Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 93다23107

Insurance Proceeds Case (보험금)보험금

Decided1993. 11. 09. Court대법원Insurance company won
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

An employee died in a traffic accident while traveling to a business trip destination during new employee training. Although the death was recognized as a work-related accident (업무상 재해), the auto insurance company denied payment of insurance proceeds by invoking an exemption clause. The Supreme Court ruled in favor of the insurance company.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA new employee died in a car accident while traveling to a training-related business trip location.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court found this a work-related accident but ruled the auto insurer was exempt from payment because industrial accident compensation covered the loss instead.
  • LessonEmployers and insurers should understand that auto insurance exemption clauses are designed to prevent double coverage when a workplace accident is already compensable under industrial accident insurance.
Issues
  • Whether an accident occurring during a business trip constitutes a work-related accident (업무상 재해)
  • Whether the auto insurance exemption clause applies when the injured party is eligible for accident compensation under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법)
Key reasoning

During a business trip, unless there are special circumstances, the employee is considered to be under the employer's control, and thus the accident qualifies as 'performance of duties' (업무수행성) for purposes of work-related injury recognition. However, the exemption clause in the auto insurance policy was intended to exclude labor-relations-based accidents from the scope of third-party liability coverage, on the premise that such accidents should instead be compensated through Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance (산업재해보상보험). Therefore, since the deceased's family could receive compensation under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법) and industrial accident insurance, the insurance company's exemption clause was held valid, and the company was not liable to pay the auto insurance proceeds.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

[1] Where an employee is on a business trip away from the workplace, the employee is comprehensively under the responsibility of the business owner with respect to the nature and manner of performance of the assigned task, and therefore, absent special circumstances, the entire process of the business trip may be said to be under the control of the business owner, and thus the performance of duties may be recognized. However, only where the act during the business trip is not an act falling within the scope naturally or ordinarily incidental to the business trip, but is an arbitrary act or a private act, can the performance of duties not be recognized, and an accident occurring in connection with such an act cannot be recognized as having occasioned from the performance of duties, and thus cannot be regarded as an occupational accident.

[2] In a comprehensive automobile insurance contract's bodily injury liability insurance contract, where the victim of the accident is an employee of the insured who bears liability for compensation and is a person who may receive accident compensation under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법), the exemption clause under the general terms and conditions of comprehensive automobile insurance, which provides that the insurer shall not compensate for the loss suffered by the insured due to such accident, has its purport in principle in having accident compensation arising in labor relations be covered by industrial accident compensation insurance, and in excluding such compensation from the scope of bodily injury liability coverage of automobile insurance, which is intended to cover liability for damages owed to third parties. Accordingly, where the victim is a person who may receive accident compensation under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법), the insurer is not liable to compensate the insured pursuant to the above exemption clause.

Full text (English, AI translation) 6,170 chars

[Plaintiffs, Appellants] Plaintiff 1 and 4 others, Counsel Attorney So Jung-yeong
[Defendant, Appellee] Hyundai Marine & Fire Insurance Co., Ltd., Counsel Attorney Lee Ki-chang
[Judgment Below] Seoul High Court Decision 92Na40787, decided April 2, 1993

[Order]

All appeals are dismissed.
The costs of appeal are to be borne by the Plaintiffs.

[Reasoning]

We examine the grounds of appeal.

Upon examining the record in light of the evidence adopted by the court below, the fact-finding of the court below can be accepted, namely: that the deceased Nonparty 1 was hired as an employee of World-Tex Co., Ltd. (hereinafter "Nonparty Company") on August 13, 1991 and entered into an employment contract; that during the two-month probationary period under its employment rules, while receiving basic training planned and conducted by the Nonparty Company together with other newly hired employees Nonparty 2, Nonparty 3, and Nonparty 4, he was, on August 20 of the same year, in accordance with the schedule of the basic training plan, on his way to Jinju City to receive on-site observation and practical training at the Dongnam Silk Weaving Factory located in Jinju City, riding in the vehicle at issue provided by the Nonparty Company, led by Nonparty 5, the head of the trade department, together with all of the trainees, when, due to the negligent driving of Nonparty 2, who was temporarily taking a turn at driving, the vehicle overturned and caught fire, resulting in the accident at issue. The lower court's disposition rejecting the Plaintiffs' assertion that, at the time, the Nonparty Company had not instructed that the trainees be transported by a vehicle provided by it under the leadership of the department head, but rather that Nonparty 5, who happened to be leaving on a business trip to Jinju for other matters, allowed the deceased and others to ride along as a convenience, can likewise be accepted. There is no illegality therein, such as a failure to exhaust the deliberation required or a violation of the rules of evidence, as argued in the grounds of appeal.

2. An occupational injury under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법) or the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) refers to an injury arising in the course of, and caused by, the performance of one's duties. Where an employee is away from the workplace on a business trip, the employer bears comprehensive responsibility for the success or failure of the errand and the manner in which it is carried out; therefore, absent special circumstances, it can be said that the employee is, in principle, under the employer's control throughout the entire process of the business trip, and thus the performance-of-duties nature of the trip may be recognized. However, only where an act during the business trip is not an act falling within the scope naturally or ordinarily incidental to the business trip, but is instead an arbitrary or private act, can the performance-of-duties nature not be recognized; and an injury occurring in connection with such an act cannot be found to have arisen from the performance of duties, and thus cannot be regarded as an occupational injury (see Supreme Court Decision 84Nu403, decided December 24, 1985).

Accordingly, in this case, the act of the deceased and others moving to the training site in order to receive on-site observation and practical training was naturally incidental to the performance of the duty of undergoing such observation and training, and the fact that all of the trainees used a vehicle provided by the company, under the leadership of the head of the trade department, who was a senior executive and department superior of the Nonparty Company, indicates that they were under the control and management of the company. Therefore, it is reasonable to view the accident that occurred during that movement as an injury arising in the course of, and caused by, the performance of the duties of the Nonparty Company.

Accordingly, the court below's determination, in the same vein, that the deceased was a person entitled to receive accident compensation under the Labor Standards Act, is also justified.

The argument is that the deceased's act of riding along in the accident vehicle was purely arbitrary and for private convenience, and thus an act departing from the performance of duties; however, this cannot be accepted.

3. In a bodily injury liability insurance contract under a comprehensive automobile insurance policy, where the victim of the accident is an employee of the insured who bears liability for compensation and is a person entitled to receive accident compensation under the Labor Standards Act, the exemption clause under the general terms and conditions of comprehensive automobile insurance, which provides that the insurer shall not compensate the insured for damages incurred as a result of such accident, is intended to exclude, from the scope of bodily injury liability coverage under automobile insurance—whose purpose is to fully cover liability for damages owed to third parties—injury compensation arising from labor relations, which is, in principle, to be compensated through industrial accident compensation insurance (see Supreme Court Decision 90Daka25499, decided January 21, 1992). Therefore, where the victim is a person entitled to receive accident compensation under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보장법), the insurer is not liable to compensate the insured pursuant to the above exemption clause.

The argument is that, in such a case, the insurer should compensate for the portion of the damages suffered by the victim that is not covered under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act; however, this cannot be accepted (see Supreme Court Decision 88Daka29177, decided November 14, 1989).

All of the grounds of appeal are without merit.

Therefore, the appeal is dismissed, and the costs of appeal are to be borne by the losing party. This judgment is rendered as set forth in the Order, by the unanimous opinion of the participating Justices.

Justice Kim Seok-su (Presiding Justice), Bae Man-woon (Justice in charge), Jeong Gwi-ho

【판결요지】

가. 근로자가 사업장을 떠나 출장 중인 경우에는 그 용무의 성, 불성이나 수행방법 등에 있어서 포괄적으로 사업주에게 책임을 지고 있다 할 것이므로, 특별한 사정이 없는 한 일단 출장과정의 전반에 대하여 사업주의 지배하에 있다고 말할 수 있고 따라서 그 업무수행성을 인정할 수 있고, 다만 출장 중의 행위가 출장에 당연 또는 통상 수반하는 범위 내의 행위가 아닌 자의적 행위나 사적 행위일 경우에 한하여 업무수행성을 인정할 수 없고, 그와 같은 행위에 즈음하여 발생한 재해는 업무기인성을 인정할 여지가 없게 되어 업무상 재해로 볼 수 없다.

나. 자동차종합보험계약의 대인배상책임보험계약에 있어서, 그 사고의 피해자가 배상책임의무가 있는 피보험자의 피용자로서 근로기준법에 의한 재해보상을 받을 수 있는 사람인 경우에는 그 사고로 인하여 피보험자가 입게 된 손해를 보험자가 보상하지 아니하기로 정한 자동차종합보험보통약관상의 면책조항은, 노사관계에서 발생하는 재해보상에 대하여는 원칙적으로 산업재해보상보험에 의하여 전보받도록 하고 제3자에 대한 손해배상책임을 전보하는 것을 목적으로 한 자동차보험의 대인배상 범위에서는 이를 제외하려는 데에 그 취지가 있는 것이고 따라서 피해자가 산업재해보상보험법에 의한 재해보상을 받을 수 있는 사람인 경우에 보험자는 위의 면책약관에 따라 피보험자에 대하여 보상책임을 지지 아니하게 된다.

【참조조문】

가. 산업재해보상보험법 제3조 제1항 / 나. 상법 제659조, 산업재해보상보험법 제1조, 제4조

【참조판례】

가. 대법원 1985.12.24. 선고 84누403 판결(공1986,333), 1992.11.24. 선고 92누11046 판결(공1993상,277) / 나. 대법원 1989.11.14. 선고 88다카29177 판결(공1990,29), 1992.1.21. 선고 90다카25499 판결(공1992,871), 1993.6.8. 선고 93다5192 판결(공1993하,2004)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 2,243자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 상고인】 원고 1 외 4인 소송대리인 변호사 소중영

【피고, 피상고인】 현대해상화재보험주식회사 소송대리인 변호사 이기창

【원심판결】 서울고등법원 1993.4.2. 선고 92나40787 판결

【주 문】

상고를 모두 기각한다.

상고비용은 원고들의 부담으로 한다.

【이 유】 상고이유를 본다.

원심이 취사한 증거를 기록에 비추어 보면 원심의 사실인정은 수긍할 수 있고, 망 소외 1이 1991. 8. 13. 주식회사 월드텍스(이하 소외회사라고 한다) 사원으로 채용되어 근로계약을 체결한 후 그 취업규칙에 따른 2개월간의 수습기간중에 당시 같은 신규채용 사원인 소외 2, 소외 3, 소외 4 등과 함께 소외 회사가 계획 실시하는 기초교육을 받던 중, 같은 달 20. 위 기초교육계획일정에 따라 진주시에 있는 동남견직공장에서의 현장견학 및 실습교육을 받기 위하여 무역부장인 소외 5의 인솔아래 위 교육대상자 전원이 소외 회사에서 제공한 이 사건 승용차편으로 진주시로 가던중 잠시 교대운전을 하던 위 소외 2의 운전부주의로 차량이 전복, 연소되는 바람에 이 사건 사고를 당한 것이라는 사실을 인정하고, 당시 소외 회사가 승용차를 제공하여 부장 인솔로 교육대상자들의 이동을 지시한 바 없는데 위 소외 5가 마침 다른 용무로 진주출장을 떠나면서 위 망인 등의 편의를 봐주기 위하여 임의동승시킨 것이라는 원고들의 주장사실을 배척한 원심의 조처도 수긍할 수 있으며, 거기에 소론과 같은 심리를 다하지 아니하였거나 채증법칙을 어긴 위법이 있다고 할 수 없다.

2. 근로기준법이나 산업재해보상보험법상의 업무상재해라 함은 업무수행중 그 업무에 기인하여 발생한 재해를 말하는데, 근로자가 사업장을 떠나 출장중인 경우에는 그 용무의 성,불성(成,不成)이나 수행방법등에 있어서 포괄적으로 사업주에게 책임을 지고 있다 할 것이므로, 특별한 사정이 없는 한 일단 출장과정의 전반에 대하여 사업주의 지배하에 있다고 말할 수 있고 따라서 그 업무수행성을 인정할 수 있을 것이고, 다만 출장중의 행위가 출장에 당연 또는 통상 수반하는 범위내의 행위가 아닌 자의적 행위나 사적 행위일 경우에 한하여 업무수행성을 인정할 수 없고, 그와 같은 행위에 즈음하여 발생한 재해는 업무기인성을 인정할 여지가 없게 되어 업무상재해로 볼 수는 없다고 할 것이다 (당원 1985.12.24. 선고 84누403 판결 참조).

그러므로 이 사건에서 위와 같이 위 망인 등이 현장견학과 실습을 받기 위하여 그 실습현장으로 이동하는 행위는 그 현장견학과 실습이라는 업무를 수행하기 위하여 당연히 수반되는 것이고, 소외 회사의 중견간부이자 부서상사인 무역부장의 인솔아래 교육대상자 전원이 회사에서 제공한 차량을 이용한 것으로서 이는 회사의 지배, 관리하에 있었다고 볼 것이므로, 그 이동중에 발생한 위 사고는 소외 회사의 업무수행중 그 업무에 기인하여 발생한 재해에 해당한다고 봄이 상당하다.

따라서 같은 취지에서 원심이 위 망인이 근로기준법에 의한 재해보상을 받을 수 있는 사람에 해당한다고 판단한 조처도 정당하다.

논지는 사고차량에 동승한 위 망인의 행위는 순전히 자의적이고 사적인 편의를 위한 것으로서 업무수행을 벗어난 행위라는 것이나, 받아들일 수 없다.

3. 자동차종합보험계약의 대인배상책임보험계약에 있어서, 그 사고의 피해자가 배상책임의무가 있는 피보험자의 피용자로서 근로기준법에 의한 재해보상을 받을 수 있는 사람인 경우에는 그 사고로 인하여 피보험자가 입게 된 손해를 보험자가 보상하지 아니하기로 정한 자동차종합보험보통약관상의 면책조항은, 노사관계에서 발생하는 재해보상에 대하여는 원칙적으로 산업재해보상보험에 의하여 전보받도록 하고 제3자에 대한 손해배상책임을 전부하는 것을 목적으로 한 자동차보험의 대인배상 범위에서는 이를 제외하려는 데에 그 취지가 있는 것이고(당원 1992.1.21. 선고 90다카25499 판결 참조), 따라서 피해자가 산업재해보상보장법에 의한 재해보상을 받을 수 있는 사람인 경우에 보험자는 위의 면책약관에 따라 피보험자에 대하여 보상책임을 지지 아니하게 되는 것이다.

논지는 위와 같은 경우에 피해자가 입은 손해 중 산업재해보상보장법에 의하여 전보되지 아니한 부분은 보험자가 이를 보상하여야 한다는 것이나 받아들일 수 없다 (당원 1989.11.14. 선고 88다카29177 판결참조).

논지는 모두 이유 없다.

그러므로 상고를 기각하고, 상고비용은 패소자의 부담으로 하여 관여 법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 김석수(재판장) 배만운(주심) 정귀호

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
89다카24070 · 대법원 1990-04-27
Insurance Claim (보험금) Case
#2
86다카556 · 대법원 1986-12-23
Insurance Benefits
#3
93다58622 · 대법원 1994-03-11
Insurance Claim Case (보험금 – Bohyumgeum)
#4
88다카29177 · 대법원 1989-11-14
Insurance Claim (Employee Traffic Accident During Work) Case
#5
93다5192 · 대법원 1993-06-08
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)

Cases citing this decision

2003다2802 · 대법원 2005-03-17
Claim for Damages (Automobile Accident) (손해배상(자))
2000다19021 · 대법원 2000-09-29
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
97누8892 · 대법원 1997-09-26
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits, etc.
95다39540 · 대법원 1995-11-24
Insurance Benefits
93다42238 · 대법원 1995-03-14
Insurance Claim Case (보험금)

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)