Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 97누16459

Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivor Benefits and Funeral Expenses (유족급여및장의비부지급처분취소)유족급여및장의비부지급처분취소

Decided1999. 04. 23. Court대법원Worker (bereaved family) lost
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

A painter working at a construction site died of acute myocardial infarction while on duty. The Supreme Court ruled that this death did not qualify as an industrial accident (업무상 재해) because there was insufficient proof of a causal link between his work and his death. The Court also established the principle that when a worker has worked at multiple job sites, all such work must be comprehensively considered when determining whether an injury or death is work-related.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA construction site painter suddenly died of acute myocardial infarction while working, and his family sought survivor benefits and funeral expenses.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court denied the claim, ruling that death occurring during work hours alone does not establish work-relatedness, and the family failed to prove a substantial causal link between his job and the fatal heart attack.
  • LessonTo claim industrial accident compensation for a workplace death, claimants must affirmatively prove that the work caused the death, considering all job sites where the deceased worked, rather than relying on the mere timing of the death.
Issues
  • How should the scope of a worker's job duties be determined for purposes of industrial accident recognition when the worker has worked at multiple job sites over time?
  • When a worker dies while performing work duties but the exact cause of death is unclear, can work-relatedness (업무기인성) be presumed automatically?
  • What is the standard for determining a substantial causal relationship (상당인과관계) between work duties and a worker's death?
Key reasoning

For a worker's death to be recognized as an industrial accident (업무상 재해), it is not enough that the death occurred while performing work duties; the death must also have been caused by the work itself, and there must be a substantial causal relationship (상당인과관계) between the work and the death. The burden of proving this causal relationship lies with the party asserting the claim, in this case the deceased worker's family. The mere fact that death occurred during work hours does not create a presumption that the work caused the death. Since the family failed to provide sufficient evidence establishing that the painter's cardiac condition was caused or significantly aggravated by his job duties, the claim for survivor benefits was denied.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

[1] Where an employee dies while moving between several worksites to perform part of the construction works subcontracted to his employer company among multiple construction projects, if each of the said construction works is subject to mandatory application under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) or the constructor thereof is a subscriber to industrial accident compensation insurance, then industrial accident compensation insurance shall also apply to the said employee. Therefore, in determining whether the deceased's death constitutes an occupational accident, not only the work performed at the worksite where the deceased died, but also the work performed at the worksites where he had worked prior to his death, must all be included as material for the determination.

[2] In order for a death to be recognized as a death due to an occupational cause as provided under Article 4, Subparagraph 1 of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, the death in question must not only have occurred during the performance of duties, but must also have arisen from the duties, such that there exists a proximate causal relationship between the duties and the accident. In this case, the causal relationship between the employee's duties and the accident must be proven by the party asserting it. Accordingly, even where an employee's death occurs during the performance of duties, if the cause of death is unclear, it cannot be presumed forthwith that the death arose from the duties.

[3] The existence or absence of a causal relationship between the duties and the death must be determined not on the basis of an ordinary average person, but on the basis of the health and physical condition of the employee concerned.

Full text (English, AI translation) 12,401 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellant] Plaintiff
[Defendant, Appellee] Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service
[Judgment Below] Busan High Court Decision 96Gu3401, decided September 4, 1997

[Order]

The appeal is dismissed.
The costs of the appeal shall be borne by the Plaintiff.

[Reasoning]

The grounds of appeal are examined.

1. According to the reasoning of the judgment below, the court below, comprehensively considering the evidence adopted in its judgment, found the following facts.

The deceased Nonparty 1 was a painter who performed paint-coating work on doors and door frames at construction sites, and for about five years had worked as a painter mainly at construction sites where ○○ Painting Co., Ltd. (hereinafter "○○ Painting"), a company engaged in paint sales and painting work, had subcontracted painting jobs, as an employee affiliated with ○○ Painting.

○○ Painting subcontracted the painting work in the construction of △△ Villa, which was being built by △△ Construction Co., Ltd. (hereinafter "△△ Construction"), an entity enrolled under industrial accident compensation insurance. The deceased, as an employee of ○○ Painting, first reported to work at the △△ Villa construction site at approximately 07:30 on July 26, 1995, and after finishing the paint-coating work on five interior doors, at approximately 08:30 on the same day suddenly complained of a headache and thirst, drank water given to him by his co-worker Nonparty 2, and went to rest in an adjoining room, where he died.

At the time of his death, the deceased was 62 years old and, apart from mild hypertension and knee neuralgia, had no particular illness. His work consisted of paint-coating of doors and door frames at construction sites and miscellaneous chores such as cleaning; his working hours were from 07:30 to approximately 17:30; and for several months prior to his death he had worked approximately 25 days per month.

Dr. Nonparty 3, who examined the body of the deceased, recorded in the death examination report that the cause of death was presumed to be acute myocardial infarction, but no autopsy or further investigation into the cause of death was conducted.

Myocardial infarction refers to a condition in which the blood flow supplying oxygen to the myocardium is blocked, causing necrosis of the affected myocardium; its course may result in sudden death due to complicating arrhythmia, death due to heart failure, or may pass without complications. Its principal cause is arteriosclerosis, with hypertension, obesity, and smoking being the most important risk factors, and symptoms of ischemic heart disease may manifest due to overwork or stress, potentially leading to death through myocardial infarction caused by ischemic injury and consequent complications such as arrhythmia.

B. Based on the above findings, the court below, in response to the Plaintiff's argument that the deceased Nonparty 1 died as a result of accumulated fatigue from excessive work and that his death therefore constitutes an occupational accident, held that the cause of death was merely presumed to be acute myocardial infarction and could not be regarded as clearly established; furthermore, even granting that the deceased, being 62 years old at the time of death and having mild hypertension, possessed risk factors capable of inducing myocardial infarction, this was insufficient to infer that the work performed by the deceased constituted excessive work for him such that it induced the myocardial infarction or caused it to rapidly worsen beyond its natural course; moreover, since the deceased worked at the construction site of △△ Construction, an entity enrolled under industrial accident compensation insurance, for only about one hour, and there was no evidence establishing that ○○ Painting or the entities for which the deceased had previously worked were enrolled under industrial accident compensation insurance, there was no evidence to establish that the work performed by the deceased was work for an entity enrolled under industrial accident compensation insurance. On these grounds, the court below rejected the Plaintiff's argument, determining that the deceased's death did not constitute an occupational accident.

2. As to Ground of Appeal No. 1

However, according to the reasoning of the judgment below and the record, it can be seen that the deceased Nonparty 1 worked: in May 1995, for 24.5 days, at the Yangsan apartment construction site of □□ Housing Co., Ltd. (hereinafter "□□ Housing") and at the Gaegeum Family Town construction site of ◇◇ Development Co., Ltd. (hereinafter "◇◇ Development"); in June 1995, for 27 days, at the Gaegeum Family Town construction site; and in July 1995, for 22 out of 25 days until the day before his death, at the Gaegeum Family Town construction site, the Haeundae construction site of ∇∇ Housing Co., Ltd. (hereinafter "∇∇ Housing"), and the model house construction site of ◇◇ Development, performing the painting work subcontracted to ○○ Painting; and that on the date of his death, July 26, 1995, he first reported to work at the △△ Villa construction site of △△ Construction and died after working for approximately one hour. Since each of the aforementioned construction projects of □□ Housing, ◇◇ Development, and ∇∇ Housing appears to be new construction of apartments or row houses, in light of the scale of such construction, there is a considerable possibility that the total construction cost of each project exceeded 40 million won as prescribed in Article 3, Paragraph 1, Item 6 of the former Enforcement Decree of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법시행령) (before amendment by Presidential Decree No. 15589 of December 31, 1997), and thus there is a considerable possibility that each of these construction projects was subject to mandatory application of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) or that its contractor was enrolled under industrial accident compensation insurance. If that were the case, then the deceased, as an employee of ○○ Painting, which was subcontracted to perform the painting portion of each of these construction projects, would also be covered by industrial accident compensation insurance (see Supreme Court Decision 96Da54225, decided August 29, 1997). Therefore, in determining whether the deceased's death constitutes an occupational accident, not only the work the deceased performed for approximately one hour at the construction site of △△ Construction, but also the work he performed at each of the construction sites of □□ Housing, ◇◇ Development, and ∇∇ Housing where he had worked prior to his death, should all be included and considered as material for the determination (see Supreme Court Decision 91Nu10466, decided May 12, 1992).

Therefore, the portion of the judgment below holding, solely on the grounds that the Plaintiff had failed to prove that the entities for which the deceased worked prior to his death were enrolled under industrial accident compensation insurance, and that the deceased worked at the construction site of △△ Construction, an entity enrolled under industrial accident compensation insurance, for only about one hour, that the work performed by the deceased was not work for an entity enrolled under industrial accident compensation insurance, contains an error of misapprehending the legal principles concerning entities enrolled in industrial accident compensation insurance and the scope of such enrollment, as well as the legal principles concerning the scope of work to be considered as material in determining whether an occupational accident occurred, thereby failing to exhaust the necessary examination and violating the rules of evidence. However, as discussed below, in this case, even if all of the work performed by the deceased at each of the construction sites of □□ Housing, ◇◇ Development, and ∇∇ Housing where he worked prior to his death is included as material for determining whether the death constitutes an occupational accident, a causal relationship between the deceased's death and his work cannot be recognized, and thus the deceased's death does not constitute an occupational accident. Accordingly, the aforementioned error of the court below cannot be deemed an illegality that affected the outcome of the judgment. Ultimately, Ground of Appeal No. 1 cannot be accepted.

3. As to Grounds of Appeal No. 2 and No. 3

In order for a death to be recognized as a death due to occupational cause as prescribed in Article 4, Item 1 of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법), the death must not only have occurred during the performance of work, but must also have arisen from the work, and there must be a proximate causal relationship between the work and the accident; in this regard, the causal relationship between the worker's work and the accident must be proven by the party asserting it. Therefore, even where a worker's death occurs during the performance of work, the fact that the cause of death is unclear does not permit an immediate presumption that the death was caused by the work (see Supreme Court Decisions 97Nu19984, decided February 27, 1998; 98Du3303, decided April 24, 1998; 98Du13287, decided December 8, 1998, etc.). Meanwhile, the existence of a causal relationship between the work and the death must be determined not on the basis of an ordinary average person, but on the basis of the health and physical condition of the worker concerned (see Supreme Court Decisions 91Nu5433, decided September 10, 1991; 91Nu3727, decided November 8, 1991; 96Nu6103, decided September 6, 1996, etc.).

Now, as the court below lawfully found, the death examination report prepared by Dr. Nonparty 3 regarding the deceased merely stated the cause of death as "acute myocardial infarction (presumed)," and no autopsy or other investigation was conducted to further establish the cause of death. This being a case where the cause of the deceased's death is unclear, the deceased's death cannot be presumed to have been caused by his work. Furthermore, even assuming that the deceased died of acute myocardial infarction, according to the record, the deceased, as noted above, worked as a daily-wage painter for approximately 25 days per month at construction sites such as □□ Housing's for several months prior to his death; however, the work he performed—paint-coating of doors and door frames and miscellaneous chores such as cleaning—constitutes relatively light manual labor, and his working hours were from 07:30 to 17:30, with a one-hour lunch break and two 30-minute snack breaks in between, meaning his actual working hours were 8 hours. Therefore, even taking into account the fact that the deceased was 62 years old at the time of death and had ordinarily suffered from hypertension, and that he had performed the above work for approximately 25 days per month for several months prior to his death, these circumstances alone are insufficient, in light of the content of the deceased's work and his working hours as noted above, to establish that the work he performed over several months constituted excessive work for him such that it induced the myocardial infarction or caused it to worsen beyond its natural course, thereby leading to his death, and no other evidence sufficient to establish this can be found in the record.

Accordingly, the judgment below's determination that the deceased's death does not constitute an occupational accident is acceptable, and it cannot be said that there was an error in misapprehending the legal principles concerning the standard for determining excessive work-related fatigue, or a violation of the rules of evidence concerning causation, as pointed out in the grounds of appeal. The precedents cited in the grounds of appeal concern cases whose facts differ from those of the present case and are either inappropriate to invoke in this case, or are not precedents supporting the grounds of appeal. All grounds of appeal on this point are without merit.

3. Therefore, the appeal is dismissed, and the costs of the appeal are to be borne by the Plaintiff, the appellant. This judgment is rendered in accordance with the unanimous opinion of the participating Justices, as stated in the Order.

Justice Jeong Gwi-ho (Presiding Justice), Kim Hyeong-seon, Lee Yong-hun (Justice in charge), Cho Mu-je

【판결요지】

[1] 근로자가 그 소속 회사가 하도급받은 수 개의 건설공사 중 일부 공사를 위하여 여러 개의 사업장을 옮겨 다니며 작업하다가 사망한 경우, 위 각 건설공사가 산업재해보상보험법의 당연적용대상이거나 그 시공자가 산업재해보상보험가입자인 경우에는 위 근로자에게도 산업재해보상보험이 적용된다고 할 것이므로, 망인의 사망이 업무상 재해에 해당하는지의 여부를 판단함에 있어서는 망인이 사망할 당시의 사업장에서 수행한 업무뿐만 아니라 사망 전에 근무하였던 사업장에서 수행한 업무도 모두 포함시켜 판단의 자료로 삼아야 한다.

[2] 산업재해보상보험법상 제4조 제1호가 정하는 업무상 사유에 의한 사망으로 인정되기 위하여는, 당해 사망이 업무수행중의 사망이어야 함은 물론이고 업무에 기인하여 발생한 것으로서 업무와 재해와 사이에 상당인과관계가 있어야 하고, 이 경우 근로자의 업무와 재해 사이의 인과관계는 이를 주장하는 측에서 입증하여야 할 것이므로, 근로자의 사망이 업무수행중에 일어난 경우 그 사인이 분명하지 않다고 하여 바로 업무에 기인한 사망으로 추정할 수는 없다.

[3] 업무와 사망과의 인과관계의 유무는 보통평균인이 아니라 당해 근로자의 건강과 신체조건을 기준으로 판단하여야 할 것이다.

【참조조문】

[1] 산업재해보상보험법 제4조 제1호, 제5조, 제9조, 구 산업재해보상보험법시행령(1997. 12. 31. 대통령령 제15589호로 개정되기 전의 것) 제3조 제1항 제6호

[2] 산업재해보상보험법 제4조 제1호

[3] 산업재해보상보험법 제4조 제1호

【참조판례】

[1] 대법원 1992. 5. 12. 선고 91누10466 판결(공1992, 1887), 대법원 1997. 8. 29. 선고 96다54225 판결 / [2] 대법원 1990. 10. 23. 선고 88누5037 판결(공1990, 2425), 대법원 1997. 2. 25. 선고 96누17226 판결, 대법원 1998. 2. 27. 선고 97누19984 판결, 대법원 1998. 4. 24. 선고 98두3303 판결(공1998상, 1520), 대법원 1998. 2. 27. 선고 97누19984 판결, 대법원 1998. 4. 24. 선고 98두3303 판결(공1998상, 1520), 대법원 1998. 4. 24. 선고 98두3303 판결(공1998상, 1520), 대법원 1998. 12. 8. 선고 98두13287 판결(공1999상, 147) / [3] 대법원 1991. 9. 10. 선고 91누5433 판결(공1991, 2548), 대법원 1991. 11. 8. 선고 91누3727 판결(공1992, 131), 대법원 1996. 9. 6. 선고 96누6103 판결(공1996하, 3029)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 4,744자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 상고인】 원고

【피고, 피상고인】 근로복지공단

【원심판결】 부산고법 1997. 9. 4. 선고 96구3401 판결

【주 문】

상고를 기각한다.

상고비용은 원고의 부담으로 한다.

【이 유】 상고이유를 판단한다.

1. 원심판결 이유에 의하면, 원심은, 그 판결에서 채용하고 있는 증거들을 종합하여 다음과 같은 사실을 인정하고 있다.

망 소외 1은 건축공사장에서 문짝, 문틀 등의 페인트 도색작업을 하는 페인트공으로서, 약 5년 전부터 페인트 판매 및 도장업체인 주식회사 ○○도장(이하 '○○도장'이라고 한다) 소속으로 주로 ○○도장이 페인트도색작업을 하도급받은 건축공사장에서 페인트공으로 일하여 왔다.

○○도장이 산업재해보상보험가입업체인 △△건설 주식회사(이하 '△△건설'이라고 한다) 시공의 △△빌라 신축공사 중 페인트도색작업을 하도급받아, 망인은 ○○도장 소속 근로자로서 1995. 7. 26. 07:30경 △△빌라 신축공사장에 첫출근하여 실내 문짝 5개에 대한 페인트 도색작업을 마친 후 같은 날 08:30경 갑자기 머리가 아프고 목이 마르다고 하면서 동료인 소외 2로부터 물을 얻어 마시고 옆방에 가서 쉬고 있던 중 그대로 사망하였다.

망인은 사망 당시 62세로서 약간의 고혈압 증세와 무릎 신경통이 있는 외에는 특별히 아픈 데는 없었으며, 망인의 작업내용은 건축공사장에서 문짝이나 문틀의 페인트 도색작업 및 청소 등 잡일이었고, 출근시간은 07:30, 퇴근시간은 17:30경이었으며, 사망 전 수개월 동안은 한달에 약 25일 정도씩 일하여 왔다.

망인의 사체를 검안한 의사 소외 3은 망인의 사인이 급성심근경색증으로 추정된다고 사체검안서에 기재하였으나, 망인의 사체를 부검하는 등 더 이상의 사인을 규명한 바는 없었다.

심근경색증은 심근에 산소를 공급하는 혈류가 차단되어 해당 심근이 괴사에 빠진 상태를 말하는 것으로서, 그 경과로는 합병되는 부정맥에 의하여 급사하거나 심부전으로 인하여 사망할 수도 있고 합병증 없이 그냥 지나갈 수도 있으며, 주된 발병원인은 동맥경화이고, 고혈압, 비만, 흡연 등이 가장 중요한 위험인자이며, 과로나 스트레스에 의하여 허혈성 심질환의 증상이 발현될 수 있고 이에 의한 허혈손상으로 인한 심근경색, 이에 따른 부정맥 등의 병발로 사망에 이를 수 있다.

나. 원심은 위 인정 사실에 기초하여, 망 소외 1은 과중한 업무로 인한 피로가 누적되어 사망에 이르게 된 것이므로 망인의 사망은 업무상 재해에 해당된다는 원고의 주장에 대하여, 망인의 사인은 급성 심근경색증으로 추정될 뿐 그 사인이 명백하게 규명되었다고 볼 수 없고, 나아가 망인의 사망 당시의 나이가 62세에 이르고 약간의 고혈압 증세가 있어 망인이 심근경색증을 유발할 수 있는 위험인자를 보유하고 있다고 하여도, 망인이 수행한 업무가 망인에게 과중한 업무로서 이로 인하여 심근경색증이 유발되었거나 자연적 경과 이상으로 급속히 악화되었다고 추단하기에는 부족할 뿐만 아니라, 망인이 산업재해보상보험가입업체인 △△건설의 공사현장에서 일한 것은 1시간 정도에 불과하고 ○○도장이나 이전에 망인이 일한 업체가 산업재해보상보험가입업체라는 점을 인정할 자료가 없으므로 망인이 수행한 업무가 산업재해보상보험가입업체의 업무였다는 점을 인정할 아무런 자료가 없다는 이유로, 망인의 사망이 업무상 재해에 해당하지 않는다고 판단하여 원고의 주장을 배척하고 있다.

2. 상고이유 제1점에 대하여

그러나 원심판결 이유 및 기록에 의하면, 망 소외 1은 1995. 5.에는 24.5일간 주식회사 □□주택(이하 '□□주택'이라고 한다)의 양산 아파트 신축공사장 및 주식회사 ◇◇개발(이하 '◇◇개발'이라고 한다)의 개금 패밀리타운 공사장에서, 1995. 6.에는 27일간 개금 패밀리타운 공사장에서, 1995. 7.에는 사망 전날까지 25일 중 22일간 개금 패밀리타운 공사장, 주식회사 ∇∇주택(이하 '∇∇주택'이라고 한다)의 해운대 공사장 및 ◇◇개발의 모델하우스 공사장에서 ○○도장이 하도급받은 페인트 도색작업을 하여 왔고, 사망일인 1995. 7. 26. △△건설의 △△빌라 신축공사장에 첫출근하여 약 1시간 가량 작업하다가 사망하였음을 알 수 있는바, □□주택, ◇◇개발, ∇∇주택 등의 위 각 공사는 모두 아파트나 연립주택 등의 신축공사로 보이므로 그 공사규모에 비추어 볼 때 그 각 총공사금액이 구 산업재해보상보험법시행령(1997. 12. 31. 대통령령 제15589호로 개정되기 전의 것) 제3조 제1항 제6호 소정의 4천만 원을 넘을 가능성이 적지 않다고 할 것이므로 위 각 공사는 산업재해보상보험법의 당연적용대상이거나 그 시공자가 산업재해보상보험가입자일 여지가 적지 않다고 할 것이고, 만약 그러한 경우라면, 위 각 공사의 일부인 도장공사를 도급받은 ○○도장의 피용자인 망인에게도 산업재해보상보험이 적용된다고 할 것이므로(대법원 1997. 8. 29. 선고 96다54225 판결 참조), 망인의 사망이 업무상 재해에 해당하는지의 여부를 판단함에 있어서는 망인이 △△건설의 공사장에서 1시간 가량 수행한 업무뿐만 아니라 망인이 사망 이전에 근무하였던 □□주택, ◇◇개발, ∇∇주택의 각 공사장에서 수행한 업무도 모두 포함시켜 판단의 자료로 삼아야 할 것이다(대법원 1992. 5. 12. 선고 91누10466 판결 참조).

그러므로 원심의 판단 중 망인이 사망 이전에 일한 업체가 산업재해보상보험가입자라는 점에 대한 원고의 입증이 없고, 산업재해보상보험가입업체인 △△건설의 공사현장에서 일한 것은 1시간 정도에 불과하다는 이유만으로 망인이 수행한 업무가 산업재해보상보험가입업체의 업무가 아니라는 취지의 판단에는 산업재해보상보험의 가입업체와 가입범위에 대한 법리 및 업무상 재해를 판단함에 있어 자료로 삼을 업무의 범위에 대한 법리를 오해하여 심리를 다하지 아니하고 채증법칙을 위반한 잘못이 있다 할 것이나, 아래에서 보는 바와 같이 이 사건에 있어서는 망인이 사망 이전에 근무하였던 □□주택, ◇◇개발, ∇∇주택의 각 공사장에서 수행한 모든 업무를 포함하여 업무상 재해에의 해당 여부에 대한 판단의 자료로 삼는다고 하더라도, 망인의 사망과 업무 사이의 인과관계를 인정할 수 없어 망인의 사망이 업무상 재해에 해당하지 않는다고 할 것이므로, 원심의 위와 같은 잘못은 판결 결과에 영향을 미친 위법이라고 할 수 없다. 결국 상고이유 제1점은 받아들일 수 없다.

3. 상고이유 제2점, 제3점에 대하여

산업재해보상보험법상 제4조 제1호가 정하는 업무상 사유에 의한 사망으로 인정되기 위하여는, 당해 사망이 업무수행중의 사망이어야 함은 물론이고 업무에 기인하여 발생한 것으로서 업무와 재해와 사이에 상당인과관계가 있어야 하고, 이 경우 근로자의 업무와 재해 사이의 인과관계는 이를 주장하는 측에서 입증하여야 할 것이므로, 근로자의 사망이 업무수행중에 일어난 경우 그 사인이 분명하지 않다고 하여 바로 업무에 기인한 사망으로 추정할 수는 없다고 할 것이고(대법원 1998. 2. 27. 선고 97누19984 판결, 1998. 4. 24. 선고 98두3303 판결, 1998. 12. 8. 선고 98두13287 판결 등 참조), 한편 업무와 사망과의 인과관계의 유무는 보통평균인이 아니라 당해 근로자의 건강과 신체조건을 기준으로 판단하여야 할 것이다(대법원 1991. 9. 10. 선고 91누5433 판결, 1991. 11. 8. 선고 91누3727 판결, 1996. 9. 6. 선고 96누6103 판결 등 참조).

그런데 원심이 적법하게 인정하고 있는 바와 같이 의사 소외 3이 작성한 망인에 대한 사체검안서에 망인의 사인이 "급성심근경색증(추정)"으로 기재되어 있을 뿐 망인의 사체를 부검하는 등 더 이상 사인을 규명한 바 없다면, 망인의 사인이 분명하지 아니한 경우에 해당하므로 망인의 사망을 업무에 기인한 사망으로 추정할 수 없을 뿐만 아니라, 가사 망인이 급성심근경색증으로 사망한 경우라고 하더라도, 기록에 의하면, 망인은 앞서 본 바와 같이 일용페인트공으로서 사망 수개월 전부터 매월 25일 정도씩 □□주택 등의 건축공사장에서 일하여 왔으나, 망인이 수행한 작업내용은 문짝이나 문틀의 페인트 도색작업 및 청소 등 잡일로서 비교적 가벼운 육체노동에 해당하는 것이며, 망인의 출근시간은 07:30이고 퇴근시간은 17:30이며 그 중간에 1시간의 점심시간 및 각 30분씩 2회의 새참시간이 있어 실제 작업시간은 8시간이었음을 알 수 있으므로, 비록 망인이 사망 당시 62세이고 평소 고혈압을 앓아 온 점 및 망인이 사망 수개월 전부터 매월 25일 정도씩 위와 같은 작업을 하여 온 점을 감안하더라도, 이러한 사정만으로는 앞서 본 바와 같은 망인의 작업내용, 근무시간 등에 비추어 볼 때 망인이 수개월간 수행하여 온 업무가 망인에게 과중한 업무에 해당하여 이로 인하여 심근경색증이 유발되었거나 자연적 경과 이상으로 악화되어 망인이 사망에 이르게 되었다고 인정하기에는 부족하다고 할 것이고, 달리 이러한 점을 인정할 만한 증거도 기록상 발견할 수 없다.

따라서 망인의 사망이 업무상 재해에 해당하지 않는다고 한 원심의 판단은 수긍이 가고, 거기에 상고이유에서 지적하는 바와 같은 업무상 과로의 판단기준에 관한 법리오해, 인과관계에 대한 채증법칙 위배의 잘못이 있다고 할 수 없으며, 상고이유에서 들고 있는 판례들은 이 사건과 사안을 달리하여 이 사건에 원용하기에 적절하지 아니하거나, 상고이유를 뒷받침할 선례가 아니다. 이 점에 관한 상고이유는 모두 받아들일 수 없다.

3. 그러므로 상고를 기각하고, 상고비용은 상고인인 원고의 부담으로 하기로 관여 법관의 의견이 일치되어 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 정귀호(재판장) 김형선 이용훈(주심) 조무제

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2008구단2540 · 대구지방법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits and Fu
#2
2015구단10064 · 창원지방법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits and Fu
#3
2023구합58725 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits and Fu
#4
2013구합10939 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits and Fu
#5
2013구합9915 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits and Fu

Cases citing this decision

2009두5794 · 대법원 2010-01-28
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits and Fu
2003두12530 · 대법원 2004-04-09
Revocation of Non-Approval of Medical Care Benefits (요양불승인처분
2003두8449 · 대법원 2003-12-26
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits and Fu
2000두4538 · 대법원 2001-07-27
Revocation of Disapproval of Industrial Accident Medical Car
99두11424 · 대법원 2000-05-12
Revocation of Disapproval of Medical Care (Workers' Compensa

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)