Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 2003두13939

Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivor Benefits and Funeral Expenses유족보상및장의비부지급처분취소

Decided2004. 03. 26. Court대법원Worker (surviving family) won
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

A courier delivery worker who used his own motorcycle died while working, and the case examined whether he qualified as an 'employee' under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법) despite having signed a service contract (도급계약) rather than an employment contract. The Supreme Court ruled that since the worker was substantively supervised and directed by the employer and provided labor in a dependent relationship for wages, he qualified as an employee. As a result, his surviving family was recognized as entitled to receive industrial accident compensation insurance benefits (산재보험급여).

Key takeaways
  • CaseA courier delivery worker using his own motorcycle died while performing delivery work under a nominal service contract (도급계약).
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court ruled he was an employee under the Labor Standards Act due to substantive supervision and wage-based dependent labor, entitling his family to survivor benefits.
  • LessonEven when a contract is labeled as a service agreement, courts will look past the contract's form to the actual working conditions to determine employee status and industrial accident coverage.
Issues
  • Whether a courier delivery worker using his own motorcycle qualifies as an 'employee' under the Labor Standards Act
  • The proper standard for determining employee status under the Labor Standards Act
Key reasoning

The Court held that employee status must be determined based on the actual substance of the working relationship, not merely the form of the contract. Key factors indicating a dependent employment relationship included the worker's obligation to observe fixed commute times, being subject to the employer's direction and supervision, being unable to refuse delivery assignments, and receiving compensation that functioned as wages. The Court clarified that the absence of some conventional indicia of employment (such as certain benefits or formal registration) does not automatically negate employee status, since the overall substance of the relationship must be weighed comprehensively.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

[1] In determining whether a person constitutes an employee under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법), the determination should be made based on whether, in substance, the worker provided labor to the employer in a subordinate relationship for the purpose of wages at a business or workplace, regardless of whether the form of the contract is an employment contract or a service (contract for work) agreement under the Civil Act (민법). In determining whether such a subordinate relationship exists, the following factors should be comprehensively considered: whether the content of the work is determined by the employer and is subject to the rules of employment or service (personnel) regulations, and whether the worker is subject to specific and individual direction and supervision by the employer in the course of performing the work; whether working hours and place of work are designated by the employer and whether the worker is bound thereby; whether there is substitutability of work, such as the worker hiring a third party on his or her own to perform the work in his or her stead; the ownership of equipment, raw materials, or work tools; matters relating to remuneration, including whether the nature of the remuneration has the character of consideration for the labor itself, whether a basic or fixed wage is set, and whether income tax is withheld at source; the continuity of the employment relationship and the existence and degree of exclusivity to the employer; whether the worker's status as an employee is recognized under other statutes, such as those relating to social security systems; and the economic and social conditions of both parties. In assessing such subordination for use, the necessity of protection under labor-related statutes should also be taken into account, and as long as it is recognized, viewed as a whole, that the worker provided labor to the employer in a subordinate relationship for the purpose of wages, the mere fact that some circumstances relating to working conditions, among the various indicia of employee status, are lacking cannot, by that reason alone, lead to the conclusion that the person is not an employee under the Labor Standards Act.

[2] Case holding that a delivery person who engaged in courier work using his own motorcycle constitutes an employee under the Labor Standards Act.

Full text (English, AI translation) 8,279 chars

[Plaintiffs, Appellees] Plaintiff 1 and 1 other (Attorney Lee Hyun-ju, Counsel for the Plaintiffs)
[Defendant, Appellant] Korea Workers' Compensation & Welfare Service
[Judgment Below] Daejeon High Court Decision 2003Nu788 decided November 6, 2003

[Order]

The appeal is dismissed. The costs of the appeal are to be borne by the Defendant.

[Reasoning]

In determining whether a person constitutes a worker under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법), the determination should be made based on whether, in substance, the worker provided labor to the employer in a subordinate relationship for the purpose of earning wages at a business or workplace, regardless of whether the form of the contract is an employment contract or a contract for work under the Civil Act. In determining whether such a subordinate relationship exists, the following factors must be comprehensively considered: whether the content of the work is determined by the employer and is subject to the application of employment rules or service (personnel) regulations, and whether the employer exercises specific and individual direction and supervision over the performance of the work; whether the working hours and place of work are designated by the employer and whether the worker is bound thereby; whether there is substitutability of work, such as the worker hiring a third party to perform the work on their behalf; the ownership relationship of equipment, raw materials, or work tools; matters concerning remuneration, including whether the nature of the remuneration reflects the value of the labor itself, whether a basic or fixed wage is set, and whether income tax is withheld at source; the continuity of the labor-provision relationship and the existence and degree of exclusive affiliation with the employer; whether the person's status as a worker is recognized under other laws, such as social security legislation; and the economic and social conditions of both parties (see Supreme Court Decision 94Da22859 decided December 9, 1994). In assessing such subordination, the need for protection under labor-related laws must also be taken into account (see Supreme Court Decision 99Da5484 decided June 26, 2001), and as long as it is recognized, viewed as a whole, that the person provided labor to the employer in a subordinate relationship for the purpose of earning wages, the mere absence of some of the indicia relating to working conditions among the various indicators of worker status does not, by itself, mean that the person is not a worker under the Labor Standards Act (see Supreme Court Decision 2000Da57498 decided February 9, 2001).

According to the reasoning of the judgment below, the court below, comprehensively considering the evidence it adopted, found the following facts as stated in its judgment: that Nonparty 1, from June 21, 2001, performed delivery work as a part-time worker at ○○ Quick Service (hereinafter "Quick Service") operated by Nonparty 2; that on July 17 of the same year, he suffered injuries in a traffic accident and stopped working until September 3 of the same year; that he returned to work on September 4 of the same year and performed delivery work mainly on days when he had no classes until November 23 of the same year; that from December 5 of the same year, he agreed to come to work every day to perform delivery work and executed a labor pledge (employment agreement); that according to this labor pledge, Nonparty 1 was to receive from Quick Service an amount equivalent to 70% of the delivery fees he deposited each day, plus 3,000 won per day as meal expenses; that Nonparty 1 was to obtain comprehensive automobile insurance for the motorcycle he provided for delivery work, and was to be liable for any property damage caused by his own negligence; that, on the other hand, Quick Service was to dismiss employees who drank alcohol during working hours, and was to enroll employees in industrial accident compensation insurance and employment insurance; that Nonparty 1 reported to the Quick Service office every day by 09:00 to receive his first delivery instruction and made deliveries using a motorcycle, and thereafter waited outside the office and made deliveries as instructed by Quick Service (when there were no delivery instructions from Quick Service, he returned to the office and waited there); that when work ended around 20:00 each day, he returned to the Quick Service office, deposited all of that day's earnings with Quick Service, and then left work; that on December 11, 2001, around 14:30, while performing delivery work, Nonparty 1 was involved in a traffic accident and died on December 15 of the same year; that delivery workers affiliated with Quick Service could not, in principle, refuse deliveries, although there were cases where they refused to deliver large or heavy items that were difficult to load onto a motorcycle, and in such cases they were not subject to any separate sanction from Quick Service; that the business owner of Quick Service had a practice of dismissing delivery workers who failed to report to work for an extended period; that, pursuant to the labor pledge, Nonparty 1 was scheduled to receive, on the 5th of the following month, an amount equivalent to 70% of the delivery fees he had deposited, and was to receive 3,000 won per day for meal expenses in addition thereto; that the motorcycle used by Nonparty 1 for deliveries was one he himself provided, and Quick Service paid 50% of the fuel costs for that motorcycle; and that Quick Service did not withhold income tax from Nonparty 1's earnings, and while it enrolled him in industrial accident compensation insurance and employment insurance, it did not enroll him in national pension or health insurance. Having found these facts, the court below determined as follows: Looking only at the facts that Nonparty 1 did not pay income tax, that he personally provided the motorcycle used for delivery work, that he was not subject to any particular sanction even when he refused deliveries, and that he could attend to personal matters during waiting time, there is room to view Nonparty 1 as not falling under the category of a worker; however, these circumstances arose from cost-saving measures at a small workplace or from the nature of outside work, whereby small items were loaded onto the motorcycle for delivery only when instructed by the business owner, and therefore it is difficult to conclude solely on the basis of these circumstances that Nonparty 1 was not a worker. Rather, in light of the facts that Nonparty 1 came to and left work in accordance with the working hours set by the business owner and performed delivery work as instructed by the business owner; that, in principle, he could not refuse delivery instructions from the business owner; that under the labor pledge, drinking alcohol during working hours was grounds for dismissal, and failure to report to work for an extended period likewise resulted in dismissal, such that he was subject to the direction and supervision of the business owner; and that Nonparty 1 was to deposit the entire delivery fees received from customers with Quick Service and then receive, once a month, a portion of the delivery fees he had deposited by way of wages, in addition to receiving 3,000 won per day for meals and 50% of the fuel costs for the delivery motorcycle, it is appropriate to view Nonparty 1 as a worker who provided labor to the employer in a subordinate relationship for the purpose of earning wages.

Upon examining the legal principles set forth above together with the record, the fact-finding and determination of the court below are justified, and there is no illegality therein, such as misapprehension of facts in violation of the rules of evidence or misunderstanding of the legal principles concerning the definition of "worker" under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) and the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법).

Therefore, the appeal is dismissed, and the costs of the appeal are to be borne by the losing party. This judgment is rendered as stated in the Order, by the unanimous opinion of the Justices involved.

Justice Yoon Jae-sik (Presiding Justice), Byun Jae-seung, Kang Shin-wook, Ko Hyun-chul (Justice in Charge)

【판결요지】

[1] 근로기준법상의 근로자에 해당하는지 여부를 판단함에 있어서는 그 계약의 형식이 민법상의 고용계약인지 또는 도급계약인지에 관계없이 그 실질에 있어 근로자가 사업 또는 사업장에 임금을 목적으로 종속적인 관계에서 사용자에게 근로를 제공하였는지 여부에 따라 판단하여야 할 것이고, 위에서 말하는 종속적인 관계가 있는지 여부를 판단함에 있어서는, 업무의 내용이 사용자에 의하여 정하여지고 취업규칙 또는 복무(인사)규정 등의 적용을 받으며 업무수행과정에 있어서도 사용자로부터 구체적, 개별적인 지휘·감독을 받는지 여부, 사용자에 의하여 근무시간과 근무장소가 지정되고 이에 구속을 받는지 여부, 근로자가 스스로 제3자를 고용하여 업무를 대행케 하는 등 업무의 대체성 유무, 비품·원자재나 작업도구 등의 소유관계, 보수의 성격이 근로 자체의 대상적 성격이 있는지 여부와 기본급이나 고정급이 정하여져 있는지 여부 및 근로소득세의 원천징수 여부 등 보수에 관한 사항, 근로제공관계의 계속성과 사용자에의 전속성의 유무와 정도, 사회보장제도에 관한 법령 등 다른 법령에 의하여 근로자로서의 지위를 인정받는지 여부, 양 당사자의 경제·사회적 조건 등을 종합적으로 고려하여야 하고, 이러한 사용종속성의 판단에 있어서는 노동관계법에 의한 보호필요성도 고려하여야 하며, 전체적으로 보아 임금을 목적으로 종속적 관계에서 사용자에게 근로를 제공하였다고 인정되는 이상, 근로자에 관한 여러 징표 중 근로조건에 관한 일부의 사정이 결여되었다고 하여 그러한 사유만으로 근로기준법상의 근로자가 아니라고 할 수는 없다.

[2] 자기 소유의 오토바이를 이용하여 택배 업무에 종사하는 배달원이 근로기준법상의 근로자에 해당한다고 한 사례.

【참조조문】

[1] 근로기준법 제14조

[2] 근로기준법 제14조

【참조판례】

[1] 대법원 1994. 12. 9. 선고 94다22859 판결(공1995상, 448), 대법원 2001. 2. 9. 선고 2000다57498 판결(공2001상, 625), 대법원 2001. 6. 26. 선고 99다5484 판결(공2001하, 1681)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 3,180자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 피상고인】 원고 1 외 1인 (소송대리인 변호사 이현주)

【피고, 상고인】 근로복지공단

【원심판결】 대전고법 2003. 11. 6. 선고 2003누788 판결

【주 문】

상고를 기각한다. 상고비용은 피고가 부담한다.

【이 유】 근로기준법상의 근로자에 해당하는지 여부를 판단함에 있어서는 그 계약의 형식이 민법상의 고용계약인지 또는 도급계약인지에 관계없이 그 실질에 있어 근로자가 사업 또는 사업장에 임금을 목적으로 종속적인 관계에서 사용자에게 근로를 제공하였는지 여부에 따라 판단하여야 할 것이고, 위에서 말하는 종속적인 관계가 있는지 여부를 판단함에 있어서는, 업무의 내용이 사용자에 의하여 정하여지고 취업규칙 또는 복무(인사)규정 등의 적용을 받으며 업무수행과정에 있어서도 사용자로부터 구체적, 개별적인 지휘·감독을 받는지 여부, 사용자에 의하여 근무시간과 근무장소가 지정되고 이에 구속을 받는지 여부, 근로자 스스로가 제3자를 고용하여 업무를 대행케 하는 등 업무의 대체성 유무, 비품·원자재나 작업도구 등의 소유관계, 보수의 성격이 근로 자체의 대상적 성격이 있는지 여부와 기본급이나 고정급이 정하여져 있는지 여부 및 근로소득세의 원천징수 여부 등 보수에 관한 사항, 근로제공관계의 계속성과 사용자에의 전속성의 유무와 정도, 사회보장제도에 관한 법령 등 다른 법령에 의하여 근로자로서의 지위를 인정받는지 여부, 양 당사자의 경제·사회적 조건 등을 종합적으로 고려하여야 하고(대법원 1994. 12. 9. 선고 94다22859 판결 참조), 이러한 사용종속성의 판단에 있어서는 노동관계법에 의한 보호필요성도 고려하여야 하며(대법원 2001. 6. 26. 선고 99다5484 판결 참조), 전체적으로 보아 임금을 목적으로 종속적 관계에서 사용자에게 근로를 제공하였다고 인정되는 이상, 근로자에 관한 여러 징표 중 근로조건에 관한 일부의 사정이 결여되었다고 하여 그러한 사유만으로 근로기준법상의 근로자가 아니라고 할 수는 없다(대법원 2001. 2. 9. 선고 2000다57498 판결 참조).

원심판결 이유에 의하면, 원심은 그 채택 증거들을 종합하여, 소외 1은 2001. 6. 21.부터 소외 2 경영의 ○○퀵서비스(이하 ‘퀵서비스’라 한다)에서 아르바이트로 배달업무를 수행하던 중, 같은 해 7. 17. 교통사고로 부상을 입고 같은 해 9. 3.까지 업무를 중단하였다가 같은 해 9. 4. 업무에 복귀하여 같은 해 11. 23.까지 주로 강의가 없는 날 배달업무를 수행하였으며, 같은 해 12. 5.부터는 매일 출근하여 배달업무를 수행하기로 하면서 근로서약서를 작성한 사실, 위 근로서약서에 따르면, 소외 1은 퀵서비스로부터 자신이 매일 입금한 배달 수수료 중 70%에 해당하는 금액과 식대로 매일 3,000원씩을 지급받고, 소외 1이 배달업무를 위하여 제공한 오토바이에 대하여는 자신이 자동차종합보험에 가입하며, 자신의 부주의에 의한 물적 피해는 자신이 책임지기로 되어 있고, 반면 퀵서비스는 직원들이 근무시간 중 음주하는 경우에는 해고하며, 직원들을 위하여 산업재해보상보험 및 고용보험에 가입하는 것으로 되어 있는 사실, 소외 1은 매일 09:00까지 퀵서비스 사무실에 출근하여 첫 배달 지시를 받고 오토바이를 이용하여 배달을 하였고, 그 이후에는 사무실 밖에서 대기하면서 퀵서비스로부터 지시를 받아 배달을 하였으며(퀵서비스로부터 배달지시가 없는 경우에는 사무실로 복귀하여 대기하였다), 매일 20:00경 업무가 종료되면 퀵서비스 사무실로 돌아와 그 날의 수입금을 모두 퀵서비스에 입금하고 퇴근한 사실, 소외 1은 2001. 12. 11. 14:30경 배달업무를 수행하던 중 교통사고가 발생하여 같은 달 15. 사망한 사실, 퀵서비스 소속 배달원들은 원칙적으로 배달 거부를 할 수 없고, 다만 오토바이에 적재하기 어려운 큰 물건이나 무거운 물건의 배달을 거부하는 경우도 있었으나, 그러한 경우 퀵서비스로부터 별도의 제재를 받는 경우는 없으며, 배달원이 장기간 출근을 하지 않는 경우에 퀵서비스의 사업주는 그 배달원을 해고하여 온 사실, 소외 1은 위 근로서약서에 따라 자신이 입금한 배달 수수료 중 70%에 해당되는 금액을 다음달 5일 지급받을 예정이었고, 그 외 식비로 매일 3,000원을 지급받아 온 사실, 소외 1이 배달에 이용한 오토바이는 자신이 제공한 것으로서 퀵서비스는 위 오토바이의 유류비 중 50%를 지급하여 온 사실, 퀵서비스는 소외 1에 대한 근로소득세를 원천징수하지 않았고, 산업재해보상보험과 고용보험에는 가입하였으나 국민연금과 건강보험에는 가입하지 않은 사실 등 판시와 같은 사실을 인정한 다음, 이와 같이 소외 1은 근로소득세를 납부하지 아니하였고, 배달업무에 이용할 오토바이를 직접 제공하였으며, 배달을 거부하여도 별다른 제재를 받지 아니하였고, 대기시간에 개인적인 용무를 볼 수 있었다는 점만을 보면, 소외 1을 근로자에 해당되지 않는 것으로 볼 여지가 없는 것은 아니나, 이러한 사정은 소규모 사업장에서 비용을 절감하기 위한 것이거나 사업주로부터 지시가 있는 경우에만 오토바이에 소규모의 물건을 적재하여 배달을 수행하는 외근 업무의 특성에 기인한 것으로서 그러한 사정만으로 소외 1을 근로자가 아니라고 단정하기 어렵고, 오히려 소외 1은 사업주가 정한 출·퇴근시간에 따라 출·퇴근하면서 사업주의 지시에 따라 배달업무를 수행하였고, 원칙적으로 사업주의 배달지시를 거부할 수 없었으며, 근로서약서상 근무시간에 음주하면 해고하도록 되어 있고, 또 장기간 출근하지 않으면 해고되는 등 사업주의 지시와 감독을 받아 온 점, 소외 1은 고객으로부터 받은 배달 수수료를 퀵서비스에 전액 입금한 후 매월 1회 자신이 입금한 배달 수수료의 일부를 임금조로 지급받기로 되어 있었고, 매일 식비로 3,000원과 배달용 오토바이의 유류비 중 50%를 지급받아 온 점 등에 비추어 보면, 소외 1은 임금을 목적으로 종속적인 관계에서 사용자에게 근로를 제공한 근로자로 봄이 상당하다고 판단하였다.

앞서 본 법리와 기록에 의하여 살펴보면, 이러한 원심의 사실인정과 판단은 정당하고, 거기에 채증법칙을 위배하여 사실을 오인하거나 산업재해보상보험법 및 근로기준법에 정한 근로자에 관한 법리를 오해한 위법 등이 없다.

그러므로 상고를 기각하고, 상고비용은 패소자가 부담하도록 하여 관여 법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 윤재식(재판장) 변재승 강신욱 고현철(주심)

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2007구합2241 · 서울행법 2007-11-29
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits and Fu
#2
2022구합86617 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits and Fu
#3
2010구합833 · 춘천지방법원강릉지원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Compensation an
#4
2010구합578 · 의정부지방법원 0001-01-01
유족보상금등부지급처분취소
#5
2014구합51012 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
유족급여및장의비청구부지급처분취소

Cases citing this decision

2005다50034 · 대법원 2005-11-10
Wages (Foreign Industrial Trainee Case)
2005두524 · 대법원 2005-05-27
Revocation of Retrial Decision on Unfair Dismissal Remedy
2004나5882 · 대구지법 2005-04-20
Wages
2003가합6980 · 서울남부지법 2004-04-22
Action to Confirm Invalidity of Dismissal

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)