Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 93다42238

Insurance Claim Case (보험금)보험금

Decided1995. 03. 14. Court대법원Insurance company won (the auto insurer's exemption from liability was upheld)
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

This case addressed whether a workplace where an employee was injured in a car accident qualified as one that 'regularly employs 5 or more workers' (상시 5인 이상 근로자 사용 사업장). The Supreme Court found that the workplace, which employed an average of 5.6 workers per month (combining regular and daily employees), met this threshold. As a result, Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance (산업재해보상보험) applied, and the auto insurance company was exempted from paying benefits under its exemption clause (면책조항).

Issues
  • Criteria for determining whether a workplace 'regularly employs 5 or more workers' (상시 5인 이상 근로자 사용 사업장)
  • Scope of application of the exemption clause in comprehensive automobile insurance policies (자동차종합보험 면책조항)
  • Requirements for the application of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법)
Key reasoning

The court held that 'regularly employing 5 or more workers' should be assessed based on the 'state' or average condition of the workforce (상태적으로 판단), not merely a fixed headcount. Daily workers (일용근로자) must be included when calculating this average, not just regular/permanent staff. Since the workplace averaged 5.6 employees per month when both categories were counted, it satisfied the 5-or-more threshold required for mandatory Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance coverage. Because this insurance applied, the injured worker's claim fell under industrial accident compensation rather than general auto insurance, allowing the auto insurer to invoke its exemption clause and avoid liability.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

[1] In a comprehensive automobile insurance contract's bodily injury liability insurance, where the victim of the accident is an employee of the insured who bears the liability for compensation and is a person who may receive accident compensation under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법), the exemption clause in the general terms and conditions of comprehensive automobile insurance, which provides that the insurer shall not indemnify the insured for the damages the insured has incurred due to the accident, is intended, in principle, to have injuries arising in labor relations compensated through industrial accident compensation insurance, and to exclude such cases from the scope of bodily injury liability coverage under automobile insurance, whose purpose is to indemnify liability for damages owed to third parties. Therefore, in order for the insurer to be exempted from liability under the above exemption clause where the victim is an employee of the insured who bears the liability for compensation, it is necessary not only that the employee be a person who may receive accident compensation under the Labor Standards Act, but also that the employee be subject to the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) and be able to receive insurance benefits prescribed under that Act.

[2] It is clear from the text of Article 10 of the Labor Standards Act, which sets forth the scope of application of the Act, that the phrase "a business or workplace that ordinarily employs five or more workers" does not mean "a business or workplace where the number of workers ordinarily working is five or more," but rather means "a business or workplace where the number of workers employed is ordinarily five or more." In this context, the term "ordinarily" should be interpreted to mean "in a state of" (상태), such that even if the number of workers occasionally falls below five, if it is, in a state-of-affairs sense, five or more, this requirement is satisfied. In this regard, the term "worker" should be interpreted to include not only workers who continuously work at the relevant workplace but also daily workers employed as needed from time to time. Article 2, Subparagraph 5 of the Enforcement Decree of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법시행령) lists "businesses that ordinarily employ fewer than five workers" as businesses not subject to the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, but this provision should also be interpreted in the same manner as Article 10 of the Labor Standards Act.

[3] According to the provisions of Article 6, Paragraph 1 and Article 7 of the former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (as it stood before amendment by Act No. 4826 of December 22, 1994), unless a business falls under the proviso of Article 4 of the same Act or under Article 2 of the Enforcement Decree of the same Act, the business owner naturally becomes an insured party of industrial accident compensation insurance, and the insurance relationship is established on the date the business commences. Therefore, where a business owner who is thus automatically enrolled commences business and thereafter a worker belonging to that business suffers an occupational injury, that worker may naturally claim payment of insurance benefits as prescribed under the same Act. It is not the case that a worker may claim payment of insurance benefits only for occupational injuries occurring after the business owner has undergone procedures such as filing a report of the establishment of the insurance relationship under Article 4, Paragraph 1 of the Enforcement Decree of the same Act, or paying insurance premiums.

Full text (English, AI translation) 8,555 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellant] Plaintiff's litigation representatives, Attorneys Yeo Dong-yeong and one other
[Defendant, Appellee] Korea Automobile Insurance Co., Ltd., litigation representative, Attorney Lee Bo-yeong
[Judgment Below] Daegu District Court, Judgment rendered July 7, 1993, Case No. 93Na2924

[Order]

The appeal is dismissed.
The costs of the appeal shall be borne by the Plaintiff.

[Reasoning]

Grounds of appeal Nos. 1 and 2 are examined together.

1. In the personal liability insurance (bodily injury liability insurance) portion of the comprehensive automobile insurance contract concluded between the Plaintiff and the Defendant in this case, the exemption clause under the standard terms and conditions of comprehensive automobile insurance provides that where the victim of an accident is an employee of the insured who bears the liability to compensate, and such employee is a person who may receive accident compensation under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법), the insurer shall not indemnify the insured for the loss incurred due to the accident. The purpose of this clause is to exclude, from the scope of bodily injury liability coverage under automobile insurance—which is designed to cover liability for damages owed to third parties—cases of accident compensation arising in the context of labor relations, which are, in principle, to be compensated through industrial accident compensation insurance. Therefore, in a case where the victim is an employee of the insured who bears liability for compensation, in order for the insurer to be exempted from liability pursuant to the above exemption clause, it must be the case not only that the employee is a person who may receive accident compensation under the Labor Standards Act, but also that the employee is subject to the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) and may receive insurance benefits prescribed under that Act (see, e.g., Supreme Court Decision 93Da23107, decided November 9, 1993).

2. However, it is clear from the text of the statute that the phrase "a business or workplace ordinarily employing five or more workers" in Article 10 of the Labor Standards Act, which defines the scope of application of that Act, does not mean "a business or workplace in which the number of workers ordinarily working is five or more," but rather means "a business or workplace in which the number of workers employed is ordinarily five or more." In this context, the term "ordinarily" should be interpreted to mean "in its usual state." Accordingly, even if the number of workers occasionally falls below five, if, viewed in its usual state, the number is five or more, the business or workplace falls within this category. Furthermore, in this context, the term "workers" should be interpreted to include not only workers who are continuously employed at the workplace in question, but also daily workers employed as needed from time to time (see, e.g., Supreme Court Decision 87Do153, decided April 14, 1987; Supreme Court Decision 87Daka831, decided July 21, 1987).

Furthermore, the proviso to Article 4 of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act as amended prior to its amendment by Act No. 4826 of December 22, 1994 (hereinafter "the pre-amendment Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act"), which was in effect on January 7, 1991, the date of the accident in this case, excluded from the application of that Act businesses designated by Presidential Decree in consideration of the degree of risk, scale, and location of the business, among other factors. Accordingly, Article 2, Item 5 of the Enforcement Decree of that Act listed "businesses ordinarily employing fewer than five workers" as businesses not subject to that Act. However, this provision should also be interpreted in the same manner as Article 10 of the Labor Standards Act.

According to the reasoning of the judgment below, the court below found that the number of workers at the Bando Environmental Machinery Manufacturing Plant operated by the Plaintiff was 7 in January 1990, 8 in February, 8 in March, 5 in April, 3 in May, 3 in June, 4 in July, 3 in August, 7 in September, 7 in October, and 7 in November, with a monthly average of 5.6; and that among the workers in November 1990, close to the date of the accident, four were regular workers receiving monthly wages, while the remaining three were daily workers receiving daily wages, and that the total number of working days for the daily workers in the month of November amounted to 54 days, which, when divided by 30, results in an average of 1.8 daily workers working per day, and when combined with the regular workers, results in an average of 5.8 workers working per day. In light of these findings and considering the fluctuations in the number of workers and the nature of the employment relationships as revealed by the facts found, the court below determined that the Bando Environmental Machinery Manufacturing Plant operated by the Plaintiff was a business ordinarily employing five or more workers.

Upon examination of the record, the above factual findings of the court below are deemed reasonable and acceptable, and in light of the legal principles set forth above, the determination of the court below that the Bando Environmental Machinery Manufacturing Plant operated by the Plaintiff falls under a business ordinarily employing five or more workers is also justified. There is no error, as argued in the grounds of appeal, in the form of a violation of the rules of evidence, insufficient deliberation, or a misunderstanding of the legal principles concerning the applicability of the Labor Standards Act. The argument disputing this point is without merit.

3. Furthermore, according to the respective provisions of Article 6, Paragraph 1, and Article 7 of the pre-amendment Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, unless a business falls under the proviso to Article 4 of that Act or Article 2 of its Enforcement Decree, the business owner automatically becomes an insured party under industrial accident compensation insurance, and the insurance relationship comes into existence as of the date the business commences. Therefore, where a business owner who is thus automatically enrolled commences business and thereafter a worker employed at that business suffers an occupational injury, the worker is naturally entitled to claim payment of insurance benefits prescribed under the above Act. It is not the case that a worker may claim insurance benefits only for occupational injuries occurring after the business owner has completed procedures such as filing a report on the establishment of the insurance relationship or paying insurance premiums as prescribed in Article 4, Paragraph 1 of the Enforcement Decree of that Act.

However, as noted above, the Bando Environmental Machinery Manufacturing Plant operated by the Plaintiff falls under a business ordinarily employing five or more workers. Therefore, absent other special circumstances, the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act naturally applies to this business (nor does it appear that this business falls under the businesses prescribed in the proviso to Article 4 of that Act and Article 2 of its Enforcement Decree). On the other hand, as the court below lawfully found, the non-party who suffered injury due to the operation of the Plaintiff's vehicle, which is the subject matter of the comprehensive automobile insurance contract in this case, was a worker of the above Bando Environmental Machinery Manufacturing Plant, and the injury constituted an occupational injury. Accordingly, the accident in this case falls under the exemption grounds under this insurance contract.

Although the reasoning of the court below on this point is somewhat insufficient, its conclusion in accepting the Defendant's defense of exemption from liability is justified, and there is no error, as argued in the grounds of appeal, in the form of a violation of the rules of evidence, insufficient deliberation, or a misunderstanding of the legal principles concerning the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act. Accordingly, the argument disputing this point is also without merit.

4. Accordingly, the appeal is dismissed, and the costs of the appeal are to be borne by the losing party. This judgment is rendered as stated in the Order, in accordance with the unanimous opinion of the participating Justices.

Justice Lee Im-su (Presiding Justice), Kim Seok-su, Jeong Gwi-ho (Justice in Charge), Lee Don-hee

【판결요지】

가. 자동차종합보험계약의 대인배상책임보험계약에 있어서 그 사고의 피해자가 배상책임의무 있는 피보험자의 피용자로서 근로기준법에 의한 재해보상을 받을 수 있는 사람인 경우에는 그 사고로 인하여 피보험자가 입게 된 손해를 보험자가 보상하지 아니하기로 정한 자동차종합보험보통약관상의 면책조항은 노사관계에서 발생하는 재해보상에 대하여는 원칙적으로 산업재해보상보험에 의하여 전보받도록 하고 제3자에 대한 손해배상책임을 전보하는 것을 목적으로 한 자동차보험의 대인배상범위에서는 이를 제외하려는 데 그 취지가 있는 것이므로, 배상책임의무 있는 피보험자의 피용자가 피해자인 경우에 보험자가 위의 면책조항에 의하여 면책되려면 그 피용자가 근로기준법에 의한 재해보상을 받을 수 있을 뿐만 아니라 산업재해보상보험법의 적용을 받아 같은 법 소정의 보험급여를 지급받을 수 있어야 할 것이다.

나. 근로기준법의 적용범위를 정한 같은 법 제10조 소정의 "상시 5인 이상의 근로자를 사용하는 사업 또는 사업장"이라 함은 "상시 근무하는 근로자의 수가 5인 이상인 사업 또는 사업장"을 뜻하는 것이 아니라 "사용하는 근로자의 수가 상시 5인 이상인 사업 또는 사업장"을 뜻하는 것임이 법문상 명백하고, 그 경우 상시라 함은 상태(상태)라고 하는 의미로 해석하여야 할 것이므로 근로자의 수가 때때로 5인 미만이 되는 경우가 있어도 상태적으로 보아 5인 이상이 되는 경우에는 이에 해당한다 할 것이며, 이 경우 근로자라고 함은 당해 사업장에 계속 근무하는 근로자뿐만 아니라 그때 그때의 필요에 의하여 사용하는 일용근로자를 포함한다고 해석하여야 하고, 산업재해보상보험법시행령 제2조 제5호는 "상시 5인 미만의 근로자를 사용하는 사업"을 산업재해보상보험법의 적용을 받지 아니하는 사업으로 들고 있으나, 위 규정도 근로기준법 제10조와 마찬가지로 해석하여야 한다.

다. 구 산업재해보상보험법(1994.12.22 법률 제4826호로 개정되기 전의 것) 제6조 제1항, 제7조의 각 규정에 의하면, 사업의 사업주는 같은 법 제4조 단서, 같은법시행령 제2조의 사업이 아닌 한 당연히 산업재해보상보험의 보험가입자가 되어 당해 사업개시일에 보험관계가 성립하는 것으로 규정하고 있으므로 위와 같이 당연 가입되는 사업주가 사업을 개시한 후에 그 사업에 소속한 근로자가 업무상 재해를 입은 때에는 그는 당연히 같은 법 소정의 보험급여의 지급을 청구할 수 있다고 할 것이고, 사업주가 같은법시행령 제4조 제1항 소정의 보험관계성립의 신고를 하거나 보험료를 납부하는 등의 절차를 밟은 후에 발생한 업무상 재해에 한하여 보험급여의 지급을 청구할 수 있는 것은 아니라고 할 것이다.

【참조조문】

가. 상법 제659조, 제719조, 구 산업재해보상보험법(1994.12.22. 법률 제4826호로 개정되기 전의 것) 제1조, 제4조 / 나. 근로기준법 제10조, 산업재해보상보험법시행령 제2조 제5호 / 다. 구 산업재해보상보험법 (1994.12.22. 법률 제4846호로 개정되기 전의 것) 제6조 제1항, 제7조

【참조판례】

가. 대법원 1993.11.9. 선고 93다23107 판결(공1993상,76), 1994.3.11. 선고 93다58622 판결(공1994상,1190), 1995.2.10. 선고 94다4424 판결(공1995상,1286) / 나. 대법원 1987.4.14. 선고 87도153 판결(공1987,842), 1987.7.21. 선고 87다카831 판결(공1987,1390)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 2,981자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 상고인】 원고 소송대리인 변호사 여동영 외 1인

【피고, 피상고인】 한국자동차보험주식회사 소송대리인 변호사 이보영

【원심판결】 대구지방법원 1993.7.7. 선고 93나2924 판결

【주 문】

상고를 기각한다.

상고비용은 원고의 부담으로 한다.

【이 유】 상고이유 제1,2점을 아울러 본다.

1. 원고가 피고와 체결한 이 사건 자동차종합보험계약의 대인배상책임보험계약에 있어서 그 사고의 피해자가 배상책임의무 있는 피보험자의 피용자로서 근로기준법에 의한 재해보상을 받을 수 있는 사람인 경우에는 그 사고로 인하여 피보험자가 입게 된 손해를 보험자가 보상하지 아니하기로 정한 자동차종합보험보통약관상의 면책조항은 노사관계에서 발생하는 재해보상에 대하여는 원칙적으로 산업재해보상보험에 의하여 전보받도록 하고 제3자에 대한 손해배상책임을 전보하는 것을 목적으로 한 자동차보험의 대인배상범위에서는 이를 제외하려는 데 그 취지가 있는 것이므로, 배상책임의무 있는 피보험자의 피용자가 피해자인 경우에 보험자가 위의 면책조항에 의하여 면책되려면 그 피용자가 근로기준법에 의한 재해보상을 받을 수 있을 뿐만 아니라 산업재해보상보험법의 적용을 받아 그 법 소정의 보험급여를 지급받을 수 있어야 할 것이다(당원 1993.11.9. 선고 93다23107 판결 등 참조).

2. 그런데 근로기준법의 적용범위를 정한 동법 제10조 소정의 "상시 5인 이상의 근로자를 사용하는 사업 또는 사업장"이라 함은 "상시 근무하는 근로자의 수가 5인 이상인 사업 또는 사업장"을 뜻하는 것이 아니라 "사용하는 근로자의 수가 상시 5인 이상인 사업 또는 사업장"을 뜻하는 것임이 법문상 명백하고, 그 경우 상시라 함은 상태(常態)라고 하는 의미로 해석하여야 할 것이므로 근로자의 수가 때때로 5인 미만이 되는 경우가 있어도 상태적으로 보아 5인 이상이 되는 경우에는 이에 해당한다 할 것이며, 이 경우 근로자라고 함은 당해 사업장에 계속 근무하는 근로자뿐만 아니라 그때 그때의 필요에 의하여 사용하는 일용근로자를 포함한다고 해석하여야 할 것이다(당원 1987.4.14. 선고 87도153 판결; 1987.7.21. 선고 87다카831 판결 등 참조).

그리고 이 사건 사고 당시인 1991.1.7 시행중이던 개정 전 산업재해보상보험법(1994.12.22. 법률 제4826호로 개정되기 전의 것) 제4조 단서는 사업의 위험율·규모 및 사업장소 등을 참작하여 대통령령으로 적용하는 사업에는 동법의 적용을 배제하고 있었고, 그에 따라 동법시행령 제2조 제5호는 "상시 5인 미만의 근로자를 사용하는 사업"을 위 법의 적용을 받지 아니하는 사업으로 들고 있으나, 위 규정도 근로기준법 제10조와 마찬가지로 해석하여야 할 것이다.

원심판결 이유에 의하면, 원심은 원고가 경영하는 반도환경기계제작소의 근로자 수는 1990년도 1월에 7명, 2월에 8명, 3월에 8명, 4월에 5명, 5월에 3명, 6월에 3명, 7월에 4명, 8월에 3명, 9월에 7명, 10월에 7명, 11월에 7명으로 월평균 5. 6명이었으며, 위 사고일 가까운 1990.11.의 근로자 중 4명은 월급제로 급여를 받는 상용근로자이고 나며지 3명은 일당을 받는 일용근로자인데 일용근로자들의 11월 한달 근로일수는 총 54일에 이르러 이를 30일로 나누어 보면 1일 평균 1.8명의 일용근로자가 일한 것이 되고, 이를 상용근로자와 합하면 매일 5.8명의 근로자가 일한 셈이 되는 사실을 인정하고 위 인정사실에 나타난 근로자 수의 변동상황이나 그 근로관계의 내용에 비추어 보면 원고 경영의 반도환경기계제작소는 상시 5인 이상의 근로자를 사용하는 사업이라고 판단하였다.

기록을 살펴보면 원심의 위와 같은 사실인정은 정당한 것으로 수긍이 되고, 또 앞에서 설시한 법리에 비추어보면 원고 경영의 반도환경기계제작소가 상시 5인 이상의 근로자를 사용하는 사업에 해당한다고 한 원심의 판단 또한 정당하다고 할 것이며, 거기에 소론과 같은 채증법칙 위배, 심리미진 또는 근로기준법의 적용 여부에 대한 법리를 오해한 위법이 있다고 할 수 없다. 이 점을 다투는 논지는 이유 없다.

3. 그리고 위 개정 전 산업재해보상보험법 제6조 제1항, 제7조의 각 규정에 의하면, 사업의 사업주는 동법 제4조 단서, 동법시행령 제2조의 사업이 아닌 한 당연히 산업재해보상보험의 보험가입자가 되어 당해 사업개시일에 보험관계가 성립하는 것으로 규정하고 있으므로 위와 같이 당연 가입되는 사업주가 사업을 개시한 후에 그 사업에 소속한 근로자가 업무상 재해를 입은 때에는 그는 당연히 위 법 소정의 보험급여의 지급을 청구할 수 있다고 할 것이고, 사업주가 동법시행령 제4조 제1항 소정의 보험관계성립의 신고를 하거나 보험료를 납부하는 등의 절차를 밟은 후에 발생한 업무상 재해에 한하여 보험급여의 지급을 청구할 수 있는 것은 아니라고 할 것이다.

그런데 원고 경영의 위 반도환경기계제작소가 상시 5인 이상의 근로자를 사용하는 사업에 해당함은 앞에서 본 바와 같으므로, 다른 특별한 사정이 없는 한, 위 사업에는 산업재해보상보험법이 당연히 적용된다고 할 것이고(위 사업이 동법 제4조 단서, 동법시행령 제2조 소정의 사업에 해당된다고 보이지도 아니한다), 다른 한편, 이 사건 자동차종합보험계약의 목적물인 원고 소유의 이 사건 자동차의 운행으로 인하여 상해를 입은 소외인은 위 반도환경기계제작소의 근로자로서 그 상해가 업무상 재해에 해당한다고 하는 점은 원심이 적법하게 확정하고 있는 바와 같으므로, 결국, 이 사건 사고는 이 보험계약상의 면책사유에 해당한다고 할 것이다.

이 점에 관한 원심의 설시는 다소 불충분하나 피고의 면책항변을 받아들인 그 결과에 있어서는 정당하고 거기에 소론과 같은 채증법칙 위배, 심리미진 내지 산업재해보상보험법의 법리를 오해한 위법이 있다고 할 수 없으므로 이 점을 다투는 논지 또한 이유 없다.

4. 이에 상고를 기각하고 상고비용은 패소자의 부담으로 하기로 하여 관여 법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 이임수(재판장) 김석수 정귀호(주심) 이돈희

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
99다58433 · 대법원 2000-03-23
Action to Confirm Non-existence of Obligation
#2
2012구합27244 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
고용보험료등징수처분취소
#3
2018누78628 · 서울고등법원 0001-01-01
산업재해보상보험료의 환불 청구
#4
2020구단79120 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
고용보험피보험자격확인청구불인정처분취소청구의소
#5
2021두33715 · 대법원 2022-04-14
부당해고구제재심판정취소[보험회사 위탁계약형 지점장의 근로기준법상 근로자성 인정 여부가 쟁점이 된 사건]

Cases citing this decision

2002다4429 · 대법원 2002-09-04
Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)
99다58433 · 대법원 2000-03-23
Action to Confirm Non-existence of Obligation
99도1243 · 대법원 2000-03-14
Violation of the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법위반)
99다24744 · 대법원 1999-09-03
Mutual Aid Insurance Payment Case (공제금)
99두189 · 대법원 1999-04-09
Revocation of Disposition Denying Lump-sum Survivors' Compen

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)