Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 90다카25499

Confirmation of Non-Existence of Insurance Payment Obligation보험금채무부존재확인

Decided1992. 01. 21. Court대법원The insurance company won
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

A taxi driver died in an accident while commuting home in a company taxi after finishing his shift. The Korean Supreme Court (대법원) ruled that this constituted a work-related accident (업무상 재해) because the company had implicitly approved the use of company taxis for commuting. The Court also upheld the validity of the employee exemption clause (피용자 면책조항) in the auto insurance policy, finding it consistent with the Commercial Act (상법), and thus ruled that the insurance company had no obligation to pay out the insurance benefits.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA taxi driver died in a car accident while riding a company taxi home after his shift ended.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court ruled this was a work-related accident, but held the insurance company was exempt from payment under a valid policy exemption clause.
  • LessonEmployers and insurers should recognize that commuting via company-approved transportation can qualify as part of work duties, and that industrial accident insurance—not general auto insurance—typically covers such employer-employee injury claims.
Issues
  • Whether an accident occurring while a taxi driver was commuting home after a shift change constitutes a work-related accident (업무상 재해)
  • Whether the employee exemption clause (피용자 면책조항) in the comprehensive auto insurance policy is invalid for violating Articles 659 and 663 of the Commercial Act (상법)
Key reasoning

The Court reasoned that commuting via a taxi that the company implicitly approved of was an essential and inherent part of the employee's provision of labor, and therefore the accident during this commute qualified as a work-related injury (업무상 재해). Regarding the insurance policy, the Court found that the employee exemption clause was designed to ensure that workplace injury compensation between employer and employee is handled through the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance (산업재해보상보험) system rather than through general auto insurance. Because this purpose did not conflict with the protective provisions of the Commercial Act (상법 제659조, 제663조), the exemption clause was valid and enforceable. As a result, the insurance company was not liable to pay the claimed insurance proceeds.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

[1] Where an employee of a taxi company, after finishing his shift as a driver, was on his way home riding in a taxi driven by a fellow driver on the following shift and was involved in an accident, if this accident occurred while he was going home using a means of transportation that the taxi company had implicitly allowed its employees to use, then, in light of the fact that going home by using such vehicle was an inevitable incident of the provision of labor by the company's employees, the death of the driver who was on his way home in this manner constitutes an occupational injury (업무상 재해), and thus the driver is entitled to receive disaster compensation under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법).

[2] Where the victim of a traffic accident is an employee of the insured who bears liability for compensation, and is a person entitled to receive disaster compensation under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법), the exemption clause under the Comprehensive Automobile Insurance Standard Terms and Conditions (Article 10, Paragraph 2, Item 4), which provides that the insurer shall not compensate for damage suffered by the insured due to such accident, has its purpose in the following: since, with respect to damage arising from an occupational injury occurring within the labor relationship between an employer and an employee, the Labor Standards Act, which governs labor relations, provides for various compensation liabilities of the employer, and, in order to secure such compensation liabilities, the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) establishes the industrial accident compensation insurance system, disaster compensation arising within the labor relationship is, in principle, meant to be indemnified through industrial accident compensation insurance, and is thus intended to be excluded from the scope of bodily injury liability coverage under automobile insurance, which is designed to indemnify liability for damages owed to third parties. Accordingly, it is difficult to regard the clause as falling within the scope of application of Article 659 of the Commercial Act (상법), which is intended to exclude from insurance protection a person responsible for causing the damage, and therefore the said exemption clause cannot be deemed invalid, in violation of Article 663 of the same Act, on the ground that it alters, to the disadvantage of the policyholder or the insured, the grounds for exemption prescribed in Article 659 of the Commercial Act.

Full text (English, AI translation) 6,867 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellee] Haedong Fire & Marine Insurance Co., Ltd. (Attorney Jung Myeong-taek, Counsel for the plaintiff)
[Defendant, Appellant] Seongil Taxi Limited Partnership Company
[Judgment Below] Seoul High Court Decision 90Na7120 rendered on June 29, 1990

[Order]

The appeal is dismissed.
The costs of the appeal shall be borne by the Defendant.

[Reasoning]

1. Judgment on the Defendant's first ground of appeal

According to the reasoning of the first instance judgment as cited by the court below, the first instance court found the following facts: On January 15, 1989, the Defendant company enrolled its business taxi (vehicle registration number omitted) in a comprehensive automobile insurance policy issued by the Plaintiff company, with the Defendant as the insured and the insurance period running from January 16, 1989 to January 16, 1990; at that time, in accordance with the insurance clauses then in effect, it was agreed that where a victim of an automobile accident is an employee of the insured Defendant who is entitled to receive accident compensation under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법), the Plaintiff, as the insurer, would not compensate for the resulting loss. It was further found that on February 21, 1989, at approximately 06:10, Nonparty 1, a driver employed by the Defendant company, was driving the above taxi within the city of Cheonan when, due to careless driving, he struck a roadside tree, resulting in the deaths of himself and the deceased Nonparty 2, who was a passenger in the taxi. However, since the Defendant company was located in Cheonwon-gun and most of the drivers employed by the Defendant company resided within the city of Cheonan, it was found that when the drivers worked shift rotations, they had been commuting to and from work using the Defendant company's taxis with the implicit approval of the Defendant company. It was further found that on the day of the accident, the deceased Nonparty 2, after finishing his shift as a driver employed by the Defendant company, was riding in the above taxi, which was being driven by Nonparty 1, the driver on the next shift, on his way home to his residence in the city of Cheonan when the accident in this case occurred. Based on these findings, the court below determined that the accident occurred while Nonparty 2 was commuting home using the means of transportation that the Defendant company had implicitly allowed its employees to use, and that, in light of the fact that commuting home using the said vehicle was an inevitable incident of the employees' provision of labor for the Defendant company, the death of Nonparty 2 constituted an occupational accident, and accordingly determined that Nonparty 2 was an employee of the Defendant company who was entitled to receive accident compensation under the Labor Standards Act.

In light of the relevant evidence, the record, and the provisions of the relevant statutes, the above findings and determination of the court below are justified and acceptable, and it cannot be said that the judgment below erred in its legal interpretation of the scope of occupational accidents as argued in the grounds of appeal. Therefore, this ground of appeal is without merit.

2. Judgment on the second ground of appeal

In a comprehensive automobile insurance contract's bodily injury liability insurance provision, under which the insured is to be compensated by the insurer for losses incurred as a result of bearing liability for damages under the Act on Guarantee of Compensation for Loss Caused by Automobile Accidents (자동차손해배상보장법) by causing death or injury to another person through the operation of the automobile, the exemption clause of the General Terms and Conditions of Comprehensive Automobile Insurance (Article 10, Paragraph 2, Item 4), which provides that where the victim of the accident is an employee of the insured who bears liability for compensation and who is entitled to receive accident compensation under the Labor Standards Act, the insurer shall not compensate for the loss incurred by the insured as a result of the accident, has the following purpose: For losses arising from occupational accidents occurring within the employer-employee labor relationship, the Labor Standards Act, which governs labor relations, provides for various compensation liabilities of the employer, and the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) establishes an industrial accident compensation insurance system to guarantee such compensation liability. Accordingly, the purpose of the clause is to ensure that, in principle, accident compensation arising within labor relations is to be covered by industrial accident compensation insurance, and to exclude such matters from the scope of bodily injury liability coverage under automobile insurance, which is intended to cover liability for damages to third parties. Therefore, it is difficult to regard this clause as falling within the scope of application of Article 659 of the Commercial Act (상법), which is intended to exclude from insurance protection persons responsible for causing the loss. Accordingly, it cannot be said that the above exemption clause is invalid as violating Article 663 of the same Act by altering, to the detriment of the policyholder or the insured, the grounds for exemption provided in Article 659 of the Commercial Act. This is the position taken in the precedents of this Court (Supreme Court Decision 88Daka29177 rendered on November 14, 1989; Supreme Court Decision 89Daka24070 rendered on April 27, 1990; Supreme Court Decision 90Daka26553 rendered on December 11, 1990; Supreme Court Decision 91Da6634 rendered on May 14, 1991, etc.).

Given the foregoing, on the premise that the above exemption clause is valid, even if, as argued in the grounds of appeal, Nonparty 2 does not fall within the scope of "insured" under the insurance clause and is instead a third party, since he was an employee of the Defendant company whose death resulting from the accident in this case constitutes an occupational accident and who is thus entitled to receive accident compensation under the Labor Standards Act, the determination of the court below that the Plaintiff owes no obligation to pay insurance proceeds to the Defendant company by virtue of the above exemption clause is justified. The argument criticizing the judgment below based on the Defendant's own independent view that the above exemption clause is invalid as violating the provisions of the Commercial Act cannot be accepted.

3. Accordingly, the Defendant's appeal is dismissed, and the costs of the appeal are to be borne by the Defendant, the losing party. The opinions of the Justices involved being unanimous, it is so ordered as stated in the Order.

Supreme Court Justice Yoon Kwan (Presiding Justice), Choi Jae-ho, Kim Ju-han, Kim Yong-jun

【판결요지】

가. 택시회사 소속 운전사로서의 근무를 마치고 교대근무자가 운전하던 택시에 타고 자기 집으로 퇴근하다가 사고를 당한 경우, 그것이 위 택시회사가 묵시적으로 이용하도록 한 교통수단을 이용하여 퇴근하던 중 발생한 사고라면, 위 회사의 피용자들의 노동력 제공에는 위 차량을 이용한 퇴근이 필연적인 사실에 비추어 위 퇴근하던 운전사의 사망은 업무상 재해에 해당된다고 할 것이어서 그 운전사는 근로기준법에 의한 재해보상을 받을 수 있다고 본 사례.

나. 교통사고의 피해자가 배상책임의무가 있는 피보험자의 피용자로서 근로기준법에 의한 재해보상을 받을 수 있는 사람인 경우에는 그 사고로 인하여 피보험자가 입게 된 손해를 보험자가 보상하지 아니하기로 정한 자동차종합보험보통약관상의 면책조항(제10조 제2항 제4호)은, 사용자와 근로자의 노사관계에서 발생한 업무상 재해로 인한 손해에 대하여는 노사관계를 규율하는 근로기준법에서 사용자의 각종 보상책임을 규정하는 한편, 이러한 보상책임을 담보하기 위하여 산업재해보상보험법으로 산업재해보상보험제도를 설정하고 있어서, 노사관계에서 발생하는 재해보상에 대하여는 원칙적으로 산업재해보상보험에 의하여 전보 받도록 하고 제3자에 대한 손해배상책임을 전보하는 것을 목적으로 한 자동차보험의 대인배상 범위에서는 이를 제외하려는 데에 그 취지가 있는 것이므로, 손해발생원인에 책임이 있는 자를 보험의 보호 대상에서 제외하려는 상법 제659조의 적용 대상이라고 보기 어렵고, 따라서 위 면책조항이 보험계약자 또는 피보험자 등에게 불이익하게 상법 제659조에 규정된 면책사유를 변경함으로써 같은 법 제663조에 위반되어 무효라고 볼 수는 없다.

【참조조문】

가. 근로기준법 제82조 / 나. 상법 제659조, 제663조, 산업재해보상보험법 제1조, 제4조

【참조판례】

나. 대법원 1990.4.24. 선고 89다카24070 판결(공1990,1141), 1990.12.11. 선고 90다카26553 판결(공1991,470), 1991.5.14. 선고 91다6634 판결(공1991,1637)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 2,414자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 피상고인】 해동화재해상보험 주식회사 (소송대리인 변호사 정명택)

【피고, 상고인】 성일택시 합자회사

【원심판결】 서울고등법원 1990.6.29. 선고 90나7120 판결

【주 문】

상고를 기각한다.

상고비용은 피고의 부담으로 한다.

【이 유】 1. 피고의 상고이유 제1점에 대한 판단.

원심이 인용한 제1심판결의 이유에 의하면, 제1심은, 피고 회사가1989.1.15. 그 소유의 (차량등록번호 생략) 영업용택시에 대하여 피고를 피보험자, 보험기간을 1989.1.16.부터 1990.1.16까지로 하는 원고회사의 자동차종합보험에 가입하면서, 당시 보험약관에 따라 자동차사고의 피해자가 피보험자인 피고의 피용자로서 근로기준법에 의한 재해보상을 받을 수 있는 사람인 경우에는, 보험회사인 원고가 그로 인한 손해를 보상하지 아니하기로 약정한 사실, 피고 회사의 운전사인 소외 1이 1989.2.21. 06:10경 위 택시를 운전하여 천안 시내를 운행하다가 운전부주의로 가로수를 들이받아 자신과 위 택시에 동승한 망 소외 2가 사망한 사실, 그런데 피고 회사는 천원군에 소재하고 있고 피고 회사의 피용자인 운전사들은 대부분 천안 시내에 거주하고 있었던 관계로 그 운전자들이 교대근무를 할 때에는 피고 회사의 묵시적 승인 아래 피고 회사의 택시를 이용하여 출퇴근을 하여 온 사실, 위 소외 2도 이 사건 사고 당일 피고 회사 소속 운전사로서의 근무를 마치고 교대근무자인 위 소외 1이 운전하던 위 택시에 타고 천안 시내에 있는 자기 집으로 퇴근하다가 이 사건 사고를 당한 사실 등을 인정한 다음, 위 소외 2가 피고 회사가 묵시적으로 이용하도록 한 교통수단을 이용하여 퇴근하던 중 이 사건 사고가 발생한 것이고, 피고 회사의 피용자들의 노동력 제공에는 위 차량을 이용한 퇴근이 필연적인 사실에 비추어 위 소외 2의 사망은 업무상 재해에 해당된다고 할 것이어서, 위 소외 2는 피고 회사의 피용자로서 근로기준법에 의한 재해보상을 받을 수 있는 사람이라고 판단하였다.

관계증거 및 기록과 관계법령의 규정내용에 비추어볼 때, 원심의 위와 같은 인정판단은 정당한 것으로 수긍이 되고, 원심판결에 소론과 같이 업무상 재해의 범위에 관한 법리를 오해한 위법이 있다고 볼 수 없으므로 논지는 이유가 없다.

2. 같은 상고이유 제2점에 대한 판단.

자동차종합보험계약 중 피보험자가 자동차의 운행으로 인하여 남을 죽게 하거나 다치게 하여 자동차손해배상보장법에 의한 손해배상책임을 짐으로써 입게 될 손해를 보험자로부터 보상받기로 하는 내용의 대인배상책임보험 계약에 있어서, 그 사고의 피해자가 배상책임의무가 있는 피보험자의 피용자로서 근로기준법에 의한 재해보상을 받을 수 있는 사람인 경우에는 그 사고로 인하여 피보험자가 입게 된 손해를 보험자가 보상하지 아니하기로 정한 자동차종합보험보통약관상의 면책조항(제10조 제2항 제4호)은, 사용자와 근로자의 노사관계에서 발생한 업무상 재해로 인한 손해에 대하여는 노사관계를 규율하는 근로기준법에서 사용자의 각종 보상책임을 규정하는 한편, 이러한 보상책임을 담보하기 위하여 산업재해보상보험법으로 산업재해보상보험제도를 설정하고 있어서, 노사관계에서 발생하는 재해보상에 대하여는 원칙적으로 산업재해보상보험에 의하여 전보 받도록 하고 제3자에 대한 손해배상책임을 전보하는 것을 목적으로 한 자동차보험의 대인배상범위에서는 이를 제외하려는 데에 그 취지가 있는 것이므로, 손해발생원인에 책임이 있는 자를 보험의 보호대상에서 제외하려는 상법 제659조의 적용대상이라고 보기 어렵고, 따라서 위 면책조항이 보험계약자 또는 피보험자 등에게 불이익하게 상법 제659조에 규정된 면책사유를 변경함으로써 같은 법 제663조에 위반되어 무효라고 볼 수는 없다는 것이 당원의 판례(1989.11.14. 선고 88다카29177 판결; 1990.4.27. 선고 89다카24070 판결; 1990.12.11. 선고 90다카26553 판결; 1991.5.14. 선고 91다6634 판결 등)가 취하고 있는 견해이다.

그렇다면 위 면책조항이 유효한 것임을 전제로 하여, 위 소외 2가 비록 소론과 같이 위 보험약관상 피보험자의 범위에 들지 않는 제3자라고 하더라도, 피고 회사의 피용자로서 이 사건 사고로 인한 그의 사망이 업무상 재해에 해당하여 근로기준법에 의한 재해보상을 받을 수 있는 사람인 이상, 위 면책조항에 의하여 원고의 피고 회사에 대한 보험금액지급채무가 존재하지 아니한다고 본 원심의 판단은 정당하고, 이와는 반대로 위 면책조항이 상법의 규정에 위반되어 무효라는 독자적인 견해에서 원심판결을 비난하는 논지는 받아들일 수 없다.

3. 그러므로 피고의 상고를 기각하고 상고비용은 패소자인 피고의 부담으로 하기로 관여 법관의 의견이 일치되어 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 윤관(재판장) 최재호 김주한 김용준

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
94누9498 · 대법원 1994-10-25
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
#2
2008누821 · 광주고등법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
#3
2018누23893 · 부산고등법원 0001-01-01
최초요양급여승인결정취소
#4
93다25851 · 대법원 1993-11-09
보험금지급
#5
2017구단21214 · 부산지방법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits

Cases citing this decision

2000다19021 · 대법원 2000-09-29
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
99다68027 · 대법원 2000-04-25
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
99다24744 · 대법원 1999-09-03
Mutual Aid Insurance Payment Case (공제금)
93다5376 · 대법원 1994-01-11
Confirmation of Non-Existence of Obligation (채무부존재확인)
93다23107 · 대법원 1993-11-09
Insurance Proceeds Case (보험금)

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)