Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 99다24744

Mutual Aid Insurance Payment Case (공제금)공제금

Decided1999. 09. 03. Court대법원Employer lost (the bus company's claim for mutual aid insurance payment was dismissed; the insurance cooperative was not liable to pay)
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

A worker was injured in a traffic accident while commuting to work using a company vehicle that was originally designated for other business purposes. The Korean Supreme Court ruled that since the company had tacitly permitted this use of the vehicle for commuting, the accident qualified as a work-related injury (업무상 재해) under Korean labor law. As a result, the exemption clause for work-related injuries in the auto mutual aid insurance contract (자동차공제계약) applied, releasing the insurance cooperative (공제조합) from liability, and the bus company's claim for insurance payment was dismissed.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA bus company employee got into a traffic accident while commuting using a company vehicle that was meant for a different business purpose, but which employees had long been allowed to use for commuting.
  • OutcomeThe court ruled this was a work-related injury because the company had tacitly permitted such use, triggering the insurance policy's work-injury exemption clause and releasing the insurer from paying out.
  • LessonEmployers should be aware that habitually tolerating employee use of company vehicles for commuting can extend legal liability for work-related injuries, even if the vehicle was not officially designated for that purpose.
Issues
  • Whether an accident occurring during a worker's commute can be recognized as a work-related injury (업무상 재해)
  • Whether a company's tacit permission of employee use of a company vehicle for commuting falls within the scope of the employer's control and management (사업주의 지배관리 범위)
Key reasoning

Under Korean law, injuries occurring during a worker's regular commute are generally NOT classified as work-related injuries, since the commute is considered outside the employer's direct control. However, an exception applies when the worker uses transportation provided by the employer, or a functional equivalent, placing the commute effectively under the employer's control and management (사용자의 지배·관리). In this case, although the vehicle was intended for another business purpose, the company had knowingly tolerated its use for employee commuting over time. This tacit approval extended the employer's control over the transportation method, making the resulting accident a work-related injury despite occurring during a commute.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

[1] "Occupational accident" under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) refers to an accident that occurs due to the performance of work duties or activities ordinarily incidental thereto, which a worker carries out under the employer's control and supervision pursuant to an employment contract with the employer. Accordingly, since a worker commuting to and from work can generally choose the method and route of commuting, such commuting cannot be regarded as being under the employer's control or supervision. Therefore, in order for an accident occurring during commuting to be recognized as an occupational accident, it must fall under circumstances where the worker's commuting process can be deemed to be under the employer's control and supervision, such as where the worker uses a vehicle or other means of transportation provided by the employer, or is made to use a means of transportation equivalent thereto.

[2] A case holding that, where employees were in fact using, as a means of commuting to work, a vehicle operated by the company for other purposes, and the company had tacitly permitted this practice, a traffic accident that occurred while an employee was riding in that vehicle on the way to work constituted an occupational accident.

Full text (English, AI translation) 5,875 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellant] Gyeongnam Passenger Automobile Corporation, Limited Partnership Company (Attorney-at-law Yulchon LLC, Attorneys Park U-dong et al., as litigation representative)
[Defendant, Appellee] Korea Bus Transport Business Cooperative Federation (Attorney Han Mun-cheol, as litigation representative)
[Judgment Below] Seoul High Court Decision 98Na31716 rendered on April 6, 1999

[Order]

The appeal is dismissed.
The costs of the appeal shall be borne by the Plaintiff.

[Reasoning]

The grounds of appeal are examined.

An occupational accident under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) refers to an accident that occurs due to a worker's performance of work duties, or the ordinary activities accompanying such duties, under the employer's control and management, based on the employment contract between the worker and the employer. Accordingly, since a worker commuting to and from work can generally choose the method and route of commuting, such commuting cannot be deemed to be under the employer's control or management. Therefore, in order for an accident that occurs during commuting to be recognized as an occupational accident, it must fall under circumstances where the worker's commuting process can be deemed to be under the employer's control and management, such as where the worker uses a means of transportation, such as a vehicle, provided by the employer, or uses a means of transportation equivalent thereto as arranged by the employer (see, e.g., Supreme Court Decision 97Nu13009 rendered on November 14, 1997).

According to the reasoning of the judgment below, the court below, comprehensively considering the evidence it adopted, found the following facts: the fact that an automobile mutual aid contract was concluded between the Plaintiff and the Defendant, and the occurrence of the accident in this case; the fact that the Plaintiff was enrolled in industrial accident compensation insurance for occupational accidents of its employees; the fact that, under the automobile mutual aid contract concluded between the Plaintiff and the Defendant with respect to the bus involved in the accident in this case, it was agreed that no compensation would be paid where a person who, as an employee of a member cooperative liable for compensation, is entitled to receive accident compensation under the Industrial Accident Compensation Act, suffers injury; the fact that although lodging facilities for bus drivers are provided at the terminal located at (address omitted), Yongin-si, where the buses operated by the Plaintiff terminate, drivers residing in Suwon city rarely sleep there, and instead commute between Suwon city and the said Yongin terminal, with no separate transportation allowance being paid and no commuter bus being operated; the fact that Nonparty 1, the driver of the bus involved in the accident in this case who was employed by the Plaintiff, in order to bring the bus from Suwon to the Yongin terminal every morning, would drive the bus without passengers from the Plaintiff's Suwon terminal to the Yongin terminal, and in doing so, frequently allowed 7 to 8 drivers employed by the Plaintiff, including Nonparty 2 who commuted to the Yongin terminal, to ride the bus free of charge for their convenience; that on the day of the accident as well, Nonparty 1 was driving toward the Yongin terminal with four drivers employed by the Plaintiff, including Nonparty 2 who was commuting to work, riding free of charge, when the accident in this case occurred; and the fact that the Plaintiff, while aware that Nonparty 2 and the other 7 to 8 drivers employed by the Plaintiff were commuting to the Yongin terminal by using the accident bus in this manner, did not actively encourage this method of commuting but had in fact tacitly condoned it. Based on these findings, the court below determined that, even though the bus involved in the accident in this case was not designated as a commuter vehicle for the Plaintiff's drivers, it had in fact been used as a means of commuting by some drivers, including Nonparty 2, and that the Plaintiff, while well aware of this circumstance, had tacitly condoned it; therefore, the accident in this case, which occurred while Nonparty 2 was commuting to work, occurred within the scope of the Plaintiff's control and constitutes an occupational accident. Accordingly, the court below determined that Nonparty 2 falls under "an employee of the Plaintiff who is entitled to receive accident compensation under the Industrial Accident Compensation Act," which the Plaintiff and the Defendant agreed would not be compensated under the automobile mutual aid contract, and that the Defendant is therefore exempted from liability to pay the mutual aid benefit. On this basis, the court below dismissed the Plaintiff's claim in this case seeking payment of the mutual aid benefit under the mutual aid contract against the Defendant, which claim was made on the ground that the Plaintiff had paid damages to Nonparty 2 and his family.

Upon examination of the record, the fact-finding and determination of the court below as set forth above are justified in accordance with the legal principles set forth above and are acceptable, and there is no illegality therein, such as a misapprehension of the facts in violation of the rules of evidence, or a misunderstanding of the legal principles concerning the criteria for recognizing occupational accidents and the exemption clause for occupational accidents, as pointed out in the grounds of appeal.

Therefore, the appeal is dismissed, and the costs of the appeal are to be borne by the losing party. This Judgment is rendered by the unanimous consent of all participating Justices as set forth in the Order.

Justices Lee Yong-hoon (Presiding Justice), Jeong Gwi-ho (Justice in charge), Kim Hyeong-seon, Cho Mu-je

【판결요지】

[1] 산업재해보상보험법 소정의 업무상의 재해라 함은 근로자가 사업주와의 근로계약에 기하여 사업주의 지배·관리하에서 근로업무의 수행 또는 그에 수반되는 통상적인 활동을 하는 과정에서 이러한 업무에 기인하여 발생한 재해를 말하므로, 출퇴근 중의 근로자는 일반적으로 그 방법과 경로를 선택할 수 있어 사용자의 지배 또는 관리하에 있다고 볼 수 없고, 따라서 출퇴근 중에 발생한 재해가 업무상의 재해로 인정되기 위하여는 사용자가 근로자에게 제공한 차량 등의 교통수단을 이용하거나 사용자가 이에 준하는 교통수단을 이용하도록 하여 근로자의 출퇴근 과정이 사용자의 지배·관리하에 있다고 볼 수 있는 경우에 해당되어야 한다.

[2] 회사에서 타 용도로 운행하는 차량을 근로자들이 사실상 출근 수단으로 이용하고 있음에도 회사가 이를 묵인하여 온 경우, 근로자가 그 차량에 탑승하고 출근하던 중 일어난 교통사고는 업무상 재해에 해당한다고 본 사례.

【참조조문】

[1] 산업재해보상보험법 제4조 제1호

[2] 산업재해보상보험법 제4조 제1호, 상법 제663조

【참조판례】

[1][2] 대법원 1992. 1. 21. 선고 90다카25499 판결(공1992, 868) / [1] 대법원 1995. 9. 15. 선고 95누6946 판결(공1995하, 3435), 대법원 1996. 2. 9. 선고 95누16769 판결(공1996상, 982), 대법원 1997. 11. 14. 선고 97누13009 판결(공1997하, 3880) / [2] 대법원 1994. 3. 11. 선고 93다58622 판결(공1994상, 1190), 대법원 1995. 2. 10. 선고 94다4424 판결(공1995상, 1286), 대법원 1995. 3. 14. 선고 93다42238 판결(공1995상, 1596)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 2,106자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 상고인】 합자회사 경남여객자동차공사 (소송대리인 법무법인 광장 담당변호사 박우동 외 3인)

【피고, 피상고인】 전국버스운송사업조합연합회 (소송대리인 변호사 한문철)

【원심판결】 서울고법 1999. 4. 6. 선고 98나31716 판결

【주 문】

상고를 기각한다.

상고비용은 원고의 부담으로 한다.

【이 유】 상고이유를 판단한다.

산업재해보상보험법 소정의 업무상의 재해라 함은 근로자가 사업주와의 근로계약에 기하여 사업주의 지배·관리하에서 근로업무의 수행 또는 그에 수반되는 통상적인 활동을 하는 과정에서 이러한 업무에 기인하여 발생한 재해를 말하므로, 출퇴근 중의 근로자는 일반적으로 그 방법과 경로를 선택할 수 있어 사용자의 지배 또는 관리하에 있다고 볼 수 없고, 따라서 출퇴근 중에 발생한 재해가 업무상의 재해로 인정되기 위하여는 사용자가 근로자에게 제공한 차량 등의 교통수단을 이용하거나 사용자가 이에 준하는 교통수단을 이용하도록 하여 근로자의 출퇴근 과정이 사용자의 지배·관리하에 있다고 볼 수 있는 경우에 해당되어야 할 것이다(대법원 1997. 11. 14. 선고 97누13009 판결 등 참조).

원심판결 이유에 의하면, 원심은 그 채택 증거를 종합하여, 원고와 피고 사이의 자동차공제계약 체결 사실 및 이 사건 사고의 발생 사실과 함께, 원고가 그 소속 피용자들의 업무상 재해에 대하여 산업재해보상보험에 가입하고 있는 사실, 한편 원고가 피고와의 사이에 이 사건 사고 버스에 관하여 체결한 자동차공제계약상 배상책임의무가 있는 조합원의 피용자로서 산업재해보상법에 의한 재해보상을 받을 수 있는 자가 상해를 입은 경우에는 보상하지 아니하기로 약정한 사실, 원고가 운행하는 버스의 용인시 (주소 생략) 소재 종점에는 운전기사들을 위한 숙소가 마련되어 있으나 수원 시내에 거주하는 운전기사들의 경우 이 곳에서 자는 경우는 드물고 수원 시내에서 위 용인 종점으로 출퇴근을 하는데, 별도로 교통비가 지급되지 않고, 통근버스도 운행하고 있지 아니한 사실, 원고 소속의 이 사건 사고 버스 운전기사인 소외 1은 평소 매일 아침에 위 버스를 수원에서 위 용인 종점에 갖다 놓기 위하여 승객을 태우지 않은 채로 위 버스를 원고의 수원 종점에서 위 용인 종점까지 운전하면서 위 용인 종점으로 출근하는 소외 2를 비롯한 원고 소속의 운전기사 7 내지 8명의 편의를 위하여 위 버스에 위 운전기사들을 자주 무상으로 탑승시켜 왔는데, 위 사고 당일에도 출근 중이던 위 소외 2를 비롯한 원고 소속 운전기사 4명을 무상으로 탑승시켜 용인 종점으로 운행하다가 이 사건 사고가 발생한 사실, 원고 또한 평상시에 위 소외 2 등 7 내지 8명의 원고 소속 운전기사들이 위와 같이 사고 버스를 이용해 위 용인 종점으로 출근한다는 사실을 알고 있으면서도 이와 같은 출근 방법을 적극적으로 권유하지는 않았으나 사실상 묵인하여 온 사실을 인정한 다음, 위 인정 사실에 비추어 보면, 이 사건 사고 버스가 원고 소속의 운전기사들의 출근차량은 아니었다 하더라도 사실상 위 소외 2를 비롯한 일부 운전기사들의 출근 수단으로 이용되어 왔고, 원고 또한 이러한 사정을 잘 알면서도 이를 묵인하여 왔으므로, 위 소외 2의 출근 중 일어난 이 사건 사고는 원고의 지배범위 내에서 발생한 것으로서 업무상 재해에 해당되고, 따라서 위 소외 2는 원고와 피고가 자동차공제계약을 체결함에 있어서 보상하지 아니하기로 약정한 '원고의 피용자로서 산업재해보상법에 의한 재해보상을 받을 수 있는 자'에 해당하여 피고의 공제금지급책임이 면책된다고 판단하고, 원고가 위 소외 2 및 그 가족들에게 손해배상금을 지급하였음을 이유로 하여 피고에 대하여 그 공제계약에 따른 공제금의 지급을 구하는 원고의 이 사건 청구를 기각하였다.

기록에 비추어 살펴보면, 원심의 이와 같은 사실인정과 판단은 위와 같은 법리에 따른 정당한 것으로 수긍이 가고, 거기에 상고이유로 지적하는 바와 같이 채증법칙을 위배하여 사실을 오인하였다거나, 업무상 재해의 인정기준 및 업무상 재해 면책조항에 관한 법리를 오해한 위법이 있다고 할 수 없다.

그러므로, 상고를 기각하고 상고비용은 패소자의 부담으로 하기로 하여 관여 대법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 이용훈(재판장) 정귀호(주심) 김형선 조무제

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2008두17899 · 대법원 2009-02-12
Case for Revocation of Disapproval of Medical Care Benefits
#2
94누9498 · 대법원 1994-10-25
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
#3
93다25851 · 대법원 1993-11-09
보험금지급
#4
2010두184 · 대법원 2010-04-29
Revocation of Disposition Disapproving Medical Care Benefits
#5
2014구합5846 · 울산지법 2015-09-10
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits

Cases citing this decision

2005두12572 · 대법원 2007-09-28
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivor Benefits, etc.
2006구합1818 · 울산지법 2006-12-06
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
2004두9838 · 대법원 2006-06-27
Revocation of Disposition Denying Initial Medical Care Benef
2005두4458 · 대법원 2005-09-29
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivor's Lump-Sum Compen

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)