Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 93다5376

Confirmation of Non-Existence of Obligation (채무부존재확인)채무부존재확인

Decided1994. 01. 11. Court대법원Case reversed and remanded (파기환송) - the Supreme Court sent the case back to the lower court for further review of the victim's status as a public official
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

This case involved a principal of a special education school who suffered a traffic accident while performing official duties. The Supreme Court held that before applying the exemption clause (면책조항) in an auto insurance policy, the lower court must first determine whether the victim qualified as a public official (공무원) under the Public Officials Pension Act (공무원연금법). Since individuals covered by the Public Officials Pension Act are not subject to the industrial accident compensation provisions under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법), the insurance exemption clause would not apply to them. The case was reversed and remanded because the lower court failed to examine this threshold issue.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA special education school principal was injured in a traffic accident while performing official duties, and the insurer sought to deny liability using a Labor Standards Act-related exemption clause.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court ruled that courts must first determine whether the victim is covered by the Public Officials Pension Act before applying the insurance exemption clause, since such persons are excluded from Labor Standards Act accident compensation.
  • LessonInsurers and courts must verify a claimant's employment status under public pension laws before invoking exemption clauses tied to labor law compensation systems.
Issues
  • Scope of application of the exemption clause (면책조항) in comprehensive auto insurance policy terms as it relates to persons entitled to industrial accident compensation under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법)
  • Whether a special education school principal qualifies as a 'public official' (공무원) under the Public Officials Pension Act (공무원연금법)
Key reasoning

The exemption clause in standard auto insurance policies is designed to apply only when the victim's damages could otherwise be compensated through industrial accident compensation insurance (산업재해보상보험) under the Labor Standards Act. However, individuals covered by the Public Officials Pension Act are excluded from receiving industrial accident compensation under the Labor Standards Act, meaning the insurance exemption clause simply does not apply to them. Therefore, the critical preliminary question was whether the school principal—as an employee of a special education school—qualified as a 'public official' under the Public Officials Pension Act. The Supreme Court found that the lower court had not adequately examined this factual and legal issue before applying the exemption clause, making the lower court's ruling procedurally defective.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

[1] The provision in Article 10, Paragraph 2, Item 4 of the Comprehensive Automobile Insurance Clause (자동차종합보험약관), which stipulates as a ground for the insurer's exemption from liability the case where the victim is an employee of the insured who bears liability and is a person entitled to receive accident compensation under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법), has its purpose in ensuring that, in principle, accident compensation arising in labor relations is to be indemnified through the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance (산업재해보상보험). Therefore, where the victim is not a person entitled to receive accident compensation under the Labor Standards Act, or even if the victim is entitled to receive accident compensation under the Labor Standards Act but is unable to receive compensation under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법), such a case must be excluded from the scope of application of the above exemption ground.

[2] Considering the provisions of Article 1, Article 25, Article 34, Article 42, and Article 65, Paragraph 2, etc. of the Public Officials Pension Act (공무원연금법), where a public official as defined in Article 3, Paragraph 1, Item 1 of that Act suffers an injury caused by official duties, such official is not entitled to receive accident compensation under the Labor Standards Act, but is instead entitled to receive benefits under the Public Officials Pension Act. There is room to view the principal of a special school established by a province as a public official within the meaning of Article 3, Paragraph 1, Item 1 of the Public Officials Pension Act, and if the facts are indeed so, it must be held that, with respect to the damage suffered from an injury caused by the accident, he is not a person entitled to receive accident compensation under the Labor Standards Act, but rather a person subject to the payment of benefits under the Public Officials Pension Act.

Full text (English, AI translation) 7,237 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellee] Korea Automobile Insurance Co., Ltd., Litigation Representative Attorney Jeong Woong-tae
[Defendant, Appellant] Jeju-do, Litigation Representative Attorney Moon Seong-yun
[Judgment Below] Gwangju High Court Decision 92Na3495 rendered on December 15, 1992

[Order]

The judgment below is reversed, and the case is remanded to the Gwangju High Court.

[Reasoning]

The Court examines the grounds of appeal submitted by the Defendant's litigation representative.

1. According to the reasoning of the judgment below, the court below found, based on the evidence cited, the following facts: that Non-party 1, the principal of ○○ ○○ School, a special school under Article 144 of the Education Act (교육법) established by the Defendant, was riding in the insured vehicle involved in this case, which was being driven by Non-party 2, a technical civil servant employed at the said school, in order to inspect the camp training facility attached to the said school on the date of the accident in question, and suffered injury as a result of the accident; and that under Article 10(2)(4) of the general terms and conditions of the comprehensive automobile insurance contract entered into between the Defendant and the Plaintiff, it is provided that the insurer shall not be liable for compensation where an employee of the insured who bears liability for compensation dies or is injured, if such employee is a person entitled to receive accident compensation under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법). Based on these findings, the court below determined that, even though Non-party 1 was a teacher under the Education Officials Act (교육공무원법), he was, in essence, a worker under Article 14 of the Labor Standards Act who provides labor for the purpose of earning wages, and that since the Labor Standards Act, pursuant to Article 11 thereof, applies to the State and local governments as well, Non-party 1, as an employee of the Defendant who was the insured under this comprehensive automobile insurance policy, had the right to receive accident compensation under the Labor Standards Act for the damage suffered from the accident, which constituted an occupational injury; therefore, the insured accident in question fell under the exemption clause set forth in Article 10(2)(4) of the above terms and conditions, and accordingly the Defendant could not claim payment of bodily injury liability insurance proceeds from the Plaintiff with respect to the damage suffered by Non-party 1 as a result of the accident.

2. However, the purpose of Article 10(2)(4) of the above comprehensive automobile insurance terms and conditions, which provides as an exemption ground for the insurer the case where the victim is an employee of the insured bearing liability for compensation and is a person entitled to receive accident compensation under the Labor Standards Act, is as follows: in light of the fact that, with respect to damage caused by occupational accidents arising in the employment relationship between an employer and an employee, the Labor Standards Act, which governs labor relations, provides for various compensation liabilities of the employer, while the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) establishes an industrial accident compensation insurance system to guarantee such compensation liabilities, the purpose of this provision is, in principle, to have damage arising from occupational accidents in an employment relationship compensated through industrial accident compensation insurance (see this Court's Decision 91Da38297 rendered on August 18, 1992). Therefore, where the victim is not a person entitled to receive accident compensation under the Labor Standards Act, or even if the victim is entitled to receive accident compensation under the Labor Standards Act but is unable to receive compensation under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, such victim must be excluded from the scope of application of the above exemption ground.

Meanwhile, according to the provisions of Article 1, Article 25, Article 34, Article 42, and Article 65(2) of the Public Officials Pension Act (공무원연금법), where a public official as defined in Article 3(1)(1) of that Act suffers an injury due to official duties, such public official is not entitled to receive accident compensation under the Labor Standards Act, but is instead entitled to receive benefits under the Public Officials Pension Act. In this case, if, as found by the court below, the above Non-party 1 [referred to in the original text of the reasoning as "Bak Seong-hun"] was the principal of a special school, there is room to view him as a public official as referred to in Article 3(1)(1) of the Public Officials Pension Act, and if that is indeed the case, then the above Non-party 1 should be regarded not as a person entitled to receive accident compensation under the Labor Standards Act for the damage suffered from the injury caused by the accident in question, but as a person entitled to receive benefits under the Public Officials Pension Act. Accordingly, the insured accident in this case cannot be said to constitute an accident falling under the exemption ground provided in Article 10(2)(4) of the above terms and conditions. Therefore, the court below could not conclude that the above Non-party 1 was a person entitled to receive accident compensation under the Labor Standards Act without examining whether the above Non-party 1 falls under the category of public official as provided in Article 3(1)(1) of the Public Officials Pension Act (even if the above Non-party 1 were a person entitled to receive accident compensation under the Labor Standards Act, if he were not a person entitled to receive accident compensation under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, he should be excluded from the scope of application of the above exemption ground; however, the court below made no examination or determination whatsoever on this point).

Accordingly, the court below's determination that Non-party 1, the victim of the traffic accident in this case, was to be regarded as an employee of the insured bearing the obligation of compensation as set forth in Article 10(2)(4) of the above automobile damage compensation general terms and conditions, and as a person entitled to receive accident compensation under the Labor Standards Act, and that the insured accident in this case therefore fell under the insurer's exemption ground set forth in the above terms and conditions, constitutes an error of law in that the court below failed to fully examine whether the above Non-party 1 was a public official under Article 3(1)(1) of the Public Officials Pension Act, or erred in the interpretation of the above terms and conditions, and it is clear that such error affected the judgment. Therefore, the argument pointing out this error is well-founded.

3. Accordingly, without rendering judgment on the remaining grounds of appeal, the judgment below is reversed and the case is remanded, in accordance with the unanimous opinion of the participating Justices, as set forth in the Order.

Justice An Woo-man (Presiding Justice), Kim Yong-jun, Cheon Gyeong-song (Justice in Charge), An Yong-deuk

【판결요지】

가. 자동차종합보험약관 제10조 제2항 제4호에서 피해자가 배상책임 있는 피보험자의 피용자로서 근로기준법에 의한 재해보상을 받을 수 있는 사람인 경우 보험자의 면책사유로 규정한 것은 노사관계에서 발생하는 재해보상에 대하여는 원칙적으로 산업재해보상보험에 의하여 전보받도록 하려는 데에 그 취지가 있는 것이므로, 피해자가 근로기준법에 의한 재해보상을 받을 수 있는 자가 아니거나 근로기준법에 의한 재해보상을 받을 수 있다고 하더라도 산업재해보상보험법에 의하여 보상을 받을 수 없는 경우에는 위 면책사유의 적용대상에서 제외되어야 한다.

나. 공무원연금법 제1조, 제25조, 제34조, 제42조, 제65조 제2항 등의 규정을 보면 그 법 제3조 제1항 제1호 소정의 공무원이 공무로 인한 부상을 당하였을 경우에는 근로기준법에 의한 재해보상을 받을 수 있는 것이 아니라 공무원연금법에 의한 급여를 받도록 되어 있는바, 도가 설립한 특수학교의 교장은 공무원연금법 제3조 제1항 제1호에서 말하는 공무원이라고 볼 여지가 있고, 사실이 그러하다면, 그는 사고로 인하여 부상을 당함으로써 입은 손해에 대하여 근로기준법에 의한 재해보상을 받을 수 있는 자가 아니라 공무원연금법에의한 급여지급대상자가 된다고 보아야 한다.

【참조조문】

가. 상법 제659조, 산업재해보상보험법 제1조, 제4조 / 나. 근로기준법 제11조, 제14조, 공무원연금법 제1조, 제3조 제1항 제1호, 제25조, 제34조, 제42조, 제65조 제2항

【참조판례】

대법원 1992.1.21. 선고 90다카25499 판결(공1992,871), 1992.8.18. 선고 91다38297 판결(공1992,2740), 1993.11.9. 선고 93다23107 판결(공1994상,76)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 2,570자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 피상고인】 한국자동차보험 주식회사 소송대리인 변호사 정웅태

【피고, 상고인】 제주도 소송대리인 변호사 문성윤

【원심판결】 광주고등법원 1992.12.15. 선고 92나3495 판결

【주 문】

원심판결을 파기하고 사건을 광주고등법원에 환송한다.

【이 유】 피고 소송대리인의 상고이유를 본다.

1. 원심판결 이유에 의하면 원심은 그 거시증거에 의하여 소외 1이 피고가 설립한 교육법 제144조 소정의 특수학교인 ○○ ○○학교의 교장인바, 이 사건 사고일에 위 학교 부설 야영훈련장을 돌아 보기 위하여 위 학교 소속 기능직 공무원인 소외 2가 운전하는 이 사건 피보험차량에 승차하고 가다가 이 사건 사고를 당하여 상해를 입은 사실, 피고가 원고와 체결한 이 사건 자동차종합보험계약의 보통약관 제10조 제2항 제4호에 의하면 배상책임의무가 있는 피보험자의 피용자로서 근로기준법에 의하여 재해보상을 받을 수 있는 사람이 죽거나 다친 경우에는 이를 보상하지 않기로 규정되어 있는 사실 등을 인정한 다음, 위 인정사실에 의하면 위 소외 1은 교육공무원법 소정의 교원이라도 본질적으로는 임금을 목적으로 근로를 제공하는 근로기준법 제14조 소정의 근로자라 할 것이고 근로기준법은 제11조에 의하여 국가 및 지방자치단체에 대하여도 적용되는 것이어서 결국 위 소외 1은 이 사건 자동차종합보험의 피보험자인 피고의 피용자로서 그 업무상 재해에 해당하는 위 사고로 입은 손해에 대하여 근로기준법에 따른 재해보상을 받을 권리가 있다고 할 것이므로 위 보험사고는 위 약관 제10조 제2항 제4호 소정의 면책사유에 해당하고 따라서 피고는 원고에 대하여 위 사고로 위 소외 1이 입은 손해에 관한 대인배상보험금의 지급을 청구할 수 없다고 판단하였다.

2. 그러나 위 자동차종합보험약관 제10조 제2항 제4호에서 피해자가 배상책임 있는 피보험자의 피용자로서 근로기준법에 의한 재해보상을 받을 수 있는 사람인 경우 보험자의 면책사유로 규정한 것은 사용자와 근로자의 노사관계에서 발생한 업무상 재해로 인한 손해에 대하여는 노사관계를 규율하는 근로기준법에서 사용자의 각종 보상책임을 규정하는 한편 이러한 보상책임을 담보하기 위하여 산업재해보상보험법으로 산업재해보상보험제도를 설정하고 있음에 비추어 노사관계에서 발생하는 재해보상에 대하여는 원칙적으로 산업재해보상보험에 의하여 전보받도록 하려는 데에 그 취지가 있는 것이므로( 당원 1992.8.18. 선고 91다38297 판결 참조), 피해자가 근로기준법에 의한 재해보상을 받을 수 있는 자가 아니거나 근로기준법에 의한 재해보상을 받을 수 있다고 하더라도 산업재해보상보험법에 의하여 보상을 받을 수 없는 경우에는 위 면책사유의 적용대상에서 제외되어야 할 것이다.

그런데 공무원연금법 제1조, 제25조, 제34조, 제42조, 제65조 제2항 등의 규정을 보면 그 법 제3조 제1항 제1호 소정의 공무원이 공무로 인한 부상을 당하였을 경우에는 근로기준법에 의한 재해보상을 받을 수 있는 것이 아니라 공무원연금법에 의한 급여를 받도록 되어 있는바, 이 사건에서 원심이 인정한 바와 같이 위 박성훈이 특수학교의 교장이라면 공무원연금법 제3조 제1항 제1호에서 말하는 공무원이라고 볼 여지가 있고, 사실이 그러하다면, 위 박성훈은 위 사고로 인하여 부상을 당함으로써 입은 손해에 대하여 근로기준법에 의한 재해보상을 받을 수 있는 자가 아니라 공무원연금법에 의한 급여지급대상자가 된다고 보아야 할 것이고, 따라서 이 사건 보험사고는 위 약관 제10조 제2항 제4호에 정한 면책사유에 해당하는 사고라고 할 수 없는 것이니, 원심으로서는 위 소외 1이 공무원연금법 제3조 제1항 제1호 소정의 공무원에 해당하는지 여부를 심리하지 않고서는 위 소외 1이 근로기준법에 의한 재해보상을 받을 수 있는 자라고 단정할 수 없다고 할 것이다(위 소외 1이 근로기준법에 의한 재해보상을 받을 수 있는 자라고 하더라도 산업재해보상보험법에 의한 재해보상을 받을 수 있는 자가 아니라면 위 면책사유의 적용대상에서 제외된다고 보아야 할 것인데, 원심은 이 점에 관하여 아무런 심리판단을 하지 않았다).

따라서 원심이 이 사건 교통사고 피해자인 소외 1이 위 자동차손해배상보통약관 제10조 제2항 제4호 소정의 배상의무 있는 피보험자의 피용자로서 근로기준법에 의한 재해보상을 받을 수 있는 사람으로 보고 이 사건 보험사고가 위 약관에서 정한 보험자의 면책사유에 해당한다고 판단한 것은 위 소외 1이 공무원연금법 제3조 제1항 제1호의 공무원인지에 대한 심리를 다하지 아니하였거나 위 약관의 해석을 그르친 위법을 저지른 것이라 할 것이고 이와 같은 위법은 판결에 영향을 미친 것임이 명백하므로 이 점을 지적하는 논지는 이유 있다.

3. 그러므로 나머지 상고이유에 대한 판단을 생략하고 원심판결을 파기환송하기로 하여 관여 법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 안우만(재판장) 김용준 천경송(주심) 안용득

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
98다63773 · 대법원 1999-03-23
Insurance Benefits
#2
91다38297 · 대법원 1992-08-18
Insurance Benefits
#3
93다5192 · 대법원 1993-06-08
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
#4
94다4424 · 대법원 1995-02-10
Insurance Claim Case
#5
93다58622 · 대법원 1994-03-11
Insurance Claim Case (보험금 – Bohyumgeum)

Cases citing this decision

99다68027 · 대법원 2000-04-25
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
94다4424 · 대법원 1995-02-10
Insurance Claim Case
94다4554 · 대법원 1994-06-24
채무존재확인
93다58622 · 대법원 1994-03-11
Insurance Claim Case (보험금 – Bohyumgeum)

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)