Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 2020두31774

Revocation of Disposition Denying Disability Benefits (장해급여부지급처분취소)장해급여부지급처분취소

Decided2020. 06. 04. Court대법원Case remanded to the lower court (Worker's position upheld on appeal)
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

A worker who suffered a disability from a work-related injury did not file a claim for disability benefits (장해급여) within the statutory period, and the claim became time-barred under the statute of limitations (소멸시효). Later, when the worker's condition worsened, he filed a new claim for disability benefits based on the aggravated condition. The Supreme Court ruled that the government could not deduct the amount corresponding to the original (pre-aggravation) disability grade from the newly claimed benefits, since the worker had never actually received compensation for that original disability.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA worker injured on the job failed to timely claim disability benefits, and by the time his condition worsened years later, the original claim had already become time-barred.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court held that since the worker never actually received compensation for his original disability, the government could not deduct that original disability amount from the benefits owed for his now-aggravated condition.
  • LessonWorkers should be aware that even if their initial disability claim lapses due to time limits, they may still be entitled to full compensation later if their condition worsens—so it is important to seek re-evaluation and file promptly when symptoms change.
Issues
  • When does the statute of limitations (소멸시효) for a disability benefit claim begin to run?
  • What are the requirements and standards for recognizing re-treatment (재요양) for a work-related injury?
  • Where the statute of limitations has expired without the worker ever receiving benefits for an existing disability, can that existing disability grade be deducted from benefits later claimed for an aggravated condition?
Key reasoning

The statute of limitations for a disability benefit claim begins to run from the point when the worker's condition is medically stabilized (치유), not from the injury date. Where a worker never received any compensation for the original disability—whether because he simply failed to claim it or because the claim later became time-barred—the government cannot offset or deduct the value of that original, uncompensated disability grade from a subsequent benefit claim filed after the condition has worsened. Allowing such a deduction would effectively penalize the worker twice: once by losing the original claim to the statute of limitations, and again by reducing the benefit for the aggravated condition. Therefore, the full amount of benefits corresponding to the worsened disability grade must be paid without any deduction for the untouched original disability.

Full text (English, AI translation) 16,813 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellant] Plaintiff, litigation successor of the deceased Nonparty (Attorney Kim Eun-cheol of Peace Law Firm, for the Plaintiff)

[Defendant, Appellee] Korea Workers' Compensation & Welfare Service

[Lower Court Judgment] Seoul High Court Decision 2019Nu47973, decided December 20, 2019

[Order]

The lower court judgment is reversed, and the case is remanded to the Seoul High Court.

[Reasoning]

The grounds of appeal are examined.

1. Overview of the case and issue
A. According to the reasoning of the lower court judgment and the record, the following facts may be found.
(1) Around July 22, 2005, while working at "○○○○○ Gas Station" located in Jungwon-gu, Seongnam-si, the Nonparty suffered an accident (hereinafter "the instant accident") in which his right eye was exposed to caustic soda used for car washing, and was diagnosed with "chemical burn of the right corneal" (hereinafter "the preceding injury/disease"). Around that time, he received approval for occupational medical care from the Defendant and received outpatient treatment (hereinafter "the preceding medical care") from July 22, 2005 to September 30, 2005.
(2) On February 2, 2018, the Nonparty was diagnosed at △△△△△△△ Hospital with "visual impairment (right eye, light perception only) caused by chemical burn of the right cornea, endophthalmitis of the right eye, and retinal detachment of the right eye" (hereinafter collectively "the instant disability"), and on March 2, 2018, filed a claim for disability benefits with the Defendant.
(3) On March 8, 2018, the Defendant issued a decision not to pay disability benefits to the Nonparty on the ground that "the preceding injury/disease was cured on September 30, 2005, the date the preceding medical care ended, and the right to claim disability benefits was extinguished after the three-year extinctive prescription period set forth in Article 112(1)(1) of the former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) (before amendment by Act No. 15665 of June 12, 2018; hereinafter "the former Industrial Accident Insurance Act") had elapsed."
(4) The Nonparty died on September 20, 2018, while the first instance trial was pending, and the Plaintiff, his spouse, succeeded to the litigation proceedings.
B. The issue in this case is whether, as of the date the Nonparty filed the claim for disability benefits, the right to claim disability benefits regarding the instant disability had been extinguished by the completion of the extinctive prescription period.

2. Judgment of the lower court
The lower court determined, for the reasons set forth below, that the preceding injury/disease could be deemed to have been cured on September 30, 2005, and that the extinctive prescription period for the right to claim disability benefits regarding the preceding injury/disease ran from the day following the date of cure; since the Nonparty did not file the claim for disability benefits regarding the instant disability with the Defendant until March 2, 2018, after the three-year extinctive prescription period had elapsed from that date, the Nonparty's right to claim disability benefits was extinguished by completion of the extinctive prescription period.
A. According to the results of the medical record appraisal commissioned by the first instance court, the medical record appraiser opined that it was reasonable to view September 30, 2005 as the date treatment for the preceding injury/disease was completed, and presented a medical opinion to the effect that it was difficult to recognize a direct causal relationship between the instant accident or the preceding injury/disease and the "right eye cataract diagnosed on September 19, 2006, endophthalmitis of the right eye diagnosed on September 14, 2011, and vitreous hemorrhage and retinal detachment of the right eye diagnosed on November 14, 2017"; no special circumstances were found that would render this opinion unreasonable.
B. Considering that various surgeries, including right eye cataract surgery and right eye vitrectomy, were performed between July 22, 2005, the date of the instant accident, and February 7, 2017, and that the deceased had an underlying disease, diabetes, it is also difficult to view the full-thickness corneal re-transplantation surgery performed on the Nonparty's right eye on February 7, 2017 as a recurrence of the preceding injury/disease.

3. Judgment of the Supreme Court
A. (1) Under the former Industrial Accident Insurance Act, the right to receive insurance benefits is extinguished by completion of the extinctive prescription period if not exercised for three years (Article 112(1)(1)), and the extinctive prescription period runs from the time the right may be exercised (Article 112(2), Article 166(1) of the Civil Act (민법)). Where a worker, even after receiving medical care benefits and being cured, still has a disability in the body, etc., disability benefits shall be paid (Article 57(1)). Here, "cure" means that an injury or disease has fully healed, or that no further therapeutic effect can be expected and the symptoms have reached a fixed state (Article 5(4)). Accordingly, under the former Industrial Accident Insurance Act, the extinctive prescription period for the right to claim disability benefits runs from the time the cause for payment of disability benefits arises, i.e., the time of cure (see Supreme Court Decision 97Nu6544, decided August 22, 1997, etc.).
(2) Under the former Industrial Accident Insurance Act, where the occupational injury or disease that was the subject of medical care recurs, or the condition worsens compared to the state at the time of cure, after the worker has received medical care benefits and been cured, and active treatment is necessary to cure such recurrence or worsened condition, the worker may receive re-treatment medical care (Article 57(1)). Re-treatment medical care is of the same nature as the initial medical care, except that it is medical care provided, after the initial medical care has been concluded, for a recurrence of the preceding injury/disease or for complications arising from the preceding injury/disease. Accordingly, the requirements for re-treatment medical care are satisfied, in addition to the general requirements for medical care, if there is a recognized proximate causal relationship between the preceding injury/disease and the injury/disease for which re-treatment medical care is sought, and there is a medical opinion that the symptoms have worsened compared to the state at the time the preceding medical care was concluded, such that a therapeutic effect can be expected from re-treatment medical care. It is not necessary that the preceding injury/disease be the direct cause of the injury/disease for which re-treatment medical care is sought, nor is it necessary that the symptoms have markedly worsened compared to the state at the time treatment of the original injury/disease was concluded such that the necessity for active treatment is recognized (see Supreme Court Decision 2002Du1762, decided April 26, 2002).
(3) Under the former Industrial Accident Insurance Act, where, after receiving re-treatment medical care and being cured, the disability condition has worsened compared to before, disability benefits are paid according to the disability grade corresponding to the worsened disability condition, and the method of calculating and paying disability benefits following re-treatment medical care is prescribed by Presidential Decree (Article 60(2)). Article 58 of the Enforcement Decree of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법 시행령), enacted pursuant to this delegation, classifies recipients of disability benefits into those who received a disability compensation pension and those who received a disability compensation lump-sum payment, and further divides the calculation and payment method according to whether the recipient claims disability benefits following re-treatment medical care as a disability compensation pension or as a disability compensation lump-sum payment. It provides that where a person who received a disability compensation lump-sum payment claims a disability compensation pension because the disability condition following re-treatment medical care has worsened compared to before, "the disability compensation pension corresponding to the changed disability grade shall be paid from the month following the month in which the date of cure following re-treatment medical care falls, but the disability compensation pension shall not be paid for a period equivalent to the number of days for which the disability compensation lump-sum payment already paid was calculated" (Paragraph 3, Item 1; hereinafter "the instant provision").
The purpose of the instant provision is to prevent the unreasonable result whereby a person who received medical care benefits and a disability compensation lump-sum payment due to an occupational accident, and whose disability condition worsens after re-treatment medical care such that he or she would receive the full disability compensation pension corresponding to the changed disability grade, would end up receiving duplicate compensation for the portion of disability benefits already compensated. Accordingly, where a person who suffered a bodily disability due to an occupational accident did not claim disability benefits according to the disability grade determined at that time, and thus received no compensation whatsoever for the existing disability, and only later, after the existing disability condition worsened and the disability grade changed, claimed a disability compensation pension according to the changed disability grade, such an unreasonable result of duplicate payment does not arise. Therefore, the Defendant should pay the disability compensation pension according to the number of days corresponding to the disability compensation pension for the changed disability grade, from the month following the month in which the date of cure following re-treatment medical care falls, and may not, on the basis of the instant provision, withhold payment of the disability compensation pension for a period equivalent to the number of days for which a disability compensation lump-sum payment according to the existing disability grade—which was never actually paid to the worker—would have been calculated. This same reasoning applies equally where the right to claim disability benefits for the existing disability grade was extinguished by completion of the extinctive prescription period while the worker failed to file such a claim. There is likewise no possibility of duplicate payment in such a case, and this is also consistent with the language of the instant provision, which refers to "the number of days for which the disability compensation lump-sum payment already paid was calculated" (see Supreme Court en banc Decision 2012Du26142, decided April 16, 2015).
B. According to the reasoning of the lower court judgment and the record, the following facts may be found.
(1) Around August 26, 2005, while the preceding medical care was ongoing, the Nonparty was diagnosed with "diabetic retinopathy" in both eyes, and received panretinal photocoagulation surgery on both eyes from around that time until October 21, 2015.
(2) On September 19, 2006, while the preceding medical care was ongoing, the Nonparty was diagnosed with "traumatic cataract" in the right eye and filed an application for re-treatment medical care with the Defendant. On September 22, 2006, the Defendant issued a non-approval decision on the ground that there was no proximate causal relationship between the Nonparty's traumatic cataract and the instant accident or the preceding injury/disease. Without raising an objection to the non-approval decision, the Nonparty underwent right eye cataract surgery on September 30, 2006.
(3) After the preceding medical care had ended, the Nonparty underwent "right eye corneal transplantation surgery" on April 18, 2011, and right eye vitrectomy and intravitreal injection on September 14, 2011.
(4) On November 15, 2016, the Nonparty again began receiving treatment for his right eye, and underwent right eye corneal re-transplantation surgery on February 7, 2017.
(5) On May 17, 2017, the Nonparty was diagnosed with right eye uncorrected visual acuity of hand motion perception, and on November 14, 2017, was diagnosed with right eye vitreous hemorrhage and right eye retinal detachment, and underwent right eye vitrectomy and other procedures.
(6) The medical record appraiser for the first instance court opined that "the preceding injury/disease may cause damage to the cornea and retina, and if ulceration and perforation occur, endophthalmitis may also occur, and complications such as cataract may also develop. It is difficult to explain the cause of the instant disability by any single one of the preceding injury/disease, senile cataract, or diabetic retinopathy alone."
(7) The medical certificate dated September 18, 2006, issued by an ophthalmologist at □□□□□□ ◇◇◇ Hospital, states to the effect that there is a high possibility that the Nonparty's cataract was aggravated by the instant accident.
(8) In response to the lower court's fact-finding inquiry, the director of □□□□□□ ◇◇◇ Hospital replied to the effect that "although it is difficult to recognize a direct causal relationship between the instant accident and the right eye corneal transplantation surgery performed on April 18, 2011, the cause of the Nonparty's loss of vision is corneal opacity and retinal detachment, and chemical damage caused by the instant accident may cause corneal opacity, cataract, etc. The corneal opacity and retinal detachment appear to have worsened after the cataract surgery on September 30, 2006, and this is presumed to be due to the combined effect of the instant accident and diabetes. Given that the left eye showed a relatively favorable course, diabetic retinopathy alone cannot explain the poor course of the right eye. The cause of the deterioration of vision in the right eye may be found in the instant accident."
C. In light of the circumstances surrounding the onset of the preceding injury/disease, its subsequent course, and the medical opinions regarding the cause of the instant disability as set forth above, even if the preceding injury/disease is deemed to have been cured with the symptoms fixed as of September 30, 2005, the date the preceding medical care was concluded, there is substantial room to view that it thereafter worsened beyond the natural course of progression, resulting in the onset of conditions such as "retinal detachment of the right eye" and a condition requiring re-treatment medical care. If such is the actual state of facts, then even if the Nonparty did not actually receive re-treatment medical care benefits because he failed to apply for re-treatment medical care benefits for the "retinal detachment of the right eye," etc. at an appropriate time, it should be deemed that he newly acquired a "right to claim disability benefits following re-treatment medical care" at the point when the symptoms became fixed and cured after receiving treatment for the "retinal detachment of the right eye," etc. at a medical institution, and that the extinctive prescription period began to run afresh from that point.
D. Nevertheless, the lower court, overlooking the circumstance that the Nonparty's preceding injury/disease worsened beyond the natural course of progression after the conclusion of the preceding medical care, thereby requiring re-treatment medical care, determined that the extinctive prescription period for the right to claim disability benefits ran from September 30, 2005, the date the preceding medical care ended, such that the three-year extinctive prescription period had already been completed by March 2, 2018, the date the claim for disability benefits was filed, and that the right to claim disability benefits regarding the instant disability had thus been extinguished. Such a determination by the lower court contains an error that affected the judgment, by misapprehending the legal principles concerning the "requirements for re-treatment medical care" and the "right to claim disability benefits following re-treatment medical care" under the former Industrial Accident Insurance Act, and thereby failing to conduct the necessary examination.

4. Conclusion
Therefore, the lower court judgment is reversed, and the case is remanded to the lower court for further hearing and determination. This judgment is rendered in accordance with the unanimous opinion of the participating Justices, as set forth in the Order.

Justice Kim Seon-su (Presiding Justice), Kwon Soon-il, Lee Ki-taek (Justice in Charge), Park Jeong-hwa

【참조조문】

[1] 구 산업재해보상보험법(2018. 6. 12. 법률 제15665호로 개정되기 전의 것) 제5조 제4호, 제57조 제1항, 제112조 제1항 제1호, 제2항, 민법 제166조 제1항

[2] 구 산업재해보상보험법(2018. 6. 12. 법률 제15665호로 개정되기 전의 것) 제51조 제1항

[3] 구 산업재해보상보험법(2018. 6. 12. 법률 제15665호로 개정되기 전의 것) 제60조 제2항, 산업재해보상보험법 시행령 제58조 제3항 제1호

【참조판례】

[1] 대법원 1997. 8. 22. 선고 97누6544 판결(공1997하, 2909) / [2] 대법원 2002. 4. 26. 선고 2002두1762 판결 / [3] 대법원 2015. 4. 16. 선고 2012두26142 전원합의체 판결(공2015상, 697)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 5,888자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 상고인】 망 소외인의 소송수계인 원고 (소송대리인 법무법인 평화 담당변호사 김은철)

【피고, 피상고인】 근로복지공단

【원심판결】 서울고법 2019. 12. 20. 선고 2019누47973 판결

【주 문】

원심판결을 파기하고, 사건을 서울고등법원에 환송한다.

【이 유】 상고이유를 판단한다.

1. 사안의 개요와 쟁점

가. 원심판결 이유와 기록에 의하면, 다음과 같은 사실을 알 수 있다.

(1) 소외인은 2005. 7. 22.경 성남시 중원구에 있는 ‘○○○○○주유소’에서 근무하다가 세차용 가성소다에 우안이 노출되는 사고(이하 ‘이 사건 사고’라고 한다)를 당하여 ‘우안 각막 화학 화상’(이하 ‘선행상병’이라고 한다)을 진단받고, 그 무렵 피고로부터 업무상 요양승인을 받은 뒤 2005. 7. 22.부터 2005. 9. 30.까지 통원 치료(이하 ‘선행요양’이라고 한다)를 받았다.

(2) 소외인은 2018. 2. 2. △△△△△△△병원에서 ‘우안 각막 화학 화상, 우안 안내염 및 우안 망막박리를 원인으로 한 시각 장애(우안, 광각유)’(이하 통틀어 ‘이 사건 장해’라고 한다)의 진단을 받고, 2018. 3. 2. 피고에게 장해급여청구를 하였다.

(3) 피고는 2018. 3. 8. 소외인에 대하여 ‘선행상병은 선행요양 종료일인 2005. 9. 30.에 치유되었고, 그로부터 구 산업재해보상보험법(2018. 6. 12. 법률 제15665호로 개정되기 전의 것, 이하 ‘구 산재보험법’이라고 한다) 제112조 제1항 제1호에서 정한 3년의 소멸시효 기간이 지나 장해급여청구권이 소멸하였다’는 이유로 장해급여 부지급처분을 하였다.

(4) 소외인은 이 사건 제1심 계속 중인 2018. 9. 20. 사망하였고, 배우자인 원고가 소송절차를 수계하였다.

나. 이 사건의 쟁점은 소외인의 장해급여청구일을 기준으로 이 사건 장해에 관한 장해급여청구권이 시효완성으로 소멸하였는지 여부이다.

2. 원심의 판단

원심은, 아래와 같은 이유 등을 들어 선행상병은 2005. 9. 30. 완치되었다고 볼 수 있고, 선행상병에 관한 장해급여청구권의 소멸시효는 완치일 다음 날부터 진행되는데, 소외인은 그로부터 3년의 소멸시효 기간이 지난 후 2018. 3. 2.에서야 피고에게 이 사건 장해에 관한 장해급여청구를 하였으므로, 소외인의 장해급여청구권은 시효완성으로 소멸하였다고 판단하였다.

가. 제1심의 진료기록감정촉탁 결과에 의하면, 진료기록감정의는 선행상병의 치료종결일을 2005. 9. 30.로 보는 것이 타당하고, ‘2006. 9. 19. 진단받은 우안 백내장, 2011. 9. 14. 진단받은 우안 안내염 및 2017. 11. 14. 진단받은 우안 유리체 출혈 및 우안 망막박리’와 이 사건 사고 또는 선행상병 사이에 직접적인 인과관계가 인정되기 어렵다는 취지의 의학적 소견을 제시하였고, 이 소견이 부당하다고 볼 만한 특별한 사정을 찾을 수 없다.

나. 이 사건 사고 발생일인 2005. 7. 22.부터 2017. 2. 7.까지 사이에 우안 백내장 수술, 우안 유리체절제술 등 다양한 수술이 있었고, 망인에게 기저질환인 당뇨병이 있었던 점 등을 고려하면, 2017. 2. 7. 소외인에 대하여 시행한 우안 각막 전층 재이식 수술을 선행상병의 재발로 보기도 어렵다.

3. 대법원의 판단

가. (1) 구 산재보험법에 의하면, 보험급여를 받을 권리는 3년간 행사하지 않으면 시효완성으로 소멸하고(제112조 제1항 제1호), 소멸시효는 권리를 행사할 수 있는 때부터 진행한다(제112조 제2항, 민법 제166조 제1항). 근로자가 요양급여를 받아 치유된 후에도 신체 등에 장해가 있는 경우에는 장해급여를 지급한다(제57조 제1항). 이때 ‘치유’란 부상 또는 질병이 완치되거나 치료의 효과를 더 이상 기대할 수 없고 그 증상이 고정된 상태에 이르게 된 것을 말한다(제5조 제4호). 따라서 구 산재보험법에 따른 장해급여청구권은 장해급여의 지급사유가 발생한 때, 즉 치유 시점부터 소멸시효가 진행한다(대법원 1997. 8. 22. 선고 97누6544 판결 등 참조).

(2) 구 산재보험법에 의하면, 근로자가 요양급여를 받아 치유된 후에도 그 요양의 대상이 되었던 업무상의 부상 또는 질병이 재발하거나 치유 당시보다 상태가 악화되어 이를 치유하기 위한 적극적인 치료가 필요한 때에는 재요양을 받을 수 있다(제57조 제1항). 재요양은 일단 요양이 종결된 후에 선행상병이 재발하거나 또는 선행상병에 기인한 합병증에 대하여 실시하는 요양이라는 점 외에는 최초의 요양과 그 성질이 같으므로, 재요양의 요건으로는 요양의 요건 외에 선행상병과 재요양을 신청한 상병과 사이에 상당인과관계가 있다고 인정되고 선행상병의 요양종결 시의 상태에 비하여 그 증상이 악화되어 재요양을 함으로써 치료효과가 기대될 수 있다는 의학적 소견이 있는 것으로 족하다. 선행상병이 재요양을 신청한 상병의 직접적인 원인이어야 할 필요는 없으며, 당초 상병의 치료종결 시의 상태에 비하여 그 증상이 현저하게 악화되어 적극적인 치료의 필요성이 인정되는 경우일 필요도 없다(대법원 2002. 4. 26. 선고 2002두1762 판결 참조).

(3) 구 산재보험법에 의하면, 재요양을 받고 치유된 후 장해상태가 종전에 비하여 악화된 경우에는 그 악화된 장해상태에 해당하는 장해등급에 따라 장해급여를 지급받는데, 재요양 후의 장해급여의 산정 및 지급방법은 대통령령으로 정한다(제60조 제2항). 그 위임에 따른 산업재해보상보험법 시행령 제58조는 장해급여의 수급자를 장해보상연금을 받던 사람과 장해보상일시금을 받은 사람으로 구분하고, 다시 그 수급자가 재요양 후의 장해급여를 장해보상연금으로 청구한 경우와 장해보상일시금으로 청구한 경우로 나누어 그 산정 및 지급 방법을 규정하고 있는데, 장해보상일시금을 받은 사람이 재요양 후의 장해상태가 종전에 비하여 악화되어 장해보상연금을 청구한 경우에는 ‘재요양 후 치유된 날이 속하는 달의 다음 달부터 변경된 장해등급에 해당하는 장해보상연금을 지급하되, 이미 지급한 장해보상일시금의 지급일수에 해당하는 기간만큼의 장해보상연금’은 이를 부지급하도록 규정하고 있다(제3항 제1호, 이하 ‘이 사건 조항’이라고 한다).

이 사건 조항의 취지는 업무상의 재해로 요양급여 및 장해보상일시금을 받은 사람이 재요양 후 장해상태가 악화되어 변경된 장해등급에 해당하는 장해보상연금을 전액 받게 된다면 이미 보상받은 장해급여 부분에 대해서까지 중복하여 장해급여를 받는 결과가 되므로, 이러한 불합리한 결과가 발생하는 것을 막기 위함이다. 따라서 업무상 재해로 인하여 신체장해를 입은 사람이 그 당시에 판정된 장해등급에 따른 장해급여를 청구하지 아니하여 기존의 장해에 대해서 전혀 보상을 받지 못하고 있다가 기존의 장해상태가 악화되어 장해등급이 변경된 후 비로소 변경된 장해등급에 따라 장해보상연금을 청구한 경우에는, 그와 같은 중복지급의 불합리한 결과는 발생하지 아니하므로, 피고로서는 재요양 후 치유된 날이 속하는 달의 다음 달부터 변경된 장해등급에 해당하는 장해보상연금의 지급일수에 따라 장해보상연금을 지급하여야 할 것이고, 이 사건 조항을 근거로 삼아 근로자에게 지급한 적이 없는 기존의 장해등급에 따른 장해보상일시금의 지급일수에 해당하는 기간만큼의 장해보상연금을 부지급하여서는 아니 된다. 그리고 이러한 이치는 기존의 장해등급에 대한 장해급여청구를 하지 않고 있던 중 그 청구권이 시효 소멸된 경우에도 마찬가지로 적용된다고 보아야 한다. 중복지급의 가능성이 없는 것은 이때에도 동일하며, ‘이미 지급한 장해보상일시금의 지급일수’라고 표현한 이 사건 조항의 문언에도 부합하기 때문이다(대법원 2015. 4. 16. 선고 2012두26142 전원합의체 판결 참조).

나. 원심판결 이유와 기록에 의하면, 다음과 같은 사실을 알 수 있다.

(1) 소외인은 선행요양 기간 중이던 2005. 8. 26.경 양안에 대하여 ‘당뇨성 망막증’ 진단을 받고, 그 무렵부터 2015. 10. 21.까지 사이에 양안 범망막 광응고 수술을 받았다.

(2) 소외인은 선행요양 기간 중이던 2006. 9. 19. 우안에 대하여 ‘외상성 백내장’으로 진단받고, 피고에게 재요양신청을 하였다. 피고는 2006. 9. 22. 소외인의 외상성 백내장과 이 사건 사고 및 선행상병 사이에 상당인과관계가 없다는 이유로 불승인 결정을 하였다. 소외인은 불승인 결정에 대해 불복하지 않은 채, 2006. 9. 30. 우안 백내장 수술을 받았다.

(3) 소외인은 선행요양 종료 후인 2011. 4. 18. ‘우안 각막 이식 수술’을 받고, 2011. 9. 14. 우안 유리체절제술 및 유리체내 주사술을 받았다.

(4) 소외인은 2016. 11. 15. 다시 우안에 대한 진료를 받기 시작하였고, 2017. 2. 7. 우안 각막 재이식 수술을 받았다.

(5) 소외인은 2017. 5. 17. 우안 나안시력 안전수동(眼前手動) 진단을, 2017. 11. 14. 우안 유리체 출혈, 우안 망막박리 진단을 받고, 우안 유리체절제 수술 등을 받았다.

(6) 제1심 진료기록감정의는 ‘선행상병으로 인하여 각막과 망막이 손상될 수 있고, 궤양 및 천공이 생기면 안내염이 생길 수도 있으며, 백내장 등의 합병증도 발생할 수 있다. 이 사건 장해의 발병원인은 선행상병, 노인성 백내장, 당뇨성 망막증 중 어느 하나만으로는 설명하기는 어렵다.’는 의견을 밝혔다.

(7) □□□□□□ ◇◇◇병원 안과 전문의가 발급한 2006. 9. 18.자 진단서에는, 소외인의 백내장이 이 사건 사고로 인하여 악화되었을 가능성이 높다는 취지로 기재되어 있다.

(8) 원심의 사실조회에 대하여 □□□□□□ ◇◇◇병원장은 ‘이 사건 사고와 2011. 4. 18.자 우안 각막 이식 수술 사이에 직접적인 인과관계가 있다고 보기는 어렵지만, 소외인의 시력상실 원인은 각막혼탁과 망막박리이고, 이 사건 사고로 인한 화학적 손상으로 각막혼탁, 백내장 등이 발생할 수 있다. 각막혼탁과 망막박리는 2006. 9. 30. 백내장 수술 이후 악화된 것으로 보이고, 이는 이 사건 사고와 당뇨병이 복합적으로 작용하였기 때문으로 추정된다. 좌안이 상대적으로 양호한 경과를 보인 점에 비추어 당뇨병성 망막증만으로 우안의 불량한 경과를 설명하기는 어렵다. 우안 시력의 악화 원인은 이 사건 사고에서 찾을 수 있다’는 취지로 회신하였다.

다. 위와 같은 선행상병의 발병 경위나 그 이후의 경과, 이 사건 장해 발병 원인에 관한 의학적 소견 등에 비추어 보면, 선행상병이 선행요양 종결일인 2005. 9. 30.에 일단 증상이 고정되어 치유된 것이라고 하더라도 그 후 자연적 진행경과 이상으로 악화되어 ‘우안 망막박리’ 등의 상병이 발병하여 재요양이 필요한 상태가 된 것으로 볼 여지가 크다. 사실관계가 그러하다면, 소외인이 적절한 시점에 ‘우안 망막박리’ 등에 관하여 재요양급여를 신청하지 않아 실제 재요양급여를 받지는 못했다고 하더라도, ‘우안 망막박리’ 등에 관하여 의료기관에서 치료를 받아 증상이 고정되어 치유된 시점에 ‘재요양 후의 장해급여청구권’을 새로 취득하고, 이때부터 소멸시효가 다시 진행하는 것으로 보아야 한다.

라. 그런데도 원심은, 소외인의 선행상병이 선행요양 종료일 이후에 다시 자연적 진행경과 이상으로 악화되어 재요양이 필요하게 된 사정은 간과한 채, 선행요양 종료일인 2005. 9. 30.부터 장해급여청구권의 소멸시효가 진행하여 장해급여청구일인 2018. 3. 2.에는 이미 3년의 소멸시효가 완성되어 이 사건 장해에 관한 장해급여청구권이 소멸하였다고 판단하였다. 이러한 원심판단에는 구 산재보험법에 따른 ‘재요양 요건’, ‘재요양 후의 장해급여청구권’에 관한 법리를 오해하여 필요한 심리를 다하지 아니함으로써 판결에 영향을 미친 잘못이 있다.

4. 결론

그러므로 원심판결을 파기하고, 사건을 다시 심리ㆍ판단하게 하기 위하여 원심법원에 환송하기로 하여, 관여 대법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 김선수(재판장) 권순일 이기택(주심) 박정화

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2022구단52914 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
장해급여일부부지급처분취소
#2
2011두15640 · 대법원 2011-10-27
Revocation of Disposition Denying Disability Benefits
#3
2022구단16369 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
장해급여부지급결정처분취소
#4
2012두26142 · 대법원 2015-04-16
장해보상연금개시일자결정처분취소
#5
2016구단56847 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Disability Benefits

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)