상으로 그 의미를 달리 해석할 수 있는 근거를 찾아볼 수 없다. 그런데도 대법원은 공무원이 통상적인 경로와 방법에 의하여 출·퇴근 중 발생한 사고로 재해를 입은 경우 이를 공무상 재해로 인정하고 있다(대법원 1993. 6. 29. 선고 92누19309 판결 등 참조). 사립학교 교직원(사립학교교직원 연금법 제42조 제1항, 제33조)이나 군인(군인연금법 제31조 제1항, 같은 법 시행령 제4조, 국방부훈령 제346조 ‘전공사상자 처리규정’ [별표 1] 전공사상자 분류기준표)의 경우도 마찬가지다.

공무원 등의 공무상 재해와 일반근로자의 업무상 재해에 대한 보상보험제도는 적용대상자와 국가로부터 위탁받아 그 사업을 수행하는 기관만 다를 뿐, 국가가 보험자가 되어 행하여지는 보험사업으로서 재해보상에 대한 기본원리나 사업주 부담이라는 재정부담의 기초가 동일하고, 출·퇴근 행위라는 사실적 측면에서도 아무런 차이가 없다. 공무원연금법 시행규칙 제14조와 산재보험법 시행규칙 제35조 제4항이 출·퇴근 중 재해에 관하여 달리 정하고 있기는 하지만, 위 시행규칙상의 규정들은 행정기관 내부의 사무처리준칙을 규정한 것에 불과한 것이어서 법규적 효력을 갖지 못하므로(대법원 2004. 12. 24. 선고 2004두6549 판결, 대법원 2005. 10. 28. 선고 2005두6423 판결 등 참조) 차별의 근거가 될 수 없다. 그런데도 다수의견에 의하게 되면, 당해 출·퇴근 행위자가 공무원 또는 군인인지 아니면 일반근로자인지에 따라, 나아가 같은 일반근로자라 할지라도 사립학교 교직원인지 아닌지에 따라 그 규범적 평가를 달리하게 된다. 이것이 형평성 내지 평등의 원칙에 반하고 법규범의 통일적 해석 및 적용의 견지에서 타당하지 못함은 두말할 나위도 없을 것이다.

마. 이상에서 보는 바와 같이 근로자의 출·퇴근 행위는 업무와 밀접불가분의 관계에 있는 것으로, 출·퇴근을 위한 합리적인 방법과 경로는 사업주가 정한 근무지와 출·퇴근시각에 의해 정해지는 것이므로, 합리적인 방법과 경로에 의한 출·퇴근 행위라면 이는 사업주의 지배·관리하에 있다고 보아야 하고, 따라서 그러한 출·퇴근 과정에서 발생한 재해는 업무상 재해에 해당한다고 하여야 한다. 이와 같이 보는 것이 근로자의 업무상 재해를 신속하고 공정하게 보상하고 재해근로자의 재활 및 사회복귀를 촉진하여 근로자 보호에 이바지함을 목적으로 하는 산재보험법의 입법 취지에도 부합하는 것임은 자명하다.

바. 이러한 법리를 기록에 비추어 살펴보면, 이 사건의 경우 소외 망인은 근무지로 출근하기 위해 그 소유의 승용차를 이용하여 출근하다가 교통사고로 사망하게 된 것으로, 이는 합리적인 방법과 경로에 의한 출근 과정에서 발생한 재해라 할 것이므로 업무상 재해에 해당한다고 봄이 상당하다.

그런데도 원심은 이 사건 재해가 업무상 재해에 해당하지 않는다고 보아 피고의 이 사건 처분이 적법하다고 판단하고 말았으니, 이러한 원심판결에는 산재보험법상 업무상 재해에 관한 법리를 오해한 위법이 있다. 그러므로 원심판결을 파기하고 사건을 다시 심리·판단하게 하기 위하여 원심법원에 환송함이 상당하다고 할 것인데, 다수의견은 이와 견해를 달리하고 있어 다수의견에 반대하는 바이다.

3. 대법관 양승태, 대법관 김황식, 대법관 안대희의 다수의견에 대한 보충의견

대법관 양승태, 대법관 김황식, 대법관 안대희는 반대의견에 대한 비판을 통하여 다수의견을 보충하려고 한다.

가. 국가는 각종 재난이나 물질적 궁핍으로부터 국민을 보호할 의무를 비롯한 각종 사회복지·사회보장증진 의무를 부담하고 있고, 국가가 인간다운 생활을 할 권리의 실현을 위한 수단적 성격을 갖는 사회보장 수급권의 실질적 보장을 위하여 노력해야 한다는 것은 국가 본연의 책무라고 할 것이므로, 사회보장적 견지에서는 그러한 방향으로 국가 정책의 목표가 두어져야 한다. 반대의견의 근본적인 취지도 이러한 정책의 목표에 맞추어 근로자가 출·퇴근 중에 발생하는 재해도 업무상의 재해에 포섭함으로써 근로자의 권익을 보장하려는 것이라고 이해된다. 우리도 이것이 근로자에 대하여 사보험으로도 보장받지 못할 수 있는 재해에 대한 보장을 도모함으로써 국민의 인간다운 생활을 실현하는 데 부합하는 방향이 됨을 잘 알고 있다.

그러나 산재보험법에 의하여 구체화되는 산재보험 수급권은 사회권적 기본권에 속하는 사항으로서 이러한 사회권적 기본권에 관련된 법률의 해석에 있어서는 입법의 광범위한 재량을 전제로 그 문언과 입법 취지에 따라야 함은 헌법상의 일반 원칙에 관한 사항이라 할 것이다. 이러한 헌법상의 원칙에 반하여 반대의견은 산재보험법의 입법 취지를 넘어서는 해석을 하고 있는 것으로 보인다.

헌법은 제34조 제1항에서 국민에게 인간다운 생활을 할 권리를 보장하는 한편, 같은 조 제2항에서는 국가의 사회보장 및 사회복지 증진의무를 천명하고 있으며, 같은 조 제6항에서는 국가에게 재해 예방 및 그 위험으로부터 국민을 보호하기 위해 노력할 의무가 있음을 선언하고 있다. 그런데 인간다운 생활을 할 권리의 법적 성질에 비추어 볼 때 그 법규범력이 미치는 범위는 ‘최소한의 물질적 생존’의 보장에 필요한 급부에의 요구권으로 한정될 뿐, 그것으로부터 그 이상의 급부를 내용으로 하는 구체적 권리가 직접 도출되어 나오는 것은 아니라고 할 것이고, 한편 헌법 제34조 제2항, 제6항을 보더라도 이들 규정은 단지 사회보장·사회복지의 증진 등과 같은 국가 활동의 목표를 제시하거나 이를 위한 객관적 의무만을 국가에 부과하고 있을 뿐, 개인에게 국가에 대하여 사회보장·사회복지 또는 재해 예방 등과 관련한 적극적 급부의 청구권을 부여하고 있다거나 그것에 관한 입법적 위임을 하고 있다고 보기 어렵다. 결국, 최소한의 수준을 넘는 사회복지·사회보장에 따른 급부의 실현은 이에 필요한 사회경제적 여건에 의존하는 것으로서, 국가가 재정능력, 국민 전체의 소득과 생활수준 내지 전체적인 사회보장 수준과 국민감정 등의 사정, 사회보장제도의 특성 등 여러 가지 요소를 합리적으로 고려한 입법을 통하여 해결할 사항이라 할 것인데, 주어진 가용자원이 한정되고 상충하는 여러 공익이나 국가과제의 조정이 필요한 상황하에서는 입법자에게 광범위한 입법재량이 부여되지 않을 수 없다(헌법재판소 2003. 7. 24. 선고 2002헌바51 결정 등 참조).

출·퇴근 재해에 따른 산재보험 수급권을 비롯하여 근로자에게 인정되는 산재보험 수급권도 산재보험법에 의하여 비로소 구체화되는 사회적 기본권으로서 적극적으로 급부를 요구할 수 있는 권리를 주된 내용으로 하고 있기 때문에 그 권리의 구체적인 부여 여부, 내용 등은 필요성이나 정책적 선호도를 따지기에 앞서 무엇보다도 국가와 국민의 경제적인 수준 등에 따르는 재원확보의 가능성이라는 요인 등을 고려하여 결정되어야 할 것이다.

‘경제사회발전노사정위원회’에서는 이러한 제반 상황을 참작하여 출·퇴근 재해에 따른 산재보험 수급권의 인정 범위, 보험료율의 인상을 비롯한 제반 문제에 대하여 심도 있는 논의를 하였고, 현재 그 결과 등이 반영된 산재보험법 개정안이 국회 계류중에 있으며, 점진적으로 출·퇴근 재해에 따른 산재보험 수급권의 인정 범위를 넓혀가는 방향으로 정책이 추진되고 있고 이것은 그에 따른 막대한 재정적인 부담과 관련 당사자들의 의견을 조율하기 위한 것으로 보인다.

이러한 면에서 볼 때 출·퇴근 재해를 업무상 재해로 포섭할 필요가 있다 하여 곧바로 출·퇴근 재해가 업무상 재해에 해당한다고 해석할 수는 없다 할 것이다. 산재보험법에 의하여 비로소 구체화되는 사회적 기본권의 하나인 출·퇴근 재해에 따른 산재보험 수급권을 산재보험법령이 규정하고 있는 취지를 넘어서서 해석한다면 사회적 기본권에 속한 사항에 대하여 입법과 행정의 역할을 사법이 대신하여 권력분립의 원칙에 위반하는 것이 된다. 즉, 그러한 출·퇴근 재해가 보상의 범위에 포함됨으로써 부담하게 되는 막대한 재정과 이해관계의 조정에 대한 고려 없이 사법이 적극적으로 이를 유도·개입하는 것은 입법재량을 침해하는 것으로서 산재보험의 사보험 대체효과와 정부정책이 민간정책을 구축해 버리는 효과가 발생할 뿐만 아니라 산재보험 재정의 현저한 악화, 보험강제가입자인 사업주의 부담 증가, 예산의 효율적 배분의 저해, 기준의 해석에 관한 혼란 등과 같은 문제점이 초래될 것이다.

각국의 입법례를 보더라도 각국의 산재보험법에서 명문으로 출·퇴근 재해를 업무상 재해로 인정하고 있기에 출·퇴근 재해가 업무상 재해로 인정되고 있는 것이지 법령의 문언적 범위를 넘어서서 해석론으로 이를 업무상 재해로 인정하고 있지는 않고, 법률로 출·퇴근 재해를 업무상 재해로 인정하고 있는 일부 국가의 경우에도 경제적 분석을 통하여 근로자에게 보험료의 일부를 부담시키는 등 그 도입에 있어서 신중을 기하고 있다.

그렇다면 출·퇴근 재해를 업무상 재해로 인정할 것인지, 인정한다면 출·퇴근 재해 중 어느 정도의 범위까지를 업무상 재해에 속한다고 할 것인지 여부는 입법에 의하여 그 한계가 설정되는 것이 옳다. 더욱이 산재보험법 개정 논의가 한창 진행 중인 상황에서 사법부가 이 문제에 개입할 경우에는 법해석을 넘어선 새로운 법률의 형성이자 어느 경우까지 출·퇴근 재해에 포함되는지 등에 관한 해석의 혼란을 초래하는 것일 것이다. 그동안 우리 대법원의 출·퇴근 재해에 관한 많은 판례도 이러한 문제점을 깊이 인식하고서도 이를 충분히 담당할 재정적 여건의 확충 및 관련 당사자들의 이해를 조정하는 입법적 해결을 기다리면서 헌법상의 원칙에 따른 합리적인 해석을 하여왔던 것이다. 따라서 헌법상의 원칙에 입각한 출·퇴근 재해에 관한 그동안의 판례와 같은 다수의견은 타당하다 할 것이다.

나. 반대의견은, 다수의견이 출·퇴근 행위의 업무종속성을 무시하고 있을 뿐만 아니라 출장 중 재해나 휴게시간 중 재해를 업무상 재해로 인정하는 대법원판례의 일관된 입장에도 어긋나는 것이라고 주장한다.

그러나 출장 중 재해에 관하여는 산재보험법 시행규칙 제36조에서 이를 업무상 재해로 본다는 명문의 규정을 두고 있는데다가 출장 행위는 그 자체로 업무행위에 해당하므로, 근로자가 사업장을 떠나 출장 중인 경우라도 그 용무의 이행 여부나 방법 등에 있어 포괄적으로 사업주가 책임을 지고 있다 할 것이어서 특별한 사정이 없는 한 출장 과정의 전반에 대하여 사업주의 지배하에 있다고 말할 수 있으므로 그 업무수행성을 인정할 수 있는 것이다.

또한, 대법원이 휴게시간 중 발생한 재해 중 일정한 경우를 업무상 재해로 인정하는 것은 산재보험법 시행규칙 제35조의2에서 근로기준법에 따라 사업주가 근로자에게 제공한 휴게시간 중에 사업장 내에서 사회통념상 휴게시간 중에 할 수 있다고 인정되는 행위로 인하여 발생한 사고로 사상한 경우에는 이를 업무상 재해로 본다고 규정하고 있기 때문이다. 종래 대법원이 위 조문과 달리 사업장 내외를 불문하고 그 행위 과정이 사업주의 지배·관리하에 있는지 여부에 초점을 맞추어 업무상 재해 인정 여부를 판단한 것은 제반 사정을 감안하여 이루어진 일종의 원칙에 대한 예외에 해당한다. 따라서 이러한 예외를 마치 원칙인 것처럼 해석하는 반대의견은 업무상 재해 인정에 관한 원칙과 예외를 혼동하여 출·퇴근 재해와 휴게시간 중 발생한 재해를 동일한 평면에서 단순 비교한 것이라는 점을 지적하지 않을 수 없다.

그리고 시행규칙에 관한 판례의 입장은 비록 어떠한 시행규칙이 행정청 내부의 사무처리준칙에 해당한다고 하더라도 그 기준이 객관적으로 보아 합리적이 아니라든가 부당하지 아니한 이상 행정청의 의사는 가능한 한 존중되어야 한다는 것이고, 시행규칙의 규정 내용이 상위법령의 위임한계를 벗어나거나 포괄재위임에 해당하는 경우, 또는 상위법령의 목적이나 취지에 반한다고 보이는 경우 등에 한하여 이를 무효로 선언해 온 것으로서 대법원이 기왕의 시행규칙을 무시하면서까지 자의적인 법 해석을 해 온 것은 아니다. 출장 중 재해나 휴게시간 중 재해에 관한 위 시행규칙의 규정들은 모법인 산재보험법의 위임에 따른 것으로서 그 위임취지를 벗어난 것이 아니므로, 위 조문을 포함한 위 시행규칙의 법규성 인정 여부와 상관없이 유효하다 할 것이다.

결국, 다수의견이 출장 중 재해나 휴게시간 중 재해를 업무상 재해로 인정하는 대법원 판례의 일관된 입장과도 어긋난다는 취지의 이 부분 반대의견은 출장 중 재해나 휴게시간 중 재해가 업무상 재해로 인정되는 근거와 이유 등을 잘못 이해한 결과로 보인다.

아울러 반대의견은 공무원과 사립학교 교직원 등에 대하여는 법규와 판례에 의하여 통상적인 경로와 방법에 의하여 출·퇴근 재해를 공무상 재해로 보는 것에 비하여 일반 근로자에 대하여 이를 업무상 재해로 인정하지 않는 것은 형평성에 반하므로 통일적인 해석 및 적용의 견지에서 타당하지 못하다고 지적하고 있다. 물론 이러한 문제의 제기는 충분히 가능하지만 유사 또는 동일한 용어가 여러 법률에 쓰인 경우 이를 기계적으로 동일하게 풀이할 것이 아니라 개별 법규의 테두리 안에서 가장 적합한 의미를 도출하여야 하는 것이 오히려 법해석의 원칙일 뿐 아니라, 근본적으로 이 문제는 입법적으로 해결되는 것이 타당하며 사회권적 기본권에 속하는 사항에 대한 입법재량을 인정하여야 한다는 면에서 반드시 형평성에 반한다고 볼 수도 없다.

공무원 등에 관하여는 공무원연금법 시행규칙 제14조 등에 명시적으로 출·퇴근 재해를 공무상의 재해로 포함하고 있는바, 이는 국가가 재정적 부담 규모의 현격한 차이, 보험주체의 차이와 기여금의 불입 등을 고려하여 입법정책적으로 한 것으로 보이고, 그러한 입법정책적인 고려는 사회권적 기본권에 관한 사항인 한 해석에 있어서도 이를 인정하는 것이 헌법상의 원칙일 것이다.

만약 이러한 입법정책의 차이를 법해석에 의해 없애려 한다면 국가가 우선순위를 두어야 하는 다른 사회보장정책이 후순위로 밀리게 됨으로써 국가의 재정적 부담을 고려한 사회보장정책은 오히려 후퇴될 위험이 있다. 따라서 이러한 형평성에 관한 지적도 결국은 사회보장적 기본권에 대한 이해가 없는 원칙과 예외의 전도에 기인한 것이라 아니 할 수 없다.

따라서 근로자의 출·퇴근이 노무의 제공이라는 업무와 밀접·불가분의 관계에 있다 하더라도, 일반적으로 출·퇴근 방법과 경로의 선택이 근로자에게 유보되어 있어 통상 사업주의 지배·관리 하에 있다고 할 수 없는 이상, 근로자가 선택한 출·퇴근 방법과 경로의 선택이 통상적이라는 이유만으로 출·퇴근 중에 발생한 재해를 업무상 재해로 볼 수는 없으므로 출·퇴근 중의 재해를 다수의견처럼 해석하는 현재의 판례의 태도는 타당하다고 할 것이다.

다. 여러 가지 사회정책적 요소를 고려하여 관련 당사자들 사이의 합리적인 의사소통에 의한 조정을 통하여 입법적으로 해결하여야 할 분야에 입법 취지를 넘는 해석을 하는 것은 헌법상의 원칙에 반하는 것이다. 앞에서 본 바와 같이 ‘경제사회발전노사정위원회’ 등에서의 논의를 거쳐 현재 산재보험법 개정안이 국회 계류중에 있는 이상, 출·퇴근 재해를 업무상 재해로 인정할 것인지, 인정한다면 출·퇴근 재해 중 어느 정도의 범위까지를 업무상 재해에 속한다고 할 것인지 여부는 사회보장적 견지에서 입법에 의하여 그 한계가 설정되는 것이 타당하다. 우리의 이러한 의견이 법의 원칙에 부합하고 사법의 본질에 충실할 뿐만 아니라 보다 성숙한 사법의 모습을 나타내는 것일 것이다.

4. 대법관 이홍훈의 다수의견에 대한 보충의견

대법관 이홍훈은 다음과 같이 다수의견을 보충하고자 한다.

다수의견은, 근로자가 선택한 출·퇴근 방법과 경로의 선택이 통상적이라는 이유만으로 출·퇴근 중에 발생한 재해가 업무상의 재해가 될 수는 없다고 판시하면서도, 사업주가 제공한 교통수단을 근로자가 이용하거나 사업주가 이에 준하는 교통수단을 이용하도록 하는 등 근로자의 출·퇴근 과정이 사업주의 지배·관리하에 있다고 볼 수 있는 경우에는 출·퇴근 중에 발생한 재해를 업무상 재해로 인정할 수 있다고 판단하고 있는바, 이는 현행법의 해석을 통하여 출·퇴근 중에 발생한 재해를 업무상 재해로 인정하는 범위를 확대할 수 있는 여지를 남겨둔 것이다.

출·퇴근 재해를 업무상 재해로 인정하기 위한 요건을 어떻게 설정할 것인지, 그 보험급여의 수준을 어느 정도로 할 것인지, 재정적 여건을 갖추기 위하여 보험료율은 얼마나 인상할 것인지 등에 관한 종합적인 제도개선이 되기 이전에, 통상적인 출·퇴근 중에 발생한 재해를 원칙적으로 업무상 재해가 된다고 해석하는 것은 산재보험의 재정적 위기를 초래하고 보험료율 인상으로 인한 사업주들의 반발이 예상되는 등 상당한 혼란을 불러일으킬 우려가 있어 오히려 근로자 전체의 공공복리 증진을 저해할 수도 있다. 그러나 위와 같은 개선책이 마련되기 이전이라고 하더라도 출·퇴근 중 발생한 재해를 업무상 재해로 인정하는 범위를 점진적으로 확대하여 나가는 것이 바람직하다. 예를 들면, 출·퇴근 도중에 업무를 행하였다거나 통상적인 출근시간 이전에 긴급한 요청을 받고 출근하는 도중이었다는 등 특별한 사정이 있거나 사회통념상 아주 긴밀한 정도로 업무와 밀접·불가분의 관계에 있다고 판단되는 경우에는 개별적 사안에 따라 해석을 통하여 출·퇴근 중에 발생한 재해를 업무상 재해로 인정하는 범위를 얼마든지 확대해 나갈 수 있다고 생각한다.

이상과 같이 다수의견과 같은 결론을 취하면서도 현행법의 해석을 통하여 출·퇴근 중 업무상 재해의 인정 범위를 확대해 나갈 수 있는 길이 열려 있음을 말하고자 다수의견에 대한 보충의견으로 밝혀 둔다.

5. 대법관 김영란, 대법관 박시환, 대법관 김지형의 반대의견에 대한 보충의견

대법관 김영란, 대법관 박시환, 대법관 김지형은 다음과 같이 크게 3가지 측면에서 다수의견의 보충의견에 대한 반론과 함께 반대의견을 보충하고자 한다.

가. 해석론 일반의 측면에서

반대의견의 입장에서 다수의견에 대해 가장 납득하기 어려운 점은 무엇보다도 산재보험법에서 규정하고 있는 ‘업무상의 재해’의 개념과 공무원연금법에서 규정하고 있는 ‘공무로 인한 재해’의 개념을 해석함에 있어서 출·퇴근 중 재해(여기서 말하는 ‘출·퇴근’이라 함은 사회통념상 합리적인 방법과 경로에 의한 반복적 출·퇴근 행위 유형을 가리킨다. 이하 같다)가 포함되는지 여부에 관하여 완전히 상반된 입장을 취하고 있다는 점이다.

다수의견의 보충의견에 의하면, 산재보험법에서 규정하고 있는 ‘업무상의 재해’에는 그 ‘문언’과 ‘입법 취지’에 비추어 출·퇴근 중의 재해는 포함될 수 없고, 따라서 일반근로자가 출·퇴근 중에 입은 재해를 산재보험법의 보험급여의 대상에 포함시키는 것은 그것이 근로자의 권익 보장을 위하여 아무리 필요하다고 하더라도 법률해석론이 아니라 입법정책적으로 해결하여야 한다는 입장으로 이해된다. 그러므로 반대의견이 산재보험법이 본래 예정하고 있지 아니한 출·퇴근 중의 재해를 ‘업무상의 재해’에 포함시키려는 것은 신중하지 못한, 이상(理想)만을 앞세워 해석론이라는 이름 아래 새로운 입법을 하려는 것이나 다를 바 없다는 것이다.

산재보험법상의 ‘업무상의 재해’라는 규정만 놓고 본다면, 다수의견의 위와 같은 해석론은 그 당부(當否)를 떠나서 그 자체로서 충분히 성립할 수 있는 하나의 견해가 될 수 있음은 부정할 길이 없다.

그러나 공무원연금법이 규정하고 있는 ‘공무로 인한 재해’의 해석론과 비교해서 보면 문제가 전혀 달라진다. 왜냐하면, 앞서 반대의견에서 밝힌 바와 같이 대법원은 종래 ‘공무로 인한 재해’의 개념에는 출·퇴근 중의 재해가 포함된다는 입장을 견지하고 있어 완전히 다른 해석을 하고 있기 때문이다.

다수의견의 보충의견이 다수의견의 해석론의 근거로 제시하고 있는 것은 법률규정의 ‘문언’과 ‘입법 취지’라는 것이므로 이에 관하여 살펴본다.

먼저, 산재보험법의 ‘문언’을 들여다본다. 산재보험법은 ‘업무상의 재해’를 ‘업무상의 사유에 의한 근로자의 부상·질병·신체장해 또는 사망’으로 정의하고 있고, 공무원연금법은 ‘공무원의 공무로 인한 질병·부상과 재해 및 사망’으로 정하고 있다. 위 두 법률규정의 ‘문언’만을 대비하여 보면 사소한 표현의 차이는 있을지언정 그 문언의 의미를 달리할 만한 어떠한 차이도 찾아볼 수 없다. 물론 위 정의규정 이외에 출·퇴근 중의 재해에 관하여 별도의 법률규정을 두고 있다면 그 전제가 달라질 수 있을 것이지만, 위에서 본 규정 이외에 출·퇴근 중의 재해가 ‘업무상의 재해’ 또는 ‘공무로 인한 재해’에 포함되는지 여부에 관하여는 다른 어떠한 법률규정도 두고 있지 않다. 그럼에도 불구하고, 어떠한 연유로 ‘문언’을 근거로 해석론을 달리할 수 있다는 것인지 아무리 애써도 이해하기 어렵다.

다음으로, ‘입법 취지’를 보기로 한다. 다수의견의 보충의견이 적절히 지적하고 있는 것처럼, 근로자의 산재보험 수급권이 산재보험법에 의해 비로소 구체화되는 사회권적 기본권이고, 그리하여 그에 관하여는 입법자에게 광범위한 입법재량이 부여되어 있음은 충분히 인정하는 바이다. 따라서 입법자가 국가와 국민의 경제적 수준 및 그에 따르는 재원확보의 가능성 등 사회·경제적 여건을 고려하여 위와 같은 수급권의 구체적 부여 여부, 그 내용 등을 결정할 수 있다는 점에 대해서는 전적으로 동의한다. 반대의견도 ‘업무상의 재해’에 출·퇴근 중 재해가 반드시 포함되어야 하는 것이 사회권적 기본권을 규정한 헌법적 요청이라고 주장하는 것은 결코 아니다. 단지 사회권적 기본권을 구체화하고 있는 법률 중의 하나인 산재보험법에 규정된 ‘업무상의 재해’의 개념 해석상 출·퇴근 중의 재해가 포함되는 것으로 보아야 한다는 것이다.

그런데 우리나라에서 산재보험법이 입법화될 당시, 입법자의 의도가 일반근로자의 산재보험 수급권을 공무원 또는 군인, 더 나아가 사립학교 교직원 등의 그것과 달리 정하고자 하였다고 볼 근거는 어디에서도 찾아볼 수 없다. 오히려 관련되는 법률규정을 전체적으로 대비하여 보더라도 출·퇴근 중의 재해 등에 관하여 그 보험급여 수급권의 존부나 범위 등을 달리 정하려는 취지를 읽을 수 있기보다는, 동일한 사항이기는 하지만 그 대상자가 일반근로자인지, 공무원 또는 군인인지, 나아가 일반근로자 중에서도 특히 사립학교 교직원인지에 차이가 있어 입법기술상의 필요에 따라 해당되는 개별 법률을 달리 제정하였을 뿐이었던 것으로 보는 것이 훨씬 자연스러울 것이다.

산재보험법이 1963. 11. 5.에, 공무원연금법이 1960. 1. 1.에 각 제정된 후, 산재보험 수급업무를 담당하는 노동부에서는 1982년경 그에 관한 세부사항으로서 자체적으로 ‘업무상 재해 인정기준’을 정한 노동부예규를 제정하였고, 공무원연금 수급업무를 담당하는 총무처 역시 1981년경 ‘공무상 재해 인정기준’을 정한 총무처훈령을 제정하였는데, 위 노동부예규에서는 출·퇴근 중의 재해를 업무상 재해로 명시하지 않았던 반면에, 위 총무처훈령에서는 출·퇴근 중의 재해를 공무상 재해에 명시적으로 포함시킴으로써, 그 수급업무에 관하여 전혀 상반된 해석을 하여 왔다. 그러나 이것이 입법자의 의도를 반영한 것이라고 볼 수 있는 근거는 아무 것도 없다. 오히려 입법자의 의도와는 상관없이 그 수급업무 운영상의 사정에 따라 각 행정부처별로 다른 취급을 한 것으로 보일 뿐이다. 이러한 노동부예규나 총무처훈령이 법규적 효력이 없는 것은 물론이다. 또한, 후에 이를 그대로 이어받아 제정된 산재보험법 시행규칙이나 공무원연금법 시행규칙 역시 법규적 효력을 인정받지 못하고 있는 것이 현재 판례의 입장임은 앞서 반대의견에서 밝힌 바와 같다. 이와 같이 출·퇴근 중의 재해에 대한 각 소관 행정부처의 서로 다른 해석이 입법자의 입법의도와는 무관하게 아무런 법률적 근거 없이 이루어진 것을 두고 사법부가 이를 그대로 용인하는 해석을 해버린다면, 사법부가 행정부와 함께 입법권을 침해하는 것과 다를 바 없다.

다수의견의 보충의견에 따르면, 다수의견이 일반근로자의 출·퇴근 중의 재해를 업무상의 재해로 인정하지 않아야 될 이유로서, 보험재정의 악화나 사업주의 부담 증가와 같은 문제점이 발생될 수 있음을 고려한 것으로 보인다. 충분히 경청할 만한 지적이라 생각한다. 반대의견도 그러한 문제점이 전혀 없다고 부정하거나 경시하는 것은 아니다. 다만, 다수의견이 이러한 점이 산재보험법의 ‘업무상의 재해’의 개념을 해석하는 데 있어서 ‘입법 취지’로 고려되어야 한다고 주장하는 것이라면, 이는 타당하지 않다고 생각한다. 산재보험법과 공무원연금법의 관련 법규를 아무리 살펴보아도 ‘업무상의 재해’ 또는 ‘공무로 인한 재해’의 개념을 각기 해석·적용함에 있어서 그러한 사유를 감안하여 수급권의 부여 여부나 그 내용을 달리할 수 있다는 취지를 정한 규정을 도저히 발견할 수 없기 때문이다. 입법자가 근로자의 산재보험급여 수급권 또는 공무원 등의 공무원연금 수급권의 범위를 정한 법규정의 내용상 아무런 차이를 두지 않아 당해 재해가 업무상 재해 또는 공무상 재해로 인정되는 것이라면, 이를 집행하여야 할 행정기관으로서는 마땅히 그에 따르는 재원을 마련하는 등 필요한 조치를 취하여 이를 시행하여야 할 것이다. 산재보험급여에 관하여 산재보험법 제3조 제2항이, "국가는 매 회계연도 예산의 범위 안에서 보험사업에 소요되는 비용의 일부를 지원할 수 있다."고 규정하고 있는 것도 바로 이러한 점을 염두에 둔 규정이라 할 것이다. 그런데 이와 달리 다수의견의 보충의견과 같이 일반근로자에 대해서는 재정적인 문제가 있다는 점을 들어 입법자가 정한 법률의 내용을 차별적으로 해석·적용하여 일반근로자에 대해서는 입법자의 본래 의도보다 축소하여 해석하고 집행하는 것이 허용될 수 있다면, 이는 법률해석에 있어서 본말이 전도된 것으로 타당하지 않다는 점을 지적해 두지 않을 수 없다.

이와 같이 어느 모로 보더라도 명확하지 않은 ‘입법 취지’를 근거로 그 해석을 달리하고자 하는 다수의견의 입장에는 전혀 동의할 수 없다. 만약 다수의견이 주장하고 있는 것처럼 산재보험법에 규정한 ‘업무상의 재해’의 개념에 출·퇴근 중의 재해가 포함될 수 없다는 해석론이 옳다고 가정한다면, 그 문언상으로 동일한 의미로 규정하고 있는 공무원연금법상의 ‘공무로 인한 재해’의 개념에 관해서도 마찬가지로 출·퇴근 중의 재해가 포함되지 않는다고 해석하는 것이 차라리 법률규정의 체계적 해석으로 수미일관된 입장이라 할 것이다. 물론 그렇다고 하여 반대의견이 공무상 재해에 관한 종래 판례의 입장을 변경하여 출·퇴근 중의 재해를 공무상 재해의 개념에 포함하지 않도록 하는 것이 옳다고 주장하자는 것은 결코 아니다. 오히려 반대의견의 입장은 처음부터 개념상 출·퇴근 중의 재해가 ‘업무’ 또는 ‘공무’상의 재해에 포함되어야 한다는 것이므로, 그러한 방향으로 해석론이 통일되어야 한다는 것이고, 어느 쪽이든 위와 같이 법률규정상 동일한 개념에 대하여 법원이 전혀 상반된 해석을 하여 법률해석의 혼란을 가중시키는 태도는 온당치 않다고 생각한다.

이처럼 ‘문언’으로 보나 ‘입법 취지’로 보나 ‘업무상의 재해’와 ‘공무로 인한 재해’ 양자에 대하여 그 의미를 달리 해석할 근거가 없음에도 종래 대법원이 전혀 다른 법률해석을 하고 있어 위 법률규정의 수범자인 국민에게 커다란 혼란을 일으키게 하고 있다면, 이러한 불합리는 하루빨리 해소되어야 한다는 것이 반대의견의 일관된 입장이다.

나. 위헌론의 측면에서

‘업무상의 재해’와 ‘공무로 인한 재해’의 개념을 달리 해석하는 것은 앞서 본 바와 같이 법률규정의 합리적 해석론 일반으로서도 받아들이기 어려울 뿐만 아니라, 설령 법률의 규정에서 명시적으로 근로자의 업무상 재해의 인정범위를 정함에 있어서 출·퇴근 중의 재해를 제외하면서 공무원 등의 경우에는 정반대로 이를 포함함으로써 서로 달리 정하고 있다고 하더라도, 그것이 헌법적으로 정당화될 수 있는지는 의문이다.

출·퇴근 중의 재해라는 동일한 유형의 재해에 대한 보험수급권의 부여 여부에 관하여 일반근로자와 공무원 등을 구분하여 이를 전혀 달리 취급하는 것은 형평성 내지 헌법상 평등의 원칙에 반하는 것으로서 위헌의 의심이 있음은 반대의견에서 이미 살펴본 바와 같다. 다만, 다수의견의 보충의견에서 지적하는 점에 대한 반론으로서 다음의 몇 가지 점을 다시 한 번 강조해 두고 싶다.

헌법 제11조 제1항은 "모든 국민은 법 앞에 평등하다. 누구든지 성별·종교 또는 사회적 신분에 의하여 정치적·경제적·사회적·문화적 생활의 모든 영역에 있어서 차별을 받지 아니한다."라고 규정하고 있는데, 헌법 제11조 제1항에 의거한 평등원칙은 입법자에게 본질적으로 같은 것을 자의적으로 다르게, 본질적으로 다른 것을 자의적으로 같게 취급하는 것을 금하고 있다. 그런데 이러한 평등원칙은 일체의 차별적 취급이나 동일한 취급을 부정하는 절대적 평등을 의미하는 것은 아니며, 법을 적용함에 있어서 뿐만 아니라 입법을 함에 있어서도 불합리한 차별취급이나 동일취급을 하여서는 안된다는 것을 뜻한다(헌법재판소 1989. 5. 24. 선고 89헌가37, 96 결정, 헌법재판소 2006. 5. 25. 선고 2005헌가17, 2006헌바17 결정 등 참조).

다수의견의 보충의견에 의하면, 일반근로자의 ‘업무상의 재해’의 경우와 달리 공무원에 대한 ‘공무로 인한 재해’에 출·퇴근 중의 재해가 포함되는 것은, ‘국가의 재정적 부담규모의 현격한 차이’, ‘보험주체의 차이’와 ‘기여금의 불입 여부’ 등을 고려할 때 형평성에서도 헌법적으로 충분히 받아들일 수 있다는 것이다.

우선 ‘기여금 불입 여부’는 근거 자체가 잘못이다. 대법원은 종래 "공무원연금법상의 경우는 공무원이 상당한 액의 기여금을 불입하게 되는 데 비하여 산업재해의 경우는 그와 같은 근로자의 부담이 없는 점 등 그 성질을 같이하는 것이 아니므로, 그 재해 기준을 같이하지 않는다고 하여 헌법상의 평등의 원칙에 위배된다고 할 수 없다."고 판시하여, 업무상 재해와 공무상 재해에서 출·퇴근 중 재해를 달리 취급하는 것이 평등의 원칙에 위배되지 않는다는 취지의 태도를 표명한 바 있다(대법원 1995. 3. 14. 선고 94누15523 판결, 대법원 2004. 2. 26. 선고 2003두13588 판결 등 참조). 그러나 공무원의 기여금은 퇴직급여에 충당되는 것이고 공무상 재해에 지급되는 비용은 모두 국가 또는 지방자치단체가 부담하는 것임이 공무원연금법 제65조 제2항, 같은 법 시행령 제66조 등 관계 법령의 규정상 명백하다. 따라서 이 점에서 사용자가 보험료를 부담하는 업무상 재해와 다를 바 없고, 위와 같은 논거는 타당하지 않다.

또한, ‘보험주체’의 차이라는 점에 관하여 보더라도, 공무원에 대한 재해급부나 근로자에 대한 산재보험은 크게 보아서 모두 국가가 보험자로서 공무원을 포함한 전체 근로자가 일을 하면서 입을 수 있는 재해나 질병 등의 사고에 의하여 입을 수 있는 위험을 인수하여 보험급여를 해주려는 것이고, 다만 그 보험사업의 운영만을 서로 다른 행정기관(행정자치부와 노동부) 산하 기구에 나누어 놓고 있다는 점에서 보험주체를 달리한다고 볼 수 없다.

보험주체를 포함하여 보험 운영의 구조를 살펴보면, 보험자는 국가, 보험가입자는 사업주, 수급권자는 공무원 등을 포함한 전체 근로자라는 점에서 산재보험법과 공무원연금법은 완전히 같다고 할 수 있다. 즉, 보험자인 국가는 보험사업 또는 연금사업을 운영한다. 그리고 보험가입자는 사업주로서 공무원 등의 경우에도 사업주는 국가이다. 여기서 국가는 보험사업의 운영자와 겹치기는 하지만, 보험료를 납부하여야 할 의무자로서의 지위에서는 일반근로자의 사업주와 다를 바 없다. 나아가 보험수급권자는 일반근로자나 공무원 등으로 보험사고로 인한 보험급여의 혜택을 받는 자이다.

따라서 국가가 공적 부조(公的 扶助)를 함에 있어서 출·퇴근 중 재해라는 동일한 유형의 보험사고에 대하여 공무원 등과 일반근로자 사이에 그 ‘재정적 부담 규모’의 차이를 이유로 보험의 수혜 여부를 달리하는 것은 ‘본질적으로 같은 것을 자의적으로 다르게 취급하는’ 결과를 낳아 입법형성권의 범위를 벗어난 불합리한 차별취급에 해당하는 것 아닌가 하는 의심을 지울 수 없고, 오히려 앞서 언급한 바와 같이 보험자인 국가로서는 그러한 재정상태의 불균형을 해소하여야 할 의무가 있다고 보아야 할 것으로 생각한다.

예를 들어, 국가가 보험 운영상의 재정상태를 고려하여 보험사고를 업무의 밀접성의 정도 차이에 따라 구분하여 밀접성이 높은 유형의 것을 우선적으로 보험급부의 대상으로 삼고 상대적으로 밀접성이 낮은 것을 보험급부 대상에서 제외하고 있다면, 이러한 경우는 재정상태를 이유로 한 합리적인 차별취급의 사례로 입법형성권의 범위 안에 든다고 상정할 수 있을지 모른다. 그렇지만, 위와 같이 밀접성의 정도가 완전히 동일한 유형의 보험사고에 대하여 보험급부의 대상 여부를 달리하는 것은 이에 해당한다고 할 수 없다고 볼 것이다.

다수의견과 같이 종래의 대법원판례의 견해가 유지된다면, 헌법상 평등의 원칙이라는 관점에서 문제가 되는 것은 비단 ‘일반근로자’와 ‘공무원 또는 군인’의 차별만이 아니다. 근로자 중에서도 ‘사립학교 교직원이 아닌 일반근로자’와 ‘사립학교 교직원인 근로자’와의 차별도 존재한다는 것이다. 만약 다수의견의 보충의견과 같은 논리로 차별적 취급이 가능하다면, 가령 서울에 사업장 소재지를 둔 사업체에 종사하는 근로자와 그 밖의 지방에 사업장 소재지를 둔 사업체에 종사하는 근로자 사이에 사업주의 재정적 부담 능력의 차이, 보험주체의 차이(예를 들어, 서로 산재보험사업을 담당하는 기관이 다르다고 가정할 경우) 등을 들어 출·퇴근 중 재해를 포함시키는지 여부를 달리하더라도 형평성에 문제가 없다고 볼 수 있는지 의문이고, 또 다른 예로 상시 100인 이상의 근로자를 사용하는 사업장에 종사하는 근로자와 그 미만의 근로자를 사용하는 사업장에 종사하는 근로자 사이에 차이를 두는 것은 가능한 것인지, 의문이 꼬리에 꼬리를 물고 일어난다.

이와 같이 법률의 규정에서 명시적으로 출·퇴근 중 재해에 관하여 일반근로자와 공무원 등의 경우를 달리 규정한 경우라 하더라도 위헌의 소지가 있는 마당에, 하물며 법률의 규정이 명확하지 않아 그 문언상 다의적(多義的) 해석이 가능한 것이라면, 굳이 이를 위헌적으로 해석할 이유가 없다. 바로 이러한 때에 가능한 한 합헌적으로 해석하는 것이 이른바 합헌적 법률해석의 원칙에도 부합하고, 또 법률해석의 정도(正道)라고 믿는다. 따라서 이러한 점에서 반대의견을 가리켜 법령의 문언적 범위를 넘어서는 해석이라고 지적하는 것은 정당한 비판으로서 받아들이기 어렵다.

다. 입법론의 측면에서

다수의견의 보충의견은 출·퇴근 중 재해를 산재보험의 대상으로 삼을지 여부는 입법론의 문제이므로 국회에서의 논의에 맡겨두는 것이 타당하다고 한다.

반대의견의 입장에서도 출·퇴근 중 재해의 업무상 재해 인정 여부를 입법적으로 해결하는 것이 가장 바람직하다는 점에는 이의가 없다. 그러한 의미에서 국회에서 이에 관한 입법논의가 진행된다면, 일반근로자의 출·퇴근 중 재해에 대해 국제적 수준에 걸맞는 보호가 이루어질 수 있기를 바라고, 그러한 뜻에서 참고삼아 몇 마디 덧붙이고자 한다.

출·퇴근 중의 재해에 관한 외국의 입법례를 보면, 유럽의 경우 대표적으로 오스트리아는 1917년경부터, 독일은 1925년경부터, 프랑스는 1946년경부터 이미 이를 산업재해의 한 유형으로 인정하여 보험급여의 대상으로 삼아왔다. 그리고 가까운 일본도 1973년부터 노재(勞災)보험의 보호대상으로 정하고 있다. 뿐만 아니라 국제노동기구(ILO)도 1964년 제121호 협약에서 출·퇴근 중 재해를 산업재해에 포함하도록 하고 있다.

이와 같이 근로자의 출·퇴근 중 재해가 보험급여의 대상으로 보호되는 것은 세계적으로 거의 한 세기 전부터 진행되어온 커다란 추세임을 알 수 있다. 산재보험이 시작될 당시에는 단순히 근로자에 대한 사용자의 손실보상을 보장하는 것에 목표를 두었으나 시간이 지날수록 점차 근로자에 대한 생활보장이라는 의미를 더해 가면서 오늘날 산재보험법의 사회적 기능은 현저히 중요하게 인식되고 있다. 그런데도 우리나라가 아직 출·퇴근 중 재해를 업무상 재해로 인정하지 않는 태도를 유지하고 있는 것은 우리나라의 경제적 수준을 감안한다 하더라도 지나치게 늦은 감이 있다. 이와 같이 된 데에는 앞서 본 것처럼 법률규정의 ‘문언’상으로나 ‘입법 취지’로나 일반근로자와 공무원 등의 출·퇴근 중 재해를 달리 취급할 합리적인 이유가 없는데도 대법원이 이를 달리 보는 법률해석을 하였던 것도 그 한 원인이 되었던 것으로 보인다.

그렇다면 이제라도 대법원이 종래의 굴곡된 법률해석을 바로잡음으로써 위헌적 소지를 제거하고 법규범의 통일적 해석 및 적용을 도모하는 것이 결자해지의 차원에서라도 당연할 것이지만, 유감스럽게도 이에 이르지 못하고 있는 현재의 시점에서 우리도 뒤늦게나마 출·퇴근 중 재해를 명확하게 산재보험의 대상에 포함시키는 입법을 하루빨리 마련하여 근로자의 권익보호에 충실한 방향으로 나아갈 수 있으면 좋겠다는 생각이다.

업무상의 재해를 좀 더 쉽게 표현한다면, ‘어떤 사람이 근로자라는 처지에 있었기 때문에 당할 수밖에 없었던 재해’, 그 이상도 그 이하도 아닐 것이다. 다행스럽게도 노동부 역시 출·퇴근 중 재해를 업무상의 재해에 포함시키는 입법을 위한 정책목표를 설정하고 꾸준히 노력하고 있는 것으로 듣고 있기에, 이에 대한 기대를 담아 보충의견의 입장을 마무리하고자 한다.

6. 대법관 안대희의 다수의견에 대한 재보충의견

대법관 안대희는 반대의견의 보충의견에 대한 반론과 함께 다수의견을 다시 보충하고자 한다.

반대의견은 공무원에 대하여는 ‘공무로 인한 재해’에 출·퇴근 재해를 포함시키면서 근로자의 출·퇴근 재해에 대하여는 이와 달리 취급하는 것이 헌법상 평등의 원칙에 위반될 우려가 있다는 지적을 하고 있다. 그러나 국가가 재정적 여건 등 여러 가지 사정을 감안하여 선별적으로 수혜를 확대하는 것은 평등원칙에 위배되는 것으로 볼 수 없다. 반대의견에서 제시하는 것처럼 우리 대법원판례도 이를 명백히 하고 있으며(대법원 1995. 3. 14. 선고 94누15523 판결 참조) 헌법재판소에서도 이 문제가 평등의 원칙에 위배되지 아니함을 명시적으로 선언한 바 있다(헌법재판소 1993. 9. 27. 선고 93헌마45 결정 참조).

사회권적 기본권에 속한 사항에서 국가가 선택적으로 수혜의 범위를 확대하는 것이 헌법상의 평등의 원칙에 반하지 아니함은 너무나도 당연한 것이다. 즉 헌법 제11조 제1항이 규정하는 평등의 원칙은 국가가 언제 어디에서 어떤 계층을 대상으로 하여 기본권에 관한 상황이나 제도의 개선을 시작할 것인지를 선택하는 것을 방해하지 아니하고, 오히려 그것이 허용되지 아니한다면, 모든 사항과 계층을 대상으로 하여 동시에 제도의 개선을 추진하는 예외적인 경우를 제외하고는 어떠한 제도의 개선도 평등의 원칙 때문에 그 시행이 불가능하다는 결과에 이르게 되어 불합리할 뿐 아니라 평등의 원칙이 실현하고자 하는 가치와도 어긋나기 때문이다(헌법재판소 1991. 2. 11. 선고 90헌가27 결정, 헌법재판소 1998. 12. 24. 선고 98헌가1 결정 참조).

일반근로자의 출·퇴근 재해를 업무상 재해에 포함할지 여부는 입법적으로 해결하여야 한다는 것이 다수의견임은 앞에서 본 바와 같다. 그리고 이를 포함할 경우에는 산재보험의 재정적 부담이 연간 3,000억 원 이상 소요되고 또 그 소요예산은 연차적으로 증가하여 20년이 지나면 9,000억 원 이상 소요될 것으로 예상되며 이것은 현재도 2조 원 이상의 재정적자를 안고 있는 보험재정(현 상태로도 유동성의 위기까지 있다 한다)에 최악의 상황을 맞게 할 수 있고, 또 기업이 부담하여야 할 보험료율도 30% 안팎의 인상이 불가피하다는 자료도 있다. 어쨌든 그 해결은 경제적 여건을 고려하고 당사자의 의견을 조정하여 입법적으로 하여야 할 것이나, 입법을 연구하는 정책당국도 보험재정의 악화가 심한 현실에서 입법을 위하여는 재정여건의 개선은 물론 보험료 부과방식의 변경 등의 제도적 장치와 사업주와 근로자가 보험료를 공동으로 부담하는 등의 사회적 합의가 전제되어야 한다고 보고 있다고 한다. 외국의 입법례에서도 출·퇴근 재해를 업무상 재해로 인정하지 아니하는 국가들이 다수 있으며(미국, 영국, 호주, 캐나다, 이탈리아), 출·퇴근 재해를 업무상 재해로 인정하는 국가들도 그 재정적 부담이 심하여 사회문제화되고 있다고 한다.

국가가 국민의 복지를 위하여 해줄 수 있는 것을 다하는 것이 현대 사회복지국가의 이념 중의 하나일 것이나 거기에는 경제적 여건과 현실을 감안하여야 하는 제약이 있음은 어느 나라나 마찬가지일 것이다. 사회적 보장을 위하여는 의료보험, 실업보험 등 기본적 보장 이외에도 장애인, 노령자, 극빈자 등을 위한 많은 복지예산이 소요되므로, 그 중에서 재정적 여건을 감안한 우선순위와 보장범위를 정하는 입법정책적 선택을 하는 것은 국민들의 진정한 복지를 위하여 필수불가결한 일이다. 이러한 입법적 선택에 있어서는 종국적으로 이를 부담하는 납세자와 보장의 우선적인 필요성을 감안한 판단이 필요할 것이다. 이러한 이유에서 다수의견에 대한 보충의견에서 본 것처럼 사회적 기본권에 관하여는 광범위한 입법재량을 인정하고 있는 것이다.

다시 한 번 사회권적 기본권에 속하는 사항에 대한 법률에 대하여 단편적이고 제한적인 해석을 한다는 것은 헌법상의 원칙에 반할 뿐 아니라 헌법에서 규정한 국민의 사회복지를 진정으로 보장·증진시키는 것도 아니며 오히려 그로 인하여 준비되지 아니한 정책을 사회적 대책없이 맞이하는 혼란을 초래하고, 신속한 보장이 필요한 분야에 대한 적절한 보장을 할 수 없게 만드는 문제점이 있다는 것과 함께, 입법적으로도 모든 사정을 종합하여 신중히 결정하여야 하는 분야를 단편적인 법률의 해석으로 채택하는 것이 더없이 위험하다는 것을 강조하면서 다수의견을 재보충한다.

대법원장 이용훈(재판장) 고현철 김영란 양승태 김황식 박시환 김지형(주심) 이홍훈 박일환 김능환 전수안 안대희

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
95구29538 · 서울고법 1996-03-14
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits, etc.
#2
2013두17817 · 대법원 2014-02-27
Revocation of Non-Payment Disposition of Survivor Benefits a
#3
2003구합29286 · 서울행정법원 2004-11-10
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits, etc.
#4
99두9025 · 대법원 1999-12-24
Revocation of Non-Payment Disposition of Survivor Benefits
#5
2015구단1106 · 전주지방법원 0001-01-01
유족급여 부지급 결정 취소

Cases citing this decision

2013두17817 · 대법원 2014-02-27
Revocation of Non-Payment Disposition of Survivor Benefits a
2008두1191 · 대법원 2008-05-29
Revocation of Disapproval of Medical Care Benefits (요양불승인처분취
2006두2022 · 대법원 2008-03-27
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivor Compensation and
2007두6991 · 대법원 2007-10-26
Revocation of Disapproval of Medical Care Benefits (요양불승인처분취
2007두2791 · 대법원 2007-10-26
Revocation of Non-Approval of Medical Care Benefits (요양불승인처분

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)