Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 2006다82793

Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)구상금

Decided2008. 12. 11. Court대법원Reversed and remanded (파기환송) - the Supreme Court overturned the portion of the lower court's decision that had ruled against the Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service.
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

After the Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service (근로복지공단) paid medical care benefits (요양급여) to a worker injured in a traffic accident, it sought reimbursement (구상금) from the at-fault driver's automobile insurance company. The Supreme Court held that the Service could subrogate the injured worker's claim for compulsory liability insurance proceeds, because a traffic accident victim may claim medical expenses as insurance proceeds regardless of their own comparative negligence. The Court reversed the portion of the lower court's ruling against the Service and remanded the case for further proceedings.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA worker injured in a traffic accident received medical care benefits from the Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service, which then sought reimbursement from the at-fault driver's automobile insurer.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court ruled that the Service could subrogate the worker's claim for liability insurance proceeds regardless of the worker's own fault, reversing the lower court's decision against the Service.
  • LessonInsurers must recognize that public compensation agencies can recover medical costs through subrogation even when the injured worker shares some fault for the accident.
Issues
  • Whether the damage claim acquired by the Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service through subrogation retains the same identity as the injured worker's original claim against the third party
  • Whether a traffic accident victim can claim compulsory liability insurance proceeds regardless of their own degree of fault
  • Whether the Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service can subrogate the accident victim's claim for liability insurance proceeds
Key reasoning

When the Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service pays insurance benefits to an injured worker, it acquires by subrogation the worker's damage claim against the responsible third party, and this acquired claim retains the same identity and legal nature as the worker's original claim. Under Korea's compulsory automobile liability insurance system, an accident victim is entitled to claim the equivalent of medical treatment costs directly from the insurer as liability insurance proceeds (책임보험금), regardless of whether the victim bears some fault for the accident. Since the injured worker retained this right against the insurer even accounting for comparative negligence, the Service, having paid the worker's medical benefits, could step into the worker's shoes and claim the same amount from the insurer. The lower court erred in denying the Service's reimbursement claim based on the worker's fault.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

[1] The provision of the main text of Article 54(1) of the former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) (before its full amendment by Act No. 8373 of April 11, 2007) is premised on the injured worker who received insurance benefits holding a right to claim damages against a third party, and provides that the Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service acquires that right to claim damages within the limit of the amount of insurance benefits paid to the injured worker; the right to claim damages acquired by the Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service by paying insurance benefits pursuant to the statutory provisions retains its identity with the injured worker's right to claim damages against the third party as it is.

[2] The purport of the proviso to Article 3(1)(2) of the former Enforcement Decree of the Guarantee of Automobile Accident Compensation Act (자동차손해배상보장법 시행령) (before its amendment by Presidential Decree No. 18286 of February 21, 2004) should be interpreted as meaning that, even where the amount of damage remaining after deducting from the damage suffered by a traffic accident victim the amount corresponding to his or her percentage of fault falls short of the amount corresponding to medical expenses under the said provision, in order to guarantee treatment for the victim of the traffic accident, such amount corresponding to medical expenses is to be deemed the amount of damage and paid as liability insurance money; therefore, a traffic accident victim may claim the amount corresponding to medical expenses under the proviso to item 2 above as liability insurance money under the former Guarantee of Automobile Accident Compensation Act (자동차손해배상보장법) (before its amendment by Act No. 6969 of August 21, 2003), regardless of the existence or degree of his or her own fault contributing to the occurrence of the traffic accident.

[3] The right to claim liability insurance money held by a traffic accident victim who is also an injured worker against an insurance company pursuant to the proviso to Article 3(1)(2) of the former Enforcement Decree of the Guarantee of Automobile Accident Compensation Act (before its amendment by Presidential Decree No. 18286 of February 21, 2004) should be deemed to fall under "the right to claim damages against a third party held by a person who received benefits" as prescribed in the main text of Article 54(1) of the former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (before its full amendment by Act No. 8373 of April 11, 2007); therefore, the Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service, which paid medical care benefits to the victim, may subrogate, within the limit of the amount of such benefits, the victim's right to claim liability insurance money against the insurance company under the proviso to item 2 above.

Full text (English, AI translation) 12,493 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellant and Appellee, Incidental Appellee] Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service
[Defendant, Appellee and Appellant, Incidental Appellant] National Federation of Taxi Transport Business Associations (Litigation Representative Attorney Jeong Gu-hun and 1 other)
[Judgment Below] Daejeon District Court Judgment 2006Na10338, decided November 9, 2006

[Order]

The part of the judgment below against the Plaintiff is reversed, and this part of the case is remanded to the Panel Division of the Daejeon District Court. The Defendant's appeal is dismissed, and the Defendant's incidental appeal is dismissed as unlawful.

[Reasoning]

1. As to the Plaintiff's appeal
A. The main text of Article 54(1) of the former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (구 산업재해보상보험법) (before its full amendment by Act No. 8373 of April 11, 2007; hereinafter the same) provides that "where the Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service (hereinafter referred to as the 'Service') has paid insurance benefits for an accident caused by the act of a third party, it shall be subrogated to the right to claim damages against the third party held by the person who received the benefits, within the limit of the amount of such benefits." This provision presupposes that the injured worker who received the benefits holds a right to claim damages against the third party, and provides that the Service acquires that right to claim damages within the limit of the amount of insurance benefits paid to the injured worker; thus, the right to claim damages acquired by the Service through the payment of insurance benefits pursuant to the statutory provision retains its identity as it was (see Supreme Court en banc Decision 95Da37421, delivered December 16, 1997, etc.).
Meanwhile, the main text of Article 9(1) of the former Guarantee of Automobile Accident Compensation Act (구 자동차손해배상보장법) (before its amendment by Act No. 6969 of August 21, 2003, which took effect on August 22, 2004; hereinafter the same) provides that "where a person who has taken out insurance, etc. becomes liable for damages under Article 3, the victim may, as prescribed by Presidential Decree, request the insurer, etc. to pay the insurance money, etc. directly to the victim pursuant to Article 724(2) of the Commercial Act (상법)." Article 3(1) of the Enforcement Decree of the same Act (before its amendment by Presidential Decree No. 18286 of February 21, 2004; hereinafter referred to as the "former Enforcement Decree") provides that "the insurance money or mutual aid money of the liability insurance or liability mutual aid which a person who intends to operate an automobile must take out pursuant to Article 5(1) of the Act shall be as set forth in each of the following subparagraphs per victim," and in item 2 of the same paragraph provides that "in case of injury, the amount of damage incurred by the victim within the range of the amount set forth in [Attached Table 1]: provided that, where the amount of damage is less than the amount equivalent to the medical treatment fees calculated according to the standards concerning the automobile insurance medical treatment fee schedule under Article 13(1) of the Act, the amount equivalent to such medical treatment fees, within the range of the amount set forth in [Attached Table 1], shall be deemed the amount of damage." The purport of the proviso to item 2 above is interpreted to mean that, even where the amount of damage, after deducting the amount corresponding to the victim's own comparative negligence from the damage sustained by the traffic accident victim, is less than the amount equivalent to the medical treatment fees under the above provision, the amount equivalent to such medical treatment fees shall be deemed the amount of damage in order to guarantee the treatment of the victim of the traffic accident, and this amount shall be paid as liability insurance money. Accordingly, a traffic accident victim may claim, as liability insurance money under the Guarantee of Automobile Accident Compensation Act, the amount equivalent to medical treatment fees under the proviso to item 2 above, regardless of the existence or degree of his or her own negligence contributing to the occurrence of the traffic accident.

B. In this case, the insurance company's obligation to pay liability insurance money to the traffic accident victim constitutes a cumulative assumption of the tortfeasor's obligation to compensate the traffic accident victim for damages (see Supreme Court Decision 96Da19765, delivered September 18, 1998; Supreme Court Decision 2003Da6774, delivered October 7, 2005, etc.), and only the amount of damage among such obligation is deemed increased beyond the amount of damages that the tortfeasor is liable to bear, as fictionalized by the statute as described above. Further, where a traffic accident victim who is also an injured worker (hereinafter referred to as the "victim") has received liability insurance money from the insurance company pursuant to the proviso to Article 3(1)(2) of the former Enforcement Decree, the Service may regard this as a case where "damages equivalent to the insurance benefits under this Act have been received" under Article 54(2) of the former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, and thereby be exempted from its obligation to pay insurance benefits to the victim within the amount converted into medical care expenses. In contrast, if the Service first pays the victim's medical expenses as medical care benefits, and if the insurance company, which is liable under the former Guarantee of Automobile Accident Compensation Act to pay the prescribed medical treatment fees as liability insurance money regardless of the existence or degree of the victim's negligence, is thereby exempted from indemnification liability for the amount corresponding to the victim's negligence, this would grant an unjust benefit to the insurance company, which had set and received insurance premiums in advance reflecting the possibility of payment of liability insurance money under the former Guarantee of Automobile Accident Compensation Act, and would result in a consequence contrary to the purpose of Article 54(1) and (2) of the former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, which is designed to prevent the exemption of third parties from liability and to secure insurance finances. Considering these circumstances comprehensively, it is reasonable to view that the victim's right to claim liability insurance money against the insurance company under the proviso to Article 3(1)(2) of the former Enforcement Decree constitutes "the right to claim damages against the third party held by the person who received the benefits" under the main text of Article 54(1) of the former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act. Accordingly, the Service, having paid medical care benefits to the victim, may be subrogated, within the limit of the amount of such benefits, to the victim's right to claim liability insurance money against the insurance company under the proviso to item 2 above.

C. Examining the record in light of the foregoing legal principles, the Plaintiff paid 1,395,430 won as medical care benefits (treatment expenses) under the former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act to the non-party, an injured worker (traffic accident victim) who was injured in the industrial accident (traffic accident) at issue in this case. Accordingly, the Plaintiff acquired, within the limit of the amount of such benefits, pursuant to the main text of Article 54(1) of the former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, the non-party's right to claim liability mutual aid money against the Defendant, the liability mutual aid business operator of the offending vehicle, which right the non-party held pursuant to Article 9(1) of the former Guarantee of Automobile Accident Compensation Act and Article 724(2) of the Commercial Act. Pursuant to Article 3(1)(2) of the former Enforcement Decree, the non-party could claim against the Defendant, as liability mutual aid money, at least the amount equivalent to medical treatment fees under the above provision, regardless of the existence or degree of his own negligence contributing to the occurrence of the traffic accident. Accordingly, the Plaintiff acquired the non-party's right to claim liability mutual aid money against the Defendant for the amount equivalent to medical treatment fees under the above provision, while retaining its identity as it was.
However, the court below determined, on the ground that "where an insurer that has entered into an insurance contract with one of joint tortfeasors pays the entire amount of damages to the victim, thereby jointly discharging the insurer of another joint tortfeasor from liability, the insurer that paid the damages may exercise a right of indemnity against the portion that the insurer of the other joint tortfeasor should bear, and in such case, the portion to be borne shall be calculated according to the ratio of negligence among the joint tortfeasors (see Supreme Court Decision 2004Da39689, delivered October 28, 2004, etc.)," that the Defendant is obligated to pay the Plaintiff only 558,172 won, corresponding to the 40% negligence ratio of the driver of the offending vehicle as found by the court below, out of the above medical treatment fees, and thereby partially rejected the Plaintiff's claim. However, the legal principle relied upon by the court below concerns a case where the insurer of one of the joint tortfeasors pays damages to the victim and then is subrogated to that joint tortfeasor's right of indemnity against another joint tortfeasor, and it cannot be invoked in this case, where the non-party, an injured worker, suffered an industrial accident caused by the driver of the offending vehicle, and the Plaintiff paid medical care benefits to the non-party and is subrogated to the non-party's right to claim damages.
Ultimately, this determination by the court below constitutes a case of making a determination contrary to the Supreme Court en banc Decision 95Da37421, delivered December 16, 1997, mentioned above, concerning the nature of the right of indemnity under Article 54(1) of the former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (Supreme Court en banc Decision 2000Da62322, delivered March 21, 2002, held that "where an industrial accident occurs due to the joint tort of an industrial accident insurance policyholder and a third party, the Service cannot seek indemnity from the third party for the amount corresponding to the negligence ratio of the industrial accident insurance policyholder," but this case, in which the industrial accident occurred due to the concurrence of the injured worker's own negligence and the negligence of a third party, is not identical in facts to the above decision).
The Plaintiff's ground of appeal pointing this out is with merit.

2. As to the Defendant's appeal and incidental appeal
A. The Defendant's appeal
The Defendant did not submit a brief of grounds of appeal within the statutory period, and the petition of appeal also does not contain any statement of grounds of appeal.

B. The Defendant's incidental appeal
The deadline for filing an incidental appeal must be deemed to be the expiration of the period for submitting the brief of grounds of appeal corresponding to the conclusion of oral argument in the appellate court (see Supreme Court Decision 2000Da30165, delivered March 23, 2001; Supreme Court Decision 2006Da10439, delivered April 12, 2007, etc.). According to the record, it is clear that the Defendant filed the incidental appeal on March 19, 2007, which is more than 20 days after December 21, 2006, the date on which the notice of receipt of the appellate case record was served on the Plaintiff, the appellant. Therefore, the Defendant's incidental appeal in this case is unlawful, and this defect cannot be cured.

3. Conclusion
Therefore, the part of the judgment below against the Plaintiff is reversed, and this part of the case is remanded to the court below for further hearing and determination; the Defendant's appeal is dismissed, and the Defendant's incidental appeal is dismissed as unlawful. It is so decided by the unanimous opinion of the Justices participating in the judgment, as set forth in the Order.

Justice Jeon Su-an (Presiding Justice), Ko Hyeon-cheol (Justice in Charge), Kim Ji-hyeong, Cha Han-seong

【판결요지】

[1] 구 산업재해보상보험법(2007. 4. 11. 법률 제8373호로 전문 개정되기 전의 것) 제54조 제1항 본문의 규정은 보험급여를 받은 피재근로자가 제3자에 대하여 손해배상청구권을 갖고 있음을 전제로 하여, 근로복지공단이 피재근로자에게 지급한 보험급여액의 한도 안에서 그 손해배상청구권을 취득한다는 취지로서, 근로복지공단이 법규정에 따라 보험급여를 함으로써 취득하는 손해배상청구권은 피재근로자의 제3자에 대한 손해배상청구권과 동일성이 그대로 유지된다.

[2] 구 자동차손해배상보장법 시행령(2004. 2. 21. 대통령령 제18286호로 개정되기 전의 것) 제3조 제1항 제2호 단서의 규정 취지는 교통사고 피해자가 입은 손해 중 그의 과실비율에 해당하는 금액을 공제한 손해액이 위 규정의 진료비 해당액에 미달하는 경우에도 교통사고로 인한 피해자의 치료 보장을 위해 그 진료비 해당액을 손해액으로 보아 이를 책임보험금으로 지급하라는 것으로 해석되므로, 교통사고 피해자로서는 위 교통사고의 발생에 기여한 자신의 과실의 유무나 다과에 불구하고 위 제2호 단서 규정에 의한 진료비 해당액을 구 자동차손해배상보장법(2003. 8. 21. 법률 제6969호로 개정되기 전의 것)에 의한 책임보험금으로 청구할 수 있다.

[3] 교통사고 피해자 겸 피재근로자가 구 자동차손해배상보장법 시행령(2004. 2. 21. 대통령령 제18286호로 개정되기 전의 것) 제3조 제1항 제2호 단서 규정에 의하여 보험회사에 대하여 갖는 책임보험금 청구권은 구 산업재해보상보험법(2007. 4. 11. 법률 제8373호로 전문 개정되기 전의 것) 제54조 제1항 본문 소정의 ‘급여를 받은 자의 제3자에 대한 손해배상청구권’에 해당한다고 보아야 하므로, 피해자에게 요양급여를 지급한 근로복지공단은 그 급여액의 한도 안에서 피해자가 위 제2호 단서 규정에 의하여 보험회사에 대하여 갖는 책임보험금 청구권을 대위할 수 있다.

【참조조문】

[1] 구 산업재해보상보험법(2007. 4. 11. 법률 제8373호로 전문 개정되기 전의 것) 제54조 제1항(현행 제87조 제1항 참조)

[2] 구 자동차손해배상보장법(2003. 8. 21. 법률 제6969호로 개정되기 전의 것) 제9조 제1항(현행 제10조 제1항 참조), 구 자동차손해배상보장법 시행령(2004. 2. 21. 대통령령 제18286호로 개정되기 전의 것) 제3조 제1항 제2호

[3] 구 산업재해보상보험법(2007. 4. 11. 법률 제8373호로 전문 개정되기 전의 것) 제54조(현행 제87조 참조), 구 자동차손해배상보장법(2003. 8. 21. 법률 제6969호로 개정되기 전의 것) 제9조 제1항(현행 제10조 제1항 참조), 구 자동차손해배상보장법 시행령(2004. 2. 21. 대통령령 제18286호로 개정되기 전의 것) 제3조 제1항 제2호

【참조판례】

[1] 대법원 1997. 12. 16. 선고 95다37421 전원합의체 판결(공1998상, 96)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 4,496자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 상고인 겸 피상고인, 부대피상고인】 근로복지공단

【피고, 피상고인 겸 상고인, 부대상고인】 전국택시운송사업조합연합회 (소송대리인 변호사 정구훈외 1인)

【원심판결】 대전지법 2006. 11. 9. 선고 2006나10338 판결

【주 문】

원심판결 중 원고 패소 부분을 파기하고, 이 부분 사건을 대전지방법원 본원 합의부에 환송한다. 피고의 상고를 기각하고, 피고의 부대상고를 각하한다.

【이 유】 1. 원고의 상고에 대하여

가. 구 산업재해보상보험법(2007. 4. 11. 법률 제8373호로 전문 개정되기 전의 것, 이하 같다) 제54조 제1항 본문은 "근로복지공단(이하 ‘공단’이라 한다)은 제3자의 행위에 의한 재해로 인하여 보험급여를 지급한 경우에는 그 급여액의 한도 안에서 급여를 받은 자의 제3자에 대한 손해배상청구권을 대위한다."고 규정하고 있는바, 이는 급여를 받은 피재근로자가 제3자에 대하여 손해배상청구권을 갖고 있음을 전제로 하여, 공단이 피재근로자에게 지급한 보험급여액의 한도 안에서 그 손해배상청구권을 취득한다는 취지로서, 공단이 법규정에 따라 보험급여를 함으로써 취득하는 손해배상청구권은 동일성이 그대로 유지된다고 할 것이다(대법원 1997. 12. 16. 선고 95다37421 전원합의체 판결 등 참조).

한편, 구 자동차손해배상보장법(2003. 8. 21. 법률 제6969호로 개정되어 2004. 8. 22. 시행되기 전의 것, 이하 같다) 제9조 제1항 본문은 "보험가입자 등에게 제3조의 규정에 의한 손해배상책임이 발생한 경우 그 피해자는 대통령령이 정하는 바에 의하여 보험사업자 등에 대하여 상법 제724조 제2항의 규정에 의하여 보험금 등을 자기에게 직접 지급할 것을 청구할 수 있다."고 규정하고 있고, 같은 법 시행령(2004. 2. 21. 대통령령 제18286호로 개정되기 전의 것, 이하 ‘구 시행령’이라고 한다) 제3조 제1항은 "법 제5조 제1항의 규정에 의하여 자동차를 운행하고자 하는 자가 가입하여야 하는 책임보험 또는 책임공제의 보험금 또는 공제금은 피해자 1인당 다음 각 호의 금액과 같다."고 규정하면서 같은 항 제2호에서 "부상한 경우에는 [별표 1]에서 정하는 금액의 범위 안에서 피해자에게 발생한 손해액. 다만, 그 손해액이 법 제13조 제1항의 규정에 의한 자동차보험 진료수가에 관한 기준에 의하여 산출한 진료비 해당액에 미달하는 경우에는 [별표 1]에서 정하는 금액의 범위 안에서 그 진료비 해당액으로 한다."라고 규정하고 있는바, 위 제2호 단서의 규정 취지는 교통사고 피해자가 입은 손해 중 그의 과실비율에 해당하는 금액을 공제한 손해액이 위 규정의 진료비 해당액에 미달하는 경우에도 교통사고로 인한 피해자의 치료 보장을 위해 그 진료비 해당액을 손해액으로 보아 이를 책임보험금으로 지급하라는 취지라고 해석되므로, 교통사고 피해자로서는 위 교통사고의 발생에 기여한 자신의 과실의 유무나 다과에 불구하고 위 제2호 단서 규정에 의한 진료비 해당액을 자동차손해배상보장법에 의한 책임보험금으로 청구할 수 있다고 할 것이다.

나. 이 경우 보험회사의 교통사고 피해자에 대한 책임보험금 지급채무는 가해자의 교통사고 피해자에게 대한 손해배상채무를 병존적으로 인수한 것이되(대법원 1998. 9. 18. 선고 96다19765 판결, 대법원 2005. 10. 7. 선고 2003다6774 판결 등 참조), 그 중 손해액만이 위와 같이 법령에 의하여 의제되어 가해자가 부담하여야 할 손해배상액보다 증가된 것이라고 할 것인 점, 교통사고 피해자 겸 피재근로자(이하 ‘피해자’라고 한다)가 보험회사로부터 구 시행령 제3조 제1항 제2호 단서에 의하여 책임보험금을 지급받은 경우 공단은 이를 구 산업재해보상보험법 제54조 제2항 소정의 ‘이 법의 보험급여에 상당하는 손해배상을 받은 경우’로 보아 요양금액으로 환산한 금액 범위 안에서 피해자에 대한 보험급여 지급의무를 면할 수 있는데, 이와 달리 공단이 먼저 피해자의 치료비를 요양급여로 지급한 경우 구 자동차손해배상보장법에 따라 피해자의 과실 유무나 다과에 관계없이 소정의 진료비를 책임보험금으로 지급할 책임이 있는 보험회사가 피해자의 과실에 상당하는 금액에 대해서 구상책임을 면할 수 있게 된다면, 구 자동차손해배상보장법에 의한 책임보험금 지급 가능성을 미리 반영하여 보험료를 책정·납부받은 보험회사에게 부당한 이득을 주게 되고 제3자의 면책 방지와 보험재정의 확보 등을 목적으로 마련된 구 산업재해보상보험법 제54조 제1항 및 제2항의 규정 취지에 반하는 결과를 초래하는 점 등 여러 사정을 종합하여 볼 때, 피해자가 구 시행령 제3조 제1항 제2호 단서 규정에 의하여 보험회사에 대하여 갖는 책임보험금 청구권은 구 산업재해보상보험법 제54조 제1항 본문 소정의 ‘급여를 받은 자의 제3자에 대한 손해배상청구권’에 해당한다고 봄이 상당하므로, 피해자에게 요양급여를 지급한 공단은 그 급여액의 한도 안에서 피해자가 위 제2호 단서 규정에 의하여 보험회사에 대하여 갖는 책임보험금 청구권을 대위할 수 있다고 할 것이다.

다. 위 법리와 기록에 비추어 살펴보면, 원고는 이 사건 산업재해(교통사고)로 부상당한 피재근로자(교통사고 피해자) 소외인에게 구 산업재해보상보험법 소정의 요양급여(치료비)로 1,395,430원을 지급함으로써, 소외인이 가해차량의 책임공제사업자인 피고에 대하여 구 자동차손해배상보장법 제9조 제1항, 상법 제724조 제2항에 따라 가지는 책임공제금 청구권을 구 산업재해보상보험법 제54조 제1항 본문에 의하여 위 급여액의 한도 안에서 취득하였다 할 것이고, 구 시행령 제3조 제1항 제2호에 따라 소외인은 위 교통사고의 발생에 기여한 자신의 과실의 유무나 다과에 불구하고 적어도 위 규정에 의한 진료비 해당액을 피고를 상대로 책임공제금으로 청구할 수 있다 할 것이니, 결국 원고는 소외인의 피고에 대한 위 규정에 의한 진료비 해당액의 책임공제금 청구권을 그 동일성을 그대로 유지한 채로 취득하였다 할 것이다.

그런데 원심은, ‘공동불법행위자 중의 1인과 보험계약을 체결한 보험자가 피해자에게 손해배상금을 모두 지급함으로써 다른 공동불법행위자의 보험자가 공동면책되었다면 그 손해배상금을 지급한 보험자는 다른 공동불법행위자의 보험자가 부담하여야 할 부분에 대하여 구상권을 행사할 수 있고 이 경우 부담 부분은 각 공동불법행위자들 상호간의 과실비율에 따라 산정하여야 할 것(대법원 2004. 10. 28. 선고 2004다39689 판결 등 참조)’이라는 이유로, 피고는 원고에게 위 진료비 중 원심이 인정한 가해차량 운전자의 과실 비율인 40%의 비율에 해당하는 558,172원만을 지급할 의무가 있을 뿐이라고 판단하여 원고의 청구를 일부 배척하였는바, 원심이 들고 있는 법리는 공동불법행위자 중 1인의 보험자가 피해자에게 손해배상을 한 후 그 공동불법행위자의 다른 공동불법행위자에 대한 구상권을 대위하는 경우에 관한 것으로서, 피재근로자인 소외인이 가해차량의 운전자로 인하여 산업재해를 당하여 원고가 소외인에게 요양급여를 하고 소외인의 손해배상청구권을 대위하는 이 사건에 원용할 수 있는 것이 아니라 할 것이다.

결국, 이러한 원심의 판단은 구 산업재해보상보험법 제54조 제1항에 의한 구상권의 성질에 관한 앞서 본 대법원 1997. 12. 16. 선고 95다37421 전원합의체 판결에 상반되는 판단을 한 때에 해당한다(대법원 2002. 3. 21. 선고 2000다62322 전원합의체 판결은 "산업재해가 산업재해보험가입자와 제3자의 공동불법행위로 인하여 발생한 경우, 공단은 제3자에 대하여 산업재해보험가입자의 과실 비율 상당액은 구상할 수 없다"고 판시한 바 있으나, 이 사건은 피재근로자 자신의 과실과 제3자의 과실이 경합하여 산업재해가 발생한 경우로서 위 판결과는 사안이 동일하지 아니하다).

이 점을 지적하는 원고의 상고이유의 주장은 이유 있다.

2. 피고의 상고 및 부대상고에 대하여

가. 피고의 상고

피고는 법정기간 내에 상고이유서를 제출하지 아니하였고, 상고장에도 상고이유의 기재가 없다.

나. 피고의 부대상고

부대상고를 제기할 수 있는 시한은 항소심에서의 변론종결시에 대응하는 상고이유서 제출기간 만료시까지라고 보아야 할 것인바(대법원 2001. 3. 23. 선고 2000다30165 판결, 대법원 2007. 4. 12. 선고 2006다10439 판결 등 참조), 기록에 의하면 피고는 상고소송기록 접수통지서가 상고인인 원고에게 송달된 2006. 12. 21.로부터 20일이 지난 2007. 3. 19. 부대상고를 제기하였음이 명백하므로, 피고의 이 사건 부대상고는 부적법한 것으로서 그 흠결을 보정할 수 없다.

3. 결 론

그러므로 원심판결 중 원고 패소 부분을 파기하고, 이 부분 사건을 다시 심리·판단하게 하기 위하여 원심법원에 환송하며, 피고의 상고를 기각하고 피고의 부대상고를 각하하기로 하여 관여 법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 전수안(재판장) 고현철(주심) 김지형 차한성

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2018다296335 · 대법원 2019-04-25
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
#2
2017다231119 · 대법원 2017-10-12
구상금[근로복지공단이 산업재해보상보험법에 따라 지급한 보험급여에 기하여 자동차손해배상 보장법상 피해자의 보험
#3
2003나70197 · 서울고등법원 2004-08-13
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
#4
2011나14379 · 서울남부지방법원 2012-06-28
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
#5
2006나14163 · 대구지방법원 2007-04-12
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)

Cases citing this decision

2021다241618 · 대법원 2022-03-24
Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)
2018다296335 · 대법원 2019-04-25
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)