Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 2011두15640

Revocation of Disposition Denying Disability Benefits장해급여부지급처분취소

Decided2011. 10. 27. Court대법원Employer won
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

This case involved a worker who already had a pre-existing disability unrelated to work, which then worsened due to a work-related accident affecting the same body part. The Korean Supreme Court (대법원) upheld the constitutionality of the enforcement decree provision limiting industrial accident compensation to only the portion of disability that worsened due to the work accident. The Court ruled that this rule applies uniformly regardless of whether the original pre-existing disability was itself caused by a prior work-related accident.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA worker with a pre-existing, non-work-related disability suffered a work accident that worsened the disability in the same body part, and the insurance authority paid benefits only for the aggravated portion.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court upheld the decision, ruling that compensating only the worsened portion is valid regardless of whether the original disability was work-related, and that the rule does not violate constitutional principles.
  • LessonWorkers with pre-existing conditions should understand that industrial accident compensation (산재보상) covers only the additional disability caused by the new work accident, not the pre-existing baseline impairment.
Issues
  • Whether the phrase 'a person who already had a disability' in Article 53(4) of the Enforcement Decree of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법 시행령) is limited to disabilities caused by a prior work-related accident
  • Whether this provision exceeds the limits of legislative delegation
  • Whether this provision violates the principle of equality and the principle against excessive restriction (과잉금지원칙)
Key reasoning

The Court held that compensating only the aggravated portion of disability—regardless of whether the original underlying disability arose from a work-related cause or not—is a reasonable approach for calculating industrial accident compensation. It reasoned that setting the scope of compensation for aggravated disabilities falls within an area where the legislature enjoys broad discretion in shaping policy under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법). Accordingly, the enforcement decree provision does not exceed the scope of legislative delegation authorized by the parent statute. The Court also found no violation of the equal protection principle, since the rule treats all workers with pre-existing disabilities—whether work-related or not—in the same manner.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

[1] In light of the wording, purpose, and legislative history of Article 53(4) of the Enforcement Decree of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법 시행령), it is reasonable to interpret the term "disability" in the phrase "a person who already had a disability" as used in the above provision, as not limited to disability caused by an occupational accident.

[2] Considering that the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법; hereinafter "the Act") has as one of its purposes the fair compensation of workers' occupational accidents (Article 1 of the Act); that disability benefits, which are one of the insurance benefits paid on the ground of occupational accidents under the Act, are calculated based on disability grades ranging from Grade 1 to Grade 14 where a worker suffers a disability to the body, etc. after being cured of an injury or disease incurred due to occupational cause (Article 57(1) and (2) of the Act); that since the grade to which a disability caused by an occupational accident corresponds may vary depending on social and economic circumstances, the Act allows detailed standards to be set by Presidential Decree so as to flexibly respond thereto (Article 57(2) of the Act); and that, in order to achieve the Act's purpose of fair compensation for disability benefits and to properly calculate disability benefits in accordance with the method prescribed by the Act, when the standards for disability grades are set by Presidential Decree, it can be roughly anticipated that not only the standards for individual disability grades caused by occupational accidents but also the standards for handling cases where a person has multiple disabilities caused by occupational accidents or where a disability arises from an occupational accident in a person who already had a disability would be included—taken together, it can be concluded that Article 53(4) of the Enforcement Decree of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (hereinafter "the instant provision") is based on the delegation under Article 57(2) of the Act. Therefore, the instant provision cannot be deemed to have exceeded the limits of delegated legislation.

[3] In light of the following: the purpose of Article 53(4) of the Enforcement Decree of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (hereinafter "the instant provision") is to provide disability compensation only for the portion by which an already-existing disability, regardless of whether it resulted from an occupational accident, has worsened due to an occupational accident; since the provision is based on the difference in degree between the pre-existing disability and the new disability caused by the occupational accident, a person without a pre-existing disability and a person with a pre-existing disability are essentially different in terms of the existence of disability, but there is no essential difference between a person who has a pre-existing disability caused by an occupational accident and a person who has a pre-existing disability unrelated to an occupational accident; and the matter of specifically determining the standards or content of industrial accident insurance benefits, which are a form of social security benefit, is an area in which the legislature is granted broad discretion in legislative formation, given the need to consider various factors such as the status of the industrial accident insurance fund, the State's financial capacity, the overall level of social security and public sentiment, and other socio-policy aspects as well as insurance-technical aspects and other characteristics inherent in the system itself—the instant provision has a rational and legitimate purpose and an appropriate method. Therefore, the instant provision cannot be deemed to violate the principle of equality or the principle against excessive restriction.

Full text (English, AI translation) 9,011 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellant] Plaintiff (Counsel: Attorney Lee Ki-ho)
[Defendant, Appellee] Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service
[Judgment Below] Daejeon High Court Decision 2011Nu530 decided June 9, 2011

[Order]

The appeal is dismissed. The costs of the appeal are to be borne by the Plaintiff.

[Reasoning]

The grounds of appeal are examined.

1. On the argument of misapprehension of law regarding the interpretation of Article 53(4) of the Enforcement Decree of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법 시행령)

Article 5(1)5 of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) defines "disability" as "a state in which labor capacity has been lost or diminished due to mental or physical impairment, even though the injury or disease has been cured." Meanwhile, Article 53(4) of the Enforcement Decree of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (hereinafter "the instant provision") provides for disability benefits with respect to an aggravated disability in a case where "a person who already had a disability suffers an aggravation of the degree of disability in the same body part due to a work-related injury or disease."

The purport of the instant provision is to provide disability compensation only for the aggravated portion, where a body part that already had a disability becomes more severely disabled due to a work-related accident. Meanwhile, the instant provision has the same content as Article 31(4) of the former Enforcement Decree of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (before its full amendment by Presidential Decree No. 20875 on June 25, 2008; hereinafter the same) (hereinafter "the former provision"). The former provision explicitly stated in parentheses, with respect to the pre-existing disability, "regardless of whether it resulted from a work-related accident," but this parenthetical portion was deleted in the instant provision. It is reasonable to view that this deletion occurred because, upon the full amendment of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act by Act No. 8694 on December 14, 2007, a definitional provision concerning "disability" was newly established with the above content, and as the Enforcement Decree was also fully amended, the parenthetical portion of the former provision became unnecessary in the instant provision since the superior statute now contained a definitional provision on "disability," and it is difficult to view this deletion as reflecting a reflective consideration that the phrase "regardless of whether it resulted from a work-related accident" in the former provision was unreasonable, given that the content concerning disability benefits remained largely the same despite the full amendments of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act and its Enforcement Decree. In light of the text, purport, and amendment history of the instant provision, it is reasonable to interpret that "disability" as referred to in "a person who already had a disability" under the instant provision includes disability regardless of whether it resulted from a work-related accident.

The court below, in the same vein, was justified in determining, based on the Plaintiff's pre-existing disability arising from a cause other than a work-related accident, whether the degree of disability in the same body part became more severe due to the injury the Plaintiff suffered from a work-related accident—that is, whether the disability grade of the currently existing disability became more severe than the disability grade of the pre-existing disability as a result of the newly added disability from the work-related accident—and there is no error of law due to misapprehension of the interpretation of the instant provision as argued in the grounds of appeal.

2. On the argument that the instant provision exceeded the limits of delegated legislation

An enforcement decree or enforcement rule of a statute may not, without delegation by that statute, alter or supplement matters concerning individual rights and obligations, or establish new content not provided for in the statute; however, where the content of an enforcement decree or enforcement rule of a statute merely specifies what is interpretively possible under the parent statute when the legislative purport of the parent statute and all related provisions are examined organically and systematically, or where it concretizes matters based on the purport of a provision of the parent statute, it cannot be considered as exceeding the regulatory scope of the parent statute; therefore, even if the parent statute does not contain a provision directly delegating such matters, it cannot be deemed invalid (see Supreme Court Decision 2008Du13637 decided June 11, 2009). Meanwhile, in determining whether there is delegation by a statute, not only the form and content of the direct delegating provision but also the overall structure, purport, and purpose of the relevant statute must be considered together (see Supreme Court en banc Decision 98Du6265 decided October 19, 2000).

Considering that: the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (hereinafter "the Act") has as one of its purposes the fair compensation of workers' work-related accidents (Article 1 of the Act); disability benefits, one of the insurance benefits paid on the ground of a work-related accident under the Act, are calculated based on disability grades ranging from Grade 1 to Grade 14 where a worker, after being cured of an injury or disease sustained due to a work-related cause, has a disability in the body, etc. (Article 57(1) and (2) of the Act); since which grade a disability resulting from a work-related accident corresponds to may vary depending on social and economic circumstances, the Act allows detailed standards therefor to be set by Presidential Decree so as to respond flexibly to such variations (Article 57(2) of the Act); and meanwhile, in setting the disability grade standards by Presidential Decree in order to achieve the Act's purpose of fair compensation for disability benefits and to properly calculate disability benefits in accordance with the methods prescribed by the Act, it can be broadly foreseen that not only the grade standards for individual disabilities resulting from a work-related accident, but also the standards for handling cases where a person has multiple disabilities due to a work-related accident or where a person who already had a disability develops a disability due to a work-related accident, would be included—it can be concluded that the instant provision is based on the delegation under Article 57(2) of the Act.

Therefore, the argument in the grounds of appeal that the instant provision exceeded the limits of delegated legislation is without merit.

3. On the argument that the instant provision violates the principle of equality and the principle of proportionality (prohibition of excessive restriction)

As noted above, considering that: the purport of the instant provision is to provide disability compensation only for the aggravated portion, regardless of whether the pre-existing disability in the affected body part resulted from a work-related accident, where the degree thereof becomes more severe due to a work-related accident; in that the standard is based on the difference in degree between the pre-existing disability and the new disability caused by the work-related accident, a person with a pre-existing disability is essentially different from a person without a pre-existing disability in terms of the existence of disability, but there is no essential difference between a person with a pre-existing disability resulting from a work-related accident and a person with a pre-existing disability unrelated to a work-related accident; and the matter of concretely determining the standards or content of industrial accident insurance benefits, which are a form of social security benefits, is an area in which the legislature is granted broad legislative discretion, in light of the need to consider various factors such as the status of the industrial accident insurance fund, the State's financial capacity, the overall level of social security and public sentiment, and other social policy considerations as well as insurance-technical considerations and the characteristics of the system itself—it can be said that the purpose of the instant provision is reasonable and legitimate, and the means thereof are also appropriate.

Therefore, the argument in the grounds of appeal that the instant provision violates the principle of equality or the principle of proportionality is also without merit.

4. Conclusion

Therefore, the appeal is dismissed, and the costs of the appeal are to be borne by the losing party. This Judgment is rendered as set forth in the Order by the unanimous opinion of the participating Justices.

Justice Park Si-hwan (Presiding Justice), Park Il-hwan, Shin Young-cheol (Justice in charge), Park Byung-dae

【판결요지】

[1] 산업재해보상보험법 시행령 제53조 제4항의 문언, 취지 및 개정 경과 등에 비추어 보면, 위 규정 중 ‘이미 장해가 있던 사람’에서 말하는 ‘장해’란 업무상 재해로 인한 장해인지를 불문한다고 해석하는 것이 타당하다.

[2] 산업재해보상보험법(이하 ‘법’이라 한다)은 근로자의 업무상 재해를 공정하게 보상하는 것을 목적의 하나로 삼고 있는 점(법 제1조), 법상 업무상 재해를 원인으로 지급되는 보험급여의 하나인 장해급여는 근로자가 업무상 사유로 부상을 당하거나 질병에 걸려 치유된 후 신체 등에 장해가 있는 경우에 제1급부터 제14급까지의 장해등급을 기준으로 산정되는 것인 점(법 제57조 제1항, 제2항), 업무상 재해로 인한 장해가 어떤 등급에 해당하는지는 사회·경제적 상황에 따라 달라질 수 있으므로 법은 이에 탄력적으로 대응할 수 있도록 상세한 기준을 대통령령으로 정할 수 있도록 한 점(법 제57조 제2항), 한편 장해급여의 공정한 보상이라는 법의 목적을 달성하고, 법이 정한 방법에 따른 장해급여의 적정한 산정을 위하여 대통령령으로 장해등급 기준을 정할 경우 업무상 재해로 인한 개별 장해등급 기준뿐만 아니라 업무상 재해로 복수의 장해가 있거나 이미 장해가 있던 사람에게 업무상 재해로 장해가 생긴 때의 처리기준이 대강 예측될 수 있는 점 등을 종합하면, 산업재해보상보험법 시행령 제53조 제4항(이하 ‘이 사건 규정’이라 한다)은 법 제57조 제2항의 위임에 근거한 것이라고 볼 수 있다. 따라서 이 사건 규정은 위임입법의 한계를 일탈하였다고 볼 수 없다.

[3] 산업재해보상보험법 시행령 제53조 제4항(이하 ‘이 사건 규정’이라 한다)은 업무상 재해인지를 불문하고 이미 장해가 있는 부위에 업무상 재해로 정도가 더 심해진 경우 그 부분에 한하여 장해보상을 한다는 데 취지가 있는 점, 기존 장해와 업무상 재해로 인한 신규 장해의 정도 차이를 기준으로 한다는 점에서 기존 장해가 없는 사람과 기존 장해가 있는 사람은 장해 유무에서 본질적으로 다르나 업무상 재해로 기존 장해가 있는 사람과 업무상 재해와 무관하게 기존 장해가 있는 사람 사이에는 본질적 차이가 있다고 할 수 없는 점, 사회보장급여의 하나인 산업재해보험급여 기준이나 내용 등을 구체적으로 확정하는 문제는 산업재해보험기금 상황, 국가의 재정부담능력, 전체적인 사회보장수준과 국민감정 등 사회정책적인 측면 및 보험기술적 측면과 같은 제도 자체의 특성 등 여러 가지 요소를 고려할 필요에서 입법자에게 광범위한 입법형성의 자유가 주어진 영역인 점 등에 비추어 보면, 이 사건 규정은 목적이 합리적이고 정당하며 방법도 적절하다. 따라서 이 사건 규정은 평등의 원칙이나 과잉금지의 원칙에 위배된다고 볼 수 없다.

【참조조문】

[1] 산업재해보상보험법 제5조 제1항 제5호, 구 산업재해보상보험법 시행령(2008. 6. 25. 대통령령 제20875호로 전부 개정되기 전의 것) 제31조 제4항(현행 제53조 제4항), 산업재해보상보험법 시행령 제53조 제4항

[2] 산업재해보상보험법 시행령 제53조 제4항, 헌법 제75조

[3] 산업재해보상보험법 시행령 제53조 제4항, 헌법 제11조 제1항, 제37조 제2항

【주문】·【이유】 전문 3,249자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 상고인】 원고 (소송대리인 변호사 이기호)

【피고, 피상고인】 근로복지공단

【원심판결】 대전고법 2011. 6. 9. 선고 2011누530 판결

【주 문】

상고를 기각한다. 상고비용은 원고가 부담한다.

【이 유】 상고이유를 판단한다.

1. 산업재해보상보험법 시행령 제53조 제4항의 해석에 관한 법리오해 주장에 대하여

산업재해보상보험법 제5조 제1항 제5호에서 "장해란 부상 또는 질병이 치유되었으나 정신적 또는 육체적 훼손으로 인하여 노동능력이 손실되거나 감소된 상태를 말한다."고 정의하고 있다. 한편 산업재해보상보험법 시행령 제53조 제4항(이하 ‘이 사건 규정’이라 한다)은 ‘이미 장해가 있던 사람이 업무상 부상 또는 질병으로 같은 부위에 장해의 정도가 심해진 경우에’ 그 심해진 장해에 대한 장해급여에 관하여 규정하고 있다.

이 사건 규정은 이미 장해가 있는 부위에 업무상 재해로 그 정도가 더 심해진 경우 그 부분에 한하여 장해보상을 한다는 데 그 취지가 있다. 한편 이 사건 규정은 구 산업재해보상보험법 시행령(2008. 6. 25. 대통령령 제20875호로 전부 개정되기 전의 것, 이하 같다) 제31조 제4항(이하 ‘종전 규정’이라 한다)과 같은 내용이다. 종전 규정에는 기존 장해와 관련하여 괄호 안에 ‘업무상 재해 여부를 불문한다’고 명시적으로 규정되어 있었는데 이 사건 규정에는 괄호 부분이 삭제되었다. 이는 산업재해보상보험법이 2007. 12. 14. 법률 제8694호로 전부 개정되면서 ‘장해’에 관한 정의 규정이 위와 같은 내용으로 신설되었고, 그 시행령 역시 전부 개정되면서 상위법에 ‘장해’에 관한 정의 규정이 있게 됨으로써 이 사건 규정에서 종전 규정의 괄호 부분이 필요 없게 되어 삭제된 것으로 봄이 타당하고, 산업재해보상보험법과 그 시행령의 전부 개정에도 불구하고 장해급여에 관한 내용은 거의 같아 종전 규정의 ‘업무상 재해 여부를 불문한다’는 부분이 불합리하다는 반성적 고려에 의한 것이라고도 보기 어렵다. 이 사건 규정의 문언, 취지 및 그 개정 경과 등에 비추어 보면, 이 사건 규정 중 ‘이미 장해가 있던 사람’에서 말하는 ‘장해’란 업무상 재해로 인한 장해 여부를 불문한다고 해석함이 타당하다.

원심이 같은 취지에서 업무상 재해가 아닌 다른 사유로 인한 원고의 기존 장해를 기준으로 원고가 업무상 재해로 입은 부상으로 같은 부위의 장해 정도가 더 심해졌는지 여부, 즉 업무상 재해로 새롭게 장해가 더해진 결과 현존하는 장해의 장해등급이 기존 장해의 장해등급보다 중하게 되었는지를 판단한 것은 정당하고, 거기에 상고이유 주장과 같은 이 사건 규정의 해석에 관한 법리오해의 위법이 없다.

2. 이 사건 규정이 위임입법의 한계를 일탈하였다는 주장에 대하여

법률의 시행령이나 시행규칙은 그 법률에 의한 위임이 없으면 개인의 권리·의무에 관한 내용을 변경·보충하거나 법률에 규정되지 아니한 새로운 내용을 정할 수는 없지만, 법률의 시행령이나 시행규칙의 내용이 모법의 입법 취지 및 관련 조항 전체를 유기적·체계적으로 살펴보아 모법의 해석상 가능한 것을 명시한 것에 지나지 아니하거나 모법 조항의 취지에 근거하여 이를 구체화하기 위한 것인 때에는 모법의 규율 범위를 벗어난 것으로 볼 수 없으므로, 모법에 이에 관하여 직접 위임하는 규정을 두지 않았다고 하더라도 이를 무효라고 볼 수는 없다(대법원 2009. 6. 11. 선고 2008두13637 판결 참조). 한편 법률에 의한 위임이 있는지 여부를 판단할 때에는 직접적인 위임 규정의 형식과 내용 외에 해당 법률의 전반적인 체계와 취지·목적 등도 아울러 고려하여야 한다(대법원 2000. 10. 19. 선고 98두6265 전원합의체 판결 참조).

산업재해보상보험법(이하 ‘법’이라 한다)은 근로자의 업무상 재해를 공정하게 보상하는 것을 그 목적의 하나로 삼고 있는 점(법 제1조), 법상 업무상 재해를 원인으로 지급되는 보험급여의 하나인 장해급여는 근로자가 업무상 사유로 부상을 당하거나 질병에 걸려 치유된 후 신체 등에 장해가 있는 경우에 제1급부터 제14급까지의 장해등급을 기준으로 산정되는 것인 점(법 제57조 제1항, 제2항), 업무상 재해로 인한 장해가 어떤 등급에 해당하는지는 사회·경제적 상황에 따라 달라질 수 있으므로 법은 이에 탄력적으로 대응할 수 있도록 그 상세한 기준을 대통령령으로 정할 수 있도록 한 점(법 제57조 제2항), 한편 장해급여의 공정한 보상이라는 법의 목적을 달성하고, 법이 정한 방법에 따른 장해급여의 적정한 산정을 위하여 대통령령으로 장해등급의 기준을 정할 경우 업무상 재해로 인한 개별 장해의 등급기준뿐만 아니라 업무상 재해로 복수의 장해가 있거나 이미 장해가 있던 사람에게 업무상 재해로 장해가 생긴 때의 처리기준이 그 대강으로 예측될 수 있는 점 등을 종합하면, 이 사건 규정은 법 제57조 제2항의 위임에 근거한 것이라고 볼 수 있다.

따라서 이 사건 규정이 위임입법의 한계를 일탈하였다는 상고이유의 주장은 이유 없다.

3. 이 사건 규정이 평등의 원칙 및 과잉금지의 원칙에 위배된다는 주장에 대하여

앞서 본 바와 같이 이 사건 규정은 업무상 재해 여부를 불문하고 이미 장해가 있는 부위에 업무상 재해로 그 정도가 더 심해진 경우 그 부분에 한하여 장해보상을 한다는 데 그 취지가 있는 점, 기존 장해와 업무상 재해로 인한 신규 장해 사이의 정도의 차이를 기준으로 한다는 점에서 기존 장해가 없는 사람과 기존 장해가 있는 사람은 장해 유무에서 본질적으로 다르나 업무상 재해로 기존 장해가 있는 사람과 업무상 재해와 무관하게 기존 장해가 있는 사람 사이에는 본질적 차이가 있다고 할 수 없는 점, 사회보장급여의 하나인 산업재해보험급여의 기준이나 내용 등을 구체적으로 확정하는 문제는 산업재해보험기금의 상황, 국가의 재정부담능력, 전체적인 사회보장수준과 국민감정 등 사회정책적인 측면 및 보험기술적 측면과 같은 제도 자체의 특성 등 여러 가지 요소를 고려할 필요에서 입법자에게 광범위한 입법형성의 자유가 주어진 영역인 점 등에 비추어 보면, 이 사건 규정의 목적이 합리적이고, 정당하며 그 방법도 적절하다고 할 수 있다.

따라서 이 사건 규정이 평등의 원칙이나 과잉금지의 원칙에 위배된다는 상고이유의 주장도 이유 없다.

4. 결론

그러므로 상고를 기각하고, 상고비용은 패소자가 부담하기로 하여 관여 대법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 박시환(재판장) 박일환 신영철(주심) 박병대

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2016구단61535 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
장해위로금부지급처분취소
#2
2022구단52914 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
장해급여일부부지급처분취소
#3
2022구단73782 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
장해급여부지급처분취소의 소
#4
2020두31774 · 대법원 2020-06-04
Revocation of Disposition Denying Disability Benefits (장해급여부
#5
2021구단69601 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
장해보상급여

Cases citing this decision

2013두5845 · 대법원 2019-10-31
수당금
2014두3020, 3037 · 대법원 2019-10-17
Wages
2010두13012 · 대법원 2012-11-15
진폐위로금지급거부처분취소

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)