Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 89다카24070

Insurance Claim (보험금) Case보험금

Decided1990. 04. 27. Court대법원Insurance company (defendant) won
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

This case involved an auto insurance policy where a worker died in a work-related accident. The insurance company refused to pay out insurance benefits based on an exemption clause (면책조항) that excluded coverage for individuals eligible to receive workers' compensation under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법). The Supreme Court of Korea (대법원) ruled that this exemption clause was valid, resulting in a victory for the insurance company.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA worker died in a work-related traffic accident, and a claim was filed under the employer's auto insurance policy.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court upheld the insurer's refusal to pay, ruling that the exemption clause excluding workers eligible for industrial accident compensation was valid.
  • LessonForeign workers should understand that work-related injuries in Korea are primarily covered by Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance (산재보험), not by an employer's general auto insurance policy.
Issues
  • Validity of the exemption clause in standard comprehensive auto insurance terms (자동차종합보험약관)
  • Whether an insurance company can be exempted from liability toward persons eligible for workers' compensation under the Labor Standards Act
  • Requirements for standard insurance terms (약관) to be legally binding on policyholders
Key reasoning

The Court reasoned that work-related injuries suffered by employees are meant to be compensated through the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance system (산업재해보상보험), which is specifically designed for that purpose. In contrast, auto insurance policies are primarily intended to cover liability toward third parties, not employees injured in the course of employment. Given this distinction in purpose, the Court found it reasonable for the insurance policy to include a clause exempting the insurer from liability for injuries arising out of an employment relationship. Therefore, the standard insurance terms (약관) containing this exemption clause were deemed valid and enforceable.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

a. General insurance policy terms and conditions (普通保險約款) bind the parties to a contract not because they themselves constitute a legal norm or have the nature of a legal norm, but because the parties to the insurance contract have agreed to incorporate them into the content of the contract. Accordingly, where an insurance contract document incorporating the general insurance terms into the content of the contract has been prepared between the parties, the binding force of such terms cannot, in principle, be excluded even if the policyholder was unaware of their content. However, where the parties have expressly agreed otherwise with respect to the terms, or where the content of the terms is not disclosed in the manner generally expected, or where, being an important matter, it particularly requires explanation by the insurer, the binding force of such terms is excluded.

b. The provision of the comprehensive automobile insurance policy terms and conditions (自動車綜合保險約款), which lists as one of the grounds for the insurance company's exemption from liability regarding bodily injury liability coverage (對人賠償) the case where the injured party is an employee of the insured who bears liability for damages and is a person entitled to receive accident compensation under the Labor Standards Act (勤勞基準法), should reasonably be construed as intending to exclude from the scope of bodily injury liability coverage under automobile insurance—whose purpose is to cover liability for damages owed to third parties—compensation for accidents arising in the employment relationship, which is instead to be covered by industrial accident compensation insurance (産業災害補償保險). Such an exemption clause cannot be regarded as violating Article 663 of the Commercial Act (商法) by altering the grounds for the insurer's exemption from liability under Article 659 of the Commercial Act in a manner disadvantageous to the policyholder or the insured.

c. The exemption clause of the comprehensive automobile insurance policy terms and conditions referred to in the preceding paragraph does not fall under "a clause that, without reasonable grounds, limits the scope of the business operator's (i.e., the insurance company's) liability for damages or transfers to the customer risks that the business operator should bear" as provided in Article 7, Item 2 of the Act on the Regulation of Terms and Conditions (約款의規制에관한法律), and therefore it cannot be held invalid.

Full text (English, AI translation) 6,431 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellee] Daekwang Electric Co., Ltd.
[Defendant, Appellant] Dongyang Fire & Marine Insurance Co., Ltd., Litigation Counsel Attorney Yoo Jae-bang
[Lower Court Judgment] Busan High Court Judgment 89Na978, decided July 19, 1989

[Order]

The part of the lower court judgment against the Defendant is reversed, and this part of the case is remanded to the Busan High Court.

[Reasoning]

1. As to the first ground of appeal.

The reason why standard insurance policy terms and conditions (bogeom-yakgwan) are binding upon the parties to a contract is not because they themselves constitute a legal norm or terms having the nature of a legal norm, but because the parties to the insurance contract agreed to incorporate them into the content of the contract. In general, where an insurance contract document incorporating the standard policy terms into the content of the contract has been prepared between the parties, the binding force of such terms cannot be excluded merely because the policyholder did not know their content; this is the principle. However, where the parties have expressly agreed otherwise with respect to the terms, the binding force of such terms is excluded (see this Court's Decisions 84Daka2543, decided November 26, 1985; 84Daka122, decided October 14, 1986; and 88Daka29177, decided November 14, 1989, respectively). Furthermore, where the content of the terms is not disclosed in a manner generally expected, or where, being an important matter, it particularly requires explanation by the insurer, the binding force of such terms must likewise be deemed excluded (see this Court's Decision 88Daka29177, decided November 24, 1989).

According to the facts lawfully established by the lower court, it is clear that the Plaintiff and Defendant, the parties to the insurance contract in this case, themselves prepared the insurance contract document incorporating the Defendant company's Comprehensive Automobile Insurance Standard Terms and Conditions into the content of the contract, and that the Plaintiff even paid the premium to the Defendant. In this case, it is difficult to find that the content of the exemption clause under Article 10, Paragraph 2, Item 4 of the said terms was not disclosed in a manner generally expected (for example, printed in extremely small type or placed where it would not easily catch the eye), or that it was of such importance as to require explanation by the insurer (the said exemption clause being a general and common provision in comprehensive automobile insurance standard terms). Therefore, the Plaintiff, as the policyholder, cannot be released from the binding force of the said terms merely on the ground that it did not carefully examine the content of the terms or did not hear an explanation from the insurer and thus did not know of it.

However, it is clear from the reasoning set forth in the lower court's judgment that the lower court, premised on the binding force of the said terms upon the Plaintiff and Defendant as parties to the insurance contract, proceeded to determine the validity of the exemption clause. Therefore, the argument that the lower court misunderstood the legal principles concerning the binding force of the Comprehensive Automobile Insurance Standard Terms and Conditions, thereby affecting the judgment, is without merit.

2. As to the second ground of appeal.

According to Article 10, Paragraph 2, Item 4 of the Defendant company's Comprehensive Automobile Insurance Standard Terms and Conditions applicable to this case, one of the grounds for the insurer's exemption from liability with respect to bodily injury liability coverage is where the victim is an employee of the insured who bears liability for damages and is a person entitled to receive accident compensation under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법). With respect to damages arising from occupational accidents occurring in the employment relationship between an employer and an employee, the Labor Standards Act, which governs labor relations, provides for various compensation liabilities of the employer, while the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) establishes an industrial accident compensation insurance system to secure such compensation liabilities. Accordingly, it is reasonable to interpret the said exemption clause as intending that accident compensation arising in the employment relationship be indemnified through industrial accident compensation insurance, and that such compensation be excluded from the scope of bodily injury liability coverage under automobile insurance, which is aimed at indemnifying liability for damages owed to third parties. Such an exemption clause cannot be deemed to violate Article 663 of the Commercial Act (상법) by altering the grounds for the insurer's exemption under Article 659 of the Commercial Act in a manner disadvantageous to the policyholder or the insured (see the aforementioned Decision 88Daka29177, decided November 14, 1989), nor does it fall under a "clause that, without reasonable grounds, limits the scope of the business operator's (i.e., the insurance company's) liability for damages or transfers to the customer risks that the business operator should bear" as set forth in Article 7, Item 2 of the Act on the Regulation of Terms and Conditions (약관의규제에관한법률). Therefore, it cannot be held invalid.

Thus, although Article 10, Paragraph 2, Item 4 of the said Comprehensive Automobile Insurance Standard Terms and Conditions is valid, the lower court, taking a different view, held that the said exemption clause was invalid and, on that basis, granted the Plaintiff's claim for insurance proceeds in this case as set forth in its judgment. Accordingly, the lower court's judgment contains an error of misunderstanding the legal principles concerning the said terms and conditions, which affected the judgment, and the argument is well-founded, this constituting a ground for reversal under Article 12, Paragraph 2 of the Act on Special Cases Concerning the Expedition of Legal Proceedings (소송촉진등에관한특례법).

3. Therefore, the part of the lower court's judgment against the Defendant is reversed, and this part of the case is remanded to the lower court, this judgment being rendered as set forth in the Order by the unanimous opinion of the Justices involved.

Supreme Court Justice Lee Hoi-chang (Presiding Justice), Justices Bae Seok, Kim Sang-won, Kim Ju-han

【판결요지】

가. 보통보험약관이 계약당사자에 대하여 구속력을 가지는 것은 그 자체가 법규범 또는 법규범적 성질을 가진 약관이기 때문이 아니라 보험계약 당사자 사이에서 계약내용에 포함시키기로 합의하였기 때문이라고 볼 것인바, 일반적으로 당사자 사이에서 보통 보험약관을 계약내용에 포함시킨 보험계약서가 작성된 경우에는 계약자가 그 보험약관의 내용을 알지 못하는 경우에도 그 약관의 구속력을 배제할 수 없는 것이 원칙이나 다만 당사자 사이에서 명시적으로 약관에 관하여 달리 약정한 경우 또는 약관의 내용이 일반적으로 예상되는 방법으로 명시되어 있지 않다든가 또는 중요한 내용이어서 특히 보험업자의 설명을 요하는 경우에는 위 약관의 구속력은 배제된다.

나. 대인배상에 관한 보험회사의 면책사유의 하나로 피해자가 배상책임 있는 피보험자의 피용자로서 근로기준법에 의한 재해보상을 받을 수 있는 사람인 경우를 들고있는 자동차종합보험약관의 규정은 노사관계에서 발생하는 재해보상에 대하여는 산업재해보상보험에 의하여 전보받도록 하고 제 3 자에 대한 배상책임을 전보하는 것을 목적으로 한 자동차보험의 대인배상범위에서는 이를 제외한 취지라고 보는 것이 타당하며, 위와 같은 면책조항이 상법 제659조 소정의 보험자의 면책사유보다 보험계약자 또는 피보험자에게 불이익하게 면책사유를 변경함으로써 같은 법 제663조에 위반된다고 볼 수 없다.

다. 전항의 자동차종합보험약관의 면책조항이 약관의규제에관한법률 제7조 제2호 소정의 "상당한 이유없이 사업자(즉 보험회사)의 손해배상범위를 제한하거나 사업자가 부담하여야 할 위험을 고객에게 이전시키는 조항"에도 해당되지 아니하므로 이를 무효라고 할 수 없다.

【참조조문】

가.상법 제638조 / 나. 상법 제659조, 제663조, 산업재해보상보험법 제1조, 제4조 / 다. 약관의규제에관한법률 제7조 제2호

【참조판례】

가. 대법원 1985.11.26. 선고 84다카2543 판결(공1986,108), 1986.10.14. 선고 84다카122 판결(공1986,3028), 1989.11.14. 선고 88다카29177 판결(공1990,29) / 나. 대법원 1989.11.14. 선고 88다카29177 판결(공1990,29)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 2,248자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 피상고인】 주식회사 대광전기

【피고, 상고인】 동양화재해상보험 주식회사 소송대리인 변호사 유재방

【원심판결】 부산고등법원 1989.7.19. 선고 89나978 판결

【주 문】

원심판결중 피고 패소부분을 파기하고, 이 부분 사건을 부산고등법원에 환송한다.

【이 유】 1. 상고이유 제 1 점을 본다.

보통보험약관이 계약당사자에 대하여 구속력을 가지는 것은 그 자체가 법규범 또는 법규범적 성질을 가진 약관이기 때문이 아니라 보험계약당사자 사이에서 계약내용에 포함시키기로 합의하였기 때문이라고 볼 것인 바, 일반적으로 당사자 사이에서 보통보험약관을 계약내용에 포함시킨 보험계약서가 작성된 경우에는 계약자가 그 보험약관의 내용을 알지 못하는 경우에는 그 약관의 구속력을 배제할 수 없는 것이 원칙이나 다만 당사자 사이에서 명시적으로 약관에 관하여 달리 약정한 경우에는 위 약관의 구속력은 배제된다 할 것이고(당원 1985.11.26. 선고 84다카2543 판결 ;1986.10.14. 선고 84다카122 판결 ;1989.11.14. 선고 88다카29177 판결 각 참조), 약관의 내용이 일반적으로 예상되는 방법으로 명시되어 있지 않다든가 또는 중요한 내용이어서 특히 보험업자의 설명을 요하는 경우에는 위 약관의 구속력은 배제된다고 보아야 할 것이다(위 당원 1989.11.24. 선고 88다카29177 판결 참조).

원심이 적법하게 확정한 사실에 의하면, 이 사건 보험계약의 당사자인 원·피고는 피고 회사의 자동차종합보험보통약관을 계약내용에 포함시킨 보험계약서를 스스로 작성하고 원고가 피고에게 보험료까지 지급하였음이 분명한 바, 위 약관 제10조 제2항 제4호의 면책규정의 내용이 일반적으로 예상되는 방법으로 명시되어 있지 않다든가 (예컨대, 아주 작은 활자로 인쇄되어 있거나 눈에 잘 띄지 않는 곳에 기재되어 있는 경우) 또는 보험업자의 설명을 요할 정도의 중요한 것이라고 보기 어려운 이 사건에 있어서 (위 면책조항은 자동차종합보험보통약관에 있어서 일반적이고 공통되는 규정이다), 보험계약자인 원고가 위 약관내용을 자세히 살펴보지 아니하거나 보험업자의 설명을 듣지 아니하여 알지 못한다는 이유로 위 약관의 구속력에서 벗어날 수 없다고 할 것이다.

그런데 원심판결은 위 약관이 보험계약당사자인 원·피고에 대하여 구속력이 있음을 전제로 나아가 면책조항의 유효여부에 관하여 판단하고 있음이 그 판시이유에서 명백하므로 원심판결이 자동차종합보험보통약관의 구속력에 관한 법리를 오해하여 판결에 영향을 미쳤다는 논지는 이유없다.

2. 상고이유 제 2 점을 본다.

이 사건에 적용될 피고 회사의 자동차종합보험보통약관 제10조 제2항 제4호의 규정에 의하면, 대인배상에 관한 보험회사의 면책사유의 하나로 피해자가 배상책임 있는 피보험자의 피용자로서 근로기준법에 의한 재해보상을 받을 수 있는 사람인 경우를 들고 있는 바, 사용자와 근로자의 노사관계에서 발생한 업무상 재해로 인한 손해에 대하여는 노사관계를 규율하는 근로기준법에서 사용자의 각종 보상책임을 규정하는 한편 이러한 보상책임을 담보하기 위하여 산업재해보상보험법으로 산업재해보상보험제도를 설정하고 있으므로 위 면책조항은 노사관계에서 발생하는 재해보상에 대하여는 산업재해보상보험에 의하여 전보받도록 하고 제3자에 대한 배상책임을 전보하는 것을 목적으로 한 자동차보험의 대인배상범위에서는 이를 제외한 취지라고 보는 것이 타당하며, 위와 같은 면책조항이 상법 제659조 소정의 보험자의 면책사유보다 보험계약자 또는 피보험자에게 불이익하게 면책사유를 변경함으로써 같은 법 제663조에 위반된다고 볼 수 없으며(위 1989.11.14. 선고 88다카29177 판결 참조), 약관의규제에관한법률 제7조 제2호 소정의 "상당한 이유없이 사업자(즉 보험회사)의 손해배상범위를 제한하거나 사업자가 부담하여야 할 위험을 고객에게 이전시키는 조항"에도 해당되지 아니하므로 이를 무효라고 할 수 없다.

이와 같이 위 자동차종합보험보통약관 제10조 제2항 제4호는 유효한 것임에도 불구하고, 원심판결은 이와 취지를 달리하여 위 면책약관이 무효라고 판시한 다음 원고의 이 사건 보험금청구를 설시와 같이 인용하였으니 원심판결에는 결국 판결에 영향을 미친 위 약관에 관한 법리오해의 위법이 있다 할 것이므로 논지는 이유있고, 이는 소송촉진등에관한 특례법 제12조 제2항의 파기사유에 해당한다.

3. 그러므로 원심판결중 피고의 패소부분을 파기하고, 이 부분 사건을 원심법원에 환송하기로 하여 관여 법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 이회창(재판장) 배석 김상원 김주한

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
95다39540 · 대법원 1995-11-24
Insurance Benefits
#2
93다5192 · 대법원 1993-06-08
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
#3
2007가단349262 · 서울중앙지방법원 2008-11-21
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
#4
93다23107 · 대법원 1993-11-09
Insurance Proceeds Case (보험금)
#5
85다카2429 · 대법원 1986-04-08
Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)

Cases citing this decision

99다68027 · 대법원 2000-04-25
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
91다38297 · 대법원 1992-08-18
Insurance Benefits
90다카25499 · 대법원 1992-01-21
Confirmation of Non-Existence of Insurance Payment Obligatio
91다6634 · 대법원 1991-05-14
Insurance Benefits
90다카26553 · 대법원 1990-12-11
Insurance Benefits

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)