Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 97누16534

Revocation of Denial of Medical Care Benefits요양불승인처분취소

Decided1997. 12. 26. Court대법원Employer (insurance provider) won
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

In an industrial accident case involving a forklift owner-operator who was injured while working under a vehicle registration/lease arrangement (지입차주), the Supreme Court of Korea ruled that the injured individual did not qualify as an 'employee' because he did not provide labor for wages under a subordinate relationship with an employer. As a result, he was not eligible for benefits under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법), and the agency's decision to deny medical care benefits (요양불승인 처분) was upheld as lawful. The ruling reaffirmed that employee status must be determined by the actual substance of the working relationship, not merely by the form of the contract.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA forklift owner-operator working under a vehicle lease/registration arrangement was injured on the job and applied for industrial accident medical care benefits.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court held that he was not a legal 'employee' because he lacked a subordinate, wage-based working relationship, so the denial of benefits was valid.
  • LessonEmployee status for workers' compensation purposes depends on the real nature of the working relationship, not the title or form of the contract used.
Issues
  • Whether a vehicle/equipment owner-operator under a lease-type contract (지입차주) qualifies as an 'employee' under the Labor Standards Act
  • What requirements must be met to qualify as a beneficiary of industrial accident insurance benefits under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act
Key reasoning

To receive industrial accident insurance benefits, a claimant must qualify as an 'employee' under the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법). Whether someone is an employee should be judged based on the actual substance of the relationship—specifically, whether the person provided labor for wages under a subordinate, dependent relationship with an employer—regardless of how the contract is labeled. In this case, the forklift owner-operator operated under a lease-type contract (임대차계약) that did not establish a subordinate relationship with the company. Therefore, he could not be considered an employee, and the denial of his workers' compensation claim was legally justified.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

[1] In order to be a subject of insurance benefits under the provisions of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법), a person must have been a worker under the provisions of the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법) at the time of the accident, and in determining whether a person constitutes a worker under the Labor Standards Act, the determination should be made based on whether, in substance, the worker provided labor to the employer in a subordinate relationship for the purpose of wages at the business or workplace, regardless of whether the form of the contract is an employment contract or a subcontract (도급계약) under the Civil Act (민법).

[2] A case holding that the owner-operator (지입차주) and operator of leased heavy machinery, who was also its driver, was not dispatched to the accident site as an employee of the vehicle-registration company (지입회사), and further, in light of the contents of the heavy machinery lease agreement concluded with the non-party company, which was a subcontractor, could not be found to have been in a position of providing labor in a subordinate relationship for the purpose of wages, and therefore did not constitute a worker under the Labor Standards Act.

Full text (English, AI translation) 6,199 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellant]

[Defendant, Appellee] Korea Workers' Compensation & Welfare Service (근로복지공단)

[Judgment Below]

Seoul High Court Judgment 96Gu31491, rendered August 28, 1997

[Order]

The appeal is dismissed. The costs of the appeal shall be borne by the Plaintiff.

[Reasoning]

The grounds of appeal are examined.

According to the reasoning of the judgment below, the court below found the following facts based on the evidence indicated: On April 13, 1990, the Plaintiff purchased the forklift at issue in this case under the name of non-party Daewoo Heavy Industries Co., Ltd. (hereinafter "Daewoo Heavy Industries"), registered it under that company through a title-lending (jiip) arrangement, and thereafter, without hiring a separate heavy equipment operator, personally operated the forklift himself, performing work at locations arranged by Daewoo Heavy Industries. The Plaintiff retained all income generated therefrom as his own income, while paying only a fixed monthly title-lending fee and various taxes and public charges to Daewoo Heavy Industries. On June 13, 1994, the registration of the forklift was converted to the Plaintiff's own name under the real-name conversion system, but the manner in which it was managed remained the same as before. On July 8, 1995, Daewoo Heavy Industries entered into a heavy equipment lease contract, in the Plaintiff's name, with non-party Daewon Construction Co., Ltd. (a subcontractor of non-party Hyundai Construction Co., Ltd.), under which the monthly rental fee was set at KRW 3,400,000 and the place of use was designated as the Hyundai Oil Refining Company expansion construction site being built by Hyundai Construction Co., Ltd. Pursuant to this contract, the Plaintiff went to the construction site and, while operating the forklift under the direction of Daewon Construction Co., Ltd., suffered an accident on the 18th of the same month at approximately 13:40, when steel frames that had been placed in preparation for installation toppled over, trapping the Plaintiff's right ankle between the steel frame and the ground, resulting in the amputation of his right ankle.

Based on these findings, the court below determined that the Plaintiff could not be considered a person who provided labor for the purpose of receiving wages from Hyundai Construction Co., Ltd. (the contractor constructing the project), from Daewon Construction Co., Ltd. (its subcontractor), or from Daewoo Heavy Industries Co., Ltd. (the company under which the Plaintiff had effectively registered the forklift through the title-lending arrangement). Accordingly, the court below found that the Plaintiff did not fall under the category of "worker" (근로자) as defined by the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법) or the category of worker entitled to benefits under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법), and on this basis dismissed the Plaintiff's claim seeking revocation of the Defendant's disposition denying the Plaintiff's application for medical care benefits on the ground that such disposition was unlawful.

Pursuant to Article 49(1), Articles 40 through 44, and Article 4, Item 2 of the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, in order to be eligible for insurance benefits under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act, one must have been a "worker" as defined under the Labor Standards Act at the time of the accident. In determining whether a person falls under the category of "worker" under the Labor Standards Act, as the Plaintiff argues, the determination should be made not based on whether the form of the contract is an employment contract or a contract for work under the Civil Act (민법), but based on the substance of the relationship—namely, whether the worker provided labor to the employer in a subordinate relationship for the purpose of earning wages within a business or workplace (see Supreme Court Decision 94Da22859, rendered December 9, 1994). However, according to the record,

the Plaintiff, as the title-lending vehicle owner (지입차주), was not dispatched to the accident site as an employee of Daewoo Heavy Industries, the title-lending company. Furthermore, with respect to the heavy equipment lease contract concluded with Daewon Construction Co., Ltd., the subcontractor, the terms of that contract provided that a fixed monthly amount, including room and board expenses, would be paid without separately compensating for the labor cost of the equipment operator. In addition, while the Plaintiff was to follow the instructions of Daewon Construction Co., Ltd. in performing the work, he was also permitted, even during the contract period, to voluntarily withdraw the equipment if unavoidable circumstances arose regarding working conditions, and it was agreed that if the equipment was unable to operate due to repairs for five or more days in a month, the parties could, by mutual agreement, either extend the period of use or deduct the corresponding amount from the rental fee. In light of these circumstances, it cannot be found that the Plaintiff was in a position of providing labor in a subordinate relationship for the purpose of earning wages, either with respect to Daewon Construction Co., Ltd. or with respect to Hyundai Construction Co., Ltd., the contractor of the construction project at issue. Accordingly, the Plaintiff does not fall under the category of "worker" under the Labor Standards Act. While the reasoning of the court below to the same effect is somewhat insufficient in its explanation, its conclusion is justified, and it cannot be said that the court below erred in its legal interpretation regarding the status of "worker" in relation to the contractor company (as opposed to the title-lending company), or that it failed to render judgment on that issue, as argued by the Plaintiff. This ground of appeal is without merit.

Therefore, the appeal is dismissed, and the costs of the appeal are to be borne by the losing party. This judgment is rendered as stated in the Order by the unanimous opinion of the participating Justices.

Presiding Justice Lee Yong-hoon, Justice Jeong Gwi-ho, Justice Park Jun-seo (Justice in charge), Justice Kim Hyeong-seon

【판결요지】

[1] 산업재해보상보험법의 규정에 의한 보험급여의 대상자가 되기 위해서는 재해 당시에 근로기준법의 규정에 의한 근로자이어야 한다고 할 것이고, 근로기준법상의 근로자에 해당하는지 여부를 판단함에 있어서는 그 계약의 형식이 민법상의 고용계약인지 또는 도급계약인지에 관계없이 그 실질에 있어 근로자가 사업 또는 사업장에 임금을 목적으로 종속적인 관계에서 사용자에게 근로를 제공하였는지 여부에 따라 판단하여야 한다.

[2] 임대된 중기의 지입차주 겸 조종사가 지입회사의 근로자로서 당해 사고현장에 파견된 것이 아님은 물론, 하도급업체인 소외 회사와 사이에 체결된 중기임대차계약의 내용상 임금을 목적으로 종속적인 관계에서 근로를 제공하는 지위에 있었다고 볼 수 없어 근로기준법상의 근로자에 해당하지 않는다고 본 사례.

【참조조문】

[1] 산업재해보상보험법 제4조 제2호 , 제40조 , 제49조 제1항 , 근로기준법 제14조

[2] 산업재해보상보험법 제4조 제2호 , 제40조 , 제49조 제1항 , 근로기준법 제14조

【참조판례】

[1] 대법원 1994. 12. 9. 선고 94다22859 판결(공1995상, 448), 대법원 1995. 6. 30. 선고 94도2122 판결(공1995하, 2685), 대법원 1996. 11. 29. 선고 96누11181 판결(공1997상, 215)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 2,056자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고,상고인】

【피고,피상고인】 근로복지공단

【원심판결】 서울고법 1997. 8. 28. 선고 96구31491 판결

【주문】

상고를 기각한다. 상고비용은 원고의 부담으로 한다.

【이유】 상고이유를 본다.

원심판결 이유에 의하면, 원심은 거시 증거에 의하여, 원고는 이 사건 지게차를 1990. 4. 13. 소외 대우중기 주식회사(이하 '대우중기'라고 한다) 명의로 구입하여 위 회사에 지입한 후 별도의 중기조종사를 두지 아니한 채 본인이 직접 이를 운전하면서 대우중기에서 알선하여 준 장소에서 작업을 수행하고 그로 인한 수입 전부를 자신의 수입으로 하되 매월 일정액의 지입료 및 제세공과금만을 대우중기에 납부하여 오다가 1994. 6. 13.자로 이 사건 지게차에 대한 등록명의마저 원고 앞으로 실명전환하였으나 그 관리형태는 종전과 동일한 방식을 유지하여 온 사실, 대우중기는 1995. 7. 8. 소외 현대건설 주식회사의 하도급업체인 소외 대원건설 주식회사와 사이에 원고의 이름으로 이 사건 지게차에 관하여 월 사용료를 금 3,400,000원, 사용장소를 현대건설 주식회사가 시공하고 있던 현대정유 증설공사장으로 한 중기임대차계약을 체결한 사실, 원고는 위 계약에 따라 위 공사현장에 내려가 위 대원건설 주식회사의 작업지시에 따라 위 지게차를 운전하던 중 같은 달 18. 13:40경 철골설치를 위하여 운반하여 놓은 철골이 넘어지면서 원고의 오른쪽 발목이 철골과 지면 사이에 끼는 바람에 오른쪽 발목이 절단되는 사고를 당하게 된 사실을 인정한 다음, 원고는 위 공사의 시공회사인 현대건설 주식회사나 그 하도급업체인 위 대원건설 주식회사 또는 원고가 사실상 위 지게차를 지입하고 있던 대우중기 주식회사로부터 임금을 받을 것을 목적으로 근로를 제공하는 자라고 할 수 없어 근로기준법이 정한 근로자나 산업재해보상보험법이 정한 수혜자인 근로자에 해당하지 않는다고 판단하여, 원고의 요양신청을 불승인한 피고의 처분이 위법함을 이유로 그 취소를 구하는 원고의 이 사건 청구를 기각하였다.

산업재해보상보험법 제49조 제1항, 제40조 내지 제44조 및 제4조 제2호의 각 규정에 의하면, 산업재해보상보험법의 규정에 의한 보험급여의 대상자가 되기 위해서는 재해 당시에 근로기준법의 규정에 의한 근로자이어야 한다고 할 것이고, 근로기준법상의 근로자에 해당하는지 여부를 판단함에 있어서는 그 계약의 형식이 민법상의 고용계약인지 또는 도급계약인지에 관계없이 그 실질에 있어 근로자가 사업 또는 사업장에 임금을 목적으로 종속적인 관계에서 사용자에게 근로를 제공하였는지 여부에 따라 판단하여야 할 것임은 소론과 같으나(대법원 1994. 12. 9. 선고 94다22859 판결 참조), 기록에 의하면, 원고는 지입차주로서 지입회사인 대우중기의 근로자로서 이 사건 사고현장에 파견된 것이 아님은 물론, 하도급업체인 위 대원건설 주식회사와 사이에 체결된 중기임대차계약도 그 내용이 중기조종사의 인건비를 따로 지급하지 아니한 채 그 숙식비를 포함하여 매월 일정액을 받기로 한 데다가 작업수행상 위 회사의 지시를 받되 계약기간 중이라도 작업조건 등 부득이한 사정이 있으면 임의로 중기를 철수할 수 있을 뿐만 아니라 고장수리로 인하여 가동하지 못한 날이 월 5일 이상인 경우에는 쌍방 합의에 따라 사용기간을 연장하거나 임대료에서 그 금액을 공제할 수 있도록 약정된 점에 비추어 볼 때, 위 대원건설 주식회사나 이 사건 공사의 시공자인 위 현대건설 주식회사와 사이에 있어서도 원고가 임금을 목적으로 종속적인 관계에서 근로를 제공하는 지위에 있었다고 볼 수 없어 근로기준법상의 근로자에 해당하지 않는다고 할 것인바, 같은 취지의 원심판단은 그 설시에 있어서 다소 미흡한 점이 있으나 결론에 있어서 정당하고, 거기에 소론과 같이 지입회사가 아닌 시공회사와의 관계에서 근로자의 지위에 관한 법리를 오해하였다거나 그에 대한 판단을 유탈한 위법이 있다고 할 수 없다. 논지는 이유 없다.

그러므로 상고를 기각하고 상고비용은 패소자의 부담으로 하기로 하여 관여 법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 이용훈(재판장) 정귀호 박준서(주심) 김형선

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2009누12053 · 서울고등법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
#2
2008구단15506 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
#3
2021구단6373 · 수원지방법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
#4
2017구단61112 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
요양불승인처분취소 청구의 소
#5
2016구단59860 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits

Cases citing this decision

2004나9096 · 서울남부지법 2005-09-22
Reimbursement (Indemnity Claim)
2001도2778 · 대법원 2001-08-21
Violation of the Labor Standards Act (근로기준법위반)
98두9219 · 대법원 2000-01-28
Revocation of Reexamination Decision on Unfair Dismissal Rel
99다48986 · 대법원 2000-01-18
Restitution of Unjust Enrichment
98구21836 · 서울행법 1999-08-10
요양신청서반려처분취소

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)