Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 2022다287284

Claim for Damages (Case regarding whether insureds who, due to a two-way at-fault traffic accident, were not compensated for the deductible (자기부담금) portion of vehicle repair costs under their collision insurance (자차보험) contract, may claim damages equivalent to that deductible from the at-fault other party)손해배상(기)[쌍방과실로 교통사고 발생 시 자차보험계약에 따라 차량수리비 중 자기부담금 상당액을 보상받지 못한 피보험자들이 상대차량 측을 상대로 자기부담금 상당의 손해배상을 청구한 사건]

Decided2026. 01. 29. Court대법원Partially reversed and remanded; partially dismissed (insureds' right to claim the fault-proportionate deductible amount was recognized)
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

This is an insurance law case, not a labor law case, concerning whether a policyholder who received collision insurance (자차보험) payments—after deduction of a contractual deductible (자기부담금)—may separately claim the deductible amount from the other party involved in the accident. The Korean Supreme Court held that the insured may separately claim, from the other party, the portion of the deductible corresponding to that other party's percentage of fault. The Court partially reversed and remanded the case, while partially dismissing the appeal.

Key takeaways
  • CaseIncident: After a traffic accident, victims who had their vehicles repaired using collision insurance (자차보험) separately demanded that the other party pay the deductible (자기부담금) portion.
  • OutcomeResult: The Supreme Court ruled that insureds may directly claim from the other party the portion of the deductible corresponding to that party's percentage of fault.
  • LessonLesson: Even if you used collision insurance (자차보험) after a traffic accident, you can still separately claim damages for the deductible (자기부담금) amount proportional to the other party's fault.
Issues
  • Whether an insured who received collision insurance (자차보험) proceeds, after deduction of a contractual deductible (자기부담금), may claim the deductible amount from a third party responsible for the accident
  • How to determine the scope of the insurer's subrogation right (보험자대위권) and the insured's remaining right to claim damages
Key reasoning

Under Korean insurance law, when an insurer pays out insurance proceeds, it acquires a subrogation right (보험자대위) against the third party, but only to the extent of that third party's share of responsibility. Correspondingly, the insured retains the right to separately claim, from the third party, the portion of the deductible (자기부담금) that corresponds to the third party's percentage of fault. This interpretation was reached by balancing the purpose of the deductible clause in the insurance contract with the structure of the insurer's subrogation system, ensuring that insurers do not recover more than their proportionate share while insureds are not left uncompensated for the fault-based portion of their loss.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

[1] The main text of Article 682(1) of the Commercial Act (상법) provides for insurer subrogation, stating that "where loss occurs due to the act of a third party, the insurer who has paid insurance proceeds acquires, within the limit of the amount paid, the rights of the policyholder or the insured against that third party." The purpose of this provision is that, if the insured were permitted to retain and exercise a claim against a third party even after receiving insurance proceeds from the insurer, this would result in the insured gaining a benefit beyond mere compensation for the loss, contrary to the principles of the indemnity insurance system; moreover, it would be unreasonable to allow the third party who bears the obligation to compensate to be relieved of liability merely because the insured received insurance proceeds. The provision is designed to eliminate such outcomes and to vest the resulting benefit in the insurer. The purpose of the insurer subrogation provision, which is to adjust the interests among the insured, the insurer, and the third party and to allocate risk, must be sufficiently considered even when determining the scope of an insurer's subrogation and the scope of the insured's right to claim damages in the case of own-vehicle damage insurance containing a deductible agreement.

[2] Considering that the insurer's right of subrogation in indemnity insurance is recognized as a matter of policy in order to prevent the insured from obtaining a double benefit, the scope of the insured's rights against a third party that the insurer may subrogate is, in principle, governed by the provisions of the insurance policy terms and conditions where such provisions exist; where there are no such provisions, it is appropriate to interpret the matter in favor of the customer in accordance with the general principles governing the interpretation of standard terms and conditions.

[3] Insurance policy terms and conditions must be interpreted fairly and reasonably in accordance with the principle of good faith, taking into account the purpose and intent of the particular terms and conditions; without regard to the purpose or intention pursued by the individual contracting parties, they must be interpreted objectively and uniformly based on the understanding capability of the average customer, taking into account the interests of the insured group as a whole.

[4] Where own-vehicle damage occurs in a traffic accident resulting from the concurrent negligence of the insured under own-vehicle damage insurance and a third party, and the insurer, under a "prior payment method," pays the insured the full amount of own-vehicle damage insurance proceeds calculated by deducting the deductible from the amount of damage, and the insurer then subrogates the insured's right to claim damages against the third party, the scope of such subrogation is interpreted to be the amount that corresponds to the third party's proportion of liability with respect to the insurance proceeds paid by the insurer, among the insured's right to claim damages against the third party; the insured loses the right to claim to that extent. However, it should be understood that the remaining portion—namely, the right to claim the amount corresponding to the third party's proportion of liability with respect to the deductible, among the insured's right to claim damages against the third party—remains entirely with the insured, who may separately claim it against the third party. The reasons are as follows.

① Own-vehicle damage insurance is, in its nature, an insurance line designed to provide coverage for own-vehicle damage caused by the insured's own negligence, or for the portion of own-vehicle damage arising from an accident involving concurrent negligence of a third party that is not compensated through the third party's property damage liability insurance or the like. Where own-vehicle damage arises from the concurrent negligence of the insured and a third party, the portion of the own-vehicle damage excluding the amount corresponding to the third party's proportion of liability—that is, the amount corresponding to the insured's own proportion of liability—is ultimately borne by the insurer and the insured under the own-vehicle damage insurance. Meanwhile, a deductible agreement is an agreement between the insured and the insurer whereby a certain amount or proportion of the loss is to be borne by the insured rather than the insurer. Accordingly, a deductible agreement contained in own-vehicle damage insurance is to be interpreted as meaning that, absent special circumstances, the insured may not directly claim the amount equivalent to the deductible from the insurer, and further, that at least the portion of the deductible corresponding to the insured's own proportion of liability is ultimately to be borne by the insured.

In light of the purpose of the insurer subrogation system and the content of the deductible agreement, an insured who has received own-vehicle damage insurance proceeds from the insurer, calculated by deducting the amount equivalent to the deductible, may—separately from seeking performance of the liability for compensation from the third party with respect to the portion of the deductible corresponding to the third party's proportion of liability—not, absent special circumstances, seek performance of the corresponding liability for compensation from the third party with respect to the portion of the amount equivalent to the deductible corresponding to the insured's own proportion of liability. Were it otherwise—that is, if the insured, despite having agreed with the insurer to bear the amount equivalent to the deductible, were nevertheless permitted to regard the portion of the deductible attributable to the insured's own proportion of liability as unindemnified remaining loss and to claim performance of the liability for compensation from the third party with respect to that portion, thereby restricting the insurer's subrogation with respect to that portion and ultimately causing the insurer to bear this portion—the insured would thereby enjoy a benefit exceeding what was guaranteed under the insurance contract, while the insurer would be made to bear more than what was agreed, which would be unreasonable.

② Meanwhile, there is no reason to conclude that the insured may not separately claim from the third party the portion of the amount equivalent to the deductible corresponding to the third party's proportion of liability. Even under the deductible agreement, unlike the portion of the deductible corresponding to the insured's own proportion of liability, the portion corresponding to the third party's proportion of liability is a portion recoverable from the third party, and it does not follow that the insured must necessarily bear this portion in the final analysis. Furthermore, even if the insured's right to claim damages is recognized with respect to this portion, the insurer may still exercise subrogation with respect to the portion of the paid insurance proceeds corresponding to the third party's proportion of liability, so it is difficult to conclude that the burden is thereby unreasonably shifted onto the insurer contrary to the purpose of the deductible agreement. Moreover, since the insurer subrogates the insured's rights only within the limit of the amount actually paid as insurance proceeds, and may not subrogate on the basis that it is deemed to have paid insurance proceeds inclusive of the unpaid amount equivalent to the deductible, if the insured's right to claim damages against the third party is not recognized even with respect to the portion of the amount equivalent to the deductible corresponding to the third party's proportion of liability, this may, depending on the circumstances, result in the third party being exempted from part of its liability for damages, raising concern that this would run contrary to the purpose of the insurer subrogation system.

③ Comprehensively considering the purpose of the insurer subrogation system and the interests of the insured, the insurer, and the third party, and interpreting the provisions of the own-vehicle damage insurance policy terms and conditions relating to the deductible and to the scope of the insurer's subrogation objectively, uniformly, and systematically, it is reasonable to interpret the matter as follows: where the insurer has paid the insured, under the prior payment method, the full amount of own-vehicle damage insurance proceeds calculated by deducting the deductible from the amount of damage, the rights of the insurer and the insured with respect to the third party's liability for damages, as limited by comparative negligence or the like, are to be apportioned in proportion to the ratio between the insurance proceeds borne by the insurer and the deductible borne by the insured, respectively, out of the total amount of damage; the insurer subrogates the insured's rights, with respect to the insurance proceeds paid, within the limit of the amount corresponding to the third party's proportion of liability, while the insured may separately claim from the third party compensation for the loss equivalent to the amount corresponding to the third party's proportion of liability with respect to the deductible.

Full text (English, AI translation) 21,052 chars

[Plaintiffs, Appellants] Plaintiff 1 and 9 others (Attorneys of Law Firm Kanggun and 3 others, Counsel for the plaintiffs)
[Defendants, Appellees] ○○ Fire & Marine Insurance Co., Ltd. and 5 others (Kim Jae-yeong and 4 others, Attorneys of Bae, Kim & Lee LLC (Yulchon)/Taepyeongyang, Counsel for the defendants) [Note: rendered as filed]
[Court Below] Suwon High Court Decision 2022Na12936 decided October 13, 2022

[Order]

The part of the judgment below concerning Plaintiff 2, Plaintiff 3, Plaintiff 5 Law Firm, Plaintiff 6, Plaintiff 7, and Plaintiff 8 is reversed, and this part of the case is remanded to the Suwon High Court. The appeals by Plaintiff 1, Plaintiff 4, Plaintiff 9, and Plaintiff 10 are all dismissed. Of the costs of the final appeal, the costs incurred by the appeals of Plaintiff 1, Plaintiff 4, Plaintiff 9, and Plaintiff 10 shall be borne by Plaintiff 1, Plaintiff 4, Plaintiff 9, and Plaintiff 10.

[Reasoning]

The grounds of appeal (including the supplementary briefs on grounds of appeal submitted after the expiration of the period for submitting the grounds of appeal, to the extent they supplement the grounds of appeal) are examined.

1. Outline of the case
According to the reasoning of the judgment below and the record, the following facts may be found.

A. The plaintiffs are policyholders and insureds who entered into automobile insurance contracts, including an own-vehicle damage coverage item, with respect to vehicles owned by themselves, and the defendants are insurers who entered into, or whom the plaintiffs allege entered into, automobile insurance contracts with the drivers of the other vehicles involved in traffic accidents caused by the concurrent negligence of the plaintiffs and the drivers of the other vehicles, with such drivers as the insureds.

B. Each of the plaintiffs caused a traffic accident involving concurrent negligence with the drivers of the other vehicles, resulting in damage in the form of partial damage to the vehicles owned by the plaintiffs. The plaintiffs received insurance proceeds from the insurers of the automobile insurance policies they had taken out, but did not receive compensation for the amount corresponding to the deductible calculated pursuant to the deductible agreement discussed below.

C. Under the general terms and conditions of each automobile insurance policy taken out by the plaintiffs, in the case of own-vehicle damage, the insurance proceeds to be paid are the amount obtained by adding "the amount of damage to the insured vehicle" and "expenses" and then deducting the "deductible," and the amount of such deductible is generally set, based on "20-30% of the total amount of damage, within a range of a minimum of KRW 200,000 to a maximum of KRW 500,000," at the rate or amount selected by the policyholder at the time of entering into the insurance contract (hereinafter the "deductible agreement"). The same terms and conditions generally contain a provision regarding subrogation of the insurer to the effect that "where the insurer pays insurance proceeds or compensation for damages to the insured or the person entitled to claim compensation for damages, the insurer acquires the rights of the insured against a third party within the scope of the insurance proceeds or compensation paid; provided that where the amount compensated by the insurer covers only part of the insured's damage, the insurer acquires such rights only to the extent that doing so does not infringe upon the insured's rights."

D. The plaintiffs asserted that the portion of the repair costs incurred to the vehicles owned by the plaintiffs due to each traffic accident corresponding to the deductible amount constitutes "damage remaining uncompensated" (see Supreme Court en banc Decision 2014Da46211 decided January 22, 2015, hereinafter "the Supreme Court Decision in this case"), and, in accordance with the purport of the Supreme Court Decision in this case, filed the instant lawsuit seeking compensation from the defendants for whichever is the lesser of "the amount corresponding to the deductible" or "the amount obtained by apportioning the total amount of damage according to the ratio of negligence."

2. Issue in this case
Where own-vehicle damage occurs in a traffic accident involving concurrent negligence between the insured under an own-vehicle damage insurance policy and a third party, the insurer may pay the insured, before the negligence ratio between the two parties is determined, own-vehicle damage insurance proceeds in the amount obtained by deducting the insured's deductible from the total amount of damage (hereinafter the "advance-payment method"), or the insurer may pay only the remainder after deducting the insured's deductible from the amount of damage calculated by reflecting the negligence ratio between the two parties once it is determined (hereinafter the "cross-settlement method").

The plaintiffs argue that, although own-vehicle damage occurred in traffic accidents involving concurrent negligence, they received from their insurers only the insurance proceeds remaining after deduction of the deductible, and therefore the defendants, as the insurers of the counterparties, are liable to compensate the plaintiffs for the damage corresponding to the amount of the deductible. Ultimately, the issue in this case is whether, in such circumstances, the insured may claim payment of the amount corresponding to the deducted deductible from the third party.

3. Regarding whether, and to what extent, an insured who has received own-vehicle damage insurance proceeds after deduction of the deductible has a right to claim damages (concerning the part relating to Plaintiff 2, Plaintiff 3, Plaintiff 5 Law Firm, Plaintiff 6, Plaintiff 7, and Plaintiff 8)

A. Judgment of the court below
The court below determined that, since the plaintiffs entered into the own-vehicle damage insurance contracts containing the deductible agreement with the intention of bearing the deductible themselves, and the "deductible," which is part of the damage arising from the accident, came to be borne by the plaintiffs themselves pursuant to that "agreement," this cannot be entirely regarded as "damage remaining uncompensated" as referred to in the Supreme Court precedent in this case, and accordingly dismissed all of the plaintiffs' claims premised on a different view.

B. Judgment of the Supreme Court
However, this determination of the court below is difficult to accept as it stands, for the following reasons.

1) A) The main text of Article 682(1) of the Commercial Act (상법) provides for insurer subrogation, stating: "Where damage occurs due to the act of a third party, an insurer that has paid insurance proceeds acquires the rights of the policyholder or the insured against the third party to the extent of the amount paid." The purport of this provision is that, if the insured were permitted to retain and exercise a claim against a third party even after having received insurance proceeds from the insurer, this would result in the insured receiving a benefit beyond mere compensation for the damage, contrary to the principles of the loss insurance system, and it would also be unreasonable to allow the third party who is the person liable for compensation to be relieved of liability due to the insured's receipt of insurance proceeds; the purpose of the provision is to eliminate this outcome and vest the resulting benefit in the insurer (see Supreme Court Decision 89Daka21965 decided February 9, 1990; Supreme Court Decision 2019Da216589 decided November 14, 2019, etc.). The purport of the insurer subrogation provision, which is to adjust the interests among the insured, the insurer, and the third party and to allocate risk, must be fully considered also in determining the scope of the insurer's subrogation and the scope of the insured's right to claim damages in own-vehicle damage insurance containing a deductible agreement.

B) Furthermore, in light of the fact that, among other things, the insurer's subrogation right in loss insurance is recognized as a matter of policy in order to prevent double recovery by the insured, the scope of the insured's rights against a third party that the insurer may subrogate is, in principle, to be determined in accordance with the insurance policy terms if there are provisions therefor, and, in the absence thereof, is to be interpreted favorably to the customer in accordance with the general principles of interpretation of standard terms and conditions (see Supreme Court Decision 2011Da100312 decided August 30, 2012, etc.).

C) Meanwhile, insurance policy terms must be interpreted fairly and reasonably in accordance with the principle of good faith, taking into account the purpose and intent of the relevant terms, and must be interpreted objectively and uniformly based on the understanding of the average customer and considering the interests of the insured group as a whole, without regard to the purpose or intention pursued by the individual contracting parties (see Supreme Court Decision 2010Da45777 decided November 25, 2010, etc.).

2) Examining the reasoning of the judgment below in light of the above legal principles, the content of the terms and conditions discussed above, and the record, it should be interpreted as follows: Where, in a traffic accident involving concurrent negligence between the insured under an own-vehicle damage insurance policy and a third party, the insurer, using the "advance-payment method," pays to the insured in full the own-vehicle damage insurance proceeds obtained by deducting the deductible from the amount of damage, and the insurer subsequently subrogates the insured's right to claim damages against the third party, the scope of such subrogation is the amount that may be claimed from among the insured's right to claim damages against the third party, corresponding to the third party's ratio of liability, with respect to the insurance proceeds paid by the insurer, and to that extent the insured loses the right to claim. However, as to the remaining portion—that is, the amount that may be claimed, corresponding to the third party's ratio of liability, with respect to the deductible, from among the insured's right to claim damages against the third party—the right thereto remains fully vested in the insured, and the insured may separately claim this from the third party. The reasons are as follows.

A) Own-vehicle damage insurance is, by nature, an insurance line intended to provide for own-vehicle damage caused by the insured's own negligence, or for the portion of own-vehicle damage arising from an accident involving concurrent negligence of a third party that is not compensated through the third party's property damage liability insurance, etc. Where own-vehicle damage arises from the concurrent negligence of the insured and a third party, the remaining portion of the own-vehicle damage excluding the amount corresponding to the third party's ratio of liability—that is, the amount corresponding to the insured's ratio of liability—is ultimately borne by the insurer and the insured under the own-vehicle damage insurance. Meanwhile, a deductible agreement is an agreement between the insured and the insurer that a certain amount or ratio of the amount will be borne by the insured rather than the insurer. Accordingly, a deductible agreement included in own-vehicle damage insurance is to be interpreted as meaning that, absent special circumstances, the insured may not directly claim the amount corresponding to the deductible from the insurer, and further, that at least the portion of the deductible corresponding to the insured's ratio of liability is ultimately to be borne by the insured.

In light of the purport of the insurer subrogation system discussed above and the content of the deductible agreement, an insured who has received own-vehicle damage insurance proceeds after deduction of the amount corresponding to the deductible must, absent special circumstances, be regarded as unable to claim from the third party the performance of liability for damages corresponding to the portion of the deductible attributable to the insured's own ratio of liability—separately from the question, discussed below, of seeking from the third party performance of liability for damages with respect to the portion of the deductible corresponding to the third party's ratio of liability. If it were otherwise, and the insured, despite having agreed with the insurer to bear the amount corresponding to the deductible, were nevertheless permitted to regard even the portion of the deductible attributable to the insured's own ratio of liability as uncompensated remaining damage and to claim performance of liability for damages against the third party therefor, thereby restricting the insurer's subrogation as to that portion and ultimately imposing this burden on the insurer, this would lead to the unreasonable result that the insured enjoys a benefit beyond what was guaranteed under the insurance contract while the insurer bears more than what was agreed. The part of the judgment below that rejected the arguments of Plaintiff 2, Plaintiff 3, Plaintiff 5 Law Firm, Plaintiff 6, Plaintiff 7, and Plaintiff 8, which were premised on a different view, is justified.

B) Meanwhile, there is no reason to hold that the insured may not separately claim from the third party even the portion of the amount corresponding to the deductible attributable to the third party's ratio of liability. As discussed above, even under the deductible agreement, unlike the portion of the deductible corresponding to the insured's ratio of liability, the portion corresponding to the third party's ratio of liability is a portion that may be recovered from the third party, and it does not follow that the insured must necessarily ultimately bear this portion as well. Moreover, even if the insured's right to claim damages is recognized with respect to this portion, the insurer may still subrogate as to the portion of the insurance proceeds paid corresponding to the third party's ratio of liability, and thus it is difficult to say that the burden is unfairly shifted to the insurer contrary to the purport of the deductible agreement. Furthermore, since the insurer subrogates the insured only to the extent of the amount actually paid as insurance proceeds, and may not subrogate the insured on the basis of a fiction that insurance proceeds were paid including the amount corresponding to the unpaid deductible, if the insured's right to claim damages against the third party is not recognized even as to the portion of the amount corresponding to the deductible attributable to the third party's ratio of liability, there is a risk that, in some cases, the third party would be relieved of part of its liability for damages, contrary to the purport of the insurer subrogation system.

C) Comprehensively considering the purport of the insurer subrogation system and the interests of the insured, the insurer, and the third party, and interpreting objectively, uniformly, and systematically the provisions of the own-vehicle damage insurance policy terms concerning the deductible and the scope of the insurer's subrogation, it is reasonable to interpret as follows: where the insurer has paid to the insured, using the advance-payment method, the entire own-vehicle damage insurance proceeds obtained by deducting the deductible from the amount of damage, the respective rights of the insurer and the insured with respect to the third party's liability for damages, as limited by comparative negligence, etc., are to be apportioned in proportion to the ratio of the insurance proceeds and the deductible respectively borne by the insurer and the insured out of the total amount of damage; the insurer subrogates the insured's rights, with respect to the insurance proceeds paid, to the extent of the amount corresponding to the third party's ratio of liability; and the insured may separately claim from the third party compensation for damage corresponding to the amount, with respect to the deductible, corresponding to the third party's ratio of liability.

D) The Supreme Court Decision in this case, which held that where the amount of damage remaining uncompensated by insurance proceeds out of the insured's total damage exceeds the third party's liability for damages, the insured may claim performance of the third party's entire liability for damages, and where the said remaining amount of damage is less than the third party's liability for damages, the insured may claim compensation for the said remaining amount of damage, and that, in the latter case, the insurer may claim from the third party, by way of insurer subrogation, the amount corresponding to the difference between the third party's liability for damages and the said remaining amount of damage, concerned a case of underinsurance in which the amount of insurance proceeds was less than the insurable value, and in which a right to claim performance of liability for damages against a third party was recognized because there remained uncompensated damage even after receipt of insurance proceeds; this differs from the present case, in which the insurer and the insured entered into an agreement that the insured would bear the deductible portion.

3) Nevertheless, the court below, based solely on the reasoning stated in its judgment, held that it could not accept the claims of the insured, Plaintiff 2, Plaintiff 3, Plaintiff 5 Law Firm, Plaintiff 6, Plaintiff 7, and Plaintiff 8, for whichever is the lesser of "the amount corresponding to the deductible" or "the amount obtained by apportioning the total amount of damage according to the ratio of negligence," and accordingly dismissed all of the said plaintiffs' claims. This determination by the court below contains an error that affected the judgment, resulting from a misapprehension of the legal principles concerning the interpretation of insurance policy terms, the scope of insurer subrogation, and the scope of a claim for damages by an insured under an own-vehicle damage insurance contract who has received loss insurance proceeds (it should also be noted that, in the case of the advance-payment method, it would be desirable for the insurance policy terms to clearly set out in advance the matters relating to settlement between the insured and the insurer with respect to the deductible borne by the insured, and this is a matter subject to the insurer's duty to explain and disclose material terms).

4. Regarding the part concerning Plaintiff 1, Plaintiff 4, Plaintiff 9, and Plaintiff 10

A. Judgment of the court below
The court below determined that Plaintiff 1, Plaintiff 4, and Plaintiff 9 had each first received compensation for damages (insurance proceeds) from Defendant △△△ Fire & Marine Insurance Co., Ltd., □□□ Non-Life Insurance Co., Ltd., and ◇◇ Marine & Fire Insurance Co., Ltd., respectively, which were the insurers that had entered into insurance contracts with the drivers of the other vehicles involved in the traffic accidents caused by the said plaintiffs, and had then received from the own-vehicle damage insurer the amount of the remaining damage after excluding the deductible, and that, since the said defendants had already compensated in full the amount of damages recognized in accordance with the negligence ratio of the drivers of the other vehicles, their obligation to compensate had already been fully performed, and the said plaintiffs could not claim additional payment of damages against the said defendants. The court below also dismissed Plaintiff 10's claim on the ground that there was no evidence to find that Defendant ☆☆ Fire & Marine Insurance Co., Ltd. was the insurer that had entered into an insurance contract with the counterparty in the traffic accident caused by Plaintiff 10.

B. Judgment of the Supreme Court
Plaintiff 1, Plaintiff 4, Plaintiff 9, and Plaintiff 10 appealed against the judgment below, but the petition of appeal and the brief on grounds of appeal contain no statement that can be regarded as a specific ground of objection to the part of the judgment below's determination concerning the said plaintiffs.

5. Conclusion
The part of the judgment below concerning Plaintiff 2, Plaintiff 3, Plaintiff 5 Law Firm, Plaintiff 6, Plaintiff 7, and Plaintiff 8 is reversed, and this part of the case is remanded to the court below for further hearing and determination; the appeals of Plaintiff 1, Plaintiff 4, Plaintiff 9, and Plaintiff 10 are without merit and are therefore all dismissed; and of the costs of the final appeal, the costs incurred by the appeals of Plaintiff 1, Plaintiff 4, Plaintiff 9, and Plaintiff 10 shall be borne by the losing parties. It is so decided by the unanimous opinion of the Justices concerned, as set forth in the Order.

Justice Roh Tae-ak (Presiding Justice), Seo Kyung-hwan, Shin Sook-hee (Justice in charge), Ma Yong-ju

【판결요지】

[1] 상법 제682조 제1항 본문은 "손해가 제3자의 행위로 인하여 발생한 경우 보험금을 지급한 보험자는 그 지급한 금액의 한도에서 그 제3자에 대한 보험계약자 또는 피보험자의 권리를 취득한다."라고 하여 보험자대위에 관하여 규정한다. 위 규정의 취지는 피보험자가 보험자로부터 보험금액을 지급받은 후에도 제3자에 대한 청구권을 보유·행사하게 하는 것은 피보험자에게 손해의 전보를 넘어서 오히려 이득을 주게 되는 결과가 되어 손해보험제도의 원칙에 반하게 되고 또 배상의무자인 제3자가 피보험자의 보험금 수령으로 인하여 책임을 면하게 하는 것도 불합리하므로 이를 제거하여 보험자에게 이익을 귀속시키려는 데 있다. 피보험자와 보험자 및 제3자의 이해관계를 조정하고 위험을 분배하고자 하는 보험자대위권의 규정 취지는 자기부담금 약정이 있는 자기차량손해보험 보험자의 보험자대위 범위 및 피보험자의 손해배상청구권의 범위를 확정할 때에도 충분히 고려되어야 한다.

[2] 손해보험에서의 보험자대위권은 피보험자의 이중이득을 방지하기 위하여 정책적으로 인정되는 것인 점 등을 고려할 때, 보험자가 대위할 수 있는 피보험자의 제3자에 대한 권리의 범위는 보험약관 등에 정함이 있으면 이에 따르는 것이 원칙이고, 정함이 없으면 약관의 해석에 관한 일반원칙에 따라 고객에게 유리하게 해석함이 타당하다.

[3] 보험약관은 신의성실의 원칙에 따라 당해 약관의 목적과 취지를 고려하여 공정하고 합리적으로 해석하되, 개개의 계약당사자가 기도한 목적이나 의사를 참작함이 없이 평균적 고객의 이해가능성을 기준으로 보험단체 전체의 이해관계를 고려하여 객관적·획일적으로 해석하여야 한다.

[4] 자기차량손해보험 피보험자와 제3자의 과실이 경합한 교통사고로 자기차량손해가 발생한 경우 피보험자에게 손해액에서 자기부담금을 공제한 자기차량손해보험금을 ‘선처리 방식’으로 전부 지급한 보험자가 피보험자의 제3자에 대한 손해배상청구권을 대위할 때 그 대위의 범위는 피보험자의 제3자에 대한 손해배상청구권 중 보험자가 지급한 보험금에 대하여 제3자의 책임비율에 상응하여 청구할 수 있는 금액이고, 그 범위 내에서 피보험자는 청구권을 상실한다고 해석된다. 그러나 나머지 부분, 즉 피보험자의 제3자에 대한 손해배상청구권 중 자기부담금에 대하여 제3자의 책임비율에 상응하여 청구할 수 있는 금액에 대한 권리는 여전히 피보험자에게 온전히 남아 피보험자가 제3자에게 별도로 청구할 수 있다고 보아야 한다. 그 이유는 다음과 같다.

① 자기차량손해보험은 본래 피보험자의 과실로 인한 자기차량손해나, 제3자의 과실이 경합한 사고로 발생한 자기차량손해 중 제3자의 대물배상보험 등으로 보상되지 않는 부분 등에 대비하기 위한 보험종목이다. 자기차량손해가 피보험자의 과실과 제3자의 과실이 경합하여 발생한 경우에 자기차량손해 중 제3자의 책임비율에 해당하는 금액을 제외한 나머지 부분, 즉 피보험자의 책임비율에 해당하는 금액은 결국 자기차량손해보험의 보험자와 피보험자가 부담하게 된다. 한편 자기부담금 약정은 피보험자와 보험자 사이에 일정 액수 내지 비율의 금액을 보험자가 부담하지 않고 피보험자가 부담하기로 한 약정이다. 따라서 자기차량손해보험에 포함된 자기부담금 약정은 피보험자는 특별한 사정이 없는 한 자기부담금 상당액을 보험자에게 직접 청구하지 못할 뿐만 아니라, 자기부담금 중 적어도 피보험자의 책임비율에 해당하는 금액 부분은 최종적으로 피보험자가 부담한다는 의미로 해석된다.

보험자대위 제도의 취지와 자기부담금 약정의 내용에 비추어, 보험자로부터 자기부담금 상당액을 공제한 자기차량손해보험금을 지급받은 피보험자는, 제3자를 상대로 자기부담금 중 제3자의 책임비율에 해당하는 부분에 관하여 배상책임의 이행을 구하는 것은 별론으로 하고, 특별한 사정이 없는 한 자기부담금 상당액 중 자기의 책임비율에 상응하는 금액 부분에 관하여는 제3자를 상대로 그에 해당하는 배상책임의 이행을 구할 수는 없다고 보아야 한다. 만일 그렇지 않고 피보험자가 보험자와의 관계에서 자기부담금 상당액을 부담하기로 약정하고도 자기부담금 상당액 중 자기의 책임비율로 인한 손해 부분까지 보상받지 못한 남은 손해액이라고 보아 제3자를 상대로 배상책임을 이행할 것을 청구하여 그 부분에 대한 보험자의 보험자대위를 제한함으로써 결국 이 부분을 보험자에게 부담시킨다면, 피보험자는 이를 통해 보험계약에서 보장한 것 이상의 이익을 누리면서 보험자는 약정한 것 이상을 부담하게 하는 결론에 이르게 되어 부당하다.

② 한편 피보험자가 자기부담금 상당액 중 제3자의 책임비율에 상응하는 금액 부분까지 제3자에게 별도로 청구하지 못한다고 볼 이유는 없다. 자기부담금 약정에 따르더라도 자기부담금 중 피보험자 책임비율에 상응하는 금액 부분과 달리 제3자의 책임비율에 상응하는 금액 부분은 제3자로부터 전보받을 수 있는 부분으로서 피보험자가 반드시 최종적으로 부담하여야 한다는 결론이 도출되는 것은 아니다. 또한, 이 부분에 관하여 피보험자의 손해배상청구권을 인정하더라도 보험자는 여전히 지급한 보험금 중 제3자의 책임비율에 상응하는 금액 부분에 대하여는 보험자대위를 할 수 있으므로, 자기부담금 약정 취지에 반하여 보험자에게 그 부담이 부당하게 전가된다고 보기도 어렵다. 나아가 보험자는 보험금으로 지급한 금액의 한도 내에서 피보험자를 대위할 뿐 지급하지 않은 자기부담금 상당액까지 포함하여 보험금을 지급한 것으로 의제하여 이를 기준으로 피보험자를 대위할 수는 없으므로, 자기부담금 상당액 중 제3자의 책임비율에 상응하는 부분에 관하여까지 피보험자의 제3자에 대한 손해배상청구권을 인정하지 않는다면 경우에 따라 제3자가 손해배상책임 중 일부를 면탈하는 문제가 발생하여 보험자대위 제도 취지에 반할 우려가 있다.

③ 이와 같은 보험자대위 제도의 취지와 피보험자와 보험자 및 제3자의 이해관계를 종합적으로 고려하여 자기차량손해보험 약관상 자기부담금에 관한 부분과 보험자의 대위 범위에 관한 부분을 객관적·획일적·체계적으로 해석하여 보면, 보험자가 피보험자에게 선처리 방식으로 손해액에서 자기부담금을 공제한 자기차량손해보험금을 전부 지급하였을 경우 과실상계 등에 의하여 제한된 제3자의 손해배상책임액에 대한 보험자와 피보험자의 권리는 전체 손해액 중 보험자와 피보험자가 각각 부담한 보험금과 자기부담금의 비율에 비례하여 안분되어, 보험자는 지급한 보험금에 대하여 제3자의 책임비율에 상응하는 금액의 범위 내에서 피보험자의 권리를 대위하고, 피보험자는 자기부담금에 대하여 제3자의 책임비율에 상응하는 금액 상당의 손해의 배상을 제3자에게 별도로 청구할 수 있다고 해석함이 합리적이다.

【참조조문】

[1] 상법 제682조 제1항

[2] 상법 제682조 제1항, 약관의 규제에 관한 법률 제5조 제2항

[3] 약관의 규제에 관한 법률 제5조 제1항

[4] 상법 제682조 제1항, 약관의 규제에 관한 법률 제5조, 민법 제393조, 제750조, 제763조

【참조판례】

[1] 대법원 1990. 2. 9. 선고 89다카21965 판결(공1990, 726), 대법원 2019. 11. 14. 선고 2019다216589 판결(공2020상, 22) / [2] 대법원 2012. 8. 30. 선고 2011다100312 판결(공2012하, 1602) / [3] 대법원 2010. 11. 25. 선고 2010다45777 판결(공2011상, 13)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 7,669자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 상고인】 원고 1 외 9인 (소송대리인 법무법인 강건 외 3인)

【피고, 피상고인】 ○○손해보험 주식회사 외 5인 (소송대리인 법무법인(유한) 태평양 담당변호사 김재영 외 4인)

【원심판결】 수원고법 2022. 10. 13. 선고 2022나12936 판결

【주 문】

원심판결 중 원고 2, 원고 3, 원고 5 법무법인, 원고 6, 원고 7, 원고 8에 대한 부분을 파기하고, 이 부분 사건을 수원고등법원에 환송한다. 원고 1, 원고 4, 원고 9, 원고 10의 상고를 모두 기각한다. 상고비용 중 원고 1, 원고 4, 원고 9, 원고 10의 상고로 인한 비용은 원고 1, 원고 4, 원고 9, 원고 10이 부담한다.

【이 유】 상고이유(상고이유서 제출기간이 지난 후에 제출된 상고이유보충서 등의 기재는 상고이유를 보충하는 범위에서)를 판단한다.

1. 사안의 개요

원심판결 이유와 기록에 따르면 다음 사실을 알 수 있다.

가. 원고들은 자기 소유 차량에 관하여 자기차량손해보험 항목이 포함된 자동차보험계약을 체결한 보험계약자이자 피보험자이고, 피고들은 원고들과 상대차량 운전자들의 과실이 경합하여 발생한 교통사고의 상대차량 운전자들과 사이에 그들을 피보험자로 한 자동차보험계약을 체결하였거나 체결하였다고 원고들이 주장하는 보험자이다.

나. 원고들은 각각 상대차량 운전자들과 과실이 경합하는 교통사고를 발생시켰고 그로 인하여 원고들 소유 차량이 일부 파손되는 손해가 발생하였다. 원고들은 원고들이 가입한 자동차보험의 보험자들로부터 보험금을 지급받았으나, 아래에서 보는 자기부담금 약정에 따라 산출된 자기부담금 상당액은 보상받지 못하였다.

다. 원고들이 가입한 각 자동차보험 보통약관에서는 자기차량손해의 경우 ‘피보험자동차에 생긴 손해액’과 ‘비용’을 합한 액수에서 ‘자기부담금’을 공제한 금액을 보험금으로 지급하도록 하면서, 그 자기부담금의 액수는 대체로 ‘전체 손해액의 20~30%를 기준으로 최소 20만 원부터 최대 50만 원의 범위 내’에서 보험계약자가 보험계약 당시 선택한 비율 내지 금액으로 정하고 있다(이하 ‘자기부담금 약정’이라 한다). 같은 약관들에서 보험자대위에 관하여는 통상 ‘보험자는 피보험자 또는 손해배상청구권자에게 보험금 또는 손해배상금을 지급한 경우에는 지급한 보험금 또는 손해배상금의 범위에서 제3자에 대한 피보험자의 권리를 취득하고, 다만 보험자가 보상한 금액이 피보험자의 손해의 일부를 보상한 경우에는 피보험자의 권리를 침해하지 않는 범위에서 그 권리를 취득한다.’는 취지의 규정을 두고 있다.

라. 원고들은 각 교통사고로 인하여 원고들 소유 차량에 발생한 수리비 중 자기부담금 상당액이 ‘전보되지 않고 남은 손해’라고 주장하면서(대법원 2015. 1. 22. 선고 2014다46211 전원합의체 판결 참조, 이하 ‘이 사건 대법원판결’이라 한다), 이 사건 대법원판결의 취지에 따라 피고들에게 ‘자기부담금 상당액’ 또는 ‘과실비율에 따라 전체 손해액을 안분한 금액’ 중 적은 금액의 배상을 구하는 이 사건 소를 제기하였다.

2. 이 사건의 쟁점

자기차량손해보험 피보험자와 제3자의 쌍방과실이 경합한 자동차사고로 자기차량손해가 발생한 경우에 보험자는 피보험자에게, 쌍방의 과실비율이 확정되기 전에 전체 손해액에서 피보험자의 자기부담금을 공제한 액수를 자기차량손해보험금으로 지급할 수 있고(이하 ‘선처리 방식’이라 한다), 쌍방의 과실비율이 확정된 후에 이를 반영하여 산정한 손해액에서 피보험자의 자기부담금을 공제한 나머지만을 위 보험금으로 지급할 수 있다(이하 ‘교차처리 방식’이라 한다).

원고들은 쌍방과실의 자동차사고로 자기차량손해가 발생하였음에도 보험자로부터 자기부담금이 공제된 나머지 보험금만을 지급받았으므로 상대방 보험자인 피고들이 원고들에게 자기부담금 상당액의 손해를 배상할 의무가 있다고 주장한다. 결국 이 사건의 쟁점은 위와 같은 경우 피보험자가 제3자를 상대로 공제된 자기부담금 상당액의 지급을 구할 수 있는지 여부이다.

3. 자기부담금을 공제하고 자기차량손해보험금을 지급받은 피보험자의 손해배상청구권 인정 여부 및 범위(원고 2, 원고 3, 원고 5 법무법인, 원고 6, 원고 7, 원고 8에 대한 부분)에 관하여

가. 원심의 판단

원심은, 원고들은 스스로 자기부담금을 부담할 의사로 자기부담금 약정이 포함된 자기차량손해보험계약을 체결하였고, 사고 발생 후 그로 인한 손해 중 일부인 ‘자기부담금’을 그 ‘약정’에 의하여 자신들이 부담하게 된 것일 뿐이므로, 이를 모두 이 사건 대법원 판례에서 말하는 ‘전보되지 않고 남은 손해’로 볼 수 없다고 보아, 이와 다른 전제에 선 원고들의 청구를 모두 기각하였다.

나. 대법원의 판단

그러나 원심의 이러한 판단은 다음과 같은 이유로 그대로 받아들이기 어렵다.

1) 가) 상법 제682조 제1항 본문은 "손해가 제3자의 행위로 인하여 발생한 경우 보험금을 지급한 보험자는 그 지급한 금액의 한도에서 그 제3자에 대한 보험계약자 또는 피보험자의 권리를 취득한다."라고 하여 보험자대위에 관하여 규정한다. 위 규정의 취지는 피보험자가 보험자로부터 보험금액을 지급받은 후에도 제3자에 대한 청구권을 보유·행사하게 하는 것은 피보험자에게 손해의 전보를 넘어서 오히려 이득을 주게 되는 결과가 되어 손해보험제도의 원칙에 반하게 되고 또 배상의무자인 제3자가 피보험자의 보험금 수령으로 인하여 그 책임을 면하게 하는 것도 불합리하므로 이를 제거하여 보험자에게 그 이익을 귀속시키려는 데 있다(대법원 1990. 2. 9. 선고 89다카21965 판결, 대법원 2019. 11. 14. 선고 2019다216589 판결 등 참조). 피보험자와 보험자 및 제3자의 이해관계를 조정하고 위험을 분배하고자 하는 보험자대위권의 규정 취지는 자기부담금 약정이 있는 자기차량손해보험 보험자의 보험자대위 범위 및 피보험자의 손해배상청구권의 범위를 확정할 때에도 충분히 고려되어야 한다.

나) 나아가 손해보험에서의 보험자대위권은 피보험자의 이중이득을 방지하기 위하여 정책적으로 인정되는 것인 점 등을 고려할 때, 보험자가 대위할 수 있는 피보험자의 제3자에 대한 권리의 범위는 보험약관 등에 정함이 있으면 이에 따르는 것이 원칙이고, 정함이 없으면 약관의 해석에 관한 일반원칙에 따라 고객에게 유리하게 해석함이 타당하다(대법원 2012. 8. 30. 선고 2011다100312 판결 등 참조).

다) 한편 보험약관은 신의성실의 원칙에 따라 당해 약관의 목적과 취지를 고려하여 공정하고 합리적으로 해석하되, 개개의 계약당사자가 기도한 목적이나 의사를 참작함이 없이 평균적 고객의 이해가능성을 기준으로 보험단체 전체의 이해관계를 고려하여 객관적·획일적으로 해석하여야 한다(대법원 2010. 11. 25. 선고 2010다45777 판결 등 참조).

2) 위 법리와 앞서 본 약관의 내용, 기록 등에 비추어 원심판결 이유를 살펴보면, 자기차량손해보험 피보험자와 제3자의 과실이 경합한 교통사고로 자기차량손해가 발생한 경우 피보험자에게 손해액에서 자기부담금을 공제한 자기차량손해보험금을 ‘선처리 방식’으로 전부 지급한 보험자가 피보험자의 제3자에 대한 손해배상청구권을 대위할 때 그 대위의 범위는 피보험자의 제3자에 대한 손해배상청구권 중 보험자가 지급한 보험금에 대하여 제3자의 책임비율에 상응하여 청구할 수 있는 금액이고, 그 범위 내에서 피보험자는 청구권을 상실한다고 해석된다. 그러나 나머지 부분, 즉 피보험자의 제3자에 대한 손해배상청구권 중 자기부담금에 대하여 제3자의 책임비율에 상응하여 청구할 수 있는 금액에 대한 권리는 여전히 피보험자에게 온전히 남아 피보험자가 제3자에게 별도로 청구할 수 있다고 보아야 한다. 그 이유는 다음과 같다.

가) 자기차량손해보험은 본래 피보험자의 과실로 인한 자기차량손해나, 제3자의 과실이 경합한 사고로 발생한 자기차량손해 중 제3자의 대물배상보험 등으로 보상되지 않는 부분 등에 대비하기 위한 보험종목이다. 자기차량손해가 피보험자의 과실과 제3자의 과실이 경합하여 발생한 경우에 자기차량손해 중 제3자의 책임비율에 해당하는 금액을 제외한 나머지 부분, 즉 피보험자의 책임비율에 해당하는 금액은 결국 자기차량손해보험의 보험자와 피보험자가 부담하게 된다. 한편 자기부담금 약정은 피보험자와 보험자 사이에 일정 액수 내지 비율의 금액을 보험자가 부담하지 않고 피보험자가 부담하기로 한 약정이다. 따라서 자기차량손해보험에 포함된 자기부담금 약정은 피보험자는 특별한 사정이 없는 한 자기부담금 상당액을 보험자에게 직접 청구하지 못할 뿐만 아니라, 자기부담금 중 적어도 피보험자의 책임비율에 해당하는 금액 부분은 최종적으로 피보험자가 부담한다는 의미로 해석된다.

앞서 본 보험자대위 제도의 취지와 자기부담금 약정의 내용에 비추어, 보험자로부터 자기부담금 상당액을 공제한 자기차량손해보험금을 지급받은 피보험자는, 아래에서 보는 바와 같이 제3자를 상대로 자기부담금 중 제3자의 책임비율에 해당하는 부분에 관하여 배상책임의 이행을 구하는 것은 별론으로 하고, 특별한 사정이 없는 한 자기부담금 상당액 중 자기의 책임비율에 상응하는 금액 부분에 관하여는 제3자를 상대로 그에 해당하는 배상책임의 이행을 구할 수는 없다고 보아야 한다. 만일 그렇지 않고 피보험자가 보험자와의 관계에서 자기부담금 상당액을 부담하기로 약정하고도 자기부담금 상당액 중 자기의 책임비율로 인한 손해 부분까지 보상받지 못한 남은 손해액이라고 보아 제3자를 상대로 배상책임을 이행할 것을 청구하여 그 부분에 대한 보험자의 보험자대위를 제한함으로써 결국 이 부분을 보험자에게 부담시킨다면, 피보험자는 이를 통해 보험계약에서 보장한 것 이상의 이익을 누리면서 보험자는 약정한 것 이상을 부담하게 하는 결론에 이르게 되어 부당하다. 이와 다른 전제에 선 원고 2, 원고 3, 원고 5 법무법인, 원고 6, 원고 7, 원고 8의 주장을 배척한 원심의 판단 부분은 타당하다.

나) 한편 피보험자가 자기부담금 상당액 중 제3자의 책임비율에 상응하는 금액 부분까지 제3자에게 별도로 청구하지 못한다고 볼 이유는 없다. 앞에서 본 것처럼 자기부담금 약정에 따르더라도 자기부담금 중 피보험자 책임비율에 상응하는 금액 부분과 달리 제3자의 책임비율에 상응하는 금액 부분은 제3자로부터 전보받을 수 있는 부분으로서 피보험자가 반드시 최종적으로 부담하여야 한다는 결론이 도출되는 것은 아니다. 또한 이 부분에 관하여 피보험자의 손해배상청구권을 인정하더라도 보험자는 여전히 지급한 보험금 중 제3자의 책임비율에 상응하는 금액 부분에 대하여는 보험자대위를 할 수 있으므로, 자기부담금 약정 취지에 반하여 보험자에게 그 부담이 부당하게 전가된다고 보기도 어렵다. 나아가 보험자는 보험금으로 지급한 금액의 한도 내에서 피보험자를 대위할 뿐 지급하지 않은 자기부담금 상당액까지 포함하여 보험금을 지급한 것으로 의제하여 이를 기준으로 피보험자를 대위할 수는 없으므로, 자기부담금 상당액 중 제3자의 책임비율에 상응하는 부분에 관하여까지 피보험자의 제3자에 대한 손해배상청구권을 인정하지 않는다면 경우에 따라 제3자가 손해배상책임 중 일부를 면탈하는 문제가 발생하여 보험자대위 제도 취지에 반할 우려가 있다.

다) 이와 같은 보험자대위 제도의 취지와 피보험자와 보험자 및 제3자의 이해관계를 종합적으로 고려하여 자기차량손해보험 약관상 자기부담금에 관한 부분과 보험자의 대위 범위에 관한 부분을 객관적·획일적·체계적으로 해석하여 보면, 보험자가 피보험자에게 선처리 방식으로 손해액에서 자기부담금을 공제한 자기차량손해보험금을 전부 지급하였을 경우 과실상계 등에 의하여 제한된 제3자의 손해배상책임액에 대한 보험자와 피보험자의 권리는 전체 손해액 중 보험자와 피보험자가 각각 부담한 보험금과 자기부담금의 비율에 비례하여 안분되어, 보험자는 지급한 보험금에 대하여 제3자의 책임비율에 상응하는 금액의 범위 내에서 피보험자의 권리를 대위하고, 피보험자는 자기부담금에 대하여 제3자의 책임비율에 상응하는 금액 상당의 손해의 배상을 제3자에게 별도로 청구할 수 있다고 해석함이 합리적이다.

라) 피보험자의 전체 손해액에서 보험금으로 전보되지 않고 남은 손해액이 제3자의 손해배상책임액보다 많을 경우에는 제3자에 대하여 그의 손해배상책임액 전부를 이행할 것을 청구할 수 있고, 위 남은 손해액이 제3자의 손해배상책임액보다 적을 경우에는 그 남은 손해액의 배상을 청구할 수 있으며, 후자의 경우에 제3자의 손해배상책임액과 위 남은 손해액의 차액 상당액은 보험자대위에 의하여 보험자가 제3자에게 이를 청구할 수 있다고 본 이 사건 대법원판결은, 보험금액이 보험가액에 미달하는 일부보험 사안에서 보험금을 수령하고도 전보되지 않고 남은 손해가 있어 이에 대하여 제3자를 상대로 배상책임을 이행할 것을 청구할 권리가 인정된 사안에 관한 것으로서, 보험자와 피보험자 사이에서 자기부담금 부분은 피보험자가 부담하기로 하는 약정을 체결한 이 사건과는 사안을 달리한다.

3) 그럼에도 원심은 그 판시와 같은 이유만으로 피보험자인 원고 2, 원고 3, 원고 5 법무법인, 원고 6, 원고 7, 원고 8의 ‘자기부담금 상당액’ 또는 ‘과실비율에 따라 전체 손해액을 안분한 금액’ 중 적은 금액 청구를 받아들일 수 없다고 보아 위 원고들의 청구를 전부 기각하였다. 이러한 원심의 판단에는 보험약관의 해석, 보험자대위 범위 및 자기차량손해보험계약의 피보험자가 손해보험금을 지급받은 경우의 손해배상청구의 범위에 관한 법리를 오해하여 판결에 영향을 미친 잘못이 있다(한편 선처리 방식의 경우 피보험자가 부담한 자기부담금에 관하여 피보험자와 보험자 사이의 정산 등에 관한 내용을 보험약관에 미리 명확하게 기재하여 두는 것이 바람직하고, 이는 보험자의 명시·설명의무의 대상임을 지적하여 둔다).

4. 원고 1, 원고 4, 원고 9, 원고 10에 대한 부분에 관하여

가. 원심의 판단

원심은, 원고 1, 원고 4, 원고 9는 위 원고들이 발생시킨 교통사고의 상대차량 운전자와 보험계약을 체결한 보험자에 해당하는 피고 △△△화재해상보험 주식회사, 주식회사 □□□손해보험, ◇◇해상화재보험 주식회사로부터 각각 먼저 손해배상금(보험금)을 지급받고 남은 손해액 중 자기부담금을 제외한 금액을 자기차량손해보험의 보험자로부터 지급받았고, 위 피고들은 상대차량 운전자의 과실비율에 따라 인정된 손해배상액의 전부를 배상한 이상 그 손해배상의무는 이미 전부 이행되어 위 원고들이 위 피고들을 상대로 추가적인 손해배상액의 지급을 구할 수는 없다고 판단하였다. 또한 원심은, 피고 ☆☆화재해상보험 주식회사가 원고 10이 발생시킨 교통사고의 상대방과 보험계약을 체결한 보험자라고 볼 증거가 없다는 이유로 원고 10의 청구를 기각하였다.

나. 대법원의 판단

원고 1, 원고 4, 원고 9, 원고 10은 원심판결에 대하여 상고하였으나, 상고장과 상고이유서에 원심판단 중 위 원고들에 대한 판단 부분에 관하여 구체적인 불복이유라고 볼 만한 기재가 없다.

5. 결론

원심판결 중 원고 2, 원고 3, 원고 5 법무법인, 원고 6, 원고 7, 원고 8에 대한 부분을 파기하고, 이 부분 사건을 다시 심리·판단하도록 원심법원에 환송하며, 원고 1, 원고 4, 원고 9, 원고 10의 상고는 이유 없으므로 이를 모두 기각하고, 상고비용 중 원고 1, 원고 4, 원고 9, 원고 10의 상고로 인한 비용은 패소자들이 부담하기로 하여, 관여 대법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 노태악(재판장) 서경환 신숙희(주심) 마용주

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2016다205243 · 대법원 2019-05-30
Insurance Benefits
#2
2019다210697 · 대법원 2022-12-29
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
#3
2008다60933 · 대법원 2008-11-13
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
#4
89다카22487 · 대법원 1990-02-23
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
#5
2006다82793 · 대법원 2008-12-11
Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)

Cases citing this decision

2025다211106 · 대법원 2026-04-09
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)