Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 98다6084

Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)구상금

Decided1998. 05. 08. Court대법원Korea Workers' Compensation & Welfare Service (근로복지공단) won
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

An owner-operator (지입차주), who purchased a forklift and had it registered under a heavy equipment company's name while working as its driver, was involved in an accident. The court examined whether this individual qualified as an 'employee' (근로자) under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법) and the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법). It ruled that because he worked for his own economic benefit rather than in a subordinate relationship for wages, he was not an employee, and therefore the Korea Workers' Compensation & Welfare Service's (근로복지공단) exercise of its subrogation right (구상권) against the third party was valid.

Key takeaways
  • CaseAn owner-operator bought a forklift registered under a heavy equipment company's name and worked as its driver when an accident occurred.
  • OutcomeThe court found he was not an 'employee' under labor law since he worked for his own profit and bore his own costs, so the welfare service's reimbursement claim was upheld.
  • LessonEmployment status depends on the real nature of the working relationship, not on formal contracts or vehicle registration arrangements.
Issues
  • Whether an owner-operator (지입차주) qualifies as an 'employee' under Korean labor law
  • Whether the Korea Workers' Compensation & Welfare Service can exercise a third-party subrogation right (구상권) under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act
Key reasoning

The determination of employee status must be based on the actual substance of the working relationship, not merely the form of the contract. The decisive test is whether the person provided labor for wages under a subordinate relationship with an employer. Here, the owner-operator bore his own business expenses and earned income for his own account, meaning he operated independently rather than as a subordinate worker. Consequently, he did not meet the definition of 'employee' under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, and the Korea Workers' Compensation & Welfare Service was entitled to seek reimbursement from the responsible third party.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

[1] In order to be a beneficiary of insurance benefits under the provisions of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법), a person must have been an employee under the provisions of the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법) at the time of the accident. In determining whether a person constitutes an employee under the Labor Standards Act, the determination must be made based on whether, in substance—regardless of whether the form of the contract is an employment contract or a contract for work under the Civil Act—the worker provided labor to the employer in a subordinate relationship for the purpose of wages, in the business or workplace.

[2] Article 15(1) of the former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (amended in its entirety by Act No. 4826 on December 22, 1994) provides that "where the Minister of Labor has paid insurance benefits for an accident caused by the act of a third party, the Minister shall be subrogated to the right to claim damages against such third party held by the person who received the benefits, to the extent of such benefits: Provided, That this shall not apply where two or more business owners who are insured persons divide and each carry out a single business at the same location, and an accident occurs due to the act of an employee of a business owner other than the employee's own business owner." Accordingly, even where insurance benefits have been paid for an accident caused by the act of a third party, if such third party does not fall under the category of an employee of a business owner, other than the employee's own business owner, who is an insured person under the said Act, the right of subrogation (구상권) is not restricted.

[3] Where a person who is a nominal vehicle owner (지입차주) purchased heavy machinery in the name of a nominal management company (지입회사) and, under a formal management contract with the nominal management company, engaged in the heavy machinery leasing business as both the vehicle owner and driver, such nominal vehicle owner cannot be said to be a person who provides labor for the purpose of receiving wages from the nominal management company or from the lessee of the heavy machinery. Accordingly, the case held that such a person does not constitute an employee under the Labor Standards Act or an employee under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act.

Full text (English, AI translation) 6,217 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellee] Korea Workers' Compensation & Welfare Service (근로복지공단)
[Defendant, Appellant] Defendant (Litigation Representative: Attorney Lee Seong-cheol)
[Judgment Below] Daegu High Court Decision 96Na7763 rendered on December 17, 1997

[Order]

The appeal is dismissed.
The costs of the appeal shall be borne by the Defendant.

[Reasoning]

The grounds of appeal are examined.

In order to be a person eligible for insurance benefits under the provisions of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법), one must have been a worker under the provisions of the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법) at the time of the accident. In determining whether a person falls under the category of "worker" under the Labor Standards Act, the determination must be made based on whether, in substance, the worker provided labor to the employer in a subordinate relationship for the purpose of earning wages in the business or workplace, regardless of whether the form of the contract is an employment contract or a contract for work under the Civil Act (민법) (see Supreme Court Decision 94Da22859 rendered on December 9, 1994; Supreme Court Decision 94Do2122 rendered on June 30, 1995; Supreme Court Decision 97Nu16534 rendered on December 26, 1997, etc.). Furthermore, Article 15(1) of the former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (before its full amendment by Act No. 4826 on December 22, 1994) provides: "Where the Minister of Labor has paid insurance benefits for an accident caused by the act of a third party, the Minister shall be subrogated to the right to claim damages against such third party held by the person who received the benefits, to the extent of such benefits: Provided, That this shall not apply where two or more business owners who are insured persons divide and each conduct a single business at the same place, and an accident occurs due to the act of a worker of a business owner different from the other." Accordingly, even where insurance benefits have been paid for an accident caused by the act of a third party, if such third party does not fall under a "worker of a different business owner who is an insured person" under the above Act, the right of subrogation (구상권) is not restricted.

According to the record, the following facts may be recognized: the Defendant purchased the forklift truck at issue in this case in the name of Nonparty Jinshin Heavy Machinery Co., Ltd. (hereinafter referred to as "Jinshin Heavy Machinery"), and under a nominal management contract with Jinshin Heavy Machinery, engaged in the forklift rental business as the owner-cum-operator of the vehicle; that the Defendant did not receive instructions or wages from Jinshin Heavy Machinery with respect to the operation of the forklift, but rather took the entire proceeds therefrom as his own income at his own risk and bore all vehicle management expenses himself, while paying only management fees and various taxes and public charges to Jinshin Heavy Machinery, with Jinshin Heavy Machinery handling administrative matters such as insurance affairs on his behalf, in the course of operating the forklift; and that Nonparty Jeongdo Facilities Co., Ltd. (hereinafter referred to as "Jeongdo Facilities"), which had been awarded the subcontract for the outdoor mechanical facility construction work of Complex 1 of the apartment at issue from Nonparty Korea National Housing Corporation, had originally used Myeongseong Forklift for material transport work, but on the day of the accident, due to a heavy workload, the site manager, through the Guil Forklift office (a joint office of equipment rental businesses including the Defendant), rented the forklift together with the Defendant as the operator for one day under conditions including payment of equipment usage fees, and deployed it for the copper pipe transport work at issue. In light of these facts, the Defendant cannot be said to be a person who provided labor for the purpose of receiving wages from either Jinshin Heavy Machinery or Jeongdo Facilities, and therefore the Defendant cannot be deemed to fall under the category of "worker" as prescribed by the Labor Standards Act or "worker" as prescribed by the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (see Supreme Court Decision 96Nu11181 rendered on November 29, 1996; Supreme Court Decision 97Nu16534 rendered on December 26, 1997, etc.). Moreover, since the Defendant cannot be deemed to fall under the category of "worker" under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act as set forth above, and there is no evidence in the record to recognize that Jinshin Heavy Machinery undertook the material transport work as a subcontract from Jeongdo Facilities, the mere fact that the Defendant operated the forklift on the day of the accident to carry out the copper pipe transport work cannot be deemed sufficient to establish that Jinshin Heavy Machinery, which was merely the nominal management company of the forklift, was in a relationship with Nonparty Seohan Co., Ltd., the contractor for the new construction of the apartment at issue, of conducting work at the same place and within the same sphere of risk for the completion of the same business. Accordingly, the Defendant's assertion, which presupposes that the Defendant was a worker of a business owner who is an insured person in a relationship of dividing and each conducting a single business at the same place as Seohan Co., Ltd., is without merit.

The judgment below, which reached the same conclusion, is deemed correct, and it cannot be said that there was any error of misapprehension of the legal principles regarding "worker" under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act or "a single business" under the proviso to Article 15(1) of the same Act, as alleged in the grounds of appeal. Therefore, all of the grounds of appeal are rejected.

Accordingly, the appeal is dismissed, and the costs of the appeal are to be borne by the Defendant, the losing party. This judgment is rendered as set forth in the Order, with the unanimous consent of the participating Justices.

Justice Jeong Gui-ho (Presiding Justice), Park Jun-seo, Kim Hyeong-seon (Justice in Charge), Lee Yong-hun

【판결요지】

[1] 산업재해보상보험법의 규정에 의한 보험급여의 대상자가 되기 위하여서는 재해 당시에 근로기준법의 규정에 의한 근로자이어야 할 것이고, 근로기준법상의 근로자에 해당하는지 여부를 판단함에 있어서는 그 계약의 형식이 민법상의 고용계약인지 또는 도급계약인지에 관계없이 그 실질에 있어 근로자가 사업 또는 사업장에 임금을 목적으로 종속적인 관계에서 사용자에게 근로를 제공하였는지 여부에 따라 판단하여야 한다.

[2] 구 산업재해보상보험법(1994. 12. 22. 법률 제4826호로 전문 개정되기 전의 것) 제15조 제1항은 "노동부장관은 제3자의 행위에 의한 재해로 인하여 보험급여를 한 때에는 그 급여의 한도 안에서 급여를 받은 자의 그 제3자에 대한 손해배상청구권을 대위한다. 다만, 보험가입자인 2 이상의 사업주가 같은 장소에서 하나의 사업을 분할하여 각각 행하다가 그 중 사업주를 달리하는 근로자의 행위로 재해가 발생한 때에는 그러하지 아니하다."라고 규정하고 있으므로 제3자의 행위에 의한 재해로 보험급여를 한 때에도 그 제3자가 같은 법상의 보험가입자인 사업주를 달리하는 근로자에 해당하지 아니한 경우에는 구상권이 제한되지 아니한다.

[3] 지입차주가 중기를 지입회사 명의로 구입하여 지입회사와 형식상의 관리계약하에 차주 겸 운전사로서 중기임대업에 종사하여 온 경우, 그 지입차주는 지입회사나 중기의 임차인으로부터 임금을 받을 것을 목적으로 근로를 제공하는 자라고 할 수 없으므로 근로기준법 소정의 근로자나 산업재해보상보험법 소정의 근로자에 해당하지 않는다고 본 사례.

【참조조문】

[1] 구 산업재해보상보험법(1994. 12. 22. 법률 제4826호로 전문 개정되기 전의 것) 제3조 제2항(현행 제4조 제2호 참조), 구 근로기준법(1997. 3. 13. 법률 제5309호로 제정되기 전의 것) 제14조(현행 제14조 참조), 제15조(현행 제15조 참조)

[2] 구 산업재해보상보험법(1994. 12. 22. 법률 제4826호로 전문 개정되기 전의 것) 제15조 제1항(현행 제54조 제1항 참조)

[3] 구 산업재해보상보험법(1994. 12. 22. 법률 제4826호로 전문 개정되기 전의 것) 제3조 제2항(현행 제4조 제2호 참조), 구 근로기준법(1997. 3. 13. 법률 제5309호로 제정되기 전의 것) 제14조(현행 제14조 참조), 제15조(현행 제15조 참조)

【참조판례】

[1][3] 대법원 1995. 6. 30. 선고 94도2122 판결(공1995하, 2685), 대법원 1996. 11. 29. 선고 96누11181 판결(공1997상, 215), 대법원 1997. 12. 26. 선고 97누16534 판결(공1998상, 431) / [1] 대법원 1994. 12. 9. 선고 94다22859 판결(공1995상, 448) / [2] 대법원 1986. 4. 8. 선고 85다카2429 판결(공1986, 759), 대법원 1988. 3. 8. 선고 85다카2285 판결(공1988, 650), 대법원 1996. 1. 26. 선고 95다19751 판결(공1996상, 737), 대법원 1997. 1. 24. 선고 96다39080 판결(공1997상, 636) / [3] 대법원 1989. 10. 24. 선고 89누4888 판결(공1989, 1813)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 2,155자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 피상고인】 근로복지공단

【피고, 상고인】 피고 (소송대리인 변호사 이성철)

【원심판결】 대구고법 1997. 12. 17. 선고 96나7763 판결

【주 문】

상고를 기각한다.

상고비용은 피고의 부담으로 한다.

【이 유】 상고이유를 판단한다.

산업재해보상보험법의 규정에 의한 보험급여의 대상자가 되기 위하여서는 재해 당시에 근로기준법의 규정에 의한 근로자이어야 할 것이고, 근로기준법상의 근로자에 해당하는지 여부를 판단함에 있어서는 그 계약의 형식이 민법상의 고용계약인지 또는 도급계약인지에 관계없이 그 실질에 있어 근로자가 사업 또는 사업장에 임금을 목적으로 종속적인 관계에서 사용자에게 근로를 제공하였는지 여부에 따라 판단하여야 할 것이며(대법원 1994. 12. 9. 선고 94다22859 판결, 1995. 6. 30. 선고 94도2122 판결, 1997. 12. 26. 선고 97누16534 판결 등 참조), 구 산업재해보상보험법(1994. 12. 22. 법률 제4826호로 전문 개정되기 전의 것) 제15조 제1항은 "노동부장관은 제3자의 행위에 의한 재해로 인하여 보험급여를 한 때에는 그 급여의 한도 안에서 급여를 받은 자의 그 제3자에 대한 손해배상청구권을 대위한다. 다만, 보험가입자인 2 이상의 사업주가 같은 장소에서 하나의 사업을 분할하여 각각 행하다가 그 중 사업주를 달리하는 근로자의 행위로 재해가 발생한 때에는 그러하지 아니하다."라고 규정하고 있으므로 제3자의 행위에 의한 재해로 보험급여를 한 때에도 그 제3자가 위 법상의 보험가입자인 사업주를 달리하는 근로자에 해당하지 아니한 경우에는 구상권이 제한되지 아니한다고 할 것이다.

기록에 의하면, 피고는 소외 진신중기 주식회사(이하 진신중기라 한다) 명의로 이 사건 지게차를 구입하여 진신중기와의 형식상의 관리계약하에 차주 겸 운전사로서 지게차임대업에 종사하였는데, 위 지게차의 운행에 관하여 진신중기로부터 지시를 받거나 급여를 받음이 없어 피고의 계산 하에 그 수입금 전액을 자신의 수입으로 하고 차량관리비용 등을 모두 피고가 부담하였으며, 진신중기에 대하여는 관리비와 제세공과금만을 납부하고 진신중기가 보험업무 등 행정적인 업무를 대신 처리하여 주는 방식으로 위 지게차를 운행하여 온 사실, 소외 대한주택공사로부터 이 사건 아파트 1단지 옥외기계설비공사를 도급받은 소외 주식회사 정도설비(이하 정도설비라 한다)는 원래 명성지게차에 자재운반작업을 시켜 왔으나 이 사건 사고 당일의 작업량이 많아 그 현장소장이 피고 등 중기대여업자의 공동사무소인 구일지게차 사무실을 통하여 장비사용료 등 지급조건 아래 기사인 피고와 함께 위 지게차를 하루 동안 임차하여 이 사건 동파이프 운반작업에 투입하였던 사실을 인정할 수 있고, 위 사실관계에 비추어 보면, 피고는 진신중기나 정도설비로부터 임금을 받을 것을 목적으로 근로를 제공하는 자라고 할 수 없으므로 피고를 근로기준법 소정의 근로자나 산업재해보상보험법 소정의 근로자에 해당한다고 할 수 없다고 할 것이며(대법원 1996. 11. 29. 선고 96누11181 판결, 1997. 12. 26. 선고 97누16534 판결 등 참조), 또한 피고를 위에서 본 바와 같이 산업재해보상보험법 소정의 근로자에 해당한다고 할 수 없고 기록상 진신중기가 정도설비로부터 자재운반작업을 하도급받아 시행하였다고 인정할 만한 증거가 없는 이상 피고가 이 사건 사고 당일 위 지게차를 운전하여 동파이프 운반작업을 하였다는 사유만으로 위 지게차의 명목상의 관리회사에 불과한 진신중기가 이 사건 아파트 신축공사의 수급인인 소외 주식회사 서한과 동일한 장소, 동일한 위험권 내에서 같은 사업의 완성을 위하여 행하는 관계에 있었다고 볼 수도 없으므로 결국 피고가 주식회사 서한과 동일한 장소에서 하나의 사업을 분할하여 각각 행하는 관계에 있는 보험가입자인 사업주의 근로자였음을 전제로 하는 피고의 주장은 이유 없다고 할 것이다.

같은 취지의 원심판결은 옳다고 여겨지고, 거기에 상고이유의 주장과 같은 산업재해보상보험법상의 근로자나 같은 법 제15조 제1항 단서의 하나의 사업에 관한 법리오해의 위법이 있다고 할 수 없으므로 상고이유의 주장은 모두 받아들일 수 없다.

그러므로 상고를 기각하고 상고비용은 패소자인 피고의 부담으로 하기로 관여 법관들의 의견이 일치되어 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 정귀호(재판장) 박준서 김형선(주심) 이용훈

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
85다카2429 · 대법원 1986-04-08
Claim for Reimbursement (구상금)
#2
95다39540 · 대법원 1995-11-24
Insurance Benefits
#3
2015나10026 · 대전고등법원 2015-10-14
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
#4
2007가단349262 · 서울중앙지방법원 2008-11-21
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
#5
2013가합103500 · 대전지방법원 2014-12-10
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)

Cases citing this decision

2006다27093 · 대법원 2008-05-15
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
2004나9096 · 서울남부지법 2005-09-22
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
2001도2778 · 대법원 2001-08-21
Violation of the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법위반)
99다58433 · 대법원 2000-03-23
Action to Confirm Non-existence of Obligation
98두9219 · 대법원 2000-01-28
Revocation of Reexamination Decision on Unfair Dismissal Rel

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)