Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 88다카29177

Insurance Claim (Employee Traffic Accident During Work) Case보험금

Decided1989. 11. 14. Court대법원Insurance company won
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

An employee was injured in a traffic accident while performing work duties and received compensation through the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance (산업재해보상보험) system. The case addressed whether an exemption clause (면책조항) in the standard automobile insurance policy, which excluded coverage for employees, was valid. The Supreme Court (대법원) ruled in favor of the insurance company, holding that industrial accident insurance and automobile insurance are distinct types of insurance, so there was no double insurance (중복보험), and that the exemption clause for employees under the automobile insurance policy was valid.

Key takeaways
  • CaseAn employee was injured in a car accident while working and received industrial accident insurance benefits, then also sought compensation under the employer's automobile insurance.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court held that the automobile insurance's exemption clause for employees was valid, since industrial accident insurance and automobile insurance cover different risks and do not overlap.
  • LessonEmployees injured on the job should seek compensation primarily through industrial accident insurance (산업재해보상보험), as employer's automobile insurance may validly exclude employee claims under its standard terms.
Issues
  • Validity of the employee exemption clause (근로자 면책조항) in standard automobile comprehensive insurance policies
  • Whether industrial accident compensation insurance and automobile insurance constitute double insurance (중복보험)
  • The binding effect of standard insurance policy terms (보통보험약관) on insured parties
Key reasoning

The Court reasoned that industrial accident compensation insurance and comprehensive automobile insurance have different insurance purposes and cover different types of insured events, meaning they do not constitute double insurance under the law. Because the two insurance schemes serve separate functions, an employee injured on the job should be compensated through industrial accident insurance rather than through the employer's automobile insurance. The exemption clause in the automobile insurance policy (자동차보험 면책조항), which excludes employees from coverage, reflects this intended division of responsibility between the two insurance systems arising from the employment relationship. Therefore, the Court found the clause to be a valid and enforceable part of the standard insurance policy (보통보험약관).

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

[1] The provision in the standard clauses of comprehensive automobile insurance (자동차종합보험보통약관), which lists as one of the grounds for the insurer's exemption from liability for bodily injury liability insurance (대인배상) the case where the victim is an employee of the insured who bears liability for compensation and is a person entitled to receive accident compensation under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법), should be reasonably construed as intending to exclude from the scope of bodily injury liability coverage under automobile insurance—whose purpose is to cover liability for compensation owed to third parties—losses arising from occupational accidents occurring in labor relations, on the ground that such losses are to be compensated through industrial accident compensation insurance (산업재해보상보험). Such an exemption clause cannot be deemed a provision that changes the grounds for exemption set forth in Article 659 of the Commercial Act (상법) in a manner disadvantageous to the policyholder.

[2] Industrial accident compensation insurance and comprehensive automobile insurance (bodily injury liability insurance) cannot be regarded as having the same insurance purpose and the same insured event; therefore, even if an employer has subscribed to both of these insurances together, this does not constitute double insurance as provided in Article 672 of the Commercial Act (상법), which refers to a case where multiple insurance contracts are concluded for the same purpose and the same accident.

[3] The reason standard insurance clauses (보통보험약관) have binding force on the parties to a contract is not because the clauses themselves constitute a legal norm or have the nature of a legal norm, but because the parties to the insurance contract have agreed to incorporate them into the content of the contract. Accordingly, where a policyholder has personally drawn up an insurance contract document that incorporates the standard clauses into the content of the contract, the policyholder cannot be released from the binding force of the clauses on the ground that he or she did not carefully examine the content of the clauses or did not hear an explanation from the insurer and was therefore unaware of it, unless the content of the clauses is not indicated in the manner generally expected, or unless the content is so material as to specifically require an explanation from the insurer.

Full text (English, AI translation) 5,955 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellant] Seoul Piston Co., Ltd., Attorney Kim Kyo-chang
[Defendant, Appellee] Dongyang Fire & Marine Insurance Co., Ltd., Attorney Yoo Kyung-hee and 3 others of Hanmi Joint Law Office

[Court Below]

Seoul High Court Judgment 88Na4180, decided October 12, 1988

[Order]

The appeal is dismissed.
The costs of the appeal shall be borne by the plaintiff.

[Reasoning]

The Court examines the grounds of appeal submitted by the plaintiff's attorney.

1. Under Article 2, Paragraph 2, Item 4 of the Standard Terms and Conditions of Comprehensive Automobile Insurance (자동차종합보험보통약관) applicable to this case, one of the grounds for the insurer's exemption from liability regarding bodily injury liability coverage is where the victim is an employee of the insured who bears liability for compensation and is a person eligible to receive disaster compensation under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법). With respect to damages arising from industrial accidents occurring within the employer-employee relationship, the Labor Standards Act, which governs labor relations, provides for various compensation obligations of the employer, while the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) establishes the industrial accident compensation insurance system to secure such compensation obligations. Therefore, it is reasonable to interpret the above exemption clause as intending to exclude, from the scope of bodily injury liability coverage under automobile insurance—whose purpose is to cover liability for compensation to third parties—accident compensation arising from labor relations, which is to be compensated through industrial accident compensation insurance instead. Such an exemption clause cannot be regarded as a provision that changes the grounds for exemption under Article 659 of the Commercial Act (상법) in a manner disadvantageous to the policyholder.

According to the reasoning of the judgment below, the court below found that the victim of this accident, non-party Choi Byung-gu, was an employee of the plaintiff company, the insured, and that he received disability compensation, temporary disability compensation, nursing expenses, medical expenses, wheelchair costs, etc. from the Suwon Regional Office of the Ministry of Labor under the industrial accident compensation insurance in which the plaintiff was enrolled. The court below then rejected the plaintiff's claim for insurance proceeds in this case on the ground that the above Choi Byung-gu was a victim falling under the exemption clause for bodily injury liability coverage under the above Standard Terms and Conditions of Comprehensive Automobile Insurance. Such a measure by the court below is justified, and there is no illegality in misconstruing the legal principles of insurance contracts or the interpretation of standard insurance terms, as argued in the grounds of appeal. Therefore, this ground of appeal is without merit. (Although the judgment below also determined that this accident falls under a self-inflicted accident (자손사고) under the above insurance terms, this is merely a supplementary determination that does not affect the conclusion of the judgment, and thus the argument on this point is also not to be accepted.)

In addition, the appellant argues that the above exemption clause conflicts with Article 672 of the Commercial Act, which provides that in the case of overlapping insurance (중복보험), the insurer is exempted from liability only to the extent of the overlap, and that therefore the clause is a special agreement disadvantageous to the policyholder and thus invalid. However, overlapping insurance under Article 672 of the Commercial Act refers to a case where multiple insurance contracts are concluded with respect to the same object and the same accident. Since industrial accident compensation insurance and comprehensive automobile insurance (bodily injury liability insurance) cannot be regarded as having the same insured object and insured accident, even if the employer is simultaneously enrolled in both industrial accident compensation insurance and comprehensive automobile insurance, this cannot be deemed to constitute overlapping insurance under Article 672 of the Commercial Act. Therefore, this argument is also without merit.

2. The reason why standard insurance terms are binding upon the parties to a contract is not because the terms themselves constitute a legal norm or have the nature of a legal norm, but because the parties to the insurance contract have agreed to incorporate them into the content of the contract (see this Court's Judgment 84Daka2543, decided October 14, 1985; Judgment 84Daka122, decided November 26, 1986). In general, where a policyholder has personally prepared an insurance contract document incorporating the standard insurance terms into the content of the contract, the policyholder cannot escape the binding force of the terms on the ground that he did not carefully examine the content of the terms or did not hear an explanation from the insurer and thus did not know of them, unless the content of the terms is not indicated in a manner generally expected, or unless the content is of such importance as to particularly require an explanation from the insurance business operator.

Upon examination of the record, the measure recognizing the binding force of the exemption clause in this case is acceptable, and the argument that it is invalid as being contrary to the principle of good faith or invalid as violating the purport of the Act on the Regulation of Terms and Conditions (약관의 규제에 관한 법률) is merely an independent criticism of the judgment below and is without merit.

3. Therefore, the appeal is dismissed, and the costs of the appeal are to be borne by the losing party. This judgment is rendered as set forth in the Order by the unanimous opinion of the participating Justices.

Justice Kim Sang-won (Presiding Justice), Lee Hoi-chang, Bae Seok, Kim Ju-han

【판결요지】

가. 피해자가 배상책임있는 피보험자의 고용인으로서 근로기준법에 의한 재해보상을 받을 수 있는 사람인 경우를 대인배상에 관한 보험회사의 면책사유의 하나로 들고 있는 자동차종합보험보통약관의 규정은 노사관계에서 발생한 업무상 재해로 인한 손해에 대하여는 산업재해보상보험에 의하여 전보받도록 하고 제3자에 대한 배상책임을 전보하는 것을 목적으로 한 자동차보험의 대인배상범위에서는 이를 제외한 취지라고 보는 것이 타당하며, 위와 같은 면책조항이 상법 제659조에 규정된 면책사유보다 보험계약자에게 불이익하게 변경한 규정이라고 볼 수 없다.

나. 산업재해보상보험과 자동차종합보험(대인배상보험)은 보험의 목적과 보험사고가 동일하다고 볼 수 없는 것이어서 사용자가 위 보험들에 함께 가입하였다고 하여도 동일한 목적과 동일한 사고에 관하여 수개의 보험계약이 체결된 경우를 말하는 상법 제672조 소정의 중복보험에 해당한다고 할 수 없다.

다. 보통보험약관이 계약당사자에 대하여 구속력을 가지는 것은 그 자체가 법규범 또는 법규범적 성질을 가진 약관이기 때문이 아니라 보험계약 당사자 사이에서 계약내용에 포함시키기로 합의하였기 때문이라고 볼 것인 바, 일반적으로 보험계약자가 보통보험약관을 계약내용에 포함시킨 보험계약서를 스스로 작성한 이상 그 약관의 내용이 일반적으로 예상되는 방법으로 명시되어 있지 않다든가 또는 중요한 내용이어서 특히 보험업자의 설명을 요하는 것이 아닌 한 보험계약자가 위 약관내용을 자세히 살펴보지 아니하거나 보험업자의 설명을 듣지 아니하여 알지 못한다는 이유로 약관의 구속력에서 벗어날 수 없다.

【참조조문】

가. 상법 제659조, 산업재해보상보험법 제1조, 제4조 / 나. 상법 제672조 / 다. 제638조

【참조판례】

다. 대법원 1985.11.26 선고 84다카2543 판결, 1986.10.14 선고 84다카122 판결

【주문】·【이유】 전문 2,106자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 상고인】 주식회사 서울피스톤 소송대리인 변호사 김교창

【피고, 피상고인】 동양화재해상보험주식회사 소송대리인 법무법인 한미합동법률사무소 담당변호사 유경희 외 3인

【원심판결】 서울고등법원 1988.10.12. 선고 88나4180 판결

【주 문】

상고를 기각한다.

상고비용은 원고의 부담으로 한다.

【이 유】 원고 소송대리인의 상고이유를 본다.

1. 이 사건에 적용할 자동차종합보험보통약관 제2조 제2항 제4호의 규정에 의하면 대인배상에 관한 보험회사의 면책사유의 하나로 피해자가 배상책임있는 피보험자의 고용인으로서 근로기준법에 의한 재해보상을 받을 수 있는 사람인 경우를 들고있는 바, 사용자와 근로자의 노사관계에서 발생한 업무상 재해로 인한 손해에 대하여는 노사관계를 규율하는 근로기준법에서 사용자의 각종 보상책임을 규정하는 한편 이러한 보상책임을 담보하기 위하여 산업재해보상보험법으로 산업재해보상보험제도를 설정하고 있으므로, 위 면책조항은 노사관계에서 발생하는 재해보상에 대하여는 산업재해보상보험에 의하여 전보받도록 하고 제3자에 대한 배상책임을 전보하는 것을 목적으로 한 자동차보험의 대인배상범위에서는 이를 제외한 취지라고 보는 것이 타당하며, 위와 같은 면책조항이 상법 제659조에 규정된 면책사유보다 보험계약자에게 불이익하게 면책사유를 변경한 규정이라고 볼 수는 없다.

원심판결 이유에 의하면, 원심은 이 사건 사고의 피해자인 소외 최 병구는 피보험자인 원고 회사의 종업원으로서 원고가 가입한 산업재해보상보험에 의하여 노동부 수원지방사무소로부터 장해보상금, 휴업보상금과 개호비, 치료비, 휠채어대금 등을 수령한 사실을 인정한 다음 위 최 병구는 위 자동차종합보험보통약관상 대인배상의 면책조항에 해당하는 피해자라는 이유로 원고의 이 사건 보험금청구를 배척하였는 바, 이러한 원심조치는 정당하고 소론과 같이 보험계약의 법리 및 보통보험약관의 해석을 그르친 위법이 없으므로 논지는 이유없다(원심판결은 이 사건 사고는 위 보험약관상 자손사고에 해당한다고 판단하고 있으나 이는 부가적 판단에 불과하여 판결 결론에 영향이 없으므로 이 점에 관한 논지도 받아들일 것이 못된다).

이 밖에 논지는 위와 같은 면책조항은 중복보험의 경우에 중복되는 범위내에서만 부담을 면하도록 규정한 상법 제672조에 저촉되는것으로서 보험계약자에게 불리한 특약이므로 무효라고 주장하나, 상법 제672조의 중복보험은 동일한 목적과 동일한 사고에 관하여 수개의 보험계약이 체결된 경우를 말하는 것인 바, 산업재해보상보험과 자동차종합보험(대인배상보험)은 보험의 목적과 보험사고가 동일하다고 볼 수 없는 것이어서 사용자가 산업재해보상보험과 자동차종합보험에 함께 가입하였다고 하여도 상법 제672조 소정의 중복보험에 해당한다고 할 수 없으므로 위 논지도 이유없다.

2. 보통보험약관이 계약당사자에 대하여 구속력을 가지는 것은 그 자체가 법규범 또는 법규범적 성질을 가진 약관이기 때문이 아니라 보험계약당사자사이에서 계약내용에 포함시키기로 합의하였기 때문이라고 볼 것인 바( 당원 1985.10.14. 선고 84다카2543 판결; 1986.11.26. 선고. 84다카122 판결 각 참조), 일반적으로 보험계약자가 보통보험약관을 계약내용에 포함시킨 보험계약서를 스스로 작성한 이상 그 약관의 내용이 일반적으로 예상되는 방법으로 명시되어 있지 않다든가 또는 중요한 내용이어서 특히 보험업자의 설명을 요하는 것이 아닌 한 보험계약자가 위 약관내용을 자세히 살펴보지 아니하거나 보험업자의 설명을 듣지 아니하여 알지 못한다는 이유로 약관의 구속력에서 벗어날 수 없다고 할 것이다.

기록에 의하여 살펴보면, 이 사건 면책조항의 구속력을 인정한 조치에 수긍이 가고 그것이 신의성실의 원칙에 반하여 무효라든가 또는 약관의 규제에 관한 법률의 취지에 위배되어 무효라고 주장하는 논지는 독자적인 견지에서 원심판단을 탓하는 것에 불과하여 이유없다.

3. 그러므로 상고를 기각하고, 상고비용은 패소자의 부담으로 하여 관여법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 김상원(재판장) 이회창 배석 김주한

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
95다39540 · 대법원 1995-11-24
Insurance Benefits
#2
93다5192 · 대법원 1993-06-08
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
#3
2000다19021 · 대법원 2000-09-29
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
#4
98다63773 · 대법원 1999-03-23
Insurance Benefits
#5
93다58622 · 대법원 1994-03-11
Insurance Claim Case (보험금 – Bohyumgeum)

Cases citing this decision

2000다19021 · 대법원 2000-09-29
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
99다68027 · 대법원 2000-04-25
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
93다23107 · 대법원 1993-11-09
Insurance Proceeds Case (보험금)
91다6634 · 대법원 1991-05-14
Insurance Benefits
89다카24070 · 대법원 1990-04-27
Insurance Claim (보험금) Case

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)