Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 2016두42289

Revocation of Disposition Ordering Repayment of Overpaid Job-Seeking Benefits구직급여과오급금반환처분취소

Decided2019. 07. 25. Court대법원Worker won
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

This Supreme Court ruling addressed whether a taxi driver's 'excess operating revenue' (the portion of fare income remaining after deducting the fixed daily quota, or 'sabanggeum (사납금)', paid to the company) counts as wages (임금) for calculating average wage (평균임금) under the Employment Insurance Act (고용보험법). The Court held that this excess revenue is indeed wages, so it must be included when calculating job-seeking benefits (구직급여). Consequently, the Employment and Labor Office's demand for repayment of allegedly 'overpaid' benefits—based on excluding this income—was ruled unlawful.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA taxi driver's job-seeking benefits were recalculated to exclude his excess operating revenue, and the labor authority demanded repayment of the resulting 'overpaid' amount.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court ruled that excess operating revenue is wages and must be included in average wage calculations, making the repayment order unlawful.
  • LessonEmployers and authorities must recognize that all income functioning as compensation for labor—including variable, performance-based earnings like a taxi driver's excess revenue—counts as wages for benefit calculations.
Issues
  • Whether a taxi driver's excess operating revenue (income beyond the fixed daily quota) should be included in the average wage calculation for job-seeking benefits under the Employment Insurance Act
  • Whether operating revenue under the quota (sabanggeum) payment system qualifies as wages under labor law
Key reasoning

The Court recognized that due to the unique structure of taxi drivers' employment—where drivers keep any revenue exceeding a fixed quota (사납금) turned over to the company—this excess amount functions as compensation for labor performed, not merely incidental income. Given the practical realities and calculation conventions in the taxi industry, such excess operating revenue should be treated as wages under labor law. The Court further reasoned that the purpose of the job-seeking benefit system under the Employment Insurance Act is to protect workers' livelihoods during unemployment based on their actual wage level. Excluding a substantial portion of a taxi driver's actual earnings from the average wage calculation would undermine this protective purpose. Therefore, the excess revenue must be factored into the average wage used to calculate job-seeking benefits.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

[1] The Employment Insurance Act (고용보험법) provides that the daily amount of job-seeking benefits, which serves as the basis for calculating job-seeking benefits, shall in principle be calculated using the average wage as defined in Article 2(1)6 of the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법) (Article 46(1)1 and Article 45(1)), and Article 2(1)6 of the Labor Standards Act provides that “average wage” means the amount calculated by dividing the total amount of wages paid to the worker during the three months prior to the date on which the cause for calculation arose by the total number of days in that period.

Further, where a general taxi transportation business operator pays its taxi-driving employees a fixed amount of base pay each month according to the actual number of days worked, and in addition allows the employees to freely dispose of, as their personal income, the remaining revenue after deducting the fixed quota amount (sagnabgeum) from the daily transportation revenue (hereinafter referred to as “excess transportation revenue”), such excess transportation revenue, in consideration of the peculiarities of the working arrangements of taxi-driving employees and convenience of calculation, is paid as consideration for labor and thus also constitutes wages.

Considering the contents of these provisions of the Employment Insurance Act and the Labor Standards Act, the nature of excess transportation revenue under the quota system, and the purpose of the job-seeking benefit system under the Employment Insurance Act, which is to provide benefits necessary for livelihood when a worker becomes unemployed so as to stabilize the worker’s livelihood and promote job-seeking activities, excess transportation revenue must also be included when calculating the average wage that serves as the basis for job-seeking benefits under the Employment Insurance Act.

Full text (English, AI translation) 5,695 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellee] Plaintiff (Counsel: Public Interest Legal Officer Kang Sang-woo)
[Defendant, Appellant] Head of the Central Regional Employment and Labor Office (Counsel: Sejong Law LLC, Attorney Lee Byeong-han and one other)
[Judgment Below] Seoul High Court Decision 2015Nu51080 dated May 26, 2016

[Order]

The appeal is dismissed. The costs of the appeal shall be borne by the Defendant.

[Reasoning]

The grounds of appeal are examined.

1. As to the ground of appeal concerning the scope of average wages that serve as the basis for job-seeking benefits

A. The Employment Insurance Act (고용보험법) provides that the daily amount of job-seeking benefits, which forms the basis for calculating job-seeking benefits, shall in principle be calculated using the average wage as defined in Article 2(1)6 of the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법) (Article 46(1)1 and Article 45(1)). Article 2(1)6 of the Labor Standards Act provides: "Average wage means the amount calculated by dividing the total amount of wages paid to the worker during the three months prior to the date on which the cause for calculation arose by the total number of days in that period."

Further, in cases where a general taxi transportation business operator pays its taxi-driving employees a fixed amount of base pay according to actual days worked each month, and in addition allows the employees to freely dispose of, as their personal income, the remaining revenue after deducting a fixed quota amount ("sabgeum") from the daily transportation revenue (hereinafter "excess transportation revenue"), such excess transportation revenue, considering the peculiar nature of taxi drivers' form of labor and convenience of calculation, must be regarded as having been paid as consideration for labor, and therefore also constitutes wages (see Supreme Court Decision 96Nu17905 dated March 25, 1997; Supreme Court Decision 98Du15269 dated April 25, 2000, etc.).

Considering the content of these provisions of the Employment Insurance Act and the Labor Standards Act, the nature of excess transportation revenue under the quota (sabgeum) system, and the purpose of the job-seeking benefit system under the Employment Insurance Act—which is to stabilize workers' livelihoods and promote job-seeking activities by providing benefits necessary for living in the event of unemployment—the excess transportation revenue must also be included when calculating the average wage that serves as the basis for job-seeking benefits under the Employment Insurance Act.

B. The court below determined that the Defendant's disposition demanding repayment of overpaid job-seeking benefits from the Plaintiff, a taxi-driving employee, was unlawful, in that it was made by excluding, from the calculation of the average wage forming the basis for job-seeking benefits under the Employment Insurance Act, the excess transportation revenue that constituted the Plaintiff's personal income out of the Plaintiff's total transportation revenue, apart from the quota amount.

C. The above determination of the court below is in accordance with the legal principles set forth above and is justified, and there is no error therein, as alleged in the grounds of appeal, in misunderstanding the legal principles concerning the scope of the average wage that serves as the basis for job-seeking benefits.

The Supreme Court Decision 98Da18568 dated April 23, 1999, and other decisions cited as grounds of appeal, concern facts different from those of the present case and are therefore not appropriate to be relied upon in this case.

2. As to the remaining grounds of appeal

A. The court below, for the reasons stated in its judgment, found that 50% of the average wage forming the basis for calculating the amount of job-seeking benefits was 34,505 won, and calculated the overpaid amount that the Plaintiff must repay to the Defendant on this basis.

B. 1) An argument raised for the first time at the appellate (final) stage, without having been raised before the court below, cannot constitute a legitimate ground of appeal against the judgment below (see Supreme Court en banc Decision 93Da26168 dated July 11, 1995, etc.).

The argument that, because there was a period during the average wage calculation period during which the Plaintiff was on leave due to an occupational injury, such period should be excluded from the average wage calculation period, is being raised for the first time at the final appeal stage, and therefore cannot constitute a legitimate ground of appeal against the judgment below.

2) Furthermore, among the grounds of appeal, the argument disputing the fact-finding underlying the determination of the court below is, in substance, nothing more than a challenge to the fact-finding court's free evaluation of evidence, that is, its selection of evidence and assessment of its evidentiary value. Moreover, upon examining the reasoning of the judgment below in light of the relevant legal principles and the lawfully adopted evidence, there is no error in the judgment below, as alleged in the grounds of appeal, in going beyond the limits of the principle of free evaluation of evidence in violation of the rules of logic and experience, or in misunderstanding the legal principles concerning the calculation period or method of the average wage, that affected the judgment.

3. Conclusion

Therefore, the appeal is dismissed, and the costs of the appeal are to be borne by the losing party. This judgment is rendered as stated in the Order by the unanimous opinion of the Justices participating in the adjudication.

Justice Ahn Cheol-sang (Presiding Justice), Park Sang-ok, No Jeong-hui, Kim Sang-hwan (Justice in charge)

【판결요지】

고용보험법은 구직급여 산정의 기초가 되는 구직급여일액을 원칙적으로 근로기준법 제2조 제1항 제6호가 정한 평균임금을 가지고 산정하도록 정하고 있고(제46조 제1항 제1호, 제45조 제1항), 근로기준법 제2조 제1항 제6호는 “평균임금이란 이를 산정하여야 할 사유가 발생한 날 이전 3개월 동안에 그 근로자에게 지급된 임금의 총액을 그 기간의 총일수로 나눈 금액을 말한다.”라고 규정하고 있다.

그리고 일반택시운송사업자가 소속 택시운전근로자들에게 매월 실제 근로일수에 따른 일정액의 고정급을 지급하는 외에 하루 운송수입금에서 사납금을 공제한 나머지 수입금(이하 ‘초과운송수입금’이라 한다)을 택시운전근로자 개인의 수입으로 하여 자유로운 처분에 맡겨 온 경우, 이러한 초과운송수입금은 택시운전근로자의 근로형태의 특수성과 계산의 편의 등을 고려하여 근로의 대가로서 지급된 것이어서 이 역시 임금에 해당한다.

이러한 고용보험법과 근로기준법 규정 내용, 사납금제하에서 초과운송수입금의 성격과 근로자가 실업한 경우에 생활에 필요한 급여를 실시하여 근로자의 생활안정과 구직 활동을 촉진하고자 하는 고용보험법상 구직급여제도의 취지 등을 고려하면, 고용보험법상 구직급여의 기준이 되는 평균임금을 산정할 때에는 초과운송수입금 역시 이에 포함되어야 한다.

【참조조문】

고용보험법 제45조 제1항, 제46조 제1항 제1호, 근로기준법 제2조 제1항 제6호

【참조판례】

대법원 1997. 3. 25. 선고 96누17905 판결, 대법원 2000. 4. 25. 선고 98두15269 판결(공2000상, 1323)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 1,982자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 피상고인】 원고 (소송대리인 공익법무관 강상우)

【피고, 상고인】 중부지방고용노동청장 (소송대리인 법무법인 세종 담당변호사 이병한 외 1인)

【원심판결】 서울고법 2016. 5. 26. 선고 2015누51080 판결

【주 문】

상고를 기각한다. 상고비용은 피고가 부담한다.

【이 유】 상고이유를 판단한다.

1. 구직급여의 기준이 되는 평균임금의 범위 관련 상고이유에 대하여

가. 고용보험법은 구직급여의 산정의 기초가 되는 구직급여일액을 원칙적으로 근로기준법 제2조 제1항 제6호가 정한 평균임금을 가지고 산정하도록 정하고 있고(제46조 제1항 제1호, 제45조 제1항), 근로기준법 제2조 제1항 제6호는 “평균임금이란 이를 산정하여야 할 사유가 발생한 날 이전 3개월 동안에 그 근로자에게 지급된 임금의 총액을 그 기간의 총일수로 나눈 금액을 말한다.”라고 규정하고 있다.

그리고 일반택시운송사업자가 그 소속 택시운전근로자들에게 매월 실제 근로일수에 따른 일정액의 고정급을 지급하는 외에 하루 운송수입금에서 사납금을 공제한 나머지 수입금(이하 ‘초과운송수입금’이라고 한다)을 택시운전근로자 개인의 수입으로 하여 자유로운 처분에 맡겨 온 경우, 이러한 초과운송수입금은 택시운전근로자의 근로형태의 특수성과 계산의 편의 등을 고려하여 근로의 대가로서 지급된 것이라고 할 것이어서 이 역시 임금에 해당한다(대법원 1997. 3. 25. 선고 96누17905 판결, 대법원 2000. 4. 25. 선고 98두15269 판결 등 참조).

이러한 고용보험법과 근로기준법 규정 내용, 사납금제하에서 초과운송수입금의 성격과 근로자가 실업한 경우에 생활에 필요한 급여를 실시하여 근로자의 생활안정과 구직 활동을 촉진하고자 하는 고용보험법상 구직급여제도의 취지 등을 고려하면, 고용보험법상 구직급여의 기준이 되는 평균임금을 산정할 때에는 초과운송수입금 역시 이에 포함되어야 한다.

나. 원심은, 택시운전근로자인 원고의 총운송수입금 중 사납금 외에 원고 개인수입으로 된 초과운송수입금을 고용보험법상 구직급여의 기준이 되는 평균임금 산정에서 제외한 채로 이루어진 피고의 원고에 대한 구직급여 과오급금 반환처분이 위법하다고 판단하였다.

다. 원심의 위와 같은 판단은 앞서 본 법리에 따른 것으로 정당하고, 거기에 상고이유 주장과 같이 구직급여의 기준이 되는 평균임금의 범위에 관한 법리를 오해한 잘못이 없다.

상고이유로 들고 있는 대법원 1999. 4. 23. 선고 98다18568 판결 등은 이 사건과 사안이 다르므로 이 사건에 원용하기에 적절하지 아니하다.

2. 나머지 상고이유에 대하여

가. 원심은, 판시와 같은 이유를 들어 구직급여액 산정의 기준이 되는 평균임금의 50%를 34,505원으로 인정하였고, 이를 기초로 원고가 피고에게 반환하여야 할 과오급금을 계산하였다.

나. 1) 원심에서 주장한 바 없이 상고심에 이르러 새로이 하는 주장은 원심판결에 대한 적법한 상고이유가 될 수 없다(대법원 1995. 7. 11. 선고 93다26168 전원합의체 판결 등 참조).

평균임금 산정 기간 중 원고가 업무상 재해로 인해 휴업한 기간이 있으므로 이러한 기간은 평균임금 산정 기간에서 제외되어야 한다는 주장은, 상고심에서 비로소 주장하는 것이어서 원심판결에 대한 적법한 상고이유가 되지 못한다.

2) 나아가 상고이유 주장 중 원심판단의 기초가 된 사실인정을 다투는 취지의 주장은 실질적으로 사실심 법원의 자유심증에 속하는 증거의 취사선택과 증거가치의 판단을 탓하는 것에 불과하다. 그리고 원심판결 이유를 관련 법리와 적법하게 채택된 증거들에 비추어 살펴보아도, 원심의 판단에 상고이유 주장과 같이 논리와 경험의 법칙에 반하여 자유심증주의의 한계를 벗어나거나 평균임금의 산정 기간 또는 방법 등에 관한 법리를 오해하여 판결에 영향을 미친 잘못이 없다.

3. 결론

그러므로 상고를 기각하고 상고비용은 패소자가 부담하기로 하여, 관여 대법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 안철상(재판장) 박상옥 노정희 김상환(주심)

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2015누51080 · 서울고등법원 2016-05-26
구직급여과오급금반환처분취소
#2
2019두55835 · 대법원 2022-02-17
택시운송사업면허취소처분취소청구
#3
84도1861 · 대법원 1985-03-26
Violation of the Labor Standards Act
#4
94가합1626 · 대구지법 김천지원 1994-12-23
Retirement Pay
#5
2011두23481 · 대법원 2014-12-11
이행강제금부과처분취소

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)