Workbear재주넘는곰
대법원 2000두9922

Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivor Benefits (유족급여등부지급처분취소)유족급여등부지급처분취소

Decided2001. 04. 13. Court대법원The bereaved family (plaintiff) won; the case was reversed and remanded (파기환송) for further proceedings favorable to recognizing the death as work-related.
AI-generated English translation (summary, key points, decision summary and full text) for reference only — not an official translation and without legal effect. The Korean original below is authoritative.
AI Easy read — AI summary of this decision
AI-generated summary for reference only — the Korean original below is authoritative.

A village bus driver died of a myocardial infarction (heart attack) allegedly caused by overwork and stress. The Supreme Court of Korea ruled that a work-related injury or death (업무상 재해) does not require clear medical or scientific proof of causation; instead, 'substantial causation' (상당인과관계) can be inferred from the overall circumstances of the case. Considering the driver's long working hours, short rest periods, and the high concentration required for his job, the Court found that his fatal heart attack was reasonably attributable to work-related overwork and stress, reversing and remanding the lower court's decision.

Key takeaways
  • CaseA village bus driver died of a heart attack after working long hours with minimal rest under high-stress conditions.
  • OutcomeThe Supreme Court ruled that work-relatedness can be inferred from overall circumstances, without requiring strict medical proof, and recognized the death as a work-related injury.
  • LessonEmployers and insurers should recognize that excessive working hours and job stress, even without conclusive medical causation, can be legally sufficient grounds for workers' compensation claims in Korea.
Issues
  • What degree of proof is required to establish 'substantial causation' (상당인과관계) for recognizing a work-related injury or death?
  • Whether a death from myocardial infarction caused by overwork and stress qualifies as a work-related injury (업무상 재해)
Key reasoning

The Supreme Court held that establishing 'substantial causation' between work conditions and an injury or death does not require definitive medical or scientific evidence. Rather, courts may infer such causation by comprehensively examining factors such as the nature of the job, working hours, rest periods, and stress levels. In this case, the driver's grueling schedule—long hours, minimal breaks, and constant concentration demands—was found sufficient to infer that cumulative fatigue and stress triggered his myocardial infarction. This reasoning effectively lowered the evidentiary bar for recognizing work-related deaths in cases involving stress-induced illnesses.

Summary of Decision (English, AI translation)

[1] The proximate causal relationship between duties and injury required to recognize an occupational accident under Article 4, Subparagraph 1 of the former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) (before its amendment by Act No. 6100 on December 31, 1999) does not necessarily have to be clearly proven medically or scientifically; even in cases where a proximate causal relationship between the duties and the disease can be inferred in light of all the circumstances, such proof shall be deemed established.

[2] Where a village bus driver, who had no particular pre-existing health conditions, complained of chest pain in the early morning hours and died, and the cause of death was presumed to be myocardial infarction, one form of ischemic heart disease, and there were no circumstances suggesting any other cause of death, the court held that, in light of all the circumstances including the deceased's working hours and the content of his duties, it could be inferred that the deceased died as a result of myocardial infarction induced by the accumulation of fatigue and stress from continuously performing duties that were more onerous than the ordinary working hours and duties of workers engaged in the same type of occupation.

Full text (English, AI translation) 5,107 chars

[Plaintiff, Appellant] Plaintiff (Attorney Ra Guk-ju, counsel for the plaintiff)
[Defendant, Appellee] Korea Workers' Compensation and Welfare Service
[Judgment Below] Seoul High Court Decision 2000Nu6215 rendered on November 22, 2000

[Order]

The judgment below is reversed, and the case is remanded to the Seoul High Court.

[Reasoning]

Based on the evidence presented, the court below found the following facts: the deceased, husband of the Plaintiff (date of birth omitted), joined Suyu Unsu Co., Ltd. (hereinafter abbreviated as the "non-party company") on December 15, 1997, and worked as a village bus driver; the working pattern for village bus drivers was a two-shift system per day, alternating between morning and afternoon shifts on a weekly basis, with daily working hours of approximately 8 hours 30 minutes to 10 hours 15 minutes; apart from meal time, there was no separate rest period, and drivers rested during the gaps in the 5-minute dispatch intervals, but there were frequent occasions where, due to delays in operation, drivers could not even take such rest and had to proceed to the next run; the road width along the route operated by the deceased was 8 to 20 meters, and the route included sections through residential areas or narrow roads requiring careful attention while driving; the deceased normally worked about 26 to 27 days per month, and in May 1998, the month in which he died, he worked 20 out of a total of 21 days, taking only one day off on the 10th of that month, and on 2 of those days he worked continuously from the morning shift through to the end of the afternoon shift; on the 22nd of the same month, after finishing his shift at around 00:00, the deceased drank soju and other alcohol with three fellow drivers at his own home, and at around 03:00 he complained of chest pain and then lost consciousness, was rushed to the hospital by ambulance, but died at around 05:33, with the cause of death presumed to be myocardial infarction; and the deceased had shown no particular signs of abnormality in his health prior to this. Having found these facts, the court below determined that, since there was no abrupt change in the content of the deceased's work close to the time of his death, the bus route of the non-party company did not appear to be a particularly difficult one to drive, and there were no circumstances in the working conditions that would have caused the deceased fatigue or excessive stress, there could be no said to be a substantial causal relationship between the deceased's death and work-related overwork and stress, and accordingly determined that the deceased's death did not constitute an occupational accident.

However, the substantial causal relationship between work and injury required to recognize an occupational accident under Article 4, Item 1 of the former Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법) (before its amendment by Act No. 6100 of December 31, 1999) need not necessarily be clearly proven by medical or natural scientific evidence; even where a substantial causal relationship between work and disease is inferred upon consideration of all the surrounding circumstances, such proof shall be deemed to have been established (see Supreme Court Decision 99Du10438 rendered on January 28, 2000).

Considering the following circumstances as revealed in the facts lawfully established by the court below—namely, that the deceased's working hours were relatively long while his rest periods were short, that he had few days off, and in particular that in the month of his death he had only a single day off; and that, given the characteristics of the route operated by the deceased, the work appears to have required relatively concentrated attention and tension—there is room to find that the deceased continuously performed work that was more burdensome than the ordinary working hours and content of work of workers engaged in the same type of occupation. If that is the case, it may be inferred that the accumulated fatigue and stress resulting therefrom induced the myocardial infarction that caused his death, whereas it is difficult to find in the record any circumstances suggesting that the deceased had any particular pre-existing illness or other cause of death.

Therefore, in concluding, for the reasons stated in its judgment, that the deceased's death did not constitute an occupational accident, the court below failed to exhaust its examination and committed an error in fact-finding in violation of the rules of evidence, or misapprehended the legal principles concerning occupational accidents under the Industrial Accident Compensation Insurance Act (산업재해보상보험법), thereby committing an unlawful act that affected the judgment.

Therefore, the judgment below is reversed, and the case is remanded to the court below for further examination and adjudication, this Decision being rendered by unanimous opinion of the Justices participating in the deliberation, as stated in the Order.

Justice Yoon Jae-sik (Presiding Justice), Song Jin-hoon, Lee Gyu-hong, Son Ji-yeol (Justice in charge)

【판결요지】

[1] 구 산업재해보상보험법(1999. 12. 31. 법률 제6100호로 개정되기 전의 것) 제4조 제1호 소정의 업무상의 재해를 인정하기 위한 업무와 재해 사이의 상당인과관계는 반드시 의학적·자연과학적으로 명백히 입증하여야 하는 것은 아니고, 제반 사정을 고려할 때 업무와 질병 사이에 상당인과관계가 있다고 추단되는 경우에도 그 입증이 있다고 보아야 한다.

[2] 평소에 건강상 특별한 지병이 없던 마을버스 기사가 새벽에 흉부통증을 호소하다가 사망하였고, 그 사인이 허혈성 심질환의 하나인 심근경색증으로 추정되었으며 그 외 다른 사망원인이 있다고 볼 만한 사정이 없다면, 망인의 업무시간 및 업무내용 등 제반 사정에 비추어, 같은 업종에 종사하는 근로자들의 통상적인 업무시간 및 업무내용에 비하여 과중한 업무를 계속한 결과, 그로 인한 과로 및 스트레스가 누적됨으로써 심근경색증이 유발되어 사망한 것으로 추단된다고 한 사례.

【참조조문】

[1] 구 산업재해보상보험법(1999. 12. 31. 법률 제6100호로 개정되기 전의 것) 제4조 제1호, 민사소송법 제187조, 제261조, 행정소송법 제8조 제2항, 제26조[입증책임]

[2] 구 산업재해보상보험법(1999. 12. 31. 법률 제6100호로 개정되기 전의 것) 제4조 제1호, 민사소송법 제187조, 제261조, 행정소송법 제8조 제2항, 제26조[입증책임]

【참조판례】

[1] 대법원 1992. 5. 12. 선고 91누10022 판결(공1992, 2026), 대법원 1999. 12. 10. 선고 99두10360 판결(공2000상, 210), 대법원 2000. 1. 28. 선고 99두10438 판결(공2000상, 608), 대법원 2000. 5. 12. 선고 99두11424 판결(공2000하, 1431)

【주문】·【이유】 전문 1,905자 · 펼쳐 보기

【원고, 상고인】 원고 (소송대리인 변호사 라국주)

【피고, 피상고인】 근로복지공단

【원심판결】 서울고법 2000. 11. 22. 선고 2000누6215 판결

【주 문】

원심판결을 파기하고 사건을 서울고등법원에 환송한다.

【이 유】원심은 그 내세운 증거들에 의하여, 원고의 남편인 망 소외인은 (생년월일 생략)으로, 1997. 12. 15. 수유운수 주식회사(이하 '소외 회사'라 약칭한다)의 마을버스 운전기사로 입사하여 근무한 사실, 위 마을버스 운전기사의 근무형태는 1일 2교대제로 1주일 단위로 오전조 또는 오후조로 번갈아 가며 근무하고, 1일 근무시간은 8시간 30분 내지 10시간 15분 정도이며, 식사시간 외에 별도의 휴식시간 없이 5분 간격으로 편성되어 있는 배차간격의 틈을 이용하여 휴식하나, 지연운행 등의 경우에는 그 휴식조차 취하지 못하고 다음 운행을 하게 되는 경우도 종종 있는 사실, 망인이 운행한 마을버스의 운행구간의 도로폭은 8 내지 20m이고, 운행구간 중 주택가나 좁은 도로로서 운행에 주의를 기울여야 하는 구간이 있는 사실, 망인은 평소 월 26, 27일 정도 근무하였고, 망인이 사망한 날이 속하는 1998년 5월에는 같은 달 10일 하루 휴무한 외에 총 21일 중 20일을 근무하였으며, 그 중 2일은 오전조로 출근하였다가 오후조를 마칠 때까지 계속 근무한 사실, 망인은 같은 달 22일 00:00경 근무를 마치고 자신의 집에서 동료기사 3명과 소주 등을 나누어 마셨는데, 03:00경 흉부 통증을 호소하다가 실신하여 병원으로 응급 이송되었으나, 05:33경 사망하였고, 그 사인은 심근경색증으로 추정되었으며, 평소 망인은 건강상 특별한 이상징후를 보인 일이 없었던 사실을 인정한 다음, 망인이 사망할 시점에 인접하여 업무 내용에 급격한 변화가 없었고, 소외 회사의 버스노선은 운전하기에 특별히 어려운 곳으로 보이지 않으며, 근무여건상 망인에게 피로나 과도한 스트레스를 줄 만한 사정이 보이지 않으므로, 망인의 사망과 업무상의 과로 및 스트레스 사이에는 상당인과관계가 있다고 할 수 없다고 하여, 망인의 사망이 업무상 재해에 해당하지 않는다고 판단하였다.

그러나 구 산업재해보상보험법(1999. 12. 31. 법률 제6100호로 개정되기 전의 것) 제4조 제1호 소정의 업무상의 재해를 인정하기 위한 업무와 재해 사이의 상당인과관계는 반드시 의학적·자연과학적으로 명백히 입증하여야 하는 것은 아니고, 제반 사정을 고려할 때 업무와 질병 사이에 상당인과관계가 있다고 추단되는 경우에도 그 입증이 있다고 보아야 할 것이다(대법원 2000. 1. 28. 선고 99두10438 판결 참조).

원심이 적법하게 인정한 사실관계에 나타난 다음과 같은 사정 즉, 망인의 근무시간이 비교적 긴 반면에 휴식시간이 짧고, 휴무일도 적으며, 특히 사망한 달에는 휴무일이 하루뿐이었던 점, 망인이 운행한 구간의 특성상 비교적 주의의 집중과 긴장을 요하는 것으로 보이는 점 등을 고려하면, 망인은 같은 업종에 종사하는 근로자들의 통상적인 업무시간 및 업무내용에 비하여 과중한 업무를 계속하였다고 볼 여지가 있고, 사정이 그러하다면, 그로 인한 과로 및 스트레스가 누적되어 심근경색증이 유발되어 사망한 것으로 추단될 수 있는 반면, 기록상 망인에게 달리 특별한 지병이나 다른 사망원인이 있었다고 볼 만한 사정은 찾아보기 어렵다.

따라서 원심이 그 판시와 같은 사유로 망인의 사망이 업무상 재해에 해당하지 않는다고 단정한 데에는 심리를 다하지 아니하고 채증법칙을 위배하여 사실을 오인하였거나 산업재해보상보험법상의 업무상 재해에 관한 법리를 오해함으로써 판결에 영향을 미친 위법이 있다 할 것이다.

그러므로 원심판결을 파기하고 사건을 다시 심리·판단하도록 원심법원에 환송하기로 하여 관여 법관의 일치된 의견으로 주문과 같이 판결한다.

대법관 윤재식(재판장) 송진훈 이규홍 손지열(주심)

Related statutes

Similar cases

Cases with high content similarity to this one.

#1
2003두12844 · 대법원 2004-03-26
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Compensation an
#2
2003두5501 · 대법원 2003-11-14
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivor Benefits and Fune
#3
2021구합55562 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits and Fu
#4
2009두164 · 대법원 2009-03-26
Revocation of Decision Denying Survivor Compensation and Fun
#5
2020구합83164 · 서울행정법원 0001-01-01
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits and Fu

Cases citing this decision

2005두13841 · 대법원 2006-03-09
Revocation of Disposition Denying Medical Care Benefits
2003두12912 · 대법원 2004-09-03
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivors' Benefits and Fu
2003두12530 · 대법원 2004-04-09
Revocation of Non-Approval of Medical Care Benefits (요양불승인처분
2003두5501 · 대법원 2003-11-14
Revocation of Disposition Denying Survivor Benefits and Fune
2000두4538 · 대법원 2001-07-27
Revocation of Disapproval of Industrial Accident Medical Car

Related tools & guides

AI answers need an account (free accounts: 2 per month) — submit and you'll return to this question after logging in. Search and case reading stay free.

Cross-check the original: 국가법령정보센터 (auxiliary link)