Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 85다카2429

Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)구상금

Decided1986. 04. 08. Court대법원Reversed and remanded (파기환송) — the Supreme Court sent the case back to the lower court for further fact-finding on whether the worker qualified as an employee under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act.
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

This case involved a crane operator employed by one company who suffered an industrial accident while working under the direction of another company. The Supreme Court held that mere supervision and direction (지휘감독) by another company is not sufficient to establish an employment relationship (근로자 관계); a wage payment relationship (임금 지급 관계) must also exist for industrial accident insurance (산업재해보험) coverage to apply. The Court reversed and remanded the lower court's decision because it failed to properly examine whether the worker actually qualified as an 'employee' under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법).

Key takeaways
  • CaseA crane operator employed by Company A suffered an industrial accident while working under the direction of Company B.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court ruled that supervision alone does not create an employment relationship; a wage payment relationship is also required for industrial accident insurance coverage, and sent the case back for further review.
  • LessonEmployers and courts must verify actual wage payment—not just supervisory control—to correctly determine employee status under industrial accident insurance law.
Issues
  • Whether the defendant qualified as a 'third party' under Article 15 of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법 제15조)
  • The definition and requirements for establishing 'employee' status under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act
Key reasoning

Under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법), an 'employee' (근로자) is defined as a person who provides labor for the purpose of receiving payment from an employer as compensation for that labor. The mere existence of a supervision-and-direction relationship (지휘감독 관계) between the worker and another company, without an accompanying wage payment relationship, does not satisfy this definition. Therefore, to determine employee status and insurance coverage, courts must specifically examine whether wages were actually paid, not merely whether direction or supervision existed. Since the lower court failed to conduct this factual inquiry, its judgment could not stand.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

[1] The "third party" referred to in Article 15 of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) means a person who has no industrial accident insurance relationship with the injured worker and who is liable to the injured worker for damages arising from a tort or otherwise. In this case, in order for an industrial accident insurance relationship to be found to have been established between the injured worker and the industrial accident compensation insurance subscriber, the said victim must fall under the category of a worker of the insurance subscriber.

[2] Under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법), a "worker" refers to a worker as defined in the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법), and a worker subject to the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법) means a person who provides labor to an employer for the purpose of receiving money or valuables from the employer as consideration for his or her labor.

Full text (English, AI translation) 6,566 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellant] Republic of Korea

[Defendant, Appellee] Jinheung Co., Ltd.

[Original Judgment] Seoul Civil District Court Decision 85Na572, rendered October 29, 1985

[Order]

The original judgment is reversed, and the case is remanded to the Panel Division of the Seoul Civil District Court.

[Reasoning]

We examine the grounds of appeal.

1. In its reasoning, the original judgment found the following facts: Defendant company, an insured person under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법), leased a crane from non-party Incheon Heavy Equipment Co., Ltd. (likewise an insured person under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act). Non-party 1, a crane operator employed by the aforementioned non-party company, was engaged in operating the crane under the direction and supervision of Defendant company at Section 328 of Seoul Subway Line 3, in front of (address omitted), Gangnam-gu, Seoul. At approximately 08:50 on April 30, 1982, while operating the crane, Non-party 1 suffered an electric shock due to the negligence of Non-party 2, a worker employed by Defendant company, and sustained burns to his limbs and abdomen. The original judgment further found that Plaintiff paid Non-party 1 a total of 4,996,798 won in medical care benefits and temporary disability benefits as prescribed by law.

Based on these findings, the original judgment considered and rejected Plaintiff's argument that the accident was caused by the negligence of Non-party 2, an employee of Defendant, in the course of performing his duties; that Defendant, as the employer of Non-party 2, constituted a "third party" as provided in Article 15 of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act; and that, having paid the insurance benefits pursuant to paragraph (1) of the same Article, Plaintiff, in the capacity of insurer who thereby acquired the right to claim damages against Defendant held by Non-party 1, the beneficiary, sought reimbursement of the amount of insurance benefits paid. The original judgment reasoned that a "third party" as provided in Article 15 of the same Act refers to a person who has no industrial accident insurance relationship with the injured worker and who is liable to the injured worker for damages arising from a tort or otherwise; however, since Defendant company, an insured person under industrial accident compensation insurance, had leased from the non-party company the crane operated by Non-party 1, and Non-party 1 had engaged in crane operation duties under the direction and supervision of Defendant company, Non-party 1 was in the position of an employee vis-à-vis Defendant company, and therefore an industrial accident insurance relationship was established between Non-party 1 and Defendant company, such that Defendant does not constitute a "third party" as provided in Article 15 of the same Act.

2. That a "third party" as provided in Article 15 of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act refers to a person who has no industrial accident insurance relationship with the injured worker and who is liable to the injured worker for damages arising from a tort or otherwise, is as the original judgment determined (see this Court's Decision 77Da1967, rendered February 14, 1978).

However, in order for an industrial accident insurance relationship to be deemed established in this case between the victim, Non-party 1, and Defendant company, an insured person under industrial accident compensation insurance, Non-party 1 would have to qualify as an employee of Defendant company. Article 3, paragraph (2) of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act provides that, for purposes of this Act, "employee" means an employee as defined in the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법). Article 14 of the Labor Standards Act provides that, for purposes of this Act, "employee" means a person who provides labor to a business or workplace for the purpose of earning wages, regardless of the type of occupation. Article 18 of the same Act provides that, for purposes of this Act, "wages" means all money and valuables, however named—wages, salary, or otherwise—paid by the employer to the employee as remuneration for labor. Accordingly, an employee subject to the Labor Standards Act refers to a person who provides labor to an employer for the purpose of receiving money or valuables from the employer as remuneration for his own labor (see this Court's Decision 72Do334, rendered March 28, 1972). The facts found by the original judgment alone are insufficient to determine whether such a relationship existed between Non-party 1 and Defendant company.

If Non-party 1 was not in the position of providing labor directly to Defendant company for the purpose of receiving money or valuables from Defendant company as remuneration for his own labor, then even if, as found by the original judgment, he operated the heavy equipment owned by non-party Incheon Heavy Equipment Co., Ltd. and leased by Defendant company, under the direction and supervision of Defendant company, Non-party 1 could not be said to be an employee of Defendant company. Accordingly, an industrial accident insurance relationship between Defendant company and Non-party 1 could not be recognized as established, and Defendant company should be deemed to constitute a "third party" as provided in Article 15 of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act.

The original judgment, having found only the facts set forth in its reasoning without examining whether the aforementioned relationship of labor provision and wage receipt existed between Defendant company and Non-party 1, determined that an industrial accident insurance relationship had been established and thereby rejected Plaintiff's claim. This disposition involves errors of law in misapprehending the legal principles regarding the definition of "employee" under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act and the meaning of "third party" under Article 15 of the same Act, as well as insufficient examination and inadequate reasoning. This constitutes grounds for reversal under Article 12 of the Act on Special Cases Concerning Expedition, etc. of Legal Proceedings (소송촉진등에관한특례법). Therefore, the grounds of appeal are well-founded.

3. Accordingly, the Justices unanimously agree to reverse the original judgment and remand the case for further hearing and determination, and render judgment as set forth in the Order.

Justice Yoon Il-young (Presiding Justice), Justice Kang Woo-young, Justice Kim Deok-ju, Justice Oh Seong-hwan

【판결요지】

가. 산업재해보상보험법 제15조 소정의 제3자는 피해근로자와의 사이에 산업재해보험관계가 없는 자로서 피해근로자에 대하여 불법행위 등으로 인한 손해배상책임을 지는 자를 지칭하는 것인바 이 경우 피해근로자와 산업재해보상보험가입자 사이에 산업재해보험관계의 성립이 있다고 할 수 있으려면 위 피해자가 보험가입자의 근로자에 해당되어야 한다.

나. 산업재해보상보험법에서 근로자라 함은 근로기준법에 규정된 근로자를 말하고, 근로기준법의 적용을 받는 근로자란 사용자로부터 자기의 근로의 대상으로 금품을 받을 것을 목적으로 하여 사용자에게 근로를 제공하는 자를 말한다.

【참조조문】

가. 산업재해보상보험법 제15조 / 나. 제3조 제2항, 근로기준법 제14조

【참조판례】

가. 대법원 1978.2.14 선고 77다1967 판결 / 나. 대법원 1972.3.28 선고 72도334 판결

【주문】·【이유】 전문 2,279자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 상고인】 대한민국

【피고, 피상고인】 진흥기업주식회사

【원 판 결】 서울민사지방법원 1985.10.29 선고 85나572판결

【주 문】

원심판결을 파기하고, 사건을 서울민사지방법원 합의부로 환송한다.

【이 유】 상고이유를 본다.

1. 원심판결은 그 이유에서 산업재해보상보험법에 의한 보험가입자인 피고회사가 소외 인천중기주식회사(마찬가지로 산업재해보상보험법에 의한 보험가입자이다)로부터 기중기를 임차하였기 때문에 서울 강남구 (주소 생략) 앞 서울시 지하철3호선 제328공구에서 피고회사의 지휘감독을 받으면서 그 기중기를 운전하는 업무에 종사하던 위 소외회사 소속의 기중기운전기사인 소외 1이, 1982.4.30. 08:50경 기중기 운전작업 중 피고회사소속 작업원인 소외 2의 과실로 감전되어 사지 및 복부에 화상을 입은 사실과 원고가 위 소외 1에게 법이 정한 요양급여와 휴업급여로 4,996,798원을 지급한 사실을 확정한 다음, 위 사고는 피고의 피용자인 소외 2의 사무집행상의 과실로 인하여 발생된 것이고 위 소외 2의 사용자인 피고는 산업재해보상보험법 제15조 소정의 제3자에 해당하므로 같은 제1항에 기하여 보험금액을 지급함으로써 수급권자인 소외 1의 피고에 대한 손해배상청구권을 취득한 보험자의 지위에서 위 보험급여액의 상환을 구한다는 원고의 주장에 대하여, 같은 법 제15조 소정의 제3자라 함은 피해근로자와의 사이에 산업재해보험관계가 없는 자로서 피해근로자에 대하여 불법행위 등으로 인한 손해배상책임을 지는 자를 지칭한다 할 것인바, 산업재해보상보험 가입자인 피고회사는 소외회사로부터 위 소외 1이 운전사로 있는 기중기를 임차하였고, 위 소외 1은 피고회사의 지휘감독을 받으면서 기중기의 운전업무에 종사하였던 것이므로 동인은 피고회사에 대하여 근로자의 지위에 있게 된다 할 것이고, 위 소외 1과 피고회사 사이에는 산업재해보험관계가 성립되어 피고는 같은 법 제15조 소정의 제3자에 해당하지 아니한다고 판단하여 배척하였다.

2. 산업재해보상보험법 제15조 소정의 제3자가 피해근로자와의 사이에 산업재해보험관계가 없는 자로서 피해근로자에 대하여 불법행위 등으로 인한 손해배상책임을 지는 자를 지칭한다 함은 원심의 판단과 같다 (당원 1978.2.14 선고 77다1967 판결 참조).

그러나 이 사건에 있어서 피해자인 소외 ○○○과 산업재해보상보험 가입자인 피고회사와의 사이에 산업재해보험관계의 성립이 있다고 할 수 있으려면 위 ○○○이 피고회사의 근로자에 해당되어야 할 것인바, 산업재해보상보험법 제3조 제2항에 의하면 이 법에서 근로자라 함은 근로기준법에 규정된 근로자를 말한다고 되어 있고, 근로기준법 제14조에서는 이 법에서 근로자라 함은 직업의 종류를 불문하고 사업 또는 사업장에 임금을 목적으로 근로를 제공한 자를 말한다고 규정하고 있으며, 같은 법 제18조는 이 법에서 임금이라 함은 사용자가 근로의 대상으로 근로자에게 임금, 봉급 기타 여하한 명칭으로든지 지급하는 일체의 금품을 말한다고 규정하고 있으므로, 근로기준법의 적용을 받는 근로자란 사용자로부터 자기의 근로의 대상으로 금품을 받을 것을 목적으로 하여 사용자에게 근로를 제공하는 자를 말한다 할 것인데(당원 1972.3.28 선고 72도334 판결 참조), 원심이 확정한 사실만으로는 소외 1과 피고회사 사이에 위와 같은 관계가 있었는지 여부를 가려볼 수 없다. 만일 소외 1이 직접 피고회사로부터 자기의 근로의 대상으로 금품을 받을 것을 목적으로 하여 근로를 제공하는 지위에 있지 않았다면 설령 원심확정과 같이 피고회사의 지휘감독을 받아 같은 회사가 임차한 소외 인천중기주식회사 소유의 중기를 운전하였다 하더라도 같은 소외인을 가리켜 피고회사의 근로자라 할 수 없을 것이고, 따라서 피고회사와 같은 소외인 사이에는 산업재해보험관계의 성립을 인정할 수 없어 피고회사는 산업재해보상보험법 제15조 소정의 제3자에 해당한다고 보아야 할 것이다.

원심이 그 판시와 같은 사실만을 확정하고 피고회사와 소외 1 사이에 앞서와 같은 근로의 제공, 임금수령의 관계가 있었는지 여부를 가려봄이 없이 산업재해보험관계의 성립이 있다고 판단하여 원고의 청구를 배척한 조처에는 산업재해보상보험법상의 근로자의 정의와 같은 법 제15조에서 말하는 제3자에 관한 법리오해 및 심리미진, 이유불비 등의 위법이 있고, 이는 소송촉진등에 관한 특례법 제12조 소정의 파기사유에 해당한다 할 것이므로 상고논지는 이유있다.

3. 그러므로 원심판결을 파기하고, 사건을 다시 심리판단케 하고자 환송하기로 관여법관의 의견이 일치되어 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 윤일영(재판장) 강우영 김덕주 오성환

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
95다39540 · 대법원 1995-11-24
Insurance Benefits
#2
98다6084 · 대법원 1998-05-08
Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)
#3
2003나70197 · 서울고등법원 2004-08-13
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
#4
89다카24070 · 대법원 1990-04-27
Insurance Claim (보험금) Case
#5
93다5192 · 대법원 1993-06-08
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)

Cases citing this decision

2021다263748 · 대법원 2022-08-19
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
2006다60793 · 대법원 2007-01-25
Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)
2004나9096 · 서울남부지법 2005-09-22
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
2003다33691 · 대법원 2004-12-24
Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)
98구18366 · 서울행법 1999-06-17
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits, etc.

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)