Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 99두10360

Action to Revoke Disapproval of Medical Care Benefits (요양불승인처분취소)요양불승인처분취소

Decided1999. 12. 10. Court대법원Reversed and remanded (worker's claim to be reconsidered under the correct legal standard)
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

A worker who already had a pre-existing spinal condition called spondylolisthesis (척추전방전위증) before joining the company suffered a worsening of that condition due to an accident at work, and then applied for medical care benefits (요양신청) under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance system. The Supreme Court held that even a pre-existing disease can qualify as an industrial accident (산업재해) if a work-related accident aggravates it. The Court further clarified that a claimant does not need to prove causation with strict medical certainty—showing a reasonable probability of causation (상당인과관계), based on the totality of the circumstances, is sufficient.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA worker with a pre-existing spinal condition suffered worsened symptoms after a workplace accident and applied for medical care benefits, but the claim was denied.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court ruled that aggravation of a pre-existing condition by a workplace accident counts as an industrial accident, and sent the case back for reconsideration under a more lenient causation standard.
  • LessonWorkers with pre-existing health conditions can still qualify for workers' compensation if a workplace accident worsens their condition, and they are not required to prove causation with absolute medical certainty.
Issues
  • Whether the aggravation of a pre-existing disease due to a workplace accident qualifies as an industrial accident (산업재해)
  • What degree of proof is required to establish reasonable causation (상당인과관계) between work and the resulting disease or injury
Key reasoning

The Court reasoned that a disease existing before employment can still be recognized as a work-related injury if it is aggravated or triggered by a workplace accident. It emphasized that the standard for proving causation between work and disease should not require conclusive medical proof, since medical science often cannot establish causation with absolute certainty. Instead, courts should assess all relevant circumstances—such as the timing of the accident, the nature of the work, and the progression of symptoms—to determine whether a reasonable probability of causation exists. The lower court erred by requiring a stricter, more direct medical showing of causation, which led the Supreme Court to reverse and remand the case.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

The term "occupational accident (업무상의 재해)" under Article 3(1) of the former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) (before its full amendment by Act No. 4826 of December 22, 1994) means an accident sustained by an employee arising from the performance of duties, and thus there must be a causal relationship between the duties and the occurrence of the accident. However, even where the injury is a pre-existing disease not directly related to the employee's duties, if that disease was aggravated or its symptoms were first manifested due to an accident or the like arising in connection with the duties, then a causal relationship exists between the duties and the disease. In such a case, the party asserting the causal relationship bears the burden of proving it, but the causal relationship need not be clearly proven in a medical or scientific manner; even where it can only be inferred, in light of all the relevant circumstances such as the employee's state of health at the time of employment, the circumstances leading to the onset of the disease, the nature of the disease, and the course of treatment, that there is a proximate causal relationship between the duties and the disease, such proof shall be deemed to have been established.

Full text (English, AI translation) 7,768 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellant] Plaintiff
[Defendant, Appellee] Korea Workers' Compensation & Welfare Service (근로복지공단)
[Judgment Below] Busan High Court Judgment 98Nu3884, decided September 10, 1999

[Order]

The judgment below is reversed, and the case is remanded to the Busan High Court.

[Reasoning]

The grounds of appeal are examined.

1. According to the reasoning of the judgment below, the court below found that the Plaintiff joined the non-party company on October 14, 1993 and had been working in the pipe-fitting and processing section, and that on October 4, 1997, while working at the non-party company's worksite, the Plaintiff was pushing by hand a cast iron pipe of 700㎜ in diameter that had failed to enter the curing room and was caught, when the pipe sprang out and struck the Plaintiff's body, causing a sharp pain in his back and causing him to collapse on the spot; after the accident, the Plaintiff was diagnosed with spondylolisthesis at the L4-5 level. Regarding the Plaintiff's argument that this injury/disease constitutes an occupational accident and that the Defendant's disposition of non-approval of medical care benefits in this case is therefore unlawful, the court below rejected the argument on the following grounds: the said injury/disease was a pre-existing condition already identified in the physical examination conducted at the time the Plaintiff joined the company, and it is difficult to conclude that the degree of listhesis further progressed due to this accident; moreover, even assuming that the Plaintiff's condition did progress further, in light of the results of the physical examination commissioned by the court below, it is difficult to view that the condition progressed all at once due to this accident; and considering that the work the Plaintiff had ordinarily been in charge of did not place a significant burden on the back, and that spondylolisthesis is a condition that may progress due to repetitive movements in daily life, etc., it is difficult to recognize that the Plaintiff's pre-employment symptoms rapidly worsened or manifested beyond their natural course due to the work performed at the non-party company.

2. Upon examination, an occupational accident under Article 3(1) of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) means an accident sustained by a worker arising from the performance of duties, and thus there must be a causal relationship between the work and the occurrence of the accident; however, even where the injury/disease is a pre-existing condition not directly related to the work, if it has been further aggravated or its symptoms have manifested for the first time due to an accident or the like arising in connection with the work, a causal relationship with the work must be found to exist (see Supreme Court Decision 89Nu2318, decided November 14, 1989). Furthermore, in such a case, while the party asserting the causal relationship bears the burden of proving it, such causal relationship need not necessarily be clearly proven in a medical or natural-scientific sense; proof shall be deemed to exist even where, considering all the circumstances such as the worker's state of health at the time of employment, the circumstances of the onset of the disease, the nature of the disease, and the course of treatment, a proximate causal relationship between the work and the disease can be inferred (see Supreme Court Decision 91Nu10022, decided May 12, 1992).

However, according to the reasoning of the judgment below and the record, the following facts can be ascertained: in the physical examination conducted around October 14, 1993, the date the Plaintiff joined the company, an isotope test showed that the Plaintiff's L4-5 vertebrae were displaced by approximately 4㎜ (8.3%); a CT scan conducted around October 15, 1997, shortly after this accident, showed the degree of displacement to be 10㎜ (20.8%); however, according to the results of the physical examination commissioned by the court below and conducted around August 1999, since the isotope test and the CT scan use different testing methods, they cannot be evaluated on a uniform standard, and the Plaintiff's degree of vertebral displacement showed Grade 1 findings both at the time of employment and immediately after this accident; nevertheless, although the Plaintiff had the aforementioned pre-existing condition at the time of joining the non-party company, since its degree was mild, the Plaintiff worked in the same job for more than four years at the non-party company without complaining of back pain or showing any decline in work capacity compared to other workers; the work the Plaintiff had ordinarily been in charge of at the non-party company was the repair and transport of small-diameter cast iron pipes, but at the time of this accident, since there was no worker in charge of large-diameter cast iron pipes, the Plaintiff was forced to handle large-diameter cast iron pipes, which he did not ordinarily handle, and thereby suffered this accident.

Furthermore, medical care benefits under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, unlike disability benefits and the like, whose principal purpose is to guarantee, up to a certain level, the working capacity lost due to an occupational accident, have as their principal purpose the cure of the injury/disease caused by the occupational accident and the restoration of the lost working capacity to its original state. According to the record, after this accident, the Plaintiff, feeling something wrong with his back, left work early and, while on his way home, was unable to bear the pain, went to a hospital for examination, and was subsequently hospitalized; and according to the diagnosis and test results at that time, approximately four weeks of hospitalization and treatment were required. Given these circumstances, it is reasonable to view that the sudden manifestation of the symptoms of the pre-existing condition, which the Plaintiff had not ordinarily felt as painful, occurred because the condition was significantly aggravated beyond its natural course due to the injury caused by this accident. Even if, as shown in the results of the physical examination commissioned by the court below, the Plaintiff's pre-existing condition did not become fixed in a more aggravated state due to this accident, in the present case where the Plaintiff did not claim disability benefits from the Defendant but merely applied for medical care, the period from when the Plaintiff sustained the aforementioned injury and specifically manifested pain, etc., to a degree requiring hospitalization, until he recovered to the state of the original pre-existing condition, should be regarded as constituting an occupational accident causally related to this accident.

Nevertheless, the court below, based solely on the reasons set forth above, determined that the injury suffered by the Plaintiff due to this accident did not constitute an occupational accident and that the Defendant's disposition of non-approval of medical care benefits in this case was justified. This constitutes an error of law based on a misunderstanding of the legal principles concerning occupational accidents and medical care benefits under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, and it is clear that this error affected the outcome of the judgment. Therefore, the ground of appeal pointing out this error is well-founded.

3. Accordingly, the Justices unanimously agree to reverse the judgment below and remand the case to the court below for further hearing and determination, and hereby render judgment as set forth in the Order.

Justice Cho Mu-je (Presiding Justice), Kim Hyung-sun (Justice in charge), Lee Yong-hoon, Lee Yong-woo

【판결요지】

구 산업재해보상보험법(1994. 12. 22. 법률 제4826호로 전문 개정되기 전의 것) 제3조 제1항 소정의 '업무상의 재해'라 함은 근로자가 업무수행에 기인하여 입은 재해를 뜻하는 것이어서 업무와 재해발생과의 사이에 인과관계가 있어야 하지만 그 재해가 업무와 직접 관련이 없는 기존의 질병이더라도 그것이 업무와 관련하여 발생한 사고 등으로 말미암아 더욱 악화되거나 그 증상이 비로소 발현된 것이라면 업무와의 사이에는 인과관계가 존재하고, 이 경우 인과관계에 관하여는 이를 주장하는 측에서 입증하여야 하는 것이지만 그 인과관계는 반드시 의학적, 자연과학적으로 명백하게 입증되어야 하는 것은 아니고, 근로자의 취업 당시의 건강상태, 발병 경위, 질병의 내용, 치료의 경과 등 제반 사정을 고려할 때 업무와 질병 사이에 상당인과관계가 있다고 추단되는 경우에도 그 입증이 있다고 보아야 한다.

【참조조문】

구 산업재해보상보험법(1994. 12. 22. 법률 제4826호로 전문 개정되기 전의 것) 제3조 제1항(현행 제4조 제1호 참조), 민사소송법 제187조, 제261조, 행정소송법 제8조 제2항, 제26조[입증책임]

【참조판례】

대법원 1989. 7. 25. 선고 88누10947 판결(공1989, 1308), 대법원 1989. 11. 14. 선고 89누2318 판결(공1990, 55), 대법원 1991. 11. 8. 선고 91누3727 판결(공1992, 131), 대법원 1992. 5. 12. 선고 91누10022 판결(공1992, 2026), 대법원 1999. 4. 23. 선고 97누16459 판결(공1999상, 1061)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 2,934자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 상고인】 원고

【피고, 피상고인】 근로복지공단

【원심판결】 부산고법 1999. 9. 10. 선고 98누3884 판결

【주 문】

원심판결을 파기하고, 사건을 부산고등법원에 환송한다.

【이 유】 상고이유를 판단한다.

1. 원심판결 이유에 의하면 원심은, 원고가 1993. 10. 14. 소외 회사에 입사하여 제관과 가공반에서 근무하여 오던 중, 1997. 10. 4. 소외 회사의 작업장에서 양생실로 들어가지 못하고 걸려 있는 직경 700㎜의 주철관을 손으로 밀어 넣다가 주철관이 튀어나오면서 원고의 몸에 부딪히는 바람에 허리가 뜨끔하면서 그 자리에 주저앉는 사고를 당한 후 제4, 5요추간 척추전방전위증의 진단을 받은 사실을 인정한 다음, 위 상병이 업무상의 재해에 해당하므로 피고의 이 사건 요양불승인처분은 위법하다는 원고의 주장에 대하여 판단하기를, 위 상병은 원고의 입사 당시에 실시된 신체검사에서 이미 판명된 바 있는 기존질병으로서 이 사건 사고로 말미암아 그 전위의 정도가 더욱더 진행된 것이라고 단정하기가 어려울 뿐만 아니라, 설사 원고의 상병이 더욱 진행된 것이라고 하더라도 원심의 신체감정촉탁결과에 비추어 이 사건 사고로 말미암아 일시에 위 상병이 진행된 것으로 보기 어려우며, 원고가 평소에 담당하였던 작업이 그다지 허리에 부담을 주는 것이 아니었던 점 및 척추전방전위증이라는 것이 일상생활의 반복적 동작 등에 의하여 진행할 수도 있는 점 등을 고려하여 보면, 원고의 입사 이전의 증상이 원고의 소외 회사에서의 작업으로 인하여 그 자연적 경과를 넘어 급속히 악화되었거나 발현된 것이라고 인정하기 어렵다는 이유로 위 주장을 배척하였다.

2. 살피건대, 산업재해보상보험법 제3조 제1항 소정의 업무상 재해라 함은 근로자가 업무수행에 기인하여 입은 재해를 뜻하는 것이어서 업무와 재해발생과의 사이에 인과관계가 있어야 하지만 그 재해가 업무와 직접 관련이 없는 기존의 질병이더라도 그것이 업무와 관련하여 발생한 사고 등으로 말미암아 더욱 악화되거나 그 증상이 비로소 발현된 것이라면 업무와의 사이에는 인과관계가 존재한다고 보아야 할 것이다(대법원 1989. 11. 14. 선고 89누2318 판결 참조). 그리고 이 경우 인과관계에 관하여는 이를 주장하는 측에서 입증하여야 하는 것이지만 그 인과관계는 반드시 의학적, 자연과학적으로 명백하게 입증되어야 하는 것은 아니고, 근로자의 취업 당시의 건강상태, 발병 경위, 질병의 내용, 치료의 경과 등 제반 사정을 고려할 때 업무와 질병 사이에 상당인과관계가 있다고 추단되는 경우에도 그 입증이 있다고 보아야 할 것이다(대법원 1992. 5. 12. 선고 91누10022 판결 참조).

그런데 원심판결 이유 및 기록에 의하면, 원고의 입사일인 1993. 10. 14. 무렵에 실시된 신체검사에서 동위원소검사 결과 원고는 제4, 5요추간 척추가 4㎜(8.3%) 정도 전위된 상태였고, 이 사건 사고 직후인 1997. 10. 15.경 실시된 CT촬영 결과 그 전위의 정도가 10㎜(20.8%)로 판정되었지만, 1999. 8.경에 실시된 원심의 신체감정촉탁결과에 의하면 동위원소검사와 CT촬영은 그 검사 방법이 다른 것이어서 일치된 기준으로 볼 수가 없고, 원고의 척추 전위 정도는 입사시나 이 사건 사고 직후나 모두 제1단계 정도의 전위 소견을 보이고 있는 사실, 그러나 원고는 소외 회사에 입사할 당시에 위와 같은 기존질병을 갖고 있었지만 그 정도가 가벼웠던 관계로 소외 회사에서 4년 이상 같은 작업에 종사하면서도 허리의 통증을 호소하거나 다른 근로자에 비하여 작업능력이 떨어지는 등의 현상은 없었던 사실, 원고가 소외 회사에서 평소 담당한 작업은 소구경 주철관의 보수와 운반작업이었는데, 이 사건 사고 당시에는 대구경 주철관을 담당하는 작업자가 없었던 관계로 원고는 평소에 다루지 아니하던 대구경 주철관을 어쩔 수 없이 취급하다가 이 사건 사고를 당하게 된 사실을 알 수 있다.

나아가, 산업재해보상보험법상의 요양급여는, 업무상 재해로 상실된 노동능력을 일정 수준까지 보장하는 것을 주목적으로 하는 장해급여 등과는 달리 업무상 재해에 의한 상병을 치유하여 상실된 노동능력을 원상회복하는 것을 주목적으로 하는 것이고, 기록에 의하면, 원고는 이 사건 사고 후 허리에 이상을 느끼고 조퇴하여 집으로 가던 중 통증을 참지 못한 채 병원으로 가서 진찰을 받고 입원하기에 이르렀고, 당시의 진단 및 검사결과에 의하면 약 4주간의 입원가료가 필요하였던 사실을 알 수 있는바, 사정이 이러하다면, 원고가 평소 통증 등을 느끼지 못하던 위 기존질병의 증상이 위와 같이 갑자기 발현된 것은 기존질병의 자연적 경과를 넘어 이 사건 사고로 인한 부상으로 말미암아 그 상태가 현저히 악화되었기 때문이라고 봄이 상당하고, 비록 원심의 신체감정촉탁결과에서 보는 바와 같이 이 사건 사고로 말미암아 원고의 기존질병이 보다 악화된 상태로 고정된 것은 아니라고 하더라도, 원고가 피고에 대하여 장해급여의 지급을 청구한 것이 아니라 단순히 요양신청만을 한 이 사건에 있어서, 원고가 위와 같은 부상을 입고 입원치료를 요할 정도의 통증 등이 구체적으로 발현되었다가 원래의 기존질병 상태로 회복되기까지는 이 사건 사고와 인과관계가 있는 업무상의 재해에 해당하는 것으로 보아야 할 것이다.

그럼에도 불구하고 원심이 앞서 본 바와 같은 이유만으로 이 사건 사고로 원고가 입은 부상이 업무상의 재해에 해당하지 아니하는 것으로 보고 피고의 이 사건 요양불승인처분이 정당하다고 판단하고 만 것은 산업재해보상보험법상 업무상의 재해 및 요양급여에 관한 법리를 오해한 위법을 저질렀다고 할 것이고, 이러한 위법은 판결 결과에 영향을 미쳤음이 분명하므로, 이 점을 지적하는 취지의 상고이유의 주장은 이유 있다.

3. 그러므로 원심판결을 파기하고 사건을 다시 심리·판단하게 하기 위하여 원심법원에 환송하기로 관여 법관들의 의견이 일치되어 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 조무제(재판장) 김형선(주심) 이용훈 이용우

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2011두25661 · 대법원 2012-02-09
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
#2
2010구단10 · 부산지방법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
#3
91누476 · 대법원 1991-04-12
Revocation of Disapproval of Medical Care Benefits (요양불승인처분취
#4
2014구단2112 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
#5
2021구단78063 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits

Cases citing this decision

2009두6919 · 대법원 2009-08-20
최초요양신청상병일부불승인처분등취소
2009두6186 · 대법원 2009-07-09
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
2007다84420 · 대법원 2008-03-27
진료비
2003두12530 · 대법원 2004-04-09
Revocation of Non-Approval of Medical Care Benefits (요양불승인처분
2003두5501 · 대법원 2003-11-14
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivor Benefits and Fune

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)