Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 98두9219

Revocation of Reexamination Decision on Unfair Dismissal Relief (부당해고구제재심판정취소)부당해고구제재심판정취소

Decided2000. 01. 28. Court대법원Employer won
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

This case addressed whether an insurance sales agent (보험모집인) working for an insurance company qualifies as an 'employee' under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법). The Supreme Court of Korea established criteria for determining employment status based on the degree of subordination (종속성) between the worker and the company, ultimately ruling that the insurance sales agent was not an employee. This decision is significant because it emphasizes that courts must look beyond the formal title or contract type and examine the actual substance of the working relationship.

Key takeaways
  • CaseAn insurance sales agent was terminated by the insurance company and filed a claim for unfair dismissal relief (부당해고구제), seeking recognition as an employee.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court ruled that the insurance sales agent was not an employee, because he had substantial autonomy over his work and was paid performance-based commissions rather than a fixed salary, indicating insufficient subordination.
  • LessonWhen determining employee status, courts and businesses should focus on the actual substance of the working relationship—such as direction/supervision, binding work hours, and the nature of compensation—rather than simply relying on the title given in the contract.
Issues
  • Whether an insurance sales agent qualifies as an 'employee' under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법상 근로자)
  • What criteria should be used to determine the existence of subordination (종속성) for employee status
Key reasoning

The determination of employee status should not rely on the label used in the contract, but rather on the actual degree of subordination in the working relationship. Courts must comprehensively consider factors such as whether the company directs and supervises the work, whether the worker is bound by fixed working hours and location, the nature of the compensation (fixed salary vs. performance-based commission), and whether the worker is exclusively tied to one company. In this case, the insurance sales agent received commissions based on sales performance and had significant autonomy in how, when, and where to work. Because these factors indicated a low degree of subordination, the Court concluded that the insurance sales agent did not meet the legal definition of an 'employee' under the Labor Standards Act.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

[1] Whether a person constitutes a worker under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법) is determined not by the form of the contract, whether it is an employment contract or a service (contract for work) contract under the Civil Act (민법), but by whether, in substance, the worker provided labor to the employer for wages in a subordinate relationship within a business or workplace. In determining whether such a subordinate relationship exists, the following matters must be comprehensively considered in light of all the circumstances appearing in the overall relationship between the parties: whether the content of the work is determined by the employer and is subject to employment rules, service regulations, personnel regulations, etc., and whether the worker is subject to specific and direct direction and supervision by the employer in the course of performing the work; whether the working hours and place of work are designated by the employer and whether the worker is bound thereby; whether there is substitutability of work, such as the worker himself hiring a third party to perform the work on his behalf; the ownership relationship of equipment, raw materials, work tools, etc.; matters concerning remuneration, such as whether the remuneration has the character of consideration for the labor itself, whether a basic or fixed wage is set, and whether income tax on wages is withheld at source; the continuity of the labor-providing relationship and the existence and degree of exclusive affiliation with the employer; whether the worker's status as an employee is recognized under other statutes, such as those concerning the social security system; and the economic and social conditions of both parties.

[2] A case holding that an insurance solicitor of an insurance company does not constitute a worker under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법).

Full text (English, AI translation) 9,590 chars

[원고, 상고인] Plaintiff, Appellant
[피고, 피상고인] Chairman of the National Labor Relations Commission (중앙노동위원회), Defendant, Appellee
[피고보조참가인] France Life Insurance Co., Ltd. (프랑스생명보험 주식회사), Intervenor for the Defendant (Litigation Representatives: Attorney Choi Jae-gyeong and 2 others)
[원심판결] Seoul High Court Judgment 1998. 4. 30., 97Gu28171

[Order]

The appeal is dismissed. The costs of the appeal shall be borne by the Plaintiff.

[Reasoning]

The grounds of appeal are examined.

1. On the point of violation of the rules of evidence

According to the reasoning of the judgment below, the court below, comprehensively considering the evidence adopted in its judgment, found the following facts: On August 1, 1994, the Plaintiff entered into a commission contract (위촉계약) with the Intervenor for the Defendant (hereinafter referred to as the "Intervenor") and began to work as an insurance solicitor (보험모집인) affiliated with the Intervenor's Gangdong Sales Office; the contract provided that the Plaintiff's status was that of an insurance solicitor under Article 2(3) of the Insurance Business Act (보험업법), that the Plaintiff would faithfully act as an agent for the intermediation of life insurance contract conclusions, the collection of insurance premiums, and related work in accordance with the regulations and business instructions set by the Intervenor, that matters concerning status during the commission period would be governed by the regulations on status change and status qualifications and other regulations, and that the payment of various allowances would be governed by the insurance solicitor allowance payment regulations; that under the Intervenor's insurance solicitor regulations, there are no particular restrictions on the qualifications of insurance solicitors, and one may become an insurance solicitor of the Intervenor through the conclusion of a commission contract without going through a formal recruitment procedure; that, unlike the rules of employment (취업규칙) applicable to regular employees, there are no disciplinary provisions, but only provisions on "de-commissioning" (해촉), which corresponds to contract termination, providing that the Intervenor may de-commission an insurance solicitor upon the occurrence of certain grounds, such as "failure, without special reason, to carry out the standard activities set by the company for a long period, or poor performance below a certain standard" and "failure to comply with the company's legitimate instructions without justifiable grounds"; that the Intervenor's insurance solicitors received education on insurance products, etc., and had their insurance contract performance checked at the Intervenor's sales office during morning meetings (09:00-10:00) and evening meetings (17:00-18:00) from Monday to Friday each week, but there was no particular disadvantage for failing to attend such morning or evening meetings if the insurance contract performance was good; that while employees of the Intervenor received fixed wages and had earned income tax withheld, insurance solicitors were paid various allowances according to their insurance solicitation performance, such as a basic allowance of 40,000 to 150,000 won per month, solicitation allowance, collection allowance, maintenance allowance, performance allowance, settlement allowance, bonus allowance, and automatic transfer allowance, from which business income tax (at a rate of 1%) imposed on freelance business operators was withheld, and that, unlike the Intervenor's employees, insurance solicitors were excluded from the application of workplace health insurance, national pension, and employment insurance; that insurance solicitors did not receive any other work instructions from the Intervenor apart from insurance solicitation and related work performed under their own responsibility, and were not subject to personnel actions such as transfer; that when recruiting or training insurance solicitors, the Intervenor explained that those with good sales performance would be specially hired as regular employees, and in fact, there were occasional cases in which insurance solicitors with good insurance solicitation performance were specially hired as regular employees.

Examining the record, the above fact-finding by the court below is acceptable, and there is no illegality therein due to erroneous evaluation of evidence in violation of the rules of evidence. This ground of appeal cannot be accepted.

2. On the point of misapprehension of the legal principles concerning the concept of "worker," rules of employment, etc.

Whether a person constitutes a "worker" under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법) is to be determined, regardless of whether the contract is, in form, an employment contract or a contract for work under the Civil Act, according to whether, in substance, the worker provided labor to the employer in a subordinate relationship for the purpose of wages in a business or workplace. In determining whether such a subordinate relationship exists, the following matters must be comprehensively considered in light of the overall circumstances appearing in the relationship between the parties: whether the content of the work is determined by the employer and is subject to rules of employment, service regulations, personnel regulations, etc., and whether the worker is subject to specific and direct direction and supervision by the employer in the course of performing the work; whether working hours and place of work are designated by the employer and whether the worker is bound thereby; whether the work is substitutable, such as whether the worker may employ a third party to perform the work on his or her behalf; the ownership relationship of equipment, raw materials, work tools, etc.; matters concerning remuneration, such as whether the remuneration has the character of consideration for the labor itself, whether a basic or fixed wage is set, and whether earned income tax is withheld; the continuity of the labor-providing relationship and the existence and degree of exclusive affiliation with the employer; whether the worker is recognized as having the status of a worker under other statutes, such as social security-related legislation; and the economic and social conditions of both parties (see Supreme Court Decisions 1996. 4. 26., 95Da20348; 1997. 11. 28., 97Da7998, etc.).

However, according to the reasoning of the judgment below and the record, it cannot be said that the Plaintiff had an obligation to attend the aforementioned morning or evening meetings; the education on the content of insurance products, sales techniques, etc., and the checking of performance conducted at such morning and evening meetings were merely education and minimal instructions provided by the Intervenor, in its capacity as the commissioning party, for the smooth performance of the commissioned work of the insurance solicitor; the Plaintiff performed only the work commissioned under the commission contract, and was paid allowances the payment items and amounts of which were determined, in accordance with the insurance solicitor allowance payment regulations, solely by the performance of insurance contracts concluded and premiums collected through the Plaintiff's own efforts, regardless of the content or hours of the labor provided, and the Plaintiff would not even be paid the basic allowance if the performance fell short of that prescribed in the said regulations; although the Plaintiff was prohibited by statute (Article 148(2) of the Insurance Business Act) from soliciting insurance for other insurance companies, the Plaintiff was not prohibited from, nor was it in fact difficult to, engage in other types of business while working as an insurance solicitor for the Intervenor; there were no restrictions on the method of performing the work, such as the use of the labor of others; the Plaintiff could freely leave the course of business at any time; and it can be seen that the actual average number of business activity days per month for the Intervenor's insurance solicitors was about 15 days.

Given these circumstances, even considering the characteristic that the labor provided by the Plaintiff belongs to an important part of the Intervenor's business, and that, because the performance of an insurance solicitor's work depends on the individual's autonomy and ability, the Intervenor's direction and supervision over the performance of such work could only be exercised in an indirect form, it cannot be said that the Plaintiff's working hours and the content of the Plaintiff's work were dominated or controlled by the Intervenor, and thus it cannot be said that the Plaintiff provided labor in a subordinate relationship with the Intervenor.

Accordingly, the determination of the court below that the Plaintiff was not in a subordinate labor relationship with the Intervenor and therefore did not constitute a "worker" under the Labor Standards Act is acceptable, and there is no illegality therein due to misapprehension of the legal principles concerning the concept of "worker" under the Labor Standards Act, rules of employment, the employment-subordination relationship, etc. This ground of appeal also cannot be accepted.

3. Therefore, the appeal is dismissed, and the costs of the appeal are to be borne by the Plaintiff, the appellant. This judgment is rendered as set forth in the Order, with the unanimous consent of the Justices participating in the decision.

Justice Lee Yong-woo (Presiding Justice), Kim Hyung-sun, Lee Yong-hoon (Justice in Charge), Cho Mu-je

【판결요지】

[1] 근로기준법상의 근로자에 해당하는지 여부는 그 계약이 민법상의 고용계약이든 또는 도급계약이든 그 계약의 형식에 관계없이 그 실질에 있어 근로자가 사업 또는 사업장에 임금을 목적으로 종속적인 관계에서 사용자에게 근로를 제공하였는지 여부에 따라 결정되는 것이고, 여기서 종속적인 관계가 있는지 여부를 판단함에 있어서는 업무의 내용이 사용자에 의하여 정하여지고 취업규칙·복무규정·인사규정 등의 적용을 받으며 업무수행 과정에 있어서도 사용자로부터 구체적이고 직접적인 지휘·감독을 받는지 여부, 사용자에 의하여 근무시간과 근무장소가 지정되고 이에 구속을 받는지 여부, 근로자 스스로가 제3자를 고용하여 업무를 대행케 하는 등 업무의 대체성 유무, 비품·원자재·작업도구 등의 소유관계, 보수가 근로 자체의 대상적(對償的) 성격을 갖고 있는지 여부와 기본급이나 고정급이 정하여져 있는지 여부 및 근로소득세의 원천징수 여부 등 보수에 관한 사항, 근로제공관계의 계속성과 사용자에의 전속성의 유무와 정도, 사회보장제도에 관한 법령 등 다른 법령에 의하여 근로자로서의 지위를 인정받는지 여부, 양 당사자의 경제·사회적 조건 등 당사자 사이의 관계 전반에 나타나는 사정을 종합적으로 고려하여 판단하여야 한다.

[2] 보험회사의 보험모집인이 근로기준법상의 근로자에 해당되지 않는다고 본 사례.

【참조조문】

[1] 구 근로기준법(1997. 3. 13. 법률 제5309호로 제정되기 전의 것) 제14조, 제17조

[2] 구 근로기준법(1997. 3. 13. 법률 제5309호로 제정되기 전의 것) 제14조, 제17조

【참조판례】

[1] 대법원 1994. 12. 9. 선고 94다22859 판결(공1995상, 448), 대법원 1995. 6. 30. 선고 94도2122 판결(공1995하, 2685), 대법원 1996. 4. 26. 선고 95다20348 판결(공1996상, 1690), 대법원 1996. 7. 30. 선고 96도732 판결(공1996하, 2754), 대법원 1996. 9. 6. 선고 95다35289 판결(공1996하, 2972), 대법원 1996. 11. 29. 선고 96누11181 판결(공1997상, 215), 대법원 1997. 2. 14. 선고 96누1795 판결(공1997상, 786), 대법원 1997. 11. 14. 선고 97누13016 판결(공1997하, 3882), 대법원 1997. 11. 28. 선고 97다7998 판결(공1998상, 46), 대법원 1997. 12. 26. 선고 97누16534 판결(공1998상, 431), 대법원 1998. 5. 8. 선고 98다6084 판결(공1998상, 1599), 대법원 1999. 2. 24. 선고 98두2201 판결(공1999상, 576) / [2] 대법원 1977. 10. 11. 선고 77다972 판결, 대법원 1990. 5. 22. 선고 88다카28112 판결(공1990, 1336)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 3,435자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 상고인】 원고

【피고, 피상고인】 중앙노동위원회 위원장

【피고보조참가인】 프랑스생명보험 주식회사 (소송대리인 변호사 최재경 외 2인)

【원심판결】 서울고법 1998. 4. 30. 선고 97구28171 판결

【주 문】

상고를 기각한다. 상고비용은 원고의 부담으로 한다.

【이 유】 상고이유를 판단한다.

1. 채증법칙 위배의 점에 대하여

원심판결 이유에 의하면, 원심은 그 판결에서 채용하고 있는 증거들을 종합하여, 원고는 1994. 8. 1. 피고보조참가인(이하 '참가인'이라고 한다) 회사와 사이에 위촉계약을 체결하고 참가인 회사 강동영업소 소속 보험모집인으로 활동하게 되었는데, 그 계약서에는 원고의 신분은 보험업법 제2조 제3항에 의한 보험모집인으로 하고, 참가인 회사가 정한 규정과 업무상 지시에 따라 성실히 생명보험계약 체결의 중개와 보험료 수금 및 이에 수반한 업무를 대행하며, 위촉 중의 신분에 관한 사항은 신분변경 및 신분자격에 관한 규정 및 기타 제규정이 적용되고, 제 수당의 지급은 보험모집인 수당 지급규정에 따른다고 되어 있는 사실, 참가인 회사의 보험모집인규정에 의하면 보험모집인은 그 자격에 특별한 제한은 없고 전형절차를 거침이 없이 위촉계약의 체결에 의하여 참가인 회사의 보험모집인으로서 활동할 수 있게 되어 있고, 정식 직원을 적용대상으로 하는 취업규칙과는 달리 징계에 관한 규정은 없이 계약해지에 해당하는 '해촉'에 관한 규정만을 두어 '특별한 사유 없이 장기간 회사가 정한 표준활동을 실천하지 않거나, 일정기준 미만으로 실적이 불량한 경우'와 '정당한 사유 없이 회사의 정당한 지시에 불복한 경우' 등 일정한 사유가 있는 경우에는 참가인 회사가 해당 보험모집인을 해촉할 수 있다고 정하고 있는 사실, 참가인 회사의 보험모집인은 매주 월요일부터 금요일까지 조회(09:00­10:00), 석회(17:00­18:00) 시간에 참가인 회사 영업소에서 보험상품 등에 관한 교육을 받고, 보험계약 실적을 확인받았는데, 보험계약 실적이 좋을 경우 위 조회, 석회 시간 불참에 따른 별다른 불이익은 없었던 사실, 참가인 회사의 직원은 고정급의 임금을 받고 근로소득세가 원천징수되고 있음에 비하여 보험모집인은 보험모집실적에 따라 월 40,000원 내지 150,000원의 기본수당, 모집수당, 수금수당, 유지수당, 성과수당, 정착수당, 상여수당, 자동이체수당 등 각종 수당이 지급되고, 그 지급액에서 자유사업자에게 부과되는 사업소득세(세율 1%)가 원천징수되며, 또 보험모집인은 참가인 회사 직원과 달리 직장의료보험, 국민연금, 고용보험 등의 적용대상에서 제외되어 있는 사실, 보험모집인은 각자 자신의 책임으로 행하는 보험모집 등 업무 외에 참가인 회사로부터 다른 업무지시를 받지 않고 있고, 전보 등 인사대상이 되지 아니하며, 참가인 회사는 보험모집인을 채용하거나 교육을 실시하면서 영업활동의 실적이 좋으면 정식 직원으로 특채된다고 설명하였고, 실제로 보험모집 실적이 좋은 보험모집인 중에 정식 직원으로 특채된 경우도 가끔 있었던 사실 등을 인정하고 있다.

기록에 비추어 살펴보면, 원심의 위와 같은 사실인정은 수긍이 가고, 거기에 증거판단을 잘못하여 채증법칙을 위배한 위법이 없다. 이 점에 관한 상고이유는 받아들일 수 없다.

2. 근로자의 개념, 취업규칙 등에 관한 법리오해의 점에 대하여

근로기준법상의 근로자에 해당하는지 여부는 그 계약이 민법상의 고용계약이든 또는 도급계약이든 그 계약의 형식에 관계없이 그 실질에 있어 근로자가 사업 또는 사업장에 임금을 목적으로 종속적인 관계에서 사용자에게 근로를 제공하였는지 여부에 따라 결정되는 것이고, 여기서 종속적인 관계가 있는지 여부를 판단함에 있어서는 업무의 내용이 사용자에 의하여 정하여지고 취업규칙·복무규정·인사규정 등의 적용을 받으며 업무수행 과정에 있어서도 사용자로부터 구체적이고 직접적인 지휘·감독을 받는지 여부, 사용자에 의하여 근무시간과 근무장소가 지정되고 이에 구속을 받는지 여부, 근로자 스스로가 제3자를 고용하여 업무를 대행케 하는 등 업무의 대체성 유무, 비품·원자재·작업도구 등의 소유관계, 보수가 근로 자체의 대상적(對償的) 성격을 갖고 있는지 여부와 기본급이나 고정급이 정하여져 있는지 여부 및 근로소득세의 원천징수 여부 등 보수에 관한 사항, 근로제공관계의 계속성과 사용자에의 전속성의 유무와 정도, 사회보장제도에 관한 법령 등 다른 법령에 의하여 근로자로서의 지위를 인정받는지 여부, 양 당사자의 경제·사회적 조건 등 당사자 사이의 관계 전반에 나타나는 사정을 종합적으로 고려하여 판단하여야 할 것이다(대법원 1996. 4. 26. 선고 95다20348 판결, 1997. 11. 28. 선고 97다7998 판결 등 참조).

그런데 원심판결 이유와 기록에 의하면, 원고는 위에서 본 조회나 석회에 참석의무가 있다고 할 수 없고, 조회, 석회 자리에서 이루어지는 보험상품의 내용이나 판매기법 등에 관한 교육이나 실적확인은 참가인 회사가 위탁자의 지위에서 행하는 보험모집인의 수탁업무의 원활한 수행을 위한 교육과 최소한의 지시에 불과하며, 원고는 위촉계약에서 수탁한 업무만을 수행하고 제공한 근로의 내용이나 시간과는 관계 없이 보험모집인 제 수당 지급규정에 의하여 오로지 자신의 노력으로 체결된 보험계약의 계약고, 수금액 등 실적에 따라 그 지급항목 및 지급액이 결정되는 수당을 지급받고, 위 규정에 정해진 실적에 미치지 아니하면 기본수당도 지급받지 못하며, 법률(보험업법 제148조 제2항)에 의하여 다른 보험회사를 위한 보험의 모집은 할 수 없지만 참가인 회사의 보험모집인으로 활동하면서 다른 종류의 영업에 종사하는 것이 금지되어 있는 것도 아니고 또 그것이 사실상 곤란한 것도 아니며, 타인의 노동력의 이용 등 업무수행방식에 제한이 없고, 한편 업무수행과정에서 아무 때나 임의로 이탈할 수 있으며 실제로 참가인 회사 보험모집인의 영업활동일수는 월 평균 15일 정도임을 알 수 있다.

사정이 이와 같다면, 원고가 제공하는 노무는 참가인 회사의 사업의 중요한 부분에 속하고, 또 보험모집인의 업무수행이 개인의 자율과 능력에 달려 있는 것이어서 그 업무수행에 관한 참가인 회사의 지시감독은 간접적인 형태로 이루어질 수밖에 없다는 특성을 감안하더라도, 원고의 근로시간 및 근로내용이 참가인 회사에 의하여 지배, 관리된다고 볼 수는 없으므로 원고가 참가인 회사와 종속적인 관계에서 노무를 제공하였다고 할 수 없다.

따라서 원심이 원고는 참가인 회사에 대하여 종속적 근로관계에 있었다고 할 수 없다는 이유로 근로기준법상의 근로자에 해당되지 아니한다고 판단한 것은 수긍이 가고, 거기에 근로기준법상의 근로자의 개념, 취업규칙, 사용종속관계 등에 관한 법리오해의 위법이 있다고 할 수 없다. 이 점에 관한 상고이유도 받아들일 수 없다.

3. 그러므로 상고를 기각하고, 상고비용은 상고인인 원고의 부담으로 하기로 관여 법관의 의견이 일치되어 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 이용우(재판장) 김형선 이용훈(주심) 조무제

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2021두33715 · 대법원 2022-04-14
부당해고구제재심판정취소[보험회사 위탁계약형 지점장의 근로기준법상 근로자성 인정 여부가 쟁점이 된 사건]
#2
2007두9471 · 대법원 2010-05-27
유족보상등청구서반려처분취소
#3
2015구합66141 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
2010년도 산재·고용보험 조사 징수처분 취소
#4
2010구합1064 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
산업재해보상보험료등부과처분취소
#5
2018누57720 · 서울고등법원 0001-01-01
근로자성 회복

Cases citing this decision

2004나5882 · 대구지법 2005-04-20
Wages
2004두916 · 대법원 2004-03-11
요양신청반려처분취소
2000다27671 · 대법원 2002-07-26
Claim for Severance Pay, etc.
2001도5995 · 대법원 2002-07-12
Violation of the Employment Security Act (직업안정법위반)
2001도2778 · 대법원 2001-08-21
Violation of the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법위반)

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)